IVF at NUH--feedback pls

mumwannabe, the first egg born by the hen. It is smaller in size and supposed to be lower in cholesterol. Just go to supermarket and look for this. You can find it pretty easily.

hi, i am amy, new patient of ivf. May i know when you can start a 2nd cycle? How long you need to let your womb recover to start the treatment again. Do i need to take tcm medicine?

Hi Vi, would you mind sharing the dos and donts during your previous ivf cycle that led to conception of your precious 13-mth old daughter?

Hi Jamp, I actually tried to find the Do and Don't from the other thread. but I can't find it.

Su, do you still have it?

But I actually pretty relax.

During stimulation, as mentioned before I took:
- hardboiled egg about once or twice a day
- Dome

At Gonal-F stage:
- cont. with the egg
- ensure milk
- brazilian nuts when i felt like it. I don't really fancy the taste

I still drink my daily tea.
From the starting of the IVF, i daily took conceive well and spirulina.
I think I ate durian like 2 weeks once or so.
Drink plenty of warm water. At least 2litres a day.

During 2ww, i slept a lot.
My mil took care of me. I ate soupy food most of the time. I can ate 5 meals a day.
I spend the day watching tv in my room. Walk around the house, or mall but not too long and too tired.

I put the heat pack in the towel and use it time to time to warm the tummy, just feel a bit of warm will do.

That's all...

Blue, agree she shd be resting.
Goodgrl is also doing her er today rite?

I'm fine. Yes feeling heavy n tired.
Yesterday, I gotba scared. I'm supposed to monitor 10 times movement in a day. Usually I can get that 10 within like 2hrs.
Her punches n kicks r quite hard.
Yesterday, she took a long time for the 10 n movement was not strong.
Called gynae n she asked me to go down to hosp,
did all check n glad all are ok.
Even saw prof

Jamp, and lotsa prayers

Su, yes these period you will get all anxious again. When is the time?

I had a fake labour once. In the hospital monitoring till 2am from 11pm.

At the end I had my girl by c section

Hi Vi, during suprefact, we can take DOME? heard the nurse said don't take any chinese herbal..

Eating durian during GonalF stage is good?? may i know what is ensure milk?

Girls, I'd like to take hormone test. Where can I take it if my doctor decides that it is not necessary, but I want?

Su -> in third trisemester.
Coolcool -> in first trisemester.
Dadwannabe's wife -> in first trisemester
Pink -> BHCG Test 28 Jul. 2WW
Andreanie -> BHCG test on 1 Aug. 2WW
Serene -> ER on 21 jul
Goodgrl -> ER on 21 jul
Mel -> On Clomid
vi4n -> medicated FET started 10 July.
Doramee -> Suprefact 19 July
Bluenosebear -> Suprefact 2 Aug
Jamp -> Suprefact 2 Aug
Mumwannabe -> Purgeon with Aug AF

Su-maybe now not much space for little princess to move inside.
Great that u are given great attention by gyn.
Serene & goodgirl, hope yr are alright after ER

Andreanie - Is the antibiotic doxycycline? and to be taken for 1week leading to ER? I can't rem the antibiotic that NUH gave last time though I do have history of gastric but don't rem having gastric pain.

Pink - Did Prof Ng give u any antibiotics?
Good to hear u r feeling better now (I'm a few days slow...) Hee... Pls take care as this is not the time to fall sick. Drink more water, rest, watch ur favorite shows. We all know that anxiety of 2WW... Can only hope for the best. As for the pink clump thingy, I had that for 2 consecutive days plus some 'sharp' pain at one of the sides for my 2WW from FET. This was within 1st week. My MIL said could be implantation bleeding. Rem i said I'm v sensitive to my body responses? But 1-2 days after, i was feeling v awake (cos prior i was alwys v sleepy) and I more or less know the outcome.
BUT Pink, that's me. U don't think so much. Pray for ur success

Su, my girl EDD was 24 June, I had C sect on 18 June. 39weeks 1 day.

Doramee, dome considered as herb?
Btw I also drink chicken essense daily.

Oh doramee, u jus go to any pharmacy or supermarket to look for ensure. It comes in tin and packet. Packet is ready mix.

Mel - The antibiotics is called Augmentin.

Yesterday night I forgot, I ran a little, very very short distance from living room to kitchen. Totally forgotten not to run and then became sooooo worried.
Hub and my family members kept saying not to worry cos I didnt ran like 100metres or what..haha... but now must remember to walk every time!

