IVF at NUH--feedback pls

blue, i have called to check. Nuh dun do D2 transfer. And they dun do transfer on Sun too. Think the embyrologist will monitor and assess the embbies to see if there is a need for D2 transfer.

Andreanie, dun think so much. All u need is at least one if your two good quality embryos stick tightly to u. Blessings for your ET tmr.

Thank u everyone for the well wishes! Glad to have you sisters ard! Feel so blessed!

I called CHR just now to ask about my bloated tummy.
Well, I'm actually having gastric! Not ohss!
That's good news but still feel horrible cos the bloating is in between my breast and above my belly button.
So now I just taken my gastric meds and carbon as instructed by CHR. Hopefully it will subside soon.

Andreanie- hope yr gastric go to far far away land.
Try to eat smaller but frequent meals.
Take the antibiotic after meals.
Et tomorrow & u will be in 2ww.

Hi Serene, how many eggs did you retrieve? I am thinking shouldn't NUH decide the day to transfer based on the progress of the embryos rather than their 'standard policy'? If you have many eggs, will be ok to wait until D4; if there are few, shouldn't they do it on D2?

Andreanie, wishing you a smooth ET tmr and join me in the 2ww.

Don't know why - I feel very moody today, not very hopeful that it will succeed although I put back 2 embryos this time. Maybe it's my body's natural defense mechanism trying to protect me from the disappointment in case this fails?
Honestly, even though i keep telling myself that i will be strong, i don't know how many times i can take failure. I even snacked on prawn crackers just now, so bad right? I've made
many adjustments to my diet before I embark on the 1st IVF in Apr, giving up things I love (coffee, chocolate, wine, pastries, cold drinks, ice cream and tidbits). I want my body to be in the best condition for my baby, but I don't know how long more I can continue with this...
Sorry for sounding so negative, I just need to let it out.

Pink, it is ok to be moody. but do not drag for too long

during 2ww, if you feel like snacking, i will say do so. of course, you still take your healthy diet for your meals.
i did snack unhealthy stuff during my 2ww. we just need our body to be relax. do something to distract yourself from thinking of all these ok

My tummy is slightly better but still a lot of air trapped inside! And feeling a bit Lao sai!

Gng to CHR in a while, ET at 1pm.
Not gng to eat my antibiotics first cos I think the culprit for
my gastric is the antibiotics. Too strong for my

Pink-Is ok to snack ba. If U insist not snacking then U would be more stress & craving for it, worse.
Snack abit should be ok de.
Come in to vent out, think is all the hormones
playing in yr mind.
Serene not ER yet, would be on Thurs.
Andreanie-That is what happen to me.
So take the gastric med together with the antibiotic.
If Lao sai then better take charcoal & drink H2O (isotonic drink)

Pink-U can't do anything now, except to pray that embbies stick tight tight in U.
Don feel bad abt the snacking part.
Pls go & do something that U like now.
We are here for U.

thurs will be my ER. my last jabs will be tonite gonalf and pregnyl. praying not to have OHSS after ER, i have high risk accdg to prof.

thanks thanks! hi serene hope to see u there. ER is 1:30pm but will report by 9am bec of sperm collection. is it normal that I feel backache now?

Hi ladies! I'm back at home!

Everything went well today, thank God!

Saw my 2 tiny embies being placed inside. So funny, last min I went to pee a little cos cannot tahan anymore! Then bumped into Dr Chew when I'm on my way to toilet haha.. He warned me better don't pee so much hahah.. End up my bladder still very full and we are good to go!

Got the executive suite tdy so it's very relaxing before and after the procedure. And immediately after I asked for the bed pan to pee, buey tahan liao! Stayed there for another 2 hours.

Anyway confirmed that my tummy ache bloatedness is caused by the antibiotics. Dr Chew asked me to eat my gastric medicines whenever I eat the antibiotics but if still painful and bloated after eating the antacids, will have to stop the antibiotics cos too strong for me already.

Tmr gng back to Nuh to get my Pregnyl jab.

Pink - have u had your Pregnyl jab yet?

Andreannie, agree with you the suite is so relaxing

was so happy when I got that too.
Rest n relax in during this period

Thanks for the encouragement Su and Blue, I feel better today already. Maybe the hormones is driving me crazy yesterday. I will cheer up
maybe I will go out and get a breather tomorrow, cannot tahan being couped up at home.

Andreanie, if your gastric problem is still there, better to stop the antibiotics. I also have gastric problems, know how terrible that feeling is. Take care and rest well. Yes, I do the Pregyl injection myself at home, on day 3,6,9,12 counting ER as Day0.

