IVF/ICSI - cycle buddies

TTBS,
congrats on your successful ER, how many eggs were retrived? I have been in op theatres 2 times but still dont like it. Have good rest to preapre ur body for ET.

hui,
did u see the dentist? Better see a dentist and get it fixed.

Constantia,
glad tht u r feeling better now, ya loh what to do mood swings really torturing us.
take care pls.

Rachel,
how are u? Feeling ok?

hui,
yes sometimes the gum near wisdom tooth gives problem, i had the same problem when i was 23 after i plucked my wisdom tooth. I was on antibiotic for more than a month. Still best to see a dentist.

Oh is it? i didnt know i choose not to receive PM, will check it out and see how to change it.

hi TTBS

Congratulations to ur successful ER! heehee... u so funny, so excited until cannot remember how many eggs retrieved. Well, but does not matter lar, u will know soon when u do ET, which is 2 days later?

humble, wow, seem to see u more often now. Staying at home shiok or not?

chloe,
ya loh, not working today onwards but dont feel shiok yet leh, may b the staff still call me and i got some more things to settle from home (working from home). Hopefully 3rd and 4th week of june shld be ok i think.

so how's everything? have announced the news to ur family and inlaws? guess u must be having a lot of celebrations. Happy for u.......

hui,
reply oredy.......which sin seh u seeing i want to do acu but dont want to go to the meiling st cos too painful i cannot tahan. moreover, u said its hougang and its near my place.

hi humble

i only told my parents and in laws. Dun intend to tell others until 3 months later. Well, no celebration lar, just that hubby very happy. He very funny, now very gan chiong to buy video cam. Told him no need to hurry cos still got a long time to go, so should compare prices first.

Avoid the liang food like bitter gourd, papaya, banana. Hot soup is good but i heard from other gals that ginger will cos period to come earlier, so dun take too much ginger after ER. Before ER, can make some ginger water to warm the womb, but remember must stop after ER. just make sure u have balance diet, everything will be fine.

humble

To make ginger water, put red dates, dried longgan and slices of ginger into water to boil. Use small fire and boil until u see the water becomes brown. But remember, stop after ER. Dun drink too much cos it is heaty.

chloe,
ha ha...men are like that one! Thanks for tips, i didnt know that banana is no good, hav been eating a lot of banana lately. Will try the ginger water tomorrow. Thanks u soo much.

Hui,
check ur email address u hav used to register here. Amk is far leh, there's one at paragon i think, gonna try that. Thanks a lot, how's work? what is ur working hour?

humble,
actually my mum do brew soup for me since I told her I'm doing IVF... soups like chicken soup she says is very good for womb... and I've been taking essence of chicken as and when too... now during 2ww, I'm still doing the same with the soup and essence of chicken... think it really help to keep my body warm...

Hi chloe, did you take any special tonics b/4 the ET and during the 2ww ? what kinds of soup can we take ? so my MIL can make for me

hi didi

i dun take any tonics after ER but i do make sure got balance diet and drink plenty of water.

Last time before i do IVF, i will drink black chicken soup or bu xie soup after menses but before ovulation. Dun drink these after ovulation cos i heard from TCM physician that they make the blood flow faster so may interfere with implantation. These soup got dang gui so good for keeping the womb warm. When i start the injections during IVF, i din take any of these soups though cos my mother was busy at that time. So, if u interested to try, do check with ur doctors cos i not sure whether can take these with the medications. But remember, once after ovulation or ER, cannot take anymore. During menses also cannot take cos will have heavier flow.

hi hui & humble, my appetite returned today.....
i still eat chicken leh, dun really stick to the Do's & Don'ts list
P

hi TTBS, happy to kn u had a smooth ER....dun go anywhere aft ER...i had fertilised 6, transferred 2 & froze the rest.... hw abt? gd luck & take care
432172.gif

morning buddies,

hi constantia
wow...envy sia..got bu soup...haha

hi rachel,
u eat whole chic?haha..i'm a meat eater..eat alot of meat wan..keke...

hi humble,
today got a speacial session in amk..one yu ren sen sin seh will be there..dunni if i can make it to go anot...

Hi Rachel
Yesterday, my hubby and I already too bored at home, so we went to watch X-Men, despite that I have to walk slow and with a bloated tummy. I managed to fertilise only 3 of which 2 will be transferred tomorrow. The remaining one quality is not good, so no freezing. Hope that my ET tomorrow will be a success.

I thought I read somewhere that impantation of embroys in uterus will only occur first 7 days after ET. Is this true ? Thought of going back to office one week later. Feeling bored at home already, I'm the restless type.

Dear Chole
Can understand why your hubby is so excited. I would too if in his shoes. Hope my ET will be a success so that I can join u and other MTBs 2 weeks later.

Hi Humble
Your ER next week,so fast. Wish u best of luck.

Chloe

Which TCM are you seeing? Could chinese herbs be combined with Western medicine so that the body can be stronger to take the side effects of the fertility treatments?????

How many weeks did you take after ET? Did you take longer than 2 weeks? Must one be on bedrest after ET?

Any chinese herbs to reduce the bloatedness..??

Chloe

I also want to ask if the IVF injections are standard across all patients......Are these injections administered over a standard no. of weeks? Do the number and amt of injections and medications vary across different patients? If body is responding well, then the injections should be a shorter protocol?

