Cooking Tips & Recipe

annelise, sorry to hear that, hope she is getting better soon.. guess you have to cook some bu thing for her after this, so poor thing...

thanks for the tips on the ants hehe.. ants killer coming!!!

starz year lor so sian want to commit suicide go far mah why in my drinking water leh... sigh...
but hor now with denggi thing i also scare too many 'nest' for the mosquito to breed leh...

Hi LittleCat, lemon juice is usually for the ang moh type of cheesecake. Japanese cheesecake doesn't have the sourish after taste - but if your hubby likes it, you can add it to the recipe, it won't affect the texture of the cake. The things your son says are very cute & funny! Just like his mummy! I used the ant killer only at night - next morning I vacuum up whatever's left behind - scared my dd2 take & makan. Takes less than a week to eradicate the entire ant colony, cool eh!

Thanks Van, Soph & everyone else clearing up the putu piring confusion! I used to love standing at the stall to watch the Malay aunty make the kueh! Too bad the coffee shop at Bedok South closed down a long time ago - I still go back to the market to buy meat & seafood & it's amazing how some of those uncles & aunties never seemed to have aged!

Hi choc, did you manage to get your dd1 reg with E.S pri? Hope she got a place there - makes it so much easier when it's your dd2's turn! And luckily, it's co-ed, so your ds also guaranteed a place! Wishing you a safe, smooth and easy delivery!

Someone mentioned seeing a chiropractor for back pain? Sorry, I can't remember who. I am seeing an osteopath - Dr David Tio at Tanglin Shopping Centre. I've been having tingly hands & feet due to my poor spinal alignment - it's much better now after a few sessions with him.

Littlecat,

I read from a magazine that u can use double-sided tape to stick on the base of the flask. When the ants come, they will get stuck onto the tape, thereby discouraging the rest from coming near. Not sure if this works though

I just wanna blow things out cos i can't stand it anymore, hope you mummies just tolerate me awhile.
My maid likes to throw away food, so angry as i prefer to cook enough for the day or keep left over food inside the fridge for the next day. I have told her many times not to throw away food and she just throw away my hb favourite chicken soup that he can't finish it.I have already told her keep the soup. I'm so angry and too angry to scold her or talk to her. My poor soup gone to the drain.....

Amelia,
Crab beehoon not tedious to eat... just get your hubby to peel crab for you, then you slurp up the whole bowl of chor beehoon + crab meat + soup

Can't remember the scrapbook software that Van mentioned... cos this tech-suspicious laggard will not even use home printer to make my scrapbook. Will just use markers and pens to draw and write in the scrapbook myself. Need to go out and find a nice big thick book first

Annelise,
Take care of yourself too!

starz,
The theory on the coconut sounds good as people have tried and tested before. I love coconut juice! Guess I'll have a good time drinking that next time

Van, LittleCat
Yeah, very sotong now, but I really wonder if it's the pregnancy hormones that causing it leh? I would like to challenge this theory though
so am trying to make an effort to stay more sharp!

LittleCat,
Thanks for the tips on buying baby stuff. The website got loads of good stuff!

This oatmeal choc chip cookie looks good too! Oatmeal good source of fibre for preggies.
http://bakingsheet.blogspot.com/2006/08/cooking-school-oatmeal-chocolate-chip.html

Van, so for the BP item that's lost in mail, you won't get any refund? Hope mine doesn't get lost in the mail. Am expecting a 2nd hand dress from someone in this forum, the Yahoo Auction package and the Singpost packages.

Choc,
Have a smooth delivery!

And everyone.... Have a good holiday tomorrow!

thanks annelise, for the tips on the cheese cake.. hehe was waiting for u the baking guru to advice. But funny thing is my hb said my cheese cake taste abit sourish leh.. could it be his tongue or the utensil i used? i swear i wasn't perspiring while making the cake :p

Yeah u r right i think my son is more like me .. pai seh, pai seh .. i was still trying to blame on his genes.. other than the look the rest are all me..

Krisjoy, eh that is a good idea hor use the double sided tape.

annlee, sorry to hear that, why she like that?
btw is she an indonesia or filipino maid?

