Cooking Tips & Recipe

krisjoy, littlecat,
re: ice-cream recipe
oh, yes, can change to any fruit u like!

lyn,
me waiting to see yr handsome boy...

starz,
yr cookies look great! I'm so inspired to make lah, I think cannot tahan already, must start planning something... hehehe...

van,
thanks for the cookie tip, u r really expert lah.

sophie,
I'm sure yr friend will understand, so when u planning to visit her at her home? After her bb's full month?

van..
I use ACDSee, but I prefer photoshop...
Wah.. you are very "ti tie" wife leh... Wakes up so early to cook for your hubby... I feel so guilty that I cannot wake up early to prepare fruit juice for my hubby now... So tired...

Hello mommies!
This is Aloysius at 2.5months old... ta da...

493519.jpg

My friend gave me this England's World Cup football jersey set, including the socks! hahaha.. my hubby said it will be very complete with boots... lol... Me and my hubby gonna get a jersey too for ourselves.. hahaha...

annlee,
a lot of rice is good for me becoz I love rice and eat a lot a lot... I got reputation for rice one, hmm, guess that makes me a pig, hahaha.

van,
u r so sweet to cook heavier meals for yr hb early in the morning! I must learn from you how to "serve" my hb so good, hehehe...

soup is good, can go with any carbo and u can let it cook overnite in yr thermal pot.

which type of rice u using to cook porridge? I'm not sure about thermal pot but using my slow cooker, brown rice porridge cooked overnite is better because it will be thick like cantonese porridge style, if I use white rice it tends to be too soft.

Krisjoy,
You mean if your mum has diabetes, but you don't have, also have to do tests? Cos my mum has. Does that mean I must tell gynae?

starz,
You cookies look very pretty and professionally made! I love these cashew nut cookies, esp. during CNY period.

LittleCat,
Woah, you and hubby super romantic!

Glad you got your sea salt. Yeah, Bukit Timah maybe more expats so better demand for organic/healthy stuff? Flaxseed meal so expensive? The other one I saw was at the organic shop at basement of United Square, not so exp... probably $5 for a pack, but maybe not as big can as the one you saw. I find flaxmeal too expensive, so I make my own, cos flaxseeds are cheaper at $4 for a large pack. I just put them in grinder and grind into meal form myself.

You can work from home? That's very good, cos not all jobs can.

annlee,
I've never seen such veges before! Must go kaypoh at Carrefour next time... but sooo expensive! Don't think I'll ever pay $9 for a bunch of veges! I didn't see any purple colored plant at Tong Bahru, but if I do next time, I'll ask my mum what it's for.

I think Krisjoy will be the better person to tell you the Maxwell raw fish porridge, cos I don't really know where it is. It's my sis who's crazy about it.

lyn,
Thanks for advice on stroller. Eh, I heard very good reviews about My Humble House, but expensive right?

Krisjoy,
For picture resizing, I use this freeware called Irfanview. (http://www.irfanview.com/main_download_engl.htm)
- You can download it from CNet.
- Resizing is easy. Just go to "Image", then "Resize", and you can choose to resize the JPEG as a percentage of the original i.e. don't have to bother with pixels cos the pixels numbers make me blur.
- Remember to save your new resized file as another name (e.g. ending with smaller) so that you can retain your originals.
- The program is also very light i.e. does not use a lot of memory, so I like to use it. Cos my comp always hang when using Photoshop... think my comp not enough memory or I'm just too greedy, always got so many things opened at the same time.

sp,
It's actually my sis who just gave birth yesterday. I've just rang her at the hospital and explained to her - she is OK about me not going to visit her there
I told her I'll go back to my mum's place to see her after she gets discharged.

Krisjoy,
I'll probably attend the full-month celebration of my nephew. Do you know what the reason is for not attending full-month celebration? Cos I also have some friends who will give birth before me, and will probably be asked to go to their baby's full-month celebrations too.

sp,
You're not too far from Van too! Can wake up at 6am to make pasta and chocolate cake for the family... also very ti tie!

lyn,
Aloysius' eyes very big!
Look more like you or hubby?

