Cooking Tips & Recipe

annlee,
Yep, everyone should know where Yung Kee at Lan Kwai Fong is. If I am not wrong, they do tabao goose. Cos my friend used to tabao it back for her dad last time. Believe me, it's a world's difference from the roast goose in the Roast Goose Sandwich that you get at Crystal Jade Wisma Basement. I found the Wisma one too tough.
Eh, they even have a website with menu here... all the way down the bottom is the "flying" roast goose at about HKD360 (I assume "flying" means pack for airplane takeaway)
http://www.yungkee.com.hk/menu/menu_takeout-e.html

Don't worry, nowdays even budget airlines fly to HK, so you can also make that a family trip next time when they run a promo!

annlee,
I too like to buy those individually packed pineapple cakes and almond cookies.

I also like their XO sauce and Zhu4 Hou2 Sauce. The Zhu Hou Sauce is good for making HK style beef stew.You can try this dish at Crystal Jade.

HK has huge selection of dried food stuf,some not found in Singapore.I didn't buy any dried food stuff cos I am not sure how to choose the good grade ones,and don't know whether their prices are reasonable.

Last year we brought back a roast goose, but I didn't get to eat that one,gave the whole thing to my MIL,not sure if i't still tasted as good when tabao back..MIL said it's very oily. I think I prefer roast pigeon.

hello lyn, i experienced carry bb until my hand aching but how come blue black, that's very siong.

Lyn
Your baby is only coming to 2 months right? How come need to carry for so long? Cannot leave him in baby bouncer?

I thought 2mths old just eat,sleep,cry, and can leave him in bouncer while playing with him when he is awake?

I admire your courage, already thinking of No.2 in 2007?!

Annlee,
HK having Summer Sale!

Sophie,
The stall also sells Korean Stone Pot, according to him, can used to cook very fragrant rice and food can be kept warm in the pot for 4 hours.

sophie, thank you so much for the infor, my hb going biz trip, i can't go so ask him to tabao, thinking of joining him but so troublesome.

van, the almond cookies do you still remember the shop name or address, there's one shop call choi heung yuen bakery but not sure whether is it good. The XO sauce can i buy any brand from hk? And the pigeon, do you know the address? sorry for asking so many qn.... cannot go to hk so must eat the food from there hee.......

sohpie/annlee, yeah after i read the cold water thing, better make sure i drink some hot/warm drinks after my meal.
during normal day i dun drink cold drink often, but during PG always crave for cold drinks! aiyoh just these few month make up the whole year quota liao!
Sophie! aiyoh after reading your posting, i feel like taking next flight to HK liao!!!

Eh annlee, u must a big korean show fans! even can remember how they store the food??! impressed! haha!
Tiger air got promotion to HK or not? forget about Bangkok, HK now!! :D

hello Lyn welcome back!
wow u really supermom after carrying for so long still can think of cooking?
btw don't make it a habit to keep carrying baby... if not realy siong and u can't do other thing. did u try to put him down on those Baby Bouncer ?

van, the Korean magic hot plate looks good leh.. can fry like those nasi lemak ikan? impressed! cos lots of those pot or pan claim they can, but is not tht cripsy..
hmm.. the price also very good :D

just had my lunch today, macoroni with the pasta sauce. brought from home. now can go walk walk and read some books!
chat later!

LittleCat,
You really true blue Italian mama now! Even brought your own pasta for lunch? Hehe, cos most Italian mamas snob the outside pasta and prefer homecooked pasta... you becoming like one liao!

I just had laksa for lunch... yes, I know unhealthy, but craving for it leh... just hope that I don't puke it out later! Now drinking a BIG glass of hot water. Gonna make my hubby drink that after his lunch too.

Van,
Yeah, that's the one... the Stone Pot! But rice will stick to the bottom yeah? Quite lazy to wash these stuff, that's why I didn't buy it. Do you know if it's expensive?

annlee,
I remember my sis chomping on a pigeon when I brought her to Yung Kee years ago, but I can't find it on the menu now. They probably stopped making the dish. Let's wait for Van for her recommendations.

