Cup cakes for birthday

hi all, can i join u all?

i luv baking too although very little experience only coz i dun own oven at home so only can make those non-bake cake like cheesecake & tiramisu... however i did attend 3 baking workshop recently, my wish is to bake a nice & pretty cake for my boys coming birthday esp my younger's 1st b'day! hehe...

btw, i'd tried to make a fondant cake last week, here's the pic...
2836043.jpg

i hav problem to keep & store the fondant covered cake, coz i realized tat when i put it in the fridge or in room temperature (with air con), the fondant will 'sweat' so i keep it in the freezer in the end... can someone tell me wat is the correct way to keep fondant covered cake??

Mrs Teng, cannot wor...my kitchen considered big liao. The rectangular longish type. Now got a breadmachine, rice cooker, slow cooker on the kitchen cabinet top, alr full house. I m hopeless I know! Keke.... I got lots of hidden gadgets like ice cream maker, yoghurt maker, deep fryer, blender and the usu stuff.

Jes, wat u r newbie in baking? But ur fondant cake is soooo pretty!!!!!!! *Eyes big big*

If I am not wrong, fondant cake cannot keep in the fridge coz it will sweat! So best that u make a cake that can dun keep in the fridge type, oso for the underlying cream dun use fresh cream, so else it will melt underneath.

Wat baking workshop do you attend? I sometimes attend CC classes too, or pte ones if they are of interest to me. But more keen on decoration classes. Hee.....

jandew,
u mean i can make a cake tat can leave in room temperature type & yet the fondant still won't sweat?? wat type of cake is the best? fruit cake? butter cake? actually i used sponge cake which was told it's wrong... ! hahaha...

and for the underlying cream, i use buttercream icing & yes, it melted underneath after i lay the fondant on it... so wat should i use to prevent this happening? think i really made a lot of mistake, still a lot of things to learn on baking, not easy... hahaa!

ya i attended those private baking workshop one, been to those tat making cheesecakes, cupcakes & chocolate cakes!

i'm thinking to go for wilton cake decorationg course... those attended b4 can tell me wat they teach for course 1? it is very simple & basic one?
is it must go?

one week din log n see so many new friends n nice cake!

This morning make a birthday cake for my niece. Make in a rush n lucky hb help me to do the deco.

2841260.jpg

CL, looks ok but taste wise not really that gd keke.....

10, so fortunate got hubby to help out. Today want bake some fruits tarts for my grandma birthday lao already give me kind of look

Mrs Teng nice cake out there. Can I check the cuppies & ice cream is chocolate or fondant? Nice!!!

Mrs Teng - i really like your cakes. So beautiful. i really envy your skills.

Eileen - your hubby is good. my hubby will not lift a finger when it comes to kitchen stuff, cooking, baking etc. He has only made agar agar and i have to majorly clean up after him.

jess - good job on the fondant

<font color="0000ff">Mrs Teng</font>,your bear cake is so nice! *Drools*

<font color="0000ff">*Waves to Fatmum, Breadmum and Eileen! I m new here, qing duo duo zhi jiao*</font>

<font color="0000ff">Jes</font>, another method is to make the cake(day before with frosting &amp; everyting) and the figurines beforehand. On the day itself you put the fondant &amp; figurines on top and quickly serve! Actually I am not so sure wor, coz I nvr made fondant myself....onli when I attend class, so what I tell you is based on what I read before. I tink the baking experts here can advise you beta. Yeah tink butter or fruit cake is good for fondant deco. Sponge/chiffon cake may sink if used for fondant I reckon.

<font color="0000ff">Eileen</font>, not bad ur dh can help u do deco. I made buttercream cupcakes on Fri nite, did till 5am nearly concussed. Will post pics soon. Keke...

Did anybody attend pink's cupcake class? I made vanilla cupcakes, somehow the texture was rather compact, duno izzit I overmixed the batter. *Ponders* Coz I duno where I placed the notes, now cannot find...can onli rely on recipe, so agar agar make onli.

Oso can teach me how to wash up those stuff after putting buttercream? Coz washing up was so tedious. I had fun decorating the cupcakes but dread washing up.

<font color="0000ff">Breadmum</font>,my dh is worse than yours, he cannot do anything in the kitchen. Ask him help hold cupcakes, he can swing the plastic bag. Gd ting they are nestling beri comfy inside, if not surely kena ruined. So everyting I do myself beta.

mrs teng,
wow ur cake is very very nice, envy envy... but how do u make the cuppie &amp; ice cream, all r edible rite?

btw, how do u normally keep &amp; store ur fondant cake so it wont sweat at all? wat is the cream u use for underlying?

breadmum,
thanks! my fondant cake looks nice but actually it is not ok coz the fondant 'sweat' everywhere &amp; underlying cream melts... haiz, so considered fail liao...

btw, here's the pic of some simple cupcakes tat i made them for the 1st time at home 2 days ago...
2841926.jpg

Jes, u used the Wilton grass tip 233 for your grass right? Duno izzit got cream stuck in the holes, my grass cun not come out properly wor....Hmmmm....

Can I ask do you all eat the fondant decoration? The fondant decoration that we made before the actual decoration will dries up hard, so is it still edible?

wow... all very nice creations!... 1-0... u very ONZ!!! immediately u bake liow!!!

mrs teng, do u use airbrush for some of ur fondants?

Mrs Teng,
can i ask you to do me a favour? Can you help me to do a minnie mouse figure with candle cos i cant find nice candle for my bb gal first birthday. Sorry to trouble you but i really search the whole Singapore but dont have nice one. I dont mind if you charge me. Pls.... thank you, I love your work so much. :)

Catika

Airbrush too expensive, still dare not invest in that, but with that I think I may be able to work wonders

Eilleen Chua

Candle ah! got to trial n error leh! never do before. When u need it?

