Cooking Tips & Recipe

choc
no lah, never complain. This neighbour v giao one. Recently a new neighbour who shares the same parking entrance with them block a little of their gate (They dont own a car) They start to make a big fuss and place their dustbin in the middle of their gate.

Priscilla

Your mum pineapple tarts must be very nice....can share with us the recipe?

Regarding nasty neighbour...just have to bear with it....what to do..when we moved here, they were not there yet...

Van

Everytime i login i am so hungry, so many nice food here. chocolate moist and yummy, Viet dishes also one of m favourite....u gals really very good leh.

this week while i m back trying to go on a diet, too much curry and stuff make me fat . Well for one i m not those slim type now even worst.tat why i can made nice sarees :D

Sophie, next trip i will try to take some pics for u ok. Not very long lah in another 2wks time , i m going back there again

These few days i hv been making diff type of porridge formy DS. he got cough so cannot take cereals liao. me running out of ideas what he can eat and not.

Ambrosial, what a COOL cat!! :D
eh u so good got such luck.

Van, no lah if like Lana cake my hb will eat more already.. at the end hor, the maid and I eat most of it.
About being SAHM, let me go back to work & see how is the situation first. And also hope the company share go up then i can shake leg liao..

choc, wow sounds delicious, i like the idea to keep the suace for dry noodle

U know i like dried noodle, sometime buy dry wanton noodle outside, i HATE they put the tomato sauce in instead of the oh-lu-lu sauce
. but i find not many got the sauce, if u say dun put tomato and dun want chilli, end up u have the noodle with some oil, that's it.

hmm... may be i can plan one of the day cooking this soya sauce chicken and keep the suace for the following day wanton noodle, yummy!

sophie, BF only u and your baby, nobody can replace u mah..
i have that feeling we so closed to each other and miss he feel asleep while sucking. Now no more cos he will suck and can't get much will get frustated and that is, cry for bottle milk liao.

The Joyful parenting did call me back, basically the secret is to either let him latch on, or use pump to simulate the sucking 8 time per day. For the first 5-6 days u might not see any improvement, but after that the milk flow will be back.
Dont worry i am sure you can BF totally.
If i have another one i will definately follow the rules to pump when he is not latch on.

These few days i am so tired and lazy...

My elder one, recently want me to sleep with him.
Normally is after story time, after he fall asleep,i will leave him with daddy, then i go to didi's room sleep together with the maid. As the maid do the night feeding.

But recently he wake up at 2 or 3am walk to didi's room and say want me to sleep with him. Then no choice got to company him back to his room. I tried sneak out again, but he came back and look for me, aiyoh...

I found the cute cat animation online.Haven't got the time to photoshop Sally's pics.

Sophie,

Yup we won an Ixus.I'll save the money for a DSLR then heeee!

Van,

I am deciding between N70 Music Edition and N73 and the difference is about 200 dollars.Not sure if I need something as sophisticated as N73 since I am only using for calls, smses and emails.Handphone is going to be a gift from my hub.

Haven't really played much with my Ixus, but so far so good.
Did you use flash for your night pictures?Your cybershot has a night-mode function?You can repair your existing night pics using Curves in photoshop.You have photoshop?I can pass you the software maybe one of the weekends.

LittleCat,

we won a portable dvd player just a few months back heee

Little cat,

very tired for u leh and u still can take it well. I already cannot tahan when my DS wake up and sit in his cot just call and check whether i m around, i hv to wake up and pat him back to sleep. he can do that few times in a night

really busy so din really come in.

ambrosial
i m using N70 now. like what someone said earlier, the shutter speed is really slow. but i find that quite common in nokia phones. so far i find motorola and samsung camera function better. really liked the motorola one when i was using it.

i liked the 3G function too as my hb has a 3G phone too and sometimes when i m out i can still see my son by making video calls. other than that, i dunno how to use the rest of the functions.

sophie
how are u doing? hope everything is coming on smoothly.

pris,
settle down already? sounds like u have been making a lot of yummy food.

twinklestarry
my son also wake up a few times each night last time. he was waking up min 3 times a night and i still ahve to work the next day. after a while i got so used that i can't sleep properly at night. thankfully he has stopped that habit after i stopped bf and now only wakes up once a night.

how old is your boy?

