Yah lor! Or should consider refunding all or a percentage of the insurance fee. Doesn't make sense to pay foe insurance if not even pregnant in the first place.

good morning ladies! ya hor, i just realised yday i signed cheque for $900++ for 3 embryos trf! if gone to waste very heart pain leh!!

i read the discussion re use of saizen.. i was given since day 1 of injection... guess i must be those "desparate" case.. in any case, only 1 usable embbie at the end.. so, maynot be so effective.. if doc doesnt prescribe then leave it loh... last round i was on puregon. this time on gonal f.. my dosage much higher (450 iu). sometimes, i feel, the medical officer or doctor attending to you v impt. the last time, when only one of my follicles reach 16mm, the doc said i am ready and then prescibe the "night" injection.. this time, the black lady gave me one more day injection for some "closer" follicles to catch up.. i think abt 1-2 did catch up (one or 2 v precious to me ok)..

Ron, b4 my 2nd fresh I did request for d5 blasto from dr Loh if I harvest more eggs in my 2nd fresh. He did note down but however I only have 3 usable they didn't do d5 for me. In fact they ET day 2 for me. Mayb cos dec alot of cases cos dr Loh is leaving... I'll have a talk with dr tan when i c him and c what he says...

Coming back to the policy, it's so costly and ya man, I dnt understand y must they make us pay b4 blood test. So unfair. For bfn cases, it's like cutting yr wounding heart again when u received the policy papers and you know hell no u r gonna use this policy... Damn!

goodies: my hubby love to eat sushi and he eats a lot ...and i even made homemade sushi for him...tamago (egg), salmon etc.

But his sperm count is very low

Saggiegirl, my hubby sperm count also very low but he doesnot eat Sushi...for that matter we are pure vegetarian

Which Doc you are seeing? Did u go for IUI? or directly to IVF?

Saggiegirl, my hubby sperm count also very low but he doesnot eat Sushi...for that matter we are pure vegetarian

Which Doc you are seeing? Did u go for IUI? or directly to IVF?

Siddhi> i see... not to worry, i have friends who are vegetarians as well but they do not have problems ...

I am going back to KKH in late Feb for consultation ....to see if IUI or IVF more suitable...

haiz...

Sisters, abt the insurance hor, do u think we can write and post on MOH minister's Facebook page? I think if alot of us write, they will look into it

I am supposed to go back for FET this 23rd Jan but the nurses told me that it clashes on CNY hence ask me to wait till another AF den I call em to start my FET. I am now seeing Dr Sahana as my gynea moved over to TMC... She advised that i can only do a single embryo transfer if i were to opt for blastocyt or max 2 embryos for D2 trf... DH asked me to think about it whether to do a D2 or D5 trf... HOW?? I have no idea... I told my DH I just want to make sure that its success rate is higher!!!

I dunno as she said i shdnt have prob to conceive!!
so having 2 embbies on D5 will have a higher chance of getting twins!!
den say my build not very big cannot hold twins... :'(

I just wanna get done and over. So that I can close shop liao mah...

Faith, if she says Conceiving not problem with you then why first round failed? (assuming this is your 2nd transfer as it is FET). does she gave u any reasoning for it?

ladies...

I had my 1st IVF done and (thank god) i was blessed with a bb boy who will be turning one soon. I was thinking that I could try for another child, hence i went to KKH and gotta noe that my gynea left for TMC. Dr Sahana's advice was very confusing as I couldn't understand when she 1st told me about it...

D2 trf - 2 embbies
D5 blastocyst - 1 embbie

Reason : I had a successful try the last time hence shdn't be a prob this time.

However, how could she be soooo sure that I will succeed this time round with ONLY 1 embbie trf?!?! I am totally lost now... stressed at a point that everyone also sees me as "sure can conceive" but I ended up gg for IVF aft 5yrs of marriage...

