IVF/ICSI - cycle buddies

Hi Chloe/Rachel,

Hmmmm....they didn't mention that I can get my HCG jab done at my GPs......then again, I think nevermind la, my HCG is scheduled for Sat nite and my regular GP is not opened then so will just go to KKH.

I was told before that I'll hv 2 b on Progesterone Jabs for 17 days after ET so will ask if I can get that done at the GPs otherwise, terok man! Gotta travel down to KK everyday!

hi akandatang

u mean progesterone jab everyday for 17 days??? i heard the progesterone jab is painful. Anyone can share whether this is true?

Hi humble & akandatang

Thanks for sharing your protocols with me ... wah, look like very xiong leh.

For me I only started on Puregon on day 2 of my menses for 5 days. Scan, then Puregon for another three days. After that HCG jab and then two days later ER liao. But my ET was about 5 days later cos my embies not growing very well. So the three that were transferred were blastocysts -- 5 day old embies.

Also, I did not have progesterone jabs before ET. Only crinone inserts. It was only one week after ET when I did my blood tests and they found out not enough progesterone in my body, then they ask me to eat tablets, in addition to the inserts.

I don't know what impact progesterone has, cos it's supposed to help with the implantation process.

When you next see your gynaes, do you mind asking them about this? Whether there is any effect on implantation if your progesterone level is low?

I'm going to ask my gynae this when I see him, but I'm afraid he may just say oh, no impact, since I failed my IVF.

Hi Chloe

Good luck with your puregon jabs. Which hosp/gynae are you with?

I've never had the jabs so don't know if painful or not ... but i think you sure can take it one!

Hi Rachel

What's the status with you? Sorry I may have missed your earlier postings on this.

Hi Hui

Good luck for your session with the counsellor ah. Maybe you try to hint hint to your hubby what you and counsellor talk about? Or tell counsellor not to tell hubby too many things?

How come you all have counsellor one? I never had to see any counsellors. Only see nurse and they just tell me what the IVF process is. Do twice liao so I know it well. But still cannot strike. Sigh!

think I missed a lot here... been busy and have a change of workplace, no access from there now... so can only check this when I come back...

akandatang,
so good!!! So fast can ET liao!!! Envy!!!
Good luck for mon!!!

Chloe,
Me will only start on my puregon on mon!!! Can't wait... how was it? Painful? Where is it injected?

Rachel,
me also will be at KKH on mon... but think can't meet u all, cause nurse Sarah tells me to come only after 10am... only there for my Puregon... Good luck, too!!!

Hui,
you have depression before? Serious? Me too have, but was a very mild one... thinking back, all is caused by ownself, thinking too much liao... really don't hope to go back to that anymore...

anyone taking any vitamins for all the procedure currently? What is actually good? Have anyone bought a supplements call "Co-enzyme Q10"? Where to get this? And what are the things to eat or not to eat during every stage? Think a bit too late now but still want to try my best to keep my body stronger for this period...

hi teddybaby, bacially am having similar protocol with akandatang lah but i just started Lucrin jabs and nt sure hw many days of Puregon jabs i'm gg to hv, hw's follicles r growing etc....

as for counsellor, if u choose to hv IVF at KKH, we have to attend a counselling session before we can start the program... the session is for both hubby & wife...helping us understand the program better, hw & wat hubby can do, wat's our expectations on IVF etcetc....

hi constantia18, u will b starting puregon on Mon... exciting :p nurse told me to b there 8-9am... hopefully can be early lah..... cos Mon always very crowded..... exciting, hope can see both akandatang & u...

Today had an argument with boss. Tried very hard to control myself, kind of cooled down already. Dun worry, i din cry
i think i will have to seriously considering staying on with my current job. Dun think can get along with my boss and if too many arguments, i dun think it is good for my health, and baby's too if the cycle is successful.

My boss made a comment which i felt very upset about. She told me that she envys me cos i will be on leave! Goodness, as if i will be away during my 2ww for fun! Just have to give her benefit of doubt that she has not been through this and thus she does not understand the situation that i am in.

aiyoh, must be the puregon taking effect, cause me to be soooo moody.