Van,
Thanks for setting up the VCD Yahoo group. Will take a look

lyn,
Aloysius so chubby, he got double chin! he looks strong and "heavy" esp in the jersey...

sophie,
how I wish I "ti tie" lah, those things I get up early to make is for myself, if he happen to wanna eat he's welcome to, sometimes he won't eat.

sophie,
I gotta do bloodtest for diabetes during pregnancy quite often... but I was clear

My Humble House price is ok... We dun eat seafood, so the bill came out slightly less than $200 for 4 people. I can remember half peking duck is $38, whole duck is $70. Their Peking duck is classified as appetiser... hahaha... I think the restaurant's menu is for people with lots of "wen2 hua4" or artistic people... lol... I have difficulty looking at the menu, and almost wanna give up.

lyn
You boy really look "heavy" int that thick jersey...He has nice big eyes and nice eyebrow...hehe I always pay attention to babies eyebrow cos I have sparse eyebrows myself..haha!

sp,
I think you are much much better than me lah.My so-called wake up early is 6.45am-7.00am, not your 5am/6am. And I won't wake up early just to bake...especially when I was working full-time...
493572.gif

lyn, I have to double look at your bb to make sure whether is it my nephew or not. Very coincidence, my nephew name is Aloysius and 2 month+. Also got double chin.

My Humble House at explanade? Think i've seen the restaurant on TV before, they got unique chairs.

Thanks all for the tips to shrink the photos. Let me try tonite to see which one works for me

Annlee,
I saw this BP thread but not sure if they are buying the brand that u mentioned. http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449156/460656.html?1156138339
Btw, the porridge stall at Maxwell market is called "Zhen Zhen" in Chinese. They are the only stall with a long queue and they sold out by lunch time. Their stall is in the middle row..

Van,
Your hb is so lucky to have you preparing all those sumptious breakfasts for him :p you can also try making healthy sandwiches with low fat cheese and turkey ham and lotsa veges. Can also try making pancakes. My colleague prepared yam cake the day before and fry them as and when needed..

Lyn,
You boy is so chubby at 2.5 mths! So adorable
I hv not visited My Humble House cos it looks so expensive from outside. I've only dined at Chinois Club.

Sophie.
My gynae asked me about my parents' history when I first met him. When I went for my detailed scan, the gynae said that my amniotic fluid seems a bit more than usual so they suggested a blood test to make sure everything is ok..

gals,
so I should add the zhen Zhen porridge and the Hua Yuan porridge to our Good Food Table? Can those who have tried give me the details as per our Table's format? Thanks!

starz,
R we the ppl who survive to eat?

Wow, your cookies look so yummy!

lyn,
Aloysius is sooo chubby & cute! What u feed him?
Btw, my humble house is not humble at all..keke... My hubby & I always take their set meal cos the menu is damn chim... only got ink ppl can understand.

lyn, wow i like chubby baby!! he looks so alert!
hehe now i know why the poor mommy carry till hand pain liao... haha!

starz, i was trying to cut down on dessert but see your cookies can not tahan liao! eh OOS liao?

Sophie, not romantic lah.. after lunch he told me he didn't feel like eating so much and say next week (which is this week) he will have plenty of chance to eat western food ... in a way like saying i pick the wrong place..:'(

Last Saturday we went for the Hot Air Balloon ride at beach road area. It is a free ride from the vendor DHL.
My son love is so much ask me to go again.. no way man! it cost $23 for the 7 minutes ride, not worth it leh...
After the ride we had dinner at the 7th storey steamboat. It is nice, the soup base not so salty, not much service but they still charges us service charge...sigh! there is a promotion, they will give u a voucher to go back during weekday for the same steam boat size for free.
Didn't know the beach road area is so crowded with people! so many steamboat store and all full!
anyone try the Tian-Tian steamboat b4? hb went in to check he said looks good, but got to wait for 45min, and still no gurantee u will have a seat.

Van,
I do not have the exact unit number leh. Only know where they are located...Zhen Zhen porridge at Maxwell Market. Closed on Tues. Long queue from breakfast till lunch. Must try: Fish porridge and raw fish salad ($2.20 and $2 respectively).

LittleCat,
There is one Tian-Wai-Tian fishhead steamboat at McPherson which is very popular. Theirs is a Teochew style and the broth is made without MSG. Have you tried this before?

I also noticed a lot of steamboat operators along Beach Road. Some are even operated by Chinese nationals. Have not tried any of them though...

krisjoy, is the same product. Have you try it before?

van, I've been to hua yuan a few times but don't know the block number. Will be there later this week, letyou know again ok

littlecat, i also didn't bring my son for the hot air balloon. I told my hb don't want to waste the money just to hang up there for 5 or 7 mins. But my son keep asking to go for the balloon ride, now still considering.

