IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

Just to share, Your gynae charge very ex!! confirm strike one izzit? why so ex? You can try other gynae. Mine only charge abt 10k for the whole thing. My gynae use a'pen' for injections, the needles is very very small and it's very easy to do. Won't feel much. BUt your hubby have to do it for you. I don't dare to do it myself.
25k can go for surrogate in India already. How good will that be? We still be pretty and slim yet bring home a baby.

yes my gynae is very ex. He claimed to have a 50% chance. He does not advocate pen injections - at least for SO-IUI because he would rather you get yourself properly injected by a professional nurse - be it in his clinic or outside his clinic.

According to the nurses, only this way - he can ensure that the injections are done in a "proper" way and the dosage gets into the body. He does not like to take chances. That is why my 9 jabs of pureton costs me 2.8K alone.

Still contemplating if I should go for IVF. Troubled lah... just wonder why some pple can strike so easily... :-(

Just to share, my gynae also give me a 50% chance. I don't think it's a problem to inject oneself. The pen will set the amount so we don't have to worry abt the dosage. As long as it gets into the blood stream, I think it's okay to do the injection yourself. If you go for IVF it's better to change another gynae. or else the expense so high how can you cope if you really strike 3 babies.

WanBB, hee hee...i know which artiste u talking about...juz can't remember her name. yah, the poor twin hor, kena snapped.

Even if no strike, nvm, we jia you for the next cycle! I may want to start IVF too maybe oct or nov....still thinking about it seriously.

justtoshare, unless u r financially very sound, $25K is quite a large sum to fork out. maybe u want to check around with other gynaes?

Dawn, if you start on Oct then your transfer will be in Dec. Quite long right? You start this cycle your transfer will be in OCt.

I don't wan transfer in Nov or Dec cos baby might end up in lunar 7th month. I scared to be in the hospital during that period of time.

Just read through this thread :) I am currently undergoing IVF/ICSI with a private practise.

Justtoshare,
25K for a ivf treatment is toward the "high end" side. If your gynae is very confident that he/she can give you the best result than no harm. However, i suggest you "shop" around first. "Interview" the gynae that you feel most comfortable that you can put all your trust to him or her. In addition, you must be able to afford the treatment. Financial bundle should be the secondary. You will have to manage the stress when you are going through all the stages of IVF. Personally, the stress comes from emotionally and the side effect of the medication that alter your hormone.

Just wanna update on my SO-IUI cycle. Went for a scan today and only got 1 potential follicle, around 12mm ... so now, Dr up my dosage and gotta jab for another 3 days. Going back on Monday for another scan.
Will let you guys know again on after that...

Initially wanted to start with IVF, but doc suggested us to proceed with SO-IUI first. After a short discussion with HB, I agreed to give it a try since we still stand in a chance and most important thing is I feel that HB still not "ready" for IVF.

The next scan is on 6 Sept. I hope I can strike this round, but as usual, will hope for the best and prepare for the worst.

What are the side effects of the IVF treatment?

When I was on puregon jabs, my stomach was badly bloated and at 1 stage, I was like 2kg heavier within the 1.5weeks. The weight gain was terrible. :-(

Can anyone of you share with me - on the side effects of the hormone treatment of IVF and perhaps the side effects of any drugs/medications used in the IVF cycle?

Hi just to share

My doc told me that the side effect is you might have the Ovarian Hyperstimulation Syndrome (OHSS), but actually if we did SO_IUI, we will face the same side effect, cos we are using the same drugs to stimulate our ovaries. (either puregon/Gonal F)

Everybody has diff reaction over the drugs using. But suggest u check with your doc to see the reasons of your bloatedness and weight gaining.

hi Koalatree,

Ya I heard abt OHSS. During this cycle, I had like 5-6 eggs. I remembered they were like 14mm, 16mm, 18mm and 20mm. Then I had to take further injections. Some grew to 22mm.

For this cycle, I did 2 inseminations. The first insemination was scheduled on a sat. On friday, based on the ultrasound scan it seems that I have ovulated. However, a blood test done on Friday night (with results on sat) seemed to say otherwise.

Anyhow, cos the insemination was already scheduled on Sat, I proceeded as some of the eggs were already 20-22mm.

Then I was given a jab to force ovulation in 48 hrs. I came back on Monday for the 2nd insemination. Some of the eggs seem to have ovulated except one remaining big one. Anyhow I proceeded with the insemination. For this cycle, there seems to be multiple ovulation cos the eggs seem to have disappear from the ultrasound screen at different timings.

