IVF/ICSI/IUI - 2ww

hi ladies, haven't been here for some time... trying SO-IUI for this time round...

been experiencing servere migarine pains, giddy and sometimes got this feeling that i want to vomit during the injection... yucks..

after dr done the insertation of the sperm, i slept the whole day at home.. recently feel that the womb is bloated and when urine, the area near the bladder hurts... does any1 feels the same way?

Hi auroa,
Hope you are okie

Anyone at 2ww stage?
I am and am feeling a lot of anxiety and having imaginations...
I would like to talk to someone who is at the same stage as me, to share her experience so that we can encourage one another through this period of time.

hi auroa,

i did so-iui in aug. dun feel any pain when urinating. everyting went on fine for me, no vomitting, no giddy, no migraine. except aft 2 days i did the procedure, i had a fever. not sure if its bcos of tat as during tat period, the haze was terrible...

hi jeni, not in yr stage too..but been there b4..especially when gyane did blood test for me to check if i succeeded whereby the results show negative...was feeling so sad n down, trying hard not to tink so much and was concentrating mre on my work..on the other hand, was hoping menses can cm naturally (mine is irregular as i hv pcos)..was mre worried menses din not come..in the end, i guess mine was a slow process...tested positive aft 3wks i did so-iui.

so i guess,try not to tink abt it, shift yr attention to work or other things..keep it off yr mind and stay positive, okie?

gd luck to all the gals here..=D

Thanks ladies!
I am feeeling very lousy now as I am so bloated that I feel nausea and having gastric pain. At the same time, I want to eat chili and curry!! It's really bad and I am always in a bad mood which my poor hubby has to take. On top of all, my face seems to have more pimples and the pimples also appear all over my body...

I am feeling very lousy now...

jeni, cheer up. how are u feelig now? contnue to drink lots of water ok? any form of liquid also can, soups, milo, fruit juice, i secretly took some suan mei water during 2ww, cos he water dstart to taste bland towards the end, maybe you can try. anyway your test early this week is abit early la... was it a urine test? another 3 more days. jia you

MSH,
how are you now?
Yes, it was urine test but that kind of affect my confidence...
Anyway, i'll try to be positive. Thanks for your encouragement! You have to stay positive too!

It has been long enough no new posting here.

It is really not easy to be in 2WW stage, worry this and worry that. And most important thing is we have to be patient, everyday stay in the house and count down. Start thinking wild whether the little things are still inside.

Last nite, I was so tempted to eat instant noodles, so sneak out to the kitchen and cook half packet instant noodles.
(must not let hb know as he prohibited me to take any instant food.).

But, when I put the noodles into my mouth, I find it so bland, then throw everthing away. May be I feel guilty..

I told myself, as long as I have tried my best, I have already completed my mission and I should be proud of myself, hb and my embroys.

Although I am so eager to see them as my babies, but after been through the failures from iui, so-iui, m/c,still feel that is very difficult. I know the sisters closed to me will say, hey, Koala, please, please stay positive.. Sisters, I am trying vey very hard to do that..

koala,

I prefer to tell you to behave as who you are normally :) apart from all the side effects but if cannot then let it be lor, only for 2ww mah.

After ET, nurse told me not to take orange or drink orange juice becos contain potassium and beans too cut down cos will make bloatedness worse, drink lots of water, can drink ginger water too, dr loh said eat egg white but cook pls cos he got patient ate raw eggs which is no no.

Dr loh also said that if after 4,5 days strike, then pregnancy hormones might made whatever uncomfort that you are feeling now worse but then again, it depends on individual, some more sensitive to the hormones changes some not so

Hi Koala, how are you? Just chanced upon your posting and realised you are now in 2WW.

I think the best for you to do now is not to think so much and try to occupy yourself with other things so that you have less time to think negative thoughts.

I'm sure things will work out fine for you. Jia You!

enhui

Hi hi, how are you? Glad to see you here leh.. How many weeks now? How is the little one? U know the gender? You are not attach to Dr Loh, right?

I am ok and will take care of myself. Just getting bored at home, but good leh, nowadays seems like the postings very quiet, may be with my posting, all the sisters will caome out, ha ha...

Happy,

Hmm... still not use to your new name...

May be the nurse will only tell those with a lots of eggs not to take orange or beans... but not to me.

Don't let all these symptoms to confuse us, the important thing is to get a +ve at the test date.

