Gestational Diabetes

Hi mummies, hope everyone is coping well.
How do you curb your cravings? Recently, I have craving for unhealty food like laksa, potato chips and fast food but I know I can't take them. It's really depressing. Sometimes I just want to go ahead and gobble them down. Wonder how long can my determination last.

Worst still cny coming and we can't eat all the goodies. I came across this shop that sells diabetic friendly pineapple tarts. Told my hubby u must bring me down to try if it's nice.
http://www.delciesdesserts.com/cny2013/

xuan,
i believe they use sugar like equal as replacement. best not to take too much.
if i have craving for laksa, i will go & eat old chang kee shop laksa (cos they did not put coconut milk) but try to avoid slurping too much gravy.

that day i had macdonald sausage muffin w cheese for breakfast.. i have stopped taking reading, so dun ask me if they were ok. also had mr bean cheese pancake. really going from bad to worse
but i try to choose as healthier as possible

Hi Xuan,

I tried their pineapple tarts and diabetic cakes: black forest and blueberry cakes. All nice and didn't really cause the sugar to climb.
For cake, i take 1 slice at a time. 2 hours later reading is around 6. For pineapple tart, i also take one at a time either morning or as snack. Eg. morning, 2 slice bread + milk + 1 tart. Reading ok.

No, they don't use artificial sugar. They use this natural syrup called Agave. I'm using it occasionally too on pancakes and beverages. It's sweet so no need to use a lot.

Hi all mummies..

This is very interesting thread and i would like to ask if it is okay to take fishball mee pok?

Btw i used to hv gd for both pregnancies and after each birth, i thought i wil be safer. Unfortunately, this case already developed into type 2 diabetes 3-4 years later after the last birth.

Cos of this, i decided to close factory for my health sake.

Hi anewbeginning,

Welcome

Well, if urs is a Type 2, then it's fine to take mee pok but gotta maybe take only 1/2 - 3/4 of the portion.

GD is abit different. If have GD, I would not suggest taking mee pok or anything of that sort. The body just works differently.

Ocean_blue

what i wanted to say is that my GD had developed into type 2 3-4 years later.

When i first knew it was already developed into type 2, i sank into depression for a period of time till i accepted it. When i had GD during my both pregnancies, i was also on strict diet plus injection daily for every meal. But thank god for that my son was born by VBAC n he weighed only 2400grams.

anewbeginning,

r u on insulin everyday? did u try to control diet after ur last birth? i guess this kind of thing is not within our control..

the diet plan given by my gynae said no mee pok or mee kia..

Topsy

now on medication to control the bld sugar daily.

at first very difficult to control diet after my last birth till last year, finally i brought down to pre-diabetic level.. now my last result was 6.7 compared to the first discovered result at 8.7.

wonder if u still have the die plan as mine was threw away many years ago.

so wonder if any mummies are like me.

Actually, i no need to monitor my blood sugar anymore but since my friend went to tmc, i get her to help me buy some test strip to satisfy my own curosity while i still have the rented glucometer. Just to share (sorry if my post makes you hungry),

Been having only multigrain bread since I found out I'm positive. So I decided to test for bun with sausage n pork floss. I also drank one cup of Milo kosong. Reading was 7.5 so I believe wo the Milo should be ok. Now I can have more variety of bread.

Went to eat mos burger, opt for the nutsumi teriyaki chicken burger (wrapped in lettuce), had some fries, two apple pie (their apple pie comes in small bite size pieces) and few sips of their milk tea. Reading was good, 6.6

Celebrated my mum's bday in a restaurant. Had prawns, Peking duck, tofu, broccoli, scallop in xo sauce and I had minimum rice. Ate more of the dishes to make myself full. Finally, one slice of bengawan solo choco cake. Surprisingly, reading was within range too.

Not sure if coconut water will be too sweet for me so I tested too. Drank half of the water tog with some flesh during dinner and reading was ok. Maybe can drink more next time. Hehe.,.

Well, like some mummies have said, everyone's degree of GD is different. Food that works for me might not work for you. So must trial and error.

Anewbeginning,
I understand that if one is tested positive for GD. She might have diabetes 5-10 yrs down the road. I'm also afraid that I will be like you coz I have family history. Therefore, after giving birth I still have to control my diet and exercise if I have the time.

