Cooking Tips & Recipe

Hi Choc,

Wow, you are due soon! This is baby no.3? I am currently using Mustella stretch mark cream. Nice fragrance and so far works well for me ;p Some friends say Clarins body oil is also a good choice.

I also just got my new house but will only shift in after bb is one month old. Cos the admin process takes about 3 months and by the time everything is completed, it is almost end of the year. Looking forward to it cos i am staying with in-laws right now and finally can have my own 'space'..hehehe..

Sophie,

I guess there is certain truth abt Del Monte bananas. Lots of friends told me not to take that during pregnancy cos it is too 'liang'. We can take 'ang-bah-jiou' instead.

Any mummies here attended antenatal class? Not sure if it is useful...

Sophie,
Not only Del Monte,children prone to cough should also avoid Fuji Apple. It's adviced by a doctor.Since my friend followed the doctor's advice, her children don't have cough as often as before. My friend used to think Del Monte and Fuji apple are good, and gave her children regularly.

$45 for maternity bottoms sounds like a good price, if the material and workmanship is good.Saw those selling at Kiddly Palace ranging from $40+ to $50+,some of them the workmanship is not very good.

Went CK Tangs today.Only today then I noticed that the hard anodised wok that they are promoting is not Tiger Brand anymore. Tiger Wok has a promotion counter at Isetan Scotts, but it's very quiet.

Choc,
Heard of so many cases of "cord around the neck".My ex-colleague lost his baby on full term due to that,it's really heart-breaking. Luckily you gynae was able to detect it.

Now I am feeling stressful after hearing what your dd's music teacher has been doing.My dd's current teacher hardly let them play individually, unlike her previous teacher.To the extent that when she finally asked the kids to play one-by-one on Wednesday, my dd was so shy to play it, she has no problem with the previous teacher. The way she teaches is also not very systematic.You feel stressful, I feel worried...
479735.gif

Next two week will be so eventful for you...take care... and don't carry anything heavy,stay away when they move heavy stuff around.
479736.gif

Krisjoy,
I only attended the two antenatal talks conducted by my gynae. My hb attended with me,and we both think it's good for 1st time parents.

Van,
Thanks for the info on Fuji apple as well. Didn't know that... and my MIL likes to bring me apples!

Yeah, $45 per pc is pretty good, thanks to you for telling me about VPOST!

I'm still keen on a wok. Today may be going to eastern part of Singapore to collect a dress which I am buying, so may pop by Parkway Parade if I am not too tired and check it out there too. Would like to go to town to check it out too, but not sure if dh wants to go, cos so crowded...

hi kakis - good morning!
was super busy on Friday didn't have time to post..
the mutu ayam and putu mayam thing make me laugh non stop!!! jialat!!

my sister choc, u take good care and relax and enjoy ! excited to see your boy boy soon?
btw i have engaged an agent for the confinment lady liao. The price reasonable, important thing is they have a pool of people, so just incase one can't take up stil have back up. I am worry engaged direct later the auntie 'no-show'(due to sick etc.. or other thing) or they just decided to 'let go your airplane', u have to accept whoever she recommend! But those thru agent, they will ensure got proper replacement for u..
Also those u contact direct i find they more daring, charge more! how can hor?

Sohphie, u bought anything during your shopping?
wow Van your friday off is orchard shopping ?

For casual maternity bottom u can try the Beauty World. recently i bought one 3Q pants only $19.90. The T-shirt and other office wear also around the same price. Can get some cheaper one to mix.

I tried baking the Jap cheese cake on Saturday. It looks good & taste ok. i ask my hb can bake again, he said next time got to put lemon ?? i ask him why? he said after taste got little sour taste... then i dun understand why need to put lemon?? is it normal to have the sour taste ?
also when my brother came to our house on Sunday, he like to anxious to let them eat all the cake.. hmmm i really got doubt if he really mean it when he said he likes the cheese cake...

Sunday i tried the Kylie Kwong's white chicken with kampung chicken. It tastes good.. except i think i should not put so much cooking wine :p
Again my hb said it is very nice.. i wonder if he really had too much of italian food before this... poor hb!