Sophie...will try to take pictures of it if the pineapples survive the trip here and are in one piece....you know what I meant.

Joy...haahaa...the pineapple tarts is a family secret haahaa....Grand only passed down to all the daughters in the family so even my uncle's wife does not know the ingredients in there haahaa...

SY...yea, have settled down here since we are very familiar with this place just that need to get new furnitures and stuff.

Hi Pricilla

Its okay...I understand...Even my mil who is a true blue peranakan will not part with her cooking recipe too...everything she so call teach is tell you agar agar but will miss out something....so I have to trial and error and find it out....For all I know, she will always want hers to be the best in town...hahaha

Van
Yet to see how your princess look like, snap a pic that she is in uniform?I did that for deanna and its always a good memory for their first day in primary school....

Good day all

Joy...other dishes are okay but we are specially instructed not the pineapple tarts. And we have to keep the words given to my grand.

And we do not sell them as we are always making for ourselves as well as share with friends.

Priscilla

Your grandma is interesting...My mil is due to she is really good in her cooking skills and she is worried that other will cook better than her and no more praises for her....To me, its okay as she has her reason to keep her secret recipe...

Wow, all these talk of pineapple tarts made me drool

Today cannot tahan anymore and bought a tub of it from Glory - not bad for something commercially made!

LittleCat,
I saw the pics of your ds2.
Looks more like you issit?
You didn't shave him at one-month old?

Thanks for the tips from Joyful Parenting on bf - but 8 times a day! Hope I got stamina man!
I hope to have some privacy when bf leh... hopefully my MIL will not stay in the same room as me!
My friend told me her MIL actually squeezed her breasts and asked if she has enough milk! **faintz**
Then her MIL asked her FIL to come into the room to see baby when she was bf-g!
What a nightmare!

Van,
You bought the waffle maker from Tokyo? Looks good! Somehow the Belgian waffles are nicer than the normal ones... dunno why?

starry,
OK, next trip you upload some pics

I love pics of India... the things there are so colorful!
So envious of you, can wear sari! I have the same problem as Joy, don't look so nice in saris cos flat-chested

Ahem, hopefully bf will boost my chest a bit!

SY,
I'm doing well - now busy gorging on food to make up for the 1.5weeks of viral fever when I didn't eat properly.
And just nice, all the CNY goodies are on sale now!
Plus durians... I'm already eyeing the Mao(1) San(1) Wang(2) when I am not so heaty!

Ambrosial,
You guys very lucky! Won camera and DVD player!
A DSLR will be fun - heard the Canon EOS series are pretty good and good value for money too.

Ambrosial,
If you just want something very basic, N70 should be good enough?

I've tried different setting for my Sony Cybershot, including the night-scene mode and manual setting,the resutls are just not satisfactory. Haven't tried editing with Curves in Photoshop, cos I though if the "Raw" is already not good,no amount of Photoshop-ing could make it good?

I'll read up more on the "Curves" and see if it helps.Thanks for offering to pass me software.I have Photoshop,think it's ver 7.01.You have later version?

I usually use photoshop to adjust under or over-exposed picture,cropping,heal-brushing and repairing and retouching very old black-and-white photos,taken 20 to 30 years ago.

Sophie,
Since your MIL is a nurse(they should be quite use to seeing?), I won't be surprise if she didn't bother too much about your privacy when b-f ding?....
656514.gif

Can't imagine how your friend "tahan" such MIL,somemore ask FIL to come in???
656515.gif
If I were her, I sure lock myself in the room to bf if MIL is around! My MIL also kept telling my hb her breastfeeding tips during my confinement.

I had Mao Shan Wang last week...but I found that the durian that subseuently my hb bt from Jur West @$5 each seems to taste better than my Mao Shan Wang. May be I didn't get the authentic ones?

Ya, I bought the waffle maker from Tokyo. Saw similar on Net before, just have to grab it when I saw it in Tokyo. Haven't tried it out, these few days busy washing curtains since weather is good.

Joy,
I've been uploading dd's photos in our yahoo Group. From her baby,growing up photos, Hong Kong & Macau trip photos, graduation photos, and now Tokyo trip photos. You didn't sign up our Yahoo SPMCTR group?

Yes! I took photos of her 1st and 2nd day of school as well.

