IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

dawn,

as this is the first time doing iui, i started off with 100iu w/o any clomid, cos clomid doesn't take effect on me.each box comes with 300iu n cost $360 each. jab 100ui for nearly 10 days. can't remember hw many days aft which 100ui jab taking off real slow.so started to take 200ui jab for abt 5 days.so sometimes i hv to buy 2/3 boxes at 1 time. the pen comes free, sort of rent to me lar..aft iui, hv to rtn back to gynae.

i oso duno y gyane wanted to test first maybe its already 1 week? aiya, my menses duno when will come jus like everytime hoping to strike 4d.i've got PCOS so its v v irregular n unlikely to have ovulation every cycle..
so now i dun tink much but hor, every nite keep dreaming of babies and getting pregnant..going crazy liao..
how abt u?

I am seeing Prof Chen from Glen E and his charges are on the high side. I had 7 jabs of puregon already - each dosage is at 150iu. Each jab costs $286 :-(

These 7 jabs alone costs me SGD 2002. :-(

Not to mention consultation fees and more jabs might be required.

Oh ya, I had an op to block my tube and remove endo in April.

This is my first SO-IUI. I had done 4 IUI cycles before my op. After the op, I had 2 IUI cycles - 1 was done without any clomid and the 2nd was done with clomid. So far, all my IUI cycles fail :-(

I really hope that I can succeed this time. Dare not think too much.

Difference is I already have a son who is 4+. Hubby and I badly wanted to give my son a companion but have not been able to conceive all this while. Duno why also, seems that my problem came about only after my son's birth.

Dawn, your puregon is cheap!! If i advance to IVF can ask you buy for me? Hee hee!
Yesterday I still have cramp and it was very bad during the night... This morning wake up feeling better. I wanna stop BBT but I feel like knowing what's going on leh.. my hand can't stop setting the alarm to time my BBT taking.

Your new colleague really daring to say those things. Wanna make more enemies in her new company izzit? Some people really irritating. Always act smart and say stupid things.

okeanosmao, I think your gynae is testing how well you ovulate. Mostly you will have menses 14 days after you ovulate regardless of whether you have PCOS or not... Dream of getting pregnant and babies is good! Alot of women dream already then got preggie very soon. Good luck for you.

Just to share, have you ever thought of IVF or change dr? Your dr really charge expensive. Sometimes it's the fate with the dr. If got yuan fen, maybe will strike until other hands.

People with block tubes like us, very low chance of getting preggie even we undergo the op. I read the fertility book and realise I only have 5% chance of sucess with IUI after op (i have blocks end of tubes). Normal women is abt 30% chance. I still go ahead with the op and I decided to do one IUI and proceed to IVF. Cos I wanna try out the injection first and I wan to have a baby as natural as possible. My dr also tell me the op will help with IVF if I needed it. At the same time I don't wanna waste too much money on IUI. For IVF my dr tell me I have 50% chances of sucess. COs I only have tubes problem.

You already have a son... so good! 4+ very fun to play with cos they know how to express themselves in words already so they are very cute!

hi gals, do u know the box of Puregon which is labelled 300iu, usually contains an extra of about 100iu to 110iu, so total would have about 400iu.That is what the nurses at KKH told me. and really, when i did 75iu per day, each box can last me at least 5 days.

hehehe....WanBB, I think the Puregon is a drug that has to be prescribed, cannot be bought over the counter one... if can, think can do a good business liow!
regarding my colleague, i guess i may be sensitive also, cos i am trying so hard, so what she says seems like salt rubbing into my wounds lor.... very frustrating and tiring, and i still have to smile at her.

Justto share, at least u have got a son liow...
sure will be able to conceive again one. For me, I wonder if i will ever have my own children?

okeanosmao, btw, i suddenly thought of this, is your blood test for Progesterone or HCG? Usually DPO 7 is to do progesterone test, not HCG. so maybe that is not your pregnancy test yet leh?
yah always day dreaming of sayanging my own children every day. When i go to Mother Care shopping, all the things so cute there...cannot buy for myself, so buy for my best fren's son lor! haha....

