Cooking Tips & Recipe

I also have MIA for very long.. too busy with bb and PT work but soon my maid will be here so i really keep my fingers cross...

Van,

How is your girl? better after her op?

Pris
Jia you!!! I won't rate it as very good. Try to get the batik prints ones or vibrant colours(orange/red) rather than light colours (pink/sky blue) as they dun feel as 'wet' after they are soiled. Cutting wise abit low like wearing low waisted pants. Baby legs need to be pui pui else urine will leak out from leg openings. IMO better to use disposables or normal cloth diapers with covers during the 1st few months.

hi ladies...

paiseh, yesterday not free...

Hi priscilla,
nice to "meet" u.. saw ur recipes in e yahoo group, u muz be a very good cook leh, so many different variety of cuisines also know..hehehe...
how old is ur ds now???

starry,
*haiz*.. i'm like u.. used to love travelling, esp for e shopping.. furthermore, i go NYC, LA, n HK.. all "shopping paradise" to me.. but now i "hear" travel only ar.. *sianz*.. thinking of ways not to go liaoz..

littlecat,
no prob... eh, i think tis routine started abt 2weeks ago... but sometimes he doesnt want to "follow" this routine.. i juz let him be lor..
how u play with GC ar?? everyday he awake for quite sometime.. but i dont know how to play with him.. juz talk n talk.. sometimes talk till thirsty liaoz, then tune those musical toys n put near him..
do u put GC on his tummy to let him "exercise" ar?? i saw in Oct thread some mummies do tat.. e baby book i reading now also say to do so.. but i put ayden on his tummy he like very uncomfortable like tat leh... my mum say not to do this now, too early... i also dont know..
kao_confused.gif

Van,
hehehe.. u didnt "get" littlecat's "hint" ar.. she ask u to bring back a "made in japan" baby lah...

choc n cookiemonster,
u also looking to "increase production" ar.. reli can try fenugreek... i take 1capsule, twice a day for abt 1week.. then increase to 2capsule, twice a day.. now i feel my breast get "fuller" faster.. then pump while baby sucking e other side also "yield" more...
littlecat, remember to pump / latch on more too while u taking fenugreek...

ambrosial,
busy with christmas shopping ar??? recently hardly "see" u around leh... eh, u only using organza for curtains.. no other blocks of flats nearby tat can "look" into ur house???
i also love organza curtains.. but cant use as we love to sleep late last time.. use those "black out" material to layer for our curtains so can be "total darkness" n "total privacy"..

hi starz

Ds is 38 months now. We are hoping to have another baby, hopefully a girl to add to the family.

care to give me the yahoo group where our recipes are kept? maybe can add more

cupcakes, thanks...think will stick to disposible and do not have to get my family to pick them up since it is not so good.

LittleCat,Starz,
Actually I know what meowmeow is trying to hint lah...just pretend don't know. hey...don't forget I am travelling with my dd hor....sharing a double bed hor...
614089.gif

Prisc
You are so very right.ALL the hotels under my hb's company preferred hotel list are fully booked from 23rd to 25th!

My heart sank when hb called me this morning to say all the hotels fully booked.But later he called again to say 19th to 22nd is still available.

Now trying to confirm another hotel in Shibuya area.Anyway 23rd onwards hotel is on our own account,but troublesome to shift from one hotel to another.

May want to get another jacket for dd,but no time to go out. Hope I can find the vaccum pack in Daiso,cheaper there.

Hey, you are already a member of our yahoo group! If you sign in your yahoo email account,under Yahoo-Groups, you should be able to see SPMCTR group.

SY,
You are quite right about the Japan trip, if likely to go only once, then it's really fair to go when No.2 arrives!

Rena,
Thanks.My dd is much better now.Better appetide,still picky though.But weight gain is still very slow.For kids,it's just so easy to lose weight within days, but so hard to gain back, even after weeks and months!

Can share what PT work are you doing? Next year when I dd goes Primary school ,think I should have more free hours in the afternoon to take up PT jobs.

GOOD LUCK to you re: maid! Hope you will get a good one!

Choc,
DD1 finished the Music test already? Is she going to have a Concert? My dd's concert is next week, on her birthday, but she's going to miss it.

