IVF/ICSI - cycle buddies

went for my 2nd u/s today, think it's quite ok as wed will be my final u/s!!! Was so worried before the results (Dr will tell you straightaway how's the u/s). Dr said it's ok and there's a number of eggs, dunno whether how many is a number, but think should be ok. At last~really heaved a sign of relief! Me such a worried queen!!!

humble,
According to the nurse, the antibiotic is to "clean" the sperms, so my hubby actually finish all of it as he feel that his sperms are "dirty"
But I think it's really up to individual!!!

hui,
Bless U!!! Lucky it wasn't you!!! Good things that you're going to leave the job! So when's your last day? Bless your colleague!
kao_shy.gif

Chloe,
So good to have so many eggs retrieved!!! By the way, how many is enough? Do you know? By the way, how long does it take to finish all the ER? Will they give u MC? Think mine will be this fri if nothing goes wrong...

Wah, this board is so exciting - so many developments lately! Different people at different stages!

Chloe! That sure looks like a good number of eggs! Are you feeling bloated?

Humble - I love all your emoticons! Like Constantia18 said, the antibiotic is to make sure the spermies are 'clean' with no infection of any sort. I'm on leave till Wed. The lower abdomen pain (ovary pain) has disappeared! Besides that, I had on & off cramping over the last couple of days - dunno if that's good or not but today, I feel nothing - also dunno whether good or not!!

Constantia18 - for KKH, they'll give you 5 days MC from the day of your ER. You're up next! So exciting! All the best!

thanks everyone for the very warm welcome...feel very touched.

hi humble, i believe you went for the doctor at meiling st? i go there too. the first time i was there, i was very surprised cos the insertion of the needles were painful and i ganna burnt, got blister and then scar, then subsequently smarter cos when it's really hot, i just lift it up for a while or put some more cardboard underneath. i agree, it's painful, and didnt feel safe cos burner can drop, but be encouraged ok? We press on together, if accup helps in our bb project, then we shall grin and bear the pain...

JC, dont be discouraged, it's a long journey for all of us, but we will be there. that's why i find this forum very encouraging, we have one another for support.

chloe and constantia, all the best for your transfer this week!

and to the rest who have already transferred and waiting for results, all the best to you!!!!

hi akandatang, ok.. my HB will eat the antibiotic...
since it has such a gd effect on the sperms :D

hi chloe, 13 eggs are quite gd..... rest well.....^-^, akandatang, u2 - rest well...

hi humble, both akandatng & constantia had explained wat's the antibiotic for... :p

hi constatntia, wat time were u at KKHIVF? was ther ard 930....

btw, nurse passed me the medisave authorisation form to complete.... when must i issue cheque for the insurance? aft ET??

Hi Sisters, for those hubby being prescribed antibodies. May I know how did the doc know if the hubbies need it ? thanks

constantia and akandatang,
OIC! then must ask hb to take it too. Thanks for the info. Akandatang, i download a lot of emoticons from all over the web and save in my comm whenever i feel very bored or low (thats how i destress hee hee). Constantia, gd to know that everything is going well for u.

strawberry,
u r welcome! I agree with u, there was another couple last sat who were also there for the same reason i guess, the wife also ganna u know? she screamed "shit shit shit" and i got soo scared lying next to her. Poor thing don know if she burnt herself or not. I only went twice so far but decided not to go anymore.

Good nite all

Thanks for all the wonderful encouragement....

I was very depressed the entire weekend.....but looking at what each of your determination, I am comforted....

Anyone went through IVF with Prof Chen at Gleneagles........??? I will be seeing him tonight for the next steps and he will definitely recommend IVF since he had said many times to me over the previous consultations......

I am pretty worried leh......

Is there already end of the road???

Sign....

forgot to mention yesterday, my hubby managed to produce at the hospital, so there was no mad rush yesterday. Anyway, i waited for 45 mins for my turn to do the procedure. The actual procedure took 30 mins.

akandatang, me dun feel bloated, but have been farting every five mins. heehee... like after eating sweet potato / ginger soup
Are u back at work already?

hi JC

No, i have not tried Prof Chen, heard of him though. i heard that his charges are very high?

i am in the midst of doing IVF. The infertility road is a difficult one. i had many failed attempts in IUIs. Last Dec, i even had laparoscopy but to no avail. i was discovered with scarred tissues at my pelvic region during the laparoscopy. Although dr removed them during the operation, i still cannot conceive after that. Bo bian so had to try IVF, cos dr suspect that my scarred tissues might have returned and my tubes might be affected.

IVF may seem scary, but once u are in it, u will not feel so bad. Personally, i feel that the period u take to make the decision whether to go for IVF is worse. There seems to be too many unknowns about IVF, and very often the more u try to find out from the Internet, the more scared and worried u will get.

