Cooking Tips & Recipe

good morning ladies....

i MIA for few days so many postings... read until blur liaoz...

hehe, i also "sidetrack" abit ar.. last friday went for checkup to see my little prince inside... he's estimated to be 920grams at 26wks3days... happy thing is, he's very strong n healthy... bad thing is, recently he seems to become the "night owl" liaoz.. only 11+pm, 12mn then he start to kick... n its strong enough to keep me awake... reli scared next time he also like that.. means i also won't expect to ever have enough sleep for the next few years liaoz... *haiz*...

whoever was asking abt stretchmark cream hor.. i'm the "kiasu" preggie that started using the same week i found out... so far *touch wood* didn't see anything, nor have "itchy" tummy... i've tried Palmers', Thyme maternity (in-house brand), n now Avent. so far i find Avent the best, in terms of the "creaminess" n smell...

i also tried baking biscuits in my microwave oven liaoz... made "Sugee biscuits" on sunday.. this time no drama liaoz... hehehe... biscuit turned out really well, "crispy" but abit too sweet (for the adults)..
but just found out that even during baking, the ceramic tray inside will "turn" one.. so limited to using round baking trays liaoz....

anyone any idea where i can find large varieties of baking equipment at one stop????

Good morning everyone!
Still "morning" today cos it's only 10:25am now...

Van,
The Goodwood Fri outing sounds good, but heh, I still very kiasi, don't wanna walk way too far yet till I'm past 14 weeks, so I'll join you guys next time!

LittleCat,
I know Sunday Times ran a review on these crab beehoon long ago, but I didn't keep the copy. I didn't watch the Discovery Travel & Living Show, but do you know where this restaurant is?
I always go to the one at Blk 232 at Ang Mo Kio. The crab beehoon with milk is superb, and if you go after 6:30pm, there will be a long queue. And generally, have to wait about 45min to 1hr for the crab beehoon. Other than crab beehoon at this place:
- the oats prawns are not bad
- butter crabs seems good cos I see alot of people ordering it
- they have a zhao pai tofu which is pretty good (fried tofu mashed with some meat dipped in sauce)
- ha jeong kai is ok
- veges are ok; the sambal kangkong type a tad oily, but yummy
- chilli crab OK... way cheaper than Jumbo, less hot
- if you want extra soup for crab beehoon, it's $3 per large soup bowl

Not that expensive for this restaurant. I ate with my inlaws there... for 6 pax, we ordered a medium crab beehoon, a small chilli crab, small oats prawn, ha jeong kai, scallops with mashed yam, 1 vege, zhao pai tofu... total about $150. And I always bring my overseas colleagues there to eat if they wanted something "local". All local and overseas colleagues like it.

Lemme go dig out the namecard... and I'll post it up. I think this guy recently opened another branch in Toa Payoh.

littlecat,
the crab bee hoon stall is it the one at Geylang? that the newpaper featured a couple of weeks back???
i've tried the one at Defu Lane (near Hougang), at a industrial park area... its very good, n reasonably priced...

Sophie,
I have tried the crab beehoon at Blk 232 Ang Mo Kio.In fact, I have just added it to the Good Food Table,wanted to post up when there are a few more new recommendations.
482121.gif
482122.gif

littlecat,
is the crab beehoon the dry type, at a geylang coffeeshop, the owner cum cook cum order taker is called Danny? If it that one, then the food is good, but prep to wait. I went to eat a week before I delivered and waited almost 1 hour before he took my order, and almost another hour before the food came. Ate the crab beehoon, feeling guilty cos my MIL says my daughter v active cos I ate too much crabs...hahahahah

Sophie,

I also went to the AMK coffeeshop for its crab mee hoon. Very nice! I tried other versions of crab too and most of the food there did not disappoint.

Starz, the one at Defu lane is famous for their zi-char right? I read a lot of good reviews about them but did not get to visit the stall. Is it difficult to locate? I heard that the fried toufu there is good too! The owners also owned another 'higher class' restaurant called Taste Paradise. My friend told me it is expensive and taste like Tung Lok style of cooking and presentation..

cupcake,
The crab beenhoon at AMK is the wet type. Just imagine fishhead beehoon with milky soup, but instead of fishhead, they use crabs... super sweet soup!