Hi Little Cat,
I've not tried baking a cheesecake so not sure if needs to put lemon...Those jap ones that i have tried does not seem to have a sour aftertaste leh...did u use kraft philalephia cream cheese?

Are Kylie Kwong's recipes good? Saw her book and DVD but did not buy...

Lat nite my tummy was super itchy...think the skin is stretching and i can't stop scratching it...luckily no scars this morning...

Morning Ladies!

LittleCat,
Wow,you cooked Bai Zan Ji? Did you make any special chilli sauce yourself? Got photo to show your white chicken and cheesecake?

I used agent to get my CL previously,1st CL not good, but the agent got me a replacement rather quick. From What the CL told me, I knew the agent also Bluffing their way.They told me the CL has been with them for quite sometime, but the CL "chu1 Mai4"them, and told me that was her first assignment from that agent ha ha! But I didn't want to Ji4 Jiao4 with them since they got me a good replacememnt.

Friday off didn't really go shopping,supposed to go pick up a replacement luggage divider that I ordered, but blur blur thot that it's not the right one, and didn't collect back.When I told hb,then he told me It's the correct one,got to waste another trip down to collect.Since already in Orchard, also went window shopping at Tangs,Isetan and Metro.

Has anyone of you/your kids encouter frequent nose bleeding.My dd has it a few times.Last week had once,yesterday again.Morning she woke up and blood stain pillow case and bedsheet, at night went to a birthday party, bled again.
481176.gif

Chinese always say it's heaty, whereas western doctors give different explanation.HB will also hint and blame that I didn't boil enough cooling drinks for dd...
481177.gif

van, i didn't make the special chilli, if not i think hb will luv it even more :D
no photo leh.. cos my digital camera spoilt liao.. it is time to change, eh any recommendation? budget budget, not so expensive one hor

how much u pay for your CL last time?
my first one also thru agent, they charge 1900, 4 years ago considered expensive. but the company close already leh... so can't go back. But they did get me a good one. If i want to get this CL will be direct, but i scare she din turn up last minutes. cos i did recm her to another colleague, she last minutes say can not make it and ask another auntie to go. i heard from my colleague the auntie no good, i so pai seh...

My son has the bleeding last time whenever his nose got problem. They blame it on the nose spray. cos it dries up and when he start to dig his nose it will bleed. but not that regular as u mentioned leh...for your dd did u spray anything ?
Think better go check with doctor.
yeah old people always think is too heaty. But sometime could be other thing, better ask the doc to check.

We went to watch the fire work last saturday, it was super crowded! after i reach there then i regret ..
frankly not that safe for PG woman too... for the 10-15 min show we have to waste around 2hours+ to & fro.
But after seeing my son (4 years old now) so happy, i feel it is really worth it!

I finally brought my son to TCM last saturday. The chinese medi that i bought doesn't work for him. The TCM medi is really good, my son took one dosage of medi and in the night he didn't cough that much and i can say it cured by 80% for only one dosage, no joke! My hb always got sharp pain on the lower back of the spine and went for accupuncture, the pain is gone but still must go back accupuncture again to prevent from coming back.

Can i check with you mummies who got the thermopot, can i use others pot eg: small crockpot, or ceramic pot on the thermopot instead of using the metal pot that they provided?

van, i think your dd nose bleeding should be too heaty, i remember i got nose bleeding for the first time of my life is when im pregnant and body is very heaty. What did the western doctor say?

Littlecat, me no need to join the crowd to see firework kekeke.... cos i can see firework clearly outside of my house, but not very interested to see that anymore as it always has it on the big day.

481250.gif
LittleCat,
I paid $2k or slightly more for CL last time,cos I am expected to have confinement during Chinese New Year, therefore need to pay higher rate,but ended up I finished my confinement just a few days before CNY, as my dd desparate to come out before Christmas,so the extra we paid is just like buying "insurance". $1900 under normal condtion is really a bit expensive for that time.Those that I asked, is around $1600 to $1800 5 years ago.

Some agent will charge lower if you have a maid, some will charge higher if there is elder kid to take care....

