IVF at NUH--feedback pls

Dadwannabe you can still call up Chr if you need to clarify things. I m sure the nurses will help.

just came from chr also this morning. not so good news for me as I have the chance to have ohss so they are monitoring me closely and they lower my dosage of jabs. will go back on mon for US and BT. too much follicles for me

Read that Chr nurses provide mobile nos for patient to call? That's good. Kkh has no such privilege for their patients- need to thru the hot line. How muchis the consultation for a senior doc?

blue - yes a little bit groggy still but ok

daddwannabe - not sure if prof or dr chew did the OR for me but all i good.

i just got discharge from Day Surgery. Had a bit of cramp here and there and light bleeding. normal right?

they retrieve 12 eggs from me

andreanie-that is good.
U rest well hor, eat some light lunch & zz when reach home.
I thought before they put U to sleep, U will get to see is it Prof or Dr chew that do ER for U. NVM u k ask chr nurse when U get to go back for next consultation.

goodgirl-try to drink more water to flush out the med. Also have to increase yr egg whites intake.
At the moment how many & size of yr follicles?
Don be too sad, concentrate in drinking water & take egg whites.
U never know, maybe by Mon, yr BT is good?

really disheartened now. praying hard next week my hormones will normalize. im 32, pcos that is why they said higher chance of ohss. prof saw total of 23 with size of 11 or 12...im still continuing my gonal f 75iu and cetrotide until monday.
@blue eating 2 egg whites a day and lots of water. i read somewhere that gatorade is good or any electrolyte drink? is it true? Thanks

Andreannie, good number. All the best

blue, I think it depends on how fast the nurses in OT put you to sleep.
My first attempt, though I had already dozed off, I could hear him calling my name.
2nd attempt, I knock off completely nno idea when he stepped into the room.
3rd attempt, he was waiting for me outside the OT..

Su: Yes. I agree. Nurses at CHR will tell you a lot of information the doctor doesn't tell you. They are good sources of information.

Andreanie: 12 is a very good number. Big congratulation! Can you imagine if you have 12 babies? :D

Good- think must have at least of 17.5 for a few follicles.
If u k take at least 6-8 egg whites.
The other option is immunocal which can be brought in OG, like protein. Mix into normal temperature drinks like Ribena, yakult. Can't remember 1 pkt equal to how many egg whites.
Serene or Su- can yr recall 1 pkt= how many egg whites?

hi everyone, im at home resting now. still feeling crampy but tolerable. A little light bleeding but i think have been lesser than earlier.

just drank 100 plus abit by bit and ate 2 egg whites tdy. also had my antibiotics and later before i sleep, have to insert the gel.

i think its dr chew who did my OR just now cos when he came to see me he said everything went smoothly. Maybe Prof was ard also to see i guess. Cos today only 2 OR cases to attend to. One is me the other one is angmoh lady.

dadwannabe - cannot imagine to have 12 babies lol!!! now hoping all 12 eggs will get fertilized.

thank u everyone for the well wishes. will update accordingly yeah. its a blessing that all my 12 follies contains eggs. now hoping for the best!

goodgrl - ur follies need to reach 17mm before they will consider your egg retrieval. dnt worry, im sure your follies will grow nicely.

hi ladies, update on my scan yesterday. right side 6 follies growing well. left side 3 follies seems to stop growing. the dominant one actually shrink
e2 level increase not much. prof up my dosage again. tomolo going for scan n bt. hopefully my left side will wake up n grow faster. else tink tis round can only retreive right side

serene - its ok if e2 not rising much. it means that ur risk for ohss is also very low. my e2 is low also but when dr chew increased my dosage, it progressing very well. dont worry, the follies will catch up real soon!

anyway ladies can our hubby follow us during the embryo transfer? im waiting for the embryologist to call us today.

andreaine, embryologist will not call on sun thou there r someone in e lab to monitor e embbies. they will call tomolo morning to let u know how many fetilised n u r doing day3 or 5 transferred. remember to ask for e grade n no of cells for each embbies.