Do hear wat Prof Chen got to say (i heard he got tendency to ask pple to go for ops and IVF/ICSI??) Then, discuss with ur hubby whether to proceed. IVF is physically, emotionally and financially draining. But it is all mind over matters. If u have explored all possible means and want to have a baby badly and u are very sure this is wat u want and it is the top priority (even over ur career), then i think u should seriously consider IVF. Sorry if i have confused u with my long posting. Do keep us updated ok? Some questions u may wanna ask urself before deciding IVF:

1. Is ur husband's sperm count and quality ok?

2. Have u done any blood tests before? Are u suffering from PCOS? (normally doctor should do blood test on CD2, to see ur LH and FSH levels, if LH is higher than FSH at CD2, u might be having PCOS. Under v-scan, u can see a string of "black pearls" in ur ovaries)

3. Are u able to ovulate on ur own? If not, wat are the drugs that the dr has prescribed u to induce ovulation? (i am a PCOS, so need to take clomid, FSH injections and metformin to ovulate every month)

4. How is ur womb lining, is it too thin?

5. Have u checked whether u have blocked tubes?

6. Do u feel pain during ur period? Any fibroids or endo?

7. How much does IVF cost? (i am doing ICSI and after yesterday's day surgery to do egg extraction, it costs me about $13K so far. For the 1st IVF cycle, u can use $6K from ur medisave)

i am with Dr L C Foong, 4 storeys below Prof Chen at Gleneagles, Annex Block.

Hope that helps. Gals, anything that i have missed out? Can also share with JC on the cost for doing IVF at KKH?

Chloe,

Rest well. U are lucky not to feel bloated. I was feeling painful after the egg retrieval, had to limp around and cringe everytime I move around. probably I had more eggs (20 the last time) For this new round of IVF, I am a bit jittery over this 'probable discomfort' after ET..

Rachel,

Mine will be ICSI. NUH, PC Wong

JC,

Actually for me, the injections is nothing. Not that I am boastful or my pain tolerance is high, but truely the needles are small so there is nothing to be afraid of. The injection from blood withdrawal (for the blood test) will be 'more painful' but it is still okay...just like normal injection at the arms area - everyone can take it

i guess it is the mental resilence of IVF. During stimulation stage -whether u will have too many/too little eggs. And then egg retrieval. For me, I had crampy feeling after egg retrieval. Then its waiting for the 'results' - how many embryos are formed and their quality. Finally is the embryo transfer. I think its the waiting, and the outcome that needs more mental strength. Need to be prepared for whatever the outcome maybe...

Hi stumbled_by, details updated... looks like TTBS has the same Dr. as you....

CYCLE BUDDIES
akandatang - icsi/KKH/SF Low (April/May)
Chloe - icsi/Gleneagles/LC Foong (Apr/May)
Rachel - ivf/KKH/Sadhana (April/May)
Humble - icsi/KKH/SF Low (May/Jun)
moonfairy - icsi/Gleneagles/LC Foong (May/Jun)
constantia - icsi/KKH/SF Low (April/May)
teddybaby - icsi/Mt E/Dr Fong Yang (April)
Jolene - FET/Mount E/Dr Fong Yang (May)
TTBS - icsi/NUH/PC Wong(May/June)
stumbled_by - icsi/NUH/PC Wong (Jun/Jul)
Hui - ivf/KKH/Sf Low(Aug/Sep)
30s - ivf/KKH/SF Low(May/June)
strawberry - icsi/Gleneagles/LC Foong (June)

**For newbies, kindly copy & paste the above and include your data**
422486.gif

JC, dun give up hope yet... tt's y there's IUI/SO-IUI/IVF/ICSI all these ART to help us...
like u, i was really disappointed tt we are not able to conceive naturally but no choice. In fact, HB suggested IVF after our 2nd attempt SO-IUI (1st was IUI) failed and told him, i was not prepared for IVF.... but after some thots, i finally go ahead cos of our ages (he's 33 and am 32 tis yr).

As wat Chloe had said, IVF is physically, emotionally and financially draining. So best to really considered all factors carefully before any decisions make...

hi buddies...
my colleague is fine now..heard dat yest she's playing mahjoong with anther colleagues...
i seem to lost track here..abit upset

dun realli know wat's going n here..AF delay again

chole..
hear good news from you soon

cheers..

Chloe - good for your husband! Ya la, farting every 5 min probably means you are bloated....with gas! I also got a lot of gas, was told it's because of the HCG jabs I'm getting. I thought bloated means bloated with water but the nurse told me gas also can lead to distension/bloatedness.

Stumbled_by - me too! I had horrendous pain after ER and I only had 8 eggs retrieved! Wonder how the doc pricked my ovaries until they were so tender and sore. The pain lasted exactly a week!

Humble - thanks for yr well wishes. Trying to ignore symptoms or lack of symptoms!