Xuan

Very surprising that u still have the rented glucometer.. I thought it was supposed to be returned back to the hospital after the birth.

Just back from my 32 week scan. Estimated baby weight is 1597g. On 20 percentile. Last scan on 27 week is 25th percentile. Honestly i am worry. Doctor ordered another 2 scan on next 2 and 3 week to check the growth. I would like to ask other mummies here. What is your baby weight generally?
Anyone tried avocado? Heard that will help to gain weight. Not sure if can eat without impact on sugar.

Hi Bibi

I heard usually babies gain weight in the last few weeks. U may wanna eat GOOD durian to increase baby weight? Maybe eat 2 seeds? There are mommies I know who have GD and took durians with no impace on their sugar level but, of course, I know of others who took and their sugar level rocket. Avocado may help as it's creamy and fattening with a lot of vitamins. Did u ask your doc what u must do?

Yes, i asked if i should eat more. Doctor replied keep as it is and want me to keep the sugar level under well control.
Will monitor the growth week by week and consider deliver earlier. One reading is not sufficiant to judge. They need to see the weekly progress on all dimension : weight, AFI(blood flow) and doppler level.

bibi,
avocado is zero GI index. u can have it with ease. Never take durians. it is top in the forbidden fruit list.

I dl an app called glycemic index & use that to track what i can or cannot eat.. macadamia nuts also zero GI index.. woohoo. i kw it is hard to control diet over CNY period where everybody just munch munch non stop. myself can put on 1-2kg normally over CNY festive season on usual year.

just beef baby up after born bah.
keeping sugar level in good level is far more important than beefing baby up.. small & healthy

Bibi,

My baby is abt the same wt as yours at wk32. My gynae always give me a range of the wt coz he says machine not accurate so must give allowance. At wk32 my bb weigh 1.6-1.8kg. He just said is aver size bb and he estimated my bb to be 2.8-3kg if I deliver at wk38. Definitely bigger than my #1 whose birth wt is 2.45kg nia at wk 38. I did not have GD at that time. My girl though small bb but is a healthy toddler now. So dun worry too much ya. Take more protein food, like egg, cheese, tofu etc. I heard beef also can help to booast bb's wt.

tested with GD when i am 2 month pregnant.
been on insulin jab till now at week 27.

my first reading at GTT is 9.1. 6 weeks later drop to 6.5 than the last testing was 5.5. the specialist tell me too low also not good.

my last visit to the gynae, she tell me my waterbag level a bit high but bb size is okie. tell me must control my sugar. Than i noe, although the prick test done at the diabetic clinic show that my reading is getting lower, my daily reading also must maintain.

finding it a bit hard to control as i going to my 3rd trim.

kanna GD and need insulin also.. now currently 20 weeks (EDD mid JUly)... my #1 pregnancy was smooth but tis #2 one hv high blood (under medication)and GD... so sad ...

currently under subsidies at NUH Clinic G and High risk care ...

my reading from evening onwards b4 meals r very high and morning b4 breakfast also high, so Dr suggest tat my insulin workers all off for work after 5pm n only start work after 9am ... so control of food will not help much in my case.

just start 6units of insulin for 2 pre meal (fast action) n 1 b4 sleep (slow action)...

hope to hv support from here ...

Xuan, the diabetes care nurse did mention to me (briefly though) that during confinement just take whatever we want as GD is SUPPOSED to disappear once baby's born. However, I will check again on the Dos and Don'ts.

JC, I'm in my 3rd tri and was also diagnosed when I was in my 2mth also (10weeks). Try to eat more small meals and 3 regular meals. I'm also getting hungrier than usual as I got into my 3rd tri. So, sometimes, my sugar level spikes as I give in to my hunger pangs. Gotta eat more veg and proteins and drink milk.

Ling, don't be disheartened. I'm also with NUH but am at a private patient. I do get my low times even now but snapped out of it fast too as I think of what I'm doing will be benefiting baby
That is what keeps my head up
Cheer up and all the best!

bbKK : i have to take the insulin jab to control my sugar level.

Ocean_blue / Ling : I am with NUH as private patient too! Currently i am on 6-6-8-8. Going to see Dr STanley today, hopefully the prick test is okie.