Sophie, that is the wonderful idea!!! let him peel everything and we just eat...
actually hor i have been doing that :p
cos he said i dun know how to peel and once i got my finger cut cos the sharp shell.. so plenty of excuse to let him do the job and i just eat hehe!

Happy National Day everyone!

Annelise,
Sorry to hear that your dd is sick again.she must be feeling very bad.When my dd had throat infection, she couldn't eat for a few days.I could only let her drink Pediasure and very diluted porridge,and she lost a few KG just becos of that few days.

Luckily your dd1 is willing to take Brufen,which should work. Did you also put fever pad on her forehead?

Sophie,LittleCat,
Wow, so envy...got hb to peel crab for you! Good Idea but won't work for my hb, cos he is more clumsy at peeling prawns and crabs then me.
482596.gif

Sophie,
The organiser of BP did offer to refund me, but I think it's not fair to get refund from her, as it is not her fault that the mail get lost,just my luck!

annlee,
I have the same question too,is she Indonesian or Philipina maid? Can imagine how angry you must be when the maid deliberately didn't follow your instructions.
482597.gif

<font size="+2">Happy National Day!</font>
482598.gif

hi littlecat and van,

I cool down already hee.......
She's filipino, no problem in English but she's kinda blur and sorry to say that she has a little common sense, is ok for me, only that i can't stand her wasting food. She also like to waste water cos in her country she told me her water is free and if water supply from government also very cheap. My ex-indonesia maid also like to waste water like free flow one. oh yes, my PUB went almost double when having maid for the first few month. Going to give up maid 2 yrs later or less when my 2nd son grow older. Thanks for reading my complain...

HAPPY NATIONAL DAY!!!

My husband has been peeling prawns for me..I doubt I'll eat prawns if he doesn't do it =P

Eh?I thought crab beehoon is dry stir-fry type? You mean it's soupy beehoon?

Van,

Ok, you get back to me on the tea leaves.Thanks

Krisjoy,

I'll also check out Boh tea leaves.

Amelia,
You also so Ho Mia,hb peel prawns for you.
482740.gif

Previously,there were some comments in the newspaper over Singaporean women won't peel prawns for their men, unlike women from certain other countries...hmmm interesting...
482741.gif

I have asked my cousin about the tea leaves.She said she couldn't remember any specific brands, they just got the LOWEST GRADE and CHEAPEST tea leaves.

Annlee,
my previous maid also use a lot of water.She can put <font color="ff0000">1 T-shirt</font> in washing machine and set FULL cycle...buay tahan..