After the insemination, doc put me on the crinone (progesterone) insert for 5 days. I am usually very sensitive - even to spermicide. Erggghhh and I think I had some vaginal irritations after 3 days of the progesterone insertions. The progesterone inserts gave me lots of discharge. So now I am on this PH5 cleansing lotion. :-( And after seeing doc today, I have to have another 7 days of crinone inserts. :-(

He asked me to go back for testing end of next week. I thought it was a little early. Anyhow, I am a little scared to go back for the pregnancy test check. Somehow, I just feel that if it is bad news, I dun want to know it so soon....And now i am having some stomach cramps - duno if this is sign of menses coming :-(

sigh...anyone in the 2 week cycle now too?

justtoshare, your situation sounds quite promising leh, the size of follicles sounds good and u had double insemination!
wah, good chance to be preggie, if like that, your money will be well spent!

i also did the progesterone inserts, at first tot very yucky, after trying once, found that it is actually not that bad. good luck...i know time passes extra slowly in this 2ww.

Hi Just to share

Agreed with dawn, I also think u are standing a good chance, so be positive, ok? Everyday telling yourself, you and the baby can do it... I believe in our thinking and attitude manage to influence the results..

Blood test will know the HCG beta earlier than our urine test and it is more accurate. That y I think ur doc ask you to go back to do the blood test not even after the full 14 days.

U can join the rest in 2WW thread for this period. Here is the link:-
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/5/387873.html?1157163202

Wait for your good news hoh, take care. (And dun walk so much, it may affect the implantation of the fetus).

Hi koala,
i'm doing my iui on wednesday.. my 1 egg has increased to 18 mm, tonight have to do the pregnyl jab.
gonna be praying so hard this time, wish me luck!

hi Koalatree,

Thanks for your encouragement. So many of us are suffering in silence and this forum helps.

My colleagues are having the 2nd if not 3rd kid and it kind of gets me down when I think of my failed attempt.

Just last Friday, my gf told me she is pregnant - immediately after marriage. I am happy for her but at the same time I feel so pressurized.

Sigh...feeling so sad inside and still have to act as if I am fine...

Just to share

Aiya, my colleague just announced she is preggie with the 2nd 1, and she is sitting just besides me, now talking to ppl over the phone or other colleague abt her 2nd preganancy was an "accident" so happy, of course, she never mean to hurt me, but this is life loh..The worst part is I will have to cover for her during her absence. I can't hide for my feeling sometimes, but wat to do??? I can't ask her to shut up and can't becos she is preggie and hate her mah.. Sigh... Now I pray hard my SO-IUI can work this round then everything is worth waiting.

We have to be strong lah and one day we will be like them, ok?

Exactly. I have another colleague who has a boy and a girl currently. Recently, she discovered that she is pregnant again. She told me it was an accident and was contemplating if she should keep it. Well she is from a well to do family and live in a posh house so financially she has more than enough to sustain this 3rd child.

I told her "Of course you have to keep it! It's a gift from god."

Oh so you are on SO-IUI, have you done ur insemination?

I am praying hard that I will strike this month too. Need lots of baby dust.... :)

Hi Just to share

Ya, both of us will strike, ok? U were with CC rite, his bill really like a boom to the pocket, but if you can strike, then everything is worth it.

I am still on Gonal F jab, today is the 4th day. First scan will be on this Wed, most probably will do the IUI on next week suject to my eggs conditions.

hi Koalatree,

Yes I am with CC. And my bill this mth alone :) $4K+. I just hope that I will strike.

Oh okie, so your insemination will be next week. All the best, hope ur eggs will grow, grow and grow :)

Baby dust to both of us!!!
506020.gif

justtoshare, your colleague really Shen zai fu zhong bu she fu! doesn't she know that there are so many couples trying for babies and can't get them? of course she shouldn't abort the child...

WanBB, just went for review this morning and doc checked through the process, everything seemed ok, juz dunno why didn't get preggie. *sigh* Unexplained fertility... *sigh* she suggested i do IVF....but got quite long queue wor....the earliest i can start is after novmember and transfer in december. Well, i still contemplating if i should do one more iui first...

all those in 2ww, good luck and lots of baby dust to u!!!

Dawn, then can you do IUI next cycle and also quene for IVF? then if strike can cancel the IVF. Not really unexplained infertility cos you haven't try all the option.

