Cup cakes for birthday

kendy,

Your butter cookies looks nicely baked! So nice! I have the cutters too but cant seem to find a good butter cookie recipe. Care to share?

Kendy: fwahhhh.. the butter cookies look tempting. Can I have some?
kao_love.gif

Oven Thermometer can be bought at B-I-Y, Phoon Huat. I think the price is S$15, can't remember the exact price cos I bought
mine from B-I-Y over a year ago Others like Sun Lik, Im not sure cos I never see the thermometer there.

Hi Mrs Teng,

Saw you dwn with flu... take care! My whole family dwn with flu last week too!
Actually need your advice. If I wan to do fondant covered cake, what cake should I do? I would want to add chocolate buttercream in between but I dont wan a chocolate cake.

Paiseh, my qns may sound dumb but coz this is my 1st fondant cake. Heard sponge cake may be too soft for fondant.

eeyore

light Fruitcake or buttercake is a good option.. Even those bengawan Solo type of marble cake also can. But for fruit cake you need to glaze and put a layer of marzipan before the fondant.

Buttercake or marble cake would go well with chocolate buttercream. But remember you can't use white or light colored fondant bcos the chocolate buttercream will be quite visible..

Mrs Teng,

THANKS SO MUCH for your reply! Okie, will bake a butter cake then. Just normal butter cake will do hor. Thanks for your tips too!

Rest well!

mrs teng, cakediy. think range ard hk30-40.. den gota + shipping charge & TT fee to hk.. didnt wana wait so never order frm bp..

hee...jst wanna share the new plates my friend bought for me at 50%. So sweet hor!!! Don;t know when will get the chance to use it haha..
2906033.jpg

Fatmum, ur plates are so pretty...where did your friend get them fr?

Kendy, snowskin moonies..*yummy* Choc flavour issit?

jandew, frm aussino.Cute hor!

kendy, u using the egg mould right? May I asked the amount of skin and paste you use? cos at times mine turn out more peng
. Thanks

hi kendy

if u are buying some more items from cakediy, do let me know.. would like to get the cutters to make food look attractive for my kids. Unfortunately i cant read chinese :p

Sunblockash, you can join my spree. Dropped u a PM.

Mone, me baking baked mooncakes now.

1st moonie din watch time properly, got burnt. End up eating the lotus paste inside dun waste.

2nd one, oven temp not hot enuff, end up wearing 'skirt'.

Aiyoh baked mooncakes are really so hard to achieve perfection man.

*Sweats*

Jandew: your description of the mooncake 2nd time wearing 'skirt' makes me laugh 'cause the very image of a mooncake wearing a
skirt in my mind gives new meaning to a comedy skit.

Sounds difficult to do baked mooncakes. I forgot to buy red bean paste to make daifuku. Going back to KCT for it. The shipment reach yet?

Mone, 2 boxes are on their way to us. But got some items oos, so when I rec'd will sort first, then wait for the oos items to arrive nez week or so, with my # 2 batch 1 items.

Yeah the wearing skirts part is the description quoted by my baking instructor.

Gtg to try out another recipe nez few days, abit bo gan yuan lor. Hahaha.... Muz try till I succeed.

Before baking they look very nice, but after baking.....

But tastewise still ok la, so its the appearance that needs improvement, since I m making them for my ILs, parents, n close family frenz. Wan to give them as gifts, so muz make sure looks swee swee. If not, I prolly have to give them snowskin type lor. Hee.........

Kendy,

Where u bot the lotus paste? Duno where hv nice white lotus paste, last yr bot the mooncake maker din make any out of it. This yr must (try la) to use them to worth the $$ i spent.

Jandew: Jiayou le, I'm sure you can do it.
How many are you intending to give away?

Great to hear that about the shipment, hope it reaches early. hee

ice.. got it frm kct.. sil work opposite.. so i don have to make the trip down :p

baywater.. sorry. i selling those so not able to share. hope u understand.

Jandew: Saw this plastic mould with handle showing shape of a pig at KCT this afternoon. Didn't see any push type mould of pig.
This one most likely can put maybe 30g filling cos the mould is not that deep. Can see the flat plastic moulds behind?

2916043.jpg

Mone, actually the brown skin mooncakes taste beta now after a few days of sitting ard, skin is no longer so hard.

But muz experiment again, so they will stop wearing skirts. Hahaha........

Duno how many to make to give away, maybe abt 5 boxes? Give in stages, so no so xiong. Hahaha....

Maybe will drop by KCT later, backside itchy again! N wan to buy some mooncake containers, those with cover type.

*Now in super mooncake craze*

I tink I overkneaded the ping pin mooncake dough, coz after finished kneading, I divided into 3 portions to add diff colours and knead again. End up skin is too hard.

Jandew: mm I've no experience with pingpi mooncakes. Tomorrow then start practising, hope I have more success with the flavours I have in mind.

After I left KCT yesterday, I realised I forgot about the melon seeds even though I already have pine nuts. -_-"

Anyone knows where to get low sugar lotus paste??? That day I went in to JB to get the low sugar lotus paste to try. It's really not sweet, but lazy to go in JB again to buy. So anyone know where to get those really stated low sugar lotus paste???

jandew.... saw ur problem wif mooncake wearg skirts.... hope u dun mind I give u my 2 cts' worth of thots. The skirt is becoz ur skin at the side is too thick. Tatz y when baking in oven, the excess will slip down. Hope it helps.

Juz by chance, hw much r the mooncake boxes? tot of buyg some to give away this yr.

