Cup cakes for birthday

Pics from my Fondant class- now i can truly appreciate and "pei fu" Mrs Teng, Pink, ai mummy and all who have so much patience decorating cakes. Lots of love and imagination is much needed.

2921240.jpg

Ice, dun tink so.

Breadmum, so nice...oops, I realised I have not replied ur email, will go do it now :p.

U taking Wilton course?

kendy,
wat mould d u use to make the Hk n Pooh mooncake?

jandew,
m joining ur BP soon... looking at the items now... bought a few cookie cutters but no chance to make yet...

breadmum, ur cake are nice... keke

Vivien
Er...i have yet to try the baked type but keen to do it one day oso. Hmm..But you can try out from AY recipe. There are many great recipe therein. Happy surfing

http://auntyyochana.blogspot.com/2006/08/traditional-moon-cake_19.html

Mone
I replaced the amt of water required and add another 30% as fruit puree is not runny as water so got to put more.
YEs NMH is jst beside crystal crown hotel.

jandew
If not wrong the not so sweet one is ranged RM22-25.

breadmum
nice work. May I know where you have the class? And whats the course fee like. Thanks

jandew & mone... Thks for the address of KCT. Will go & chk it out tis wkend.

vivien.... if ur skin is hard after bakg, tatz bcoz after u mix ur ingredients in2 a dough, u didnt rest the dough long enuf b4 u start to roll in2 a ball & mould it. It is the restg part tat is v impt coz this will determine whether the skin is soft or hard after bakg. Must rest for min 5 hrs. Usually I will make the nite b4 & roll in2 balls & mould out oli on the 2nd day. Hope tis helps.

Purpleangel...*Winkz*

Tulip, for baked skin, we need to rest the dough for few hours after mixing or is it after mixing, and another time after moulding too? I rested both times.

After mixing the dough, I let it rest for more than 1 day at room temp.

Then after putting the paste into the skin, and molding, I rested them for another 2 hrs.

Actually I wonder whether I need to rest it after putting the paste into the skin, or after molding? Duno whether I did it correctly or not.

Tulip,
I only rest the dough for 1 - 2 hours only. Next time, I'll try to let it rest overnight and see will it still be hard after baking.

Fatmum,
I'll try out the receipe that you mentioned. thx.

By the way, anyone can enlighten me why do we need to rest the dough?

Vivien, u ate the baked mooncakes how many days after baking? Its recommended to eat baked mooncakes at least 3 days or more after baking, so by then the oil will have seeped into the skin and make it softer.

I also realised that if I cut the mooncake and put into the fridge, it turns hard(so maybe before eating gota thaw for awhile first). But if I leave the mooncake out in the open in a covered container, it tastes much softer.

The taste between 1st, 2nd and 3rd day is different.

Resting the dough is prolly to let the mixture blend in with each other, and also if you rest the dough, its said to turn browner after baking.

jandew & vivien... the resting is to make the skin soft & shiny after baking. In fact for the moonies I make, no nd to wait 3 days to eat lah (like wat Aunty Yochana say in her blog which 1 mummy posted). Can eat immediately. skin is oredi soft after baking & cooling down. The browning part lies wif the alkaline water & type of syrup that is used.

I usually rest the dough overnite after mixing in the ingredients for the dough. The dough will still be in my mixer bowl & I cover the bowl wif a dry cloth till next morning. Yes.... I rest my dough two times; once as soon as it is mixed & another time after rolling in2 balls wif dough, paste & yolk in, I cover all the balls wif a dry cloth again for 2-3 hrs, then after that simply take each ball & press into mould & arrange in baking tray to bake. : )
Hope it helps

All moonies will tend to turn slightly more brown after baking. This is bcoz of the oil fr the paste seeping into the skin. Bt the initial brown is fr the alkaline water & syrup use. Many ple tot it's fr the oven browning the skin. Actually it's not. bt too brown liao then u noe it's chao-ta oredi : p

many thanks to Mome, fatmum n jandew

I've tried a couple of receipes n did dust my cutters with flour n put the dough in the fridge... n unfortunately, it still like my cutters (sob sob)....

Fatmum, can you share with me if the receipe u wrote in ur blog stick to ur cookie cutters?

Baywater: what kind of texture is your dough? The one I make is a little sticky but not like plastique. It breaks easily so have to
mould and roll carefully esp during cutting.

Maybe you should try dusting both your dough and cutters with flour a bit before cutting?

Tulip, Jandew,

It's really comlicated and trouble to make the mooncake, but i'll still try again. Will take tulip advise to rest the dough twice before putting into the oven to bake.

Between, what's the best temperature for baking the mooncake???

Wow! mooncake is the in thing now... Have got lots of different types to make.. For this week, I've been trying out these 2..

Chendol Agar Agar Mooncake

2923537.jpg
2923538.jpg

This one is not done properly ~ Lotus paste n macadamia nuts.

2923539.jpg
2923540.jpg

Viven
one more recipe for you to consider. You can read the comments think they mentioned abt the resting of dough. Remember to post your fruit here ya!
http://fenyingrecipe.blogspot.com/2007/09/traditional-mooncakes.html

baywater
Yes my recipe will stick too if I handle it too much with hand. But jst have enough dusting on the working surface and cutter will help. And if i find the dough turn soft, I will put in the fridge for another 10mins before I roll again

Mrs Teng
Both ur fruits look great. I like the chendol one Swee!!!

vivien... no worries, i'm sure all ur moonies will be perfect tis time! If u r makg big ones, temp is 200 deg C. If small ones then 220 deg C. Remember can oli put top rack to bake. Hapi mooning!

