DR FONG YANG at FONG CLINIC ( next to Tiong Bahru MRT )

Hi lbt,

Ur bb seeing Dr Ngiam too rite? i just made appt for my bb to take 6 in 1 jab next week. I'm wondering other than 6 in 1, did ur bb take any other jab? how muc isit?

If my bb took his first hep b jab when he is born, can he still take 6 in 1 or have to take 5 in 1 instead?

Zoses,
I also interested to go to the motherhood exhibtion..but abit far lah. Hope to see some review in this forum to c if there is any gd deal b4 i decide wan to go or not :p
And i actually wanted to brg my bb back to Dr Terrence Tan but his saturday appt full till august leh! so scary!

msworri
i had my so-called mensus for abt 6 weeks aft delivery...then had been clear till last mth's 22nd. came for 3 days...fresh red colour but little bit only...pantyliner will solve the problem...now had it again...but this time gotto put pad for the 1st day...then pantyliner can liao.....called Dr fong...he say if no pain then it's normal but if got pain then hv go back let him chk...haiz

hi cocoa
most probably will go this thurs...will update u if it's worth 2 go...
aiyo...Dr Tan's appointment always lidat 1. this 19th june will b bringing phoebe for her 2nd 6-in 1 jab.
the 6 in 1 covers more & less jab, btw Dr Tan's dun hv the 5 in 1, only 6 in 1. other then the normal 6 in 1, i inclu the chix pox & rotavirus & pneumococcal for phoebe. can take package at Dr Tan's...think cheaper by $50 if take package.

angel
haven't on my fone yet..ok i go on now
phoebe had been so cranky tis whole morning...think the eczema is making her very uncomfortable...guess we hv to let her use the steriod lotion to help clear her eczema faster...

zoses

I bought Calendula Cream from a spree from another mum which is supposedly good for treating eczema on babies. bTw that cream is meant for babies

And it works v well on nappy rash too and it's organic !!

SI SHEN is a mixture of 4 types of herbs which enhanced the appetite of the child. You can get them easily at Chinese Medical hall.

Sorry I am on study leave so cant chat much here. Will be back later of this week.

hi cocoa,
sori 2 reply so late. the expo fair is quite similar 2 the 1 @ suntec ard 1st march tht time.
i was running fever for the past days & had blocked milk duct...had 2 go lok 4 Dr fong 2 get the antibotic & sista kang @ MAH 2 help clear the blocked milk duct...so busy...but managed to go 2 the fair last nite...if u hv the time, can go lok c...otherwise dun go oso can...i personally fing there's nothing much lor...

zoses

oh no how are u know ?? fever gone ? ducts unblocked ?? try to express out when you can. Dont wait for bb to suck if you feel engorged already.

take care !

labbit
thanks...better liao.ducts unblocked liao. when sista kang do for me tht time...so painful...but now ok liao...b4 sista kang do for me...it was so painful 2 even touch...& when i try 2 latch phoebe on...like needle piercing pain. sista kang say it's mild mastitis...tht's y nid 2 go c Dr fong 1st...finally been 2 dr fong's TB clinic...so small & cramp...but he say he won't consider closing the TB clinic cos tht's he's 1st clinic ....quite a sentimental guy hor...hehehehe

zoses

so did dr fong ask u to express out or stop BF ?
wow .. but he did mentioned to me he want to consolidate all in paragon clinic .. probably he changed his mind.

but that clinic is on a strategic location leh.

glad to hear that u r better now. take care.

zoses,
Aiyo, you got so much milk! Do take care!

this is not the 1st time my bb drinks EBM via bottle, but recently she will only drink BM by latching on....anybody has any idea why this happens?

labbit,
now she drinks FM in the day, I'll BF her when I come back from work, but that means, the EBM can only give to the elder one.

labbit
Dr fong says the antibotic is safe for baby. infact he gave tht 2 pregnant mums oso...he say if i wanna play extra safe, can express & discard the 1st round then latch her on. sista kang suggested tht i take tht aft my feed or wait 30 mins b4 i latch phoebe.

msworri
infact i notice my supply did drop compared to my confinement days...last time i can easily pump 100ml in 5-10mins....now nid longer time. hands get tired when using the avent manual pump.
bought a medela swing since now having the GSS. juz a breeze using tht...

