Dr Tan Kian Sing from TCM

Hi Colurful & purplelace,
It's at Thomson Medical..it's actuallly called as Thomson Fertility Centre.. me too me too.. I'm feeling nervous coz have to do self-injection but I think will juz leave this work to my hubby..
I hope I'm brave to go thru the whole process.. I was thinking for quite some time..if do lap, the cost of it is around the same as doing IVF(the amt we need to fork out ourself) and after lap, there's no guarantee that u will strike..so both me & hubby decided on IVF lo.. praying hard to make it a success!!

hey colurful,I was on clomid for 3 cycles but whenever I go scan, either I can't find my follicles or it is still not at the idea size when scan at CD12 - CD14...

Purplelace, my hubby SA is quite good..coz as the report (latest one at Feb this yr) the docs who we went commented that it's good..even Dr Cheng who will be doing ivf for me..so guessed it should be my side..coz got blocked tube and eggs not growing well I think...so ur hubby still seeing Dr Tan?

colorful,

ya hope Dr Fong can perform mircale on u
n good news from u

weird hor? did u chart bbt when u got + opk?
how much is the SOIUI under him?

my hub Spermies improve alot as he went for his 2nd SA test result.dr tan said we shd have no problem striking but we really duno why so long hasnt strike..tinking of giving up as my boy coming to 4 in dec..the age gap is too big liao..

so u do SO IUI dun need see Dr tan liao?

Purplelace & Yenyen,

Yes,I did chart my BBT. That day scan no egg, I went home to test OPK and it was positive. My charts shows I am ovulating every mth(BBT always goes up) but now I wonder even though BBT goes up and +ve OPK, it may means on ovulation?

I am not sure abt the cost of SOIUI under him. Think it depends on how many injections is required.

How is the test of u and yenyen's HB SA test? My hb only has 5% sperm count and 1% volume.

I think your boy with a age gap of 5 yrs or more shld be fine, at least the boy is old enough to help u take care of the siblings... keke.

I not intend to see Dr Tan, but my hb will ocntinue with him. I will eat his medicine till this mth, rest for next mth and may start with Dr Tan Siew Buoy in Jun.

Colurful,
Same as me..I tested +ve but eggs not at idea size or can't find.. strange...
My hubby SA has around 300m sperm count & 3ml vol..

all the best with Dr Tan Siew Buoy..do update us and I will too,

Hi all, I've got my 1st appt to see Dr Tan on 14th may - have been reading up a bit on the forums, hope the appointment goes well. Are the herbs and treatment very expensive?

Hi everyone - does anyone know if its normal for the clinic to not answer the phone - I have been calling several times today to reconfirm my appt on Fri, as Dr Tan has just returned, want to confirm that he is really back as I'm taking leave to specially see him...

Thanks for asking purplelace...with my very hopeless Chinese I prob understood only 50% of what he said! He was very nice, I showed him my test results and that of hubby's and told him my own history, etc. He says there's nothing very wrong with me, just slightly on the heaty side. Gave me herbs to take prior to ovulation then return for acupuncture this week, after ovulation another set of "an tai" herbs. His technique is to try 3 days in a row during ovulation period, which is quite different, other doctors (western & eastern) said to try alternate days over an 8 day period (so that's 4 times).

I just started the herbs today, I hope I don't become too heaty...hubby wasn't with me and thinks that if he says I'm already a bit heaty and herbs are heaty, won't that make me out of balance? Does he take a holistic approach to view the overall health and constitution before prescribing? Am new to this, any advice appreciated.

I have been taking the liquid + tablets for 2 days and been given 18 sachets to take for day 3 before switching back to the liquid + tablets - can you mummies tell me if its normal to take all these sachets at once? The liquid is soooo thick and black!!! And I notice its made in China...anyone did some research to see if its safe?

athena

congrats!! good news !!

why not u click on my username? then from there u sent me a mail?

argh!! yr good news bring positive note!

Hi Gals, I truly believed Dr Tan's medicine helps. I have PCOS and have been trying for abt 3 yrs. I hv been taking his medication on and off but continously since last Sept Till April. I am pregnant and will be going for my first gynae visit next Sat. Believed in him coz he has helped me and many of my friends. Good luck to all and don give up.

my hubby just got to know that he has low quanity, 1% morphology with bad sperm form (Teratozoospermia to be exact).

doctor prescribed Andriol Testocaps, and he is starting to take.

feel like trying out Dr Tan's TCM service.

question: will Dr Tan's prescriptions "clash" with Andriol Testocaps?

also, advisable that my hubby start taking pills froom GNC called Megaman. Worth a try too?

