hi miracle baby, just eat as per normal with lots of fruits and vege whenever poss... once in a while endulge in unhealthy food like fried stuff, strong spicy food, fried kuay tiao etc... is okay. some ppl avoid these as they feel unwell hours after eating these food. the medication prescribed by ur gynae is sufficient to sustain the pregnancy. if feel constipated, can drink prune juice. craneberry juice can help prevent UTI. Tonic food and birdnest can only be taken after 1st trimester. During first trimester as embryo has yet to stablise, avoid exercise, carrying heavy stuff.. walking is good but rest when u r tired... all the best

Eskimobaby,
How is your 2nd trimester?
Can feel baby liao or not??..heeeeheeee..

I doing long protocol I believe..because prof wong did not ask me or tell me the difference, I given instructions to start suprefact on D21, so assume its long..

sunflower - i think a bit of winter melon soup is ok... avoid white radish soup... heard this very liang... ya, the key is "eat everything in moderation"

leobaby,
rockmelon also liang? been eating quite a bit of rockmelon recently

babygalore,
cos i thot long protocol need to start with birth control pills... maybe ur mense is regular so no need...

dunno leh... still can't really feel yet.. even if i've felt also dunno if it's the baby hehehe

Today I am very chatty...Hee .I have to stay upright now after antibiotic. After this going jab and accu.

I had been wanting to share this little story of mine for ladies to be careful.

I am an active girl and from young I learn to clear my ear of block water by jumping with my head tilted. When I was in my 2WW last year (of course don't know already pregnant as must wait blood test) while showering, water got into my ears and I jumped a little to clear it. Actually that time jump can feel a little bubble like thing inside then quickly stop. Sometimes I also forgot myself and run a bit then felt the bubble thing inside, then i stop. My spotting started after foetus weak heart beat when hubby went to buy a heavy pot and had to walk very fast to his car. I followed behind with a fast pace too.
When that episode ended I tell my hubby abt all these and he was very appologetic but on the contary he also shared with me that he had many friend no matter what they did jump, run.... baby still healthy. Yes I do agree but maybe at implantation/early stage that jump in the bath room was the cause. So my advise is to really ask yourself and ppl around you to slow down their pace to accomadate you. Now my HB will not cross the traffic light if it's blinking. I have also learn a new method to clear my ears.

Eskimobaby..

Actually my menses not so regular..between 25 to 33 which I did think was an issue as I read some sisters here went on microygn (not so sure of spelling). I ask prof wong twice on purpose if irregular menses ok and he said ok..so no choice. Seems like he is not going to give me microygn..

Heeheheeehee..I get you..during the first two trimester, always got "pull here pull there" sensation as uterus is expanding for baby so can't tell what is moving...lets be patient and what for the baby to "bully" mummy..heheee..my cousin was telling me the other day that (she last trimester) was in meeting, her colleagues could virtually see her baby foot or hand moving from one end of tummy to the other and they all got so distracted..amazing right..heheheeee..

eskimobaby,

maybe your body can take and if u are not taking it from fridge. For ppl not sure and ppl in 1st trimester better not lah.

My girlfriend shared with me a story and from then I don't dare touch melon. Also not very good to share that story here as may affect those ppl who cannot handle the story.

babygalore,

my menses also not that regular.. having between 30-36 days.. nurse told me its ok, i dont have to take microygn..but some other having the same menses cycle as me need to take.. in the end i just follow.. true enough, my menses was delayed during lucrin stage, and i wasnt suppressed after 2 weeks, i had to extend 1 more week.. but the blessed part was that, i was very well suppressed and got well stimulated.

To those who are thinking of D5 blastocyst transfer

Just to share.

I think D5 blastocyst transfer is getting very popular overseas... but less practiced in Spore. One reason I can think of is perhaps the centres here do not have the right lab environment and facility to cultivate the embryos for 5 days. Personally, I feel that it is best to leave it to the doc/embryologist to recommend D3 or D5 transfer cos they would be at the best position to make the judgment.

The pros and cons - blastocyst transfer is attempted when the embryo quality is good and if there are a sufficient number of embryos to work with. The main advantage of using a blastocyst transfer is that fewer embryos can be transferred without reducing the success rate, allowing for a smaller risk of multiples. It is said that if the embryos make it to the blastocyst stage, the pregnancy success rate is higher per blastocyst transferred, but then, not all embryos make it to that stage and sometimes none does.

