IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

Hi Dawn, thanks. No, I don't feel any difference now. Yesterday and the day before I had some cramps and tummy was very bloated; think it's due to ovulation (the eggs trying to burst out from the follicles). Just hv to relax abd pray for the best now.

hi xinyu,

finally my follicles have reached 16.5 and yest oredi started injection to induce ovulation. tmr my gynae will start iui liao.
hope everything will be smooth for me and for you too. =)

hi dawn, hmm...so after iui the next day we can BD liao lor?

Gals are you all given MC on the day of IUI? how many days har? KK oni gave one day.... where are u doing your IUI?

75gal, yah the 1st time i did iui also had slight cramps the 1st two days.....and felt very very tired. not sure why. jia you jia you....how many days to go b4 testing?

okeanosmao, how many matured follicles do you have when u have the HCG injection to induce ovulation? good luck! keep us updated on your IUI process.....

Dawn, yepp I was given one day MC on the day of the IUI. Dun think it's the IUI that caused us to get crampy feeling & tiredness. I think it's more due to ovulation. Am into the 2WW now lor ... must learn to relax and take things easy ... but it's easier said than done ... can't stop thinking abt it. Am working and job is quite stressful; thk God we have a National Day holiday this week

When u doing your IUI? U jia you too ...

Hi, I'm new to this thread. Been on others. I'm doing IUI too. Been through two rounds. Waiting to do the 3rd. The last 2, I was just on 50mg of clomid. This time, it's a 100mg so hopefully more targets. It's a long journey! Good luck all you out there doing IUI. Don't strain yourself after doing it!

Welcome 75gal & ondine!!!

okeanosmao, all the best

dawn, I dun know why need so many days MC. They give then I take lor. Dun know how ER/ET operation like. Will let you know after I went through it...ok. You very gan jeong hor,started look for IVF. No need lar. You will strike this cycle, be positive. Actually can start iui immediately, no need to rest. Wish you a lot a lot of luck this cycle

Hmmm, that being tired after IUI, me too! The days after, I just slept and slept a whole lot. I think the strain that we put ourselves through? Don't know. Keeping fingers crossed for this cycle. Then don't need to do IVF.

hello gals! Bad news....today went to KKH to scan...dunno why all the big follicles slowed down in growing....and the small ones catched up, so I think am going to get many same sized follicles again, so depressing! I was hoping for 1 or 2 dominant one. *sigh*

xinyu, yah....i very gan cheong, checking up on IVF cos I am not young liow, every month passes so fast...b4 i know it, I will be 35 liow! plus I these few months less stress at work, can take more time off, so trying hard lor! Wishing all of us lots and lots of luck. needing lots of baby dusts baby dusts baby dusts baby dusts....

gal75, understand how u feeling, these 2 ww must be the longest 2 weeks u ever had! must do more things to distract yourself. haha....come to the thread more often to talk! time will pass faster!

ondine, yah lor, very very tired hor...tot i was imagining things....I slept and slept during the 2ww after my first SO-IUI leh. I think must be from the HCG shot. where are u doing your IUI?

Hi Dawn, I'm looking up IVF too. One more IUI try and then that's the next step. I've been doing it at Gleneagles under LC Foong.

Well, at least now I have an excuse. HCG shot makes me sleepy! Woohoo... time to tell work that one!

ondine....me too, seriously thinking of IVF! I think singaporeans very impatient hor...everything want fast fast. very frustrated when you try everything and it still fails! *sigh* Hope our effort really pays off!

dawn, if too many follicles, you can consider convert to IVF... What is yr puregon dosage right now?

yest went for IUI n was given 2 days mc.procedures was quite fast except that i was freezing in the the operating theatre..aircon was soooo soo cold..went hm aft tat n sleep.
i've experienced bad cramps too, was tinking it must b due to the ovulation. my back was real pain yest n could hardly stand straight.
will go back again on the 16th for blood test. any idea wat's the blood test for?

dawn, i tink i have 2 mature follicles both on the right n left. the rest are v small follicles.

Xinyu, my dosage is 75iu daily now.... mindset not ready for IVF suddenly leh. plus...i spoke to Dr. S Loh and understand that it is not optimum to convert half way as din start the earlier injections that you need to take at the earlier part of cycle...think it is called lucrin is it? what is it for har?

anyway, I went to scan today, follicles still not ready yet...must inject another 2 more days...prob do iui on Friday or saturday. their OPK really expensive huh? almost 14bucks, haha...i bought online oni 70 cents.