Dawn, I nv rest a cycle. COs IVF will be over a spread of 2 months so consider rest a cycle already? Resting means wasting more time.. I so kia su cannot wait to start the IVF. hee hee.

haha...WanBB,
good idea....maybe i check with them if i can do iui in oct, if really fail, then do IVF starting nov.
so u started the IVF cycle oredi?

Dawn, I starting on day 21. Now only day 6... So slow. Time seems to crawl while we're waiting for things to happen. But how much cash you pay for one IUI?

Koalatree, I only did normally IUI. So I think it's okay for me to start IVF this cycle. I'm not sure abt SO-IUI. Must check with your own Dr.

WanBB,

You on IVF now? Day 6 - what treatment will u be on? Hormone suppression?

WanBB, yah time really passes super slowly when we are in the IUI or IVF process. now that i am not on anything, time seems to fly! You jia you and keep us updated on the procedure....now is the lucerin jab is it?

koala, u let me know what u dr says can? I will oni see my doc on 19th sept.

Just to share, me still not starting the treatment. The supression only start at Day21 of my this cycle until I have my menses then start the puregon injection for abt 10 days. Then will be my ER and ET... Can't wait.

Dawn, Lurcin jabs only start at day21. Now still free and easy.

oh ok, WanBB, so still quite early.
IVF really takes a long time huh. my hubby was asking me why don't we try another year....aiyoh, i told him oredi tried 2 years, try some more....will be older more difficult to conceive leh. IVF takes quite long too hor....7 to 8 weeks each time..one year where got so many 8 weeks for me to try?

oh, yesterday i dreamt of my child....haha....not pregnant but can carry a baby around. shiok. dreams dreams dreams, must be thinking too much about having a baby.

Dawn, it's a good sign to dream of baby or being preggie. Alot of women dream already and soon enough they got preggie.

I feel that you should wait no longer to do IVF. the younger you do the more chances of sucess. If you wait another year, your eggs will age by another year. Quality and quantity won't be as good. Some people even do suppression for 3 months. Imagine I only do for one cycle already feel that it's taking a long time. if do for 3 months then my IVF will take abt 4 months to complete.

WanBB and Dawn,

Does each IVF cycle takes 7-8 weeks? Is it so long? Do you know how many jabs must 1 take? Everyday for 3 weeks?

I don't know if I am prepared for this. Never think I might have to come down this path one day.

Just to share, there is long protocol and short protocol. For first timer, normally we do long protocol which means suppression before the actual growing of eggs. I read that supression can help you end up with more eggs than short protocol which means straight to puregon. I also didn't know all these until I join the IVF support group thread then the girls there told me.

For my case is long protocol, so have to jab for abt 3 weeks plus.

WanBB, *sigh*....dreams are dreams.....din even dreamt that i was preggie then can carry baby liow? was feeling quite wierd, like the baby came too easy? haha maybe carrying other pple's baby too much liow.

agree with u about the egg quality, that is why want to try this november. is there an advantage to surpress the eggs for a longer time?

Justtoshare, i also never tot i will go this far....as in fertility treatment. last time, thinking about taking clomid already quite exciting. haha. I am also not really prepared yet, so keep discussing with hubby lor. i think my hubby even more not prepared. he stills prefers iui than ivf.

Dawn, Maybe tonight then you dream you are preggie.. hee hee..

If supress longer, you can have more eggs to play with. Maybe nv supress abt 10 eggs, supress can get abt 20 eggs. so first cycle supress better. Anyway lurcin is not very ex as compare to puregon.

ok thanks for letting me know!

i dun wan to dream oni leh....hee hee...i want to get preggie!!!! haha going abit crazy liow. well, i going HK this weekend, but too early for my ovulation. what a waste!

Dawn, I'm going BKK tomorrow. Next monday then come back. I also wanna get preggie. Also almost think until crazy! hopefully will have good news in OCt. hee hee..

Dawn & WanBB,

Gd luck to both of you, girls. Let's hope we all strike this month!!! Better than striking lottery hor?

508148.gif
508149.gif
508150.gif

WanBB, enjoy yourself shopping! if nobody looking, can also dance for the buddha! hee hee.
i will be back on wednesday.

justto share, hope to hear good new from you! this news will definitely be better than striking lottery!

Sigh...
All the signs of the AF is showing... :-(
Worst, I started having soft stools - usually my symptom of the onset of the AF... :~(
The soreness in my breasts surprisingly is going off...I grabbed hold of a HPT last night and did a test and it was negative.