Hui - welcome back!

JC - in your earlier post, you asked if IVF is "the end of the road". Choose NOT to look at it that way - it's only the beginning........the beginning of a journey towards a dream to have a baby. Cheer up, okay?

heehee, hui, ur colleague's incident very dramatic!
sorry, very nasty of me to say that. Glad to hear that she is ok now.

akandatang, i called the clinic but they unable to tell me the status yet *aiyoh, time crawls!* Dunno whether got embryo or not. If have, dunno how they doing now... i want them back so badly!

JC, agree with akandatang. No one wants to be in this situation. But if u are in it, see it as God's test on u. It is just the beginning. u have gone further than many pple, now is the decision whether to do IVF. u are better than those pple who din even give themselves a chance. For these pple, they are not even at the beginning of the journey. Trust me, the sisters now all are undergoing IVF, it is not our choice, but we had to do it. Talk to ur gynae to reach a decision. Keep us updated ok?

Chloe - at KKH, they don't tell you anything till the day of your ET! They say it's because sometimes the numbers can change from day to day. When are you doing your ET? Is it tomorrow? They'll be back in you soon! then you will start another stage of worrying....haha! We cha bor velly kang kor! (women very difficult)

akandatang, dr told me yesterday that if everything is ok, ET will be on thur. So, maybe they will call me tomm lor.

u are right, after ET, still got more things to worry. Like whether the embryos have implanted, are they growing well, etc etc. cha bor, cha bor, ur name is mia kor!!!

Think every1 is doing great here!Good for us.
Finally I finished my contraceptive pills, continuing with lucrin, can anyone tell me how many days after contraceptive pills does AF comes. Thanks

akandatang and chloe,
we women will never stop worrying one leh, even after we have bbies we got lot to worry so we are "non stop nonsense" ha ha.....

Wow! Gals!!! So many entries today!!! So envious you can surf net during office hours...

akandatang,
KKH only give 5 days MC? Do you know whether can they give more? Cause my job actually require me to move about a lot and carry heavy things, so really hope they can give me more MCs... worried again...

Humble,
mine only came about 4 days later... but only lasted for 4 days too...

Strawberry,
thanks for your luck!!! Hope I can really make use of that!!!

didi,
the docs just prescribed it regardless whether you have good or bad sperms... I think it's just like our Folic acid... you have to take it as long as you are trying for a baby... similiar reasons...

Constania18, thanks as my previous gynae didn't prescribe any of such antibodies, will take note
, so you will be doing your ER this friday ? Good Luck !

hi stumbled_by & all girls....
let's all jia you.... & work towards our goal!!!! like world cup, it's a gd feeling when it strikes! :D

hi hui, when r u starting ur new job?

been in "stone" mood past few days - 1st, forgot to buy syringes (ran out) for Lucrin so hv to bring it along with me to work on Tues, bought at guardian & jab in Ladies
.... 2nd, forgot to bring Lucrin & syringes home on Tues *arrhhh*
so jab in office tis morning....*duh* ..... wonder wat's wrong with me... so blur..

Thanks constantia and chloe, so i think nothing to worry abt.

Rachel,
ya lets jia you together
423067.gif

me too, very very easily get irritated lately. Had already received feedback from some staff that i m making them very tensed whenever i m around. aiyo i cant wait to stop these hormone medicines.

Think all of us are quite the same... I've been having lots of moodswings lately too... By the way, anyone feel very heaty that it's like having fever after puregon? Don't know whether is that normal? Furthermore, I've been having constipation recently... dunno whether is it due to that also...and lots of backaches as well, *signz* seem like having a lot of problems but dunno whether is it because of puregon... anyway, today is my last jab, tomolo will be doing my HCG, this sat will be my ER!!! So excited!!! Anyway, didn't know they work on sat... so happy... no need to take leave...

hi constantia18

wow! ER this sat!! Wish u good luck!

yes, i feel a bit warm when on puregon, but mine was manageable lor, prob becos i drink lots of water every day. i had headaches and bloatedness though.

Constantia18 - yay! ER on Sat. all the best. Regarding your question on MC - I didn't ask for more so not sure if they would have accomodated my request. why not tell the nurses your situation at work and get them to help you get more MC days. Alternatively, is there a family GP near your place that you can go to and ask him/her for MC? Just wondering....

hi akandatang

Thanks! Very excited, will know how many embryos made it tomm! heehee... tomm must be careful not to leak urine cos must do ET with full bladder. Roughly how many days after ET will we know do the beta HCG test?

constantia,
all the best for your ER, i m also thinking of asking KKH to give me more mc, but remember reading somewhere in the support group thread that kkh is very stingient abt giving mc and that one of the nurses actually made remarks on one of the sisters that she is pretending to be ill to get mc. If they dont give me mc i'll have to take unpaid leave loh!

chloe,
good luck let us know once u know the number of embies. All the best to u!

hui,
Are u preggie? Don think soo much abt AF lah, it will happen when we least expect. Take care ok?