Van...try book through internet as soon as both you and your hb decided where to stay.

When we went to Tokyo during the thankgiving week, same problem and we stay in a hotel at Ueon, just comeout of the JR station. Dh does all the booking through internet as we decided we do not want to stay in Disney Resorts.

Pris, dun wait too long hor
and all the best of luck to u.

Starz, still u know me best! ;)

Van, i know lah u pretend and try to avoid my question lah

But hor the longer u drag u won't want liao..
like one of my fren, she got one girl, her sister got 4. So we always ask her when going to try second one. she said after awhile just dun want to go thru the whole cycle again.. her girl already in primary.

starz, i also dun know how to play with him.. i try the baby gym, he looks 'excited' moving hand and legs, but after awhile looks like 'stress' then start to make noise...
Sometime just leave him on the cot and on the mobile. but can last about 7 to 8 minutes. After that his face change liao.. then we got to read his face to check if he is too tired or too boring or too hungry... we do track the feeding time, but sometime b4 3 hours interval he already crying, after all the checking still can't find the reason, last resort give him milk and he quiet down..
but i find lots of time is he is like too tired can't sleep so got frustated.

Another thing i suspect is we break the routine. There are few days we let him eat around 7+am, then sleep till about 9am+ then poo poo, then bath at 9:30.
but that was one day we bath him around 8am+ then only poo poo at later hour and that day is the day he started crying very badly even during day time.
Today seems the routine is back, i cross my finger hope he is ok...

Got to get ready to be a moo liao... chat later!

Hey cookie, I use the chicken breast to make the chicken broth plus a few pcs of chicken feet.. scoop the chicken out aft boiling for about an hr then use the broth for the multi grain porridge.. also shred the chicken breast meat for the porridge.. Then mash the diced pumpkin in the porridge.. YUM ! also remember to put scallops..

Hey Pris, great to hear from you ! My bro was from UQ too.. in yr 2002, and he's a tr. I was from QUT.. fennugreek helps ? will try.. have been eating fish , thought it helps..

you started folic acid ?

Eh, what good stuff have you been cooking or baking ? Japanese cheesecakes, japanese red bean kueh ?

Hey van, heehee.. dd1 didn't take test, so this dec she super lobo.. starting 1 to 1 in jan.. Is Ber using my pals for math ? I find the Math Homework bk from my pals quite good.. some schs don't carry them.. so got to order them from the bookshop.

Eh van, ask for one more bed leh... 3 on a bed very squeezy one hor ! This is your holiday.. don't come back with a back and neckache..
Dunno why when one of our kids sleep with us , they tend to sleep horizontal to us.. making a H shape .. the next day, we'll be at the edge of the bed !

Hey cat, lotus root arms and legs very cute hor ! Mine is almost !
During the first month, when I let didi play with the bb gym, he doesn't know how to.. now, he can grab the mobiles .. very interesting to watch his progress.. soon your bb will be able to do that also

annelise, me too, want to order cupcakes from you !

Eh kris, saw your bb's photo.. very adorable ! Going to work soon ?

What time is it over your side ? Now is nap time for SAHM and teabreak for FTWM.. so they r either zzzing or 'kopi'ing away..

wow, seems like a few mummies trying for second one.

Pris
u trying second one? made in japan??
so ur hb is based in vancouver all along?

Van,
haha, hope u come back with a made in japan one...

hee, let me know what are the nice places u went. then can consider whether i wan to go. i m sure it is not enough to visit japan only once!

littlecat
your bb sounds like he needs a routine very much. for me i never settle my boy into one. only a very very rough one.

choco
your chichken porridge sounds yummy. is it for yourself or bb?

Hey SY, the porridge is for young and old, all races and all walks of life.. hehe..

My bb hasn't started on solids yet, but I m planning to blend this porridge minus the salt for him when he's ready..
How old is your bb now ?