My Stir-Fry Mee Tai Bak:

656582.jpg

Other than mushroom and carrot, didn't add other vege,if not dd will be busy picking out the vege and late for class.

Hi Van

This dish reminded me of my childhood days...Did not cook this dish for my gal before....

Once upon a time, did feed her soup time and someone was telling me that it must be very fesh mee tai bak or will cause wind to the tummy....not sure how true...But I think this is a nice dish....

Are you all mums going to stock up prawns soon?What is the market rate for prawns now?I do know that threadfin and cod fish are quite cheap now. Veg are on the high side ....for the time being...But, NTUC fluctuation not much...maybe they have a regular supplier....

Joy, talking abt prawns, u remind me leh i almost forgot abt to stock up . been busy cleaning the house and trying to stock up their daily stuff... hmmm... u think if i buy on the 10th FEb will it be too late? price went up liao right?

i order some pineapple tarts fm a home make auntie. tis yr i very busy more like lazy i order few kuahs and cakes fm the same auntie.
I love melt in the mouth tarts, thinking of it make me drool liao.

Van, for a moment i thought hokkien mee
it still look nice even it is mee tak bak.

Sophie,
maybe yr boobs will went up soon. i thought ple say after BF , boobs will shrink but not true for me, now my boobs never shrink after preggie
i would prefer smaller ones.

SY, DS coming to 9mths liao ... and i still fat.

van - the mee tak bak looks yummy..remind me of the one that my mum used to make for me..i miss her cooking man..last time before marry she cook for me, i always say not nice lah then now marry liao then miss her cooking..sigh..

btw, i want to join your Yahoo SPMCTR group too leh..how to go about huh?

Ambrosial, aiyoh make me so jealous...me now throw away lucky draw coupon cos no such luck, dun waste my time filling it!

twinkle-starry, yeah lor very tiring.. but lucky my maid is good with my baby, has trained her to do all the nite feeding. But i still want to be there to see look lah..

sophie,
i find my 2nd one look more and more like gor gor baby time. So i lost again lah.. both looks like my hb.
Didn't shave his hair, he somehow got 'middle age man botak in the center leh', less hair on that part :p.
His brother got plenty of hair in the middle and it is standing up! Till after we shave and when it grow again it become very neat & nice.

Abt BF, if u let baby latch on is more than 8x especially initial period.
If u planning to total breast feed then u won't face the problem i am facing now.

Abt privacy, i bf in a room, after he latch on still ok, but sometime he is like 'fighting' to find the breast and can't get it, and got so frustrated then will expose lor..

So far when BF, those male dare not come in and i will tell my hb also.
But woman like the auntie, her ds, CL & maid still ok lah.

May be they like ang moh style leh.. eh if u watch the Discovery Home & Health channel, the House of Babies program, they really invite their male friend to witness the wife give birth leh.. amazing!

wow talk about stocking prawn, r u gals going to cook? any special dish, other than steam boat lah..

me will go to the auntie house to eat, so won't stock up the prawns.

annelise/van
baking SOS !
i bake cupcake just now, but the texture like muffin and it is crack & hard on top, any idea what went wrong?
over beating? too dry?
if not must be my oven kena muffin curse liao...

hi hi ladies...

me long time no drop by say hi liaoz... pai seh lah, am back to work liaoz.. so i'm no longer cooking/baking, so nothing to share..

sophie,
u'll get to see ur bb soon hor... excited rite?? take care now lor, make sure everything is packed.. as bb may decide to join u all earlier...

ambrosial,
wah.. u so lucky one ar.. i also like littlecat, no luck... hb got more luck with lucky draw... while ayden bring us abit of "small luck" at 4D.. hehehe...
2007 liaoz leh.. its "next year" already.. good luck n enjoy e process!!

Van,
so fast get "mao shan wang" already???

pris,
good luck to u too!

for CNY, tis year i'll be hosting.. so will have steamboat, then plus :
MIL's specialty - ngoh hiang , "ti boon hiam"..
Mum's specialty - stew n chilli "sam cham bak"..
hehehe.. if remember i shall take photos to share then lah...

Have to MIA for some time...

My quota for uploading into my blog has succeed again this month so will probably upload more photos in next month.

Talk about durians, I really missed them...we had durians at serangoon near Paya Lebar Methodist Church the last time we were back and also in Geylang after going for tianji and porridge there.