Chloe,
Dun angry lah... think all bosses are like that... my boss nowadays also dun like to talk to me, maybe because I'm been on leaves so often ... sianz lah... :p anyway, can i ask you, which part of the body do you inject for puregon?

constantia,
I bought a pre-natal care vit few months ago but never took it, too busy. Now i m not taking anythin just folic acid thats all. About what to eat and what not to eat, i m starting a new thread for that so that the sisters here can post their knowledge and expertise there.

Chloe,
I understand what u mean, Please dont take things very hard. If you think that u hav been having this problem for too long then ya, like u said its not good for health. It could also be all the medications and hormones doing this to us. We can easily get pissed of at this stage
417315.gif
, me too ended up scolding my staff for her silly mistake today, later felt bad that it was a bit too much for that. I havent even start med fully swing yet so fast like this liao, me soo scared coz i usually hav very bad mood during pmt. May be we shld wear a board around our neck or hav a sticker on saying """beware, hormone lady""" haa....haa....

humble,
hahahahaaa.... good idea!!! Maybe should give to all ladies especially my boss also... sometimes out of no reason will start scolding all of us!!!
417452.gif

So, what's your new thread's name? Must inform me ok?

Please take note that there's a new thread called "IVF/ICSI/IUI-do's & dont's". Kindly post any tips on wat to eat and wat not to eat, wat to do and wat not to do during the cycle.

thanks in advance

I saw teddybear's posting abt progesterone jabs... it's suppose to raise our progesterone hormones so that implantation will take place. I took 4 jabs in total after my ET cos reading came back quite good. The hcg jab before the ER is slightly more painful but not too bad lah... don't scare urself. The jab is on the thigh and u'll only feel a few secs of numbness and after that ok liao. Don't worry ok? Good luck all.

hi budddies..
my new job damn shack!!!onli long long can post one time nia

humble
hehe..i call the counseller not to tell my HB wat i said abt him the counseller agee..hehe

akandatang
ya i was in KKH on 4th May but not green is black..long hair

teddybaby
ya..the counseller ask me not to worri
i nvr cry leh...still laugh all the way..haha

constantia
ya,i had depression bf n after my wedding

constantia,
yup yup agree, but we cycle buddies need it more than anybody else ah?

hui,
dont worry, take care. Good u cleared your fear of hb's counselling session. All will be good.

Had my HCG jab last evening and like Blue_rabbit said, it wasn't so bad. For me, it was certainly more painful than the Lucrin or Puregon jabs - it goes straight into the muscle (intra-muscular) and there's this burning/stinging sensation when the med goes in and the thigh sorta feels numb but this morning -all is well again.

Blue_rabbit - is the progesterone jab more painful than the HCG jab?

Teddybaby - sure, I'll ask my gynae when I next see him abt the effect on implantation if progesterone levels are low.

Chloe - hope u have a better work week this week.

had my v-scan & blood test tis morning & was told to call them at 4pm later to check the results & next steps...

had my ER done today - scanned 12 follicles but retrieved 8 eggs. The other 4 were empty but I'm not going to be upset abt that. I prayed for an ideal no. of eggs so I'm just going to trust God that this is the ideal no. of eggs 4 me!

They have introduced DH's spermies to the eggs & they r now resting in the lab. I hope they fertilise & multiply well into good grade embryos!

I'm feeling terrible tho...have quite bad lower abdominal pain. Like menses pain but slightly worse. I also seem 2 hv this pulling pain/discomfort when I breathe in deeply, the pain seems 2 be ard the diaphragm area - strange. Was told that there will be some discomfort & it may get worse as the sedative wears off.....& they're right! The pain got pretty bad juz now to the point where I was breaking out in cold sweat! I popped 2 panadols (was told it's ok 2 take) & m btr now.

Praying that this discomfort will go away so that we can go 4 the ET on Wed morning!

Rachel - how? Hv u called the clinic? Can start on Puregon already?

hi akandatang

poor thing, my turn will come soon
But do hang on there, u are very close liao!!!

i went to see my dr today. 10 follicles on the left and only about 6 follicles on the right ovary. Dr mentioned that i will do ER earliest next monday. Very excited, but then also worried about my right ovary, sooooo lazy. Dr has asked me to continue 300ml puregon hoping that my right side can buck up and my left side can also help to balance up the number. i was told that 20 follicles (10-10 for left and right ovaries) is a good figure. Any idea whether that is true?

waaah! Then I terok already! hehe....Only got 12 follicles! Seriously tho, Chloe, your numbers look good! That's 16 follicles & now that you'll be on puregon for the next week, there will probably be more follicles coming up. All the best!