CatiKa: Thanks but the melon seeds at sheng siong and NTUC are not unshelled right? I'm looking at unshelled ones so that don't
need to shell in advance. hee.

Vivien: Kwong Cheong Thye have low sugar lotus paste(white colour)and low sugar green tea paste.

Tulip, yeah either skin too thick or oven temp not hot enuff, or maybe both? Kekeke..... This time I will increase the lotus paste qty and reduce skin amt. Appreciate your pointer, so I can improve.

I bot a goldfish plastic mold...muz try out soon!

So many pple at KCT wor! All buying diff types of paste for moonies.

Wic type of boxes are u referring to? Normal paper boxes, assorted designs are 5 for $3. Those high class boxes are $5+ for 1 box(4 big mooncakes in 1 box) or $2.80 for 2 big ones in 1 box. I went down to buy those plastic cases so mooncakes can keep longer, they also sell those.

Bot some special wine lotus paste...so excited to try it out. They have at least 15 types of paste fr lotus, red bean, coffee, chocolate, strawberry, chempedek, cranberry red wine, red wine, white grape wine, green tea etc. I see until luan! Gd ting can sample.

no problem kendy ">

I'm very into cookies recently...can anyone pls teach me how to get the cookie paste out of the cookie cutter??

I keep hvg the problem of getting my cookie cutters messy with all the paste....so messy n my cookies look distorted after that... haha

jandew... wher is KCT? See a lot of mummies here tok abt tis place, bt neber see the location. heee. Btw.. watz the smallest packaging size the paste comes in? I've got 2 kg of paste in my house... bt it's quite sweet. So tot I cld buy the not-so sweet ones to mix. So kinda worried buy too much then whole house full of paste..... kakakaka

Hope u can make perfect moonies tis time!

Those high class boxes are only good to buy if its from high class hotels/bakeries. Furthermore, homemade mooncakes don't have brand name..
not totally worth it to buy high class boxes. Paper boxes will do as long as look decent enough.

Baywater479240: did you flour your cookie cutters first before cutting? Actually you should
flour your worktop before rolling the dough on it and the cutters must be floured before cutting the dough.

Tulips: KCT=Kwong Cheong Thye is at 61-63 Lorong 27 Geylang off Sims Avenue S(388186).
Smallest packet is half kg. They also carry 1kg packets too. I think the biggest I saw ever is 5kg?

hi baywater, like wat Mone mentioned u need to dust ur cutter with flour. In addition u will also need to rest your dough in the fridge for abt 1/2 hr before rolling out to cut. This will aid in the cutting. Hope this helps.

Yes mooncake the in thing for this month haha
Made this mango +greentea+ chocolate. Sound complicated hor haha...the skin is using mango puree, while the filling is green tea + chocolate
2920545.jpg

Vivien did you get yours from Ng Ming huat? I saw it but never buy. So its nice? I love the price cos its in RM keke...

fatmum, Yummy~ How's the taste like? I'm curious, how do you infuse the mango puree(unsweetened?) into the snowskin?
I'm drooling practically over every 'treat' online leh.

Hi Fatmun,

yes, i bought the paste from Ng Ming Huat. To me, it doesn't taste too sweet. But have yet to let my mum to try, cos she's a diebaties, not able to take sweet stuff. If she said ok, then should be fine.

By the way, check with you, I've made the baked mooncake, but after baking, it's very hard and yet it's not golden brown. Can share with me any receipe that can bake beautiful golden brown and soft mooncake. Thx in advance.

Tulip, KCT is very near Aljunied MRT. The first time I went, I got lost duno walked until where....coz I rem pple tell me near to the shop is the famous Teck Kee or wat bao. End up realised its so near the MRT only.

They are opened till 7.30pm duno izzit during this season only. And Sundays oso opened, usu closed on Sundays. For paste, you can buy 1/2 kg, same price if you buy 1kg. So you can juz buy 1/2 kg if you are making abit onli, dun have to stock up too much.

Mone, true la....we buy our own moonies and give to our ILs or parents, no need give such nice box, waste of $. Hahaha....

Vivien, how much was the paste at Jb? I saw but din buy. Too many other tings to distract me liao.

I feel these days white lotus paste is not very sweet. Or perhaps I got sweet tooth, so it dun seem that sweet to me. Hee.... But I bot lotus paste fr Sun Lik, Phoon Huat and KCT, all seem ok to me...Phoon Huat lotus paste is browner compared to the other 2.

For brown skin mooncakes, muz eat after 3 days or longer, so by then the oil alr come out, and skin turns softer. I read that some recipes use thick soya sauce, to achieve the dark brown colour. Duno whether u r game to try. I will be trying that out soon, will let you know if it works! Keke......

Baywater, sometimes it depends on your cookie doughs. Some of my cookie doughs cannot use cutters too, esp those with high butter content. The dough can only make into balls, and flatten with a fork.

Jandew: Usually before going to an unfamiliar place, I check it out using streetdirectory. There's a map and you can see the
nearest identifying landmark or whether the nearest mrt is near or far. But for those who drive, its not a problem.

You know the famous tai chong kok at chinatown? Their paper box is normal chinese pattern type, as for the other nicer ones
they have.. I'm not sure whether its for big clients who order in bulk?

But their mooncakes are quite good, not overpowering or sweet. Can compete with others on taste, quality skill. It's not really
important for packaging as long as quality, taste is good.

I thought the golden syrup is supposed to aid in giving the mooncakes that brown look when baked?

I always go JB and I pass by Ng Ming Huat several times before - It's quite near crystal crown hotel right?