As days past by, im feeling much better. Almost doing my normal stuff at home but still havent go out of the house yet. Waiting for weekend for hub to bring me to the mall or park for shopping/walk.

Can finally sleep on my stomach too after all those gastric dramas! Phew!

Other than that, i feel fine, only have a few twinges down there every now and then. Hope everything is normal.

Pink & Serene - How are u?

Andreanie- I see. Wonder if NUH gives different antibiotics to diff patient.
Eh Andreanie, u got to take care leh. Dun run or gen cheong...  I think esp the 1st wk after ET. It's gd to spend the 2ww with family, at least got someone to take care of u. I think this time I'm gonna spend mine alone (maybe ask hubby take few days leave) cos my mum house is renovating and I didn't want to tell my MIL cos last time she looked after me and I felt v sad seeing her disappointed... So if they dunno they can only be ecstatic or continue not knowing so no disappointment.

hi everyone, been resting earlier last nite bec of my cramping and light headedness. today cramping subsided thank God, but still feeling tired. 15 eggs were retrieved yday and today embryologist said 7 matured 5 fertilized. quality will be determined tomorrow and they will inform me.

@serene didnt get the chance to bump with you. I was early in our room around 10am procedure was done 1:30 was really knocked off. they woke me up and informed me finished already. slight bleeding and cramping will be felt for those sisters anticipating their ER. 5:30pm they gave me milo and biscuits, so thirsty and hungry that time hehe..

@andreanie hows the ET? any cramping....hope you are well now. just rest a lot and everything will be fine

Mel, Prof Ng gave me Amoxicillin for antibiotics. You are so considerate, don't want to disappoint your MIL. I wanted to keep it from my MIL because I felt the pressure from her and she thinks that IVF is a sure hit. Now I'm not so stressed by her already. Told myself that I've tried my best to have a baby and if it doesn't succeed, it's meant to be. Up till now, I still don't have any symptoms. Praying hard that my embies are still there...

Andreanie, good to know that you don't have any anxiety during the 2ww, seems very relaxed. That is good.

Pink, it's too early for symptoms bah. I hope u r warming ur womb, doing ur yoga (basic breathing, no 'stunts') and keeping urself occupied. Old ppl are like this. They yearn for grandchildren...

Good girl, so when are u having ET? Tomorrow?

I realized I was NOT given any antibiotics in my 1st fresh and FET. Strange. Augmentin and Curam are the same chemical composition except Curam is generics. I think hospitals usually give generics to help patient save costs.

Vi4N, what's the reason to take chicken essence? To warm body or ?

Jamp, I think i saw a promo at ntuc a couple of days ago for BRANDS. But I'm not sure if it contains caramel. My understanding is to take caramel-free.

@ mel: I drank new moon chicken essence for a week only during stims stage. couldn't take the smell so I stopped it but taste is bearable.. I saw in Guardian or shop and save brand's chicken essence is on promotion 6pkt @12sgd or 14sgd. Also, you can try peanuts or sunflower seeds (tong garden honey sunflower kernels) relatively high in protein and desirable to eat, less cholesterol also.

Mel, no stunts from me lah. I don't dare to do yoga during the 2ww in case it stretches the pelvic region too much. I read that prenatal yoga has to be done with care under the supervision of a yoga teacher.
6more days to my blood test date and I felt calmer than my 1st IVF. Hope I can continue to feel so relaxed. Will go out for short walks at the mall more often as I felt very happy whenever I go out.
That is strange that you are not given any antibiotics, did they forget or what?

Goodgrl, I also like the Tong Garden sunflower seeds, there's 7.2g of protein in each packet. I also take Camel brand baked Almonds (it has 10.8g per 45g). Nuts are the healthiest snacks that can be continued even when pregnant.

I wonder how is Serene doing? She usually posts her update quite regularly.

Pink, can u dun do the stretches in yoga but just basic deep breathing and out type with hand movements to calm, relax and circulation? I dunno but I thought deep breathing helps. I myself do basic 20mins low impact aerobics at home and tone down with basic exercises and breathing. I need to perspire else unhealthy cos normally I don't get to perspire. But of cos for 2WW I will only be doing breathing and circulation.

my ET will be on monday accdg to CHR. yes I do wonder how is serene doing?

btw, oatmeal is good in protein you can use them as substitute to your chicken essence or if cannot take the taste of boiled egg whites.

I havent try the baked almonds will go to ntuc later to check it out.
update: no more blood anymore but very slight cramping on the lower abdomen. hope it subsides tonite.

