IVF at NUH--feedback pls

Pink: Yes. I totally understand. "false positive" is even worse than "negative". Fortunately, HPT seldom gives you false positive result unless you have hCG shot.

HPT has a accuracy rate of 60% even 3 days before the period due.

Thanks Serene, Mel, goodgrl and dadwannabe for the well wishes! I am trying to keep my sanity intact by doing my business stuff, updating the accounts book etc. Can't watch serials anymore as I will keep thinking of testing early.

Am going for hotpot dinner with my bunch of girl friends tonight, so looking forward to it. Will help to take my mind off testing early.

serene, I agree with you that I shd wait until Thu, but don't think I can withstand that long, will probably succumb to testing tmr morning, haha....I also hope you can have BFP too and we graduate from this thread together.

Mel, E2 is an indication of the growth of your follicles. They want to monitor such that your follicles are not growing ahead of the lining as both need to be matched for optimal implantation. Can I ask if you have growth hormone injection in addition to Gonal F?
Hope your lining will grow fluffy after taking Progynova.

pink - your pregnyl shot is 1500 units?
wow, thats a lot. i only got 20 units each twice after the ET. Anyway not sure what this pregnyl shot is for also. Any idea?
Hope you will get the BFP this Thursday! So exciting!

Andreanie, maybe the unit of measure we used is different? To be exact, my dose is 1250iu each shot. I had 4 shots on D3, 6, 9 & 12 (D2 was transfer day). From what i understand, Pregnyl is the hormone from the urine of pregnant women and it helps in stabilizing the pregnancy in IVF as our body may not produce enough hormones on our own after all the drugs. Hence it is also called support jabs. Correct me if I am wrong?

Pink, good that u keep urself busy to take ur mind off the testing. U have a gd time this evening
I only took Clomid twice a day and then D6 scan, BT and Gonal-F. I'm not sure why this time ET and follicle sizes not consistent cos my previous times I never had problem with ET even for natural FET leh. Not sure if it's the Clomid cos it thins ET or its just my body. Anyway I can only wait for tmr scan.

Yah I heard that Prof Ng uses HCG jabs as pregnancy support through TCM Dr previously. I wonder why HCG rather than progesterone since progesterone doesn't give false positive testing.

Mei_Mei: It is well-known that clomid will cause the thinning of your ET. My wife used to take clomid every month, and the amount of AF became less and less each month. Dr explains to us it is because of clomid.

Huh!? U mean if take Clomid the AF (menses) also becomes less? Then Igot to ask Prof Ng tmr cos I hv told him before my period only always only two days. Then if itsknown fact why DRs still content to give Clomid wo supporting patients' ET with another med?? I must rem to ask tmr but sometimes things seemed hurried so I forget...

Mel - Clomid will either give you more AF or less AF. I was on Clomid for several months before we decided to go for IUI and then IVF. Got preggy on my first clomid cycle but end up ectopic. Afterwhich I continue with Clomid again and my AF became little one month and then a lot the other month! Horrendous I tell u..

Pink - Oh i see! I didnt know. I only had the Pregnyl jab on Day 4 and Day 7 after ET for 20units. The next checkup would already be my BT.

Pink-I think it would be better to check on yr BT morning, as Pregnyl might give a false +ve urine test.
Pink & andreanie-the IU is the unit & andreanie mention one, CHR already help U to calculate & convert to how many mls to jab, eg 20units (0.2ml). Otherwise is the same thing lah.
For Pink-think Prof Ng given more as the dose was given in terms of 3 days interval.
Pink-really can't tahan, no matter what the blood test is the most accurate.
Happy testing tomorrow.
Awaiting yr babydust on Thurs.

e pregnyl jab had taken effect. feeling veri bloated, crampy, backaches n abit breathless since afternoon. although not comfortable, but i hope e bloateness will remain all e way for next 9 mths :p

hi andreaine, hows u feeling these days. any special symptoms?

Serene - I've been feeling crampy, bloated and backaches! I even put axe oil on my tummy and back before I sleep cos if not can feel like dull backache.
Also a bit constipated after eating my multivits maybe cos of the iron in it. And did I mentioned I'm always feeling hungry (maybe cos of the bloatedness and wind!) and tends to pee at least every other hour before bedtime?And I'm feeling hot despite having aircon and fan in the house. other than that, I'm feeling a-ok except for the still itchy v. Have been eating one cup of yoghurt each day and put the travocort cream so it's bearable now.

