Harmony Blood Test

Hihi thanks for the prayers. All is well. No abnormality in the major organs and facial features measurement are all normal. Thank god. Got a cd odd u/s images and had a good time during the scan with prof ananda even my hubby not around. He is a funny man and session with him is not boring.

Although not entirely clear of risk as tri21 is not easily detectable through scan. I had decided to hv faith and not do the harmony test.

Added bonus I know bb gender at 14 weeks.

Hi dreamyjo,

Congrats to u. We r the same. Believe to have faith in our bb are healthy after all scans show ok. Thats why I also skip harmony test.

Hihi thanks for the prayers. All is well. No abnormality in the major organs and facial features measurement are all normal. Thank god. Got a cd odd u/s images and had a good time during the scan with prof ananda even my hubby not around. He is a funny man and session with him is not boring.

Although not entirely clear of risk as tri21 is not easily detectable through scan. I had decided to hv faith and not do the harmony test.

Added bonus I know bb gender at 14 weeks.

Oh t21 can't be detected well thru u/s only?mind sharing yr age?

hi may I know whats the difference between dr ananda scan and typical oscar scan?

Divine paradise prof scan is more or less the same as oscar just that the scan is later in 14 weeks where the organs are more developed . He focus alot on detecting anomalies in the organs(heart, lung,kidney, fingers,toes), facial features(nasal bone, ears, chin and tongue) and doing measurement. Is scan is normal, unlikely a case of tri 13 or 18.

However tri21 is not easily detectable as not visible via scan. So harmony test is the next best option. It depends on the comfort level. Haha I might go for harmony after all cos different from mumtobe I think I belong to the high risk group due to age. Still thinking lah.

Divine paradise prof scan is more or less the same as oscar just that the scan is later in 14 weeks where the organs are more developed . He focus alot on detecting anomalies in the organs(heart, lung,kidney, fingers,toes), facial features(nasal bone, ears, chin and tongue) and doing measurement. Is scan is normal, unlikely a case of tri 13 or 18.

However tri21 is not easily detectable as not visible via scan. So harmony test is the next best option. It depends on the comfort level. Haha I might go for harmony after all cos different from mumtobe I think I belong to the high risk group due to age. Still thinking lah.

Thks! So he didn't give u yr risk profile for T21? Cos it's e most common defect and I'm worried too though I'm 29 this year :(

Hmmm nope, just check, for t21, harmony test is recomended. Prof ananda test is genetic scan without bloodtest so no profile for t21 according to my report.

Btw, is t21 a common defect? According to my Oscar, my risk profile is 1:1366 as compared to some younger moms who is 1:6k plus. Should I be worried. I'm in my late 30s.

Hmmm nope, just check, for t21, harmony test is recomended. Prof ananda test is genetic scan without bloodtest so no profile for t21 according to my report.

Btw, is t21 a common defect? According to my Oscar, my risk profile is 1:1366 as compared to some younger moms who is 1:6k plus. Should I be worried. I'm in my late 30s.

Yes fr what I googled its e most common mental retardation cause. Odds are like one is less than 1000.

Happy , sorry I may have misunderstood. I did not read up too much on the different chromosome anomaly. I just googled and found that tri21 may hv characteristic facial features. What I understand for me I'm clear of facial characteristics defects But there could be mild defects that could not be detected by u/s.

Now I'm getting a little concerned about it since you mention it common. I guess I would go for harmony test to clear of tri 21 as I belong to high risk age group to get a peace of mind.

So Harmony test have to wait for 10 days. How long to wait for Oscar results? How about MT21?

By the way, can someone enlighten me the difference between Harmony and MT21 tests? Which week can we take these 2 tests?

Anyone with unfavourable harmony test results? What's next? Is amniocentesis the most accurate? Must I go ahead with it if my harmony test comes back negative?

Amniocentesis is 99% accurate. R u waiting for harmony test result? Maybe it will be a good one so dun worry too
Much for now. Ultimately is still yr choice to go ahead or not.