<table border=1><tr><td>Stall</TD><TD>Where?</TD><TD>What's Good?</TD><TD>Remarks </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nasi Padang</TD><TD>Zion Rd Opposite Great World City</TD><TD>Tau Geh/Beef Rendang/Bergadil/sambal mussels/sambal goreng</TD><TD>? </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Malay Rice</TD><TD>Lucky Plaza #01-108 Cipta Rasa Cafe</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nasi Lemak</TD><TD>Lucky Plaza Basement</TD><TD>Crispy Ikan Kuning</TD><TD>crowded during lunch hour </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peranakan</TD><TD>Peramakan 92 Joo Chiat Rd</TD><TD>Fish Maw Soup/beef rendang/Chap chye</TD><TD>Closed on Sundays </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zi Yean Seafood</TD><TD>Stirlng Road</TD><TD>Kam Heong Chicken/Crispy beancurd</TD><TD>?</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bu Ye Tian Yu Tou Lu</TD><TD>Cheong Chin Nam Road</TD><TD>? </TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ramen Ramen</TD><TD>Rail Mall</TD><TD>"Ramen Ramen"Ramen</TD><TD> ? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hand Made Soon Kueh</TD><TD>Alexandra Blk 123</TD><TD>? </TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hand Made Soon Kueh/Ang Ku Kueh</TD><TD>Blk 127 Bt Merah Lane 1 in a coffee shop</TD><TD>also have Ku Cai Kueh/SuanPanZi</TD><TD>Closed Sun/PH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ayam Penyet</TD><TD> 67 Beach Rd NTUC Income Beach Junction #B1-01/02</TD><TD> Ayam Penyet Indonesian Style/Sambal Chilli recommended by Channel 8</TD><TD> Mon- Fri 11am-9pm &amp; Sat/Sun 12noon- 10pm </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kim Dae Mun Korean Food</TD><TD> Le Meridien Foodcourt</TD><TD> Grilled Mackerel (juicy)/Bulgogi Chicken/Soon Dubu/High fibre &amp; nutritious "Brown/Purple" Rice</TD><TD> Remark: Brown Rice runs out by lunchtime </TD></TR><TR><TD>Vegetarian "Zai" Beehoon</TD><TD> Telok Blangah Crescent Hawker Centre</TD><TD> Best Zai Beehoon around with yummy "luo han zai" on 1st &amp; 15th of lunar mth/not oily/lovely chili</TD><TD> Stall is in-between a lor mee and soy bean drink stall &amp; opens as early as 6:30am on 1st &amp; 15th lunar mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>Vegetarian Beehoon</TD><TD>AMK Ave 4 Blk 160</TD><TD> only $1.50!cheap n good</TD><TD> Avoid 1st &amp; 15th day </TD></TR><TR><TD>BBQ Seafood</TD><TD>Blk 450 Clementi Ave 3</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>11.30am-12.30am</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Soup Tulang</TD><TD>Beach Rd Golden Mile Food Ctr #B1-13 #B1-15</TD><TD>Soup Tulang/Mee goreng</TD><TD>Long waiting time </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mee Jiang Kueh</TD><TD>Bt Timah Hawker Centre</TD><TD>small/dry peanut filling/traditional version</TD><TD>cheap and good </TD></TR><TR><TD>Putu Piring</TD><TD>Haig Road S11 Food Court</TD><TD>recommended by Najip Ali</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Crab Beehoon Soup</TD><TD>Blk 232 Ang Mo Kio</TD><TD>Seafood</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hor Fun</TD><TD>Mei Ling St Hawker Centre/next to Multi-storey carparkk</TD><TD>chicken feet/braised duck/braised chicken hor fun</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>ISTIMEWA NASI PADANG</TD><TD>Stall 3 Chong Wah Restaurant Block 28 Hoy Fatt Road</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> Opens: 6.30am to 3pm closed on Sundays</td></tr></table>

Woke up to BF baby, now cannot sleep. AMK Crab beehoon used to be on my weekend food joint list, but with my gal on tow, I doubt I will have the luxury of time to enjoy the noodle. With baby, we cant go too far and waiting time cannot be too long, else she starts to fuss.
My gal was also down with throat infection a few days ago, the fever had subsided but now she is covered with fake measles. Any idea how long before it will recover? Doc told me 2-3 days but it does not show signs of fading...sigh. Am supposed to go for a N-day cruise to c fireworks, but I guess might have to cancel.

Guess everyone is busy on this public holiday, hehe, but since I'm so eng now, I'll talk to myself for a bit here

Just came back from Plaza Singapore for a bit of light shopping - bought undies from Mothercare ($25 for 5pcs), pretty cheap cos got sale.
Also went into this shop called The Maternity House but got a rude shock. Salesgirl was quite pushy and insisted I try a pair of pants; when I said no, she ignored me and went back to cashier area. Then when I decided to try a beige pair, she insisted on me trying the black pair then if I really wanna buy, then buy the beige. I asked how come cannot try the beige, and she quite "sillily" told me that black will look slimmer while the beige will make me look bigger (??) I was thinking to myself that she just wanna "con" me into trying something that looks slimmer and nicer, then when I like it, I'll choose the beige and go home and regret it cos I'll look bigger. Not very nice leh... anyway, I tried the beige one but didn't wanna buy it cos it's too exp for something like that, then me and hubby said thanks to her and she just ignored us completely! *shocked* I think sales service in SG still needs to be improved.

annlee,
Maids are like that. My mum's Indonesian maid also the same - spoilt her new vacuum cleaner after just one day by pulling the retractable too hard, iron a few pcs of clothes for 2 hrs and always losing my sis' stuff. Just have to try not to have too high expectations of them, cos if they can be as efficient, then they wouldn't be doing the job.

