IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

Xinyu,

Let me know how you are feeling now....

By the way, where did they inject you? Near the tighs or lower adomen......

Heard that stimulation of hormones will cause water retention and as such, can put on weight....but dun know if this applies to everyone.....since everyone responses differently to the medication.

Curious, pls also shower me and all the gals here plentiful of baby dust!!!

Good Luck Xinyu.......by the way, are you working?? Do you take leave to go for injections?

Anyone here knows, how to measure the uterine lining...? Thru vaginal scanning can measure or not?

MK, I am feeling ok and normal, no side-effect yet. Injection is at lower abdomen. Hope that I dun have any problem with puregon.
Yes, I am working. Only the first injection is by nurse, others I will do it at home. Very easy one. No problem to do it myself. I did not take leave to go KKH this morning and the coming ultrasound scans. I "eat snake" for one/two hours. Uterine lining(Endometrium thickness) ables to measure thru vaginal scan. The ideal thickness is 8mm-10mm. Mine is 7mm, consider borderline.

Hi Xinyu,
Saw that u have started your SO-IUI. Good luck to u and hope this round will be a successful one

Hi Xinyu, MK,
Sorry I wasn't working yesterday, went for medical checkup....today give u bb dust ok?

428187.gif
428188.gif
428189.gif
428190.gif
428191.gif

Xinyu,
U jab 50iu? Good luck & all the best to u!!!

curious, thanks for the baby dusts. Yes, jab 50IU daily. I would like to express my happiness for you too, yr bb's test is PASSED...

Curious,

Thanks for the loads of babydust on all of us in this forum.......how do you get all these icons?

I am seeing Prof Chen tonight.....he told me that he is going to monitor my egg follicles after taking clomid......the last time he say was 4 fairly good follicles ranging from 16mm to 23mm....then he will let me know if we should proceed with any IUI process or injections.

Curious, how many follicles do you have when you conceived through IUI-SO?

Friends around me says that I am stressed out over the baby project thing......

How to reduce or even forget abt this matter......sometimes, I wonder whether this is all worth it.

Xinyu,

Good luck to your SO-IUI and hope things will turn out as what u wished.

Are the injections painful? Is your 'enduring pain threshold' high? Coz I'm a person who scare of injection. he he

I'm sian today coz hubby needs to fly off again and next week should be my fertility period. Waste my clomids for this cycle.

hi cherish, thanks. The injection is painless. I also very scare of pain one. I not dare to see the needle go in. But really, it is less pain than an ant bite.
You can BD before yr hubby fly off. Sperms able to survive for few days.

Xinyu,
Thanks! Ya, I'm very happy & relief.

MK,
Dun mention.
I 'collected' those cute icons last time when I surfed the forum.
If I remember correctly, I think I've 5 rather big follicles & some average & small sized ones. My doc didn't wait till follicles reach > 20mm. Abt 17-18mm big, I did IUI already.

Easier said than done, I still believe in a positive mindset & stressless period during your programme. I've my older child to 'play with' during my 2WW, so time flies very fast. However towards the end of 2WW, I started to feel very anxious & I read some religious books. I didn't try to countdown & remember my test date etc. I juz stored those dates in my hp to remind me & I kept my mind off those dates.

curious, i dun know how am i going to passby my time. My job is very relax and got a lot of free time. At home also nothing to do. My mind will automatically do the countdown. The image of the whole calendar is inside my brain, those dates are burned inside liao. How? How about u borrow me yr older child for 2 weeks during 2WW?

xinyu,
hee hee...so funny :p

u can borrow/rent an interesting story book to read. or rent DVDs etc to watch at home. must find something to do to keep your mind off.

Hello Xinyu,
you have started your SO-IUI.
Good luck to u and hope this will be a successful one, look forward to hear GOOD News.

Question: doctor give MC after SO-IUI/IUI?

Xinyu, recently have been bz over work. very stress and tiring. hope i can proceed with my SO-IUI in Jul and wont be deterred by work and my hb wont be on overseas biz trip. out of curiousity, which line r u in? how come u r saying your job is very relaxing n got a lot of free time? me feel like quitting job but got to think for back-up plans as got to support myself and fund all these treatments. so sian...