I'm a new mtb and looking for an electric steriliser. can some1 recommend which one to buy?
I'm into my 3rd trim now and wonder should i cont'd to take birdnest? Any advise?

hi star

I am using Avent steriliser since I use their bottles. It is bigger cos the bottles are larger in size compare to other brands. I think most of the sterilisers are similar in terms of functionality.

I only take birdnest in 2nd trimester. My mum advise to take in moderate as it may cause phelgm in baby. Not sure how true it is.

Share something useful to you bf mothers.

Me had this blocked duct again on my left b. Painful hard, milk just don't flow even tried to express using pump. My last encounter ended up in mount a looking for sister Kang to help. She uses firm massage into the affected area. We have to bear and endure the pain when she presses on the blocked duct. Once the blocked duct is cleared, milk will just gush out.

What I did at home was, I used a hot water bottle as a hot compress on the affected area. Press firmly on the blocked area, and pump at the same time. Repeat a few times, and the blockage was cleared quite fast and milk just gushed out. Instantly, the b becomes soft and no more hard.

If blockage stays too long and milk not released, we may end up having a fever and results in mastitis which you need an antibotic to clear up infection.

I had mild fever around 37.1 to 37.3 deg, took 2 panadols before I give myself home remedy. Thanks goodness it works, now I feel better.

i just went for my paps smear. got a shock that i was charged $60 for consultation. Why so expensive har? I thought only $45?

Angle

oh no ... so u feeling ok now ?

geee the blocked ducts are scary. Your milk must be very high in fats ! heehe ..

btw i rcv the book .. thanks !!

msworri

Probably the $15 is for consultation and $45 for paps smear ? did you ask for the breakdown ?

why do u go for paps smear now ?

lbt,

Ya I think so, cos when I feel the milk myself yes, it is very oily need to use soap to wash off the oiliness.

The book should be very informative on food to boost the kid's brain. Kino now selling $30 ++

labbit,
no, i paid $90 in total, $60 for consultation, $30 for paps smear!!

i have not went for paps smear after delivery. :p

Angel

wah so envy that your milk is sooo full of fats. think mine is LOW FAT milk leh ... ahahha

ooh i haven read the book but flip thru it .. sounds good. now i am thinking to make chicken or beef stew for rachel this weekend ... yummy ...

msworri

i cant remember how much I paid when I went for papsmear. did Dr Fong increased the charges ?

lbt,

Ya, Gd for my bb cos high in the EFA - essential fatty acid that is the omega which is good for the brain dev. I lost all my prenatal wt liao, and now wt is towards my wt b4 first birth.

My high output makes me loose 500 calories everyday without exercise. Bf is such a high fats burner. Mother nature really wonderful.

The + points for bf is unlimited.

Lbt,

I saw my small jun sitting up by himself, so cute. He is on his 4, then move forward and back, then sit on the bump and lift his upper back.

Going to crawl soon, cos on 4 normally next stage is to move around.

hi angel
ya...i've use ur method to clear my blocked duct recently...it works...i use hot water bag press hrad at the affected part then massage then latch phoebe...then clear liao...was so afraid will get mastitis again cos my last encounter was horrible...had to go get antibotic from Dr fong.. btw when i go look for Dr fong @ his TB clinic 2 get the antibotic the other time...i was charge a $5 admit charge...didn't realise it until few days later when i saw the breakdown of the bill...isit bcos i used to c him in paragon...then tht day no choice gotto c him in TB then they'll chrage the $5 ? puzzled...

