IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

I am new in this thread. Very encouraging and touch by some of you all here. Me and HB has been trying naturally for 3 years but no results. Did all the test and was under'unexplained infertility'.

I have done my 2nd SO-IUI at K K on 27 June 11 and is on progesterone for 17 days continously. A bit depressed now as i can feel PMS already
Anyone of you did your IUI at K K?

Hi Cherrie,
i did 1st time SOIUI at KKH last month but failed. I wasn't given any medication after IUI. May i know the name of your medication?

Hi Melody,

Is called Cyclogest progesterone. The pharmacist said is good for the womb. This medicine is more for ppl who has successful IUI/IVF to prevent miscarriage. My 1st SO-IUI also not given any mediciation.

Welcome all newbies, thou reli hope you gals don't have to b here and can concieve naturally.

Babyseetoh, mind to share how many folicle you had? What's their size? How's ur DH's SA result?

Hi, need advice from you gals. If i am on injection but still ovulate on the day that i suppose to with 1 mature folicle, does it mean that when i ovaluate naturally myself, my folicle may not be at the mature size?

Tong Le, i am fine. just that yesterday night waking temp decrease so i decided not to take any BBT from today onwards. BBT really stressful to me.

You at DPO11 right? i rememeber we are just one day different. How are you now?

Hi Kate,

I got 17mm for 1st IUI. 2nd time, i am not so sure coz the last scan was on sat which is at 15.5mm. I then ovaluate on sun and proceed for IUI on mon.

Hi Cherrie,

The ideal follicle is 18MM normally. Did you ovulate naturally or via Injection?

Did you do it at KK? Who is your gynae?

Hi Kate,

I am on injection. Yes, i did it at KKH. I am seeing Dr Tan Heng Hao. Anyway, who is the doc in KK doesn't matter. Is not the doc you seeing doing the procedure for you, is just the doc on duty who did it.

Tong Le,
My follicle only grow till 17mm on Sat, so Prof. Wong arrange the IUI for me this morning instead on Monday. But don't have much good feeling this time. HB volume is low, and I have discomfort feeling after the IUI. Bloated stomach and slight crampy.

Rollybear,
I remember you said you have spotting after the IUI right? Guess what, just now I went toilet I got spotting too. Quite a lot leh, like my light day during menses time. I will monitor, hope it stops. I didn't experience any spotting after my first IUI at all. Wonder what cause the spotting.

Babyseetoh,
A big hugz to you. Gal, I used to count my numbers of failure each month when AF reported. But don't know since when I lost count of it already. Haha... Don't look at our failure, it will only demoralize us. Cheer up and new cycle always equal to new hope.

Cherrie,
Welcome. You trace your ovulation using OPK?

For gals, in 2ww, stay relax and remember to update us on your progress ok? BFP to all of us here.

I would like to share my experienced on IUI & SO IUI here with all of you!

We got married last year early January 2010. I got pregnant in March 2010 but sadly i got miscarriaged - no heart beat @ 8 weeks. We've been trying since then...till late last year I consult a gynae @ Paragon. I went for natural IUI in February 2011 but failed. We tried for SO IUI in April 2011 but my mensus came end of April 2011. I lost direction at that point of time...dun feel like want to talk abt it to anyone...not even with my husband. I was shocked in May 2011, my mensus didnt reported end of May 2011. I didnt check for 2 weeks, i scared it might be just false alarm. I bought the test kit & check myself. Finally!! I'm pregnant!! I dont know if the SO IUI help me conceived or I got pregnant naturally. If you have any question, I will always be here to answer all ur questions. I've been there before...I know how it feels. Keep on trying!! I always believe that we will have better eggs each month!!

Heatherwhite, jia you.

i am having bad bloatedness, farting and burping since the day my first injection (CD8 till now). My tummy is so bloated like a ballon.

Sometimes when we do not have good feeling then it will strike. A few friends of mine strike when they think is gone case. So just stay relax and enjoy 2ww.

Hi Cherrie,

If you are a private patient in KK you will have a personal gynae to complete the IUI process for you. I heard they got high rate on successful stories!!

Kate, really happy for you. Hopefully all of us will have good news soon. But i guess i failed this month coz I can feel PMS strongly

Heatherwhite, yes, i track my ovaluation using the kit provided by KKH when i did my SO-IUI this round.

BTW, any of you know that when we ovaluate naturally, our folicle may not be at matured size?

Hi Cherrie,

Maybe you will be like me....menses came but got pregnant a month after...hehehehhe

Babydust tO ALL the ladies in this thread!!