Can you work despite all the bloatedness and swelling?

Just finding out......if you could advise...

hi hui, not whole chix, few pieces - be it steamed or fried.....hehe

hi TTBS... u watched x-men too... find tt it's nt bad but a bit sad thou....
u really a restless, man... already went out day of ER....i went back to work after 5days of mc's up.....bt hv to b careful if ur job requires u climbing up & dwn etcetc..... dun b discouraged tt there's only 3, who knows, ther's miracles..

Went to kk this morning for scan, was told the eggs are not big enough so must take more puregon. May i ask how many boxes u gals took? I hav been given 5 so far and was told may hav to buy more if still the eggs are small.

The nurse told me that ER is likely on next wednesday. soo worried whether can the eggs grow bigger and fertilize or not.

Take care all

constantia,
thats wat i m thinking i really cannot without chicken, hehe..

Rachel,
good to know ur apetitie had returned. take care.

Hui,
soo early can post wan ah? U carry ur laptop home?

TTBS,
good luck for ur ET

hi hui, back from lunch... y ur boobs sore? dun worry, as advised by Chloe, ur eggs will grow from now till ER cos my turn some of them were mid-size and scan again 2days later, grown another 2mm... so ther's still time...

gd luck & all the best in ur ER...

rachel,
was the post partly meant for me? he... he... sounds like to me. Ya i remember that, the biggest is only 12 i think, by the way how many boxes of puregon did u use? Thnks in advance!

hi humble,
i reach opic so early..i do carry lap top hm..

hi rachel..
the 1st portion of ur post to me but 2nd portion think for humble huh?haha

hi humble & hui, paisey... blur blur liao... anyway both of u kn can liao...

humble, they issued me 7boxes but i rejected 1 so left 6 boxes... i only utilised 4boxes leh... so left 2 more & now they r looking into it whether can refund or not...

i was not able to post yesterday cos was at my mom's house the whole day. Wow, seems like a lot of postings.

ttbs, all the best to ur ET today!!
Keep us posted of ur progress.

MK, i consulted TCM Physician Dr Tan Kian Sing. He also specialises in male infertility. u can find his info via this URL http://www.tcm-esearch.com/en/TCM_Practitioner_Profile.asp?num=tan_kian_sing&TITLE=?????&PracNum=805

It is best that u consult ur western doctor when u are taking TCM medication. i recall that my gynae checked with me whether i am on TCM when i am doing IVF, so i think it is very impt. Previously when i was on clomid, i din take TCM. i was on complete TCM for 1 year plus without any western medicine, but i visited gynae just to do v-scan to make sure that i have growing follicles and can ovulate.

i was given 2 weeks of MC after ET. i was not on complete bed rest, but i dun go out unless it is necessary. Anyway, i am a homely person, so i dun really go out even if i not doing IVF.

If ur bloatedness is before ER (or ovulation), u can try making ginger water (i think i have given the recipe earlier). Can help to warm the womb and pass out gas. But remember, stop after ER, and dun take too much cos it is very heaty.

Most of us go thru the IVF long protocol. As for medication, it varies from individual, cos everyone of us respond differently. Some pple need lesser puregon for egg stimulation while others need more or a lot more. That's why in IVF, patients are closely monitored and medicine adjusted along the way.

No, i stopped working ever since my ER. i dun have symptoms that cos me unable to work during this 2ww. i stopped becos my work is stressful and my bosses upset me a lot very often.

Hui, oh dear, got fever har. u take care hor. How's ur back? Hope u have fully recovered already.

rachel,
hee hee....no worries can still know one! thanks for teh reply abt puregon boxes.

Hui,
Ya loh, me too keep thinking of ER, ha ha u sarted to worry like me, i will also be around to support you like rachel, chloe and constantia.

chloe, thanks for info! when is ur scan? Think should be twins cos ur test was on D15 right?

hi hui, hope u r feeling ok now....

my pleasure, humble
hw do u feel after puregon jabs?? ok?

hi chloe, take care

missed so many posts... sorry went out 2 whole days since coping at home for almost 2 weeks liao... thought really should go out and relax a bit... but dunno whether because so long never go out liao... today falls sick already... think having flu, sore throat, headache, and a bit fever... so sad... dun dare to take medicine as well... how?

rachel,
my tummy is bloated and big for the past 3 days, its painful everytime i walk and all my jeans and other bottoms are pretty tight. I also hav poking kinda pain in one of the breast. scared is it OHSS (correct?). Need to go kkh tomorrow morning for another scan and if the eggs still not big must take one more box of puregon.

constantia,
Oh so sorry that u r not feeling well, better check with doc whether u can take flu medicine or not. Poor thing la u... take care k...

hui,
Hope you are feeling better now, did u see doc or not?

hi humble

My scan is 2 tues away, and should know by then whether singleton or twins. i have a high HCG so dr said could be a healthy singleton or twins, but unlikely triplets. See how lor, me any number also can

i dun think u are likely to have OHSS since u need to increase ur puregon intake. When will u be doing another scan?? It is normal that u will feel bloated during the puregon stage.

constantia, remember i was also running a temp when i was confirmed with UTI?? ur increase in temp may not be just flu, maybe something good leh... 4 more days to go. Good luck!