Usually my dd nose bleed not so often,once every few months.Only this two weekds occured twice.I didn't use any nose spray.What is it for?

Hey, better avoid those crowded place, somemore fire works! Did your baby became very active in your tummy hearing the sound? I remember when I had to organise stock take during preg, my bb was super active inside, and I feel very wet to the extent that I thought I had a miscarriage.... that reminds me of my cold-blooded bosses again..
481251.gif

I usually watch fireworks from my house...kekeke, CCK Lot 1 used to have fireworks every year for Arts Festival Closing.My study room has the best "cirle seat" for watching! But they have stopped for a few years, since the mall is sold to CapitalRetail.This year they had the fireworks again!

My previous digital camera is Canon, very good and easy to use but bulkier and heavier.My current one is Sony Cybershot,light weight and slim, but I find that Canon's quality is better leh.. My nephew said Casio's quality not good,after I told him I am attracted to it's slim design and good price.

annlee,
The western doctor just said the blood vessels around the nose very thin and delicate and will burst easily when they sneeze, dig nose or blow the nose too hard...

Your son willing to take the Chinese medi? I thought it's usually quite bitter and taste awful? Which TCM you went to?

Hi Littlecat,

My new place is near to Admiralty MRT station..just opp of my MIL. I will get a baby sitter cos my MIL is very old and she won't have the energy to look after bb lor...

Guess u r right, the fireworks is more for kids they really find it fanscinating :p

Hi annlee,

Which TCM did u go too? Cos my hubby got neck pain and he is comtemplating whether to go for 'chiropractic' where the doctor will align the backbone using massage...

van, the medi taste horrible.... i let him bite a little soft sweet for every tsp of the medi, total 3 tsps.He told me the medi is so yucky and because of the sweet he keep asking for the medi hee.....

kris, my hb wanted to go for chiropractic but always excuse for not having the time and happen bringing my son to see TCM so might as well try it.

van, kris
I don't have the name and the number of the TCM, i checked the medi they never stated anything. Is at adelphi, next to cityhall MRT. Just look for the directory, there's only one TCM at adelphi.

littlecat, i miss reading your camera part until van mention it. I bought my digital camera few months ago, from canon, is image stabilizer, small, easy to use and i like it very much. Saw my friend casio digit camera, she says is lousy.

annlee,
I went for acupuncture for my backache too.Think acupuncture is quite effective for treating arthritis kind of pain,as I saw many elderly also going for acupuncture for their arthritis,gout,rheumatism aching.

My hb went for Chiropractic at Forum for treating his back, but stopped after a few sessions. He tried to persuade me to go but I find it very expensive, and not sure if it works,at least acupuncture already tested work for me.

I didn't use other pots in place of the inner pot for cooking with thermal pot.But I did put the whole ceramic pot of herbal soup(those for double boiling) in the inner pot to keep the herbal soup warm.

I didn't put it in an empty inner pot.Instead I boil some water with the inner pot,pour out excess water , then place the whole ceramic pot inside before putting into the thermal pot.

<font color="0000ff">Eh? The Eng Eng Sophie didn't "come in"today?!</font>
481335.gif

annlee, eh very good leh your son can take the chinese med, my son even u put his fav food there he won't compromised one.. headachce..
U all so lucky can watch firework outside your house.. we squeeze in between and only can see partial, cos some blocked by trees and crowd..

Dun think other pot can fit into the outerpot. why u want to do that? just curious...

van the nose spray is to dry out the mucus so it won't flow backward to cos him to cough. cos his mucus back flow causing the cough.

Did the doc say why it happen often (twice considered often to me..) this time round?

dun cry van, u r your own boss now :D

krisjoy, ic, u found a baby sitter already? no plan of getting maid?

my hb go for foot massage once a week. saw he is more energetic and less complain on back or headache. cos last time whenever he work stress or can't sleep well, lots of problem popping out...

Thx for the info on digital camera

will pressure him to get one soon! :D

Good morning ladies!

LittleCat,
Never post up pictures? I was waiting to see the Kylie's Chicken Dish! hmm... I also heard about the putting lemon in cheesecake thingy in some recipes before, but dunno the reason. Maybe the baking queens Annelise &amp; Choc can advise.

