Cup cakes for birthday

ya... why cream cheese oos?
i have 1 philadephia block in my fridge. Anybody wans can let me noe. no use for it at the moment.. hehehe...

eeyore, wont ur cookie be too soft? 3 yolk n 2 egg with only 445 flour.

mine only 1 egg, 250g butter, 400g flour + baking powder n 125g icing sugar

Baked Lotus Paste Mooncake

Before baking

3018862.jpg

After baking and packing

3018863.jpg
3018864.jpg

Mrs Teng, your baked mooncakes look like hotel standard wor!

Kendy, the silicon 4 HK mold can use to make mooncakes too? Ohh....shld ask Mone since she bot that recently.

Mone, are you there? Did u use the Hk mold to make moonies?

jandew.. not sure leh, silicon think not hard enuff?

mrs teng, really got hotel standard.. nice n shiny.. love the jelly goldfish as well..

Mrs Teng: Your mooncakes are so pretty and definitely hotel standard like kendy and jandew mentioned.
Reminds me a bit of Marriot Hotel.

Jandew: Haven't start using the silicon mould yet, will start using tomorrow as I'm still test-trialing.
The ones which I posted pict of - the skin was too soft to be able to stick to the paste, must have added too much liquid or
probably 'cause did not dust the dough with koh flour when kneading.

Will update status on the silicon mould tomorrow. Btw, is it the bakeable type? I asked about this in a earlier post.

Mone, I tink shld be able to...coz the website states up to 230 degrees?

Did your snowskin mooncakes turn harder after a few days? Shld dust your hand, working surface and mooncake ball with abit of kao fen.

Jandew: Ok I try again tomorrow and post pict of the results with the silicon mould.

Actually, I ate the test trial moonies after 1 day of chilling in the fridge as I don't have much time
left - Have to prepare some for a mooncake festival party this weekend.

Kendy, Mone, Fatmum

Thanks! But dun know how it taste yet.. Got to wait for a few days..

Fatmum

I used the push mould.. Very user friendly. Mould 10 moonies within an half an hour. It's the baking that's taking the bulk of the time.. esp the brushing of egg wash.. Got to do slowly otherwise there'll be egg bubbles and the surface won't look good.

kendy,
eh. its a bit soft but not too soft... still got the crunchiness there when i bake them. hubby and kids like it tis way... last time i bake some cookies, hubby commented too hard. so found a softer recipe so my youngest easier to eat too....

cdajun
U scroll up the thread, Cutie girl is selling siplat mat. Not sure if u keen.

Hammie thanks for the info.

jan
I don;t know Daiso selling so can;t compare. I have both silicone and siplat mat prefer the latter. Notice silicone went place in the oven somehow the mat turn crumble abit so think cant really withstand the temp. Hope this helps. Maybe other mummies with both mat can comment?

Jandew: Sorry for late reply on the HK mould.

I tried the HK mould using 1 test mooncake. Think it's not a suitable mould for making mooncakes as its made of silicon
which would not produce a firm the mooncake shape compared to a plastic mould. The hello kitty mooncake was 'dented'
near the mouth - not a pretty picture.

Finally get to eat my moonies, would be better if I let it rest for another day. But what the hack! I'm drooling all over it since Wednesday nite.

3025963.jpg

mrs teng,
your moonies are so pretty. bet they taste wonderful too! haiz.... would really like to bake some moonies too but just no time... can only do some snowskin but appearance oso not as nice as some mummies. tink i need more practice... hehehe...

PENG

Got the paste from kitchencapers.

Eeyore

Yeah! just need to practice more.. took me awhile to get the hang of it too!

Peng,
tried the steam moist choc cake in your blog. v good, yummy. thanks for sharing. and hands not pain from kneading. hahaha.

Mrs Teng
your mooncake looks very nice. I tried baked mooncake on monday but failed. Have to try again next week, hope can succeed.

Make snowskin mooncake and thousand layer flaky yam mooncake today. As my brother is vegetarian so I have to cook the yam filling myself. Then prepare some for my aunties also. The snowskin mooncake have yam paste, white lotus paste, red bean paste and black sesame paste filling. I like the box bought from KCT, hehe!

board-post.cgi
for my brother
board-post.cgi
for my aunt
board-post.cgi

1-0,
Such lovely moonies!! Your relatives are so lucky....still remember how good they taste esp. the thousand layer yam ones!!

Eileen

Although I dun really fancy yam but your 1000 layer moonies looks great! You baked or fried it?

all the best for your baked mooncake, remember to let the dough rest before you roll it out.

On average, usually it take 4 days to soften, mine already soften by the second day. Today's the 3rd day and they taste just fine.

Paging for Fat Mum: need your advice on how to pour jello onto the cheesecake so that it stays clear? how long after cheesecake set then can put strawberries and jello?

Breadmum, I put a layer of jello onto my sponge cake before.

What I did was set the jello separately and push it down onto the side of the cake and nudge it into place.

For cheesecake, shld wait at least 1 nite when cheesecake completely sets. Pour the cooled jello onto the cake, and refrigerate back in the fridge.

jandew - when i poured the jello, the fruits all float up, then the cheesecake scraps floated up as well. Now it looks like a murky mess. sigh.

Can i ask when is jello cooled, wont it already set somehow? sigh..failed attempt. only good for own consumption type.

Breadmum
hope I'm not too late. after finishing ur chesse layer. Place in fridge for 20-30mins. lay sliced strawberry on the cheese layer. press in slightly for the chesse to hold on the fruits. Then leave for another 2hrs for it to solidify. Once ok then can pour in the jello and serve when it solidify

very nice moon cake. The prints are very clear too.

my cookies
board-post.cgi