Van, Krisjoy,
You tried Mellben too?
It's one of my favourite kopitiam for eating seafood, cos cheaper than other places and yummy too. I've never tried the owner's brother's shop in the opposite block though... always quite empty, and some friends who tried it says not as good.

Talking about seafood, you gals heard about this place called Codfish Village opened by an ex-TCS actor (quite suave-looking guy from China). My friend brought us to the shop in Toa Payoh... he likes the curry codfish head, but I prefer the baked codfish with cheese. Very fresh codfish with no funny fishy smell; texture is like butter that melts in your mouth.

Sophie,
I have never tried the other one owned by the brother.My friend said it's not good.
482180.gif

Read about the Codfish Village in newspaper, but forgot which ex-TCS actor?!
482181.gif

krisjoy,
i'm not very sure if they r famous for their zi-char or not leh... i went there after seeing the Sunday Times review on crab bee hoon sometime back... but theirs is using "dang hoon", n its not with alot of soup, just "enough" like gravy type of soup... its not difficult to find, but i cannot remember lane number what...
hehehe... its been awhile since i went there liaoz, cannot remember what is nice liaoz...

btw,
i just had my durian feast on saturday.. i bought from this shop currently located at Kovan OCBC building (near a car fly-over)... we bought the "wild cat mountain" type (1kg $13), the XO type, n the D24 1kg $10)... total 5 for $90... wah.. reli reli good... all the seed small small one.. n the meat is just nice, not to dry / wet.. except for the XO flavour one, is very wet... but the best i've had in a long time.... hehehe...

Van,
The TCS actor's name is called Xia Chuan. He's a veteran actor who has since turned trainer. Quite old already... maybe 50+, cos I watched a Channel8 or U programme on him - about how a not-so-young father copes with his young kids. Still looking suave in the programme
I saw him at his shop too, exactly the same as what you see on TV!

starz,
Wow.... the durian sounds yummy... hehe, you reminded me I still got 2 more seeds of kampung durians in my fridge... think I will go eat it up before dh comes home tonight
The fridge needs some space anyway....

hahahaha......
van, ur icon reli very cute leh.... hehehe.. especially the eyes...

me look exactly like ur icon, still drooling n still craving for the durians even though i've had my fill just 3 days ago.....
but i cannot eat anymore liaoz, now on "ration".. only once a fortnight...

Sophie,
I just received my packages from VPOST,but short of one package leh...so dissapppointed! I generated the bill for all the packages at one go, but the last one, which is a small package from ebay wasn't delivered together!
482215.gif

Ok..I know which one is Xia Chuan, Middle-aged man...

Hi Sophie, yes i went there right after TCS featured them on a makan programme. Wow, it was super crowded then cos everyone wants to try out. A lot of items were also sold out. I only get to try the cod fish head curry and steam fish head with chai-poh. And we need to wait for about an hour before the food arrived. Because of this experience, I did not go back since. How's the crowd now? Is it better?

Starz, i am salivating by just reading on your durian feast. Made me very tempted to go buy some. But must have some self-refrain cos i have been eating durians for the past 3 weeks and i heard too much is no good for bb...

starz, eh u solid ah, eat durian and biscuits hor? not scare of putting weight ? :D

eh me also, suddenly like cookies have been buying from taka B2 there got one cookies store called Cookie Man. their cookies is not that sweet compare to Mrs Fields or famous amous.

gals got any cookies recepi to share ?

Good morning Sophie! hehe u r early to day :D
It is at geylang, i think same as why cupcake mentioned.
btw i have not tried b4, only saw it from TV last nite. Then my hb reminded me this owner very proud leh say things like "if u can't afford dun come..."

me also had durian last nite, we bought one D24, $5 only cos they have promo. my hb said abit too bitter. i eat and eat and eat can't tell what is 'bitter'... the only diff i can tell is, this is not like those D13 where it is so so sweet till can't eat much very 'jerlard'. But we like the D13 cos no 'fibre' very smooth.
Starz, your hb so generous not like my 'kiam monkey' at home leh...

krisjoy,
depends on wat u been told n wat u believe lor...
n how strong ur willpower to control lor... hehehe...

