Cup cakes for birthday

Breadmum, u made me hungry with ur cuppies pics! *Drools all over the pc!*

Oh u oso go to the baking shop in XX to shop huh? Hehehe...Me too. Yeah I agree their baking tin quality is not that gd. I nvr buy their foodstuff, scared not nice or fresh. Hahaha.....

Din koe Ailin sells tiramisu mooncake filling. Wonder wat it tastes like. If anybody tries, muz update us hor?

I bookmarked your blog, so I can see bakes :p.

Mone, actually hor Sun Lik has lotus paste all yr around. I bot some fr them few mths back for making pao. Was actually ok, the paste was likely fr last yr mooncake festival. I reckon in order for lotus paste to have a shelf life of 1 yr, they put alot of sugar to preserve it.

Does anybody know whether we can find plastic push type mooncake moulds for little pigs? I onli saw wooden ones nia.

Vivien, if you dun wan so sweet lotus paste, go for the white type...they are less sweet. I alw buy white lotus, but they are usu slightly more ex compared to brown lotus.

Did anybody buy those new plastic mooncake moulds, wic come in many colours like grey, white, purple, blue etc? Coz I heard some pple comment that the mooncakes come out quite shallow. Saw at Sun Lik & KCT, costs $8.80 but it does not look very deep. Hmmm.... Seems that the push types are better? Other than Phoon Huat which sells their own orange coloured ones, does any other baking supplies shops carry them? I alw get them fr sprees wor.

Mrs Teng, oic...tot ur cake was so heavy! Hehehe.... I really enjoy feasting my eyes on your cakes, alw so pretty! You muz be very gd in art & craft last time in sch?

jandew: ....that is as good as 'recycling'... now I understand why the paste was not sealed when the auntie come out with the paste in a plastic bag. (feel a little
'dismayed' somehow 'cos for fresh paste sealed in packet, they sell above $10 per kg) You mention alot sugar is probably used to preserve the paste, then the paste
should be super sweet.(the brown one) Wierd it doesn't taste sweet to me. How does one tell the paste is not fresh - can enlighten a 1st timer like me?

I'm ordering those push type from e'sjoie, the imprints on those mooncakes are visible from the catalog, looks good. Hope it turns out good.

Btw, has anyone ordered from Teck Aik Kee, their paste before?

Mone,where is Teck Aik Kee? Nvr been there before.

Sun Lik has the paste in a big container or something,when u wan, they scoop into a bag for u. How much was the paste? Most of the time I dun rem,coz no price tag and most of the time no receipt too.

Oh those mooncake moulds I alr bot last yr, looking for other patterns. Hehe....

Jandew

I'm an accountant by training... never been a art student... so probably it's time for me to catch up with wat I've missed in school.

Jandew: I know you bought from Phoon Huat. :p

It's $12 per Kg for the paste, its stated in the receipt by Sun Lik as food paste.

Teck Aik Kee is at Defu Lane

Rgds, rum & raisin white chocolate truffle.

Anyone has the recipe to share? Can PM me pls? thks

Mone, hahaha.....I bot some fr Ebay too, the medium & small ones. U are stalking me, if not how you know? Kekekeke...Juz pulling your leg.

Wat does Teck Aik Kee sell? Its near my FIL's office wor.

Jandew: If im stalking you, it means im your no 1 fan other than your hubby wor.:p hehehe *joking only*

Check Teck Aik Kee's products here at www.teckaikkee.com

I got a reply from them on my enquiry about their product, only problem is their product comes in 5kg per packet. Their Green tea paste is
S$21.00 per packet (works out to be $4.20 per kg), while the red bean paste for soft bread and buns is $10.00 per packet and red bean
for biscuits is $14.00 per packet.

The lotus paste, Im not sure cos I didn't ask specifically about it. Too bad they don't have any tasting sample for their products. Actually, I was
thinking if anyone here want to buy Green Tea paste/Red Bean paste from Teck Aik Kee if their product is not bad, could share cost per kg. But
no review on them so I don't know.

Anyone knows where to get cheaper and good green tea paste?

Mone, for red bean, my baking class kaki recommended Sheng Song, tink $4.60 for 1 kg. They onli sell red bean paste.