CNY in Vancouver is very quiet...we are having a celebration with friends and then also another dinner with Singapore Vancouver Club. Miss CNY in Singapore.

succeed = exceed the limit for the month...

I love to make durian milkshake with the left over durians and add some bubbles or to make ice-cream with them.

how come stock up on prawn now? is the price going up? i din really take note. but if stock up now, how to make sure it is still fresh for CNY??

sophie,
dun take too much durians. it will make bb bigger...last time when my bb small, i asked gynae what to eat to make bb bigger he told me durians....

twinkle-starry
do u work out? i find that since having my son i got no time to exercise. though i look skinny, i got this layer of fat/skin ard hte tummy that is still there.... arrgghh

how to join the yahoo group? can add me?

pris,
what will u be cooking for your CNY dinner?

gohong,SY
Click here to join Yahoo SPMCTR Group,where we share recipes,links,files and photos etc.

"http://groups.yahoo.com/group/spmctr/join"

Littlecat,
Cupcake too hard may be the result of overcreaming/overmixing?

You are very funny...oven kena "Muffin Curse"?!
658617.gif
658618.gif

Joy,
May stock up some prawns about 1 week before CNY.But I found that those frozen prawns from supermarket actually are very good.

Last time our Auditing lecturer ever told us that the frozen ones retain more nutrients,"fresher" than those market stalls ones selling right before CNY at high prices.

As an auditor, he get to know the stringent control and processes involved in order to freeze the prawns and shipped them out fresh...

twinkle,
a lot of ladies want BIG boobs but can't have,you prefer SMALLER ones?
658619.gif

Sophie,
By now you should have UP your cup size by At Least 1 size already right? Will be even bigger after giving birth. Remember not to take any pills for engorgement!

Starz,
NTUC also selling Mao Shan Wang already...

SY,
Last year was the first time I ordered Mini buffet for my CNY visitors. CNY rates quite expensive, but we are all happy with the food.

For me, that's 1st CNY I didn't have to stock up lots of ingredients and keep worrying about whether hb's friends will not be coming(wasted the food),or not enough (last minutes hard to buy).Also need not worry about bursting my fridge
658620.gif

SY, me no work out. totally no time , u know lah now that he is crawling i guess i get exercise chasing after him. I thought i can go to the gym in the hotel but came back at 11pm everyday no chance to go.

Van,
frozen prawn in supermarket is good huh, i never try b4. maybe later i go and buy 1 pkt and try . if good i will stock up. Aiyo cannot say too much u know alot of secret reader and who know it could be OSS in supermarket.
658855.gif

van, luckily later the roast pork and chicken didn't turn up or taste like 'muffin'...:p

I cooked the 3 layer pork belly in the oven the other day, it tastes good.
Here's how i do it:
Marinate the pork with oyster sauce, some black and light soya sauce, some brown sugar, some 5-spices powder & little bit of salt.

Wrap the pork in aluminium foil, put some crushed garlic and half a bowl of water. Bake for 1.5 hour at temp 170. Turn the pork after an hour of baking.
The pork is tender, smell great and the sauce is thickened too.
Make sure you cook more rice ;)

Van, about frozen stuff i do hear before it is sometime better than those so called 'fresh' one. For example some frozen vege they pick them at the best time before they packing it.

The other day i watch one of the cooking program, the chef even suggest to use the can vege, cos they pick and pack them at the best time... may be also subject to brand too..

Share with us all your re-union cooking leh..

Me last time at malaysia home, my bro will cook 10 course dinner. We are all the ka-kia helping to prepare and clean the stuff after the big chef (my bro) finished cooking...

It is always very busy and tired during CNY, but we all looking forward to the re-union dinner and whole family get together.

Ambrosial,

I am sure you will like your N70....just like I do!
659810.gif
I didn't like my last 2 Nokia 3230 and 7610 very much, but I like my current N70.

Thanks for the link! Didn't know that there are Photoshop tutorials online,could have saved the money from buying the book!

Joy,
The frozen prawn is in 1kg box,usually there will be a lot of stocks before CNY. Have bought it for a few years already,I usually used them for stir frying and deep frying.

Littlecat,
I also heard of certain type of canned vege and frozen vege retain more nutrients than the "fresh" ones.

