Cooking Tips & Recipe

Good morning everyone!!!

Hi Priscilla, nice to meet you....have read that you station in Canada and now Japan, wow...so envy you. How's the living standard in Canada? Is it expensive or slightly more than sg?

sophie, good to hear that you're better... Take care!

Van, leaving tomorrow...so good!! Remember to eat ramen over there drool...
Have a nice trip and Merry Christmas to you!

sophie,
glad u r resting lots and recovering! what hv u been eating the past few days?

van,
enjoy yr Christmas in Japan, and hope you will get to eat Christmas turkey on your flight back!

Hi Sophia, not time never chat. Very busy with ds, he is very into homeschooling and we do lots of reading on website for storybook and phonics.
Hope you are feeling better now. Sophia, glad to know that your mum and you find that it tastes better.

Joy...yea, half a peranakan....my mum is one but my father is not a peranakan. Nevertheless, we all love peranakan food.

SY, dh and ds love food and as long as it is tasty, ds will always request to have it cook for him.

Hi Annlee, nice meeting you too. Nothing to envy about, every change needs time to adapt and adjust. And packing is crazy and stressful too sometimes when ds is not cooperative. No where is cheaper than Singapore. Canada has lots of taxes too including food that we buy from supermarket. It is alot more expensive than Singapore and they do not have lots of varieties of spices, vegetables and fish, etc.

Choc,
tried yr recipe for the porridge, its yummilicous! ;) But I don't have proper blender, so my pui pui cannot eat the porridge.

Sophie,
Glad u are feeling better now. Must rest more.

Lyn,
U got my sms? Can check with u if rock sugar is good?

cookie....you just have to cook longer and then used a spoon to press them and they will be very fine for bb to consume. And the chicken, just used a sterlised scissor to cut to fine.

Chat tomorrow....I am going to iron clothing since ds is napping now.

Will post recipes on my website soon.

Van....have a great holiday and give a hug to your little girl for me and hope she has an unforgetable birthday at Disneyland. Please bring the winter coat up the plane, it is very cold here.

just came back from NTUC. the brands of sauces i would recommend are Glory, Chng Kee's, Lee Kum Kee and Singlong. They all come in small bottles. If you want Malay dishes, then I recommend Brahim's - they come in packets. If you want local cuisine, I recommend Prima - they come in boxes. Hope this info helps!

Priscilla,
Thanks for the tips! ;)
heee.. waiting eagerly for yr mouth watering recipes.

Van,
U must be exhausted fm planning and getting ready for the trip!
Have a wonderful trip to Japan and enjoy yrself.

pris
can PM me your website so i can check out your recipes?? sounds very yummy (from all the feedback that i read so far)

lani,
thanks for the info on the sauces. do they have MSG in their sauces?

Thank you all! Merry Christmas to All of You!
618641.gif

Prisc,
Thanks! Berenice just read your msg andshe's very happy! She even remember you have a son! Thanks for the tips too. I do intend to bring our winter coats up the plan plus a wool sweater.Hope this is enough for her,for our transfer to hotel.

I would very much like to pack light and travel light, but since it's her first winter holiday,we are constantly worrying that the warm clothing may not be enough for her.

Now that the packing is 95% done,there is no more room for shopping goodies!

Everyone is telling us not to take taxi for airport transfer.So the thought of handling the luggages to take limousine bus/trains i guess is going deter me from buying more things in Tokyo.

SY,
There are some sauces that claimed they don't add MSG,preservatives.I think Asian Home Gourmet's is one of them.

http://www.asianhomegourmet.com.sg/products.html

Thanks for the get well weishes

SY,
It's a good idea to get friends to combine for those items

annlee,
You so early today huh?

Vitasence just introduced some body products and they seemed quite sellable!
How's your dh and you liking the cleanser now that you are into your second bottle?

sp,
Yep, feeling better. Been eating porridge, porridge and porridge for the last few days!

Sometimes so lazy, just wanna eat bread with kaya, but think of baby, then will cook a proper meal.
You went to Penang last weekend right? How was it? Any good places to recommend for makan? My hubby has a colleague fr0m Penang - his philosophy is that any place in Penang is better than Singapore... he says Singapore prawn noodle soup taste like drain water compared to the Penang ones... so nasty!

Prisc,
Heh, when I finish my confinement next year, I'm gonna try all your Peranakan recipes!
You have a website? Can I also have the URL once you have updated it? I love reading those food and recipe blogs!

cookiemonster,
Pris is right leh, no need blender. I saw some baby books where they just mash the cooked soft foods through a strainer, then baby can eat liao.

Van
thanks for the info on the sauce.

Sophie,
yeah, my fren gave me that idea last time. better than getting little items which u may not need.

i usually mash the cooked foods for bb as well. if give them food that is too smooth, difficlt to train them to chew.