I had 2 blastocyst transferred... it was recommended by the embryologist after analysing our chances of success. Indeed, I am glad that they have made the right recommendation and I am pregnant with a singleton.

So, whatever the transfer is, have faith in the doc u choose.

SunFlower..

Appreciate you for sharing because that question was in my head for a while..just want to confirm, means that you followed nurse instruction, did not take microygn and in the end had to suppressed one week which worked better for you is it?

Yes, I agree with you, many times in life, many things can be a blessing in disguise and you are a walking example..

You in 2WW is it..paiseh, I lost touch as just came back...how are you keeping yourself busy..?..hope you very soon can confirm and give birth to one or two little sunflowers..heheeee..

hi suyana... saw prof today. he told me that he is not doing delivery anymore, so i'll be seeing my previous gynae AProf Chong YS from Sapphire clinic. its bittersweet for me since i am getting used to him and liked his style. but on the other hand, Dr Chong was a dedicated and caring gynae who helped me delivered Ira.

i think Prof Wong wants to fully focus his time to helping couples conceive through the assisted programmes. i feel its a good thing that you are continuing with Prof Wong. during a seminar held by him, one of his patients managed a successful delivery only after her 3rd attempt with IVF. she is now a proud mother of a baby girl. don't give up the fight. i have faith in Prof Wong's dedication in helping his patients, though to guarantee 100% success is beyond him or any other gynaes.

Hi babygalore,

yes, i just followed wat the nurse told me, so i didnt take microygn.... my first lucrin result was really bad, far far exceed the requirement. So i hated myself for not insisting on microygn as my menses just dont come.. So i was extended for another week, in between my menses finally arrived, and my hormones are very well suppressed.. much much below the the requirement.. so u dont worry so much k

im bored at hm..super bored..chat with some 2ww ladies in msn..watch tv and dvd..surf net, there is really not much you can do...haiz..

watch youtube on bed! that's how i m trying to pass 2nd day...didn't dare to walk too much...besides toilet, insert progestrone, cook meals, other times lie on bed. not fully flat but can watch youtube....
2week is hard to pass

hi leo,

ok. thanks. will take kiwi with a more reassured mind. glad to know that you are getting better.

and agree with you that we should avoid our regular fast paced routine. my hubby has also started to accommodate my pace as well. as i don care one. i walk slow and he will also auto follow my pace. he he. or he will ask me to wait in a place while he gets the car if it's parked far away. cos we at this stage already, so rather be more cautious than anything lor. right?

babygalore,

yes, i'm in 2WW now.

it's very normal for u to get those questioning thoughts. but will still ask you to try to be as normal as possible and not worry too much about it. of cos, say is easy lar. but try not to think too much about it lor.

eskimobaby, ya lor. i also find it helps me in bowel movements. and quite yummy to eat. he he...

Sunflower..

thanks you very much for the big confidence jab you just gave me...heheee..great there is an solution of extension of suppression. k k..I won't worry so much liao..heeee..

Are you the type that can sleep long long hours in the afternoon and still can sleep at night....if so..sleep lots lots..skin nice nice and also reserve energy for your babies to grow.

If you cannot sleep at night after sleeping in the afternoon, then just make full use of this "boredom" and enjoy the 2WW from 2W break k..., go library and borrow some books to read?

Sofia,
I think that is a good news..its like overseas hospital arrangement..

Dec,
Thanks for your advice.I will try to distract myself which is my forte..heheeedo project A will think project B that type of forte..heheeeee..like Sunflower..enjoy your 2WW cum 2W break..if you got pregnant, this is going to be your last proper break for a long time..

Sunflower..
Yeah yeah.. heheheeee..I am like u too..can sleep 12 hours a day..Maybe its all the hormones that is changing your sleeping patternHey, do you still keep some of your school textbooks? Best is accounting/mathematics/economics books. If you have, and try and read them half lying on your bed, very soon, you will knock out liao..;)

Sunfl@wer,
Must be positive lah!!!! We have so many babydust spread in this forum (Develyn, Eskimobaby, Serene, myself, Fresh and Lingling). You catch tight! *Sprinkle babydust*

babygalore,

oh yes, great idea! haha..