Have you tried roasting 3-layer-pork BBQ style, those that need to rub vinegar,and pork holes on the skin, and it will turn out like the Xio Bak?

twinkle,
You are right! lots of secret readers in this thread, better go grab it before it's gone.

Frozen raw prawns taste better than the so called "fresh" prawns from market which didn't store well.I remember a year when my MIL bought the "fresh" prawns about 2 weeks before re-union. Not sure if it's becos it's already not fresh when bought, or my MIL didn't store well, the flesh turn out very soft (lan4 lan4),very yucky!

Alamak company just postponed 2nd interview on me! I am all dressed up with no where to go!
kao_dizzy.gif

Van,

Played around with my N70 over the weekend, and so far I am liking it.

I have Scott Kelby's photoshop book at home.You want it?I am free this weekend.

Anyone read the sunday plus article regarding the CNY goodies? Is the review accurate?? Have not stock up on any CNY goodies and planning to use that article as a reference. Hope that they are not sold out or increase their prices!!!

Good afternoon gals!

Van,
Your mao shan wang not so good? Maybe the $5 ones are the kampung durians... to me, I find the kampung durians best, but very difficult to find nowadays! They're even better, as in, more fragrant, pungent and sweeter than mao shan wang!
Heh, my cup size did go up 1 size, but just ONE! Don't know if this is enough to bf!

starry,
** Envy your boobs leh ** Never go down? I see all my friends' boobs all go down to 1 size before pre-pregnancy after they stop bf. That means their boobs are now even smaller than when they got married, so some of their hubbies say the men got "short-changed"

starz,
Yep, all my stuff packed liao, now just waiting for next gynae visit to get admission letter

Hubby so kan cheong he even stocked up all the Pampers liao, cos he said in case he's so busy doing my confinement that he don't have time to go out and buy in the first week or so.

Good that you are hosting this year's CNY dinner, cos easier to have baby in familiar home environment... easier to change etc too.

How are you doing on your bf now that you are back working half-days?
Will supply drop cos latch lesser?

LittleCat,
You like pork belly?
I just had the most tender and juicy tung-po rou at this Szechuan restaurant called Seletar Hill Restaurant the other day, and the steamed buns were lovely too.
Other must-try in this restaurant is the Camphor Smoked Crispy Duck & mango pudding.
If you're celebrating someone's birthday, call them in advance to reserve table and ask for their red date buns on-the-house for birthday celebrations!
Best thing is - they don't charge service charge, and food comes pretty quickly!
Review: http://www.makansutra.com/Makanzine/sep01/seletarhill.html

Wah talking abt boobs now???!!!
I went up 2 sz when preg and bf. Even though I always wished that I have bigger boobs, I changed my mind after I had them. Find it difficult to fit into clothes or look top heavy in them. Think the clothes today are made for people with little or no breasts. hahahaha. Lucky for me my boobs went back to the orginal sz and I can wear nice nice clothes again.

Will be super busy from now onward till April, dh's counterparts from Japan are here so lots of hosting and also going out with them during weekend.

Over here, most of the prawns like tiger prawns are frozen ones even in chinatown wet market or the supermarket. The local ones are the red prawns which are alive but taste is not as nice. No much

SY...will be making
CNY Eve
1) Soup - Have yet to decide
2) ngoh hiang
3) Steamed prawn with garlic and egg
4) "Fa Cai", Mushroom with "Xiao Bai Cai"
5) Stir-fried chicken fillet with "suan"
As for other dishes, will wait for dh to confirm how many people are coming.
CNY Day 1 (Only day of holiday)
We are having steamboat.

Haahaa...talk about boobs, mine also return back to same size after ds wean off and drink from either cup or bottle.

Didn't log in here fro quite awhile cos I'm not feeling well, got these virus call novo virus... diahorrea and vomiting badly. It started from my ds1, spread to me and now my ds2 got it too but luckily me and my ds1 recovered.

Gohong, thanks for the blog recipe. Have tried the Wu xi pork rib and steam chicken with essence and turn out to be very good. Even my fussy hb says is very delicious.

Pris, went to your blog , thanks for sharing your recipe. I'm making Nonya Chicken Pong Teh from your recipe tonight.