Btw, is it true that we cannot hold baby to full term? my gynae tell me will induce on week 38.

JC, who is ur gynae and how big is ur baby now? How many weeks r u? My gynae is really cool and blessed w my situation as everything is under control and baby is not big nor too small so we r still looking at letting nature takes its course as for now.

My gynae is TM Chua. I now at 28 weeks., bb at 1kg.

I read feom some mummies their baby are 1.x kg at my week.

i saw Dr TM Chua twice at the diabetic center at Clinic D... she is nice lady ... wanted to change to her, but budget dont allow ... hope will get Dr Chua when i go Diabetic center for follow up ...

lucki at subsidies side under high risk care, if i stick to wed morning, shd b getting the same gynae, Dr Anita Kale.. she is nice also ...

let's all jiayou together ...

so far for the last 2 day (also my first two days on insulin) all my reading within the safe range ... hope tat will remain so good till due ...

My prick test today is 5.0. Dr liew say is good

He tell me dont obssess with each reading. Sometimes it norml to be higher. I like him coz he super relax...everything okie okie haha

I have times when my after meal 2 hr is normal but because i eat good food, i will test half n hr later to find it higher.

hello mummies.. just to share my experience.
i had GD when i was preg with my girl. i delivered in 2011.. i suspect i had GD cos' of hereditary as my mum is diabetic due to family history. However, my sisters all did not had GD during pregnancies..

i discovered only around week 28. baby was of average weight and i delivered her at 40 weeks 2 days old (induced as she was overdue). baby born at 3.015kg though the scan done 2 days before was expecting her to be around 2.6-2.8kg. turned out she is bigger than expected haha..

i controlled my diet quite well and didnt fortunately no insulin injections required. the prick tests were done on some days only, and it was already affecting me badly cos i couldnt bring myself to prick and test.

anyway, after delivery, my gynae was so sure my sugar level will be back to normal.. and he told me i can indulge in anything i want. haha..

went for routine body checkup recently and fortunately yes, i pass the blood test

what i did when i was pregnant with GD:

-try not to drink sweet drinks eg. soft drinks, bandung, sour plum or those sorts of drinks.

-no rice.. i only ate beehoon, wholemeal bread day in day out. good thing i love beehoon! and i drank lots of milk cos that was my craving everyday.. i totally stop taking ice creams, starchy food, white breads etc. even the bird nest i took was 100% without sugar.. just boiled with water!

- yoga.

- stay very happy and positive. ur pregnancy will be over before u realise!

all will be worth it when u see ur baby

Ling : How is your reading? Everything good?

Just found out that 'mi jian kueh' is safe for me. So happy...can add 1 more item to my snack list!

Just to share my experience. I had GD for my last 2 pregnancies. I just delivered in Jan 2013. I had to control my diet strictly too especially for the last preg as my pelvic muscles are quite weak and doc worry that I may deliver early if baby gained weight too fast too early. Abt a week into the diet I was actually losing weight when the baby is happily gaining weight. So for those who are worrying abt baby's health there is no issue. Her gor gor is also an active toddler who attends Childcare. So my best take for those with GD, if u really have a craving go ahead and try but in smaller portion. Then take your reading after the item to see if your body tolerate the food well. I also have occasions that my blood glucose went up wen I eat what I thought was innocent food. All mummies jiayou... All will end soon

actually having GD make me more determine to breastfeed. I read that it can help reduce juvenile diabetics.

me and my hubby are big size. So i don't want our son to follow our footstep. Must make sure he grow up healthy.

i had lost 10kg from my pre-preg weight and did not put on any till now. I take it as baby is here to save us
If not, we will just keep eating non-stop.

JC, so far reading with insulin is ok ... alomost no carbo in my meals... lots of meats ...

how old ur boy now? my #1 22 mth n #2 EDD 22Jul

lossing abt 3kg so far .. but dr not concern abt it .. each check say bb heartbeat very strong, very good...

but my mom n MIL very concern abt me lossing weight, say where bb can get good nutrient like tat ... hehe

going for detail scan tis wed... very excited ... as will know bb gender where #1 we chosen not to know...

bcos of high blood n GD for tis pregnancy, me worry need to C section early so mayb will go n caculate bb's name... stil hoping for natural birth if possible ...

my #1 i also breadtfeed for 18mth ... my #1 so different from both of us... she is skinny n super active while me n hubby r on obese side ...