I have craving for crabs, is it ok to eat crab during 2ww?

hi goodgrl, my er @ 12.30pm. we will submit e sperm to e lab by 9.30. my admission is @ 10.39.am. hope to see u too. wat time is ur admission? mi been feeling bloated, cramps n backaches for past few days. tink is normal as follicles growing bigger. later 1am need to jab e hcg jab. u same timing right? today did u went bk for scanning again? wat is ur biggest follicle size n how many matured follicles u have? ur et is at monday right? to prevent ohss, u must eat lots of softboiled eggwhite n drinks lots of isotonic drink.

hi andreaine, thanks for ur wishing. rest well n relax diring 2ww.

Su -> in third trisemester.
Coolcool -> in first trisemester.
Dadwannabe's wife -> in first trisemester
Pink -> BHCG Test 28 Jul. 2WW
Andreanie -> BHCG test on ? 2WW
Serene -> ER on 21 jul
Goodgrl -> ER on 21 jul
Mel -> waiting for AF
vi4n -> medicated FET started 10 July.
Bluenosebear -> Suprefact 2 Aug
Jamp -> Suprefact 2 Aug
Mumwannabe -> Purgeon with Aug AF

Pink, don't be stress and too restrictive on yourself.
What u feel like eating can eat, jus moderately.

2WW is the dreadful time as we get antsy and anxious about the result. But try to stay positive n pray whatever your religion is.
Now is the waiting game.

Oh dont eat too much durian. It's my fave too but you wont feel good if u get sick. Then u cant take med.
And u can't drink cooling herb drink.
So please eat moderately.

Pink-think crabs are too liang, try to aviod. But if the craving very bad, then eat abit only.
Serene & goodgirl, all the best for yr ER today.
Pink the other round did U stop yr antibiotic half way?
Becos last round I got very bad diarrhoea. Must take charcoal then k stop it.
This round I was thinking if again, I might stop it after ET.

Blue & Pink - I found the solution to stomach upset already.
I tried eating my anti acids, then eat breakfast/dinner and then eat the antibiotics. Tried it yesterday. Seems fine throughout. No waking up at night hvg cold sweat and stomach pain like previous days.

I am at Nuh now, just had my Pregnyl jab and lunch.
Waiting for cab now, go back and eat my antibiotics and rest!

Oh my BHCG is on 1 August!

@serene admission is 11:30 am but my hubby need to submit around 9am. so will be there around that time. already jab suprefact n pregnyl earlier arnd 1:30am. yesterday was my ultrasound so today was my rest day. dunno how many mature follicles but nurse told me yday total of 24follies with sizes 19,17 1/2, 16.. how many are yours and sizes? btw did you opt for the single room?

to all who has finished et and er, im wondering how much should we need to pay upfront during ET and ER respectively?

Goodgrl - we only pay everything on the day of ET. I had to pay ard 1K in total.

Regarding egg whites, after ER I eat 4 per day. After that I only eat at least 1. Just to rule out OHSS. Are you prone to have OHSS? If yes better continue, eat hot hardboiled egg whites. I only drank Ensure milk once after the ER. But also u need to monitor your weight cos like me, I had bloated tummy but no gain in weight. So the bloatedness was not OHSS but from the antibiotics. Even the Day Surgery nurse told me yesterday after ER that those antibiotics they give us is very very strong.

Goodgirl- think u very prone to OHSS, if u really dislike the eggwhites, maybe k drink ensure or immunocal. Also isotonic drinks & alot of water.
If not can't do ET due to OHSS.

Today is the 2nd day taking suprefact injection. May i know the benefit of eating egg white? During the 1 month injection, we shall eat softboiled or hardboiled or raw egg?

Doramee - U only start to eat egg whites after your Egg Retrival. It's benefit is to increase protein intake and absorb all the fluids that is building up after your ER. But you can start eating 1 egg white per day when u start your stimming.
And don't eat raw egg whites pls! Eat hardboiled ones better.

Su -> in third trisemester.
Coolcool -> in first trisemester.
Dadwannabe's wife -> in first trisemester
Pink -> BHCG Test 28 Jul. 2WW
Andreanie -> BHCG test on 1 Aug. 2WW
Serene -> ER on 21 jul
Goodgrl -> ER on 21 jul
Mel -> waiting for AF
vi4n -> medicated FET started 10 July.
Doramee -> Suprefact 19 July
Bluenosebear -> Suprefact 2 Aug
Jamp -> Suprefact 2 Aug
Mumwannabe -> Purgeon with Aug AF

Serene and Goodgrl, all the best for your ER tomorrow

Seems quite a number of ladies in the midst of their cycling marathon.

eat and rest well..

