sohpie, your hb did the 'right' thing, by keeping some of his last few "best-kept" recipes, if not hor u learnt all and he become 'no value' in the kitchen, except washing dirty dishes ! hehe..
i like avacado too, but only eating it raw or put it in the salad or sandwich, this is good idea, i can try out diff way of eating
did u try the method where u use one of the durian shell put some salt and tap water to drink? heard is good for reducing heatiness. Another saying also to wash your hand thru the running water from the shell...it will get rid of the smell.
u won't be able to do the above, if u buy those already de-shell and put in the disposable container type..kekeke..
annlee, if u really worry go temple to get the 'fu'.
we are also free thinker, but the auntie will once in awhile bring some 'fu' for us to bath lah or drink...
anyway dun think too much should be alright.
sophie u r right, after i toasted the bread, it smell so good, i can't reinsist and take one bite, then i remember must take a photo to show u guys..
About the dried clam vs xiang luo pian (xlp), in term of sweetness.. i find the xlp is better, but again i am not sure if they have ge-liao, like soak in msg... heard such story b4.
This type after u boil the soup can feel the smell is diff. some people dun like the smell.
annlee, just out of curiousity, u not 'pantang' travelling in chinese 7th month? sorry it this spoilt your plan

cos the way i see u really follow some of this chinese 'traditional'rules, like to avoid certain thing...
sophie, i find it is safe take prune juice, but if u really worry can call the gynae to check.
for me i dare not take too much of prune juice during 1st trimester,cos it make so hungry i got to hunt for food. And during my 1st trimester, i hate to think of food.