Mine is #1..now week 28. I did my scan at week 27 1 kg.
Doc say the size is okie

My mum also ask me got eat anot coz i am constantly hungry and dont dare to eat

I hoping for natural birth. C sec recovery too long.

JC, oh.. thought u had given birth ...

me current 21week ... i like DR TM Chua also... very nice lady ...

me also very hungry ... but control lor...
i hv not try mee jian kueh ... scare will shot up my reading... i find tat some food pple say ok, but on me is no no ... so i stil stick to meat n veg ... dare not try other ...
hope i can try others also ... mayb i shd go n try on days i dont need to prick myself... then no record.. but stil prick n see check ..

Havent yet..now 28 going 29

Ever since dr chua tell me my waterbag level high, i test everyday liao. Last time i also cheat on days i dont have to test but dr chua tell me must control lah..left 10 weeks to go and sudden spike in sugar can cause bb heartbeat to stop. Induce a lot of fear in me

So i kiasi liao..

Morning

JC, jiayou!!

me jus cross the mid pt, stil hv half way to go ...

oh, then i better b careful n dont take any 'dangerous' food now ...

even with the insulin, if accident take too much sugar or carbon, dont help?

Hmm..if one time okie lah, just dont every meal indulge
Thats why i take every meal to monitor now
Instead of 7, i take 4 loh. If not very expensive leh the test strip

JC, i make a mistake ... give in to malay rice during lunch... after 2hr, i felt so sleepy ... so took my reading n it was 7.2 ... faint ...

i will be guai guai now .. dont dare to try other liao ...

ya, very expensive on the test strip ... 80cents per test ...

mayb i shd also do 4test each day for my own guideline ...

No mistake no mistake. 7.2 is okie although more than 6.6. Drink more water and cut down on yr dinner

Even till now i have readings that are double digit.

Rem to record down what u eat so that when the nurse ask you, you can let them know. Monitor again tomorrow lunch..if continue to be high , it could also mean your insulin not enuff

My highest is 13

My doc set my limit is 6.6. He tell me is a guide only..as long no double digital is okie. He super relax one..anything also normal lah normal lah...-_-

JC, wow... so high.. nurse said b4 tat is real diabetic liao ...

some dr r relax at the numbers while some r not ....

felt tat Dr TM Chua is strict on that but not the dr i see today ....

told her tat i felt very tired/eyes cannot open in the afternoon, she saw my reading n say low sugar... but the figures r within the range ...

now stil trying to get adjusted to food n insulin ...

found out the gender of my bb today ... actually didnt want to know, but with my high blood n GD, just know as i hv feeling tat will need to c section early ...

Why dun wan to know gender? Maybe mine is no 1, we super eager to know. When hubby know is son, he super happy lph although he say boy ger also okie hahaha

Ya..doc say maybe before preg i already have diabetics liao. Thats why my test is 9.1 when i first see him. Have to deliver than know loh...

Haiz..as long bb is healthy, i dun wan to think so much liao

JC, ya, doc also say so tat mayb mine is slowly goin to b diabetic.. tat y tis pregnancy GD can show up so early ... me jus crossing fingers tat i will escape from real diabetic after delivery ...

wanna to give surprise to the family as tat yr my #1, we hv 4babies among the cousins, 2among my family.. so i wan my to be a surprise... though also kancheong wan to know ... my hubby guessed correctly, me abit disappointed ...so is my own surprise.. haha

tis round my hubby also guessed correctly ...

ya, most impt is bb healthy can liao...

Today night reading haywire again. 7.2 --> 8.9 --> 7.5 in just different of minutes..haiz...

Dont wan to think abt it liao..jab myself and going to sleep le

JC, me hv tat also b4... but not so high ...
was thinking of is it bcos i cut some fuji apple tat is so sweet b4 i did the test ...

the nurse mentioned b4 tat need to clean the hands b4 test as any thing we touch b4 might hv some sweet content n might go into the drop of blood we testing ...