No, I'm going to gynae on Wed and deciding whether to go for Oscar or Harmony. Harmony reaults take 3 to 4 weeks be out and clinic said will still need amniocentesis if want further testing if results are unfavourable. :(

I went to dr ananda today for his detailed 15th week scan. Really very detailed as he measures all major organs and even the length of the fingers. Previously one of my twins under high risk from Oscar but after today's scan, the risk has been adjusted to low. Dr ananda said better to do scan before deciding harmony. He said if scan can show anything then harmony is a good match, if scan is normal then not necessary to spend money on harmony.

hello mummies

read through all the posts and got confused.. and need some advice :)

i am now in 14 weeks, went for first trimester screen (is this called as oscar test?) during 12 wk, and :( result not good. my combined trisomy 21 risk is > 1:50.

my gynae recommended two choices -
1. to do the Amniocentesis or
2. DNA test ( i think something like this, just draw blood to test, is this what we called as harmony test?).

but the cost of choice 2 is very high.. my gynae told me it will cost me about $2400 to $2500, because it needs to send the blood test to USA. Amniocentesis also not cheap, cost about $1500.

is this the normal price?

read through the post and seems like dr ananda is a hot favorite! :) but who is this dr ananda? where is his clinic? how much does it cost to do the harmony test?

i'm not in favor to do amino test because i got zero threashold for pain!! but as what gynae has mentioned, if the blood test is not favourable, then i will still need to do amnico test :(

now, totally confused of what i should do now.. any advice from the mummies?

btw, my family and in-laws do not have any cases of down syndrome, but my high risk is mainly due to the age .. haha..

good night!

Hi divineparadise, no this won't replace week 20 scan. I went to dr ananda cos my oscar result wasn't good so this detailed scan is to assist in my decision whether to do amnio. After scan, the risk for Down syndrome has been brought down to low, doc ask us don't worry. He said to come back for week 21 scan and if all normal again, the risk will be further lowered.

I did DNA blood test as well (similar to harmony) but different lab. I paid 2k.

I just did a Panorama Test and was told it's similar to M21 and Harmony and it cost $1500. Will take a week for results to be out.

First time I heard of it and when I googled it, it looks accurate.

My gynae also recommended Panorama over Harmony test today during my visit. but my Oscar Test is low risk leh. I think I should have skipped Oscar and do panorama straight away. Now end up in dilemma don't know which scan or blood test to do next.

Good question babypom it's because although my Oscar results is low risk I didn't expect to get pregnant at all and had very little prenatal care. I was also consuming alcohol quite often. Also my husband had issues with sperm quality so I had the constant fear that our baby could have defects due to my negligence and my hubby's issue. One friend of mine her baby head did not develop properly and got a hole causing brain matter to leak out... worsen my fears

Hi for ur friend's case when was it detected that the head wasn't properly formed? Thks

How long wait for the Harmony Test (including weekends)? My Panorama blood test was taken on 4 June and they said results will only be out on 19th or 20th June. That, to me is freaking long!! I should have taken the Harmony one coz seems like ppl are having their results out earlier than me.

Eh r u sure? My gynae said it will only need one week! Unless you ordered more analysis?

No, mine was the basic. I wanted Harmony test also but doc recommended this new Panorama test and didn't know it'll really take so long. Sheesh, should have just gone for Harmony. Won't recommend Panorama to anyone now already.

was told by Gynae ... harmony test is on top of oscar... oscar seem to be used for normal defect screening now and Down sydrome is more on harmony.

am going to do both at end of month due to my age ...... and my gynae clinic is charging me $1.3K before GST for the harmony test and it take 2 wks for the results

only when all failed then amnio

went to see Dr Ananda last week and happy that he bought down my risk for trisomy 21 risk. he suggested harmony test, but discouraged amnio since there is nothing wrong with the growth of the baby.

so i decided not to go ahead with any test anymore.. makes me so confused. will go back to him for a detailed scan on 21 wk. whatever it will be will be, let faith decide..

i also talked to my gynae and he said this is a good detailed scan and it should be good enough, but of course there is still a risk. he mentioned if baby is T13 or T18, usually cannot survive.

talked to a friend and he mentioned that his sister got miscarriage due to amnio, and when she got preggy again, she decided not to do any test and everything turns out good..