To all siss,
Read an ariticle in Strait times "mind your body" abt a lady who has gone thru failures in ivf. I agree with her, more should be done to prepare us to handle failure.

hi hui, icic... all the best in your new job

hi chloe, ya it's ur turn... feeling excited for u...

hi constantia, i dun feel heaty after puregon...like u, constipation
and "stone, stone" mood... wow... ER tis Sat... :D yeah....

thanks a lot for your wishes and support!!! Feel so touched and happy!!! Actually find it really good when I tell people I know, that I'm going through all these... everyone always gives support and encouragement and I really feel that's what we (or me) needed now at this time when we are quite vunerable...

Humble,
read that article too... quite interesting and really made my mind up not to think so much and really must prepared myself for the worst worst scenerio...

Chloe,
how are u? Goody goody luck to u!!!

Rachel, akantadang, Chloe,
Hehehe... think I have all your symptoms during puregon... hope it'll end soon... still feel bloated although have stopped puregon today... later tonight going for my HCG at KKH... so excited!!!

hui,
I think IVF women = Cranky, kanchong, worrying, grouchy, scared, excited, impatient complaining, moody etc etc...

constantia,
me too, whenever i think of what to do if this doesnt work i just feel so helpless. Hubby keep scolding me for being so negative. I m not neg but just dont want to end depressed like last time.

think me will be the last one to graduate to 2ww from our current buddies, still stimm leh! Af havnt show face yet!

humble,
Try to stay relax and hv positive mind, otherwise u'll find urself very tense and 'hu si luan xiang'. I feel that my work helped during my 2WW, at least I don't hv too much time to think of the end result.

hi all, i din read but got to kn it thru here
& oso my own sister who called to inform me...
i tink we hv to be hopeful but of cos to prepare ourself for disappointment
i dun wan to sound so neg but at least my disappointment will be minimise
hopefully so... fingers crossed

Had my ET yesterday. dr put in 1 grade 1 (8 cells) and 2 grade 2 (5 cells). i had 10 fertilised, of which 8 matured, and out of the 8 matured, 3 used for ET yesterday. The rest may not even make it to freeze cos they grow too slowly, up till yesterday, only 4 cells and some even 2 cells only. sigh... i got a feeling this IVF cycle is not going to be successful, and i guess probably it is due to egg quality that's why i cannot get pregnant all these while. My heart really sank when he told me this.

Btw, when any of u gals did IVF, did ur doctor drain out ur urine from ur bladder after the procedure? Mine did and it was so painful! i was also required to be warded and lie flat on the bed for 3 hours! Wow, my spine damn sore.

blue rabbit, i will be on hospitalisation leave for 2 weeks. Well, i cannot go back to office this period. My bosses are very scheming pple and now that they know i am doing IVF, they already trying to make life difficult for me
, so better not for me to go back.

Chloe,

Good luck to you! Wow..u really know the details of your embryo quality and even how many cells they develop! I did not ask so much during my time.

I did not drain out urine from bladder. it seems to be the practise for gleneagles doc..so far i heard..for mine, if required, they will give u a urine pan to urinate. but of cos, i wouldnt cos its so awkard to urine in a lying down positioN! so just hold urine for 2+ hours..

hi stumbled_by

i think i over-do yesterday, cos in order to have a full bladder for the procedure, i drank 3 glasses of water beforehand!! Really regretted, cos even after they drained the urine for me, i had to urinate twice on a urine pan on my bed when i was warded!! So malu!

blue rabbit,
I m tryin my best to stay positive but my past exp keeps giving me all the -ves, thanks for the advice, will keep that in mind k, abt work, i better stay at home after ET cos my job is superstressful and had to do a lot of walking, carrying children at times etc etc. If i m in some other field working wld be the best like u say. Pls shower some baby dust on me so that i can get preggie, hee hee........Thanks!

Rachel,
Agree with u, Lets stay positive Ok?

PMA..PMA...PMA...PMA...PMA...PMA...PMA...PMA..PMA

chloe,
Fingers crosed for u....pls have plenty of PMA, i read in a new research article that implantation is determined by a chemical present in the outer layer of the embie and the quality of the embie doesnt matter. It seems that not all embies will hav that chemical, and not all embies with that chemical are of good grade, so a not so good grade embie can very well become a healthy baby if the chemical is present.

I read this research article a few months ago but dont know which website, will try to find it and post it in the news and info thread.

good luck to u...
424039.gif

Congrats Chloe on a successful ET! Hey, why like that? Don't be pessimistic okay? You have really good quality embryos transferred. If it makes u feel better, I only had 1 Grade 2 and 2 Grade 3 transferred. Rest well!