Van,
My hubby will like a woman like you... peel prawns/crabs for him? Heh, dh laments jokingly that Vietnamese women good cos he read that this Vietnamese girl a Sporean man married cooks crabs for him everyday. My reply to him is that she prob wants his cholesterol to escalate cos he's much older than her!
Just joking... maybe she really loves him so much she cooks crabs for him everyday!

Amelia,
Boh Tea is good... it's more fragrant and darker than Lipton or Dilmah. At one point, they stop stocking in SG and I could only find at Mohd Mustafa, but now I see them on supermarket shelves again.

Van,

I guess he's been shelling and deboning for so long that it's completely natural to me.I don't feel particularly privileged or anything.

The Teh-O I had from this dim sum eatery at Bukit Panjang Plaza and coffeeshop at Blk 111 Woodlands were especially good.Maybe the not so good ones I had were the cheapest grade.

Sophie,

Ok, I'll definitely get Boh Tea then.

SG has the worst sales service! I am sure all of us have at least 10 bad sales experiences!

Sophie, tks for highlighting to us. i won't be patronising this boutique for sure

Went to Robinson's sales this afternoon and was disappointed that the baby cot is still expensive after 15% discount. It cost $349 before sales.

Any mummies here know where to get reasonably priced bb cots?

sophie, u r not talking 2 urself.i've been reading the postings fr west coast pk,sipping my cappucino.

u hv mistaken,i NEVER peel prawns or de-shell crabs for my hb.

gd tat u share ur shopping experience. must broadcast n boycott this type of bad svc. i might even mk sure tat the boss know abt it...hey hey...

<font color="0000ff">Hey Van,</font>
Heh, thanks for "listening" to my grouches even from West Coast. Sometimes I also feel like complaining about bad service, but I think very bad - like breaking someone else's ricebowl, so I just tell myself maybe she's had a bad day, so I just forget about it.

Oops! Made a mistake about you peeling prawns for you hubby... hehe, I guess you just let him peel it himself "clumsily" then!

Sounds like you had a good time picnicking at West Coast! Sipping cappacino while watching the kids play and chatting with friends... so relaxing!

After the posting, had craving for the crab beehoon that you guys kept talking about so went to AMK Blk 232. Got there at 5:30pm and there was already a queue, but it's just cos they have lots of empty tables not cleared yet. Got a table within 5mins, and waited another 45mins for crab beehoon. But by 615pm, all the tables were full and the queue wasn't moving so fast anymore.

After dinner, bought durians at the stall next door - bought the Mao(1) Shan(1) Wang(2) durian which I think is the "wildcat" durian that starz had. Pretty good - bittersweet yellow meat but slightly more watery, not as creamy as the D24 kind, which is quite a nice change. Asked uncle for 2 sections of durian husks so I can drink water from it - he gave me funny look

<font color="0000ff">Amelia,</font>
Yes, go try Boh Tea and let me know if the Teh Queen likes it. Let me know if Sally likes it too

<font color="0000ff">Krisjoy,</font>
Yeah, baby cots are really expensive. How about those maternity shops when they have sales? I think I saw one around $299 at a shop on the ground floor of United Square - cannot remember name of shop, but it sells baby clothes at the entrance and when you walk further in, on the left-hand side, they sell some maternity clothing and right at the back, some cots. The most expensive cots I've seen so far are at the shop (maybe called Mothers works) at Great World City near the office lobby... super exp at $700+!

Or you can take a look at the BabyTown website LittleCat gave - this cot is quite OK at $299, but I am wondering if I really want such a big cot that can be converted to a junior bed. And my hubby is very amused at the fat man standing on the cot!

http://www.babytown.com.sg/index.cfm?SESSID=73890&amp;ITMID=348&amp;Page=Product%20List&amp;ECatID=1476&amp;SearchText=

Eh, but I just calculated... your Robinsons price at $349 before sales is also around $280-290 after discount, so about the same as Babytown

I'm hoping to get some hand-me-down cot cos I really don't want to spend too much money on it. Maybe bao an angbao for whoever passes me the cot, and then sew my own mattress cover for it.