i also controlling cos everybody says durians make our babies grow bigger... mine already big so better not...

then my mum also say when she was preg with my younger bro, she ate alot... my brother very very bad tempered, n "heaty" by nature.. got alot of pimples on his face n body... also dont know is it due to durians when he was "inside"... or external factors when he's growing up...
kao_confused.gif

i think i will start taking coconut & coconut water soon... cos i'm "heaty" by nature.. then also another friend who just gave birth (2mths) told me she started taking in her 6th mth.. of cos not too frequently, abt once a week / fortnight... n her belief is, it reduces the chance of baby having jaundice... indeed her baby boy did not have any signs of jaundice at all...

pregnancy is a very confusing time for me.... soo many conflicting advice...
kao_confused.gif

Hi all, here's the old list, let me know if you want to join..
Pls give me in this format :
example below, seperated by ',':
Van,CCK,SAHM, 1 girl (5yrs+), Hokkien,Love baking, trying out new recipes

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD> Location</TD><TD> Profession</TD><TD>Kids</TD><TD> Dialect</TD><TD>Remarks </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annelise</TD><TD>Tampines</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>2 girls (5 yrs &amp; 2.5 yrs)</TD><TD> Teochew</TD><TD>Love baking </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Choc06</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD> 2 girls(5+yrs &amp; 4yrs)</TD><TD> Cantonese</TD><TD> Loves cockles, cheesecake &amp; malay food (EDD Aug'06 - 3rd child) </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>clover</TD><TD> bendemeer</TD><TD> sahm</TD><TD> 1 boy(2yrs)</TD><TD> </TD><TD>love food,seldom cook. </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>home</TD><TD> cck</TD><TD> sahm</TD><TD> 1 boy(2yrs)</TD><TD></TD><TD> edd 16/11 </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lilipit</TD><TD> Sengkang</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD> 1 boy (9.5mths)</TD><TD> Teochew</TD><TD> likes good food and likes to cook if there's time </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_cat</TD><TD>Jurong East</TD><TD>fulltime working mom</TD><TD> 1 boy (4 yrs)</TD><TD> Cantonese</TD><TD> Luv cockles &amp; other seafood, currently PG EDD Nov06. </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lyn Happysunflower</TD><TD>YCK</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD> 1 boy (2 months)</TD><TD>Hokkein</TD><TD> Exploring Vegetarian food. </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sophie</TD><TD> Bishan</TD><TD> SAH-Mum-Wannabe</TD><TD> TTC</TD><TD> Hakka</TD><TD> Experimenting with new recipes </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>sp</TD><TD>KL</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>1 boy (10 mths)</TD><TD> Hokkien</TD><TD>learning to cook </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD> Toh Guan Road</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>1 boy (31 months)</TD><TD></TD><TD> currently outstation in Vancouver </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Van</TD><TD>CCK</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD> 1 girl (5yrs+)</TD><TD> Hokkien</TD><TD>Love baking, trying out new recipes </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

littlecat,
hehehe... scared.. but i got zero resistance when it comes to durians....
ur hb also monkey ar.... mine also, he's "kiam" when its other things... but come to food n durians, he's not.. cos its the only thing he spends on.... he the "durian gourmet" somemore, refuses to eat the leftover durians that we keep in the fridge... he say durians must eat "Fresh" opened ones...

i love bitter durians leh... out of the 5 we bought, only 1 is sweet, cos my mummy also love bitter ones...

littlecat,
me me me.... hehehe....

starz, hougang, FTWM-to-be, EDD nov'06, Hokkien &amp; Cantonese 50% each, love baking,cooking and eating

thank you...

