IVF/ICSI - cycle buddies

Jily - thx 4 sharing that website. U r rite, it's a grt video clip to share with pp who may not understand the pain/trials we r going thru.

Edel - 4 me, I called KKIVF when my period came, they gave me a date to go in 4 my 1st jab (D21), then it's Lucrin 4 2 wks then baseline scan/bldtest. I didn't have to go in on Day 2 4 hormone tests, I think I took that test much earlier, just b4 the HSG.

Humble - my protocol seems slightly diff fr yrs? U hv to take oral medication 1st then the Lucrin?

Constantia18 - wah! u actually like the injections! I can't bring myself to jab myself - so chicken! HB does all the jabbing. 4 me, it's Lucrin jabs 4 2 wks then scan to c if hormones r suppressed enuff, if ok, then onto Puregon & Lucrin for 2-3 wks. If all goes well, then it's the HCG injection for the final maturation of the egg then ER followed by ET.

Hui - re: HSG xray. it was uncomfortable 4 me cos I think I was 2 tensed. They'll get u to sit & rest 4 a while after the xray 2 make sure u r ok. 4 me, I started feeling faint & almost passed out aft the xray becos I think I didn't hv bfast b4 that so pls make sure u eat something b4 yr xray & relax!

Humble n Jily,
thanx..i will go to my near by library to borrow the books..btw Humble..i think im not going for the session..too ex

Akandatang..
i will eat something b4 the x'ray..coz after dat i'm goin to temple to pray...

anyone know whether is there any symptons during lucrin? I'm having spottings on the 3rd days of lucrin, a bit worried cause I'm also having oral conceptive pills to regulate my menses. (or maybe it's really my menses coming cause the pills left only about 3 days? :p) And also I have slight discomfort at my abdomen area, is it normal? A bit worried and gets very panicky recently. Worried that my body may be react as well with the medicine and so on... must really stop thinking lah.

Hei, by the way, anyone know how long the first ultrasound will be for the lucrin? Dunno to take timeoff or leave, really waste a lot of leaves on this.

Hui - HSG. Scary for me lah. Unbearable for me although i love injection, that pain was NOT for me!!! But after half an hour, it's better. It's really like a very very serious cramp!!! Bad experience for me. :p

hi constantia18
after looking at ur msg i'm reali worried..i heard is abit cramp..but my sis in law told me is not pain juz cramp abit..after ur description i started to panic le..dunwan do the HSG..

coz i cun take pain..

hi buddies,
how's everyone doing? hope all are enjoying the long weekend.

Jolene and others,
went for the acu today. It was actually painful esp. i was scared to look at the needles (i cant stand the sight of needles and am fated to do ivf) after that the hot (pot or light)got hotter and hotter but i kept pushing it as further as i could from me. the last 15 min was unbearable, felt like jumbing out of the bed and running away, ha ha.....but managed to tahan and its over. The acupuncturist asked me to go everyday if posssible and is asking hubby to also do (hubby dont want to do..aiya all the needles and pain only for me.

hui,
I thot if u are going to do ivf u must attend the counselling. I think the HSG whether painful or not depends on the individual's pain threshold and the doctors skill. The doc who did for me really made me angry, he just cant make up his mind which cathedral or watever they call it to use for me and kept inserting and pulling it out many times and that made me very uncomfortable.

Hi Humble,
I suffer blisters after the acu session, it don't happened to everyone, I am exceptional case. It's still the same after twice acu. I do find it quite unbearable but have to persist. You are going back everyday?? That is very tough but it should be good.

Ya, I do agree our hubby can't take that type of pain, we are the one who can tahan. After he see all the blisters on my stomach he is feeling scare.

hi Humble
me thinking of skipping the counselling.$190 abit ex..i tot is free..if i nvr go counselling i guess doc oso wun knw...hehe

hi Humble..
i notice u gals are doing acu?wat's dat for?isit good?i think we gals reali suffer alot just becoz of wanting a child of our own..hehe..so Humble we muz tahan till the end..i told myslf how pain it is i muz tahan till the end juz becoz of bb..Thur my bee working..can't cm with me for HSG..mum will cmpany me...

is hui correct abt the counselling? I oso dont want to go if its not compulsory, can anyone advice?