I did HSG last year, all was ok, tubes not block and hubby's sperm analysis quite ok, sometimes on the low side when he is stressed. but after 2 years, gynae says it is unexplained fertility...*sigh* trying iui one more time, then will move to IVF oredi.
wondering if i should switch to do iui with a private gynae, cos in KK, iui is completely monitored and carried out by the nurses, sonographer and the doctor on duty, not your own gyane.

I got another 1 week plus to count down....days past so slowly.

Dawn, Mine also same with yours. Written 300iu on the box. Can ask your dr to give you more? Hee hee!

Me also very sensitive to those issue. I always avoid first month celebration or even meeting up with relative with newborns or baby in the family.

Private gynae follow up closely to you. So you can trust him on the timing of IUI. Moreover the waiting time is not so bad in private clinic. But the cost is higher.

Me got another 11 days which is close to 2 weeks to count down... Time seems to crawl by slowly for me also.

wanbb,
if let's say its testing for ovulation, so tat means i'm not ovulating well n thus unlikely to get pregnant?
aft iui tat nite, i oredi dreamt of getting pregnant but its not me! haha, instead dreamt of my fren getting preggie and she's not even married yet..following nites, dreamt of bb growing up..ha, so funny..

hi dawn,
yup, the bal for jab i will combine into 1 making it into 100ui so i can still jab...it will b a waste if to discard it..v expensive leh..
not sure if its progesterone, cos cant remember wat gynae say. can only heard gynae told me most unlikely not pregnant.so now, i dun bother so much 1st lor..
hmm, yr case same as my colleague too, both husband & wife oso okie, but tried for 8 years still dun hv.. another colleague recommend her to take some chinese herbs aft her AF for few months n now her bb gal 1 yrs old liao...
have u tried TCM before?

okeanosmao, even if nv ovulate well still have chance of conceiving. don't think too much.

Wow.. your dream got chapter one and two. Hee... I heard if dream of someone preggie then she will be preggie soon. But my sister also dream of me preggie.. til now still no news leh..

hi okeanosmao,
oh dear...i hope i dun have to wait for 8 years! had been taking TCM for 4 to 5 months this year till i started IUI. then the sinseh advised me not to stop awhile, so as not to mix chinese and western medicine.
Your AF has not arrived right? You always got a chance as long as it has not arrived.....

WanBB, i can ask...
the next time i go there. hee hee. if really can, i will start business liow! I don't feel much except an ocassional cramp on the right once or twice in a day. breast full but not pain leh. *sigh* at least tomolo start work liow, will have lots of distractions!

Dawn, I wonder if online order for puregon will be cheaper? Hee.. so desperate. this friday will be the big day for testing right? Any changes in BBT? Implantation dip or high temps?
Next cycle I'll be doing my IVF. Can't wait for menses to come faster and can start my IVF.

WanBB, dun dare to measure BBT leh... too stressful liow. By right should test next monday DPO17....but most prob i will test on saturday morning if AF still not here. keeping fingers crossed...

got puregon sold online one ah? where?
Maybe u strike, then no need to think about IVF.

Dawn, then i'm waiting for your good news on sat.

Clomid also can be bought online leh... So i think puregon also got sell. Haven't check it out. Maybe when I doing IVF then go online and see.

hmmmm....this morning i woke up, felt my typical menstra cramps leh.....*sigh* told my hubby....think gone case liow....oredi feeling the menses coming symptoms.

clomid easy to keep mah....puregon breaks down easily at high temperature, so the storage important, wun trust the source if it is not hospital or clinics....hahah....

hmm..dun dare to test leh, Af still not here yet..breast v pain yest, today not pain liao..but xperienced back pain since sun. duno isit my sleeping position not rite..
most prob test nxt week if AF still not here..cross my fingers too...

dawn, so we both stay positive okie?

xinyu, thanks for your encouragement....i really hope so...but dun dare to be too positive too...otherwise will be disappointed. Now oni DPO11, at least 4 more days before i test. How's your IVF going on?

okeanosmao, i think u oredi DPO 15 or 16 rite? If AF still no come, can test oredi, how's your temperature ? still high? breast pain is very very good...keep it up. hee hee...mine is oni abit pain....haha ok pray pray pray pray for BFP!!!