Hi LittleCat,
Can add me in? I am a secret reader of this thread..heehee.

cat_tail,Old Airport Rd,FTWM,1 girl (1 yr),Hakka,Love eating but seldom cook

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD> Location</TD><TD> Profession</TD><TD>Kids</TD><TD> Dialect</TD><TD>Remarks </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annelise</TD><TD>Tampines</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>2 girls (5 yrs &amp; 2.5 yrs)</TD><TD> Teochew</TD><TD>Love baking </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cat_tail</TD><TD>Old Airport Rd</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>1 girl (1 yr)</TD><TD>Hakka</TD><TD>Love eating but seldom cook </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Choc06</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD> 2 girls(5+yrs &amp; 4yrs)</TD><TD> Cantonese</TD><TD> Loves cockles, cheesecake &amp; malay food (EDD Aug'06 - 3rd child) </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>clover</TD><TD> bendemeer</TD><TD> sahm</TD><TD> 1 boy(2yrs)</TD><TD> -</TD><TD>love food,seldom cook. </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>home</TD><TD> cck</TD><TD> sahm</TD><TD> 1 boy(2yrs)</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> edd 16/11 </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lilipit</TD><TD> Sengkang</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD> 1 boy (9.5mths)</TD><TD> Teochew</TD><TD> likes good food and likes to cook if there's time </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_cat</TD><TD>Jurong East</TD><TD>fulltime working mom</TD><TD> 1 boy (4 yrs)</TD><TD> Cantonese</TD><TD> Luv cockles &amp; other seafood, currently PG EDD Nov06. </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lyn Happysunflower</TD><TD>YCK</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD> 1 boy (2 months)</TD><TD>Hokkein</TD><TD> Exploring Vegetarian food. </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sophie</TD><TD> Bishan</TD><TD> SAH-Mum-Wannabe</TD><TD> TTC</TD><TD> Hakka</TD><TD> Experimenting with new recipes </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>sp</TD><TD>KL</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>1 boy (10 mths)</TD><TD> Hokkien</TD><TD>learning to cook </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>starz</TD><TD> hougang</TD><TD> FTWM-to-be</TD><TD> EDD nov'06</TD><TD> Hokkien &amp; Cantonese 50% each</TD><TD> love baking,cooking and eating </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD> Toh Guan Road</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>1 boy (31 months)</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> currently outstation in Vancouver </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Van</TD><TD>CCK</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD> 1 girl (5yrs+)</TD><TD> Hokkien</TD><TD>Love baking, trying out new recipes </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Van,
How come VPOST so gabra one? Hope the package is not lost cos you mentioned it is small? Heh, you excited with your packages?

I made my payment on 2 Aug, and website says items will be delivered in 5-7 days. So am now waiting in anticipation!

Because I cannot walk around too much still, I also bought some brand new Motherhood tops from Yahoo Auctions in SG, so now also waiting for those to arrive

I calculated... my total average for 11 pcs so far is about $36/pc and that includes 3 bottoms and 1 dress.
Not too bad... considering I dropped by Thyme at UE Sq last weekend and almost fainted when I saw pants going for minimum $69.90 and a pair of nice striped pants going for $113!

Still wanna go check out the Beauty World shop LittleCat mentioned and a shop in Toa Payoh Central that sells bottoms for about $20. Can buy simple pants like what LittleCat did and then pair them off with the tops I bought.

Krisjoy,
I think the place still crowded leh, but they just opened the upstairs area, so may be better. Still, we always kiasu, go around 630pm.

LittleCat,
How come the stall owner so stuck-up leh? I believe food must be cooked with love and passion then taste good... if he's like that, then I don't have much faith in the cooks' "love" when they are cooking

starz,
Coconut can reduce risk of jaundice?

Van,
I think mine will be changed to SAH-MTB, EDD Feb 2007

Oops! Van, you so fast... post updated table liao? Never mind about mine, can always change later

Good food to recommend:

Mei ling street hawker center, next to the multi storey car park
Hor fun (shi-hui-yuan)
* their hor fun with chicken feet is nice. also you can try the hor fun with braised duck or chicken.
Next to this hor fun got one prawn noodle, always very long Q. Appear in Situ's makan sutra also. Share the same comment, why their Q so long? is it the food ? or their process is slow? cos the uncle there hor, only cut the liver when u order...

The Lor mee, Wanton mee, and lor duck also damn good... pai seh didn't take down the stall #. when i go next time will do my home work :p

And the min-jiang-kueh, fresh and hot ! very nice!
ok time for lunch!

LittleCat,
In case you are interested in Fujifilm cameras, here's a promo by SingPost for National Day - I think SingPost would have distributed this leaflet island-wide.

