Cup cakes for birthday

here is a pic of butter cookies i made yesterday....

3006426.jpg

Eeyore : Another tip for you, add 1-2 tbsp of water or syrup to the cake when it's cooled and set as it will keep
the cake slightly moist and less dry. It would be better this way if you cut into half and add the water or syrup
to the halves in circular motion before putting whipping cream or buttercream in between the halves.
This is for sponge cakes only.

fatmum,
i tried the method and recipe in the webbie you give and it is a success!! Thanks a lot! The cake is soft and fine... even the top is soft too not burnt at all!
was still worried that I am unable to perfect the sponge cake receipe b4 my hubby bday.... hehehe

Mone,
Thanks, so corn syrup should be okie rite? Will put some in between cake before putting whipping cream.

Thanks for all mummies for your tips too.... will post pix of the bday cake when done... in another 2 weeks though... hahaha

mone, green T snowskin u can add green t to milk n substitute the water. Test till u get the taste u like n remember to chill.

Eeyore: I have never tried corn syrup before, maybe you test first? But I think fruit syrup would be a nicer
alternative for the taste-you can use the syrup from the canned fruits. Happy baking!

Kendy: Just green tea powder + milk? Your mooncakes are so pretty. What flavour are they?

nice cookies motherof3pricesses.
my teacher says most people hold their breath while piping. LOL.

Fatmum - where did u get your cream cheese. I heard from a friend that island wide philadephia cream cheese OSS and she had to take my 2 precious pieces.

breadmum: are you sure philadephia cream cheese OSS? I thought I saw some at HV cold storage on friday.

I didn't know people hold their breath while piping.. For me, it's more like worrying that those plastic bags
for piping won't burst at the seams at times during the piping. When that happens, I will go "crap..!!!!!! sticky sticky buttercream!!!"

breadmum,
i also couldn't find hiladephia cream cheese last week after running few places, so in the end i got mine from phoon huat, but not philadephia brand laa.. but yesterday i saw LOTS of philadephia cream cheese at GIAT Tampines ler...

Jandew

Yeah! I did the method you have mentioned.. Find it a bit messy, and the timing and texture of durian got to be rite .

Here's my baking for the week..

Tried out the new cutters that I got from another seller in Hong Kong.

Was also busy making chicken pies for my neighbour, a bday cake for a close friend's son.

And of cos, my own wedding anniversary cake

3008521.jpg
3008522.jpg

3008523.jpg
3008524.jpg

3008525.jpg
3008526.jpg

Should have done the red knots that traditional chinese carry during their wedding.. Never thot of that idea until I've completed the cake... Haha! Next year...

3008527.jpg

Eeyore
Glad that it helps in your baking. Hope to see ur fruits soon.

breadmum
hee...er..I never buy lately but I always stock up some in the fridge. Maybe U can try phoon huat hse brand?

Mrs Teng
Your anniversary cake looks great! Your hubby will be touch! My 12th yrs is next week but not making anything haha....I like the mickey print on your chic pie cute!

These are my fruits for today.
Ham & mushroom quiche
3009437.jpg

Jelly Doll
3009438.jpg

hawaiian Pizza
3009439.jpg

Fatmum

Thanks! Just wanted to try out for the sake of trying... Nothing better to do. hehe!

Like the Ham and Mushroom Quiche... did you pre-bake the crust before you add the fillings?

wow, everyone is into mooncake and fondant cake. I tried making bread last weekend. But the dough did not rise(proof) to double so the bread is not soft. Wonder if I kneaded too long? Or maybe my instant yeast 'died'. How long do we need to proof the bread before it double in size? I waiting for 2 hours and it did not rise. So far none of my bread making session is successful. To make it worse, my hand starts to hurt at night and I have to ask my hb to massage resulting in a rebuke from him.
Can anyone advise pls?

Muffin

Sounds like your yeast may be expired, or you have rub the dough too long. May I know what recipe did you use? Any egg content in it? Any sugar? Cos both these plays a very important part.

Make some snowskin mooncake over the weekend... Just like to check, how to roll into a smooth ball after wrapping the filling? coz mine like not really smooth then got some wrinkles after i knk them from the mould. and how long can i kip these mooncakes?

Many thanks!

Mrs Teng,
I think either my yeast is dead, any way to test? (not expired, cos expiry is 2010). I knead the dough for more than 15 minutes cos the recipe said must knead till I can stretch it to thin sheets? like that is knead too long?

My recipe
300g high protein flr
1/2 tsp salt
50 castor sugar
1 tsp instant yeast
2 eggs, lightly beaten
60-75ml milk
60g butter

Muffin

Your dry yeast proportion to the flour is a bit too low.

Try mine:

470g Bread Flour
1/2 cup warm water (about 40 degree, the temp you use to make baby's milk)
1/2 cup warm milk (about 40 degree)
1 egg
70g melted butter
70g sugar
1 tsp salt
2 1/4 tsp dry yeast

Place warm water, sugar and yeast in mixing bowl and let it prove for 5 mins.
Beat egg in warm water and pour into mixing bowl. Add salt and melted butter.

Add in 2/3 amount of flour and mix into a sticky dough and gradually add remaining. The dough will be very soft and almost sticky . Knead until the dough is well mixed. Make sure it's not too elastic..

Oil a bowl and place the dough in, den turn over so that the dough is coated with oil. Cover with Plastic wrap and place in warm place. Let it rise for 1 and half hour or more then double in size. Punch the dough and knead for a minute. Divide into about 16 portions, add ingredients or roll over sausages.. Let it rise for another 1 hour.

