Dr Tan Kian Sing from TCM

I am very glad to find this thread finally. I am with dr fong yang and TCM - dr tan KS. I need to find out more about the fish maw purchase(OMG).

Been trying to get pregnant for 3 years already but fail. I seeing seeing dr tan ks recently and he advised my HB to boiled fish maw with this powdered medication. Hope that works for us. However, not sure where to locate this "fresh threadfin fish maw".

>>> ProblemG: did you manage to locate the fish maw in jur west or boon lay? If yes, which market did you get it? When you mentioned to order 1KG, where is this from?

>>> AnnissaKoh (annissasim) : Did you get the fish maw from JE IMM Giant? I went there 2 days ago, saw those fish maws(yellowish white in color) with the board as threadfin ... I am not sure if they are from ngor e fish though. I decided to check with the saleslady(mending the fish segment store) there and she told me those are sea cucumbers!! I was like HUH?sure or not? you mean the board wrote threadfin and not meant for those? * even more confuse

can anyone advise me where to order or get it

Hi dodo
Nope, still have not been able to get the fish maw. HB just taking the powder on it's own for the moment. We have been TTCing for 2 yrs and no news. haiz...
I'm not 100% sure where HB went to ask about the maw but it's one of the market near my place. BTW, where do you stay and are you working?
maybe one day can meet up to exchange tips and experience?1!

Hi ProblemG
I will look for the fish maw again in Jur west market and IMM Giant. If got news, will definitely share with ya!!

yes, i am working. sigh, maybe work till stress till hard to conceive.

sure, i am into exchanging tips! am very new to this forum though been reading up a bit in the recent months.

Its my 3rd time c-ing dr tan actually! not too sure if he is good, but just got to try whatever ways

jia you.

dodo
I think HB is more stress than me coz he's forever tired one. Even weekends also he rather spend at home, sleeping and surfing net than going out. So boring!
When's your next appointment with Dr Tan?

I got one appt next weekday with HB(forgot its tue or thu) I need to check my schedule worr, been so forgetful these days! Its so tedious to get his timeslot.

what stage are you now with dr tan? dont mind me asking how long have you seen him(not sure if I miss out this part of your thread earlier ... too many threads)? You did not manage to get the fish maw, did you chk with dr tan if it's ok(power enough) to eat alone without it?

For me, so far I been thru 1 cycle by myself with dr tan. can say just started...now HB just started this accupunture therapy. sigh, just wish and wish all will turn well and hear good news soon.

dodo
Agree it's damn hard to get appointment lor, especially during Sat and evening time.
I also don't remember where/if I commented liao. Lost track of my posts...
Anyway, I also started seeing Dr Tan in mid-Jul. Seen him 4 times and been through 3 acupuncture sessions. Dr Tan said it's ok to just take the meds without the maw but effect not as good lah. When AF started again this cycle, didn't go back to see him. AF just cleared so maybe I'll go down on Sat to see him again... was supposed to go for blood test to check for PCOS but I didn't, chickened out lor. Has your HB gone for sperm count?

Dr Tan didnt ask my HB to take the medicine, he told us to go back when we manage to buy the maws. Went to him last last Sat for the recipe, last sat cook to eat.

Tonite, I go home take picture to post here. Damn fishy!!! Quite big piece, like palm size, white color.

Hi xin2 and AnnissaKoh
Tks for the tips of where to get the maw. gg to scout for it over the weekend, hope can find and if not, he just got to swallow the powder without it.

Hi ProblemG
yap. we tried to follow what dr tan want us to check or eat or do. HB did a SA recently but results like no good and we were quite shock(tho dr tan said its common). 2% morphology(Teratozoospermia also). We also not sure what and how and why and so many question marks in my head. but maybe dont think so much oredi, just hope whatever medications we took can help.

Blood test for PCOS? May I chk what is PCOS? I am not sure but I took a blood test recently as recommended by dr tan to chk hormones. is that the one?

can I chk if that nurse(lady) outside(at reception counter) is Miss Tan or dr tan's wife? she always says lao ban niang not happie oredi...cannot slot this timeslot and that ... haha.

I wonder if she s the LAO-BAN-NIANG(dr tan's wife)?

dodo
HB's count also very bad.
PCOS is polycycstic ovary syndrome (or something like that). The blood test for hormones should be the one if you took the test on day 2 of your AF.
I just changed my setting for PM so can email me if you want.
I know there are 2 ladies at the clinic but when I go there on weekday evenings, there is only one lady left and that should be Dr Tan's wife... I think. Never ask so not sure also. ha ha

Hope this DR TAN KIAN SING thread can keep going ..