Pink-actually time flies fast, I feel for me now, but when is my turn, the time seems like so slow.
Pink is good t hat U are relax, let's hope it remains till BT day.
Maybe Serene busy with her son?

hi sistas, miss mi??
My ER was fine. Since tis is my 2nd ivf, i kinda of anticiptated the whole procedure. My abdomen was veri painful yesterday nite. So went to bed early. Tis morning was better but still painful if i walk around. Cant eat much as bloated easily. I have 6 eggs retrieved, 4 eggs matured n 2 fertilised. Asked embryologist whether can i do D2 transfer but was told dunno wat is not ready so they normally prefer to do D3 onwards transfer. She told me not to worry as the lab will take good care of our embbies. Give them in the ideal environment and provide nutrients to our embbies. She really sound reassuring. N make me feel comfortable knowing our precious embbies are in good hands. I will be doing D4 transfer same a goodgrl.

andreanie and pink: please enjoy your 2ww as much as you can. My wife is now hit hard by the morning sickness. She told me during the 2ww she ate very well and slept well. Now, she has no appetite at all.

goodgrl and serene: Good luck to your ET!

Dadwannabe - thks! I just came back from nearest mall for dinner and shopping! After 4 days stay at home finally I get some fresh air outside.

Ladies, try Brazil nuts. I eat them, max 3, religiously after the ET.

Dad wannabe-thanks for dropping by to support us. Must dote on your wifey more now that you know how difficult pregnancy can be, hope she feels better after 1st trimester.
I also ate well, but can't sleep at night...maybe I'm just sitting around at home not doing any housework so I'm not tired...

Andreanie, why do we need to eat brazil nuts? Can it be substituted with other nuts?

Serene & goodgirl- rest well & enjoy yr weekend.
All the best for yr ET on Mon.
Dadwannabe-hope ur wife appetite will be better after 1st tri.
Pink- brazil nuts has selenium Which was said to increase chance of implantation

If u all got take Conceive well then not necessary to take brazil nut as it contain selenium already.

Chicken essense to produce good quality of eggs?? He he they said to take, I take lo...

Don't read too much into the symptoms ok. Will stress you up more.

Thanks for the clarification Blue and Vi, I am taking Conceive well and there is 161.2 ug of Selenium, glad that I did not miss any essential Vitamin. Went to google and found that excessive Selenium is harmful to the body, so do watch your intake carefully. For your reading pleasure: http://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/selenium/
Other than Brazil nuts, almonds also contain Selenium http://www.sixwise.com/newsletters/05/06/29/if-you-are-nuts-about-health-try-the-top-6-healthiest-nuts.htm
Have a great weekend everyone!
serene and Goodgrl, all the best to your embryos and a smooth ET on Monday! So excited that you are going to join me in the 2ww.

Pink-I didn't know that almond contain selenium.
I also read that though almond contain selenium, it has lesser selenium compared to Brazil nuts.
Enjoy yr weekend too.

Vi4n,how do you warm your womb? Just put the hot towel to stomach? When? During stimulation? Is it ok?
Girls, where can I check my hormon status? Prof thinks I don't need it any more

Ladies, yes Brazil Nuts contains the highest number of selenium among all the nuts. Cashew and Almonds contained selenium as well. But u cannot eat too much of the brazil
Nuts. One to three nuts a day is sufficient.
Or if your multivitamins already contain selenium, u don't need anymore.

Assa, during stimulation, jus reduce cold drink.
During 2ww I used the instant heat pack from daiso. But that can be very hot. So I put in btw thick towel.

About hormone test, jus reason to prof that u feel better doing it again.

Vi4n, it is ok to put hot to the stocmack? Are you sure? Did you ask prof about it? To speak with prof I need to take appointment, but it will be after my period. I'd like to take hormone test at my 3-4st day of my period.
Anybody check the blood circulation in the stocmach by dopler scan?

Assa, that's why I said I layered it with thick towel before putting it on my tummy. It should only be warm and not hot and not too long.

I think you can go any gynae to do prenatal hormone test.

goodgrl, during 2ww, better to continue egg white to minimize bloateness, logan red dates tea to warm e womb, 3-4 brazil nuts. eat 3-4 seeds of durians per day on 1st week of 2ww also help implantation.

hi assa, wat hormone test u r talking abt? u may use e heatpad to warm ur womb. mayb during stims till er b4 et. i read from other thread the sistas there stop heatpad once 2ww start. u can also drink warm water to keep ur womb warm. u may also try accupuncture which aid in blood circulation to uterus n ovaries.