bubblesangel,
your dd now 17mths right? at this age that behavious is very very normal. my dd also refused to eat her regular porridge at ard 14-15mths, so i had to start experimenting with other foods lor.
i know as parents we wnt to give them the best and so we feed them home-cooked porridge EVERYDAY for lunch AND dinner, but they are humans after all, and you are right, they have been seduced by adult food so obviously their porridge doesn't taste so appetising anymore.
you need to give and take lor. for me i try not to be too fussy and anal when i feed my dd, esp after she turned 18mths liao, cause i can see that she actually really enjoys food, so i won't deprive her of nice food.
i feel it's quite poor thing for her lor, if she eats porridge everyday for lunch and dinner. after all, we all will also feel sian if we eat the same thing twice a day everyday right?
there's actually so much other foods you can feed her besides porridge that is nutritious, but then i guess they are not as convenient as porridge lor.
why don't you try feeding your dd soft rice with soup, veges and fish? can also feed her noodles (eg mee sua, yellow noodles, bee hoon, kway teow) with soup also.
i know this is hard, but try to feed her different things at lunch and breakfast. my dd is fussy too, ie. she won't want to eat the same things for lunch and dinner, so both meals she will eat different things. but i guess me being a SAHM i have the luxury of time to prepare different things for her everyday lor.
don't worry, every tod goes thru this phase. you should have seem me leh, my dd went on "hunger strike" from ard 12mths till 14mths liao, everyday don't wanna eat her meals, so everyday i gotta consult all my tod recipe bks and cook different things for her for b'fast, lunch and dinner!
then i realise that her tastebuds has changed liao, she wants more taste in her food, so i gotta give in abit lor, let her have more "adult-style" food, and she was so much happier and ate much better!
if you see what my dd eats now you will be shocked leh! she can wallop one whole curry puff (those spicy ones) all by herself, and she doesn't find it spicy at all! she can even eat sambal mee goreng leh...
and weekends breakfast she really enjoys herself leh, cause i buy you char kway or prata for breakfast for everyone, and she will eat these for b'fast too, and she LOVES them!