Hui,

koala,

I also dun wan to think some much all those symptoms but on sunday went to 24 hrs, saw Dr loh, he was asking how is my bloatedness, I told him better now, then he said: hope your bloatedness come back again soon. he meant that if postive, my bloatedness will come back leh so now i abit paranoid on the bloatedness, see bloatedness gets better, faster go and drink and eat to make it bloated, siao right? supposed to drink more water and eat egg to make it better yet scare that bloatedness gone entirely. Okay lah, dun think liao, just let it be.

so I see you tmr at 10am?

haappy, koala, don't worry about the symptoms and what Dr Loh said.... during my 2ww, i met dr loh a couple of times too... he very nice always will ask how we feel, but don't worry aout the symptoms he expects to hear, cos i had none of those he wanted... plus i had spotting for a few days.... that really scared me and worried him... but no choice still have to take care, drink lots of water, and pretend u still have hope, just in case. talk to the embies,..... i think it helped too.

Koala,
found out from this thread that you are already at 2ww stage. I am so excited for you. Keep your fingers crossed and try not to stress yourself too much although I know it is difficult. How many embies did you put in and when is your beta reading?
Take care... you have done your best already.
Remember, different people have different symptons and some don't even have any symptons at all, so don't think and read too much into the situation... ok?

and happy, please don't hope for bloatedness... haha... u'd regret it.... i was so bloated in my first attempt i couldn't stand straight, couldn't sleep well, get into taxi also difficult.... but the 2nd time, no bloatedness at all..... so comfy, can take bus everyday to kk for jab, sleep also comfy. so better enjoy your comfy no bloat situation now...

Happy

ha ha, ya loh, nothing also worry, got bloatedness also worry... everything worry..

ok, see you 10 a.m. let each other know once we reach there.

Jeni

Hi hi, u see, all sisters are coming in liao... times flies huh, u have passed your 1st trim?

Me still have long long way to go for the test date, so now enjoy 1st. Remember I told you i will "shake legs", watch tv, sleep and eat when I am in 2WW, now I am doing all that, so happy, sleep at least 3 times and 5 meals a day... ha ha..

Msh,

How are you? So glad you are still here with us. And with your 3 littles one, u must be very tired.

I don't believe in "Syptoms". Me got this lah, that lah in my last so-iui, but end up nothing happen..

u take care.

msh, koala,

oh, becos last few times no symptoms, very comfy but never strike, so this time wanna more "suffering" so that result will be different. Actually when I was doing NUH, i saw that all the gals doing in KKH suffered so much this and that and in the end positive, so I "cheap" lor, switched to KKH to ask for "suffering" hope to get "positive" and true enough after ER was so sore, pain and bloated, only after ET, the soreness and pain got better day after day and now still bloated but w/o pain lor, my hb said I get used to the bloatedness already so dun feel it uncomfortable anymore, that's why I feel better and better :)

koala,

I think you really sow now, sleep 3 times, I cannot, I sleep too much the first few days, headache liao and at night cannot sleep worse. I dun have 5 meals leh, morning go KKH for jab, eat bf there, at the same time buy lunch from there and then wait until very late for dinner to be brought back by hb. Hb now very poor thing, alot of work, very stress up so need to be understanding, cannot keep pressing him to buy food for me.

today wanna take taxi for jab cos the carpk in kk plenty of "bumps", whole car shake one, but saw that alot of ppl waiting for taxi and call taxi also always on answering machine so no choice, went back to drive :-(

Hi Koala, Happy,
During my 2ww, I can eat a lot, I can sleep well, no nausea, no vormitting, no breast pain, no spotting...
Not a single symntom at all...
Before my beta test, I told myself just accept whatever the result is...
One day before my beta test date, I tested myself by the pregnancy stick, is BFP!!!
This is the best Valentine present that my hubby and myself ever received...
So just stay relax.....

Happy,

Y want to suffer if you still can get +ve too? right? we must trust Dr Loh.

I can't eat outside food often, me very suay kuan, very choosy, but force myself to eat steam fish everyday now.

I love to sleep, during high school time, ppl went to liabrary to study, me also go there, but lay down on the table and sleep for 3 hours..ha ha ha..

When I fight with my Hb, I will go to bed at 8+ and sleep until next morning. He was the one couldn't sleep.. ha ha, so he dare not fight with me.

