IVF/ICSI - cycle buddies

Sounds like there's a different protocol post ET for some hosp. NUH/Gleneagles practices this lie in bed for 2-3hrs after ET whilst KKH only gets you to lie down for about 10min. For the KKH girls, don't worry too much abt that okay cos I asked the nurse and she said they had a recent forum where the different medical personnels met up to discuss their protocols and apparently, there was no difference in success rates between hospitals......I found that a little reassuring

hi akandatang

sorry, dun mean anything ok? All this happens due to my own doing. i think it is becos i had too high expectation for myself, so that's why kind of disappointed. My doctor was very positive during the IVF process, hence, he might be a little optimistic and given me a lot of high hopes.

Have straightened out my thoughts today. We jia you together ok?

I should be going for ER somewhere end of this month. First IVF attempt, so a bit nervous about GA during ER.

Yesterday, after first day of Gonal F ( similar to puregon ) had spotting. Scare me to death. Thought must abolish ivf this round. Tk goodness, the spotting amt was only like the amt of blood when you have a deep cut on your finger. My doc said it is alright due to hormones thingy.

Anyone doing ER around the same period as me ?

One more thing. Did any of your gynae discuss what is the max no of embroys they will transfer ? If yes, can I know your age ?

hi chloe - yes we definitely jia you together. Don't worry too much la, ...we'll just keep each other company while we wait ok?

Hi TTBS, all the best on your IVF cycle!

hi buddies

chole
congrats!!now pls sit n relax..wait for the blood test k..cheers..

constantia18
good luck to u..keep us posted ok..

humble
relax..u wun be the last one..dun worrie..smile..

Constantia,
Hope everything went well today, keep us posted.

Akandatang,
Thanks for sharing the info, I was also thinking abt the resting time after ET.

TTBS,
I thot you were cycling next month, so nice to know that you are already going for ER soon. Good luck, may be rachel will be going for ER around the same time as u, me should probably be during the 2nd week of june if all goes well. Good luck ok?

Hui,
not worried lah, just mood swings, thinking all kinds of rubbish and confusing myself ha ha...think the injections are having great effect on my mood lately. so when r u starting? Hope u can get pregnant before that! all the best

CYCLE BUDDIES

424635.gif

Rachel - ivf/KKH/Sadhana (April/May)
Humble - icsi/KKH/SF Low (May/Jun)
moonfairy - icsi/Gleneagles/LC Foong (May/Jun)
constantia - icsi/KKH/SF Low (April/May)
teddybaby - icsi/Mt E/Dr Fong Yang (April)
Jolene - FET/Mount E/Dr Fong Yang (May)
TTBS - icsi/NUH/PC Wong(May/June)
stumbled_by - icsi/NUH/PC Wong (Jun/Jul)
Hui - ivf/KKH/Sf Low(Aug/Sep)
30s - ivf/KKH/SF Low(May/June)
strawberry - icsi/Gleneagles/LC Foong (June)

424636.gif

akandatang and Chloe have graduated to 2ww thread. *newbies can copy and paste this list and add your details.

Just came back from my ER!!! So exciting!!! Not as frightening as I imagine... but now stomach a bit cramp... got 17 eggs retrieved... dunno whether is that good or bad... going for my ET on mon... so excited liao... but is 2 days enough for my embryos to grow? a bit worried about that... anyway, tell you how it went for my ER and have a good laugh... I find it quite funny...

Reached KKH at 8am... but appointment is supposed to be 8.30am, thought maybe can rest a while but immediately after I leave my forms in the tray, they called me!!! Got so nervous... and straightaway, went to the waiting room without even saying goodbye to my hubby... while waiting, a lady was pushed out of the operating threatre, I've got even more nervous and scared... as it looked so scary with the lady unconsious... soon it was my turn... lying on the bed, feeling a bit tensed up... nurse tells me to relax and give me the oxygen mask... thought that was the sedation, but I was still awake... so I keep saying to myself I want to wait for the doc to come and and have a look before going to sleep... but next moment I remember, I was already at the resting bed outside the operating threatre!!! Till now, I still cannot remember what they do to make me asleep... hahahaha... my hubby say I pig... that's why so fast slept... hahaha maybe I was...
424671.gif

hi constantia

heehee, u so funny. Well, glad that u had a successful ER! Wow, 17 eggs, that's a lot! All the best and we will see u in the 2ww thread soon!