*If I got craving for any food at United Square, will help you note the name and price of cots there!

Sophie,

My hub bought for me Boh Tea and I am drinking it now.The taste is somewhat there but I think have to add 3 bags instead of 2.Forgot to add that I am a Teh-O thick addict.

Sally is playing soccer..I'll check with her if she wants some.

Have you went into Pet Essentials at Bukit Panjang?This pet shop carries virtually everything including Hello Kitty collars.

Speaking of Hello Kitty, have you girls seen this bicycle?It's so cute!
http://www.nirve.com/cruisers.asp?cid=562.11

Amelia,
3 bags??? No need to sleep tonight then? Heard someone told me tea actually contains more caffeine than coffee... not sure if this is true.
Heh, dh gave the cats a little durian to lick off the seeds and his fingers... the big cat likes it but the small one is not much of a durian fan

Have not been to Pet Essentials before cos I don't stay so near there. MIL is also quite a busy person, so I only go there about once a month or once every 2 months to see in-laws. Maybe drop by the next time if I go to that area.

my contribution:
Golden Rooster, blk 284 bishan st 22, fried chicken, open 5pm to 1am close on alternate wed

hill st fried kway teow, Blk 16 bedok south #01-187, fried kway teow, open 1030am to 730pm

longhouse miow sin popiah n carrot cake, lavender food ctr 380 jln besar @01-04, nice popiah superb carrot cake, open 10am - 1230am (sun-thur) 10am - 1am (fri &amp; sat)

hill st tai wah pork noodles, blk 466 crawford lane #01-12, delicious pork noodles previously at marina sq, open 930am - 9pm

whitley rd soon li pork porridge, 39 macpherson rd jackson centre macpherson kopitiam stall 31, pork porridge &amp; macaroni, open 530pm - 2am (close on alt tuesday)

Lao zhong zhong five spice stall, 39 macpherson rd jackson centre macpherson kopitiam #01-01, fried five spice stuffs, open 12pm to 11pm (close on alt mon)

tiong bahru lien fa shui jing pau, alexandra village food ctr blk 120 bt merah lane 1 #01-10, shui jing pau esp the yam one, open 9am - 7pm

Hi Amelia, thanks for the info. Do you happen to have Baby Kingdom and Hypermart addresses or tel no? Btw, next time you can try buying Boh tea leaves instead of tea bags. They are richer and more fragrant

Hi Sophie, I am working at United Square ;p I know which shop u r talking abt liao. Will pop by later to check it out..U keep cats? Hey, I keep a dog, breed is shih-tzu. Hope next time dog and bb can get along :D

Hi Van, how's the picnic at west coast park? is it super crowded? did you get to see any fire works?

Celeste,

483531.gif

Krisjoy,
Probably a lot of people have gone to Marina Sq,East Coast Pk area for picnic and to watch fireworks,West Coast Pk wasn't as crowded as other weekends/public holiday.

But the Macdonald there is very slow in their service,
483532.gif
even though there were just 3 persons infront of me, it took them more than 10 minutes to finally take my order.
483533.gif
Don't know why they are not using those hand-held devices that other branches are using(including United Square),should be able to speed up.

Amelia,
How much water do you use for your tea? 3 tea bag is really very "GAO", if you are using them for 1 cup!

Sophie,
My hb always say he could sleep after drinking coffee, but will have problem sleeping if he takes tea,may be there is some truth that tea has higher caffeine content?

Hi Celeste,
Thanks for the info
I've been looking around for the Tiong Bahru Shui Jing Bao since the old market closed and am glad you have given the new address. I also like the yam one

Krisjoy,
Ah, you work there! Good... maybe if you check it out, you can also check out the basement area to see if the baby fair is still going on? I saw an area where they were selling baby supplies from diapers to strollers to cots. Not sure if they have good discounts as I was too tired to shop by then, so I didn't pop in. Be careful for a preggie though - the fair looks quite cramped with the strollers all stacked up high.