Serene and Blue, thanks for your well wishes. I just finished reading the last 2 days' posts. Am back home now as DH is flying back to Hk tonight. Unfortunately I'll be all alone for the 2ww again, but I think I will be able to deal with the result better this time. Having gone thru one failed cycle has made me a stronger person. I also try to be more relaxed and not worry about the outcome as what is meant to be will be

All 3 eggs are fertilized but I only put back 2 4-cell embabies on D2, the other 3-cell one is frozen. They told me they will probably freeze it on D3. I was told that the govt policy restricts a max of 2 embryos be transferred for women under the age of 37; otherwise I would opt for all 3 to be put back to increase the chances.
Do I continue to take the egg white during the 2ww? I can't remember whether I took it during my 1st try...

Serene, hope your follies on the left catch up and you can retrieve more eggs.

Andreanie, keep us posted on the fertilization of your 12 eggs tmr, happy for you! Good luck for your ET.

Mumwannabe: to add on the Great Eastern ARP insurance plan, you need to pay the premium within 7d of ET. Get the application form from your doctor as he needs to sign and stamp it. The plan will pay a daily benefit of S$150 and S$300 for each child under Level 2 and Level 3 Care in a neonatal ward respectively.

Posted on Friday, July 15, 2011 - 12:45 pm:       
Su -> in third trisemester.
Coolcool -> in first trisemester.
Dadwannabe's wife -> in first trisemester
Pink -> BHCG Test 28 Jul
Andreanie -> ER on 16 July
Serene -> ER next week?
Goodgrl -> ER next week?
Mel -> waiting for AF
vi4n -> medicated FET started 10 July.
Bluenosebear -> Suprefact 2 Aug
Jamp -> Suprefact 2 Aug
Mumwannabe -> start with Aug AF

Updated my BT date - wow, I'm the first to go for the BT, let's hope there will be good news to share with everyone here!

Pink, all the best to you, believe that you will have good news for us.

Sistas, does it mean we can start the 7-8 egg whites from as soon as we know we're going for IVF till ET? & Purpose is to increase no. of follies?

I'm quite confused and stressed up now, work also stressful, hiaz :<

Jamp - for a start u can eat 1-2 eggwhites per day. After ER then can up yr intake how many u can eat. I'm still eating 2 max per day and drink ensure milk and 100plus.
CHR nurse said during stimming Dnt need to eat so much cos later when after ER u sick to eat already.

Su -> in third trisemester.
Coolcool -> in first trisemester.
Dadwannabe's wife -> in first trisemester
Pink -> BHCG Test 28 Jul
Andreanie -> ER on 16 July
Serene -> ER next week?
Goodgrl -> ER next week?
Mel -> waiting for AF
vi4n -> medicated FET started 10 July.
Bluenosebear -> Suprefact 2 Aug
Jamp -> Suprefact 2 Aug
Mumwannabe -> Purgeon with Aug AF

Goodgrl, my friend had a lot of follicles n had OHSS but she managed to press on and had 2 beautiful baby girls for that cycle.

So I wish you all the best..

Andreanie, wish you all the best too. ;)

Pink, rest well. Do u have any family members to care for you?

Serene, what Prof advice for you? Fresh cycle right? Meaning as long got follicles growing u are good to proceed?
Btw I don't understand since no follicles on the last round why still need to do ER? I thought scan cOnfirmed got good numbers of growing follicles then proceed to ER?
Btw anyone tried medicated fet with mercilon?
My AF is still going strong at Day 8. I wonder is it normal?

Jamp, taking half boiled egg white is the easiest way to increase your protein intake as it gets absorbed by the body easily. I don't think you need to start taking when you are preparing to go for IVF, only start when you start your stimulation injection. The nurse at CHR told me that taking egg white is to prevent OHSS, so it is not necessary to take if you don't have many follicles. However, my TCM dr at that time Dr Zou said egg whites will help the follicles to grow, so need to take. Until today, I'm confused, but since there is no harm in taking egg white (I'll discard the yolk due to cholesterol), I take 1-3 half boiled egg whites everyday starting from my 1st injection. After ET, I try to have egg in my meals and also make sure i'm taking enough protein from other food sources. I believe that a healthy and balanced diet is better than purely taking eat whites. My two cents worth, hope it helps.