Oh, just saw that your digital camera is spolit. I use a Canon, but a very old model which I bought 4 yrs ago, the Canon G2. I think the current model is already G5 or G6 liao. Like what Van said, very good quality but bulky. I also find Canon very reliable. My friend got an Olympus with 10x digital zoom; slightly more compact and pretty good quality too, so good that he can zoom in from far and took pictures of some deer that was camouflaged in the rocks. Cheaper than Canon too. I think another PC show is coming soon? Prob in Oct. If it's before your due date, get your hubby to go chiong the PC show and buy there; can bargain for lots of freebies. But you please don't go ok? Cos very crowded and stuffy. Then when baby comes in Nov, can take pics too

Van,
Heh, actually I very "eng". Checked the page this morning, but still no posts from anyone, so decided to just surf net instead
As for nosebleeds, my hubby says he used to get it very often when young, and he says he gets it when heaty. I never got nosebleeds before maybe cos my grandpa used to open medicinal shop, so we had liang cha quite often. But just play safe, maybe go western doc check and make sure nothing is wrong, then start to boil liang cha for your dd?

Been having pains on my lower abdomen yesterday, not sure if it's cos I went out for brunch... but didn't walk very far leh. The pains are like bladder pains if you hold your pee for too long, but after I go toilet and pee-ed, I still get pain. They are mostly on the area at the top of the pubic hair. My friend says it's womb expanding. Issit?

littlecat, not lucky lah, if you stay here and see firework so often also will feel sianz....

I think the ceramic pot van mentioned can fit inside the thermopot. I wanted to do that to save electricity lor, cos my hb always want to drink chicken soup, using double boil cooker takes about 2-3 hrs,so i wanted to test on thermopot,also taste the different and can save electric.

Littlecat,
My boss now is my hb,and he's the most difficult boss I have worked for so far...
481387.gif

Sophie,
You just taken your breakfast is it?
481388.gif

annlee,
I also thought of double boiling with thermal pot...'but don't feel that it will work.
481389.gif

Hi Littlecat,

Ya, me not getting a maid for now. Cos MIL not comfortable with an 'extra' person in the house and I am not ready to leave just maid and bb alone. So would need to settle for bb sitter..

Hi Sophie,

If you still get the pain, maybe you can call and ask your gynae? For me, i just feel the stretch and not exactly pain leh..

Actually i oso just bought a camera over the weekend from Audio House. Cos DBS cashline has this promotion..it costs us $249 for a 6.0 megapixel Olympus with basic functions like stabiliser, recorder, etc...

Btw, any mummies know if Robinson's sales is still on? I m planning to buy a baby cot from there...

sophie, when preggie, im having pain on that area too, more like menses cramp sometimes very sharp pain. My gynae says it's womb expanding. Go and check with gynae if worries you.

sophie, the photo won't show anythng one, must eat it then.. u feel the taste hehe :D
i think my hb trying to 'suan' me that the cake got funny taste lah.. sigh...
I do have the cramp like annlee said not really the pain. but diff people diff feeling. My was really like cramp before i do the test so i thot my menses is coming but it is not.
yeap better double check with gyane if u worry.

van u r right they are the most difficult to please boss...now i got one little boss, soon another boss, jialat 3 male bosses at home!

van/annlee, i use the thermal pot to double boil leh.. for few round already.

I put more water for double boil. First i boil about 45min, then put everything in the outer pot, till i want to drink. I find it taste good leh.
The reason to put more water so it cover higher level and also with more water the heat can sustain longer.
Just like the book did mention, if u cooking for smaller portion, may be less than 1/3 of the pot the effect is not that obvious. so i ks put more water for double boil.
For cooking soup can not lah cos too diluted.

krisjoy, i pass by taka the big hall there, they are preparing for the baby fair soon. u might want wait to check it out ? but not sure if got discount or not...

hey gals,
Thanks for all the info and advice on the pain. Today not so much pain, so I'll monitor and see how it goes tomorrow.

