Seow

Tauhuay, missmoon, miko2006 and myself are wif Prof Chen

ET, I really hope can be like you..... Pray pray... pray very hard!!!!

tnsw,
so what not working.I did not be guai guai after ET,in the sense that I did not have full bedrest.I had OHSS very badly. And I sat in the living room watch tv everyday.at night I couln't sleep well. move, toss,kept going toilet. some more I need to go back for jab everyday...

Hi tch

It depends on the quality of the eggs after you have retrieved, your RE will be able to tell you the next morning after ya ET. Actually most books and people mention that the chances of multiples are HIGHER in IVF if you are younger, so that is why some RE only put 2 good embryos for those who are younger. Below is what I have adapted from a website:

"The increase of multiple births is age related. According to the National Center for Health Statistics, over the last 20 years, multiple pregnancies in the United States have increased 400% among women in their 30s and 1000% in women in their 40s. This trend is DUE IN PART TO THE FACT that older women are less able to get pregnant naturally and are more likely to undergo infertility treatment."

Maybe you can double check with ya RE as they are in a better position to decide on each individual.

I am less than 30 yrs old. Put in 2 embryos but ended up with a singleton pregnancy too.
Like what Tomatoes said, dunno what happened to the rest since the both embryos are equally good.

Hi renee,

Is it progestrone jab??? As I had severe OHSS, Doc said I had to go without jab or OHSS will get worse especially if there is pregnancy.

Doc then said success will depend on my body without the jab. Remember to take a lot of soft boiled egg whites. I oso took birdnest and it helped too. I suffered for more than 2 weeks and could not lie down to sleep too. Please avoid soy products.

Dear Ad, vege,tnsw,poohy,ET & CT,

thanks so much for all your good wishes and support, i hope miracles happen more often, so all sisters here will be blessed with chance to carry our own bb in our arms in no time...

Hi pebbles,
I fail my IVF after all the suffering...It was not the progestrone jab that cause OHSS got worse. And progestrone jab has got nothing to do with OHSS.I started OHss right after my ER. Then the following 2 weeks after ET.I will go for my FET next month if my AF come on time.Hopefully can successful this time. And this time I will avoid all the soya related food. You are so lucky you know?!! He He..

Pebble,
Did you take a lot of birdnest during the 2 weeks while waiting for result?Or rahter all the while have to take? I've been taking birdnest all the while. But stop after ET. Cause no body help me to boil. I'm not living with parents in law.Thought of taking it but... That 2 weeks my hubby become the cook. So poor thing.Ha ha...Ok, may be I should start eating bird saliva now till my FET. Thanks sister!

MSH,
Sorry forgot to answer your question about Dr Loh's clinic. He will have to be at clinic D most of the time it's in KK also. At the same time he is also the IVF specialist at KKIVF. So it sounds like he got 2 clinics to run.

Missmoon,
My E2 P4 is ok. So dun need additional jabs. Also found out that E2 is estrogen by the way.

Yesterday's blood test procedure was terrible as usual. Poked 4 times (by 3 nurses) this time round. Until Mona say she scared of me and will 'conveniently disappear' when I next go for blood test. Think the nurses were more nevous than I was... until I had to tell them to relax. So funny hoh...

Seow,
Yes I am seeing prof Chen too...

Hi ET

Did you feel your bb kick or turn?
Their movements will be much much more when you reach final stage... as though they struggle and want to come out to see you...

tomatoes,
how come u on line now?hows bbg?
me waiting in cybercafe for my xyz to finish learning his "england" at forum...

u take care....

Hi tnsw

You should be offline now. Forum got alot of children classes hor. I went there last week and found out so many things to sign up for.

BBG ok. Today I dressed her up with a pink emboidery dress with a pink clip on her head. Later going centrepoint for a walk. hehe

tauhuay
that's good, no more jabs...no nd for more needle marks on the body.

how come poke so many times ah? cannot get blood out from one arm then got to try the other issit? haha, ya lor, nurses there very humourous...

so when is next blood test? how long more before you know?

Pebbles, Pardon my ignorance and there are just too many posts to search through. Why do we have to avoid soya products and yet pile on on bird's nest and egg white? Aren't they all protein?

When do we hv to start the above diet regime?

hi, thanks for the replies on your IVF specialists:

CT yeung : ad, ET, Novem, vege
Prog Chen: Tauhuay,mismoon, miko2006, tomatoes,seow
SF Loh : Renee

Any more? I'm looking for someone who talks and discusses, i prefer it if they discuss our condition with us and discusses the alternatives. one re we saw just gave us his diagnosis and recommend a treatment without explaining much. we're not comfy with that. GAls can share how your specialist behave? the next thing i need your help in is what will happen once the specialist agree we shoul dgo ivf way.... what next and which day of the cycle does the activity start..... thanks in advance gals,.... you are the best support i have ever found so far.

msh
according to a friend of mine who has been seeing LC Ching @ Thomson Medical, he takes the time to tell u and prompts u to ask questions too.