Van, got the number, thanks! Last year I bought those frozen packet prawns and turn out to be very fresh too and I'll get them this year again.

sophie, how's everything? Feeling heavy and tired easily right?

cupcake,
Heee... yep, we're talking about boobs again

As for the newspaper reviews about CNY goodies, I only bought the Glory pineapple tarts which I think is not bad for something commercially made leh, but I think the papers only gave it 2.5 or 3 stars.
Heard some gals say Prima ones are good - the ones where the pineapple jam are rolled up inside the pastry type.

annlee,
You take care... lots of viruses going around now!
Hmm... the steamed chicken with essence is good? Maybe I should make that to put on some more weight! Will go check out the blog from Gohong's posting!

Yep, I'm feeling tired so easily now - it's a weird feeling, like just sitting there and panting away!

Just came back from gynae's - the notti baby hasn't turned yet
, so I guess a C-section is inevitable. Am already psychologically prepared liao, after all these weeks.
Gynae also mentioned that baby will be a very small baby cos hubby and I are not big-sized.
At 36 weeks now, baby is only 2.3kg!

hi ladies...

Van,
NTUC de mao shan wang?? genuine or not.. mayb "bluff" one tats y ur hb buy one taste nicer... i only go to this durian specialty shop along upp serangoon rd (highland mall) if buying those "special" type of durians...

sophie,
am still persevering on my bf-ing...
supply is still there, as i'm still taking fenugreek supplements cos very scared supply wil drop... i'm expressing 3times a day (twice at office), and latch him on 2-3 times a day too.. weekends wil be almost all latch-on sessions... i think ayden not a "big eater", therefore supply stil enough...
good luck n wish u a smooth n speedy delivery!!! remember to get a "messenger" to inform us here if u r in labour!!!

Sohpie, thx for the restaurant info, hehe me eating 'fat pork' since young, so i like :D
hmm.. must ask my hb bring me there, i have been pareparing meal for him during week days, weekend must eat out liao...
Yesterday i watch the channel 8 Makan King, they introduced one restaurant selling tong-po meat, looks very nice leh..

Btw my sis just give birth this morning thru c-section too. She got high blood last week, doc adv to get baby out soon, her baby is 36 weeks, weight 2.88kg.
Originally she book 6 feb (close to your date) to do the c-section seems like baby want to be out earlier

So very soon is your turn

My boy is exactly 3 months today. When he is in good mood will try to flip. But need little help to turn his leg somehow he manage to do the upper part just the leg need some help.

Annlee, hope u r feeling better now.
Me also down with diarhhea early this month and my baby also kena.. so poor thing for the young one..

Pris, so most of your overase re-union dinner are with your friends? so good you can cook well can ask them to join you esp those missed local chinese food.

starz, i dun think they dare to bluff bah.. NTUC leh..

van, thx for the last minute tips on the apple & carrot

here's the end result:

661896.jpg

Apple Carrot Muffins

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup sugar
1 1/4 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 egg
3/4 cup buttermilk*
1/4 cup canola oil
3/4 cup finely chopped peeled tart apple
3/4 cup grated carrots
1/4 cup chopped walnuts

In a bowl, combine the first six ingredients. In a small bowl, beat the egg, buttermilk and oil. Stir into dry ingredients just until moistened. Fold in apple, carrots and walnuts. Fill paper-lined muffin cups or cups coated with nonstick cooking spray three fourths full. Bake at 400 for 20-23 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool for 5 minutes before removing from pan to a wire rack. Serve warm. Yield: 1 dozen.

* info on buttermilk
http://www.mrbreakfast.com/ask.asp?askid=18

Homemade Buttermilk
1 cup whole milk
either 1 and 3/4 Tablespoons cream of tartar
or 1 Tablespoon white vinegar
or 1 Tablespoon lemon juice

Add acidic ingredient (tartar, vinegar or lemon juice) to the milk and stir. Let stand at room temperature for 15 minutes. The milk should start to curdle. Stir well before using.

A combination of plain yogurt (3/4 cup) and whole milk (1/4) cup can also be used to replace a cup of buttermilk in most recipes.

starz,
Good to know your bf is going well. Gives me hope that if I ever go back to work, I can also do it

Yep, once I delivered, I'll inform Van

LittleCat,
The muffins look good! I can see the top layer is milky and sweet... hee, I love the muffins' top layer... always peel and eat that layer first!