The steamboat is it opposite shaw tower along beach road. I went to the mala steamboat, only recognise the place,don't know the name, opp shaw tower and think is the best. $15 per pax, buffet type.

juz came back from lunchie.... had "buddha jump over the wall".... hehehehehe...
at lucky plaza, n it only cost me $8.90...

lyn,
aloysius VERY VERY VERY cute leh... his eyes so big... n so "sturdy".. r u completely breast-feeding him??
hehehe.. u n hubby also soccer fan ar???
can post ur "chuen jia fu" at our yahoo group there share share???

littlecat, u so shiok ar.. can work from home... u also wish can.. but my co. so far no such practise...

when then u post ur CNY family potrait ar???

annlee,
maybe u can try applying calamine lotion for him, or if u hv, aloe vera gel (put in fridge so its cold.. kids may like tat).. or that "?? heat" powder, the cooling one.. to prevent ur ds from scratching e itchiness...

cat_tail,
i'm definitely the one survive to eat... if u tell me cannot eat all my fav food, then there's no joy in living liaoz...

aiyoo... u all no need to "push" e "ti tie" "title" to one another liaoz lah... u ALL also very "ti tie" to hubby.... only me, the super lazy pig in e morning, no way ever i wld wake up early to make breakfast for hubby one.. even if its just bread. rather, its hubby wake up earlier than me, so every morning my bread breakfast is he prepare one.... hehehehehe.... so compared "against" me, all are super "ti tie" wives....

littlecat,
heheh.. this time no OOS... but e standard don't "pass"... cannot share share.. hehehehe.. i dont dare to bring to office to share even.. next time i try again... if pass my own "standard" liaoz, then share hor...

Van,
maybe u can try Channel News Asia website, i remember every Tue n Thur morning (around 8-8:30am), they hv this "cooking segment", where they teach u how to prepare e food in e morning, come back after work only require minimum "work" to have a ready dinner liaoz....
since ur hubby wants a heavy breakfast nowadays, u can prepare e food at nite, morning wake-up min effort get e food ready for him????

van, or tabao from outside like roti prata, you tiao or those kway kway,fried bee hoon all heavy breakfast so you don't have to cook early in the morning, so tiring for you. starz mentioned prepare food at night,good idea too.

Out of the topic, any mummies send your dd/ds or yourself picture to smile singapore? Have tried sending thru MMS but failed. It's my second time sending using MMS but failed to do so. Dunno why?

krisjoy, thanks for the info
eh is it that one with 'bake salt chicken' next to it? if is that one i tried b4, u r right it is good ;)

abt beach road i rem last time there are some ma-la steamboat war there.. but now i think even more..

annlee, if is not free i really won't go leh.. imagine 3 of us hor, will be $23x2 + kid i think $12 wow too expensive liao! rather go zoo :p

rich starz, eat "buddha jump over the wall".... :p

van i think is good idea to cook there overnite. but some old people say over nite porridge got wind..
or another suggestion is u fried the bee hoon put in the thermal pot till morning, it should still warm. so hb still can eat.
aiyoh when i tell my hb i want to be a sahm, he already 'dream' i will cook breakfast & dinner waiting for him liao

starz, aiyoh u still remember the CNY portrait thing?
eh how about the rest ?
eh starz, they all very smart leh, skip this topic leh.. like that how??

annlee,
I think i rather wake up "early",cook, then go back to sleep then change,tabao, then can't sleep liaoz..hehe.Besides, it's more convenient for him to eat out near his office at Suntect rather then I go and tabao for him in the morning.
493801.gif
,but thanks for the suggestions.

LittleCat,Starz,
I thought of cooking fried beehon early in the morning, just get the "liao" ready at night.Didn't think that I could just fried it at night and keep in thermal pot hor? Will try that!

Cooking porridge in thermal pot overnight is considered "overnight porridge" huh? I thought I could of do that, and was thinking it's "continue-cooking-overnight" porridge leh!

LittleCat,
A lot of men will think that way.If their wife become SAHMs, then they expect the wife "bao ga liao" everything in the household. Of course,that include cooking breakfast and dinner.