Cherrie,

From my understanding, if follicle not grown to its mature size, it will not release any egg out. It will just collapse and gone? This is what I experience from my past 2 cycles, my follicle stop growing at 13-14mm. And the two cycles were terminated.

According to my gynea, the follicle is preferably grow to 18mm before we are given a jab - Ovidrel, which help the follicle to release the egg out. But my previous gynea uses 16-17mm size as a guideline. So I think it depends on the gynea practice?
As for OPK, it is to track our LH level, will we have a surge in our LH level before ovulation take places. So if your follicle were around 16-18mm and got +ve in OPK, most likely you will have successfully ovulated. FYI, I didn't get clear dark double for the past two cycle when my follicle is not mature.
Er, above are my own view and experience lar, hope it helps you to somehow answer your doubts. If not, it is always good to check with your gynea for any queries.

Dragonhopes,

Thanks for your encouragement! I will do my best to stay relax and not think of the outcome in this 2ww. But on the other hand, I also need to tell myself don't put too much hope in it. Scare the higher the hope I have, the more disappointment I will get in the end. Prof. Wong has prescribed me with another round of clomid for my next cycle.
He asked me to try one more round of IUI if this this cycle fail, guess next is IVF le.

Kate,
Finally can officially congrates you here!
A big congratulation to you! So happy for you too! Grabbing your baby dust here... hehe... I hope I can be like u got BFP soon. I have been trying since Oct2008 after my customary. Sob...

Hi HeatherWhite,

I will pray fOr all of yOU!! U will get pregnant one day!! trust me!!

babydust! babydust tO aLL oF yOU here!!

Kate,

Thanks! What week are you in now? When is your EDD? Your HB must be super happy when you break the news to him? I am waiting for the day to come, the day when my turn to break BFP news to my HB and not reporting on the arrival of my annoying AF. Haha...
Do also update your progress here ok.

Heatherwhite, thank you for the info. My Gaynae told me that, he say my folicle may not be at matured size when i ovaluate naturally...actually i dun believe..haha...like you, i believe that if folicle is not at matured size, i wun not have ovaluated.

BTW, just to share with you all that SO-IUI at KKH seem more expensive than in NUH. I spent about $1600 this round. I need to go for scanning of folicle every alternate day from CD 7. But is also depend on the amount of injection you needed. But the injection for NUH and KKH seem different. I am on puregon injections.

Hi HeatherWhite,

No one knows about my pregnancy yet except my Hubby, sister & 1 of my colleague...not even my mom, Mother In Law & friends knows abt it...I just shared this with you all 1st..
I scared to tell anyone before everything is really really firm & strong...I intend to inform them somewhere in August ..hopefully

I'm in my 9 weeks now..gg to see my Gynae this coming Friday for regular check-up. I will give more updates after that

Cherie, how many u have injection for this round? How's the waiting like in KKH? I did mine in mt.elizabeth, 3 jabs, 3 scans cost 1.3k b4 gst

Dragonhopes,

We only tried actively for the past 16 mths. I was super-duper confidence as me & HB live a healthy and active life style. Who knows...

BTW, my first round of clomid, dr only told me I have 1 big follicle on D11 @14mm. So I guess, I don't have multiple dominant follicles. Not even when I did my 1st IUI, dr never told me how many big follicles I have or the size. I didn't bother to ask also.

My HB's SA isn't that good either. I'm not very sure of those jargons, for what I understand is his 'troops' are not fast swimmers, not even passing the 50% mark. But dr seems to focus on me more than him. I asked whether my HB need to do another SA test, however Dr Stephen Chew declined.

I look forward to another round of IUI if things go on well.
Now it's your time to share any good news!

Heatherwhite,

Thk u for your big hugz! I'll not give up without a fight. This round will be another battle. No. 17th hope.... hahhaa...

U stay relax for the 2ww k. Enjoy the weekend breakaway too!

Melody,

Thks for sharing your successful experience, you made me see light at the end of the tunnel. I'm truly happy for you.

Let the rest of us keep trying and share our good news one by one.
Baby dust to all!

Dragonhopes, I had 6scans n injection on my own since day 3 of my menses. Starting for 50ml for first 6 days, then 75ml for next 2 days n 100ml for the remaining days. I ovulate on cd17 n did my iui on cd18. All the scanning, consultation fee n injection cost me about $1.6k

Babyseetoh, me now DPO11. So far whatever symptpms i had now i have them every month. So no big deal to me. 2ww is like very long..hate it!