Fujifilm A600 camera at $399 while stocks last
Specs:
- 6.3 million effective pixel
- Large 2.4 inch LCD monitor
- 3x Optical, 6.2x digital
- Internal Memory Approx 12 MB
- Movie recording
- QVGA, 10 frame/sec

FREE Prints Worth $300

Must buy with coupon at:
733 Bukit Timah Road
2nd Ave Junc #01-06
Tel: 6467 5535

Here's how it looks like:
http://www.dpreview.com/news/0602/06021401fujia600.asp

Hi Sophie, no problem

I wanted to ask u also, but wait for u to tell me lah

eh is me lah not van..

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD> Location</TD><TD> Profession</TD><TD>Kids</TD><TD> Dialect</TD><TD>Remarks </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annelise</TD><TD>Tampines</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>2 girls (5 yrs &amp; 2.5 yrs)</TD><TD> Teochew</TD><TD>Love baking </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cat_tail</TD><TD>Old Airport Rd</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>1 girl (1 yr)</TD><TD>Hakka</TD><TD>Love eating but seldom cook </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Choc06</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD> 2 girls(5+yrs &amp; 4yrs)</TD><TD> Cantonese</TD><TD> Loves cockles, cheesecake &amp; malay food (EDD Aug'06 - 3rd child) </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>clover</TD><TD> bendemeer</TD><TD> sahm</TD><TD> 1 boy(2yrs)</TD><TD> -</TD><TD>love food,seldom cook. </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>home</TD><TD> cck</TD><TD> sahm</TD><TD> 1 boy(2yrs)</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> edd 16/11 </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lilipit</TD><TD> Sengkang</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD> 1 boy (9.5mths)</TD><TD> Teochew</TD><TD> likes good food and likes to cook if there's time </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_cat</TD><TD>Jurong East</TD><TD>fulltime working mom</TD><TD> 1 boy (4 yrs)</TD><TD> Cantonese</TD><TD> Luv cockles &amp; other seafood, currently PG EDD Nov06. </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lyn Happysunflower</TD><TD>YCK</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD> 1 boy (2 months)</TD><TD>Hokkein</TD><TD> Exploring Vegetarian food. </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sophie</TD><TD> Bishan</TD><TD> SAH-MTB</TD><TD> EDD Feb07</TD><TD> Hakka</TD><TD> Experimenting with new recipes </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>sp</TD><TD>KL</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>1 boy (10 mths)</TD><TD> Hokkien</TD><TD>learning to cook </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>starz</TD><TD> hougang</TD><TD> FTWM-to-be</TD><TD> EDD nov'06</TD><TD> Hokkien &amp; Cantonese 50% each</TD><TD> love baking,cooking and eating </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD> Toh Guan Road</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>1 boy (31 months)</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> currently outstation in Vancouver </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Van</TD><TD>CCK</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD> 1 girl (5yrs+)</TD><TD> Hokkien</TD><TD>Love baking, trying out new recipes </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

thanks Sophie!! u r my angel!!!
I will take a look and ask my hb to get

i pressure him so more yesterday.. cos he is going to US 2 weeks time. I ask him better get one so can take photo in US.

Alamak... I quite sotong now... thought Van was in charge of all tables
Thanks alot!
Eh, you preggie woman... better go for lunch before baby gives you a few hungry kicks!

$399 is a pretty good deal, and Fujifilm is known for its slim designs before Casio came out with their versions. But the downside of this camera is that it has no anti-shake function, so you better test out to see if you guys got shakey hands first

btw Sophie, the link can't show the photo.. i tried to check at singpost also dun have... any idea where can i check the photo?

my old one also fujiflm, but that time so expensive, i think we paid $799 for that.

Sophie, $36 per pcs not bad leh!
i used to think go online shopping very expensive, but for your case here is quite ok.
Yeap it is good idea to mix with those cheaper one, so pocket wont' burn big hole

cos this is only the beginning, later have to get baby clothings, milk powder, diapers etc...

About jaundice, i heard the CL agent said we can buy those lamp from aquarium shop, cos some lamp use for fish is the same as those used in hospital. She said doctor recommed one. Dun know how true. Cos if blood test show the jaundice is too high got to admit for certain baby.