Pris

So. you did lots of peranakan food?Where do you pick up the recipie from?Care to share some?

I tried and tried making my own paste for brinja and kang kong...but a funny taste...maybe should not have added garlic...and also anyone can advice on skill to fried chiilie paste??I do not know how to gauge whether its really cook or not, before I put in the vegetables...thanks

Choc,
I'm going back to work end of Jan..

Sophie,
Glad that u r feeling better. Your shopping seems almost complete by now ;p As for car seat, do u intend to buy those for infants (bassinet) or for 3 months onwards? Mine is the latter which was given by my sis. So right now I always carry baby whenever we go out. Baby is not ready for car seat as her neck support is not strong enough...

Priscilla,
Will check out your recipes from the website
I also like Peranakan food but find them a bit complicated to cook...

My peranakan recipe mostly comes from my mum and aunt. And since being away, some spices cannot be found so easily like Singapore, I do a little modification. Dh loves peranakan food though he is a hokkien haahaa.

Van...do not take taxi, used the airport limousine, it is located just outside the airport and it is so much cheaper. Check what one goes to your hotel.

Dear all, Will need some time to do up all the recipe in my website, currently I am just updating the blog about our lives in Vancouver. Will add recipes in first before I updated lives in Kyoto,Japan.

www.prisneo.spaces.live.com

sy,
actually i also not sure if the sauces got msg or not. maybe you just check the ingredient list on the bottle and see if have or not.

joy747,
my mum told me when frying chili paste, to fry until u can see the oil "rise" above the paste, like "shining", then can put in other ingredients.

pris,
thanks for sharing yr blog! will go in to check it out shortly...

sophie,
u r really a good mummy, eating porridge everyday for the sake of baby!

it's not true that all food in Penang is good, some so-so only. usually we gauge by the crowd... big crowd = better taste, or at least we hope so lah, keke...

Good morning gals... been raining cats and dogs continuously for the last 24 hours! So depressing...

sp,
Haha, my hubby's friend says another way to gauge is to see how "dirty" the stall is! The "dirtier the stall, the more yummy the food", esp. those near the longkangs kind!

Prisc,
Thanks for your blog URL! I was looking at the pictures last night - the Whistler ones were gorgeous!
Did you put your ds in those kiddy ski class or is it not the season yet, cos I saw fromt he date it was Aug... not winter yet?
I love seeing those kids in ski gear on the slopes - they're so good cos they have no fear, unlike us adults!

Krisjoy,
I think for car seat, I would prefer to buy those that can last till baby is much older, so prob the same kind as yours, from 3 mths onwards. My friend says no point buying the infant kind cos baby will grow out of it very quickly.

Sophia, when we were in Whistler, it was summer so no skiing but they were doing biking on the mountain.

In fact, there are more pictures but I exceeded the uploading limit for the months. Will updated more so. Now I am typing out recipes and will try to upload them soon to share with all of you.

Sophia, we are contemplating whether to send ds for skiing class when we go back and we are planning another trip to Grouse Mountain. Will decide then.

And for infant carseat, ask around and borrow instead of buying one.

joy747,
let me guess, u put very little oil to fry the chili paste is it? this morning I also put very little oil to fry the chili paste and I never saw the "shine" too, rather I saw the chili paste start to chao ta at the bottom! maybe my fire too big, heh

sophie,
err, the "dirty" criteria sounds terrible, no way man!!! but as u & I know, somehow the coffee shops in msia is not as clean as the food courts in S'pore...

Pris
thanks for sharing your blog. will check it out soon.

Lani
no prob. i will check the ingredients list. thanks a lot!

sophia
the car seat that i got is a convertible one. can use when infant and when he is older.

Prisc,
Take your time to update the recipes... no hurry!

As for infant car seat, yep, I thought of asking my sis first, cos her baby will be 6 mths old by the time I pop, so I'll check if hers is the infant or convertible kind.

sp,
I thought all Malaysians are used to the streetside hygiene standards?
But you don't seem to be like my Malaysian friends, haha!
For me, I don't mind a bit of "dirt" lah, as long as I don't see it very obviously.

SY,
Yep, I'm also checking the convertible types, but this kind normally $200+ and above, so I'll see how my budget goes

Now this stress monkey worried, cos hubby says he's got reservist from my 36 to 38+ weeks with some days in jungle, then last night I woke up at 3am wondering what will happen if I don't know what contractions is and if I need to go hospital, in time or not etc etc

Need to meditate to calm my nerves again!

Sophia, where are you delivering your bb? Mt E, Glen and East Shore has pre-register program.

I was pre-registered in Mt E. On the nite when I got my contradiction, dh was so tired after a marathon but we managed to go to the hospital after I showered and checked my hospital bag. I delivered at 37 weeks.