Jolene,
Aw dear, you got blisters? did u push the hot pot away from you or not?
I dont think i can go everyday, its very far from my place and moreover, cant go thru that kind of pain everyday. Managed to convience hb to go oso once a week and i will go twice a week. am thinking of going again this wed.

hui,
dont think so much abt the pain just keep thinking of the baby. Good luck!

constantia,
abt your questions on lucrin, i m not very sure cos this is the first time i m on lucrin and havent start yet, may be the other girls would be able to help u. Please dont think too much, we will get used to everything and once you have the bundle of joy in our hands these pains we are going thru will seem like nothing. Take care

akandatang,
yep, yep! how come the protocol for same medicine be different? Dont know leh!

CYCLE BUDDIES
akandatang - icsi/KKH/SF Low (April/May)
Chloe - icsi/Gleneagles/LC Foong (Apr/May)
Rachel - ivf/KKH/Sadhana (April/May)
Humble - icsi/KKH/SF Low (May/Jun)
moonfairy - icsi/Gleneagles/LC Foong (May/Jun)
constantia - icsi/KKH/SF Low (April/May)
teddybaby - icsi/Mt E/Dr Fong Yang (April)
Jolene - FET/Mount E/Dr Fong Yang (May)
TTBS - icsi/NUH/PC Wong(May/June)
Hui - ivf/KKH/Sf Low(Aug/Sep)
30s - ivf/KKH/SF Low(May/June)
404653.gif

hi buddies..
there's is a book quite useful to those doing IVF..by Kate Brian "In Pursuit Of Parenthood: real life experience of ivf..

Humble n Jily
i very kasu..i already reserved the two book u gals mention by Zita West..keke
..waiting for library letter to collect the books..

Hihi...

yup yup. Maybe I think too much. :p Anyway, no pain for today, so maybe it's just my mind.

Anyway, did anyone of you tell any close friends or your parents or parents-in-law that you'll be doing all this? Yesterday, had an unpleasant day. Was first month for my little nephew and everyone keep asking me when have one of my own... sian lah... although my parents-in-law keep saying it's ok... yet keep telling me to carry the baby... that way can be pregnant easier!!! Ai ya!!! Really hate all these...

Hi Humble,
Your hubby doing acu as well, tat is good.
Ya, had water blisters, think is due to burn so manage to prick it and let the fluid flow. I did tot of going twice per week when it's nearer to my fet date. I suppose will meet you there one day. I won't be going next week, will be on holiday and probably be there on last week of April.

hi Jolene - was told by the nurse that the ultrasound scan will take half an hr but m not sure wat the waiting time will be like.

Jolene - re: your qn abt Lucrin. I was told Lucrin is supposed 2 suppress our hormones so we may experience the side effects of Menopause, ie hot flushes/mood swings/joint aches etc.

I'm on Day 13 of Lucrin and hv been feeling very warm the last 2 days. As a result of the warmth & discomfort, I'm also getting slightly cranky! Hope this info helps u

Thank you, Hui, Humble & Akandatang.

Humble, hui is correct abt the counselling. It's compulsory, must attend. Actually there's a MO and also a nurse who will explain in more details abt IVF. Dr SF Loh only saw me in the beginning to ask me sign some forms. The whole session is quite long.

Constantia, I heard during the counselling that when we are on lucrin, may still have the last round of menses. Let me check my notes given and let u know tonight.

Ladies, notice that most of u go for acu. Remember not to take any TCM as this was repeatedly reminded during my counselling. Think acu is alright since nothing is taken orally. Heard acu can enhance pregnancy chances

hi edel,

just wondering how long is it between making the decision to go for IVF with SF loh and the counselling session?

i was told the waiting time is 2-3 months.

in case some of u r wondering, we still will hv menses after start lucrin. My menses came 10 days after I started my lucrin injections.