@andreanie yes they said im prone to OHSS. so you ate 4 egg whites after the ER and the rest of the days just 1 egg white until ET? Ensure milk is everyday until ET? I am beginning to vomit the taste of egg whites huhuhu Thanks

Vi, ya I will try to take it easy, but easier said than done. Every time I think of testing day, I get very scared...Maybe it's more difficult for me as i'm not staying at my own place and I miss my hubby a lot. Btw, for your medicated FET, when do you do the transfer? I want to find out more in case I need to go for that the cycle.

Blue, the other time I finished taking the antibiotics, it didn't give me problems as I always ate something before I took the med. Ok I won't eat crabs, just to be on the safe side.

Andreanie, I think as long as you line your stomach with food before taking, it shd be fine. Better to finish taking it in case we get infection, it's not good for baby. I suppose you will be taking the hospitalization leave to stay at home during 2ww?

Serene and Goodgrl, hope you have a smooth ER tomorrow.

Oh ya, I have nose bleed this morning, dunno if it's anything serious? Called the nurse to ask and she will check with Prof Ng and get back to me. Maybe the durians are too heaty? I ate 3 days in a row....hehe....
When I woke uo this morning, I also have a little blood in the cakey stuff due to Crinone insert, wonder if it's implantation bleeding?? Today is 5dp2dt. does anyone have similar experience?

is it ok to go to the mall to buy some stuffs/supplements today and eat anything?
is yogurt safe for antibiotics as I saw in the packaging quite hi protein but im wondering if it is acidic too?
This will be my last day to go out since tom is my ER and need to rest after that. is it safe or I will just stay at home?

Goodgrl, I don't take immunocal but I recall some sistas got it from OG. Of course it is ok to go out today, just don't tire yourself out. I also went out shopping after ER to relieve stress. Haha...

Phew, nurse called back to say that the nose bleed is not related to IVF,so not to worry. My mum says probably because I'm too heaty...

Pink-maybe too heaty, U might wan to stop the durian for a few days.
goodgirl-k get from OG, at the cashier counter. Watson & guradian don have it.
30pkts in 1 box, $100 per box, but if U have the OG discount card, after discount is $95.

goodgrl, any folicles 16mm above is considered matured. so u might have 24 follicles being retrieved. My last scan on Monday show 9 follicles with size range 21,19,18,15.5,14,12. Yup i opt for single room as only $100 difference. U can only buy immunocal in OG supplement section. Alternatively, u can also drink ensure milk which can be founded in all supermarkets. Actually if u r feeling okay 1 day after ER, u still can go out but mayb minimal walk. It is after the ET, try to bedrest more on the first few days. Strolling will b good as it helps in blood circulation. U may read some books, magazines, watch DVD, surfnet, come here to chat during the 2ww.

hi pink, su, thanks for the well wishing : )

pink, think u should stop durains and drink more water. Dun think too much as will affect ur embbies. If possible go for a short walk to help in blood circulation. You might feel much better rather than coop in the hse all day.

my hubby's collection is very early 9am. so the chr advised me after settling the bill I can go directly to the admission and rest while waiting for my turn as if I go around the hosp I will just smell food and get hungry. What time later is your fasting? mine is 12am no food or drink....hope I can last.

Im munching on my fave choco chip cookies as I will not be able to eat anything I want after the ER.

Goodgrl, you can still eat cookies after ER lah. ha ha.. please la you all no need to be like so restrictive over what you can do and don't.

Like i said just eat moderately, if wanna go out, just make sure don't carry heavy stuff and walk a bit rest awhile.

Pink, should be around mid august.

What I did during my 2ww was that i check my BBT too. so if drop i know bad news already. At Day 12 it was still high that's when I first bought my hpt and got a +. then I went to GP to do BT. Yeah I was kiasu, can't wait until BT appt at NUH. ha ha..

wow congrats Vi4n.

hehe im restricting myself as I love "junk" foods prior my IVF.

for the gals here I'm quite confuse bet IVF and ICSI? are they different? I forgot to confirm but I remembered ICSI will be mine.

Goodgrl, my girl is already 13months. =)

ICSI is the additional procedure of inserting the good sperm to the matured egg, instead of just putting the matured egg surrounded by couple of sperms to penetrate on its own.