Hi Mandy! The nurse asked us that question aft my ER - not sure at this point. She said Dr SF Loh is a 3-embryo man whilst Dr Shelia Loh is a 2-embryo lady!
Actually, I dun dare think too far ahead.... right now, just praying we'll get good grade embbies lah & hoping this pain goes away! Hopefully, we'll make the right decision on Wed! So happy 2 hear news abt yr BFP. Bet u r looking 4ward 2 yr 6th wk scan! Did u hv 2 hv progesterone jabs after yr ET? Was it anything like the HCG jab or worse?!

hi akandatang

Thanks for your well-wishes! No, i only had the hcg jabs cos i had very few eggs retrieved. Progesterone jabs will be for those with more eggs retreived..think more than 10 or 15?

if you have enough, i would advise that you put in 3..high chances of implantation..

hi akandatang

Well, not every follicle has an egg. For ur case, 8 absolute eggs look like a good number. Mine is still very much unknown, and pending for confirmation

siao liao lar, me headache, dr said it could be due to dehydration (side effect). i have been drinking lots of water, but not passing out enough urine! Guess i am having some water retention problem.
3 more days to go before the long weekend. Very xing1 ku3!!!

hi mandy

thanks, well, they are only follicles. i cannot rest my mind until confirm there are eggs. So paranoid nowadays, i scared i have the empty follicle syndrome... aiyoh, my thoughts run wild again.

Hi Chloe, I'm like u, worry worry at every stage! 1st worry whether can get suppressed, then worry got enuff follicles or not, then worry whether got eggs inside or not, then worry got good grade embryos or not, then worry can implant or not, if implant then worry can carry baby to full-term or not etc etc......ha ha! Hope the headaches go away quickly so that u can hv a gd relaxing long weekend!

Mandy - ya, DH & I were talking & we'll probably go for 3 IF we hv enough. His only concern is what stress/effect of carrying multiples will hv on my one kidney (I donated my other kidney to him in 2003). But I've read/researched that the chances of triplets r actually very very low. Anyway, this is really too soon 2 think so far ahead! I shld juz focus on getting to ET!

hi hi gals,
how's everyone doing? akandatang and chloe, looks like the two of you are going to graduate soon frm this thread to the 2ww thread, soo excited for u gals. I cant wait to go to that stage but like you gals me too worrying a lot lately, I m only on supression stage havnt even start lucrin so fast scared whether can get eggs or not.

akandatang, sorry that u r going thru the pain, rest well dear.

chloe, good luck for u to get good number of eggs. Take care

Mandy,
How are u? hav u been going to work after your +ve result? when is your scan?

hi akandatang.... gd to hear u hv such positive thots but tt shld be the way....
were u there at KKHIVF Ctr ard 830-9am?? wearing black/red clothes??

aft v-scan & blood test, nurse told me to call at 4pm to chk results but hor i forgot to call :p was bz with work & auditors here...
but KKHIVF called me instead at 5+ to say results ok but continue with Lucrin & start Puregon on 15 May..... so i hv to go back next Mon at 10am to learn hw to use the Pen....
btw, i did SO-IUI b4 using Puregon Pen, issit the same pen? if yes, then i can use the old one, no need to waste $$$:p

btw, realised when gg to prepare for Lucrin injection tis morning tt i had run out of the swabs...
418945.gif
alamak.... no choice but to do without the swabs & inject hehehe... must rem to buy from guardian during lunch....
418946.gif

HI Rachel - 1 more wk 2 Puregon for you! Dunno if it's the same pen or not but mine came free when I bought the Puregon. I was at KKIVF at 8am & was in the changing rm by 815am - I probably just missed seeing you.

Humble - thanks! I'm less sore today but tummy is bloated a little - quite uncomfortable. Was told it's cos air gets introduced during the ER so there may be some bloatedness. I think worrying is a common characteristic among women!

I've started on my Puregon liao!!! At last!!! Today is the 2nd day!!! It's more painful than Lucrin but still bearable...