Orangey,

hehe, u have been asking me to be positive since lucrin stage... i will hold tight all your babydust, thanks!

hi ladies, do i need to rest after controlled fet process? say 14 sept et of frozen embies, do i need to repeat the 2ww again?

hi yumyum,
Is depend but better hv a well rest...
am gone through FET in Mar'09 , rest for 1w only then back to work following week

hi su yana

got some time to reply u here.

ermm. i had to 'chase' to look for Prof when i was spotting.. actually from start of spotting till bleeding.. he also like not very aware.

he even tot i was pregnant and congratulated me when he saw my BT results.. till i told him i was bleeding.. then he said 'oh'

i can share my whole experience w u in PM lah..
wat's ur email address? u PM lah

Hi Seed, Humbug and ladies on DHEA

Just to share a piece of good news. Remember that I mentioned that one of Dr Zou patient was also taking DHEA. Latest update, she took DHEA for 4 months and had recently gone for her IVF program. She managed to get 10 eggs and 5 fertilized (previously Dr Zou mentioned that she only had one embryo). The embryo were cutured to Blast too...

This is a great motivation to me...although DR Zou warn that effect on diff people maybe diff but at least, it gives hope to those that are poor responder to puregon or has low reserve.

I have taken DHEA for 2+ months and will be going for my third IVF try in Oct. Keeping my fingers cross that I will have better response this time!!

meow dearie... i can imagine your frustrations over what happened. it all happened too fast, from your BT on saturday to seeing prof the following monday. i do remember feeling upset with him after my failed IUI. despite telling him that my husband had abstained for more than 7 days, he insisted that it was still fine. i read that for men with low sperm count & quality, they should not abstain for more than 3 days. that incident caused me to lose faith in him. he neither explain nor console me when it failed.

but it was my husband who pressed on with continuing to see prof. prof may not be good with words but my husband felt he knows what he is doing. as with any medical treatment, doctors can never guarantee 100% success rate. there are many factors that are beyond them and us.

whatever course of actions that you are deciding upon now, i know you know what's best for yourself. but dearie, i really miss your cheerful nature. its difficult now.. but i pray for you. i know you can make it. hugs!

Jude,
Happy for you that you could have found something that works..sounds great..
all the best Jude and also start to take care of yourself pending the start of cycle..

Hi Babygalore ,

Yuppy ! I finally feel much better.. less vomiting unless i missed my meals or i am too full or i travel too long in the car.. wow is really a super long way since Embryo transfer till OHSS and pregnancy symptoms.. no joke man and i lost 17kg in 1st trimester due to OHSS n vomiting.. I lost myself till last two weeks when i get better.. Ovaries recovered only at 14-15weeks preggy.. vomiting reduced at 19weeks.. My detailed scanning will be this Friday and i will be able to know both bbs genders.. For Serene, she is having a princess =) Eskimobaby and orangey still dunno gender yet till later stage.. Soon Soon Soon..

For Ladies in going for IVF or doing their first IVF , be brave and positive.. Easier than done but still must try try try okie..

Twins babies dust to all =)

Hi develyn

Can you care to explain why your 1st IVF got no sac detected at 6 wks though you are deemed pregnant by HCG test? How I can feel there are sacs inside me now?

Hi Miracle Baby ,

There is no way to know it till the scan... arrgg.. sorry , did i make your brain goes haywire... dun think about that , it will not happen to you cos i will pray for you okie... Do not think about it... Nononono... that's cos i am really active and naughty too.. running to cruise to phuket and penang , quarrel with SIL... etc .. that time my moodswing super bad.. U just stay relax and things will sure turn out well for u.. =)

Develyn,

Reading your journey to motherhood leaves me breathless and fully understand why women are made to have much higher threshold of pain than men! Congrats on your crossing of another major milestone and after you babies are born, many will probably marvelled at how slim you have stayed, not the slightest idea of the sacrifices and painbut we know and respect you for that..

Update us again after the detailed scanand thanks for your jia yous..I need it.

Serene,
Congrats on your little princess..

Miracle Baby.
Develyn will tell you more while what I know is that some cases of postiive HCG but no sac are chemical pregnancies when the embryo failed to attached to the uterus..it could be due to health issue with the embryo or the viability of the lining or even other reasons.

Dont you worry about that yet..just enjoy your motherhood first k..

Develyn,
Sorry, I was very factual person and just replied to Miracle Baby..chiam, I feel guilty now for saying..*smack my mouth*

Miracle baby..remember this, science has proven that positive things will tend to happen more to positive people. There is a direct correlation. So start to imagine how cute your baby(ies) will be instead k

sunflower,

you are Day what now in 2WW? Dr jin recommend me to drink ginger with red date and honey. Nurse sara recommend ginger, pandan leave and brown sugar.