Mrs Teng,

What cake did you bake for cake covered with fondant? Your cake look very solid to support all the fondant figurine.

Breadmum, u flying to Hkg? Coz I am conducting a cakediy.com bakeware BP now. Kekeke...You can go visit them, heard their shop is huge!

Made Hokkidao bread yesterday, top abit brown, looks rustic. Coz loaf tin was too near the top heat. Forgot that the bread is so tall, shld have put in bottom rack instead of middle. Blur me, so long din make bread liao.

jandew,
Where is your BP on cakediy? Can't find it in the BP thread.

Mrs Teng,
May I know what gum/paste do you use to paste the figurines and wordings on the fondant cake?

jandew - yes, am off to HK for a holiday in 2 weeks time. So i thought i should get the cute cutters i have seen you mummies using.
where's your BP. link pls.

Chicken Little - grest idea. thanks

Breadmum &amp; cookiepie, this is my cakediy BP link:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2831855.html

Have vanilla pods, musical birthday candles and WilXXX deco set too.

Mrs Teng, ask u hor, if I made cuppies using Wilton buttercream recipe, can I reduce the icing sugar used? Coz I alr reduced by more than 50% yet pple still say sweet.

But I know if I reduce icing sugar by too much hor, the cream is not so hard, which is not so desirable as it may melt during the journey out of my hse.

So I duno wat to do. Muahahahaha......

Breadmum, Hkg is gd for dim sum &amp; Xu Liu Shan(dessert shop famous for mango pomelo dessert...yummy). *Drools*

Cookiepie,My BP is closing on Thurs.

Now alr confirmed it as there are stuff I personally wan to buy fr cakediy.com so pls post your orders in my thread(if there is anything you wan) with pymt transfer, so we can get our items fast fast! Kekeke..

jandew

Very lovely and colorful cupcakes!!!

Guess you can encourage those who take the cupcake not to eat too much of the buttercream. Unless you use the buttercream recipe that calls for more butter and less sugar, but it'll be like those in the neighbourhood bakery shop where the taste of butter is soo strong that will put you off.

Maybe you can put lesser buttercream on your cuppies.

Eileen Chua

Let me try out before I commit, cos I dun know if my fingers can do such a tinu minnie
Let you know by next week? Cos this weekend got a big cake to do.. so will be abit busy these few days. Furthermore, tml got to bring my gals for their check-up..

Will try my very best!

Mrs Teng
Your cake is very nice, I like your cake. The bear looks like the forever friends bear. May I know how do you do the ice-cream and cupcake fondant figurines on your cake? There are so sweet. You must have spent alot of time doing and decorating the cake

Cookiepie

No need cornstarch, water can do also. Can also use glucose syrup or glycerine to stick.

Baywaters
It depends on what theme it is. Usually takes me 2 hours to roll fondant and assemble the whole cake. Figurines are usually made in advance.

Apple

The ice-cream and cuppies are made from mould meant for clay-art
But also can use fondant and make.. Very fun actually.

Hi, Mrs Teng
may i ask what you use to apply on the cake before you put the fondant...i try without applying anything...but failed...
Thanks in advance

Ravenouss11

For chocolate cake, I use buttercream, for fruit cakes I use apricot glaze den a layer of marzipan, den a layer of alcohol before the fondant.

Wow, the cakes look droolsome worthy to ogle and tempt others to eat as well. I don't have
enough practice with the piping decorations. Fondant wise, I haven't been experimenting with fondant
'cos I find that the fondant is not to my taste.

By the way, I bought mooncake shortening from Sun Lik earlier on in the afternoon but
forgot to ask the auntie there if the shortening can be put in the fridge or not as I worry
about ants. Can anyone advise whether mooncake shortening can be put in the fridge or not?

Also, do anyone know how to mix green tea
powder for snowskin mooncake?
It's my first time trying to learn how to do mooncakes.

For my rascals teachers. Some uses Royal icing while some uses fondant.Oops....pic 2 big sori sori!!
2857822.jpg
2857823.jpg
2857824.jpg

Dessert for my rascals
2857825.jpg

Fatmum,can I be your kids' teacher for just 1 day so I can eat the cookies? Lolx!

I love mango pomelo. Is pomelo available all year round or where did you buy it from? Coz when I make this, I omit pomelo, too ma fun...I am lazy. Kekeke....

Mone, I reckon ban you = shortening, can be kept at room temperature coz its not sweet and will not melt?

Coz hor, whatever that we see on the shelves in the shops, we can keep at room temp as well(that is what the Sun Lik uncle tells me). Unless they keep the item in the fridge, then we must keep in the fridge when we reach home. But your lotus paste and stuff, def have to refrigerate after opening if not your kitchen will end up with colony of ants

Fatmum

Wow! the cookies are lovely! Like the waffle effect on the ice-creams.. they looks extremely yummy! You used color-flow?

jandew, mone, Mrs Teng, 1-0, apple thanks. Tiring but fun doing this.

jandew I don't think pomelo can get round the clock. COs now near to mooncake festive so can find lots at fruit stall. Got mine from fruit stall

mone, ever since this hobby my weight and waist is shooting rocket high

Mrs Teng, for the waffle effect, i got no impression sheet ended up use recycle plastic cake base from a swiss roll hehe..

apple fondant still not so bad biscuit can stay crisp but royal icing got problem cos need to wait to dry b4 keeping so 'lao hong' easily