Hi Renee

My ohss started before ER. Doctor mentioned the jabs will aggrevate the ohss so he said he could not gve me any. I was so afraid that it would fail as I have to depend on my frail body at that time. He preferred me to do FET 2 mths later as he saw my ohss was too severe. He gave me the option to go ahead, but kept reminding me thatI had to tahan the worser condition of OHSS. I told myself since I have spent so much time, pain and money, so went ahead with ET. After ET I REALLY REALLY regretted to do it because I really could not take the 24 hrs suffering anymore. NEver a single second i am well. My hubby and I thought the ivf would definately fail.

How is ya condition now? Take care okie! And all the best to ya FET!!!!!

hi tch
Actually my RE only mentioned soft egg whites to help ohss. I took an average of 20 daily. As I did not listen to him. many times, my condition got so badly that I had to put on albumin drips which are very very costly. Albumin drips work like egg whites.

Actually my re and JE physician did not mention abt the bird nest, an old lady asked me to take a bit to regain my weak condition.

As for the soy products, it was mentioned by the JE physician and there were newaspapers articles mentioning about the disadvantages. I cannot recall the disadvantages, but I think it is something like nowadays most soybeans are artificailly grown or something like that so it may affect ppl who may have fertility problems.

hi msh
My RE is Doctor Fong Yang @ Paragon. Personally he is the best one after a few I have seen. He never rushes in his consultation time and explains everything systematically and clearly. He will oso ask if you have any questions each consultation without fail. Me used to be under a few male RE but never ever felt comfortable with them. So I went to another two female doctors but also feel not convinced enough. I was hesitant to go to a male RE again but eventually went to him .

The ivf protocols depend individually. First time i see FY, he still wants me to go for one cycle of clomid, even though he knows I have a few failed cycles with other docs. I dun have menses for almost 2 yrs, so he gave me medicine to induce it and adjusted to a higher dose of clomid but as usual, it did not work.

So he convinced me to go for SO-IUI as the problems lies with me and not my hubby, warning that PCO patients may have an overwhelming follicles. If this happens, I had to go for ivf. As usual I took medicine to induce menses and on my second day to the ninth day of menses, I injected Puregon at home once in the morning. On the tenth day, I went for scanning in the morning and he said my follicles were overwhelming and they are ready to be retrieved. ( sOme patients have to go for more than one scanning as the follicles are not big enough). On the same night I went to him to have the HCG injection so as to be ready to do the retrieval on Thursday morning. He managed to retrieve 36 follicles and now about 26 are frozen. Anyway before retrieval I so suay to have OHSS, so he said maybe it would be better for me not to do the transfer on Sunday. I still went ahead with transfer anyway

Hope this helps and I really wish you all the best. Better start early than to procrastinate. Hope you can find a suitable RE soon! Good luck!

hi MSH,

I'm seeing Dr SF Loh at KKH and i think he is a very nice and reassuring dr. If you are afraid of long waiting time, you can choose to see him at the Private Suite on wednesday evenings or Saturdays. My appointments with him are usually over within half an hour.

Pebble,
Ever since I pass the 9th day after ET my OHSS got better. Not too much bloatedness... On the 12th day, I saw stain and there after I did the test where I found out it had failed. So I almost forgoten how bad it was and all ready to start my FET.I sounded very kan cheong hor?

hi all sisters

can someone plss..plssss...tell me how you managed to overcome the fear of self-injection.... how to take a needle and poke yourself...oh my God... how har!!! somebody pls advise me... i need help

Pebbles
you have PCOs? was it diagnosed by the JE sinseh or by a gynae?
like you, the problem lies with me and i almost couldn't take it. it was quite a blow. because of my PCOs, i've tried seraphene/clomid and countless IUIs which produced 0 results.
you had severe OHSS as a result of the jabs?

you are 1 brave lady

seow
i assume you're on suprefact? the jab at the tummy? the nurses told me to practise on oranges first and try to overcome the fear of poking yourself.

if it helps, get your hubby to do the actual jab. deep breathing helps too

hi missmoon

ya u r right. but haven't started yet lah. just sooner or later. now prof chen is concentrating on my hubby first. i was just reading thru the process... and that was a shock of my life....

oh, i didn't see u in the clinic. my appt was delayed till late evening. believe yours too...

my hubby won't dare to do the jab.. even his own jab also he is scare.. how am i going to go thru that for 1.5 months...

hi seow
oh...ok. ya, one step at a time lah, just prepare yourself mentally and take care physically so that both are ready when the eventual ivf comes around

my appt was ard 3pm...was there a bit earlier, so wait time cut down.

haha, meanwhile, to prepare yourself, can psch yourself up and start practising

hi missmoon

painful one or not... think it really need a lot of courage to do that. the nurse keep telling me sure can one.. but, i don't even dare to think of it now....

hi missmoon,

My PCOS was first diagosed by KKH. Then when I went to the JE physician, she took my pulse and said i have serious pcos. When I first knew, I got upset too but life goes on eh? Yup, OHSS affects about one percent of those who are on the programme. If ya pcos is not those very serious like mine, i think the chance of getting it is not high.