Hmmm...I dun fancy green tea paste, if its lotus paste, I dun mind sharing. Coz assuming even if not nice, can alw use to make stuff like bao, so still ok.

U can try KCT for green bean paste, saw lots in their fridge/freezer that day, but duno how much. Din ask abt price. Lotus paste is abt $11 or $12, cun really rem. Tastewise was ok.

Wonder whether Teck Aik Kee's yam paste is as nice as what we make ourselves hor? *Ponders*

Din know red bean paste for buns and biscuits is different. Biscuits as referring to biscuits similar to Lao Po Bing type?

Oh btw duno whether u saw my thread, I posted my chip & dale mooncake pic there. Kekeke...But not beri high lor, quite shallow onli.

Blur, yes its the same. Dun worry, we are all here to learn from each other. Feel free to check back if you got any other queries ya!

Jandew: Only problem is I don't know whether I should proceed with my existing stock of lotus paste from Sun Lik?
kao_confused.gif

I'm half in a mind to get fresh lotus paste though - fickle minded hor?

I think the red bean paste for buns, bread is the moist type and the one for biscuit is most likely the drier type. Yeah I think Lao Po Bing
one. But the only deterrant is 5KG per packet - That is a big packet, sure cannot finish unles making over 50-100 mooncakes. For TAK's yam
paste, this one is not concluded unless anyone has bought from TAK before?

I saw your thread already on the Chip N Dae mooncakes, I have that cookie cutter. It reminds me a little of a hum chi peng, slightly inflated one side.

I bought the low sugar lotus paste from Kwong Chong Thye. Tried making snow skin mooncake with it last week. Tasty good, not too sweet. I like their blueberry lotus paste too, now considering getting in ....

Cookiepie, after u tried their blueberry lotus paste, let me know how it tastes like kie? Kekeke....

I tink these days most white lotus paste are not that sweet anymore.

Mone, hahaha....inflated Chip & Dale hum chi peng.

err... no one has any comment on oven??

anyone using Microwave Convection Oven at home? I heard this type of oven it's not so ideal for baking coz it will make your cake very dry... is it true??

Cookiepie, can sample? But beri sweet or not? When it comes to blueberry, I am quite fussy coz some blueberries tastes very sour or synthetic....kekeke......

Jess, I m using Cruzino built in oven, costs clsoe to $600 when I bot in 2006. So duno much abt microwave convention ovens.

Some of my gfs complained abt the microwave convention oven, that it caused uneven browning. But duno izzit coz their ovens were bot quite a few yrs back when technology was not so gd. Now it seems ok?

Mone, can do me a favour? The last time I saw plastic mooncake moulds, not like the push type wic we were talking abt earlier. Its those flatter ones,comes in white, grey, blue and purple colours. Cost $8.80 at Sun Lik & KCT. Can check for me on the thickness? Coz I got one, somebody gave to me...duno whether its same type. The imprints are quite deep, so quite nice. But seems that the height is abt 3cm or so, like abit short lor. Can see whether got anyting deeper? Thx hor!

You are talking abt the silicon mold fr my spree #1?

mone,
i'm also looking at Panasonic Inventer Convection Microwave Oven but with additional function of Steam... but the sales person told me tat it's not so good esp comes to baking coz the cake will turn out dry coz it is using 'light blub' heat instead of 'metal stick'... very chim laa!

btw i saw urs is turn-table type one rite? my neighbour told me tat this one not good coz will cause uneven browing, do u encounter this problem so far?

jandew,
haiz... i also wish to hav a built in oven but not possible, my kitchen space is damn small, and not even can accomodate a separate oven & microwave...

my neighbour only told me that those oven that comes with turn-table one will cause uneven browing, so i wanted to go for those microwave convection oven tat wide & flat turntable but dunno good or not...

peng,
urs is with or without turntable in the center one? if really so then i'll stick to my original plan... buy a microwave convection oven, yeah!

Jandew: the plastic moulds there are not alot and about the same size as those at Sun Lik actually. I saw alot of those wooden moulds in comparison

Yep talking about the silicon mould from your spree.
I sampled the blueberry but taste ok leh, it's actually blueberry cranberry paste.
They have green tea paste, black sesame paste, durian paste, chempedek paste, apple green paste, strawberry paste, red bean paste.