<font color="aa00aa">debra,
As a general rule, Western &amp; Chinese medicine / supplements are to be taken at least with a 2-hr interval in between.

If you're visiting Dr Tan, bring your hb's supplements along for advice.</font>

Hi gals...

just want to share..
After TTC 3 years, finally I got pregnant last year with SOIUI with dr Fong Yang and accupunture with dr.Tan...
Now i'm proud of 5 mth baby boy..

Cross finger and keep faith.. I believe miracle will happened someday... jia you !!

Hi ethan mommy, congrate!

how long have you seen Dr Tan before you went for SO-IUI?

i have failed 3 attempt of my SO-IUI and i went back to see Dr Tan yday evening and he told me that i'm too weak cos i had took too much jab during my SO-IUI for the pass 3 mths.

do you find diffculties of getting the slot to see Dr Tan? His appointment is always fully book one....

Hi ivy,

I failed 2 SO-IUI before seeing dr.Tan. One of friend recommended him. Seeing dr.Tan for 6 mth. On the 6th month I try my 3rd SOIUI with acupuntur, and just lucky enuf that I pregnant.
Yes, first 1-2mth very diffclt get appmnt, but after mrs.Tan recognize me, she will slot the time for me every mth even before I book.

Debra,
last time my husband also take andriol testocaps for 3 months but no affect at all.. I feel like waste money n time...
After that take megaman GNC, got some improvement.. After recommended by friend, seeing mr. Tan, take his madicine (pill) and acupucture, then improve a lot.. From 2% morphology to 7%... We manage to get pregnant with his morphology 7%, so no need to be above 14% (WHO standard if I'm not wrong..)

I think worth to try..

ethan mommy, i have a appointment with Dr Tan this evening but have to wait very long cos he got too many couple who need to accupucture tonite le.... dunno what time will be my turn.

which gynae are you with now?

Hi Ivy...

Yes, the waiting time is horrible... I ever wait till 11pm..
But now I feel worth to wait as he really help me to get pregnant..
I'm not seeing any gyne now... But last time when I'm trying and pregnant, my gyne is dr. Fong Yang..
I think I will back to him for my second one..

ethan mommy, wow waited for so long?? i went to see him yday evening suprisingly there is not much ppl waiting before me. it was so amazing that when Dr Tan press my tummy he can know whether i have ovulated. after he has confirmed that my eggs are still very small, then he contiune with the accupucture on my back.

Ivy,

very amazing right. Usually he will check and ask any fishball feeling or not. When he think the egg is at the right size he will ask u to OT and take his medication. Good luck to u. U will join us soon.

Hi Joy, i dun have the feel of ovulating this month after 3 mths of IUI. sigh.... my system something wrong liao. i din OT last few days when my temp drop cos my hb not feeling well.

Hi, new to this thread.
Just went to see Dr Tan last Sat with hubby. It was along wait and a long consultation as well. Been trying to conceive for 2 years and still no new, hope TCM can help.

Hi ProblemG, i was been encourage from one of the mommy to be to see Dr Tan, i was his patient last yr July and i have stopped seeing him because of long waiting time. in the end i went for my IUI 3 times this yr Apr - June but failed.

i went to see him 2 week ago, when he take my pulse he told me that i'm very stressful and my body is too weak now because i had took too much jab during IUI period which is true.
so when is your next appointment with him? dun give up i believe Dr Tan will help us to get pregnant!!

God bless us!!

Ivy Tan
My next appointment is on Sat (waiting list, see if can squeeze me in or not) if not will be on Mon but don't know how I can make it coz I can't leave work early.
Next round will be my turn to start accupuncture coz last Sat was CD1. haiz. Can't even start on my med till AF clear.
Crossing my fingers!
Dr Tan seems quite nice though soft spoken. Just hope every thing goes well.
When's your next appt?