Vi4n, yes I'm staying at my parents' place so my mum will cook for me. It's hard to go through the 2ww without my hubby around, but what to do, he has to go back to work so I have to be understanding. Just hope that this time it'll be successful so I don't have to go thru this alone again.

im still taking 2-3 boiled egg whites but I'm starting to get tired of it also taking milk and yogurt. tomorrow will also be my scan. I saw in my apptment card it is day 10. what does that mean? the nurse told me to remind them but it is sunday today so no office for them.
also what is cetrotide for?

Goodgrl, can try taking ensure milk. Those prepared type I think it stated as milkshake. This packaging has the highest protein level.

Thank you so much, Pink, for your detailed explanation, it certainly helps.

Vi, I've gotten those first born eggs you recommended, thanks.

Goodgrl, I compared before and the prepacked type protein level is 120 I think compared to 90 of those powder form.

hi vi4n, my 1st failed cycle, i retrieved 7 eggs. 4 fertilised n 2 survived to day3. so put in 2follies wif 6 &amp; 8 cells.
tis round, my left side no growing well. so prof increase gonalf dosage to see if left follies will continue to grow. i jus said if worse case scenario, left side dun work harder, will oni hav matured follies from right ovaries to retrieve. hoping for good news on tomolo scan.

Ladies, the embryologist called. I have 12 eggs but only 7 are matured eggs. Out of 7, only 5 fertilized.
And out of 5, 2 of them are good quality embryos (5 cells), 1 satisfactory (2 cells) and 2 below satisfactory.
The embryologist said that both of the 2 good embryos have slight fragmentation but nothing to worry about cos they divide more advanced at 5 cells today.

So she said tmr we are gng to put in those 2 in and then they will monitor the other 3 embryos.

Looks like either we have 1 to freeze or none at all but still hoping for the best that all other 3 embies will make it through and catch up.

Andreanie, cheer up ok? Just tell yourself that you have done your best. You still have 2 good embryos to put back. Have a good rest today and make sure your body is in tip top condition for ET tmr.

Serene, how is your scan?

andreanie-that is good.
Don think too much abt the freezing embbies.
That time I was quite upset also.
But say is easy.
What it is, U can't change.
So all the best for tomorrow ET.

The weather is so hot.
I think I like going to fall sick, like too heaty. Maybe took too much durian last week.
I'm trying to drink alot of water today.

Ya, it's so hot, makes me sleepy all the time. I am either lying on the bed reading or sitting on the sofa watching TV, seems so lazy...During my 1st cycle, I went out to the nearby mall after 1 week, maybe that affects implantation. So this time I'll guai guai at home for the entire 2 weeks. hopefully the result will be different.

Blue, I also took some durians yesterday as i love durians! I'm going to take some again today. Is is true that durian helps in implantation?

hi ladies, update on my scan. My ER will b tis Thurs. Likelihood doing a D4 transfer on Mon. Anyone know whether NUH do D2 transfer just in case embbies not in good shape?

hi pink, blue, me also been eating my fav durian over the weekend. yum yummy!! think will hav more reason to eat after my ET. Coz durian helps in implantation. keke..

hi blue, yup drink lots of water or herbal drink can help to reduce your body heatiness.

hi Andreanie, hope u r feeling better now. U just need to 2 good embbies to cling tight tight to u n bfp wif twins. All the best to ur ET tomolo ;)

Serene-not sure abt the D2 transfer, did U ask CHR if, touch wood, incase embbies cant make it till Mon, would they transfer on Sat instead?
Pink &amp; Serene-ya, is by fav also, but I easily get too heaty.
So must drown with alot of water.
During my 1st fresh, I take on 1 st week twice or thrice. Then by the time taking beta HCG, I was down with flu.
So this round think has to lessen the intake.