Brush egg wash or just milk over the top of the rolls and baked in preheated oven at 175 degree for 10 to 15 mins or until golden brown.

eeyore, coat ur 'skin' with abit kou fen b4 u wrap, easier to stretch, after wrapping the whole thing, b4 u put in mould, gota put the kou fen again. so wont stick to mould.

mr teng,
oh really, my yeast proportion too low?? I did not prove the yeast either cos the recipe just ask me to mix with flr n milk n salt n egg. only add butter after the dough is smooth.

Peng,
I store in cupboard. I din know need to store in fridge.

joelle
salt cannot touch yeast when mixing? ok, will try to take note.

My hubby ask me to paste a post it note on the oven with the following message "Do not bake bread, remember hand pain." cos he said it happen to me the last time and he also massage for me. hahaha. Now preggy with short term memory, cannot even remember that.

kendy, thanks! but the thing i am unsure is like when i put the filling liao, and wrap it, there will be loose skin at the top rite (where skin meets skin? no matter how i roll, like not bery smooth....the excess skin wont merge in. mayb my method of filling the skin is wrong? is it roll the skin to flat using rolling pin, put filling and fold it and pinch it skin to skin and roll?? hope you can understand what i wrote... hehehe... not good explaining man.

paiseh.. so many qns. coz no time go properly learn at school. all trial and error...

Eeyore, use rolling pin before put filling. Usu for my case, I find it ok to fold in the end to seal up the mooncake. Thicker end put at the top or at the bottom.

Muffin, ur hubby is so funnie! Kekeke.... Yes yeast once opened muz open in fridge, that is why some pple buy 1 packet type, so no need refrigerate since 1 usage requires 1 packet.

jandew,

so definitely will ave thicker skin ar. was still thinking whether can dun ave it or not... hahahha.... ok, thanks so much! btw, any idea how long can the skin be kept? saw somewhere online and it says 3 days only.... but i got once kept for 7 days and still taste okie leh... so wondering... heheh...

jandew,
he very scared when I took out all the baking 'barang barang'. He felt that I am v stressed about the outcome. hehehe. I bought the bake king bottle type. must go phoon huat to get those packet type?

Eeyore, depends on how much is your overlap area. If not so much, then not too bad lor.

I reckon snowskin moonies can keep for 1 week. But best to de-thaw for awhile before eating, coz abit hard after refrigerating.

Muffin, I tink NTUC, Cold Storage, Giant shld sell the packet yeast. Brown colour packaging type. I m oso using the Bake King instant yeast but I usu finish 1 bottle in 3 mths or so, and I refrigerate after opening.

Dun stress, dun stress. I realised when in gd mood, wat I bake turns out better.

For bread, I will say I had my fair share of good days and bad ones. Sometimes abit of mishap can cause the bread not to rise.

Do you use a bread machine to mix your dough? I am using Bluesky, I put my ingred in this order: liquids such as water, egg, milk etc, sugar, salt, flour and lastly yeast. The yeast shld not come into contact with the liquids or sugar and salt.

Mone - Its really OSS. i went many NTUC and cold storage cannot find. a gal friend of mine was looking for it too. Orchard area also cannot find.

Jess - Tampines Giant ah..thanks. i go look.

Mrs Teng - nice chicken pie - can share recipe?

muffin- i kapo ah. your recipe has no water except for the eggs and milk. Could be the eggs? cold eggs? also milk must be room temp. Also make sure yeast don't touch water and salt. If hand made, use bread flour- prima. or Gold medal unbleached. Kneading - knead till you pull a small piece and stretch it like a translucent window. the dough is smooth like a ball,then let it rest (3 hours is best) But covered with damped cloth.

Yeast best kept in freezer so that it sleeps. In the fridge, in our climate, its still damped.

eeyore, i roll the skin to a small ball, flatten it abit n start to pull upwards to cover the filling.. the top part don't put fou fen, or else the skin wont join.. after meet, roll the whole snowskin in the koufen.. should b swee swee..

muffin
check this webby again. page 1 spring onion bread, Page 4 'Pizza', page 7 butter bun.
http://www.skybake.com/teaching.asp

The dough need to be smooth at the end of kneading. Just like wat u get to see at the hawker roti prata stall those uncook prata dough. Very 'shiny'

to speed up the process of rising, I would take 2 cups of hot water and place them in enclose oven with the dough cover with cling wrap. Also to change the water when it turn cold.

As menitoned by other mummies, all ingredient need to be at room temp.

Have fun!

breadmum: then we can substitute low fat cream cheese for the regular one, those kind in a tub.
They still have the light cream cheese - it might not have the full taste of 100% cream cheese but it is better than nothing.

Muffin

This was the sausage roll shaped just after punching the dough.

3013807.jpg

These were the buns using the recipe I've given.

3013808.jpg

Hi Jacelyn,

i bake some cookies using the below recipe and my hubby awoke due to the nice smell. find taste okie too. use it for my cookie bouquet. mayb you can try. but the recipe yield is quite big though.

• 3 egg yolks
• 2 eggs
• 230 g butter, softened
• 215 g white sugar
• 445 g all-purpose flour
• 5 g baking powder
• 2 g salt
• 4 ml vanilla extract

hammie,
you used the cookie cutter? I tried using my disney cookie cutter to make moonies but my filling came out when i press the face dwn...