Cup cakes for birthday

fatmume, I agree about the weight part. The lovely thing is, all the sweet stuff makes you feel good and the bad thing is after
all that eating and checking the weighing scales is a nightmare-truly a guilt trip.

Jandew, like Mrs Teng mentioned, you can try buttercream. There are 4 types of buttercream. American buttercream,
Italian meringue buttercream, Swiss meringue buttercream and french buttercream. I saw something on french mousseline
buttercream before but never did this type so cannot comment.

I've done American buttercream and Italian Meringue buttercream.. American buttercream is known as simple buttercream.
It should be the one used in cakeshops, too buttery & no distinct taste.

Italian Meringue buttercream is buttery but has a distinctly sweet taste. Swiss Meringue buttercream is the one that has more
consistency and is sweeter than the Italian type I think. Both are also considered stable buttercream

Most importantly.. the butter has to be of good quality. French butter is the best I've tried.

Talking abt weight gain, I actually lost 1 kg this week! Coz I din bake anyting...

Mone, I made buttercream using butter, shortening and icing sugar. This shld be considered as the American buttercream rite? I find it super sweet, so I cut down on the sugar, as a result my cream does not stay hard for that long. Oh yeah, I use French butter for some of my baking too. Ex but nice. Hehehe.....

Fatmum, ic...but u know those dessert shops hor, they alw got pomelo in their mango desserts, wonder issit they have supplies fr special source. *Ponders*

What is apple fondant? I know of marshmallow fondant, but nvr heard of apple fondant. *Sua ku me* Muahahahahaa......

Jandew

Yes that is American Buttercream. Mine was done with a different twist. I substituted milk for the shortening as I didn't have it that time. But it held pretty fine
for the piping.

The shortening acts as a stabiliser for the buttercream but because the proportions are based on american standards,
not asian standards so have to recalculate the proportions for asian standards though.

That is why local bakeries don't use sweet buttercream. It's already hard catering to a wide customer base.

Personally I prefer Italian meringue buttercream to american buttercream as it is not very sweet but has a better taste though.
Which is why I switched to Italian Meringue. As for Swiss Meringue, I will have to make this at a later time to see which fares better,
the italian or swiss meringue.

French butter has higher butterfat content so it helps for making buttercream. Not to mention french butter taste so heavenly on toasted bread, croissants
during breakfast. I had this in france last time but the savoury experience is tantalising. After that, I never looked at other butter types made from
other countries in the same way - It is worth the money to buy french butter only if the baking is for your close loved ones.

hi all, quick note here....

i'm keen <font size="+2">exchanging NTUC POINT</font> with my creations.
for those who know my nmbrs, pls sms me... or PM me.
<font color="0000ff">pls do not express your interest at here.</font>

can exchange with japanese style fruits tart, cupcakes, Hello kitty snowskin mooncake, simple fondant cake.

for the cupcakes &amp; fondant whole cake, the cake texture IS NOT those hard type, it's BUTTER base BUT soft, spongy and fluffy texture, and it's home made fondant, not using those ready-use outside selling one. see the below texture of the cake:
2869151.jpg

2869152.jpg

2869153.jpg

2869154.jpg

2869155.jpg

ah yes.... 90% of this cake deco done by my 10yo dd

it's a gift for my muslim fren.
i would like to take tis opportunity to wish all muslim mummy, happy fasting month. God blessed !
2869156.jpg

Here's the so-call big project I was talking about... I promise I'll not do again.. It was sooooo tiring!

2870808.jpg

2870809.jpg
2870810.jpg

Here's another for a good friend's birthday..

2870811.jpg

Wow very nice leh.... the mickey and friends.
Great Job Mrs Teng!!!
Where you get the mickey and friend cake topper?

Eileen

Hi Janedew,

Can I check with you, is the Hong Kong cakediy shop easily accessible and do they have ready stock of items in the shop? My sister in law is going back to Hong Kong for holiday, so thought of asking them to get stuff for me.

CatiKa, eh not really chim. Just sharing what I know cos I mostly make buttercream for cakes. Im not good with fondant as Mrs Teng.
Really pei fu. Can make so many pretty fondant cakes.

Eileen Tan

I'm not very good also.. you're just too humble.

Btw, most of the fondant cake base I made are also steamed.

wow wow. Ladies - beautiful cakes.Just looking at them makes me all inspired. Am looking forward to my break to try baking.Bust me, have been working my butt off.

Mrs teng - i simply love your mickey creations.

need advise from u ladies...

due to space constraint in my kitchen, i intend to buy a microwave convection oven, any good recommemdation? or any negative comment on this kind of microwave cum oven type?

Fatmum...hehehe...

Vivian, not so sure coz I have nvr been there before, altho I spreed a few times fr there before. Maybe you can google for the address. Some of their items maybe oos, but I reckon if website says oos, means shelf also dun have? That is what I think la.

Mrs Teng, ur Mickey Mouse cake is so so so grand! Impressive wor. How did you transport the whole cake? Or you assembled it there?

Vivian
I kapo a bit, according to my friend went to the cakediy b4 said the shop is very small n quite far from city. She always go to Shanghai street which there are many shops selling baking items.

Jandew

I place cake in a cake box and place on my lap while hubby drove me to the party venue.. Imagine carrying a 10kg baby, that's all!

Eileen, sounds like somewhere beri ulu hor. Kekeke....

I got a friend in China, I asked him whether baking stuff are cheap, since he is oso into baking but he told me surprisedly China does not have many pple keen on baking at this moment, so dun have such stuff. He says will go look for those commerical pancake waffle machine when he is back in China next week. Told him I oso wan one. Muahahaha......