Gals, what exactly is Lucrin and Puregon for? Cause different nurses tell me different things, making me a bit confused. Please help.

akandatang and Chloe,
How long are u on Puregon? How many eggs is enough? What's HCG for? Hehehee... never really find out what I have to go through, just go through it

Rachel,
me also going to KKHIVF on 15 May for my 2nd scan, maybe will meet you, or maybe you like me have to go after 10am to learn puregon?
Heheehee... a bit blur lah u... me very kiasu... bought a lot of needles and swabs now still got extra...

Humble,
dun worry... it'll soon be your turn... will wait for you at 2ww when I graduate, hopefully!!!
kao_kiss.gif

i am on my 6th puregon injection today. Can i check whether anyone of u experienced bloatedness when u are on puregon? i am on 300ml puregon and 20ml suprefact (KKH uses lucrin). My abdomen is very very bloated, and i start getting nausea. Is that normal?

hi ll my dear buddies...
how's everyone???i ender again from my shoes job..very 'shiomg'..i climb up n dwn sooner or later will be bad for my womb...
i met a nice lady n she wanted me to be her personal assistance..she say for my case as i want to start IVF.ICSI she form his post for me..i juz have to sit there do nothing..at most paper work nia..so good right...
so i told her i got no experince..but she still pay me quite well..i'm so gald i got to knw her..so hope it will be good for my IVF/ICSI

hi rachel,
u too moving on to the next stage already ah? good luck 2 u. Me starting lucrin tomorrow, excited and scared.

akandatang
O I C! pls rest well i m sure u'll feel much better soon. Ya loh, seems like we women have inherited an extra gene than men called "worrying gene" hee hee!

constantia,
tank u soo much, wil try n come fast ok?

Hui,
wow, sit there and do nothing ah? Hey can oso recommend me a job like dat or not? ha ha....

My job was super dooper stressful today, my migraine shoot up high immediately after a problem started by one of the staff, and by the time i settled it i was late for a seminar, on the way rushing to catch a cab my shoes tore, hopped all the way to the nearest shoe shop and spent $30 to buy a shoe that i dont want to wear again, the seminar was damn boring but had to sit and wait for 3 hours (torture liao) after that MIL called and brought up a family issue and made me extra sad. irritated, miserable, tired, stressed up and hungry is how i can describe my day. By 7 pm my mind was shut down and cant think anymore, so caught up with an ex classmate and went crazy shopping (spend a lot and buy rubbish)until 10 pm. On the way home another staff called and brought up another prob and now (1.00 am) i cant sleep thinking over the matter and all that had happened today.
sorry for pouring out my probs here, this is the only place i feel i hav pple who can understand me. Thanks for reading this long post all!

akandatang,
no lah, not painful... the progresterone jabs r done by the nurses and they r very experienced alr, so don't worry. Take care yah... esp the first 2 days after ET is very crucial.

morning akandatang, orh, so u were already at KKH at 8am liao... :p will b praying for u..

hi constantia, appt is from 10am onwards on 15/5, Mon...
so likely we will bump into each other there... :p

wow hui, lucky u to meet such a nice lady....
if i hv such gd lobang, i will grab it.... all the best in ur new job

hi humble, ya starting puregon next monday....
thanks. ya i kn hw u feel, me2 was excited & scared :p and gd luck to u too...

ur job really stressful leh.... all come to u for solutions... is ther any vice-principle or something to assist u??

today very happy, cos one of the gals under the same dr as me has gotten to BFP after doing IUI!! Well, IVF is a painful process and i am so glad she does not have to go thru the same hardship as us.

sighs gals, i am back again

after a super happy bfp 2 weeks ago, the doc couldn;t detect a heartbeat at week 6 n hcg levels didn;t increase, hence the pregnancy came to an end.

now thinking about next steps, and considering IVF.

just wondering if anyone had a hormonal profile done and how does that affect yr IVF journey?

hi babymaking

So sorry to hear wat has happened to u. i am doing IVF now, next week to do egg extraction.