Van,
Maybe it's true then about the tea and coffee then, although websites all claim coffee has higher caffeine content. Then again, it also depends on how the coffee/tea are fermented and how it is brewed.

483596.gif

<table border=1><tr><td>Stall</TD><TD>Where?</TD><TD>What's Good?</TD><TD>Remarks </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nasi Padang</TD><TD>Zion Rd Opposite Great World City</TD><TD>Tau Geh/Beef Rendang/Bergadil/sambal mussels/sambal goreng</TD><TD>? </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Malay Rice</TD><TD>Lucky Plaza #01-108 Cipta Rasa Cafe</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nasi Lemak</TD><TD>Lucky Plaza Basement</TD><TD>Crispy Ikan Kuning</TD><TD>crowded during lunch hour </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peranakan</TD><TD>Peramakan 92 Joo Chiat Rd</TD><TD>Fish Maw Soup/beef rendang/Chap chye</TD><TD>Closed on Sundays </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zi Yean Seafood</TD><TD>Stirlng Road</TD><TD>Kam Heong Chicken/Crispy beancurd</TD><TD>?</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bu Ye Tian Yu Tou Lu</TD><TD>Cheong Chin Nam Road</TD><TD>? </TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ramen Ramen</TD><TD>Rail Mall</TD><TD>"Ramen Ramen"Ramen</TD><TD> ? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hand Made Soon Kueh</TD><TD>Alexandra Blk 123</TD><TD>? </TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hand Made Soon Kueh/Ang Ku Kueh</TD><TD>Blk 127 Bt Merah Lane 1 in a coffee shop</TD><TD>also have Ku Cai Kueh/SuanPanZi</TD><TD>Closed Sun/PH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ayam Penyet</TD><TD> 67 Beach Rd NTUC Income Beach Junction #B1-01/02</TD><TD> Ayam Penyet Indonesian Style/Sambal Chilli recommended by Channel 8</TD><TD> Mon- Fri 11am-9pm &amp; Sat/Sun 12noon- 10pm </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kim Dae Mun Korean Food</TD><TD> Le Meridien Foodcourt</TD><TD> Grilled Mackerel (juicy)/Bulgogi Chicken/Soon Dubu/High fibre &amp; nutritious "Brown/Purple" Rice</TD><TD> Remark: Brown Rice runs out by lunchtime </TD></TR><TR><TD>Vegetarian "Zai" Beehoon</TD><TD> Telok Blangah Crescent Hawker Centre</TD><TD> Best Zai Beehoon around with yummy "luo han zai" on 1st &amp; 15th of lunar mth/not oily/lovely chili</TD><TD> Stall is in-between a lor mee and soy bean drink stall &amp; opens as early as 6:30am on 1st &amp; 15th lunar mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>Vegetarian Beehoon</TD><TD>AMK Ave 4 Blk 160</TD><TD> only $1.50!cheap n good</TD><TD> Avoid 1st &amp; 15th day </TD></TR><TR><TD>BBQ Seafood</TD><TD>Blk 450 Clementi Ave 3</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>11.30am-12.30am</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Soup Tulang</TD><TD>Beach Rd Golden Mile Food Ctr #B1-13 #B1-15</TD><TD>Soup Tulang/Mee goreng</TD><TD>Long waiting time/close alternate Wed </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mee Jiang Kueh</TD><TD>Bt Timah Hawker Centre</TD><TD>small/dry peanut filling/traditional version</TD><TD>cheap and good </TD></TR><TR><TD>Putu Piring</TD><TD>Haig Road S11 Food Court</TD><TD>recommended by Najip Ali</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Crab Beehoon Soup</TD><TD>Blk 232 Ang Mo Kio</TD><TD>Seafood</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hor Fun</TD><TD>Mei Ling St Hawker Centre/next to Multi-storey carparkk</TD><TD>chicken feet/braised duck/braised chicken hor fun</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>ISTIMEWA NASI PADANG</TD><TD>Stall 3 Chong Wah Restaurant Block 28 Hoy Fatt Road</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> Opens: 6.30am to 3pm closed on Sundays </TD></TR><TR><TD>Golden Rooster</TD><TD> blk 284 bishan st 22</TD><TD> fried chicken</TD><TD> open 5pm to 1am close on alternate wed </TD></TR><TR><TD>hill st fried kway teow</TD><TD> Blk 16 bedok south #01-187</TD><TD> fried kway teow</TD><TD> open 1030am to 730pm </TD></TR><TR><TD>longhouse miow sin popiah n carrot cake</TD><TD> lavender food ctr 380 jln besar @01-04</TD><TD> nice popiah superb carrot cake</TD><TD> open 10am - 1230am (sun-thur) 10am - 1am (fri &amp; sat) </TD></TR><TR><TD>hill st tai wah pork noodles</TD><TD> blk 466 crawford lane #01-12</TD><TD> delicious pork noodles previously at marina sq</TD><TD> open 930am - 9pm </TD></TR><TR><TD>whitley rd soon li pork porridge</TD><TD> 39 macpherson rd jackson centre macpherson kopitiam stall 31</TD><TD> pork porridge &amp; macaroni</TD><TD> open 530pm - 2am (close on alt tuesday) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lao zhong zhong five spice stall</TD><TD> 39 macpherson rd jackson centre macpherson kopitiam #01-01</TD><TD> fried five spice stuffs</TD><TD> open 12pm to 11pm (close on alt mon) </TD></TR><TR><TD>tiong bahru lien fa shui jing pau</TD><TD> alexandra village food ctr blk 120 bt merah lane 1 #01-10</TD><TD> shui jing pau esp the yam one</TD><TD> open 9am - 7pm</td></tr></table>
483597.gif