Mrs Teng, wow, I can imagine. *Faintz* The cake was to serve how many pple?

Mrs Teng : You never cover the cake when its in the cake box? In a posting earlier on the Bakel fondant, How do you get it to harden a bit, something like sugarcube shape after the design,colour is done?

Jandew: I thought the people in china bakes since there's wife biscuit, traditional cakes that sort.

Jandew

Believed it was able to serve about 80 ppl.

Mone

I did cover the hold cake box.

Use 50/50 gumpaste and fondant.. will be able to harden within a day.

Mone, duno leh...maybe they bake those stuff that dun need any moulds or equipment? Hehehe.... Coz I asked him whether got cute cookie cutters and all the stuff, he said dun have wor!

I have started my Bp # 2. Kekeke...

Meanwhile, I will try to source for HK mooncake molds, altho I tink the search may end up fruitless. If manage to find any, will update u. *Winkz*

Mrs Teng, I tink can serve more! 10kg is a huge cake. For me 3kg cake wic I bring to church can serve ard 60. So your cake can serve abt 200. If 80 pple, serving will be huge.

Maybe you can explore wedding cakes, believe there is a gd market for it too. Hehehe....

Will be bz experimenting how to make baked mooncakes. Hahaha..... An area I dared not step into in the past.

Jandew : Have you looked at esjoie's mooncake mould? It comes with interchangeable faces, It will be more worth to source for these type - cheaper to buy than
getting separate moulds with non-interchangeable face. 1 mould is already exp.

I finally bought green tea essence, going to try my 1st attempt at flavoured snowskin mooncakes. Im drooling already.

Wedding cakes are quite popular, if you search online, they have those fondant wedding cakes with intricate floral &amp; lace patterns all over.

Mone, I alr got those mooncake molds, bot last yr. Haha.... Now looking for big ones push type, taller mould, the one I have is too shallow.

Jandew: How shallow are those mooncake moulds? What is the cost for those moulds btw? I think tall mooncakes - means more lotus paste filling right?

I was thinking it would be nice to come up with a personalised insignia for the mooncake moulds. At least can know who made the mooncakes personally

Mone, its 2.8cm. Bot it fr Phoon Huat, cun rem the cost but prolly less than $15 I guess. Oh yeah of coz use more lotus paste lor...but looks nicer. Too flat look like hum chi peng. Haha.....Rem our talk abt mooncakes looking at hum chi peng in my thread?

Hmmm...sounds like name stamp to me. Hehehe....I think Hkg may have such service but Sg dun have. You know those hotels hor, they specially get 'shifus' in Hkg to crave their moulds, that is why their moulds all the prints swee swee one....beri pretty. I like moulds with deep imprints. The deeper the prettier. But now the push type moulds dun really have deep imprints wor. Onli the wooden ones have.

Yep I remember the hum chi peng part in your thread.

Something like a name stamp but a picture stamp. You notice those hotels, their moulds have different pattern design as a logo that why their mooncakes looks very nice.

Take Bakerzin, I had a double take at their mooncake colours &amp; the pattern, so pretty. If HKG have, let me know.

Mrs Teng,

You said your fondant cake is mostly steamed cake, so how does it taste? Any difference from baked cake? How long can steamed cake store in room temperature? Do you still cover the cake with buttercream before you covered with fondant?

Mone,kie, if I manage to find anything, will update u!

Vivien, I be kpo abit and ans the 1st part for u since I steamed choc cake and banana muffin before. It tastes steamed, abit like huat kueh texture, but not the hard huat kueh, its the softer type.

I prefer baked ones. Hahahaha...but it all boils down to personal preference, as steamed cakes are less 'heaty'.

Jandew

The cake was heavy bcos of the amount of fondant used.

Vivien

the steamed chocolate cake is similar texture and taste to Lana and Awfully Choc.

If using fondant, need to apply a layer of buttercream, otherwise fondant will melt.

Jandew,

That's what I'm thinking of also, if the cake is steamed, will it taste like kuih instead of cake. But as what Mrs Teng said, it's like Lena cake, maybe will try to make one and see how it taste.

By the way, anyone knows where to get not so sweet pure white lotus paste and yam paste. Thought of trying to make mooncake.

Vivien: Sun Lik has nice lotus paste in brown and white colours. They have samples that you can taste first before you order which
paste to get.

Their paste is not that sweet. Phoon Huat don't have samples for their pastes so I can't ascertain the taste. Both Sun Lik and Phoon Huat
sell their paste in 1kg packet only.

Breadmum: that open sesame character, where do you get that?

Vivien
Kwong Chong Thye has many types of mooncake paste and also have some low sugar one. You can sample it n some are sold in 500g.

Mone, Eileen

Thanks for the info, I'll go and taste the sample before buying it.

Fatmum,

Gumpaste is more for flower making and they turn dry and hard easily. Fondant will not turn dry and hard.

If you want to mix them, just mixed in equal portion and knead them together.

Btw, the lotus paste sold at Sun lik is $12 per Kg while the one by Phoon Huat is $12 or $13 per Kg. I was at the clementi branch of Phoon Huat today, I believe
they just got stock for mooncake stuff. Sun Lik already have gotten their stock earlier since I bought from them a week ago

Mone - my colleague just bought the paste from Sunlik and she say its not fresh. Must ask them if its freash stock.

the elmo character is ordered and in it comes in sticker format. B-I-Y can do base on what u submit to them.

I just checked the paste I have in the fridge and it tasted fine. Even my hubby thinks the same.

How to tell if it is fresh or not like this?