I am one person who has a big phobia of injections, but thru ivf, I got immuned already. The daily injection of puregon is actually not so bad seriously, i got my hubby to do for me. You can give out a big cough, n ya hubby can quickly injects once he hears e long big cough. )

Hi, gals,

Its me, tnsw...the unofficial gong1 guan1 xiao1 jie3...of the board...

Believe the gals who are on our list wld hv received an email from tomatoes on our next gathering..

She just messaged me to say that she has some issues to attend to and cant help to coordinate the gathering...would anyone like to help take over...she's sorry about tis slight change in coordinator but guess she's really busy...

Any volunteers like to take over the coordinating job..?

Seow,

Did you pm us your contact?u like to join us for gatherings next time...

seow,
u sure can do it!! nurses told me i'll get over it. prof told me i'll be a prof before i know it :D it's not painful at all, cos got fat around the area mah...most important thing is to alternate jab area. for puregon i had to get it done on the buttock area and i've got a phobia against jabs in that region. first few times was bad but after a while, gotten used to it. keep telling nurses to warn me before poking me.

pebbles, you did puregon at home?! wow...
i was told to go to clinic every evening to get the jab. sundays got to buy out and do it at gp or a&e.

Just wondering if anyone can answer my question. KKH told me that the 1st jab to control ovulation will start on Day 21 of the cycle. I am just wondering, if it is to control ovulation, why doesn't it start before day14? By day 21, ovulation for that cycle is probably over.

It effectively means that in that cycle we start, we would have ovulated once naturally and another time when the program kicks off. And there is no menses for that once that we ovulated naturally. Is that ok?

Apologies for my stupid question.

hi missmoon,

thank u so much for your encouragement. i am not scare of jabs. anywhere also can. but i am definitely scare of doing it myself. actually, my hubby say he can sent me to the clinic every morning.. but i don't think that is going to be a feasible way.... nevermind... I SURE CAN DO IT!!!! heee.....

Hi tnsw

Thanks for informing the rest. Managed to sneak in for awhile.

Hi CEO

Concentrate on your procedure lah...

Sisters,

Can someone volunteer? Really sorry about this change as I have some family matters to attend to at home and can't login at home to my yahoo account (can't do it in office either). Will still try to login in here often whenever possible. Today me will taking half day leave to take care of BBG.

Tomatoes,

Dun mention lah...its ok...
how's bbg now?
dun feel apologetic lah, since u got matters to attend to...

CEO,

thanks but think u bttr concentrate on yr procedure leh...must FOCUS, FOCUS and FOCUS...

tomatoes,
its ok,dun worry...just settle wat you need to do...other things are secondary...

most important is bbg...
327993.gif

Hi Tomatoes, tnsw n PC,
if the rest of ladies dun mind.... mayb i do this round. PC pls guide me along if I lost.

Ladies, pls give me full support, must attend coming gathering lor!!! Hope i get it done properly!

hi missmoon

thanks, is definitely comforting hearing that. i will be seeing prof again this coming Friday. think got to start the program by than....

wow! prof hor, real ex man! my last appt was about 400 plus leh... hubby medicine + consultation.. cannot tahan!!!

hi missmoon,

Some of us did the puregon at home today as the applicator comes in a very user friendly form of a pen
Doc said if my hubby is scared to do the jab, can always go to any clinic, pay the gp money and the gp can jab for you. Dun worry, it is a very easy process

Spore_bb,
Sure you can make it one lah...i cant make it for the gathering as i got family commitments on that day....

Spore_bb

We will support u all the way. Those not coming miss no give face to u hor. hehehehehe....

Hi Chairwoman

Hope u r fine, take care hor.

Thanks for your help S'pore BB. Me can't make it also... got family commitments

Hi CEO,

I will be fine... xie xie... me stilling waiting for more good news in this thread. hehehe

tnsw,
understand, u r excused for coming gathering! But make sure u join us next gathering which we r now discussing about it! A very excited and fun one, dun miss it lor!

PC,
thx! ya those dun give face to me one nvr mind as long as I got it form the rest of u ladies!!!! (Muak!!) hahaha

Tomatoes,
Hope things are fine at your end! Take Care!