SY.....my dh is furthering his studies in Vancouver and we are in Japan as he need to do a research here in one of their lab

We just have seafood porridge for tea....udon for lunch

choc
my bb is 11 months. so can take most of the stuff minus salt.

pris
wow, no wonder u r going places...

seafood porridge for tea?? so nice... what do u put in the porridge?

just check into hotel. today flight abit bumpy guess lot of mist. Beijing now very cold. i already got headache fm the flight liao.

cookiemonster, me RMIT been in city and coburg campus. I also very poor student but like u say lots of fun .

gog to go and grab dinner liao. ttul

me in monash caulfield campus, so very near to city area liao. i was staying at east malvern when i was there. aiyah, me also very poor student leh. 1 mth allowance only AUD$800 - for rent, utilities, food, groceries, house supplies, books, supplies, transport, entertainment, clothing, shopping, etc, basically EVERYTHING!!

Sophie,
hope u feeling better now.

SY,
last night i was thinking what will happen when baby starts teething. Ouch.. must be painful when latching!

Prisicilla,
Nice meeting u.
U are one of the 'qian bei' and gurus in this thread. Pls share with us more recipes okie. ;)

Van,
Yr dd so sweet, everything must in light pink. I imagine with if i have a dd, i will also dress her in pink, cos was deprived when i was young.

Littlecat,
Our little ones can form the pui pui club. ;)
hahahaha.. yr ds1 side effect fm power ranger. Glad to hear that the teachers saying yr ds1 doing well in school. Hee... its okie, little children always fight, and probably the children have forgotten abt the beating incident. Let yr ds1 enjoy birthday parties. Maybe u can go check out what yr ds1 friends are. My dh colleague who has got a son primary 6. On his birthday, his parents booked a hotel suite and he invited 6 of his best friends to enjoy in the hotel (without his parents). We were shocked to know, but my dh colleague told him its a norm in his son school ACS. Faintz!

Lani,
move to the West!
Me also on very tight budget while studying in oz. After poly, worked for a few years and saved up some money then went uni. Luckily my brother supported me a bit.

Starz,
thanks for the lobang! i went there abit 2+pm. very crowded, managed to just get a few. heee... should have gone on the first day.
Me used to love travelling before baby came. Was still going for biz trip when i was pregnant. But now the thought of it freak me out. I have postponed a meeting in Hongkong for 3 times. This Jan must definitely go. Planning to take the earliest flight in the morning, reach abt 12noon, chiong for the meeting which estimated abt 3 hours, then chiong back to airport to catch last flight back. At least still can nurse baby at night.
sigh.. but it only works for hongkong trip.. still don't know what to do for my other trips.

Choc,
thanks for the recipe. will cook it for sunday lunch. We had so much unhealthy food the past few weeks and need some healthy food now. U reckon can give my 6months plus baby the 5grain porridge?

Carole,
very paisey... last evening my baby see milk get excited! we just finished dinner and took him strolling, thinking still have half an hour before his milk time. paisey leh.

Hey cookie, think can try giving your bb some ... minus salt hor and also must blend the porridge.I can't find the multi-grain in shop and save, only in NTUC.. can add some threadfin fish for your bb too

So aft your uni in Melbourne, did you go back there again ? I love the great ocean road !

Hey Twinkle, enjoy yourself in BJ ! With loads of shopping.. My friend bought a very nice country quilt there as it's very cheap

Choc,
thanks for the tips. Will try making baby the porridge once he finished all this 3 other packets of unopened cereal. I don't know what i was thinking when buying the cereal... so many boxes. a bit siao.
heee.. went back 3times in 6 years after i graduated. heee.. i admit great ocean road is awesome and all the people i know prefer great ocean road to grampians. but don't know why, i like grampians a tad bit more. And will force anyone going back to melbourne with me to go grampians. ai yo.. the more talking abt oz, the more i feel like going for holiday again but with baby. ;) jia luk, my 'hui kah' start again.

Priscilla,
yr porridge so much 'ho liao', must be very delicious.

Cookie,pris
Tim Sum in Oz yummier than spore's .. The last time I went Mel was with hb, travelling and cooking in a campervan during winter.. I like the grampians too.. Awesome view !agree with u .. the more talk.. the more want to go.. ok .. I'll just day dream with u..

Yah pris, your porridge very ho liao leh...Fresh seafood in abundance there ?