Heh, didn't just "wake up" lah... woke up at 10am and been surfing net since!

annlee,
I also used my thermal pot to cook chicken soup in a "double-boil" manner, quite yummy, but I heat it over fire every 1 hr cos i kiasu, wanna keep a higher temperature in it.

Sophie,
Have u started taking milk for Pregg like Anmum? I had bad stomach cramp when I took normal milk during early preg, and a lot of wind in the stomach.Then my gynae adviced me to take special milk for preg such as Anmum, then the cramp goes off.

Van,
Actually I don't drink milk even normally, and gynae told me no need to start drinking milk, cos milk will just give me wind, like what you said. Heh, I actually stopped drinking milk at the age of 4, cos I wanted to drink kopi like the adults!

twinkle-starry, for such young age better check with baby doc.
my son also very young can hear the phelgm, so the doc did prescribe something for him to drink.
Then the old people blame us for eating too much orange sigh...

no prob, krisjoy. btw i have not prepare anything yet leh.. sigh.. cos some of the big item like cot, i didn't buy, my colleague pass to me then when my boy bigger i pass it back.
other small little clothes still have but dun have the energy to bring it up to wash.
hoping after i got a maid to ask her to do all these lor...
Sophie, 10am i finish my daily report liao :D :D
but it is good that u can sleep.

LittleCat,
To be frank, I really admire you gals who can cope with pregnancy and work at the same time!
I cannot sleep well at night... sleep for 3 hrs then wake up... keep getting disturbed sleep, maybe that's why I slept late this morning.

Sophie, it is quite tough, but no choice leh..
i woke up 2-3 times a nite sometime. Worst still sometime after pee, can't sleep.
And now my son sleep with me, if he cough or something i will wake up also...
but it is a matter of getting used to it.
frankly after i have my boy, if i can sleep thru the whole nite is like kena 4D!

but kid is so fun!
last saturday after his art class we brought him to Railyway Mall for Ramen. But the shop not open till 7/August. So went to the Italian restaurant instead. at first I thot ater so many weeks of training him to eat pasta, it should be ok. But happen that, that day the menu only got one squid ink pasta, no choice just order and with other dish like pizza witth salami and some meat balls.
He try the pizza, complain got skin on the salami, so didn't take. later the black pasta was served knowing him so fussy, i was so scare to let him see the colour, just pretend to talk to him and feed him. Suddenly he bite on something (guess is the squid) and spit out, when he saw the noddle, he is response is " i dun want to eat the oh-lu-lu noddle!"
*oh-lu-lu (black in hokkien)
We can't help by laughing out so loud..
Then later he said, the squat-man nooddle (the Ramen store got one sumo eating noodle, so looks like someone squating) not open so we got to eat the oh-lu-lu noodles!
can not tahan we laugh again..

btw if u really want to try the italian store, it is more economical to package.
cos they have 2 prices, if u take away it will be cheaper. For the squid noodle, if u just get the squid source only $8.80, but if u eat there the whole plate cost $17.00 and not much pasta also.
We try the spinach lasagne, quite nice. If u take away is $8.80, eat there is $10.80. But take home u got to heat it up. Anyway they do the same, just take from the fridge and heat it up for u.
But it is fresh lah.

LittleCat,
Yeah, I'm trying to get used to all these short spurts of sleep. Plus also trying not to sleep on my tummy as I have a habit of doing that. Dh says once I become an overturned ninja turtle, I will automatically not be able to sleep on my tummy

Wow, your son quite cute huh? Got funny terms like "oh lu lu" and squat-man! Yeah, me looking forward so much to having a kid in our lives too
And sometimes wonder if I should have started earlier then maybe not so problematic *sigh* But aiyah, cannot turn back time liao, so just have to eat healthily for a healthy pregnancy

The squid ink pasta sounds good. Got fishy taste/smell or not? Cos we had it once at an Italian restaurant, and it's got no smell. My hubby said the one he had in Italy got smell one, so more "authentic"

littlecat, you are right.I never sleep thru the night for about 5 yrs already. Always tell my friend before they wanted a child make sure got plenty of sleep, go wherever they want eg: clubbing or travel cos when got bb really don't have their own time.