angel
i really envy u...got so much milk...even wif out having 2 latch ur small jun...still can hv so much supply...hopefully i can still hv the supply even when i start flying cos sista kang & my PD suggested tht i BF phoebe for at least 1 year cos of her eczema...i've already asked for 2 more mths of leave extension...approved liao...but office already hint hint say cannot ask for further extension liao...if really no choice...looks like i gotto quit my job...take care of phoebe 1st...until she's older then lok for another job...haiz...her health more important..

zoses

u r such a great mummy !! i didnt know that bb with eczema need to be BF for min 1 year. but nonetheless, BF ur baby will provide unlimited benefits !! i salute you for even considering quitting your job.

Angel

congrats on small Jun's milestone.

My rachel is also crawling around on her tummy .. doing the leopard crawl and trying on her fours too. She is soo fast that when I go to the kitchen she will cry for me and when I turn around, she is at the entrance of kitchen oredi.

hai I still have the 5 kg of fats on me .. cant seem to go away even during BF. That's becos my appetite increase during BF, and I get real hungry always.

Angel, btw .. the book on brainy kids are not meant for babies right ? more for kids is it ?

recenly i cooked jap rice porridge with grinded brown rice and si shen for rachel. It's very fragrance and rachel loves it !! anyway she is not a picky eater lah ...

am going to try the ABC pasta this week .... it's so fun cooking for them now !

gals,
i really feel very bad that i didn't cook for my kids. i always can't find time to cook, or rather i find cooking v. troublesome and time consuming... how did u gals do it?

msworri

actually cooking for kids is v simple cos you do not need to do seasoning. the sweetness comes from the food naturally.

so what food do you give to your elder gal ?

labbit,
i don't cook for my elder gal, or rather, i don't know how to cook. my mum cooks for my children. i wanted to try out during weekends, but always end up chicken out, because seems like need a lot of time and effort. *peiseh* :p

my baby has been very naughty/throwing tantrums recently. She just refused to sit ot lie down, keep wanting people to carry and d person carrying her MUST walk about, else she will fuss and cry! Then for the past few days, she refused to take milk from bottle - yes, again - and she will sometimes take milk from syringe or if I'm home, she will latch on....caregiver is getting very impatient and fustrated over this...aiyo, i'm so troubled, don't know why my bb becomes so cranky, no teeth coming out, so not because of teething leh.... AIYO, then what else can it be!!

msworri

sometimes it could be a passing phase. give ur bb more time. she may settle down after a while.
hmm other than that... i think she just dont like to be settled down.
Probably u can try to sing to her while u r sitting now or distract her with toys.

labbit,
i did try to distract her...but soon after she looses interest in the song or toys, she'll fuss again.

i hope this really is a passing phase.....

msworri

hmm .. i am not sure. probably you can seek professional help if this persists.

or is she thirsty ? hungry ?

labbit,
i tried giving her water/milk, no use leh, she will struggle and cry till i put her upright. haiz....see other bb very easy to take care..mine is so difficult..1 problem after another...

hi labbit
whao...can imagine ur rachel doing the leopard crawl...muz b v cute hor...
btw wat's the 1st teaspoon of semi-solid tht u intro 2 rachel? isit those baby instant nestle cereal? or home cook porriage? btw the si shen rite? can get from any chinese herbal shop isit? juz tell them si shen for baby isit? & when 2 intro tht?
regarding phoebe's eczema...the PD & sista kang recommend BF for min 1 year cos this will reduce her chance of getting asthma as bad eczema might develop in2 asthma...& oso she'll b more prone 2 have food allegies...now i cannot take dairy products...eggs, nuts & seafood. i've 2 bid goodbye 2 my fav cheesecake for the time being while on BF.
i didn't knw a mother's love for her child is so great until i m a mummy myself...giving up my job is nothing if i can BF her for as long as possible 2 reduce her chance of getting asthma.

hi zoses

the first food would be rice cereal. You need to adjust baby to accept feeding via spoon. Then you can progress to pureed fruits, other flavours of cereal and porridge. When you cook porridge you can then varies the ingredients you put into it like fish, vege etc.

i introduced my MIL homemade brown rice cereal with si shen. Yes you can get si shen from medical hall. In fact there are some rice cereal that comes with ikan billis and si shen already. It is available in cold storage and NTUC.