Babymaking,
it really depends. The nurse will counsel u first about the IVF/ICSI procedures, then visit the social worker, bear in mind that her appointment is always full, so may hv to wait. After that it'll depends when u r ready and then when ur menses come. U will start lucrin on CD21. That's y u were told it takes about 2-3 mths.

blue rabbit,

how many trips is required between telling the doc you want to start on ivf and really starting the IVF per se?

babymaking,
For me is 2 trips... 1st time was to sign consent forms, 2nd time was appt to review my endo and confirmed with Doc Loh that we r ready to start treatment.

jolene,
HB said ok but dont know if he would come for the second round after the pain, ha ha! Would love to meet u if we happen to go on the same day.

hui,
looks like u must attend the counselling, think u better check with the nurse again.

Edel & Hui,
I also realized a lot of them are going for acu during ivf and also read that acu increases the chances of conception. so want to give it a try this time. Hui, heard that acu will increase the blood circulation to the womb and keeps it warm.

blue rabbit,
I didnt know that we will hav menses after taking lucrin, was thinking we wont hav menses for the whole two months. thanks for the info, u r soo kind to drop by to help us.

Take care all

oh thanks blue rabbit

will take note. 2 trips is not so bad, i was thinking of like 4-5 trips, one to see doc, another to see IVF nurse, and social worker than back to doc again. :p

Hi constantia,

blue_rabbit has answered your questions. Yah, I have written in my notes that the nurse told me that while on lucrin (start on day 21), we may still have menses on the expected due day.

Hi babymaking,

hee... blue_rabbit has also answered your question. For me, I was seeing another gynae in KKH and had laparoscopy done and then referred to Dr SF Loh for IVF. Hence, the day I met Dr SF Loh was also the day I made the decision to do IVF and so signed the consent forms and counselled by the nurse and MO. I still have to go for another counselling by the Medical Social Worker and then wait for my menses in June. Yah, the waiting time to test hCG from the day u start ur IVF is abt 2 - 3 mths as u only start lucrin on day 21.

Humble,

I'm not scared of injections but don't know why scared of acupuncture. Went to People's Park Centre the other day to look for a recommended TCM to start acupuncture but couldn't find it. Think it has shifted location. Hence didn't start or look for others after that...

hi ladies, glad to hear a few of u had started the prog.... i will start mine next mon morning so will take 1/2day... wld like to find out the things i need to bring along?? those forms tt we signed??? must HB goes along with me?? thanks

edel,

thks for sharing your experience.

so can i safely say that if i see SF Loh on CD1, by CD21 i can start on Lucrin. as HSG can be done between CD 7-10?

and between CD1- CD10, appt can be made with the IVF centre and social worker?

'm trying to pack everything as close as possible so that i don't change my mind about IVF.

frankly i am not prepared for IVF but because of time factor (i'm 31) + hubby sperm seem to be deteriorating from month to month + failed IUI cycles, IVF & ICSI seems to be my only option.

hi Humble
i found out the add le..is at meiling st rite?wat to tell the sin seh?coz i haven start cycle..or u think i start cycle le then go?

babymaking,
U need to prepare urself emotionally first before u embark on the treatment. If u r not prepared for IVF, how r u going to endure that 4-5 weeks of injections, blood tests, scans, on top of that, all the anxiety, stress, mental strain and work too.
Pls take care.

dear buddies..
one more day for me..
..thur going for HSG..any buddies done HSG n the tube no problem wan? coz i look thru the forum..quite a number ppl nd to do laparoscopy...

blue rabbit,

once the treatment started, there is no going back...it's the waiting part that takes a toll.

hui,
you already went through the counselling session?

hi babymaking
i haven go to counselling yet..very ex..reali feel like skipping it..
..like doing this IVF alreadi very ex..coz me n hubby don't have so much money..btw,babymaking,wat stage u in alreadi?u start cycle?