In brief for my case:

FIRST YEAR when we tried, didnt approach any gynae for help. We tried naturally but like no news and i am not a discipline child too(love all the bad habits like softdrinks or cold drinks my fav, fried stuff like kfc etc...love it...etc...5-6 hrs of sleep...etc)

2ND YEAR, followed my mom to visit TCM dr - Ban Choon near Parkway. We were not very consistent there as it was too far. He s suppose to be well known for helping couple to conceive too, but after 1year, we gave up as no news and distance and waiting time is definitely a killer(have to physically sit at their red chair to q in medical shop).

3RD YEAR, decide to go western so look for a gynae. We are actually quite comfortable with dr Fong Yang as he is very patient and we dont feel awkward with him. He s nice!

- have taken clomid few times before with dr Fong Yang. I seen him for 10 months without the help of any TCM dr. still no news and by right, we were gg towards the mode of SOIUI 2 months back. but i decide to be more discipline to look for another TCM dr and follow thru before deciding on SOIUI or IVF(if req).

*hope I do not need to go thru the above cos I am scare

NOW, found dr tan KS in forum and seems not bad as there are successful cases and wish to try.

Here I am hoping for the best and continue to share and learn from all members in forum.

ProblemG

so far, I onli see one lady(out of 3-4) times I been ... short hair lady. but since u meantioned there r 2ladies....I presumed she s not the LAOBAN-NIANG lor. haha

Yap...I also blur blur abt taking the test recommended by dr tan KS...but for me, since he said need to chk(I just follow). so one day I cheong down to the raffles medical and took 1 tube of blood during my day 3 of AF and went back to work. shac and I was alone without HB. I also scare of drawing blood...but bobian lei. just take la( i told myself)...i look elsewhere when nurse draw my blood lor. and it was raining like storm that day and whole clinic onli ME!!. so like I veri "cham(means pityful in hokkien)" that day. ha.

after reading the thread and seeing some mummies2b is thinking of giving up hope, i think it is worth to share my experience here in ttc-ing.

im another successful case with dr tan kian sing. joy07 recommended me to see dr tan after my miscarriage in year 2008. I started to see dr tan in mid 2008 and i strike, with a healthy/cute 4mth+ baby boy now!

some may be wondering why i took so long to strike with dr tan (mid 2008 til jul 2009 - abt a year time). actually i wasn't really ttc at first but just trying to 'tiao' my body. dr tan mentioned that i could also ttc but i was just trying to prepare myself plus my hubby was overseas for that period of time. until end 2008, dr tan said basically my body is fully ready and ask me to get my hubby to see him... as a man with high pride, my hubby finally see him in apr 2009 after much persuadding.. and u know what?! he only took dr tan's medicine for 1 round and we strike!!!! amazing right, so for those who visiting dr tan without hubby along, please bring ur hubby if u don see result after awhile.

I am really amaze that I could pregnant and successfully delivered a healthy baby due to my history (pm me if you would like to know). dr tan was helping me to stablise my pregnancy at the early stage too. i was constantly bleeding in my first tri and dr tan gave me medicine to stop bleeding and strengthen my uterus. also, dr tan managed to predict my bb's gender correctly!

so those with dr tan for ttcing, keep it up.. ur have good news soon! and after preg, u cld continue to see him until reaching 2nd tri, like me..... my bb's 'tan dian' very strong, not sure if it is because of dr tan medicine in 1st tri! hahahaaaa

dodo
er.. both the ladies also short hair one. ha ha. I fainted for my last blood test so I dare not go...!
How are your results?
For me, I started TTCing about 2 yrs ago. 6 mths later, I got vaginal ulcers and couldn't BD for 6 mths. After the ulcers healed, I have been prone to tearing everytime, even with lubrication. Haiz. BD session like torture lor so maybe that's why never strike.
I've seen Dr Fong once before. Although I have to agree he's nice, I didn't like what I heard for my diagnosis so I went for second opinion at NUH. Have changed so many gynaes I lost track liao. My lastest gynae is Dr Ang at Gleneagle. I prefer a male gynae but too bad, no suitable recommendations.

Mrsong.....it's encouraging to read your post. When do you go back to him after you tested positive?

When I shared with him my m/c story, he told me I should go to him, maybe he can help to turn the situation around.

Dodo.....yes, there's 2 ladies there. 1 always wear a mask, that's the assistant. Mrs Tan looks more elderly and talks pretty motherly & sound & gentle.

So far, I saw him 3 times. 1st time is few days BF my AF (walk-in). 2nd time is after AF cleared, 3rd time is 2 days after the 2nd time then I stopped as I didnt managed to get a slot. For 2nd time, he requested for me to go back in 2-3days but the 3rd time, he never mentioned I need to go back though I've asked a few times. My consultation with him is like very standard questions, BBT, CM, any backache, any gastric, check my tongue.

1st time, he gave me "an tai yao" but AF reported. 2nd time, given bottle & pills & 1 set of powder. 3rd time, only bottle and 1 set of powder.