Sorry to interrupt here. This is the first time I'm visiting this thread because of my friend. She has been married for 3 years plus and has been trying for 1 year but still no results. She had just gone for her fertility tests and I'm really hoping that all's well for her. That is the first time I saw her anxiety and disappointment and got to better understand how couples without children feel. Hence, I really salute all you ladies for your determination and perserverance.
Just want to share 2 stories here with you ladies. I've got a friend's friend who also tried for a year plus, went to see chinese and western doc but all can't help. Almost wanted to do IVF but somebody introduced her to aromatherapy products and surprisingly, she got pregnant in 2 mths time. I've also got a boss who has tried IVF for years, and she finally gave birth to a healthy baby boy last year. So just want to say that no worries, think positive, your perserverance will all pay off, it's only a matter of time! Don't give up!!

Dawn, as long as menses not here yet still got very high chance.. Maybe implantation cramp leh.. Some women experience it.

Okeanosmao, You should test and arrange for scan asap. Cos week 6 have to scan and see scan already. Good luck.

Zin, thanks for your sharing.....it is always good to hear about pple succeeding after some years of TTC. what essence if your fren used? ;)

WanBB, okean, today i no cramps liow.....but feeling very warm all over. 2 more days to testing! WanBB you got one more week rite?

dawn, I think mine gone case already. my BBT is very normal. Nothing special abt this cycle. So fast you left 2 days to testing. Let us know the results.

hi dawn/wanbb,

2day's my DPO18.
these 2 days no back pain n breast pain liao..but at nite keep going to toilet..seems like within 2 hrs wake up n go 1 time jus to clear my bladder..
eh, but i still hope AF not coming dis wk then i'll shall test on mon..haha, paiseh but dun wan to keep high hopes on it...
i din test temp cos everyday slept in diff rm temperature so i guess wun b tat accurate..
my nxt appt with gynae will b 6/9, nxt week she will be on leave by then hv to wait till my appt liao..

hi zin, tks for sharing..nowadays alot of women having difficulty in getting preggie, wonder is it becos of our lifestyle?
tell ur fren not to be disappointed, keep happy always n dun tink so much abt infertility..
for me, i also tried 3+ yrs liao so i hope this time can succeed.

okeanosmao, why u don't test? DPO18 and AF not here that is a very good sign liow! Plus frequent visit to toilet also very good sign leh!
I don't think i can hold out as long as you do....If by this Saturday (DPO15), my AF not here, I will test.
Wish you a BFPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP!!!!!!

WanBB, oni 1 week has passed, you won't know how things will turn out rite?

I have been TTCing for 2+ years, already finding it depressing liow, wonder how pple peservere for 8 years to 10 years..... *sigh* Anyway, I am going to book a holiday to HK and Macau this sept, so if i dun strike, at least i can look forward to something.

Hi dawn, I'm asking my friend to check with her friend on what she did for her aromatherapy. You interested to know too? maybe you want to pm if you want to know so that I can let you know after my friend got back to me. But aromatherapy cannot anyhow use wan leh, better to use those certified safe.

Okeanosmao, I think you confirm strike already DPO18 menses still not here then you won't see it for another 9 month.. Congratuation!

Dawn, I no feeling at all. All the normal signs. Previous month so the same. So I bet no chance already. Next cycle IVF!! upgrade already

me trying for 2 and half years. Getting more and more stress... Me book a holiday to BKK 2 weeks from today. Shiok!!!