Amelia,
Saw that Hello Kitty Bicycle Picture, so unique and sweet! My dd's bicycle got stolen twice,so I think something so unique will also get stolen easily.
483612.gif
483613.gif

Van,

And they are supposed to be 'FAST-food' right? hehehe...

Sophie,

I think the bb fair is still on. They showcase some very good prams and baby seats but i find the bb seats too expensive lor...anyway, all the stuff are from Toys R Us..

i also like the sweet shui jing pau from Tiong Bahru. I like both the red bean and yam filling ones ;p

morning ladies...

abt prawn / crab peeling:
i guess i'm the "confused" woman here... split personality????

on one hand, i like to be the "small woman" that peels for my hubby, n "serve" him well.. on the other hand, i'm also fiercely competitive and ambitious in my career... my hubby would always offer to peel prawns for me, but i refuse to let him do so... but when it comes to crab, i think its nicer to enjoy it thoroughly myself, the peeling process is part of the "taste" also mah....
i'm also having problems with housework over my "split personality"... cos now i'm pretty heavily preggie.. so he would "claim" all the housework every weekend (vacumming, mopping n laundry). but i just cannot sit there n see him do everything himself.. so end up i always start doing everything.. n try to finish as much as possible before he "catch" me doing it... *haiz*... how i wish i can just leave everything to him...

abt bad sales service in SG:
altho i agree with sophie n amelia abt the standard of service in SG,i think i get to see the other "side of the story".. as i'm in the retail industry myself... its very very very difficult to get good sales staff, as the good ones are either loyal to their company, or their expectations are higher, and most companies do not pay well for sales staffs. since the shops can't do without staff, sometimes we have no choice but to hire the one that seems most "suitable" during the interviews... and *cross our fingers* that they work well after we hire them too...

abt caffeine level in coffee n tea:
is it true that tea has got a higher level of caffeine that coffee??? i've been "deluding" myself that tea is "better" as the caffeine is lesser, n tea has got anti-oxidants... i've stopped drinking coffee since i got preggers, but still drinking tea leh....

oh no, my "good intentions" became a bad thing.....

krisjoy
ya they do... but its more or less the same variety as their childrens' dept upstairs.. price range is abt $300+ too...
i personally feel kiddy palace got a more "economical" selection lor..

krisjoy,
There is a shop in Beauty World Centre selling babies/kids products.Prices are cheaper then department store,can even bargain.