Rachel,
you will need to bring your appointment/registration form and appointment card, both husband's and wife's IC to see your IVF doctor. Husband needs to be there as he will need to sign some forms too. Regarding the forms you will be signing, these are consent forms and forms to prove that certain issues are already discussed with you by the counsellors. There are questions such as what you want the IVF bank to do with your left over eggs & embryos whether or not you succeed with the programme. All the prices and costs of going through IVF will be communicated to you on the same day too. By the way, you will need to pay the councelling fee and registration fee on the same day, so remember to bring your cash or NETS / credit card.

hui,

i am now in my 2www for IUI cycle. but not much hope that it will work.

want to make IVF arrangements ASAP so as not to delay any more.

actually when i saw SF low the first time mid last yr, he suggested IVF directly but we were not prepared, so we went to see pte gynae to do IUI. the first IUI, we striked but lost it at 8 weeks in Oct. this is our second IUI and dun think it will suceed.

edel,
how much is the counselling session and registration fee?

is it just me or do anyone else feel that KKH IVF administration sucks?

each time i call to ask about the IVF process, i get different answers.

for eg, no one there has told me i need to pay for the counselling or registration fee.

thanks Edel, re the forms u mentioned - are these consent forms that both HB & wife have to sign? such as hw many emybros we want to put in, isn't ok if we donate extra eggs for research purposes? then we can "deposit" remaining eggs in their "bank" for future up to 5yrs @ S$300/yr?? if yes, we had signed all the forms
sorry ask so many qns... :p

just for info... I paid about $400+ when I first registered for IVF. It included Doc's consultation, counselling with the nurse and social worker (I think), plus some other stuff I can't remember.

so far, i hv not pay any $$ for consultation, counselling & social worker..... except blood test for HIV for both of us.... mayb they will ask me to pay all those coming Monday....

hi rachel.
the form u mention is actali sign on the spot with ur HB wan..so far i had my test all done left HSG(will b on thu) then HIV for both of us..the consent form we sign last year think they shredd away le..keke..so got to sign again..

sure babymaking....
am keeping all invoices for SO-IUI (done in Feb) & IVF (gg to start) etc in a folder as momento... lol

yes hui, those forms were signed on the spot.. so u mean ther's more forms to sign??? OMG...

hui,
will post the address in preparing your mind and body thread so that it will useful for others who are looking for an address aswel. I think its better to start the acu early if you are planning to go for it so that u can just go once a week.

babymaking,
the counselling session is about $190. I have the same feeling as you abt the admin in kkivf since the beginning. Can you believe one nurse told me that i hav to call on the first day of May menses and when i called again after 2 weeks i was told to call in April, the nurse even thinks that i m blur. Aiya, many incidents like that but i m just focusing on the end product.

Rachel,
I think there will also be some insurance papers to sign but not sure is it now or later before the embryo transfer, must ask MTBs.

hi Humble
im going sin seh tonite..drink med to tiao my body 1st..then when start ivf then i go acu..will let u knw how's the sin seh tomolo morning..

hui,
thats gd, btw are u working or homemaker? u seem to post reply immediately leh! I hav no time to surf net at work so ony do it once i reach home. which sinseh are u going (what is sinseh btw, sorry for my blurness)

rachel,

i've been keeping a copy of my bills also, sometimes it's just easier to track back. and also to show future baby how much we spent *kidding*.

humble,
i'm glad i am not the only one facing that. it's particularly frustrating to me cause i am in half minds abt going thru IVF, plus the uncertainty also cause additional needless stress like trying to figure out the steps ahead of time so that won't get stumbled by conflicitng information.

trying to focus on the end goal now.

humble
i'm working..too bored at work lo..so my reply ver fast..haha..sin seh is chinese doc..i'm going to hougang ave 5 wan..near my hse..going with my sis in law..keke..btw,u got any hotmail msn?