Chloe,
is that a lot? there a lady there told me it a lot... but me still find it too little... hope to have more then can have more selection...
anyway, it's not the quantity, it's the quality right?

constantia,
Sooo.... cute u lucky gal, fin the whole ER within a blink...
424777.gif

17 is a considerable number of eggs, Can have enough embies to transfer and freez. Last time i only had 13 eggs, out of 13 only 7 fertilized and out of 7 only 6 were good 1 discarded. al the best to u, k.....

humble,
thanks a lot... but now my stomach so cramped!!! Everytime I stand up, have to walk slightly bending forward... too pain liao... dun like cramps lah... AF time I normally don't have cramps... now a bit cannot tolerate liao...

hi constantia

of cos urs is a good number! And yes, quality is more impt. For me, i had lesser eggs retrieved than u (13 eggs). Out of the 13 eggs extracted, only 3 made it for ET. My doctor told me that he would need to monitor the rest as likely, they will not be able to make it for freezing.

Nevertheless, me already straightened out my thots. Now waiting patiently for time to pass.

i think it is normal to have cramps after ER. Dun worry too much, but if very jialat until u cannot tahan, good to check with doctor.

Constantia18 - congrats! 17 eggs is a good harvest! I had only 8 retrieved
. I can fully understand the cramping - i had really bad pains too! and for me, they lasted almost a week but it got better with each day. I also walked slightly bent 4ward like you, becos of the pain! I was told the pain is from the ovaries - they were pricked to retrieve the eggs so it'll slowly heal. I sympathise with you, Constantia18! Hope the pain goes away quickly!

Chloe and akandatang,
thanks for your encouragement and wishes... my cramp today better liao... so happy!!! Really hate cramps a lot prefer bloatedness
but lucky it subside today... by the way did anyone have spotting after ER? I'm very worried as there was like a blood clot flowing out yesterday, but today spotting totally disappear...

hi constantia

i had a little bit of spotting for the next 2 days after ER. Very light, and pinkish in color. As for blood clot, suggest u check with doctor tomm?

TTBS,

I am same gynea as u but my stimulation/ER/ET will be in June/July. If u are 31 you should be transferring 2 embryos for your first cycle, unless of cos, Prof Wong has other ideas thus he wants to increase your chance of conception.

GA is nothing. You just fall asleep like what the rest said. It is more 'uneventful' than ET(embryo transfer), but the after effect of ER (for me) is more cramping..

constantia18 ,

I had cramping the last time too cos i have 20 eggs! I know what u are experiencing. it should be more bearable after 3 days
) i guess cos more eggs means more manipulation at the ovaries there ;p

Hi Stumbled By, u are right. Prof Wong is likely to recommend 2 embroys. Learnt from other sisters here that they do transfer 3 embroys even though they are my age i.e. 31. Will consult Prof for his advice.

Wah, cramping after ER. Can I take pain-killer or not ? Does Prof give pain-killer ? Although I am the type with menstrual cramp every month but need pain-killer.

TTBS,

But i think if its your second round of IVF it will be 3 embryos/ or if he thinks higher chance he will up to 3.

no painkillers. its something like menstrual cramps tho i seldom get menstrual cramps so cant really relate. but it did affect my mobility that few days ;p

but i think if really painful u can eat panedol..his assistant or nurse told me..

morning buddies
now in my nw office

constantia
is the oxygen mask make u zzz...i did once for my CIN 2 operation..i tok to the nurse haf way whn i wake up i alreadi finish my op..haha

hi hui

wow, now can surf the internet more often liao
All the best to ur new job. Better isn't it? Dun have to climb up and down anymore.

constantia, u feeling better? Rachel, how's thing going on for u?

hi ladies.... back from scan at KKH... tis morning had my last jab of puregon and hv to go back tmr morning for another round of scan... seems like there are not many eggs for me leh... only 1 egg at 17mm, the rest are 15mm/14mm/12mm...others 10mm/8mm
worry not many eggs can be retrieved & implant

hi ttbs, like you, my ER will be these few days, likely this Thurs.. will have a more definite date after tmr scan...

hi constantia, 17 is already a gd number of eggs...
all the best

hi hui, happy for u that u r in the new job

hi Rachel

dun worry, the follicles will grow about 2mm per day, so by thur, those smaller ones should be big enough. My dr did mention that during the last few days prior to ovulation, the follicles grow extremely faster than usual. Maybe they will ask u to continue puregon after tomm's scan??

hi Rachel

i cannot remember dr mentioned anything about intercourse. But i read from some internet websites to abstain for the next 2 weeks after ET, cos orgasm can cos womb to contract.

wonder how is constantia now...

going for my baseline scan tomorrow.

Rachel, the eggs will grow bigger so dont worry k..how long did it take for you from baseline to ER stage? I m having a lot of commitment at work until the 3rd week of June. Hopefully i can do ER after that.

Hui,
Good for u, all the best ok..