I think I am getting paranoid. Told my hb I really don't know what I should do if it still does not succeed.

just the night before - on Tue night, the granny is nagging at how bad it is to have such a big gap between the 1st and 2nd kid. She literally tell me in the face that I should start trying and blah blah blah

Sigh...how to tell that you have been trying so hard but it just cannot come. With so many of my frens becoming pregnant...I am going crazy! And so much uncertainty with my job now. What a bad year for me! :-(

ARRRGGGGHHHHHHHHH

Just to share

BIG HUGS HUGS....

understand your feeling now. But dun be despair, cos there is still hope as long as the AF is not here yet ok?

u already have 1 kid?

hi there,

Yes, I have a son who is 4+. I mentioned it in my posting on Aug 19.

After delivery of my son, my periods became irregular - so much for the myth that your system will be much better after child birth. I started trying more than 2 years back - in early 2004 but have not been successful. I guess the problem I have is secondary since I had no problems conceiving my first. But it is hard because people around you don't expect you to have a problem since you already have a kid and I don't know how to explain my problem to them.

In the end, they just assume that you do not want to have 2nd child and they just keep nagging at you - thinking that I do not want to have a 2nd child and etc like the chinese saying - ya2 zi3 chi1 huang2 lian2 you2 ku3 shuo1 bu4 chu1

Before my first child, I had a miscarriage but I didn't really have problems conceiving. But during the last 2 and a half years of failing to conceive, I fully understand the frustration of all of you out there. I had 7 IUIs including this current one. And I don't know if it means that the next would be IVF. It seems to be the only path but I don't know if I am ready for this.

Hi Just to share

Our body is very diff to predict. I also have a friend who has a 7 year old daughter still fail to have the second 1 until now.. so sometimes is diff to say. What we can do is just to take things easy.

When is your blood test on bHCG scheduled? Today is DPO? Or you want to call the nurse to check with them?

Dawn, enjoy ur trip too! I doubt there will be nobody watching. Wonder if someone watch I still dance will show my sinecerity. Hee hee!

Just to share, at least you have a child already. We still waiting for miracle to happen... Maybe you just need more help from dr to conceive. Since conceive before it will be easier this time round.

My first insemination was the Friday before last and my 2nd insemination was last Monday. But doc arranged for me to do HCG this coming Sat - according to nurse it might be to monitor the HCG level.

Not sure. My gynae is also puzzled why I cannot conceive. NO doubt, I had an op in Apr to remove cysts, unblock 1 tube and remove endo. Doc also said I have polycystic ovaries. But we both though it would be fine after the op. Seems like it is not meant to be.

I don't know if mine is considered as unexplained infertility.

Just to share

I have endo, blocked tube and ovarian cysts before and also have done the same lap under CC before. But still can't conceive after 7 months from the lap so I have seek the second opinion and the fertility specilist said the tube might be blocked again within 3 months even after the lap if we have very bad endo.

I think now is too early to tell whether the IUI is successful. So just relax first while waiting. Pray hard for you.

Justtoshare, it is still early *pat pat* and lots of preggie symptoms like AF symptoms. so cross your fingers. jia you! don't give up, both my colleagues conceived their 2nd daughter after 5 years of trying.

WanBB, aiyah...dun care liow...juz dance! hee hee

hi girls,

Was very moody yesterday and went back very early. Had another early pregnancy test strip and tested. Again it was negative. I was very upset and cried myself out. For the last 2 over years, every time my AF come, I didn't really cry. Yesterday was like a release session for all the tears that were inside me. I cried and cried. After that,I have to clean up and try to camourflage my swollen eyes and try to act normal in front of my mom. Broke down again at night when my hb came back. He was asking me why was I so moody and I was telling him, I gotta put up a show wherever I go - even to my mom (because I didn't want her to worry) and the only place where I can afford to be moody is in the privacy of my own bedroom.

This morning, when I woke up I tested on the pregnancy test strip again - hoping to do this on the first stream of urine. Before I even conduct the test, I saw my AF. :-( But I was a lot calmer by now - after the outburst yesterday. I already expected it so it was not a surprise.

I guess I have to put all this behind me and start to think of my next step. Thinking of taking traditional chinese medicine and then doing the natural way for a while. Might go back to Prof for a debrief. I want to know where the problem lies - though I am not sure if anyone can give me a conclusive answer. I am not ready for IVF at this point of time - both emotionally and financially - and my job is getting unstable.

Anyway, thanks for all the support for the past few days. Really appreciate that. I will continue to jia you for all of you.

May all our wishes come true soon...