Okeanosmao, so now u in your 2ww. cramps are quite common after the IUI....haha u also went to sleep ah! your DPO 7 blood test scheduled on the 16 the is for progesterone. to check whether u have ovulated sufficiently. heard must be more than 30 - 50 to indicate u have ovulated. if readings more than 100...most prob more than 1 follicles have burst! It also checks if you have sufficient progesterone to support the pregnancy.

Indeed! More sleepy IUI-ers!

Hmmm, OPK tests are indeed expensive. I bought some when I was in Australia, but I think I only have like 2 left!

Anyway, started on 100mg of clomid and feel a little bit queasy. Don't know if it's the effect of the medicine or the claypot rice I had for dinner.

You know, my IUI protocol doesn't require me to do a bloodtest 7DPO. I wonder why...

Hi Dawn, don't despair. The follicles take time to develop. I was on Gonal F jab daily from day 8 onwards, for 9 days before achieving the ideal size for IUI.

Okeanosmao - do you still have any cramps now after the IUI? I did mine on 3 Aug, experienced bloatedness in the first couple of days. Then by yesterday, the bloatedness was gone, no cramps too ... Now getting more and more anxious.

Ondine - Hi, my doc also never ask me to go back for any blood tests ... I'm with Mt E.

hi gals! wah today the KKIVF super packed....i think after the national day hols, many pple need to scan their follicle size. Today, one follicle size reached 17.5, the other 2 on the the left reached 16 plus one more 14.5mm. So given the HCG jab around 1030am...scheduled to do IUI tomolo morning too. haha....DH is stressed too....he needs to do work tomolo morning! I am really praying very hard the sperm and eggs will meet tomolo!

75gal, when is your earliest test date? next thursday 17th aug is it? i understand the feeling..it must be the slowest 2 weeks in your life.....

ondine, u just started IUI with clomid is it? maybe ur clinic does V-scan b4 IUI rite? so maybe it is enuff to gauge whether the follicle are mature enuff to ovulate?

i thinking of going back to work after the IUI if no cramps...after resting for an hour lah, should be okay rite?

Dawn, this is my 3rd IUI attempt. I don't need much to ovulate, so only took 50mg of clomid to ovulate the last two times, but no go. We do indeed do a scan before the procedure. One 2 days before and one just before.

Now, I've doubled the dosage and have such a grand headache, it's like there's a really noisy party in my head and I think it's not going away till Sat when I finish the course. *whine*

Anyone can advice me whether to inject HCG yourself or go GP? I'll be doing my IUI next week and this sunday need to inject if OPK turns positive. Hubby very eager to help but I real scared.

Koalatree, but I'm afraid to hurt my hubby's feelings... At the same time I don't wan to suffer any blue blacks.

WanBB

Why this will hurt your HB feeling? I think the most important thing is u need to be comfortable, u can try to talk to him nicely. I sure he will understand.

HI WanBB,

Please go to a GP or 24hr KKH for the jab. The area to jab on is our muscle. Even a experience nurse does it, it still hurts and your whole leg will be aching for at least two days from my experience. So please, do NOT get your hubby to jab...this is different from the daily puregeon jab.

75gal, i xperienced on and off back cramp after iui, cramp is the worst on sun & mon.aft tat, on and off lor..only got stomach cramp on tues onwards.but was sick for the whole of this week. i dun tink its the effect aft iui. weather too hot nowadays.
hee, we oso in the same 2ww. i try not to tink lor, must relaz yrself.

dawn, y dun u rest? since gynae will give u mc?

koalatree, hw cm yr hcg injection so cheap? i did mine at 24hrs clinic and was charged $26 leh..even syringe i brought it to the clinic myself..

wanbb, best to get GP do it.even my hb dun dare to do it just in case he hurt me..ha, he even told me, if he can do it, he will become doc liao lor..the GP jab it on my left arm.
try to explain to yr hb, mayb he will understand.

hello hello, WanBB...yah like what all the gals said HCG shot is very very very painful one, better let the experts do it. hee hee.

okeonosmao....i super "on" mah....workaholic. haha....dun scold me hor. after IUI today, rested awhile, went back to work since i feel ok, not very tried like the first time.

so now also join u all in the 2ww. My iui today very very painful leh...when she inject the sperm, i got feel spasm..bad cramps in my uterus/fallopian tubes..but after lying down 10 mins okay liow.

ondine, why increase dosage leh? since u oredi ovulating with 50mg of clomid?

happy weekend gals!!!!