Mrs Teng: Your Chendol Agar Agar mooncakes look good. Did you make chendol dessert 1st before adding agar agar?

Jandew: Um I test-made just 1 green tea mooncake to see the flavour and I used the new push type plunger from e's joie(Shop'N'Bake). The imprints are
so clear and the size in diameter is not big, only because I miscalculated the filling proportions so end up looking abit like those mini
mooncakes with low height.(Definitely not hum chi peng level.)

I think if I add more filling, the mooncakes should turn out in the right height and size. Taste wise, haven't taste it yet. Wait for a few more days.

Mone, ur loot has arrived. Ur Hk silicon mold size is juz good for Hk moonies. Hop onto my thread, will update postage cost shortly. The height is 3.2cm at the highest, def not like hum chi peng.

Actually I got lobang for the mooncakes mold 1 plunger a few plates type, but kinda too late for tis yr...maybe will do a BP for nez yr. Hehehe....

Mrs Teng, throw 1 agar agar mooncake over pls!

These few days I was making mooncake to try out, both baked type and snow skin type. Then yesterday I was making the fondant. My maid ask me, what is this?? Then I told her it's for covering the cake, but will be too sweet and nobody like it. Suddenly she came out with an idea of using the snow skin for mooncake to cover the cake, it's not very sweet.

So do you all think this work, should I try it out???? Pls comment. Thx.

Vivien, I duno whether snowskin can cut into different shapes, and also it may dry out really quickly coz surface area is big. Juz my own tots.

Jandew,

You mean the snowskin will dry till hard if left under room temperature???? But if I treat it as whipping cream icing and put it into fridge after decorating the cake, do you think this way work????

Vivien, I tink it will taste funnie? Coz you imagine cakes(as a western dessert and mooncake skin as an eastern dessert). Hehehe.....

Actually fondant is someting wic looks nice, but does not taste nice...so more for show. If u r making for ur own family to use, use dairy/non dairy whipped cream, dun use fondant.

Coz after you cut the cake, you will keep opening and closing the cake box, to take out cake...so I reckon since the surface area is so big, it may turn dry faster?

Eileen Tan - i did the steam moist cake and it came out dry. Any ideas, is it my fire too big? or my steamer too hot? It did not rise well. So was a bit disappointed.Can advise?

Anyone has a better recipe to share? I dont dare post the picture as its horribly decorated. i need more practise and i need to buy more colourings.

I'm very new in baking and have been scrolling through all the nice photographs that your have posted. I've a question, hope that some of you can reply me. Sorry if i sound stupid.

If I cover the cake with fresh cream as topping, will i be able to decorate it with fondant cartoon? Wondering whether the fondant will be deformed by fresh cream.

Hi Peng,

You know what? After I posted the query, I was browsing through your blog and looking at the same link that you have provided over and over again. hehe.. Thanks for you fast respond
and also answer my next query on how not to make the fondant so "sweaty".

Any mummies know how to get pandan juice? I don't have a blender or food processor at the moment so I can't make pandan juice.
Does anyone know of any alternative to make pandan juice or buy it?

I've ard 4 packs of instant jelly powder bought from sunlik. Expire date, Nov 09. Dun think will finish using it b4 expiry. Bot at $3 .
Clearing at $2 each. If buy all, will throw in free normal post.

PM me if keen

Just wondering, what brand and model of oven are you using to bake?

I am in the midst of looking for an oven mainly for baking purpose.

Any input would be appreciated.

Thanx!

Mone, u need pandan juice for? If you want to make kaya or pandan cakes, can buy pandan essence. Nice meeting u today.

Kit, I am using Cruzino, but its built in.

Jandew: Nice meeting you too, your dog is so cute - very furry, can snuggle up to it in bed.

Actually, I want to make pandan snowskin mooncake for my MIL - she can't eat anything too sweet, oily and other things on her list.
My PILs don't eat western cakes so mooncakes are the only thing fine with them except no green tea flavour

Btw, the hello kitty set can also be used in an oven for baking cakes & cookies?

Mone
to make the pandan snowskin, you boil the pandan leave with water plus some pandan paste or green color will do. Then use this juice to add into the dough.

jandew, thanx for reply.

Too bad my house cannot accommodate built in oven. Any recommendations for stand alone ovens that can bake cup cake, brownies etc evenly? Thanx!

Eileen: Thanks for the 'lifesaver' tip
The pandan paste or colour has to be put in together with the leaves for boiling or is it after boiling?

Kit: Your budget is a factor, Bellings is a good recommendation-the bellings ovens have at least 2-3 racks. But if you're looking at
smaller ovens with no racks & with turntable, you might want to look at local brands like panasonic, sharp to do your comparison?

kit,
i juz got my microwave convection oven recently, i bought panasonic inverter, it's a combination of steam, microwave, gill & convection function, so far i find it not bad... infact when last time i was looking around i was recommended oven brand like rowenta & delongi.. said to be better coz they specialize in oven but i din get them coz i need more function due to space constraint in kitchen... however rowenta & delongi a bit ex (at least to me) coz they r juz an oven, if u hav budget concern maybe can look for tefal? and also u may wan to consider convection oven (with fan) coz it circulates heat faster & make browning more evenly? HTH...