Jess, It comes with a round turntable. Actually, the round turntable also helps in ensuring that the batter is cooked properly as well. I don't have a problem
with browning. Below is my cheesecake done a couple weekends ago. Hope this helps for reference

2891983.jpg
2891984.jpg

Jess: for dry cakes, it could be due to high temperature. Different brands/types of oven have varying temperatures and it will be a little inaccurate to follow the
temperature in the recipe. It is better to drop 10-20 degrees from the temperature stated in the recipe that way.

If unsure, you can buy an oven temperature to check the temperature of the oven.

Another factor is the type of the cake- Light and heavy cakes. Light cakes are sponge cakes as they're airy and softer while heavy cakes are moist and slightly dry.
Eg; Sara Lee pound cake is the moist type.

Thanks, I'm sure you will bake an even delicious cake when you're started on baking. Just post the picture for me to drool in exchange? keke

Jess: Paiseh, I meant to say Oven Thermometer, not oven temperature.

This oven thermometer will tell you what is the temperature the oven is at when its on. So you can be sure whether the heat is too high or low for your cake

Thanks Mrs Teng for ur info.

Mone, are the mooncake height of the height that you will buy(since I know u dun like ur moonies to turn out like hum chi peng)? If can pass your test, sure can pass mine! Hehehe......

Your kitchen looks big?

Jandew: The moulds I saw at KCT was more or less similar to the ones at Sun Lik, so didn't buy any moulds from KCT 'cause I have one mould from Sun Lik waiting to
be tested out. Will give you my feedback on the height part at a later time.

But too low, I won't buy 'cause not worth making till it don't resemble my ideal mooncake.
Actually, my kitchen is 1 long rectangular shape, it's probably
consider big for others maybe? But not for me 'cos cannot fit in a kitchen island.

Mone, u muz be a perfectionist hor? Keke.....kie, u update me later on. Wat type of mold did u buy fr Sun Lik? Is it like the type I described earlier?

Wow ur kitchen sounds like mine? Haha.... I like!

Jandew: Unfortunately not, Im not a perfectionist even if I try to make it look good.
I'm actually a klutz at heart.

The mould is exactly what you described. I bought the white colour with the imprint of a flower shape & chinese characters. Just
measured the mould height, its 3.3cm & diameter is 8cm. I think a smaller diameter size would be nicer.

Psst... you stay where huh, it sounds like we're in the same area like that.

Mone, I stay in central, I mentioned my hse location somewhere.

But we bot our flat quite cheap in end 2005, before the ppty boom. Hehehe......

Mone, I m close to the west side tho...kekeke....

Supposed to make baked skin mooncakes today, end up surfing Net whole day. *Faintz*

Jandew: would that be somewhere like queenstown/redhill? It's the nearest to town by 5-10min drive.

Weekends are supposed to be lazy. You reckon snowskin mooncake made with both kao flour &
tang mien flour will last longer than a week compared to those made with kao flour only?

Mone, hahaha...I live in TB lor.

Yeah tried making snowskin with kao flour & tang mien flour(very small qty only). However I may have dusted my fingers+mold with too much gao fen(to prevent sticking). End up they turned hard after 3 days. Last time they can last more than 1 week w/o turning hard. *Sobz*

Bake this Oreo Cream cake for a friend of 27 years. Got to brush up my decorating skill. Hope can try on fondant cake this day
2897368.jpg

Prepare some honeydew sago.
2897369.jpg

Jandew: Looks like I have to practice 1 week before the actual day I be making mooncakes if I want to get the consistency right.

Fatmume: your cake looks soo tempting.
kao_drool.gif

Can I join? I love baking too. Hoping to bake two cakes for my son's bday and my hubby bday (on the same day!) My son likes Ben 10 and my hubby likes a simple chocolate cake. I was thinking of a chocolate cake with chocolate ganache. And I will be doing a fondant cake for my son. It will be my 1st fondant cake! Quite nervous. worried wont turn out rite. Does my cake has to be chocolate? I was thinking of making a sponge cake with chocolate buttercream and fondant. Any comments?

I need help too. Cant seem to find black paste to color the fondant. Anybody noes where to find? Try phoon huat in Hougang but dun ave...