Hi Rachel
Your ER will be this Thurs. U must be feeling excited ! My ER is likely next week. I'm into Day 5 of Gonal F at 150iu per day, only 3 follicles, but dr said its ok considering my blood test. Thought number is a bit low. How many follices you remember U have after 5 day of your puregon or gonal F ? How many embroyos u decide to implant this cycle ? How old are u by the way ? I may have ask u before. Is this u first ivf ? Sorry for my blurness.

morning buddies
i'm suffering frm terible backace

yest go home HB help me to rub then i lie on bed totalli can't move..eat panadol then manage to move abit...this morning oso eat panadol then now at work le...

I'm back!!! Yesterday rested for a whole day... I only have 8 successful embryos... had put in 3 grade 4 embryos... feel nothing when putting in cause all I can think if my bladder is so full that I want to go toilet!!! I didn't even lie on the bed for 10 min (KKH's practice is to lie for 10 min then can go) Think maybe just 5 min or lesser then I straightaway ask the nurse that I want to go to the toilet...
dunno will it affect or not... but dun care liao lah... really too urgent lah...

Hi Constantia18 - been waiting for you to return. Welcome back! 3 Grade 4's are great! plus so many other frozen ones too! Don't worry too much about going to the toilet lah, must pee means must pee, right?!
Wasn't it great looking at the picture of your embryos! Rest well!

hi constantia

i've been waiting for u to "appear"! Congrats for achieving the new milestone! me also had the same problem, bladder was very very full during ER. Now rest well, and keep us company for the next 2 weeks!

Next one will be Rachel?

hi constantia,
great to know that you had soo many embies, 3 grade 4 embies put in is very good. The rest 5 frozen? Take care!

CYCLE BUDDIES

Rachel - ivf/KKH/Sadhana (April/May)
Humble - icsi/KKH/SF Low (May/Jun)
moonfairy - icsi/Gleneagles/LC Foong (May/Jun)
teddybaby - icsi/Mt E/Dr Fong Yang (April)
Jolene - FET/Mount E/Dr Fong Yang (May)
TTBS - icsi/NUH/PC Wong(May/June)
stumbled_by - icsi/NUH/PC Wong (Jun/Jul)
Hui - ivf/KKH/Sf Low(Aug/Sep)
30s - ivf/KKH/SF Low(May/June)
strawberry - icsi/Gleneagles/LC Foong (June

Graduated to 2ww: akandatang, chloe and constantia (did i miss anyone?)

Oops forgot to ask!

Can anyone tell me what is the ideal measurement for lining during baseline scan. I had my scan today the nurse was saying right 6 and left 5 but left the room before i could ask her what does that mean. Were u gals told the measurement during your baseline scan? Pls advice. Thanks!

hi humble....:p i had my 1st jab - Lucrin on 24th Apr so tt's 1mth ago
hope this helps
am sure u can do it by then

hi TTBS, i can't rem the no. of follicles :p yes, very excited.... but the 5days of MC issue by KKH inclusive of Sat & Sun so a bit lugi for me...

after morning scan, i noted that my endometrical thickness is 13mm..... RT ovary has 12 follicles. Biggest are 19mm, 18mm, 17.5mm and 16mmX2. LT ovary has 10 follicles. Biggest are 20mm, 18mm, 17mm and 15mm. jus note the biggest follicles only, rest are between 8-14mm :p but i asked the Dr, a few will b empty rite?. she said yes but it's rare.... oso i checked with 1 of the nurses if eating egg white can reduce bloatedness & confirm can but rite now, they dun recomm due to bird flu so best is water...

hi chloe, u were rite, the follicles jus grown overnite :p

hi Rachel

So happy to know that ur follicles are doing so well! Now, all the best for the ER on thur! We are waiting for u at the 2ww thread!

oh btw, Dr Sadhana will not be the 1 doing the procedure for me as she will be on leave....
so it will be either Sheila Low or SF Loh whichever is available...

hv a gut feeling will be SF Loh cos he saw my file this morning but too bz to see me personally...

hi all just called kkh, for blood test result, am starting puregon on the 26th Friday and the nurse said the ER will be sheduled somewhere around 6th or 7th June if all goes well. I was estimating it should be around the 3rd week of June but looks like earlier than that

He hee...think most of u would have graduated to mtbs thread by the time i get to 2ww thread.
426666.gif

Rachel,
Thanks for the reply, u r rite its about the same time oso.

Hui,
Oh, how did you get the back pain? Hope u r doing ok now, how's your new job btw?

Me lot of thinks to settle at work before ER so I m soo cranky and moody lately.

hi humble

Wow, feeling excited right?? Soon, soon, very soon liao.

wow hui, no need to climb up and down yet have backache. Luckily u changed job already, if not dunno how. u take care and rest well hor.

chloe,
ya...excited and scared (dont know y leh!)oso very kan cheong at times, hope i'll calm down soon, hee hee!

rachel,
Dont worry that ur doc cant be there for the procedure, both the Dr lohs are good too, esp SF Low is very popular in this site u know rite? Good luck k...