ProblemG, it should be next month le. my last visit was last Thurday by right i should be seeing him Monday but according to my temp i had took i should ovulated last weekend but i dun anything then when i return to work on Monday then i just call to cancel the appointment.

are you stress in your work? Are you staying in west area? i know some of them are staying very far but still willingly to wait and by the time they reach home is aldy mid nite le. i'm consider lucky cos i stay in the west side.

Hope we can share more of our experience during our TTC.

i have been TTCing for 6 yrs already. so you should give yourself some time and be patient with Dr Tan's appointment, his appointment is always fully book one. its better to make in advance booking with the nurse.

Ivy Tan
How to not be stressed at work?! I have to go back to see Dr Tan every week since this is my first round.
I also stay in the west, just that the clinic close by the time I finish work so a bit hard to rush down.
I had to wait 1 month before I even got my first consultation slot. Haiz.
You can PM me if you want to share more details or confidential info.

i teach you but dun tell the nurse say i teach you one ok.

where are you working? for my case, my work place is quite near the clinic although my appointment is at 5.30pm even i reach the clinic by 6pm i still need to wait cos too many patient le. i tell you what, you make the appointment with them first then u try to rush down.

Just started seeing him. HB needs to take the fish maw, does it mean that we need to wait for his condition improves then I can see him?

Not necessary. My HB was also told to take the fish maw. I have been going to see Dr Tan anyway for acupuncture even before that. It's up to you to see if you want to see him or he want to see you or not. Can check with Dr Tan when he needs you to return.
I've been to see him 4 times and the last was on 3 Aug. No need to go back after you O until you miss your next AF or after your next AF is cleared.

ProblemG....Thanks. I saw him 3 times, 1st was after my O. 2nd &amp; 3rd after AF cleared. He didnt ask me to return after the 3rd, therefore I'm wondering. HB will start fish maw tomorrow, hope he can tahan the fishiness!!!

Sometimes Dr Tan will forget so you may want to ask him. If there's no serious issue with you, he may not ask you to go back coz Dr Tan specialize in male problems after all.
HB haven't bought the maw yet... :s we also don't have slow cooker. He took the powder on it's own the week before. :p
I really don't know whether I want to go back or not. Suppose to go blood test to check if I have PCOS but I dare not go... haiz. Chicken out after a long thought... I didn't even O in my last cycle.

Only the 1st &amp; 2nd visit, he arranged appointment for me. During the 3rd and when my HB saw him last Sat, he never mention I need to go back.

I told my HB, if problem is with him then I'll stop, cannot tahan the powder medicine. I even resort to mix the powder in a small cup then swallow the powder directly!!!

Where do you stay? My mum bought from Ave.2. The fish monger told my mum, this is for medicine used.

Because I dare not go for blood test, I also don't know I have PCOS or not... I hate the medicine too!
Is your AF regular and do you O every cycle?
I stay in Jurong West so usually will go Boon Lay market. HB suppose to go and buy but he always sleep until so late during weekends so by the time he gets to the market, fish stall close liao.

hmmmm frankly speaking, I do not know if I O every cycle, AF is regular.

FYI, I m/c in end May so now is more like trying to get my body back in shape. I feel a great difference after m/c, not as healthy.

Only started to track BBT and using the OPK from this cycle. Also, last time we bd on the day or 1-2 days after the O on calendar, we were climbing up the wrong trees. kekeke.

You need to go to a regular fish monger to get it or order in advance. TCM's wife has advised to try at IMM Giant. She even told me that we can cook &amp; eat periodically for general maintainenance.

sorry about your m/c.
I also recently started charting BBT. Last cycle chart was weird and temperature only started when AF started... so I don't think I O at all.

Thanks for the tip for buying the fish maw. hopefully can get it tomorrow.

ProblemG....personally, I quite like the BBT, can tell when AF coming. I started after I ovulated, temp was 36.8+, then the day before AF arrived, it dropped to 36.6+ then stay at 36.4+.

I've never use any of this "gadgets" like BBT, OPK, TCM when I planned for no.1 4-5 years ago. Now then I start, a bit out-dated.

AnnissaKoh
Didn't maange to get the fish maw again... HB went to ask the fish stall and they say have to order. That's not the problem. Problem is have to order 1kg (about 4 maws). Where can finish so much even if put in the freezer! Next stop is to go check the supermarkets this week. Haiz...
My last cycle chart has no trend at all. I hope this round will be better.
Are you using the OPK from Dr Tan or your own? How's the results like when you tested?