The "an tai yao" damn expensive, $7 per set of powder.

After O, we need not see him untill our next cycle cleared right?

I'm seeing Dr Lee Keen Whye from Gleneagles. Nice and steady man like Dr Tan.

annissakoh,

yeap. must be positive. i dare not to test when i completed his post-o medication. just went to buy more medication and showed mrs tan my bbt and she gave me a thumb up.. and happen to the time i was there, there was no patient so get dr tan to take my pulse.. he asked me to continue medication and be extra careful.. and test only a week later... as soon as i tested positive, i called him and go down to see him again =)

As promised, below picture of the fish maw. Just took out to take picture then put back, my hands still stink!!! Cannot tahan!!!!
4398081.jpg

<font color="aa00aa">Re: Fish maw
I think, for those getting from Giant IMM, you need to go there very early (maybe 7+ am) as my friend said that as they do not kill threadfin daily, the no. of fish maw available is limited. Or, ask the staff when it will next be available. Some staff are quite blur and may not know what fish maw is.

annissasim,
The fish maw you've got is quite big. Where did you buy from?</font>

Yours is smaller? thought is pretty standard size, like palm. Clementi Ave.2

May I know does yours stinks? I need to resort to store them in freezer zip-lock bags.

I was so busy with work recently. catching up with you gals now ;P

I bought the fish maw last weekend. Search jur west and went IMM giant twice but fail. Finally bought the maw at SENG SONG! only 2 left when I reached at 8 plus am(panda eyes).

Hi Annissa

Maw Stinks badly!!! My HB cannot take it and I cant take it too. But no choice ... I have a hard time cutting into smaller pcs that I have to use scissors and washed my hands many times and rub with hand cream to get rid of smell.

bad huh? but hope its a XIAN DAN and drink with miracle.

dodo
hmm... Seng Siong. Never thought of going there to try. So early, HB still in lalaland. ha ha :p
BTW, did you get the 2 emails I sent in reply to your PM?

hey problemG

yaya! tks for the mail ... just saw it
will pm u back later, hee.

ya, try "Seng Song" ... may have it. If your HB still in dreamland...maybe u wanna go by yourself to get? or drag him up. I dragged my HB up to get out of hse by 8am. Both of us having headache after that. The intent is to go clementi ave2 to locate but thought we just visit Seng Song first ... then sculy have. so just bought 2 small pcs.

Checking on cooking of fish maw:

1) For those who drank this miracle (powdered med+maw), did you guys make it to a full cup? (I slow cooked for 2.5 hrs but not all the maw melted, so i tried to pick away the remainder maw(jelly lite maw is not to be eaten right) before i mixed with the half cup of powdered med to that maw soup again. is this correct?

Hi Wonderland

Nice to hear that you have gifted with healthy/cute 4mth+ baby boy now! Must be super busy taking care of him and playing with him too.

envy envy
wonder if my turn will ever come

Tks for all your encouragement and sharing!

dodo
Dr Tan's advice to just eat the jelly as well lei. Never melt also just swallow wor! I still have to buy my slow cooker first if not double boil in my rice cooker will spoil my cooker! Later all my rice taste like fish maw :p

dodo (doughnuttie),

no worries. ur turn will be here real soon. just listen to dr tan n follow strickly. best to do accp be o...

I think my HB cannot bear to eat the jelly lite maw .... he can't swallow those so bobian(no choice). He does not eat sea cucumer and those dried fish maw for soup ... those that feel slimy...all he doesnt take. bad! haha .. so conclusion is try my best to MELT all threadfin fish maw in maybe 3 hrs!

anyway just curious if any member here was previously from "ying chuan TCM at JE" and switched to dr tan KS instead?

If there is, hope to hear your experience about why you decide to switch too.

dodo
don't know who to borrow slow cooker from. I'm going to just get those really small one.
maybe you can cut the maw smaller?! hope that can help.

We ever go Sheng Siong, they told us that few days no threadfin.

Supposed to cooked for 2-2½hr, my HB cooked for over 3hr, all soupy, no more jelly.

I never ask him how he "settled" that bowl of thing. It's his turn to bear with it while I already have my numerous encounters with the powder. I hate it!!!

dodo.....it's best you go see Dr before you ovulate. He dont do accupuncture after you've ovulated.

ProblemG...you can do double boiled using a normal pot, no need rice cooker.

AnnissaKoh
All my pots (I only have 2 , btw) too small to put a bowl inside for double boiling... I don't do much cooking at home. ha ha.

<font color="aa00aa">annissasim,
Ya, the one who handles the fish maw said it's very "fishy" and really "stinks". He also boils till all the fish maw melts and drank all at one go!