Hi WanBB, we sama sama, me also tried offically 2 and half years liow...haha. And tomorrow I going to book for Macau trip starting 9th Sept. *sigh*

Actually past few days, i have no cramps or sore boobs but BBT temperatures were very high, hovering around 37.15 and 37.25 degrees celcius. Thought it was quite good symptoms but now I realise that this may either be caused by the warm weather these few days or the progesterone inserts that i am having daily. today my morning temp still about 37.2 but after dinner, i saw abit of brown discharge, my heart sank lor.
praying against odds that it is not AF.....but........hai.....

zin, think i will take a break first......will rest a few cycles, maybe go and see another gynae then end of year try IVF.

okeanosmao, have you tested? now DPO 19 liow, can test. If preggie, at least can be more careful taking care of yourself.

Dawn, you sure is AF meh? Still got hope mah. don't give up. At least you got high temps. I got no clues at all. Mostly gone case. I nv have temps higher than 36.9 before. So must be very exciting to have 37+ every morning. Alot of preggie also have brown discharge. or you faster test then go see dr. Safer. Anyway 2 weeks already.

WanBB, tested just now...was a BFN....*sigh* waiting for the AF to come now.....very depressing. today temp dropped to 37.05.
Different pple different, your coverline might not be so high, so 36.9 is considered high for you?

Dawn, 36.9 is not for this cycle. last cycle when I did ovulate very well, temp is very high. You should test again if your menses is still not here. Still got chance. Some people DPO18 then got their BFP.

WanBb, me more brown discharges..... so no hope.
hope you do better! Jia you!!!! you still got another 5 or 6 days to testing rite?

hi WanBB, I going to take a break this cycle, then either do IVF next cycle or last around of IUI but with private gynae.
Still deciding..... now going to book my trip to macau and hk.
Hey, you still got 4 more days it will be end of 2 weeks! good luck.....will pray for you!

I not sure about okeanosmao....no news is good news?

Dawn, take a break lor. Me also going to go BKK then come back and start my IVF. Must go pray the four faced buddha. HK can buy alot of branded stuff, there alot of selection compare to singapore.

Me will test on thursday if menses still not here yet. I belong to high risk catergory so have to test and go for scan ASAP. or else the baby don't know implant on tubes or womb then very dangerous.

heard the 4faced buddha is quite "ling"....aiyah, last year forgot to pray there when i went there for shopping! haha....
urmmm....i m not into branded stuff leh...more into FOOD....always looking for nice food around.

yah, better test earlier.
I still having brown discharges....very frustrating...AF want to come...dun come full force. i wonder if it is due to the progesterone inserts. are u given the inserts too? I will give the nurses a call early morning tomolo and check with them if the brown discharges are normal.

Dawn,
I pray abt 4 times at the four faced buddha since I start TTC. Still no news leh. Think I nv give enough oil money so the buddha ignore my request. Hee hee..

My Dr nv give me progesterone insert. So don't know if it's normal. You should call the nurse and ask.

I'm on SO-IUI this cycle, and I have some queries for you guys...
I started the jabs on Friday, and they were not painful at all the past 3 days...until this morning, the jab hurt! I wonder if anyone's experienced this... i've got 3 more jabs before my next appt and i'm dreading it... any advise anyone?

Athlete, I think you jab wrongly izzit? Cos I have a bad HCG jab before and it turns out bruise. But the 2nd time I have it, it's painless. For my puregon jabs, my hubby very skillful so far nv hurt much. Don't think too much abt it. It will be over soon.

Hi Wan BB, thanks for your advise. I'm on Gonal-F jabs and my hubby's been doing them for me also.. so far no pain, until today, i also dunno why leh...maybe he hit a muscle..

Hi gals, I had tried for normal IUI for 4 times and was not successful.

My gynae suggested to me to go for the SO-IUI, but i wasn't sure whether i should go for it. I hope you can share your experience and advice me. Understand that SO-IUI will increase the no. of follicle growth, is it true?

WanBB, i called the nurse today and they wanted me to go down to do the HCG blood test just to be safe. Well, confirmed not pregnant, the progesterone will some time delay the AF, so have to stop all the inserts.

must pray to all 4 sides or not? is there a correct procedure to pray to that buddha? hee hee..