Hi Misty Cloud,

I waited 17 days in total for my Paranoma test results. I worried alot but was told its the shipping that caused the delay. I opted for the upgraded tests including microdeletions. all in all risks for 9 chromosomal conditions were screened. I paid 1.7k

So Harmony test have to wait for 10 days. How long to wait for Oscar results? How about MT21?

By the way, can someone enlighten me the difference between Harmony and MT21 tests? Which week can we take these 2 tests?

Hi! I took MT21 through my gynae and he told me harmony is the copy cat of MT21 hence the price is cheaper. Not sure if thats true. Since my gynae didn't offer harmony, I did MT21 with him at week 10. Its a very simple procedure of drawing blood from me as baby's dna is also flowing in my blood stream. The blood was drawn at week 10 so we can make any difficult decision earlier. MT21 checks for tri13, 18 and 21. Major plus, I know the gender of my baby very early, even before it wad fully formed because the lab detects gender through the presence of y chromsomes. No y chromosome means you are having a princess!

Oh yah, I got my Panorama results in a total of 15 days, inclusive of weekends. And I got a little girl on the way.

I just did a Panorama Test and was told it's similar to M21 and Harmony and it cost $1500. Will take a week for results to be out.

First time I heard of it and when I googled it, it looks accurate.

May i know which clinic or hospital u went for the panorama?

was told by Gynae ... harmony test is on top of oscar... oscar seem to be used for normal defect screening now and Down sydrome is more on harmony.

am going to do both at end of month due to my age ...... and my gynae clinic is charging me $1.3K before GST for the harmony test and it take 2 wks for the results

only when all failed then amnio

$1.3k? May i know which gynae clinic you went ?

Hi Misty Cloud,

I waited 17 days in total for my Paranoma test results. I worried alot but was told its the shipping that caused the delay. I opted for the upgraded tests including microdeletions. all in all risks for 9 chromosomal conditions were screened. I paid 1.7k
May i know which clinic you went for the Paranoma test ?

@SUEZY: I was offered the Paranoma test by my gynae. However, the test was conducted by an independent lab: Innovative Diagnostics at Novena Medical Specialist Centre, lvl 7.

@SUEZY: sorry just to add on... the basic paranoma test costs $1.5k but I topped up another $200 for the enhanced test which looks at microdeletion due to past history and maternal age :p Hope it helps.

Also, you can consider going for genetic scans (from week 14) by Prof Ananda at SSR, Camden Medical Centre should you decide to skip the Harmony/Paranoma tests...

Hi,all mummy,
I had a trisomy-21 baby at 18 weeks lost during my previous pregnancy due to amniocentesiss . And now, the very first dating scan, my gynae already advised me to take Harmony test which caused a serious argument with my HB as my decision from the previous torturing experience is that I will not undergone any abortion unless t is a serious birth defect( which endangered baby life). Now, the NT scan is 2.4 mm for new baby and ratio is 1:259 if compared to last time which was badly 1:4. I will decide to go for genetic scan on coming 15th weeks. but, the explanation of doc make my HB worried a lot.

as the doc said that the risk still higher if compared to normal preggy ,which is 1: 300; and he thk that the most accurate test only can give him a relief only.

Ic... there is really no point in worrying so much now. The current risk provided by the Oscar test takes maternal age into account so the older the mummy is the ratio is higher.... Wait for the genetic scan and the risk will be adjusted based on the scan.

Anyway, majority of the T21 cases are sporadic, meaning they are a one-off event and is unlikely to happen again. Indeed you will be considered as high risk (I too did a at loss at 16 weeks in previous pregnancy due to T21). Most importantly is to go for the screening (I skipped Oscar totally due to the higher false positives) and went straight to do the Paranoma test. At least through earlier detection, you will be better prepared should anything happens.....

You can PM me if you would like to know more info....

donchelsabb,really like ur statement that the T21 cases is sporadic:rolleyes::rolleyes: as my gynae told the different thing.