I think I might've joined you in the BP for Desitin cream several years ago as I have the impression that you stay somewhere in Clementi.</font>

BBloh....hmmm maybe yes or maybe no, I dont remembered joining BP for Desitin or I did??

Yes, I'm at ave.4.

We're here to TTC, JIA YOU.

Hi Ladies, fishmaw is a delicacy, it is should be as enjoyable as consuming bird's nest or sea cucumber. It is seldom that people will cook raw fish maw. You should use dried fishmaw for this purpose, not the raw and the uncleaned type. The good quality dried fishmaws are normally expensive. Some are priced at few thousands dollar.

Hi ystnest, are you also visiting dr tan KS?

I am advised to get the raw(not dried) threadfin fish maw for medication purpose
This is why it is harder to find and locate in market!

YST Nest.....agreed that dried fish maw can be a delicacy. For TCM purpose, we need to use raw fish maw, unprocessed one.

I tested positive OPK today... and I started taking the 'an tai yao' yesterday when I thought I had positive OPK 3 days ago. Today I tested with the expensive OPK as well. Any idea if anything will go wrong if I took the 'an tai yao' too early?

Think for an tai Yao it's ok to take earlier or aft positive opk or aft ovulation. I rem it's more impt not to eat the before ovulation medication when u ovulate.

Positive opk results lasted fr half day - 3 days depending on individual

haiz. I know it's for day 3 after O but the thing is, I thought I had O 3 days before I started taking the meds (even my BBT chart in FertilityFriends.com think so).... but now, I think I'm wrong. My temperature only went up this morning...

If not wrong, the individual will O for 1 or 2 or 3 days, and temp will only increase/spike up immediately after the O period. That s why must BD during O period and not wait till it spike. something like that ...

am I on the wrong track of what you guys are discussing ;P

Sigh... AF started again today
Weekend spoiler!
Can't escape from the dreaded blood test liao. Going down to pick up the test slip from Dr Tan today so I won't chicken out tomorrow.
Haiz... WHY?!?

Hi ProblemG,

Dont be disappointed! jia you, jia you, zhai jia you! This month cannot, next month, next month cannot, then next next month..

How is your blood test!? hope things are fine on your side.

>>> as for me, I can feel my AF is coming anytime. Having the usual tummi cramps effect, bloated tummi, etc. Just like the usual monthly before AF effect ... so suspect AF should come tomorrow or next day. It's about time...alThough each month, i hope AF will not come after ovulation. haha ...

wonder how s the rest of the other gals' results ;P

First time I had the nurse draw blood with a syringe! Pain! I could feel the needle in my arm throughout the process! All other times, for yearly dreaded blood test, the nurse just use a vacuum tube to collect, relatively painless and much faster!

Will only get my results next week. Will let you know when I get them. Saw another friend preggy today... so depressing!!!

Hey, just imagine the blood test is finally over!!! Yea! Good job gal;p u made a good achievement ;p

yea, looking at others getting preggy usually just wonder when s our turn right? Ha. Hope our fate for baby wish will come soon

Blood test over, now cross my fingers with the results. If the results not good, can TCM do anything or do I have to go back to see gynae? Somehow, I just have the impression that TCM not able to 'treat' hormone imblanace?!
* Baby where are you?! * ha ha ha :p

How much does each visit at dr tan cost? Acpucture how much? Both person need to do? Anyone knows how he compares to Dr chen qiu Mei of thong chai?

Hihi all,
I am a new here. Happy to find this thread, I am seeing Dr. Tan too!

Me and HB been tccing for 2 years after our Chinese customary. Start seeing gynea early this year after a year of trying. Taken clomid for 3 cycles but without much help. Decided to stop and take a rest, afraid of its side effects and switching to TCM for help.

We visited Dr. Tan early this month. Like most of you here, I was given a bottle of black syrup and multi pack herbs powder for pre-ovulation medication and was 'poke' by him. Phew... actually was quite nervous, cos this is my first time trying acupuncture. But lucky I managed overcome my fear, but hb was so tensed up till he feels like vomiting. haha... Too bad was not able to BD this cycle as I was not in town during my 'O' period. Wasted a cycle...

As instructed by Dr. Tan, HB also took his SA test, just got back his result from Dr. Tan - 2% morphology (severe Teratozoospermia)! This is quite worrying, tho Dr. Tan said not a big problem, he advised him to take fish maw with his medication and eat more sea cucumber. I hope it will really help. Going to try my luck to get the fish maw this Sat. Lucky to find this thread, got all the information I want. At least I know how the fish maw looks like now... thanks to Annissakoh. Hehe...

As for me, got to wait for my AF to come, need to do the blood test also. Sign

ProblemG,
Where you go for your blood test? Dr. Tan say there is a clinic opp him, just do the blood test with them will do? Got your result back already? Hope everything is fine over there.