Cherrie, are you a private patient seeing doctor in KKH? it seems the price is so reasonable compare to others. Usually what cost the most is jabs and consultation fee. Mine one is 3 75IU jab each at $75.

Where is Tong Le and Rollybear? wonder how's their process

BabySeeToh,

Prof. Wong also never suggest SO-IUI to me. I think their theory is, if you can ovulate on your own, no clomid for you. If clomid helps you to ovulate then no injection for you. They will not over stimulate us on ovulation for IUI. Don't know if it is good or bad lar. Yeah, I like your fighting spirit! Hope this cycle is a smooth and successful one for you.
Are you on clomid again?

Kate,
Yeah, I understand your point of concern. But don't worry, thing will go smoothly for you. Update us your first check up on Friday ya.

BabySeeToh, Heatherwhite,

my case is the other way round (maybe private hospital). my doctor just dont want us take too much clomid as he said bad eggs might release also.

My gynea plan A, Plan B (both SO-IUI). Plan A without IUI process (we have to work on our own) but with injection. then Plan B is injection + IUI process.

Dragonhopes
I am now on DPO12.I think my AF will report to me soon.In fact, I am calm but my husband more nervous than me. He keeps ask me "are you feel hot" or "do you think we have chance" and many other question.I no dare to tell him that I can feel my PMS.But I did tell him that I am prepare on failure. YUP, these 14 days is super long.

Heatherwhite,
I feel crampy too after my IUI.Just stay relax and waiting for the good news.

Kate,
Congratulation. Glad to hear a good news from you. Do take care and all the best.

I believe we will be a pretty mum soon.Keep JIA YOU gals.

Chomp_Chomp81,
You also pregnant? Good news! Yes, we need more pregnant good news to boost our morale! happy happy... double joy!

Tong Le,
Yes, stay positive until your AF really reported ok. My HB also very 'ganjiong' nervous when we did our first IUI. He put high hope on it. Haha...I told him to take it easy this time. But I was rather disappointed for this IUI, cos of the spotting. Felt super sian... Till now still have a bit of staining.

hi all...

i'm reporting myself...i'm on DPO11 today and having the PMS feeling since Monday. Just now i saw some spotting as well...so I guess I'm the first reporting failure case for IUI this month.

well...i guess i will need better luck next month. Do you gals keep continue on with IUI for the following month or do you rest a month before trying for the next cycle?

Heatherwhite

mmhh...don't feel despair...like we said earlier maybe Prof abit rough on the procedure that's why there are light spotting...don't worry too much...jia you

Dragonhopes, Heatherwhite,
OK,I will stay positive. Thanks...

Heatherwhite,
I am not good at speech.But I will pray for you.Hope tomorrow is a better day.

Rollybear,
Dont give up. Like what they say new cycle equal to new hope.
I think I will try again on the following month instead of rest a month

Hi gals, you all can go for another IUI straight for next month? KKH waiting time seem long. If mine is unsuccessful this time, i need to wait till 31 Aug then see doc and to decide what for next?

Rollybear, jia you! jia you! who knows that's implantation spotting.

I plan to go for another round of SO-IUI but DH said stop for 2 months and try natural. If cannot get then straight go IVF.

i plan meantime go polyclinic get refer letter and go KKH. since the waiting is so long, then we try naturally. What you gals think? personally i prefer private hospital. i am such an impatient person, really dont like to wait.

you think MOH will allow government grant to be used in private hospital or not? since they are lack of manpower in government hospital and we are lack of time.

thanks dragonhopes for your encouragement but i really doubt so...how many IUI have you tried? My DH said tried 1 more time IUI before IVF

your grant is referring to IVF or IUI, what i know is you can apply for grant in all govt hospitals, if KKH too long, maybe you might want to consider NUH?

this is my first SO-IUI. my grant is referring to IVF. any government grant for IUI?

i am staying at Toa Payoh, working at Changi so both KKH and NUH are not close to me. I choose KKH as it is nearer to my house. I read from one blogspot. IVF process is very long. Have to return to hostpital quite often. Dont know can take it or not. sien..

dragonhopes, i think KKH waiting time is longer than other hospital. Scanning also quite long. I need to be there for 1.5hrs for scanning and consulation. You need to go for scanning every alternate days. Anyway, do not lost hopes yet, who knows you may not need to go thru all these again
When you suppose to know the results?

BTW, do you mean go polytechnic to get refer letter for IVF? Is there further deduction for the cost after using medisave?

Anyone here is plus size(overweight ), have PCOS do t ovulate every month and trying soiui? Need advice pls message me

Thank u