Wow, congrats to your sis! 2.88kg at 36weeks is very good weight!
I was worried about baby's weight and asked gynae today - he said my baby will probably be about this weight at birth i.e. 2.3kg only.
But he reassured me that over 2kg can discharge from hospital, so ask me not to worry.

If you go to this Szechuan restaurant, must remember to eat the Smoked Camphor Duck! They make it one day before and it's really good!

annlee,
LittleCat's pic reminds me - you cooked so much ho liao and never show us pics?

The food was so good your family gobbled up before any pics can be taken?

I saw the Steamed Herbal Chicken with Chicken Essence recipe... you think I can take Hua Tiao Wine now that I am preggie?

Thx Sophie

sometime the weight gynae estimate not accurate one leh.. i heard one story gynae said medium size, come out 4kg! so not to worry too much.

oh really? must be very good the smoked duck.
aiyoh how to finish if order duck and the pork :p hehe..
btw where is the link to the Steamed Herbal Chicken with Chicken Essence recipe? i want to try, cos got one chicken in the fridge now.

Sophie, remember u send us the link about how long hours does the alochol evaporate during cooking? if is steam for long hour (i assume at least 1hour)the alcohol sure gone liao.. unless they put alot.
U remember we used to call u our chemical teacher ;)

LittleCat,
Yep, I just tell myself not to worry so much about baby weight... now I really envy those who got good appetites during pregnancy, like my sis who eats every 2 hrs!
For me, always sick, if not then constipated, maybe that's why didn't put on much weight and baby also light.

Here's the link to the chicken recipe:
http://babeinthecitykl.blogspot.com/2006/08/steamed-herbal-chicken-with-chicken.html

Yes, the smoked duck is GOOD!
Don't worry, can finish one... the tung-po rou (small one) only got 4pcs, each person one pc, just nice. But must remember to order the steamed buns too.
The duck - we normally order half a duck, and 4 persons can whack everything up! If not, can ask them to tabao for you!
For vege, the si(4) ji(4) dou(4) fried with their minced meat sauce is good, but abit spicy so kids may not be able to take it.
Hunan tofu is also good!

Oh, for the evaporation, cos this one is steamed wrapped in a foil, so don't think much alcohol will evaporate?
But you gave me an idea - maybe I can steam it "open" for the last 10mins or so.

van,
thanks for your recommendation on teriyaki sauce. today i cooked the chicken teriyaki. very nice! hubby also liked it. i finally found the perfect teriyaki marinade.

Helloooooo Gals!
Good morning! Hope you all are doing fine. How's the mommies and babies getting on?

I have a question. Does anyone knows if Thermos shuffle chef pot is good? It's selling at $198 for Robinson's member. Is it considered cheap at this price for 4.5L? Very tempted to get one.

Sophie,
You gonna see your baby already... Excited?

lyn,
Yeah, I'm quite excited about baby joining us

I do believe in taijiao.
In fact, I have been telling baby to turn head down since 28th weeks, but it doesn't seem to work leh, cos baby is still in breech till now.
Or maybe I am not fierce enough?

I saw the Thermos brand thermal pot advert. I think Thermos is a very good brand, just as good as Tiger, if not better. Never used the Thermos thermal pot before cos I think they only recently brought it in, but I bought a Thermos thermal flask and am very happy with its performance.

Sophie, don't worry too much about baby weigh gynae say is ok and healthy so better don't stress. My nephew is almost 4 months and he is very skinny when born till the 2nd months but now so chubby and he's on formula milk.

About the steam chicken it takes about 1 hrs or more to steam so by that time the alcohol content already evaporate. Or you can put less than the amount. If really worry about the wine, you might wanna skip it....think shld taste good too without the wine. Oh yes, the ingredient was told to put some salt, think better skip that as I find abit salty on the precious soupy sauce.

wah....the duck sounds good....read from a mag that duck meat is alkaline beside seafood...think must try the smoked duck...I really like crispy duck or roost duck

Yesterday cooked Nonya Chicken Pong Teh from pris recipe. I liked it very much but my hb find it abit sweet although I reduced the sugar from the recipe but I like the dish. Forgotten to take pic and the chicken look hor lulu so don't look very appetitsing although it taste good.

littlecat, thanks... these virus really contagious...the young ones really suffer..