For IVF, dr will need to monitor u closely. i am under dr foong of gleneagles and ever since i have started on my injections, i will do v-scan and blood test everytime i see him (about 3-4 days time). The dr will base on ur LH and FSH levels to determine the dosage that u will need. For PCOS patients, we tend to be over-productive, so care must be taken not to overstimulate our ovaries (a condition known as OHSS). For my case, i am slightly PCOS, and i am taking 300ml puregon and 20ml suprefact.

Quite a mouthful of info, hope i am not confusing u. Are u familiar with the procedures in IVF?

Hi humble
dont get too stressed about work.. i know it is easier said than done. I'm also in a high stress job and i can feel my drive go down lately becos i have been feeling so tired.. I feel feverish all the time, still has cramps on and off and also not much appetite (esp at nite).. although we cant help u much, we can at least lend a listening ear.. Cheer up, k?

Hi babymaking
sorry to hear about your news.. if you dont mind, can i ask if that was a natural pregnancy? were there any symptons and what was your bhcg level when u tested +ve? I'm sorry to ask so much..i'm now at 5 weeks and waiting for my scan next week and after my first hcg test one week ago, there were no other tests to continue monitoring this.. i'll kinda worried and feeling a little paranoid..

Hi akandatang
How's your et and how many did u transfer eventually?

Chloe,
I'm only on puregon the 3rd day, already have bloatedness and a bit cramp. Also dunno whether is that normal... a bit worried but my hubby says it's normal lah... :p He's calmer than me... me always worried this worried that... think he's correct lah :p

Hui,
Good for you... think office jobs is really better than sales jobs... so lucky!

Rachel,
Ok!!! Will look out for u!!! :p

Humble,
your job sound so stressful! Will it affect you? Have you thought of taking leaves to do it? Maybe will raise the chances...

Babymaking,
Dun be sad... we'll support you... I also always feel that I won't succeed... so always very low moral... I understand how u feel...

Akandatang,
How's everything? Good luck!!!

hi budds!

Thank u rachel, mandy and constantia. Today was not so bad, only physically very tired as i didnt get enough sleep last night. Thanks for your listening ears. Rachel, I hav no asst principal cos we are not a very big centre but hav a admin clerk who assists me with clerical work, aiyo its the mental job that i hate! constantia, ya lo, very worried if this kind of stress will affect the outcome, hmmmm!

started lucrin today, actually didnt feel any pain while hb was injecting cos was still half asleep. HB need to go to work at 7.00 so he had injected me at 6.30 am. but about half hr later when i woke up felt a stinging pain at the area for about 10 min. Is it ok to be asleep while injecting or can we go back to sleep immed after injecting (very lazy me right).

akandatang,
How did the ET session go? Keeping everything crossed for u..............

Today will be seeing dr to do a final review. Very nervous, wat if cannot do ER next monday?? Cannot wait to get over the puregon stage, cannot tahan much longer liao. Today my palms are so wet! Must be very nervous.

constantia, i know how it feels, very bloated right. Be prepared, soon u will find ur skirt very tight! i feel very tired nowadays, and like to sleep a lot. My water retention prob is not so bad now after drinking tonnes of water.

hi girls!

sorry I couldn't post earlier. Out of my 8 eggs (I had 12 follicles), we only got 3 embryos so we transferred all 3 in with none left to freeze. I spoke to the embryologist who told me that out of the 8 eggs, 2 were immature - they ICSI-ed 5 & 4 fertilised but by yesterday, only 3 were viable embryos - the 4th one must hv been lazy la! The 3 I transferred are 1 Grade 4 and 2 Grade 3s (grade 5 being the best). Dr SF Loh was frowning wen he found out there were only 3 viable embryos & he said "Let's hope for the best." He didn't actually sound very reassuring!

DH & I will keep the faith & be positive. I go back for HCG jabs every 3 days - Mandy u r right - if one has more than 15 eggs, then it'll be progesterone jabs. Less than 15 eggs will be HCG jabs. I still feel soreness in the ovaries area but much btr than post-ER. Also feel bloated with air/gas - bleh. I feel so relieved everytime I can burp or fart!

Humble - I also used 2 continue sleeping aft DH jabbed me with Lucrin/Puregon...zzzzzz You apply for leave for your 2ww already or not?!

Chloe - sorry 2 hear u r so bloated - I was only on 200iu of Puregon & 10iu of Lucrin - I was slighty naseous 2wards the end of Puregon but not bloated.