Serene- haha. No need whole 9 mths bloated, just be bloated enuf when it should for BFP

Andreanie- is it alright to apply medicated oil to tummy?? Last time a TCM Dr told me cannot anyhow apply medicated oils to tummy. How abt u put warm towel / heat pad (not too hot and directly) to soothe ur bloatedness and aches?
I think at this stage tend to be constipated due to high progesterone. U can take a few dried prunes and water. Prunes will 'pull' water to it and helped moved bowels.

Mel, yes Clomid tends to make the lining thinner. Remember to ask Prof Ng when you see him tmr. He wanted to give me Clomid too but I had migraine from it before so I was given Letrozole instead. Letrozole is good for me, I don't have any side effects from it.
In addition to Pregnyl injection, I also have progesterone insert Crinone everyday, double support to be kiasu i think. No complaints if I can get double happiness from it, hehe...

How come I don't have any constipation? Is it because I don't have enough progesterone? I also don't have much of the cakey discharge from Crinone. Just now i can feel a blob come out and went to toilet to check if AF is here. False alarm, it's just the watery discharge again(like CM). Sorry if TMI...can't help but to google if this could be one of the early pregnancy symptoms, and it really could be! Oh no, am I thinking too much?

I have this impression that Sistas from KK do have BT for progesterone during the 2ww to ensure they have enuf support. Last time I also asked Prof Wong to give me EXTRA support besides crinone gel cos no BT one never knows if our progesterone level enough or not during the 2ww. Then he gave me injection IM for every 2 days. That was when my TCM Dr told me giving extra progesterone support better than extra HCG cos no false positive.
Pink- hope u BFP

Mel - yes can put medicated oil, cos its outside on your skin surface. superficial. They only give a relief feeling on your skin, the oil never penetrate into your skin.

Everyone is camping here to wait for Pink's result...

Update on my wife: Today we went for the 3rd scan after BFP. Confirm singleton. We can see baby's heartbeat already.

I just rtn fm clinic. Abit depressed... My ET still 4mm onlybut my follicle grew v fast. Today is 16, 15mm liao. There were 3 others 8,8,6mm and Prof Ng said unlikely they can catch up cos the big ones are big for my D8 cycle. So today I had Centrotide immediately and tmr. OR is this Sat. Too fast before I get myself mentally prepared.

I asked Prof Ng abt Clomid he said it's highly possible my lining was thinned by it. I asked why then Drs do not give Progynova earlier to support the lining, he said thec2 cannot be taken tog, will negate the drugs effects. As for HCG Pregnyl, he said it's used cos Progesterone IM is oil based, v painful. He said when pregnant, may need to jab, so better to be spared from the pain for now.

Btw I'm starting to wonder if I've made a correct decision to go for this modified natural cycle cos my yield is much lower than my possible due to my two 'super active' follicles that was too ahead of my ET and other follicles. Anyway, can't do anything but pray that there are eggs in the two follicles and can succeed.

One more thing. I find the overall experience I had in NUH better... The CHR nurses are definitely great. They will explain patiently, give advise, etc. Here I find it's like old days where patients get 'scolded' by nurses type. Haii...

Dadwanabe(dadtobe)- it's really gd to BFP and see BB heartbeat. Unlike us who are still clinging to that hope to succeed and 'graduate'.

I can imagine the stress and anxiety at Pink side...

Mel, your turn to graduate will arrive

hope for the best for your retrieval.

Dadwannabe, great to hear that you can see thr heartbeat.
So when is your next appt?
Will you be continuing seeing a new gynae at Nuh?
Prof will only see your wife till 12 weeks.

Ladies in 2ww, relax n enjoy the break from work

MeI: Trust me, the stress and anxiety level after BFP is no less than 2ww. Any sign or discharge will make me wonder what happen to the baby. I am also very very nervous before every scan, because I don't know what I am going to see. I think this kind of stressful life will continue until I can hold baby's hands.

Su: My wife's next appointment is two weeks later. So far we still have no plan about the gynae.

Mel, have positve thoughts. Don't think of next step when you have not even complete this cycle.
My failed cycle, I just have too many 'what if' negative thoughts. It then turn out not to what I want.
3rd time, I just follow the flow n indeed it was a better choice .

I called Prof Ng clinic and nurse said there's nothing else they can do to help my ET thickness Prof Ng will scan on Sat on OR day to determine my ET thickness again and if still poor, they will freeze my eggs if any

mel - pls cheer up yah. not good to have negative thoughts even before you finish your cycle.

ladies - is it common to have crampings and backaches during 2ww?

congrats, dadwannabe, it's definitely a viable pregnancy liao once you can see the heartbeat, dun be stress, your wife & baby can feel the stress, remember huh.