Hi Curious,
How's your pregnancy? Everything smooth so far? Take care

hi babaleo,
thanks for your concern, i'm very fine. take good care too & all the best to u.

cheval,
kk's practice - 1 day MC after SO-IUI.

Cheval, thanks. Just completed my 5 jabs this morning. Going for a scan tomorrow. Can't wait to see how the outcome. But can feel that my ovaries are working, some pain & bloated.

Babaleo, I am a programmer. Being in this line for almost 7 years. So no more stress. Already know how to handle if got problem. Solve it one by one. Now all my stress is coming from TTC. Job too relax also no good. Time pass by very very slow.

xinyu,
wah...good luck to u & bb dust for u & the rests.
429877.gif

btw, juz side track a bit...do u know where can I get cheap thumbdrive? funan? carrefour? thanks

Hello Xinyu,

Hooray!! You have completed your course....

Can I ask if the bloatedness was at a manageable level? Any sickness???

Cheers! I wonder why only some centres recommend SO-IUI?

curious, do u have friends going to China? Thumbdrive there super cheap. My colleage went there and bought the whole department(~20 persons) a thumbdrive as gift. Can see how cheap the thumbdrive is. As in Singapore, there is a shop at Ang Mo Kio. Can't remember the name. Let me check and get back to you.

MK, just minor bloatedness. No sickness, still can play around.
Dr Loh said he didn't believe in the normal IUI, I think the pregnancy rate is very low.

Hi ladies, just back from KKH. Ai...Only have one 14.5mm follicle at right ovary, others still very small ~7mm only. Did the OPK test there but not yet ovulate. So doc suggested to increase the dose to 100iu for today and tomorrow. Also need to do OPK at home. If OPK positive, need to go there immediately. I thought at least two good size follicles will stand a good chance, but now... a bit of disappointed
I think they are quite surprise that I have a 14.5mm follicle at CD7. The doc in-duty there need to look for Dr Loh and consult him first before give me the instruction what to do next.

Curious, the shop is M S Color Service. I made a mistake. I bought flash memory card from them not thumbdrive. But you can call them and check with them at 6457 6380. If they have, try to get a good price through phone.

xinyu,
thanks....

btw, dun feel disappointed yet. who knows after these 2 days' jabs, the small ones will grow much bigger? u only need 1 good follicle & good sperm to fertilise. stay positive

curious, feel a bit down now. If only one follicle (which i could done on my own), my chance is so slim. The puregon is not working well on me. Is it worth to go for IUI with ONLY one follicle?
Yup, I need to stay positive. Hope these 2 days's jabs will help. Hope my 14.5mm's follicle not come out tomorrow. I am SO WORRY.....

Xinyu,
dun be so disappted. Like what curious mention, u only need 1 good follicle and good sperm to succeed. And now what u need is all luck. Sometimes, we can have many follicles but still dun strike. So dun worry, wish u have the best of all lucks.

In the thread of "Any comments on Dr LC Foong" which I had joined, lately there are quite a lot of good news. So hope the luck will spread to here

Babaleo, I am OK now. Thanks. Tested with OPK this morning. It's negative, not yet ovulate. So, continue another 100iu jab and have a scan tomorrow. Just wonder, how reliable the OPK is? Went restroom just now, got a lot of creamy mucus. I guess i will be ovulate soon....

Curious, did you take temperature during SOIUI cycle?

xinyu,
i didn't monitor BBT during SO-IUI cycle. i juz let it be normal...cos taking BBT will stress yourself more.

Hi ladies, I "eat snake" back already. Scheduled IUI tomorrow. Today's u/s scan showed follicle size 18mm and endometrium(uterine lining) thickness 9mm, OPK positive. Have my HCG jab just now. I thought it will be very painful. But It is NOT, it is painless. Purchased the progestrone vagina tablets also. Very expensive hor, ~S$140 for 17days. Dun know why have to insert for 17days. Forgot to ask the doctor. I also dun know how to insert this tablet.