Some wives are very fortunate, their husbands will still help out at night or during weekends so that the wives can take a break.Some husbands are totally bo-chap.

annlee,
don't send to smile singapore lah... send here instead.... hehehehe...

littlecat,
hehehe.. i did thot "would littlecat be there?" when i was at e rabbit restaurant.... rich???? u know better lah huh.....
of cos i still remember lah.... i e thick-skin one, already initiated n done liaoz leh.....
now everyone here with a good imagination (or "stretch" my photo to twice e original width, cos i "double" that size horizontally liaoz...) will know my face if see me on e streets liaoz.... *haiz*...
next time u all start smiling at me on e street n i blur blur no reaction, its not bcos i "dao" ar... bcos i dont know ur faces.....

actually i also love eating steamboat... but hubby dont like, so hardly get to eat... once or twice a year get to go is "lucky" liaoz lor...
i usually go to "Chong Qing ma la steamboat" at Tanglin Shopping Ctr, n Suntec Convention hall e buffet one.. also see alot along beach road, but nobody bring me to try....

annlee, yah lor why bother to send MMS ? must pay somemore, come upload here lah!

starz, i uploaded my photo liao..
only me and son, didn't post my hb, wait he not happy then i can't be sahm liao :p

<font color="ff0000">Hi all, please upload your photo.</font>

van, normally i will tabao for breakfast cos my breakfast i must eat something heavier like my favourite mee pok with lotsa chilli paste that satisfied my early day first. My hb and son eats oat porriage or sometimes bread for my son. sometime ask your hb to eat near his office, cannot always bao ga liao one lah.... hee....you also can sleep longer

annlee,
I din try the california products but it seems to be very popular. A lot of mummies doing BP on it. Maybe next time you can try it out..

Littlecat,
Yes, u r right. That's the one. I always ordered the promfet for the steamboat

Starz,
I like the Chong-qing mala steamboat too. But i now go to the branch at Suntec fountain cos it is more convenient.

Littlecat,
I will go home and try to downsize the pics to see if I can upload them ;p

starz, forgot to tell u, eh your god dd really looks like u leh...

krisjoy, their hey-zho (the prawn with minced meat thing..) also very good.

ok we will wait for your picture hor

but if u put under the yahoo group, i think the size is ok.

ok ok will send my boys picture soon.... ask my hb help me tonight but not me on pic hor cos i paisay and put on weight so ugly.

starz, ask your hb to bring you to mala steamboat at beach rd, is nice.

Hi ladies here,

Can advise which brand non-stick wok is a better buy? my wok gone case liao need to buy a new one and was thinking of Tefal.

This thread is getting more &amp; more interesting when we talk abt food! Heehee..

Re: Steamboat
There's a stretch of many Chong Qing steamboat resturants at Geylang Road!! At nite that place is very rowdy! They use some kind of special steel for the pot of soup, very unique but I haven't try yet.

Van_G,
Alamak... my gal just past 1 yr old, cannot earn the $100.

littlecat,
lucky u "remind" me.. i better dont show hubby face liaoz.. hehehe... show me n my little girl can liaoz...

krisjoy,
tat steamboat is more like "yu tou lu" one rite.. got to wait very long on weekends leh, i think i ever wait more than an hr b4...
other than "hey-zho", e "prawn paste chicken", "tofu prawns" also good.. very long never go too liaoz, cos waiting time too long.... nowadays baby cannot "wait" for food one, hungry means must eat immed liaoz..

littlecat,
hehehe.. now i can "put a face" to u liaoz lor... last time no matter how hard i try, don't know how to imagine how u look like...
ur boy look like u leh, the face shape n lower part of e face.. only thing his eyes bigger than urs (muz be follow his dad one).... hehehehe..... he wear e chinese costume so cute.....

annlee,
dont paiseh lah... after i give birth i also post my pics here okay... hopefully next time i'm just 1.5times my pre-pg size n not 2times like now.... hehehehehe....

Talking about steamboat...have you gals heard about some shops in China recycling the steamboat soup?...After the customer left, the took the pot of soup,strained it and recycle it? Sometimes can find tissue paper,cigarette butts on the strainer....
493847.gif
493848.gif

Wow so many new posts! Will come in tonight to read.

Sophie,

Anjappar Authentic Chettinad Restaurant has one at race course road, along the stretch where Muthu's Curry and The Banana Leaf are, and one opposite Mustafah.I will drop by Little India again for Anjappar this weekend.

Cat_tail,

Haven't tried Samy's curry...where is Dempsey Road?