Leobaby,

I think if the pregnancy was meant to be than no amt of jumping or running would cause a problem but if the pregnancy was doomed fr the start no amt of bedrest or inactivity could cause it to be ok. So dont blame urself if the pregnancy wasnt successful and dont over attribute to wat u did or didnt do. Of cuz minimize jumping or walking fast is always gd though.

Speaking fr experience, I miscarried 4 times requiring d&c. They were naturally conceived. Each time I thot maybe I shouldnt have moved house, I shouldnt have done a part time diploma course on top of my full time job, I shouldnt walk here and there, carry this and that, maybe my job as a childcare teacher not safe or suitable for pregnancy etc etc.

So I quit my job, lie in bed, did nothing for 3 mths got a BFP on 1st IVF attempt but had a spontaneous miscarriage. So all the bedrest in the world didnt work for me and made me a jobless grouchy person.

I think most ipt thing is to stay positive and cheerful and not worry abt the slightest jump or brisk walk hurting the baby. And never blame urself.

Hi babygalore,

Thanks for the encouragment.

I will be going for the short cycle so if you are scheduled to start end Sep, we may be cycle mate! Jia You together.

Hi Babygalore ,

I am perfectly ok to share on the first stupid experience when no sacs are found after high BHCG level... Already get over it.. now just hope my 2 little ones grow grow and grow.. Hee.. I do not want to say about it here as it will really affect those ppl in 2ww or waiting for heartbeats...

Ladies , DO NOT BE AFFECTED.. i am just the naughty and unlucky one that time... 4D and Toto also not so accurate one.. Just remember now, my BHCG is even lower on 2nd IVF - 407 (compared the first IVF of 573) and i am 5months pregnant now with twins ! Dun care abt the level but care abt yourself first okie.. =)

Die,

Glad to see you in the forum. I never really blame myself. I just wanted to share in case someone here experience what I go thru. You had however shared a very different perspective and I thank you for that. What have you been up to lately?

I have been very nausea again now. Dr Jin looked and me and said possible OHSS and wants me to take gd rest with lots of water and protein

i'm in my 2nd week of 2ww, any sympthoms will show up this weeks??? i'm a bit anxious, cos for my blood test, my hormone dropped drastically, nurse call me to go jab yesterday... i feel so scared, as in until now, i have no "pregnancy" feeling...this is my 1st attempt of ivf

WOW ! Jude .....

You are doing your 3rd ivf cycle.. Must saluate you and all the best to you !

Wishes to jude from jude babe (me)..: )

how i hope i can be like develyn who gots twins... it must be a blessing and exciting waiting to know the sex of the bb..

I went to see dr loh today after i BFN in august.. He says everything( linning, FSH) is okie but dunno why embryo didn't stick...

i ask him how many cycles i must do.. he says abt 3. He also joke that he likes to treat patients who BFP at first cycle and not takes many cycle also didn't get pregnant...

I tot that was quite insentitive.. which lady wants to do many cycles when they can be pregnant with 1.. He also suggested using surrogate mother if all else dun work... but how many of us have that kind of money..

Anyway... i prob do FET in nov. wish me luck

Jude,
Thanks a lot a lot for being here and being my cycling buddy..its not enough just to have hubbies around as they are sympathetic and supportive but dont experience first hand I confirmed starting later Sep liao..called nuh already..I am glad and grateful to have you around..yes, Jude, jia you!

Dev,
Yes, yes, know where you are coming from of coursejust I replied too fast and did not refresh the page to read that you reply..u are right. After reading your reply, I immediately sense its a more constructive outlook, lets do away with the technicals which can be quite useless sometimes...

Miracle baby..
Remember pregnant sister, keep bathing yourself in positive vibes and dont let meaningless worries rob you a single day of precious motherhood..k k..

Meow,
Wei, sister, you dont feel sad or anger anymore leh.or it will just waste you more of your lovely youth and precious energy on finding that motherly female gynae..do check out Marianne Hendricks from KK and Dr Chua from TLC. Actually got one more is Dr Lisa Chin from Gleneagles. My friends were was under her and only had good things to say..She is the sharp and few words kind also but apparently made decisions that saved the day. But only thing I not sure if she got do IVF. These are the few female gynaes I hear good feedback about.

Die,
Nice to hear from youheeee....you are so strong and hardy..sure can find another job soon..maybe you should even take a break and wait until next year than work lah..correct..?