Ask for their hospital ambulance no in case your husband is not around.

Ok, ladies, I am typing out the vietnamese recipes that I pick up from friends here in Kyoto, my husband's colleagues' wives in his lab as well as the japanese recipes.

Priscilla,
I am delivering at Mt. A Hospital - I'll check out if they have pre-registration program, but don't think I will need ambulance, cos Mt. A is really only 8 mins away from my home (I live in Bishan)... I'll probably catch a cab there... just hope it won't be during peak period in the morning when it's hard to catch cab!

Think later will go revise my antenatal notes, to see how many minutes apart the contractions should be before i go hospital. I totally forgot about them after lesson ends; only remember how to bathe baby

Vietnamese recipes? My favourite!!!

LittleCat, Choc, haven't seen you sisters for awhile?

sophie
yah the convertible ones usually more ex. i got one at 400 but it's cos the material is more luxurious. my IL got it for my boy.

oh dear, hb may be away? can't he defer his reservist? i think it is a valid reason. ask him to write in. my hb managed to defer his reservist which was abt close to 2 months after i delivered.

Pris
i love vietnamese food...think they have very nice sauces...

Sophia, my in-laws stay in Bishan. When I admitted to hospital, was already 7cm dliated but they allowed me to sleep and monitor me throughout until my gynae arrived. Was still thinking of playing Tabo in the delivery but never had the chance as I was not able to get the game in time for delivery as my ds decided to pop out earlier haahaa.

Ladies, I have added some vietnamese recipes in there and will take time to slowly update, so if you follow the link, you will be able to find my recipes. Look for link under List.

SY,
Yep, I am now asking him to defer his reservist leh, but he is wondering whether he wants to or not, cos he deferred his previous reservist training many times to go overseas for work liao.
So I also paiseh to ask him to do it this time

Prisc,
7cm dilated?!?!
Can feel baby's head "there" or not?!
So I guess by the time you get to hospital, nurse say no need to use epidural anymore?

Anyone knows this?
- I wanna ask if bei(3) xing(4) ren(2) and nan(2) xing(4) ren(2) are almonds?
Cos I wanted to make an almond drink, and went to Hock Hua to buy "Sweet Almond" as stated in the recipe, then the lady ask me to do a mix of bei xing ren and nan xing ren.
- I came home to check Internet then found out those nan bei xing ren are actually apricot kernels, not almonds as in those almond nuts... is that correct?

Anyway, the drink turned out very yummy, and it's supposed to help treat coughing and nourish the lungs cos my hubby has been coughing like mad the last 2 days now that weather has turned cold.
Here's the recipe from "Love Recipes" by Children Cancer Foundation for those who are interested in making it:

Almond Drink
150g sweet almond (buy from chinese medical hall)
100g rock sugar
750ml water

1. Wash and soak almonds in warm water for 1-2 hours. Drain dry.
2. Put almond and water into the blender and blend till very fine.
3. Filter and put aside the residue. Repeat (2) & (3) for several times.
4. Put almond milk and sugar into pot and bring to boil.
5. Keep stirring to prevent it from sticking to the bottom of the pot and till sugar has dissolved.
6. Serve hot or cold.

* I use less than 100g of rock sugar as I find 100g too sweet.
** No picture cos it just looks like milk

Sophia, can feel something on the cervix. Actual labour (final stage of labour) was very smooth and fast, just about 2 hours. When I was been wheeled into the delivery suite, I could hear the screaming along the way, I chickened out and ask for epidural. Dh also was so worried after hearing all the scream and kept asking me whether I am okay.

I love the almond drink, can also make into almond paste.

Good morning gals!

Prisc,
At 7cm, they still give you epidural?
My friend asked for epidural at 4cm, and the nurse told her no need to waste money liao cos epidural takes about 15-20mins to take effect. So in the end she didn't take!

Wow, your labour very good and short... I've heard so many of my friends' labour being 18 to 19hrs long and then after that unsuccessful, have to C-section! Makes me nervous!
Now I must psycho myself that all our grandmas & mothers did it without epidural, and then there are the easier cases like yours in modern times too... need to overcome my fear

So confirmed the nan bei xing ren is the correct "almonds" and not the angmoh kind of almond nuts yeah?
I was so afraid of feeding dh wrong almonds then make his cough worse

sophie,
thanks for the almond drink recipe! I don't know how sweet almond looks like, any pic of the almond?

I used to be able to eat next to longkang when I was young, but nowadays old already, during preggie and bf days, I no longer eat at those places. Nowadays when bringing bb out, we also tend to eat at cleaner places for the sake of bb. u know lah, bb's hands touch here touch there non-stop, hehehe...

pris,
thanks for sharing yr recipes! do take yr time ya, no hurry...

Sophia....that's the right almonds for chinese herbs. We love to use it for almond paste and mixed with sesame paste.