They may not have a lot of cots/prams on display but if you see something you like at other places, may be able to order from them.

sophie,starz,amelia,

I do find that service staff is Singapore is generally not that good.They seem to have the kind of "I am selling you the goods,not the service" attitude. Many times, when I was standing right in front of them,wanted to make enquiries,pay for the items, they are still chatting with colleagues, checking sms or on talking on hp with friends.

I was so impressed by the good service staff in Bangkok,Hong Kong and Taipei that I keep telling my hb our local retail staff is nowhere near their standard. I even commnented to a few sales staff in Taipei, how gentle and courteous they are compared to our local service staff.

starz,
The higher caffeine content in tea is just a hearsay; I cannot even find any website that supports this.

As for sales service, I agree about the contraints such as cost etc, but then Giordano and U2 have done good jobs on that? Altho of course I am not sure if Giordano and U2 pay higher for sales staff. I love them cos of their service, and will always drop in just to browse cos they're so friendly.

starz, take it easy, just relax and let hubby do the housework for now!
Just focus on the fact that your hubby so loving to you!

Krisjoy,
So the baby fair is by Toys'R'Us? Won't be that cheap then.

Van,
I agree. I used to live in HK for 2 yrs, and I find that most sales staff in shops are very friendly. Cannot include the hawker and carts of course, cos those can be quite rude

Thanks Van, I'll go there this weekend...

My hubby also mentioned that HK has better service than here and HK people are more hardworking. They operate longer hours too..

Yesterday have craving for cookies so went to Famous Amos and bought 200g of cookies. Yummy!

hi celeste, thanks for the foodie infor... never try shui jin bao at tiong bahru before, will try it soon.

you mummies saying the tea until so nice, i feel like having it but too bad i can't cos sure got 'neng kar' after that.

Talking about the service in singapore and i agreed with it,our local service is not so good and when happen that one of the sales person who is so polite and service so good, i open my eyes bigger and double look at them, hmmm.... surprisingly so good.

krisjoy, you crave for the cookies, im craving for min jiang kway and ate 2 solid one yesterday, peanut one yummy!!

Krisjoy,
You mentioned earlier that you have a shih-tzu? I think don't have to worry about dogs and babies getting used to each other. My mum and sis have 2 dogs in total (1 pomeranian-spitz mix &amp; 1 Jack Russell), and my niece grew up with dogs pretty well. In fact, the dogs somehow knows that the little kid is a baby, and tend to be more patient with kids. Plus shih tzus are very tame, so I think you'll be OK.

Annlee, i guess it's hard to resist good food right?

Sophie, hopefully my dog will be patient with bb cos she is quite manja one...dunno next time will be jealous or not ;p Personally, i feel that it is good to expose kids to pets as it will sort of cultivate them to be compassionate and kind lor..

Van, so jealous of your hi-tea session! hahaha! let us know how's the food ok?

Coffee contains more caffeine than tea.It's been proven.

Yup!I'm gonna try 3 tea bags for one cup and see if it tastes like the one in Bukit Panjang Plaza.I love my Teh-O super gao!

Sophie,

Try dropping by Pet Essentials when you visit your mil.This place is seriously worth checking out.

Krisjoy,

I did a search...
BB Kingdom and BB Hypermart are at Kaki Bukit Shun Li Industrial Estate.
You can also try Cheong Choon at Chinatown tel 6532-3855.

I have a super manja cat too!!

Amelia,
Which Dim Sum Eatery at Bt Panjang Plaza are your referring to? I was at BPP yesterday afternoon.

Hb in China, could not accompany dd and me on public holiday,so decided to pamper myself and dd by bringing her to Swensen.

I took the prawn and fruit salad at Swensen.
$10.30 for a big bowl,but the prawns look and tasted rubbery(???), the fruits they used are all those syruped ones. Will not try it again!

Amelia,
Cappucino only once EVERY FEW MONTHS, lunches and high tea only FEW TIMES (may be 4 or less?) PER YEAR,Shopping only WINDOW SHOPPING lah...

Most of the time I drink 70cts/80cts kopi only and eat not more that $4 lunches only lah...
484085.gif