The Olympus one which my friend bought and can zoom a lot one is this one - C770. Prob slightly more expensive and bulky than Fujifilm's, but more pro cos of the zoom function.

http://www.olympus-europa.com/consumer/29_C-770_UltraZoom.htm

Heh, I know this is only the beginning... I got a bit stressed when I saw a jogger stroller for $499 and a baby sling for $100! Car seats also going for a few hundred bucks! Will prob get 2nd-hand or hand-me-downs for things like cots so can save some money

Eh, my friend's kid got jaundice. She just sunbathe the baby on her balcony and the baby is OK now. Better check with doc first tho'... else poor baby quite hot, kenna sunbathed!

Thanks for the info on camera
will check that out.

no lah no need to get so expensive one.
i bought the stroller only $99. can use for few years. Later then change to the umbrella type, light and good for travelling.
Don't buy too bulky one! i saw many frens bought those huge and so called very stable one, at the end many didn't use cos too bulky, difficult to carry in and out the car, and during shopping difficult to push when going up or down the escalator.
yeap if got fren can give hand-me-down is the best.
I post this website address before www.babytown.com.sg
u can get 2nd hand stuffs there and they have diff rating to show if this is brand new or still ok kind of condition.

Sunbathe is the most natural but now dun know about the UV thing leh...

Hi littlecat,my details as follows:

Krisjoy, Admiralty, FTWM, EDD Nov, Hainanese, Love cooking, baking and enjoying good food

littlecat, my details

annlee, Bugis, SAHM, 2boys 4 yrs and 12 mths, hokkien, love cooking, enjoy good food, love spicy food.

Sophie,
ha ha... now you are not only belachan mama,chemistry teacher and also blur sotong! LittleCat has been updating the table since Day 1....
482362.gif

I have just opened up one of the packages and let my dd try on the clothes, so sweet and fit perfectly! In fact, I thought some will be a size bigger for her so can keep first and wear them a few months,end up ALL can fit now.

I am crossing my fingers that my last,small package won't be lost,cos I just had a lost mail.The Winnie the Pooh cookier cutter I bought from BP in this forum was lost in mail! So dissappointed! But I am going to write in to Singpost...though it's not registered mail, but I think it's good to let the Management know about such incidents,as I am not the only one who had lost mails.

I just ate durian....hehehe....because of starz lor...tempt me with her Mao Shan Wang talk..
482363.gif

hi all here is the updated one, going for a meeting soon talk to u later.
Thanks Krisjoy for the cookies recepi

van u so easily tempted one, last time we talk about hum then u can't tahan, now durian haha!!
Sophie becos of baby become sotong, still worth it one dun worry!! :D :D

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD> Location</TD><TD> Profession</TD><TD>Kids</TD><TD> Dialect</TD><TD>Remarks </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annelise</TD><TD>Tampines</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>2 girls (5 yrs &amp; 2.5 yrs)</TD><TD> Teochew</TD><TD>Love baking </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>annlee</TD><TD> Bugis</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD> 2boys 4 yrs and 12 mths</TD><TD> hokkien</TD><TD> love cooking, enjoy good food, love spicy food. </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cat_tail</TD><TD>Old Airport Rd</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>1 girl (1 yr)</TD><TD>Hakka</TD><TD>Love eating but seldom cook </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Choc06</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD> 2 girls(5+yrs &amp; 4yrs)</TD><TD> Cantonese</TD><TD> Loves cockles, cheesecake &amp; malay food (EDD Aug'06 - 3rd child) </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>clover</TD><TD> bendemeer</TD><TD> sahm</TD><TD> 1 boy(2yrs)</TD><TD> -</TD><TD>love food,seldom cook. </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>home</TD><TD> cck</TD><TD> sahm</TD><TD> 1 boy(2yrs)</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> edd 16/11 </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Krisjoy</TD><TD> Admiralty</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD> EDD Nov</TD><TD> Hainanese</TD><TD> Love cooking, baking and enjoying good food </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lilipit</TD><TD> Sengkang</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD> 1 boy (9.5mths)</TD><TD> Teochew</TD><TD> likes good food and likes to cook if there's time </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_cat</TD><TD>Jurong East</TD><TD>fulltime working mom</TD><TD> 1 boy (4 yrs)</TD><TD> Cantonese</TD><TD> Luv cockles &amp; other seafood, currently PG EDD Nov06. </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lyn Happysunflower</TD><TD>YCK</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD> 1 boy (2 months)</TD><TD>Hokkein</TD><TD> Exploring Vegetarian food. </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sophie</TD><TD> Bishan</TD><TD> SAH-MTB</TD><TD> EDD Feb07</TD><TD> Hakka</TD><TD> Experimenting with new recipes </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>sp</TD><TD>KL</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>1 boy (10 mths)</TD><TD> Hokkien</TD><TD>learning to cook </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>starz</TD><TD> hougang</TD><TD> FTWM-to-be</TD><TD> EDD nov'06</TD><TD> Hokkien &amp; Cantonese 50% each</TD><TD> love baking,cooking and eating </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD> Toh Guan Road</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>1 boy (31 months)</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> currently outstation in Vancouver </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Van</TD><TD>CCK</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD> 1 girl (5yrs+)</TD><TD> Hokkien</TD><TD>Love baking, trying out new recipes </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