Littlecat,

Ever since I am pregnant, I can't sleep well at nite. Will turn and toss to find the most comfortable sleeping position. Gynae said try to sleep on the left side to improve blood circulation..but i can't stay at one spot for long leh...

Btw, I tried squid ink rice ball once at Porta Porta (Changi South Rd) and it was delicious!! I've never tasted such a nice rice ball!! Yummy!!

Hello gals...
wah.. so many posts... I am busy with baby lately to chat.

Sophie,
Glad that your pregnancy is going well
Stay happy and positive
When baby is out, got other things to worry about...
I also did not drink milk during the whole pregnancy :p.

littlecat,
I also will wake up in the middle of the nite when my boy cough or make those "ah ah ah" sounds.. lol... Nowadays, he will wake up between 4am and 7am to "gek sai"... lol... When I see him "gek" till cry, I will wake up and bring his legs towards his tummy to let him "gek" easier... lol...

twinkle starry,
Welcome

How do you cope with baby and cooking? I also cook my own meals. I try to cook those easy to cook and wash food
I am running out of ideas what to cook...
Do you burp your son? My son also like that cos I did not burp :p It's better after I start burping him... kekeke....

Yah, once have kids, very hard to have own time to pursue lots of things....but I also knew of some mothers who are completely comfortable leaving their kids with maids,parents,in-laws to travel,go clubbing etc.

Just last week, my BIL's wife was trying to persuade me to go for a 3 day stay-out Christian Encounter Workshop, got to leave my dd behind for 3 days......it's not hard to guess my answer right?

LittleCat,
Your son must have learned the oh-lu-lu from your aunty is it? I know my dd will definitely not even try a bite of the oh-lu-lu noodles, cos she never like black colour.

when you said using thermal pot to double boil, you are still using just the original inner pot and thermal pot is it

Sophie,
Last trimester,especially the last two months will be even harder to get good sleep....

sophie, yeah u will have lots of fun with them at diff stage, of cos some are pek check one lah

aiyoh dun think of those 'turn back time thing', me lagi worst so old then PG. sigh..
but for me i find if i too early give birth may be i won't appreciate it that much...
The squid oh-lu-lu noodle no fishy taste at all, i like it. For my boy is bcos he see the colour if not he can finish it.

so we are all the mummy suffer sleeping problem since PG... sigh..
Lyn, must burp the baby, if not sometime the milk will get into their nose...
eh our previous recepi still can't help u ? we have some quick and easy one posted initially, but later on hor, all the kaki here getting so expert trying diff thing liao haha!

van, yes the oh-lu-lu is from the auntie, we seldom say such thing one.. but u see him little boy try to talk like the auntie u find it very funny! but can be embrassed too sometime...

krisjoy, squid ink rice ball? sounds interesting! is it jap food?
lyn, will baby/kid around we become light sleeper, little sound will wake up. last time i so scare i too tired after work didn't hear anything, aiyoh how i wish i can't hear and sleep thru.. :p
van, i put the ceramic pot inside the inner pot then double boil. after 45 min, i put the inner pot in the outer pot. U didn't do it this way?
or u double boil at different place then put the ceramic pot straight away to the outer pot?
getting very chim liao... LOL!

i heard sleep on left is good too, but hor i feel like i am pressing my 'heart' there, diff to sleep. i prefer the right side. but i most preferred way is tummy up.

orr..... now i know it, put the ceramic pot inside the inner pot to double boil for 45mins then tranfer to thermopot. Thank you mummies!

Littlecat,

I have tried double boil at different place then transfer to inner pot and put into thermal pot to <u>keep warm.</u>

Wanted to try- put ceramic pot inside the inner pot to boil, then put whole thing into outer pot.

Wonder if we could- double boil at different place then put ceramic pot straight into the outer pot?

Very chim hor...
481534.gif

lyn,
Glad to see your post!
I sometimes "sneak" into My Miracle Baby to see how the rest of the gals like Hama, Droopy, coral and you are doing, but never have the courage to post in there yet.
One day, I will....

hi twinkle-starry,
Welcome to this thread where we talk about anything under the sun, other than just Cooking Tips &amp; Recipes

LittleCat,
You have a point about not being abole to appreciate much if give birth too early, esp. for me cos I still wanted to play and travel last tme.
Am just thankful for a smooth pregnancy and healthy baby now.