Mel, I agree with Su, think positive, ok? Also, dun make comparisons, it'll make you feel bad. There will be pros and cons for both clinics. Eg. waiting time at Prof Ng's clinic could be shorter than at NUH; my previous gynaes are all in the private practice, I prefer private hosp setting, quieter, not so much hustle and bustle...think of all the good things!!

Dadwannabe, good that you have crossed another hurdle. I don't even know if i will ever get to that stage. Once it's past the first trimester, you can be more relaxed already.

Dear all, no good news from me means it's a BFN. Tested this morning and evening and I don't even see a faint line, not even a false positive for me to rejoice over. My cycle is as good as over. Once again, I felt the world crumbling down on me and I'm trapped in this infertility rubble. Have to gather strength to crawl out of it and hold on to the belief that I'll be a mother one day. The journey is so tough, and I know all of us here never had it easy. Thanks for the support!

Pink- don be disappointed yet. Go for yr BT tomorrow, watever result it is, we are here for u.
The result is not final till yr BT result is out

pink, pls dnt be dishearten. Do wait for your BT tmr.
CHR nurse already informed me not to test using HPT, it cannot be detected so easily at this point cos too early. Only BT will know the real outcome. Lets pray that things would be for the better tomorrow for you. *hugs*

Thanks sistas for the encouragement, wouldn't know how to get by the 2ww without you all. Hopefully the HPT is a false negative ba.

andreanie, serene and goodgrl, I hope you gals are better at handling the 2ww than me. I always '胡思乱想' and went to google all sorts of things. For my next attempt, I think I will fly back to HK to wait for the result as it'll be easier as I can still see DH everyday. I think I have'相思病' and that makes me miserable.

Pink, all my support you, but I still cross my fingers for you!!!
Pink, using Dopler ultrasonic equipment doctor can check the blood circulation around your womb to check if anything wrong there. As we know if there is any problem with blood circulation, it makes implantation of embriounos very difficult.

Pink: It is too early to give up hopes based on the HPT results. CHR nurses told me that bHCG > 6 is considered pregnant in BT. But most HPT can only detect bHCG > 20.

Dear all, I've got my BT result, it's 29, nurse said it's not confirmed until the BT tomorrow shows good increase. OMG, I still cannot believe it!
My MIL and FIL were with me when the nurse called and they were overjoyed. I felt very worried now that I'll disappoint them tmr. Had to manage their expectations that it is not confirmed until tmr.
Any sistas have such a low level as me and confirmed pregnancy later?

BTW, today I'm 15dpo / 13dp2dt. I'm going to take a nap now as I only got to sleep at 4am last night. Hoping to spread the baby dust when it's confirmed.

Pink!!!! I am sooooo happy for you!!!! So glad it takes a turn for the better today for you afterall! Congratulations babe! Hope to join you with the BFP this Monday too!

So you need to come back to CHR tmr for another bloodtest?

Thanks Su. I will stay positive and hope for the best.

Andreanie, I'm with Prof Ng at Gleneagles this cycle, so am going back there for the BT. My bad habit of googling kicked in again and I found that 5-25 means not confirmed and anything above 25 means BFP, so glad that at least I get to see a positive.

Pink: this is so dramatic. I almost shed some tear for you when I saw the good news. What can be happier than BFP? It is false negative turns out to be BFP.

Big congratulation!

Pink, congrats to u!! So happy for u!!! Hope ur bhcg level increase tomolo.. Then u will spread bb dust to everyone of us here : )

Pink-I'm the last to know.
I'm lost with words.
Don think of the No, but the most impt is that U are PREGNANT.
Pls zzz & rest, later U would have more energy to come in & chat with us.
Hope everything goes well tomorrow.
We are rooting here for U.

Hi Pink, your bt result 29 is at 15dpo / 13dp2dt, right? Mine is 43 at 14dp3dt and I am now 10 weeks pregnant already. Dr said it could be due to late implantation. So I am sure your bHCG level will be going up tmw.

I'm so excited that i can't get to sleep, so am here to chat again. Will be more than happy to spread the bbdust around.

Dadwannabe, yes it is indeed dramatic. I even had a long tele-conversation with DH last night on the next steps if this one fails and I was crying myself to sleep. I hope my baby/babies will be strong and hang on tight to me.

serene, goodgrl and andreanie, hope it will be your turn next, so you all rest well too! Don't read too much into the symptoms.

Cool cool, thanks for the reassurance. Yes, today is 15dpo/ 13dp2dt. Did you also have a second beta test to confirm the increase? When are you given additional support? I ran out of Crinone so they gave me 2 more for today and tomorrow. I'm going to be kiasu, already used one earlier and will use another one tonight. I guess one can never be too careful.