hi hi, me back from lunch....

i'm so sad cos my favourite chicken rice stall had closed.. with no news of re-opening anytime soon... its the one at level 5 far east plaza, in between 2 other chinese food stalls one.. the chicken is very very tender, n they have this special sauce that taste very very good on the rice...

sophie,
abt the coconut, its not reli "proven" theory, but this friend of mine just gave birth not so long ago.. her boy 2mths old, n have no jaundice at all...
she told me she started taking coconut since her 5th mth, but not very frequently lah...
n the other "trick" is, upon discharge from hospital rite, let your baby drink abit of "tang dong gua" (the chinese sweet melon we use to boil barley drink) boil with water for the baby to drink. but MUST NOT let anybody question why u do that... otherwise not effective liaoz...
kao_confused.gif

i don't understand the logic behind it.. but i just listen lor..

Van,
wat type of durian u took???
hehehe... shiok rite???

I never tried crab beehoon!Quite tedious to eat isn't it?

Starz,

I heard any pure shea butter is a good stretch mark cream...maybe you can check it out.

Van shifu,

You have any idea where those teh-o tea leaves from kopitiam are from?I seriously would like to buy the leaves.It's better tasting and more aromatic than lipton.

Sophie,

Started on your scrapbooking yet?What's the scrapbooking software Van's talking about?I'm only aware of Adobe Creative Suite..

Starz,

Are you referring to the chicken rice stall that is mended by a group of Hainanese speaking uncles? Near to the escalator? If yes, I am surprised that they have closed!
I usually go there once a month cos the rice and chicken is very tender and tasty. sob...sob...And their salted duck soup is also very mice...

Amelia,
Crab beehoon is very tasty, worth the trouble...

Yo, don't call me shifu, some more "In front of" so many authentic shifu here...
482447.gif

Seriously, I don't know that kopitiam use tea leaves for their teh-oh?! I thought they use tea bags, but those without the strings,cheaper type...hmmm interesting...will go and find out. My cousin used to own a kopitiam, will ask her when I see her 2morow for picnic.

<font size="+1">Anyone interested to go West Cost Park for Picnic 2morow? MUST wear red shirt... but don't have to pack food since there is a Macdonald and a McCafe there...</font>

482448.gif

Hi Amelia,

You can try Boh Tea leaves, which are sold in supermarkets. If you like your tea to be thick, just add more leaves and soak for a longer time. My mom used to make tea using this brand but she uses the traditional method i.e. using the sock-like filter. After soaking the leaves for sometime, remove the filter then add milk to your taste. It taste like those sold in kopitiam leh..