Enerus, SO-IUI will stimulate the ovary so there will be more follicles produced, so higher chances of pregnancy, but success rate is only slightly increased to 1 in every 5 women will concieve after SO-IUI, compared to IVF , will be 1 in 3 women will conceive.

athelete, i also sometimes jab pain, sometimes no feeling....also not sure why. where are u doing your iui?

Dawn, Me also waiting for menses to come. BBT is getting lower each day.

I pray the 4 sides for 4 times but still no luck. Wonder if next time need to hire girls to dance or not. Hee hee..

Hi dawn, thanks for the advice. i think i will rest for awhile, wait till after the 7th month then try for the SO-IUI.

Do you do anything to prepare for the SO-IUI?

I am on SO-IUI this month after 6 failed attempts on IUI. :-(

Anyway when I started, the jabs didn't hurt. Towards the later part, it started to hurt too. All together I had 9 jabs.

But the bad part was my ovary was not able to take the stimulation and it started to bleed. Then the gynae has to give me the progesterone jabs to stop the bleeding else the whole cycle has to be abandoned. It was very stressful because I already spent about 3K on the jabs alone and the last I want is all the money going to waste. :-( Very stressful time for me.

Anyhow, I am now on progesterone inserts. Going for blood test again this sat. This cycle is so stressful that I told myself if I still do not succeed, I am going to really take a break. Maybe see TCM to tiao the body first.

WanBB, hee hee...heard got one artiste dance personally rite? ;) may urself dance will be better! well, maybe no need to dance liow, u never know whether succeed or fail until ur AF come.

Enerus, din try anything leh...wanted to try organic food and take more vege...but no discipline leh. still taking alot of junk food!

athlete, let us know how the follicles doing when u go and scan...

Just to share, spend 3k on a SO-IUI. Why don't go for IVf? It's only abt 4k cash at private clinic and if gov hospital you don't even need to pay cash. So when you doing the IUI?

Dawn, my menses cramp already started although AF not here yet... I wish I can take a needle and poke then all the blood flow out fast so that I don't have those cramps.
I think need to dance naked then wish will come true. Hee hee!

Hi Just to share, i understand how you feel as i also thought of these issue when my gynae explained to me the procedure. He told me if produce too many follicles growth also need to abandoned the cycle..then the money you spend will be wasted..i calculate i need to spend min ard $2K for this procedure.

My gynae just suggested that I should do IVF as age is really catching up. Can someone be kind enough to tell me how much is IVF going to cost and the procedure. What is ICSI?

Many thanks!

Xueyan, IVF will cost abt 6K at gov hospital and abt 10k at private clinic. For first timer, we can use our medisave to pay for 6K. The rest need to pay cash. So if you going gov hospital you may not have to fork out any cash.

ICSI involves injection of single sperm in to single eggs in order to get fertilization. IVF without ICSI, they will place the sperms and the eggs freely and let them fertilise naturally.

Your gynae do IVF? Not all gynae will preform IVF. YOu must check it out first.

WanBB, haha..had wanted to suggest to u ...but u suggest yourself liow...hee hee naked sure will "gan dong" the god!
tomorrow is thursday liow, so u will test? good luck!

Justtoshare, i understand how u feel, i was told i have a choice to abandon the first cycle of IUI due to too many follicles stimulated by CD 10 but i didn't....insist in continuing the IUI, but din succeed lah. so understand your frustration. do take care of body more impt. why dun u switch to govn as it is much cheaper?

dawn, I heard one women dance naked before leh... They cover the whole place up but now cannot lah. so many people got camera phone. Later kanna snap like the HK Twins. my BBT is below the coverline so no point testing. should be here today. Confirm this cycle CD21 go to collect the jabs for IVF already.

Sigh...

My gynae's fees for IVF is SGD 25K - that is for the first cycle - hormone suppression, jabs and egg collection. I got this price from the nurses and it will include all jabs + consultation. But this figure is way beyond me.

I might consider IVF as the next option but I am scared of the daily jabs. :-(

But if I go for IVF, I might have to change gynae...I duno I am still confused.