Curious, how you insert the progestrone tablet? hubby help you? I also din take BBT. But last night hubby felt that I warm warm. I was so scare, scare the follicle come out already.
So happy when the u/s showed egg still inside. Also happy that my lining is good. Keep worry about my lining because my lining always at the borderline.

xinyu,
all the best to u tmrw!!!! still relax, positive & happy all the way ok.

fyi, i didn't use pregestrone insert at all cos mine was 1st protocol. was told by the nurse that if 2nd protocol, then gotta use the inserts.

i can't handle the insert!! last time kana infection once, insert the medicine, it kept sliding out!! i think best is to lie down & get your hubby to insert for you. heard after insert, dun get up at once. so that the medicine can 'stay there'. maybe u can ask the nurse if they've any tips on how to insert.

bb dust!!
431748.gif

curious, thanks for yr bb dust. I will stay positive and RELAX!!
The progestrone insert sounds so scarely. I will make sure I/hubby wash our hand properly befor insert. Can not get up immediately after insert? Then I have to wake up earlier.. aiyah.
Ask another question, yr hubby produced his army at KK or at home?

xinyu,
sorry i was busy with work yesterday & no time to log in. to answer your question, my hubby produced his at KK.

hello, I am back. MC on Friday. Curious, my hubby decided to produce at home, more comfortable.

2/6/2006, Friday
Reached KK ard 8am to handover the sperm, then went Bugis for breakfast and walk walk... too early, not much things to see. So went back to KK ard 9.45am and waited there till 10.30am. First, Nurse brief me the whole process, showed me my hubby's semen analysis before and after washed, then brought me to the IUI room and waited for the doctor to come. I am the only gal doing IUI tat day, so the nurse said I can rest as long as I like. The whole process very fast, ~5mins. And I rest for 20mins. Then went back home...REST REST REST. Started progestrone insert...
3/6/2006, Saturday
Got some spotting. Called KK, they said it was normal. Breast so painful. I believe it is caused by the progestrone.
4/6/2006, Sunday
Breast still super painful..

Xinyu,

Wow! You have completed your IUI...Really hope you will share good news with us soon.

You're a programmer? I thot programmer's job is super stressful one. Do your job require u to know those C programming languages? hehe Actually though we get stress from jobs, I think I get more stressful on TTC.

cherish,
Yes, I need to know a lot of programming languages. C is the basic one. I already in this line for 7years liao. When you have more experiences, you will be more relax because you know where to get information, better time management, how to solve the problem,... My boss is a very good guy, no pressure from him at all, very polite one.

Hi Ladies, How are you all doing?
Today day 7 after IUI. Half way through 2ww, another 7 days to go. i did my P4(progesterone) blood test this morning. Will call later to check the result. But as i know, progesterone level can't tell anything, whether pregnant or not. I will be going off for holiday next whole week. Hope can have a good news after coming back from holiday. If not, have to decide what to do next. Should I try another IUI or proceed to IVF? IVF is so costly, but chances higher. Very very "fan" "fan" "fan"....

Hi Xinyu,

Enjoy yourself for the holiday. Don't think too much about it and who knows, you will receive good news soon. I really hope things will turn out what you wish...All the Best!!!

Hubby and I have decided to go for SO-IUI next cycle. Since last year, I've already done 6 rounds of clomid, was successful once, but m/c at 8 weeks. So now moving on to the next step. Am a bit concerned about having daily injections. I'm not so worried about the pain and I'm fine with needles, just that I dunno if I can inject myself cos my hubby works v long and irregular hours...any advise will be much appreciated. Thanks.

Hi Athlete,

I'm also planning to go for SO-IUI the next cycle if the last round of clomid still doesn't worked on me. I have tried 6 rounds but the previous ones were unsuccessful. Where are you planning to do ur SO-IUI? May I ask how long have u been ttc?

hi cherish
i've been ttc-ing for the past 2 years...i'll do my SO-IUI at Thomson Fertility Centre... what about yourself?

Hi All, I am back.... Today 18days after IUI. Tested last Saturday but negative
. Got brownish discharge(a few drop) since last friday. Have stop taking progesterone insert two days ago because I dun want to delay my menses if I am not pregnant. Also I have no symptoms at all, breast no more pain, abdomen no more bloated,...nothing. Anyway, I am ready for my NEXT CYCLE.