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD> Location</TD><TD> Profession</TD><TD>Kids</TD><TD> Dialect</TD><TD>Remarks </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amelia</TD><TD>CCK </TD><TD>working towards freelancing so I can be SAHM in future </TD><TD>no kids </TD><TD>Hokkien </TD><TD>enjoys food and cooking </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annelise</TD><TD>Tampines</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>2 girls (5 yrs &amp; 2.5 yrs)</TD><TD> Teochew</TD><TD>Love baking </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>annlee</TD><TD> Bugis</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD> 2boys 4 yrs and 12 mths</TD><TD> hokkien</TD><TD> love cooking, enjoy good food, love spicy food. </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cat_tail</TD><TD>Old Airport Rd</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>1 girl (1 yr)</TD><TD>Hakka</TD><TD>Love eating but seldom cook </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Choc06</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD> 2 girls(5+yrs &amp; 4yrs)</TD><TD> Cantonese</TD><TD> Loves cockles, cheesecake &amp; malay food (EDD Aug'06 - 3rd child) </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>clover</TD><TD> bendemeer</TD><TD> sahm</TD><TD> 1 boy(2yrs)</TD><TD> -</TD><TD>love food,seldom cook. </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>home</TD><TD> cck</TD><TD> sahm</TD><TD> 1 boy(2yrs)</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> edd 16/11 </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Krisjoy</TD><TD> Admiralty</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD> EDD Nov</TD><TD> Hainanese</TD><TD> Love cooking, baking and enjoying good food </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lilipit</TD><TD> Sengkang</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD> 1 boy (9.5mths)</TD><TD> Teochew</TD><TD> likes good food and likes to cook if there's time </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_cat</TD><TD>Jurong East</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD> 1 boy (4 yrs)</TD><TD> Cantonese</TD><TD> Luv cockles &amp; other seafood, currently PG EDD Nov06. </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lyn Happysunflower</TD><TD>YCK</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD> 1 boy (2 months)</TD><TD>Hokkein</TD><TD> Exploring Vegetarian food. </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sophie</TD><TD> Bishan</TD><TD> SAH-MTB</TD><TD> EDD Feb07</TD><TD> Hakka</TD><TD> Experimenting with new recipes </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>sp</TD><TD>KL</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>1 boy (10 mths)</TD><TD> Hokkien</TD><TD>learning to cook </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>starz</TD><TD> hougang</TD><TD> FTWM-to-be</TD><TD> EDD nov'06</TD><TD> Hokkien &amp; Cantonese 50% each</TD><TD> love baking,cooking and eating </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD> Toh Guan Road</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>1 boy (31 months)</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> currently outstation in Vancouver </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Van</TD><TD>CCK</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD> 1 girl (5yrs+)</TD><TD> Hokkien</TD><TD>Love baking, trying out new recipes </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

hi i am back meeting cancelled, isn't it wonderful?

oh yeah van si-fu, i want to ask u one question also, how to get rid of the ants at home?
dun know why those ants in my house feel so thirsty or they simply like to swim, always jump into my water jug till drwon leh.. sian!

Any idea how to get rid of them?

LitteCat,
I use those antkillers sold in supermarket and Chinese Medical Hall.Have tried two brands, one of them is Yi4 Shao4 Guang1.Both are effective.

I just spread some at the route that they pass by,but my aunt said can mix it with some sugar to attract the ants...Keep it out of sight of your ds.

Starz,
I took D24...very creamy, got a bit Jiu Ji...Shiok!

Hi everyone. Sorry MIA for so long. Last week dd1 down with gastric flu. Sunday, she fell sick again, this time with throat infection! High fever for 2 days - last night wanted to use the suppository for high fever but she didn't allow me to put it in for her. In the end, she agreed to take bifen which she really hates.

Yeah, I agree with Van that those antkillers are very effective! They are small granules and just need to sprinkle on the ant trail.

I haven't caught up with all the posts - will do so now. Catch y'all later!

hi amelia,
when it comes to good food, no more ettiquette liaoz.. even outside i also eat with my hands.. don't care abt image liaoz.. hehe..

krisjoy,
nope, not that one.. i know the salted duck soup very nice one is beside some hair-salons...
this one is at the stretch that is "perpendicular" to the one you mention... its between one smaller chinese stall selling mixed vege rice, n the other side is a bigger open coffee-shop... very small stall only, limited seats.. only sell chicken rice... no other soups or stuff...

littlecat,
wat we do at my mum place is, buy one of those "serving trays" shallow type one.. put your water flask onto the trays... but pour some water onto the trays first....
so all the ants will drown on the tray of water before reaching your water flasks....

hehehe... think weather is too hot until the ants rather commit suicide by drowning...