I do not like nestle. I dont like the texture and i heard it is very sweeet so I avoid introducing strong taste food to baby.

I tried Heinz and Healthy Times. Heinz is ok but variety is not a lot. Healthy Times is organic and I like it because it is very blend in taste. So what I do is I add formula milk and pureed fruits like apple or peach to the cereal and it tastes wonderful !! But but .. this is when bb is abt 7-8 mths lah ..so u start with something simple first.

From 6mths, I started my gal on porridge with fish. Then progressively I added spinach, broccoli, zucchini, jap sweet potato, jap pumpkin, potato, carrot etc. Now i cook grinded brown rice with si shen, together with porridge and any of those ingredients I listed abv.

err .. i think that's too much info. You can get any cookbook by Annabel Kambel for reference. It teaches u what food to introduce at different age.

Good luck !!

hi all mummys,

I am oso a new MTBs & under Dr. Fong. Just wanna find out whether Dr Fong do any triple test & NT scan ? I am in my week12 now & still he has not discuss abt signing package? At how many weeks can we sign up package?
Last question, must we really take fish oil ?
Thank u.

hi Steph

Dr Fong will do a triple test for your v soon. Dont worry, he will prompt you.

The package is taken up after the detailed scan which will happen on week 20 - 22.

You can start to fish oil in your 2nd trimester. Dr Fong will prescribe to you.

Not to worry.

zoses,
I started my bb with rice cereal (Heinz & Frisocrem) and brown rice (Si Sen brand with ikan billis) at ard 5 mth (though they can be taken at 4 mth). Heinz is quite bland compared to Friso. If I'm not wrong, Nestle products all start at 6mth onwards. I'm suspect my bb's rejecting milk from bottle could be related to the introduction of cereals...cos she now prefers to be fed by spoon - even if it is just milk.

Recently, I tried cooking for my elder gal, though stressful in the preparation work, but when see she finishes the whole serving, I felt so contented! Will try harder.

zoses,
how do u know that ur bb has eczema? how did it started off on ur bb? You see, I told my GP about this strange looking bum (in the form of a line) that runs along my bb's left calve, GP asked me whether any occurance of asthma/eczema/sinus in the family history... I said no. HE told me he suspect it could be eczema...but he's not sure yet, because bb seemed ok with it, no itch, no pain. And he wants me to watch out her other body parts. Would you be able to share with me some of your experiences?

msworri

jia you !! ya you will felt that it is a big achievement right !

continue cooking and slowly you'll get the hang of it. I am still learning too!

and hor .. i thnk ur gal is like my gal. She dont like milk. She prefers solids. But she still kuai kuai take in milk in the morning and nite. But for afternoon feed, have to coax her a bit. But if u give her baby biscuits, she would be delighted ! eehe notti gal ..

hi labbit & zoses,
thanks for gd info.
Wah...have to wait till 20weeks then can sign package. Now every visit is ex..avg ard $160.
Most gynaes can sign package at 16weeks.
Detailed scan consist of what ?

labbit,
baby biscuits can start at what age? also is it good to give the pigeon's magmug to a 6mth old bb?

Steph77,
yah, i think the charges has raised recently. detailed scan scans everything - brain, facial features, gender, limbs, and organs like kidneys, heart, etc.

steph

detailed scan scans everything of your baby .. that's why the name. The most impt thing is to ensure that the blood flow direction in the heart is correct. There will be a detailed report which Dr Fong will go thru with you.