Welcome Athlete!! Dun worry about the injections. It is very easy and painless.

cherish, athlete, xinyu,
444269.gif
baby dust to u!!!
444270.gif

xinyu,
dun give up hope yet. wait till u do your bHCG blood test at KKH then decide what's next.

Xinyu, Athlete, Cherish,

I too had been through clomid cycles.....it seem very little chance of success....seems that clomid does increase our egg follicles but does not seem to attract any sperm....thats why no fertilization and no pregnancy!!

I thought initially I was the only person on earth that cannot conceive through clomid....I think one will be very lucky if one takes clomid!!

Can anyone educate me why some people go thru normal IUI or SO-IUI? I know normal IUI - clomid, one injection and IUI but SO-IUI - injections and IUI.....normal IUI success lower than SO-IUI.....but isn't the injections effect same as clomid.....does these not all increase and stimulate the egg follicles? If one response to clomid, is there a need to go through injections??

Xinyu, dun worry too much and think of the worst when it is yet to happen.......do you ask why there are brownish discharge? Do you have such symptoms before going thru SO-IUI? Sometimes, they say that brownish discharge are symtoms of implantation? So, there is still hope!!

Curious, how abt me? Pls wish me babydust too...

Prof Chris Chen advised IVF as another option for me.......Anyone can ask if he is fond of recommending IVF to his patients, be it what condition of the patients.......I am worried of the potential side effects and so told him that I am not ready for the big procedure yet.......

Athlete,

My gynae said he can do the SO-IUI at his clinic but i remembered xinyu mentioned that this process needs lab so I will confirm with him again when I visit him.

Curious, thank you so much for ur baby dust. I really appreciated that. I was feeling down the past few days coz another friend of mine just got pregnant. I was very happy for her but in the same time, I felt sad coz it seems like ppl around me are having good news where i'm... don't know how to explain that feeling.

Xinyu, all the best. I think I ought to learn from you..positive thinking.

MK, how many clomid cycles have u went thru? My gynae mentioned that SO-IUI has a higher chances than IUI.

Hi, it was nice reading all the information shared. Similarly with some of you, I have gone through 3 rounds of unsuccessful IUI.: ( My problem is vaginismus which i have yet to overcome. Am also quite lost as to what to do next. I told myself that i would stop after last mth's failed attempt of IUI. Contemplating if i should consider SO-IUI or IVF or change gynae...Sigh..

Morning Ladies!!!

MK, me no hope for this cycle liao. IUI failed, AF came this morning. Will call KK later for my second SOIUI...

Curious, thanks for the bb dusts...
Cherish, thanks. But I disappointed you. When are you going to start yr IUI/SOIUI?

ttakuwan, where you did yr IUI? You may want to try the SOIUI with injections if clomid is not working well with you...

Cherish, I can't join u next cycle. I have to see my gynae first. So this cycle I will try by my own. Wish you a lot of Luck!!!

Xinyu,

I am also advised to try on my own this cycle.....Wish all of us got more baby luck this time round......it is definitely not an easy journey, well, let us embrace this positively and view as no baby yet, but never mind, more time to enjoy both us and our hubbies.....perhaps, not the right timing....we will be given our dreams when the timing is right!!

Can I ask if your gynae tell you to rest for one mth first and whether you have to go back to see your gynae for this coming cycle?

Good luck everyone!!

Cherished, I did 2 rounds of clomid and because I suffered some side effects, I was told to rest for the time being.....it feels so good without clomid....

morning MK,
My gynae din ask me to rest. He jus want to see me after the IUI to discuss what is our next step. Due to hubby got poor sperm count & morphology, we dun have high hope in this IUI. May have to discuss whether to try one more cycle IUI or straight away proceed to IVF...
Ya lor.. must be positive and try our best to do whatever we can to conceive. If God really dun want to give us also can't do anything because we already try our best. Life is short, enjoy it! Dun let those negative things influence yr life. Keep it on!!!