Van,
This article is interesting. I like the analogy of mtherhood to any other profession, even the professional cellist
Really, I think motherhood, esp. being a SAHM is a noble prefession, cos have to give up career and so many things, so much so that I feel guilty whenever I think of going back out to work after baby is born and prob 1 yr old. But sometimes not by choice... if dh's job gets even a little uncertain, I may even have to cut short the 1 yr SAHM period and go back out to work earlier... *sigh* the realities of this society!

Eh, you mean you guys put a ceramic pot inside the inner thermal pot? So the ceramic pot is covered like a dong zhong? I haven't tried this style yet... let me know if it's good.

Sophie,
Is working part-time possible for your line of work? That way you can still have more bonding time with bb.I find that going back to work after 1yr is rather early.At 1 yr old,they are just starting to become more aware of the things/people around them,and started to "understand" what the adults say...

But then like what your said, sometimes it's not by choice...
481604.gif

I am using my LG small thermal pot to cook braised pumpkin today,doesn't know how it will turn out yet...

Lyn,
When your baby started to take solid food, guess you will be even busier, got to think of what to prepare for him everyday,on top of what to cook for yourself and hubby...
481605.gif

<font color="0000ff">Amelia also MIA for few days...Amelia, what "ho liao" have you been eating during weekends? Any recommendations?</font>

<font color="aa00aa">We are having a high tea gathering this Friday at the SAHM thread...not sure if it's going to be at Marriot or Goodwood Park yet (Think durian puff,durian crepes!).Anyone interested to join us?</font>
481606.gif

Van,
Working part-time is a bit difficult for my line of work cos of the nature - lots of planning, events logistics, co-ordination and liasing with sales dept... so I think if want to stay in this line, part-time is out. I'm doing a bit of freelance now, but only bring in a few hundred bucks a month, so enough to buy my maternity clothes for now
Another alternative is to do tuition, which I may consider in future.

Yeah, have not seen Amelia for awhile...

Have just uploaded a PDF to Yahoo Group called "Hawker Legends"

So many new posts..I will read them when I have more time.

I spent my weekend sleeping and playing with my cat, never eat "ho liao" lah..

Van,

you tried the Zhi Char yet?You can buy 4D at 689's 7-11, then walk to 668A for dinner(just opposite each other).Lucky leh...Lu(4) Lu(4) Fa(1).When you strike, you can treat all of us here dinner.

Hi Van, wow so good! Hi-tea on Friday afternoon...ahh...wish I could join in but working lah..

I heard that Goodwood Park now have the durian dessert buffet but not sure if it is only on weekends...

Littlecat, the squid ink rice balls is italian food...I ate them at this cosy little restaurant at Changi South. Only about 10 tables in it. Good food and not too expensive...

Good Morning!

Amelia,
I haven't tried the Ze Char at 668 yet,cos hb has been travelling...he is flying off to Cheng Du today again. Didn't know that there is 4D kiosk at 689,MUST drop by to buy TOTO then, 668 and 689 sounds lucky!
482057.gif

Krisjoy,
Read about the durian dessert buffet too, but think it's only for weekends.
482058.gif

good morning all!

van, my fren and the sales promoter also mentioned we can put ceramic pot inside the inner pot to boil, then put whole thing into outer pot. that is the right way.
If you double boil at different place then put ceramic pot straight into the outer pot, it will only hold the heat but not continue to 'double-boil'. Just like how u cook your soup, after we put the whole pot in the outer it is actually continue the cooking process.
Not chim lah, cos early morning i wake up liao!

eh anyone watch the Travel &amp; Living at channel 16 SCV ? the Open ticket - SIngapore?
they feature this restaurant selling crab with beehoon.. is that the very proud restaurant who has this famous quote "if you can't afford the price dun come to our restaurant" ?
heard their crab beehoon very good and expensive too...