In private hospital, they allowed the epidural and I told them I am not sure how great is my pain tolerance, so better have it. Think it was so easy was because I have been exercising till I deliver. Swim 3 times a week and go for long walk. I was still shopping alone till I delivered. And also went down to running club to see my dh training after shopping haahaa.

sp...I will take my time. In fact, dh want me to compile as many recipe as possible so he can cook them sometime too haahaa.

sp,
The nan and bei xing ren looks the same, like that... nothing like the angmoh kind of almond nuts right?
621080.jpg

I asked the shop lady how come one is nan (south) and the other is bei (north), and she just told me bei is slightly more bitter, but the effects are the same.
Then I bugged her again WHY south and north... issit cos they are grown in different parts of China? She just answered me no, and pretended to ignore my question after that!

Hee, so if anyone knows why it's differentiated into north and south, please enlighten me

Prisc,
Thanks for confirming that almonds are actually xing ren which is really apricot kernels

My friend went to Mt. A Hospital, so I was quite surprised they told her no need epidural at 4cm.
OK, I better go do some yoga now... weather still a bit chilly to swim

sophie, thanks for the recipe! So sweet almond is nan xing hor...

Maybe you can ask ur mum or sister to stay over ur place when nearer to delivery date when hb not around..

About Vitasence, my hb like the cleanse...he even went to their website to take a look at the product which he never do such thing before hee...

Sophia, I think Annlee has a point...get someone you are comfortable with like your mum or sis to stay with you when dh is in reservist.

sophie,
thanks for the pic of sweet almond.

yep, good idea to ask someone to be with u when yr hb is away. good also to let him "fulfil" his reservist obligation before yr bb girl comes out, u'll be more busy and will miss his help more...

Finally, completed my updated for my Vancouver life till August. Will start to update recover first before. I start my blog on life in Kyoto.

Be patient as I have exceeded the limit to upload photos.

sophie,
yup, one is bitter almond and one is sweet almond. very good for coughs and lungs. u can add those chinese pear to cook together to make a drink. i will make that when i m having coughs.

pris
your labor very fast! for me i pushed nearly 2 hours and still cannot. lucky my gynae helped me to push the bb out or got to use suction...

annlee, sp, Prisc,
Yep, I think I may pop by my mum's place to stay during the few days he is in the jungle, cos jungle no reception, so even if I call him to tell him I am delivering, he either cannot receive it or cannot make it to hospital in time.
Guess I better go revise my notes and not depend on him being there during my labour to remind me how to breathe

SY,
How your gynae help you push? He told you what to do, or did he physically "push" you?
Can give me instructions on how to cook the Almond Chinese Pear drink? The Chinese Pear... issit the brown round big one that's called Xue li?

annlee,
Heee... your hubby so cute, check out skincare website... cos guys don't normally bother.
I am tempted to buy stuff again - the Cell Renewal Serum - but then I think better wait till after give birth then do it, cos now expenses abit high due to baby stuff

Plus the Cell Renewal Serum contains Vit A so I think better not use during pregnancy.

Sophie,
Agree with u - better to stay at your mom's place so at least someone is there in case u r due...

Priscilla,
Is that your ds on your blog? He looks soooo Japanese! So handsome

KrisJoy....yes, that's my little boy. He is a mischievous little fellow.

Sophia...dun have to worry so much, the nurses will guide you to breathe. But must take note of contradictions closer to due date as it will become very regular and then it is time to go hospital. Prepare the hospital earlier and since your husband is in reservist, you might want to do the birthcert in the hospital during your stay there. Bring along i/cs of both parents and original marriage cert.

SY...the gynae used suction? My gynae was asking me whethehr I have enough energy to push hard and I think after a few push, ds pop out. It was a easy labour.

Hello all!

Signing in from Tokyo now.Need to log in to change pick-up place for my day trips,that's why using hb's notebook...

My dd had a wonderful birthday toay.Got her a small birthday cake in Queen of Hearts Cafe(Thanks Prisc for the info,saved us the trouble to hunt for a restaurant with birhtday cake),but they don't have candles for her.At night, took free shuttle bus from Tokyo Disney to Ambassador Hotel's Chef Mickey restaurant.Though they have whole cakes, but thoe are for take-out only, they don't allow us to bring in to their restaurant! But dd had good time taking pictures,kissing and hugging Mickey,Minnie and Donald Duck at the restaurant.

Sophie,
Bei Xin has a little toxin, not to give very young children too much. I think I posted some info on this before.

Does your gynae conduct pre-natal talk? My gynae,whos's also starz's gynae,conduct such talk and as new parents, both my hb and I find it useful.
He even explained why at some point he will tell us to push, but at a particular point, he will tell us don't push anymore, or it will risk tearing..

<font color="119911">MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ALL</font>!