I1bb..Agreed with you..we shld write in n complain..btw,I do read up on forum that dr loh was the one who fought for subsidy in govt hospital..maybe we shld aso write in to ask for at least 50% subsidy in pte though not 3k..1.5k aso not bad.so @ least now kkh limping without dr loh,ppl will consider pte rather than to wait for their availability right?.

actually i think we should lobby for more subsidies for IVF...after all, govt say we should pro-create to ensure that we do not get flooded by FTs!

Just my second thought...

Faith> wah your boy boy 1 year old soon?
must be very adorable... hehehe...

Sighz... I think my DH also as confused as you all. He couldn't understand where is the Doc coming from and why she gave such an advice... He told me to decide myself... @_@

Girl^Girl : Yes Yes!!! I can never get tired of staring at him everyday... :) I am sure we are all on the right track. Wish all us have lots and lots of baby dusts!!!

Faith> @_@ how to decide?? when the doc give confusing instructions....scared scared..

LOL...so how he like to eat solid food or not? hehe...1 year old can call mummy/mama or papa/daddy??

Faith,
Read before that blastocysts have higher chance of implanting, so the chances of getting twins if you transfer 2 at D5 are also higher than if you had transferred 2 embryos at say D2 or D3. I guess that's where Dr Sadhana was coming from. But can understand your worry that transferring 1 might mean lower chance of pregnancy. It's hard to say lah really. So go with what you're comfortable with.

Girl^Girl, yes... he is on solid already... Still cannot leh... but we are patiently waiting... :D

I dont know what I should do now... sighz... guess i need to go to temple to draw lots alr...

Faith,
Is that a govt regulation or is that her own decision? Why don't u clarify that so that it's easier for you to decide the next step? If it's govt regulation, there's not much u can do abt it. If it's the latter, then u can try to convince the doc or seek a second medical opinion?

Faith,

you might want to get a second opinion. From my understanding, one of the concerns MOH had with the introduction of the new regulations in April 2011 was the "high" number of multiples resulting from IVF. I guess that meant an irregular number of multiples in the context of the population, as well the risk associated with multiples pregnancy to the overall health system and the mummies (ie. premature births, increased monitoring, possible NICU stays, complications).

From my understanding (I am not a doctor
), with the new regulation, MOH has been asking the IVF doctors to "explain"/justify each case of multiples.

You may need to ask KK/Dr Sadhana if this is a KK-only policy, or a policy that applies to all government hospitals.

I believe the pte clinics also need to justify any mutliples, but not sure if all have the same policy as what Dr Sadhana told you.

If this is a strict KK policy, then you have option to transfer your embbies since you are doing FET. May need to incur some transfer cost. One option available to you.

But Dr Sadhana (or KK) should be able to give you a clearer/better explanation, instead of just saying "No" without explaining why. I think as patients are entitled to some form of explanation so that we can take our money where we want. Good luck & hope this FET works & u can close shop too

Hi faith,

i dun think it is a kkh regulation either. When i was discussing my options with dr loh, he never say blastocyst can only transfer 1. I was the one who request for 1 blastocyst only as my hubby and i are afraid of getting multiples.

There's really pros and cons as to whether u use blastocysts. My fresh cycle was successful on 1st try with 2 embies transferred at D2 and blessed with our girl. 2nd try is fet with 1 blastocyst, bfn. i had 13 embies, now left with 5 only... seems like my embies dun survive well outside after thawing... dr loh said that it's a waste of embies, i could have a few more fets if i didn't go for blastocysts but since i only wanted to transfer 1, blastocyst seemed to be a better option at that time. if possible i would prefer not to go for a 2nd fresh cycle as i suffered from ohss the first time.

from wat u mentioned, i guess the only reason why dr sadhana didn't want u to go for 2 blastocysts is ur size, afraid that there may be complications if u carry twins.

Wendy,
Yes. Agreed. We should write in to MOH to have subsidy in private hospital as well. So that at least we have more choices and waiting time can be reduced. And, it will be good if they allow cpf to be used for IUI straight away and not limit it to 3 times withdrawal for either IUI or IVF.