Good luck Dawn!

Reason for increased dosage is because my doctor wants there to be more than one target for the sperms to swim toward. Will see on Tuesday when I go in for my pre-iui scan whether it indeed produced more than one target.

thanks ondine...keke...still a long way to go leh....*sigh* don't feel anything different right now....have to wait another 14 days...*sigh* or if i itcy finger...another 12 days.

hope u can see more than one target on tuesday! keep us updated!

Finally, I had the jab this evening!! I went to a 24 hour clinic and he charge me $20. I ask my hubby to pay for it. Hee hee... But it was worth it as it's not as painful as the one I had at my gynea. Thanks for all your advices.

Dawn, how come your IUI is painful? My gynea say it's like pap smear. I'll be doing it this wednesday. Any advice for me? Example need to take panadol before hand? Izzit like doing HSG? HSG also very crampy.

WanBB, not sure why it is painful this time....this is the 2nd IUI. My first IUI was painless, i practically could not feel much, not even cramps.

oh yah, my HSG also damn painful during the procedure. good luck for the process tomolo!

Thanks cherish.
Me finish my IUI already! It was painless. Never feel anything much. Good news is I have 2 eggs. One already ovulate and the other one on the way. Hopefully these will be the ones!

WanBB,
they also do scan before the IUI? What was the size of the follicle?
so now we can count down together....the days seem to pass super slowly leh.... oni 5 days have passed. *sigh*

Dawn, so you already DPO5 right? Me still have to wait 14 days. Sianz... My dr do scan before he start the IUI. One of my eggs already ovulate. The other one is 25mm so will ovulate tonight or latest tomorrow. How abt yours?
did you BD the night you did your IUI? Cos my dr ask me to BD tomorrow night. But I was thinking tonight BD should be better right?

no leh, kkh never measure b4 doing iui. oni the previous morning measured to be 17.5mm and two 16mm.... another is 14.5mm
they ask me not to BD after that, as they are afraid the 14.5mm will catch up and ovulate later, wait will have multiple births. *sigh*
i was thinking, where got so easy, all the 4 follicles all kena one.
now i have no feeling/symptoms at all....very not pregnant. no pains/cramps/tireness at all.

Dawn, I think must grow abt 20mm then will ovulate right? I'm not so sure also. Try to BD lor. At least higher chances. You take BBT? Any changes?

WanBB, it depends on the drugs you take to ovulate, the follicle will pop at different size. I think if dun take any drugs, must be 22mm...if take clomid, 20mm, if take injections like G-gonal is 18mm...my injection is puregon, as long as reach 16mm, they will give me the hcg trigger shot.

Still around 37.05 daily...that is my normal post ovulation temperature....unless it goes beyond 37.2...haha...then maybe it is abnormal.
how u feeling today?

Dawn, izzit? I don't know leh... My eggs all 20mm and above then my dr give me HCG jab.

My BBT very low... Only 36.55 today. Very weird... Normally will rise until 36.70+. I got a little cramp. Other than that nothing leh...

Implantation should start at abt day 6 to day 10 so you might notice the change only after implantation. Good luck to both of us. Hope our temp go higher and higher.

Reactions: JTH

did a blood test on wed & got the results tat evening. gynae told me tat mine had failed cos the hcg level shld show 2-5 if pregnant. but mine is only 2.
did my iui on 7/8 n by now shld show alittle bit higher than 2 if pregnant. so gynae said unlikely will get pregnant liao..so nw i'm waiting for my menses to come but wonder will it cm..mine quite irregular..
have to stop doing iui now as out of our budget. 1st iui oredi spent close to $5k. hee..abit broke..so nw must save $ then continue 2nd iui.

hi okeanosmao, how come you test so early? i was told must only test for HCG 17days after iui? is it too early to test now? oni 10 days after your ovulation? Dont be sad...as long as AF don't come, still got chance.

What drugs did you use? How come need 5K? cos if you do clomid + iui is quite cheap one, less than $500. I did Puregon injections + IUI which is about 1.2K this time.

WanBB, that is a minimum size before they inject, of course the larger the better lah...haha.....different hospitals different protocols bah...what was the medication u took? clomid or injections? don't think i want to take the temperature every day, too stressful, oni took this morning cos itchy finger go and measure. maybe your the other egg just released early this morning, that is why the temperature plunged. hope the sperm were waiting right there for it and caught it!
hee hee....

hi Dawn,

I am doing SO-IUI this month and it will cost me at least 3.5K this month. Each puregon jab of 150 costs me SGD 282.Very expensive!