Hi all, updated table :

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD> Location</TD><TD> Profession</TD><TD>Kids</TD><TD> Dialect</TD><TD>Remarks </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amelia</TD><TD>CCK </TD><TD>working towards freelancing so I can be SAHM in future </TD><TD>no kids </TD><TD>Hokkien </TD><TD>enjoys food and cooking </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annelise</TD><TD>Tampines</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>2 girls (5 yrs &amp; 2.5 yrs)</TD><TD> Teochew</TD><TD>Love baking </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>annlee</TD><TD> Bugis</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD> 2boys 4 yrs and 12 mths</TD><TD> hokkien</TD><TD> love cooking, enjoy good food, love spicy food. </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cat_tail</TD><TD>Old Airport Rd</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>1 girl (1 yr)</TD><TD>Hakka</TD><TD>Love eating but seldom cook </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Choc06</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD> 2 girls(5+yrs &amp; 4yrs)</TD><TD> Cantonese</TD><TD> Loves cockles, cheesecake &amp; malay food (EDD Aug'06 - 3rd child) </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>clover</TD><TD> bendemeer</TD><TD> sahm</TD><TD> 1 boy(2yrs)</TD><TD> -</TD><TD>love food,seldom cook. </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>home</TD><TD> cck</TD><TD> sahm</TD><TD> 1 boy(2yrs)</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> edd 16/11 </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janice</TD><TD>Toh Yi</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD>11 month gal</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>new at cooking </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Krisjoy</TD><TD> Admiralty</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD> EDD Nov</TD><TD> Hainanese</TD><TD> Love cooking, baking and enjoying good food </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lilipit</TD><TD> Sengkang</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD> 1 boy (9.5mths)</TD><TD> Teochew</TD><TD> likes good food and likes to cook if there's time </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_cat</TD><TD>Jurong East</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD> 1 boy (4 yrs),2nd one EDD Nov'06</TD><TD> Cantonese</TD><TD> Luv cockles &amp; other seafood. </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lyn Happysunflower</TD><TD>YCK</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD> 1 boy (2 months)</TD><TD>Hokkein</TD><TD> Exploring Vegetarian food. </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sophie</TD><TD> Bishan</TD><TD> SAH-MTB</TD><TD> EDD Feb07</TD><TD> Hakka</TD><TD> Experimenting with new recipes </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>sp</TD><TD>KL</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>1 boy (10 mths)</TD><TD> Hokkien</TD><TD>learning to cook </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>starz</TD><TD> hougang</TD><TD> FTWM-to-be</TD><TD> EDD nov'06</TD><TD> Hokkien &amp; Cantonese 50% each</TD><TD> love baking,cooking and eating </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD> Toh Guan Road</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>1 boy (31 months)</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> currently outstation in Vancouver </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Van</TD><TD>CCK</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD> 1 girl (5yrs+)</TD><TD> Hokkien</TD><TD>Love baking, trying out new recipes </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Thank you for the compliments...
The jersey is for 6-12 months baby... lol.. Now can wear already...

sophie,
Nowadays, more people say Aloysius looks like his daddy...

sp,
He's very strong. Very tiring to carry him when he keep struggling or stretch.

annlee,
hahaha... So "qiao" ah...
Ya, My Humble House is at Esplanade. The chairs are very unique. Very tall and heavy chairs they have. Even the waitress wear nice and not so ordinary uniform to serve.

Krisjoy,
hmm... If you have been to Club Chinois, then My Humble House will be affordable... Their cheapest set menu is $88+++ per person for 7 course.

cat_tail,
He's totally breastfed. I take lots of supplements and I also crushed my organic supplements into powder to feed him when I am in the mood... :p
hahaha.. I almost wanna give up looking at their menu! I dun have much ink... lol...

littlecat,
He's now 6.4kg already. My friend's baby, born 3 weeks before Aloysius and birth weight at 4kg, is almost the same weight as Aloysius... I am surprised at the rate he's growing...
Wah.. you went on the hot air balloon ah... So nice...

starz,
I 100% breastfeed him. My hubby is soccer fan... haha.. "chuen jia fu" ah... kekeke... Gotta find and see have or not... Maybe next week cos we are waiting for our jersey too... lol... Then "chuen jia" in england world cup jersey... kekeke...

annlee,
I sent my boy's pic to smile Singapore quite some time ago...
But I sent via internet.

Van,
Before baby came out, I will wake up every morning to make fruit juice for my hubby.. but now, no more already.. he will have an apple... lol...

twinkle starry,
For health, teflon coated non-stick wok are not so good.

hi Lyn
very good nutritious hor :D
eh must share the secret on breastfeed. I try last time but not very succesful. Also becos we start with formula quite early. This time round i want to try.

about the 4M smiles, saw this:
The public are invited to submit their digital pictures online through the Four Million Smiles website at www.smileS2006.com or through MMS to 9742 8743 from 11 June to 2 August 2006.

think is over liao right?

little meow,
Can I just paste my gal's pic? I very shy one...heeheee...
Speak Hakka ah... uh hum.. dun noe leh, but I noe how to eat hakka food.