Sorry to interrupt...me not in 2ww but jus came in to read yr thread to prepare myself on wat to expect when do IVF. Me supposed to do my ICSI in June at KKH. Was reading yr discussion but wondering does the drugs/injections or procedures used in KKH always resulted in bloatedness? Does that mean those used in other hospital like TMC n NUH is more mild??..cos abit worry whether i can survive the 'ordeal'...thks

dream,

I dunno abt TMC, but from my personal experiences with NUH and KKH, I find that KKH injections for me seems to be stronger and I have more reactions and side effects to it whereas when I was with NUH, I have lesser side effects and lesser eggs retrieved too, in NUH, I had 13 eggs and in KKH, I had 25 eggs, the dosage given in NUH is 150iu of gonal F and in KKH 200iu of puregon, more eggs means you will get more bloated and higher risk of OHSS. NUH's explanation was that they prefer not to stimulate the patient with more than 20 eggs to avoid OHSS. However both NUH and KKH to me are good in these area and the drs in both hospitals are reputable too. I like both Prof Wong and Dr Loh , they will ensure that you survive thru the ordeal :)

Hi Happy,

Thanks for yr reply. I din know one can be stimulated until got 25 eggs!...sounds alot to me. May i ask in the end did u got OHSS? Anyway thks for yr assurance on KKH...really need alot of courage to go thru..

hi happy,

you are welcome, Dr loh told me his record is 50 over eggs retrieved and of cos OHSS so they freeze all 50 over embryos.

no, I did not get OHSS, or maybe slight but bearable however I drank alot of water, ate egg white and ginger water for the first few days so bloatedness and discomfort went down alot.

Hi Happy

50 eggs!!! ok so 25 eggs is still ok ah. Alright, thks for the info will drank more water n follow yr example when my turns come. Thks ya!

I have been ttc-ing for more than 2 years, till now still no news. Although both me and my hubby is ok.

My gynae ever suggested IUI to me,now i am quite keen in trying. Can someone share with me the procedures involve?

hi PP,

You experience pain after EC? Hmmmm....i dont have this problem. But i assure you ET is nothing. Remember to "glue" your buttock on to OT table. This is to stablise the "environment" during the transfer. Get a pillow on to your tummy and lightly use that to press your buttock down. I think KK only allow u to lie for 10mins or so. So try not to move for that 10mins. For me i was lying there for about 45 mins because me very urgent need to go to the loo. If not for private practise they expect the patient to lie for 1 to 1.5 hrs.

Good luck...and you r heading to 2ww and to motherhood next.

hi Bodhi,

Thks for yr advice,i thk this cmg Thurs, ET , i will glue my buttock to the OT..But i heard TMC saying that i will rest for oni 30mins... Do i need to eat any things to help to provide a better enviroment?

I experience some slight pain when at certain sitting position. Hehe ..But it is bearable..

Hi Koala,
read that you are on 2WW as well.. enjoying life huh? for me, i just did my FET yesterday.. so my 2WW has just begun! ya... gather i will eat, sleep, do some reading and watch TV lots... of course, must do some walk walk too else body too stiff! this time round, i dare not have high hopes.. just enjoy life these 2 weeks, relax and hope for the best!

so have you gone for your blood test yet? here's wishing you all the best!!

hi PP,
fyi, this is my second shot at IVF.. did my first attempt last Oct and also experienced pain after EC.. you take care there and rest more! when is your ET? dun worry, we'll support each other since our 2WW timing is pretty close!!

Hi PP,

When you reach this stage. Eat what also no use. Just relax and try to heal whatever physical pain you have. I should think no pain is a good environment. In my case, i went to eat spagetti after ET. My IVF centre did gave me a note on the food CANNOT eat/drink/do - They are Pineapple, Watermelon, Banana-Green Skin, Papaya, Coconut, Oysters, Sashimi, Rojak, Bitter Gourd, Brinjal, Brown Cucumber, Spicy Food, Cold and gassy drink, coffee, cocoa, no strenous exercise or carry hevy items, no chinese herbal tea/soup such as Bak Kut Teh etc.

I hope the above help. Good Luck!

Hi PP,

When you reach this stage. Eat what also no use. Just relax and try to heal whatever physical pain you have. I should think no pain is a good environment. In my case, i went to eat spagetti after ET. My IVF centre did gave me a note on the food CANNOT eat/drink/do - They are Pineapple, Watermelon, Banana-Green Skin, Papaya, Coconut, Oysters, Sashimi, Rojak, Bitter Gourd, Brinjal, Brown Cucumber, Spicy Food, Cold and gassy drink, coffee, cocoa, no strenous exercise or carry heavy items, no chinese herbal tea/soup such as Bak Kut Teh etc.

I hope the above help. Good Luck!

hi dodo

Yest, u do ET while i do EC..so, i might be just abt the same timing w u at least we will be in 2WW tog lo..oni 3 days later than u ..
Where are u doing yr FET ? Let jia yu together

hi pp,
i did my FET at Mt E.. put in 3 embies.. how many do you intend to put and which doc/hospital r u with? yes, let's jia you together!

tomorrow, need to go for blood test to see if my progestrone level is all right..

hi dodo,

i m doing my 1st ivf @ TMC with Dr Cheng.. Every 1 tell me to put 3 embies but dun knw whether will mutiples or put lesser embies , chances lower. hehe..