How did you do it with 1.2K? How many puregon jabs do you get?

okeanosmao, very sad to hear abt it. don't think too much. Maybe still got chance leh... as long as menses haven't come.

Dawn, my dr always inject the HCG after my eggs grow to 22mm to 24mm. NV lesser than 20mm so i'm not sure what's the minimum. I took puregon injection on day 6,8,10 with 1 tab/day clomid for 5 days. I also spend abt 1k. But since the puregon can use 2 cycle, I spend only $750 for this IUI. My temp still low leh... only increase by 0.03 everyday. today only 36.60. So sad. I agree that BBT is very stressful. Days seems to spend faster without taking BBT every morning. With BBT, one days seems to pass like one year.

Just to share, how many jabs you need? My puregon pen can inject 5 and half time and it cost me $450 a pen. So each injection only abt 75cc and $80. 3.5K you might as well do IVF cos can spend 6k from medisave.

Synergy, you should ask his advice. Depending on what's your problem then find the right solution. Not sure if all gynea do IUI but if you go to government hospital I think they will assign you one. Private clinic I will advice you to find a specialist. At least he is more experience with such problem than the normal gynea. Therefore can give better advice.

Synergy, I'm with Dr Foong at Gleneagle. He's a specialist in fertility. He is very nice guy. Maybe you can try him. It's best if you go on Day2 so that you can take the scan and blood test.

O&G Partners Clinic for women
Gleneagles Hospital, Annexe Block, #01-38
6A Napier Road Singapore 258500

Tel: 6479 7267

Synergy, BTW how long have you been trying to conceive? Have you ever visited any gynea? Cos it will be good if you bring all your medical history with you for the first visit.

hi WanBB,

For me, I am not using the Pen for puregon jabs. My gynae does not endorse that. He wants us to be jabbed in his clinic to ensure the jab is done correctly.

For every 50cc of puregon, it costs SGD 85. So for a 150 cc dosage, it would cost SGD 268. Add another SGD12 for jab fees and with GST, it comes up to be around SGD 280.

Is this your first attempt with SO-IUI? Have u done IUI before?

Just to share, this is my first IUI. I just undergo a surgery to unblock my tubes. Therefore have to do IUI for these 3 cycle before my tubes are blocked again.

The pen for puregon is very easy to use. I think it will be cheaper to do it yourself. But you already at that clinic so no choice. Very trouble to go back to the clinic every now and then. Your gynae charge quite ex for puregon. Mine is 430cc for $400+. Yours 300cc already $546!!! That's ex! Mind if I ask which dr are you with?

wow, this thread very busy today.

Hi Just to Share, my first IUI was oni $900 plus as i oni took 5 jabs of 50iu daily + clomid which is very cheap one. Puregon injections (430iu): ~$230

For my 2nd IUI, I did not use clomid any more, just purely 75iu Puregon daily for about 10 days, + Progesterone inserts after the IUI...so adds up to about 1.2K. (If you scroll to the top of this thread, you can see Xinyu giving the break down of the cost) Your 3.5K is quite expensive, maybe because it includes the price of preparing the drugs for you? In KK, we have to run to and fro betw the clinic and the pharmacy to get those drugs/injections...lots of self service, so maybe cost lower. but never mind lah, as long can get preggie, any amt i think we are willing to fork out rite?

WanBB, don't take the BBT till it is nearer to test date?
then it will take the stress of you! hee hee...how u feel today? I went KK to do my Progesterone blood test today and heard the lady sitting beside me finding out from the nurse she is preggie from IVF. She was so happy....wah...so envious!

Yesterday was very pissed off by some new colleague. She very loud mouth and went around advising all "the married but no children yet" ladies and gentlemen what to do, all the tricks. She so confident that she says all her previous colleagues seeing fertility specialists for years all conceived under her guidance! But what she advised was so common in the SBO, lifting legs after BD for 1 hour, BD when both are aroused, acidity and alkanlity of the uterus.....etc. nothing special. Actually nothing wrong with her sharing lah, just feel very frustrated cos she is not a doc, and thinks it is so easy getting preggie, and cannot understand why so many of us are so unenlightened about the trick of making babies. The ultimate was she came to a group of 5 or 6 of us who are TTCing very hard and starting to show off her knowledge*sigh* sorry for blabbling, just very pissed off.