Faith, I think u shd get a second opinion leh.. Can u change doctor? Sorry if u find my suggestion lame cos I dnt have much knowledge... Guess the other sisters here are more knowledgeable...

Sisters, I am in for the idea of writing to Moh minister wor.. For more subsidies, insurance policy after blood test and one more thing, can subsidies be increased to more tries instead of only 3... I'm worried.. What if my 3rd fresh fails again? Then Cham Liao lor!!! Lolx... So how? Who's the minister for MOH ah?

Dear gals,

It seems impossible to get thru to dr loh's clinic number!!! It is an office number 65261003 but it links to a mobile number 83210333 and even the mailbox is full. Tmr is my 10week scan with Dr Loh at TMC and i just wanted to call and confirm the appt at 11am cos previously at KKH, he just wrote 13 Jan 11am on a small piece of paper with my name on it. I guess I'd just go tmr and see how lo...

Dear i1BB,
You go to this page http://www.sgdi.gov.sg/ and click on ministry of health. You can email MOH at [email protected] or the minister Gan Kim Yong at [email protected]

hi faith: would like to share..

sgh-ivf...transfered 2morula(tatz Day4 embbies) tho had 3good grades.reason being embryologist says was tat at Day4(morula) and Day5(blastocyst) chances for them to be implanted are higher(50%) comparing to Day2 embbies.multiple preg will hv higher probs.

Thus itz only make sense wat doctors are saying. "we can put in max embbies wic are Day2 to increase ur bfp chances but for Day4/Day5 we can only put in 1 or 2..the most."

as u all agree eventho many eggs collected and fertilised(sui sui-looking in the lab),not all survive(due to quality inside wic is beyond wat the lab can predict) to blastocyst stage wic is Day5(last day for ET).

you can oso google more info on articles/journals written on blastocyst/morula to hv an indepth understanding on them.some hospitals do Day5 blastocyst transfer(provided u hv acceptable eggs to last til Day5 orelz Day4 ET wil b done)..however kkh only do ET Day2 coz they hv many patients thus the sheer volume doesnt allow them to culture so many in the lab and no manpower to support it.tat being said no harm trying to talk to your doctor requesting for Day5 blasto...

Good Luck!

about the insurance...itz like casino..

ordy "kena makan" before we know the results...*sianz

will only make sense if we confirm hvg a viable pregnancies w either singles/multiples then insurance kicks in,peg appropriately to the numbers of bb we are carrying(possible to take up insurance ard early 3rd trimester/6mths)coz usually w multiples,bb arrive earlier before 9mths full term.

really hope gov can help us further as ivf is really not cheap.and i bet insurance company is makin alot of money fm failed ivf.hospital statistic shows not more than 40% successful ivf ends up live birth,data oso depends on wic age group....

must hv all e data/statistic made avail(fm various hospitals gov n private) wen corresponding w ur MP coz it will make ur case stronger..

I am also taking DHEA.. will try and ask Dr Tan to prescribe for me tomorrow.

i1BB, why dont you write to papers like Today.. if your article is posted, more chance of get noticed or even reply I tried writing to Today to complain about the long wait at National Dental centre for my boy and they actually call me...lol

LuvnHope, u gg to see Dr Tan tml right?

For the insurance, if more ppl pay, then premium would be lower or affordable, vice versa. If pay after cfm pregnancy, if it's a singleton then premium should be still ok but if u r having twins or more the premium will most likely be rocket high or the insurance co might not even wanna take u up cos u almost surely will claim. It's like any insurance policy, they won't insure ur pre-existing conditions. Even though yeah... It's like adding salt to the wound when u rcv the policy after u know u bfn. I just threw mine into the rubbish bin after i opened it :p

Mc, yah, u too right?
oh, how old is ur boy?

Eskimo, what u say makes sense too. Perhaps pay after BFP but still based on no of embies transferred wld b feasible too?