Amelia,
It's just beside the American Embassy, up the hill &amp; then turn right. If u find it too ulu, they have 2 outlets at Marina Square Food court &amp; Katong.

lyn,
U have spent a lot of effort! No wonder your boy boy got substance.

morning ladies....

littlecat,
yupz, i speak canto... can't reli speak hokkien tho'.. always got problem communicating w MIL.. sometimes just go "ya ya ya"... all e way... hehehe..

lyn,
ya, share share wat u do/eat to feed ur son until so strong n sturdy leh.... i also wana try bf completely, even when go back to work also wana express... any tips welcome!!!

now can totally understand why dat day u said carry him until hand blue black liaoz...

okay, we'll wait for ur "chuen jia fu" in England jersey...

wow... so many postings about food *drool*

LittleCat,
I can speak a fair bit of Hakka, cos before the age of 5, I was being taken care of by my greataunt, and their family speaks only Hakka. My sisters and brothers stayed with my grandma when young, and she speaks Cantonese to them even though we are Hakka, so they cannot speak Hakka. I picked up Cantonese when I moved back to my grandma's place at age 5. So my conclusion is kids pick up languages very quickly before age 7, and if we want our kids to be bilingual (dh Chinese is terrible), either I have to speak Chinese or I leave our kid at my mum's place where she speaks more Chinese. China is becoming more powerful... we cannot afford for our kids not to understand Chinese

Amelia,
Thanks for the directions for the Indian food. I'll go check it out when I can take spicy food... am dying for masala tea!

lyn, your bb is a big chubby boy. 2.5mths at 6.4kg is ang mo bb size. I BF my son and when he is 6mths old only 8kg. But I believed BF can make bb chubby and strong, chubby because drink and drink milk, always not enough for them. Well done man..... all your good stuff give to bb. You also must take care of yourself!

Starz, I always wanna learn cantonese since young. I liked it very nuch and some of my friends speak canton like singing song but my neighbour aunti speaks like scolding people....so fierce. Until now I still dunno how to speak a full sentence, all mix with other lauguages.

sophie, where are you.................

hi lyn,

if using other wok, it seems that when i fried fish or even fried egg, it sticks to the wok. My cooking skills not very good
got good suggestion?

annlee,
Here... here.... dunno why yesterday so tired after cooking lunch, I actually fell asleep from 2 till 6pm! Then of course time for my Korean dramas, dinner, a short stroll and then My Lovely Samsoon again
Dh is trying to better his Chinese cos he needs to go China for work more often now, so he is watching My Lovely Samsoon to improve his Chinese. Tonight, I'm gonna paste a white strip of paper across the subtitle part so he cannot rely on subtitles anymore

Hey gals,
I saw all your pics on Yahoo Group

- annlee's boys are very handsome with dark eyes! Who did they inherit those eyes from?

- starz's goddaughter does look like her... at first I thought the little girl is her dd, then remembered starz is expecting her first child!

- sp, your boy also very cute
Eh, that hand supporting your ds is yours issit? if so, then you are not fat lah! Seems like your boy has the same creamy smooth complexion as the hand.

- LittleCat, hehe, now I understand what you mean when you say you boy inherited your hubby's eyelashes
But yours also nice lah... I always prefer a more Oriental look with small eyes, so got more space on the face to put makeup

- Van, I like the 4 pics of your dd - can see the changes from baby to toddler... can't wait for my own turn! Can put up the HK Disney pic too?
I love that pic... your dd looked so happy grinning ear-to-ear, but then I guess that's what Disney does to kids, and even adults!

annlee,
Learn Cantonese from serials? I picked up Canto at age 7 by being hooked on Canto serials.

Sophie,
Yes...I agree that kids pick up languages easily before the age of 7.Even after 7,when they are in Primary, it's still not difficult to learn another language,if they are exposed to it . I actually learned speaking and singing Cantonese songs from the Hong Kong serials and variety shows video tapes that my cousins rented when I was a kid,so no problem for me when I am in Hong Kong.

twinkle-starry,

The trick is to make sure that the wok is hot enough before pouring in the oil, and the oil is hot enough before putting in the ingredients. For fish or egg, don't turn/flip it too early.

Starz,
Your god daughter has your eyes! Is she related to you? like... your niece?

LittleCat,
Your ds has your smile and very good complexion!