But in Singapore, you camp in Pulau Ubin, east coast beach, Changi beach and your garden if you have one..
There's also an annual P5 and P6 camp, scouts, guides camp in school and in-camp training for our ds... sigh ! So many places to camp !

choc,

i bought a silk quilt when i was in Suzhou 4 yrs back. very useful and very shiok in aircon room.

till today hv not got chance to go shopping. work till 8pm today and just came back fm dinner. We went to veg restaurant. The 'lion head' and peking duck very nice.

Hope tmr can finish work early and go shopping abit. I told my colleague i must eat peking duck b4 i go home lor. but today the veg . peking duck very nice too.

cookie/lani,
i stay in Parkville and my allowance also only abt A$1k and bao everything.

talking abt Oz, i also miss it very much. i must find time to go back and bring my son. i still hv an aunt and some friends there. Many migrated over there.

Hello everyone and nice to "see" you here pricilla...

Got a friend who is a newbie in cooking and she wanna know what brand is good, prepacked ingredients that is good for stir fried, like for kang kong, brinja...sa bo toufu etc...anyone care to share...I know there are brand like hai, dancing chief,,,gourmen....etc...

Oh yes, me just got back from HK. Langham place hotel location is great,.....But, shopping with aedann is sure super challenging...prefer to keep him home anytime....\

good day all////

Hi Joy, nice meeting here.

Twinkle...yea...think all of us get about the same amount of allowance. I miss it very much too. And one of our very good friend is having a wedding comes June in Brisbane and then Singapore. So far had attended 4 wedding of uni friends and many of them migrated there too. Hope to be able to live there for another period of time together a family too.

I supposed where I used to stay have lots of changing, before we left, there were alot of new developments of tall apartments coming up.

joy,
for me, the good brands i've tried are "Brahim's" and "Prima". actually got a few sauces that comes in bottles, also very good. but i can't remember the brand liao. maybe this weekend when i go supermarket i will look out for you and let you know the brands.

Good morning...

Priscilla
Are you a peranakan, as saw quite a number of baba food that you posted.

Lani
Prima only got local delights right?Thanks for checking for me....

Van

Have you set off?

Have been busy,shopping,packing,planning itenaries and extracting infor from web. Guess won't have time to log in again soon.

Joy,
We are leaving o 19th,back on 25th mid-night

See you gals soon!

van,
have a good trip! and merry x'mas to you!

joy,
no worries. me going to supermarket later tonight, so will check out for you. oh yes, Glory also got nice bottled sauces. their sambals quite nice.

Thanks for all your concern!
I've been sleeping lots the last few days after going to see the GP on your advice. He says no need to eat antibiotics cos it's a common cold, but gave me a phlegm medicine.
Now feeling better, although still slightly phlegmish, and occasionally sneezing like the cold will get full-blown... just hope to keep it under control

Priscilla,
Haven't seen you for a long time! Welcome back to the forum!
I told my mum to try adding kafir lime leaves to the sambal like your recipe and it is indeed more fragrant!

starz,
I didn't manage to go for the event in your PM cos was sick, but nevermind, there'll always be next time! Did you get lots of stuff yourself?

Van,
Thanks for the message on the Robinsons & JL sale! Today feeling much better and then dragged hubby to the sale early in the morning!
Got my baby cot, breast pump and some supplies all at 20% discount, not to mention the additional 5% rebate that will be given in month-end statement... very happy!

For big-ticket items, now left only stroller and car seat to buy!
By the way, my sis was in KL and she got me the diaper covers already, so don't climb up and down to search for me anymore ok? *paiseh to make you do that*
She said it's the Benbeni brand and costs only "a few ringgit" each... she got me a dozen *faintz* She really thinks I'm a lazy mommy who won't do much washing

You'll be leaving on Tue yeah? Have a fantastic trip and a very merry white Xmas!

pris
wow the seafood porridge sound real good. but hb dun like to eat porridge. so think got to do it when i m eating by myself.

u got your own website? can share?

Van
have a good trip and buy lots of stuff back!!

lani
can let me know the sauces also? thinking of getting my maid to try more different styles of cooking.

sophie
glad u r feeling better. yah must get all those bb stuff during sale...for stroller and car seat, maybe u want to see whether got frens who can combine to buy for u?