Actually if can tag along with friends/hubby to HK with their biz trips is better, cos HK accomodation is super expensive, and if tag along, can save on accomodation. But no worries, sometimes, Valuair or even Cathay also run quite good promos with hotel packaged in, so can always go next time.

van, think is the same korea stone pot im interested but expensive. im thinking of using it to cook soup, if use it and cook rice then must watch over the fire right or worry will 'chao ta' (burned), think is a healthier pot for cooking even for the hotplate.

Littlecat, im not really a korean fan, only watch some of their show and pay more attention on their food kekeke...

annlee,
Have tried this,quite nice and packing is very sweet.There is an outlet at HK airport,so if your hb has no time to shop for it,still can do last-minute shopping at the airport.But outlets in shopping malls have more choices,their cake is very nice.

Pineapple cakes individually wrapped,nice walnut cookies.

http://www.kee-wah.com.hk/public/location.asp?REG=KLN

This is famous in Macau(almond cookies very Pang, can smell it on the street):
http://www.choi-heong-yuen.com/second_page/content1.htm

Hang Heung Cake Shop(famous for La Po Bing,but Hong Kongers said this is no good leh)

The exact location of Hang Heung Cake Shop is at 64-66 Castle Peak Road (Yuen Long Section), at the junction of Yat Sun Street. It is in the Yuen Long District, the Northwest part of the New Territories.

sophie,annlee,
The Korean pot comes in different sizes.Saw one woman bought both the hotplate and pot,got further discount.

My eyes are on the hotplate,so didn't ask the prices of stone pot.But I got the promoter's name card,can call him to ask if you all are interested to know.Size,Prices,and whether it will stick,only these 3 questions?

sophie, my hb did ask me to come along together with my son cos can save on the hotel expenses but don't feel safe leaving my younger son to my maid.And budget airline all no promotion to hk.

Littlecat, tiger airline and other airline no promotion going to hk.

annlee,
How about leaving your maid and younger son at your parent's or IL's place?

It's good to go at this time, especially you can save on accomodation.Does your hb have frequent flyer miles?

van, thought of putting them in my parent's place but my sister having chicken pox.... no choice all the timing not right. My hb does not have flyer miles as he don't really travel that much.

I think the stone pot is ard $80-90 in the smallest size

Roast Pigeon in HK:

Tai Ping Koon Restaurant

http://www.taipingkoon.com/cmenu.html

477143.jpg

van, didn't know choi heung yuen is in macau, will get the almond cookie from airport. Do you remember the roast pigeon location?

I really wanna thanks van and sophie for the infor, all the mommies here are so helpful and im felt so lucky coming to the right forum and know you all. Of course i will share infor or anything i know to all of you.

Carole,
Thanks for the vegetarian beehoon info. I've been thinking that Bishan residents are all carnivores, cos the only nice vegetarian stall at Bishan Interchange closed down, and there aren't many vegetarian stalls in this area. Now there's the AMK one to try out

Van,
I bought my pineapple tarts from Kee Wah too! Very nicely packaged and yummy! Yeah, the walnut cookies are yummy too. annlee, I remember this shop is just a few shops away from Yung Kee the roast goose place. If you look at their "Central" district addresses, they're both at Wellington Street, which is in the Lan Kwai Fong area. Eh, the roast pigeon place that Van gave... the Stanley Street branch is also a few streets away from Wellington Street... all within Lan Kwai Fong area, so all within walking distance for your hubby to pick up the goodies!

Van, Thanks for offering to call promoter to ask. But if like what annlee says, about $80-90, then too expensive for me. I need to buy a basic wok first

annlee,
If your parents' place is out, how about leaving both your maid & younger son at your in-laws' place?

Carole,
I didn't notice it's you posting up the vegetarian beehoon info leh! I thought it's Sophie, until I saw Sophie's post,ha ha!

So you are also secret reader of this thread is it?

<table border=1><tr><td>Stall</TD><TD>Where?</TD><TD>What's Good?</TD><TD>Remarks </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nasi Padang</TD><TD>Zion Rd Opposite Great World City</TD><TD>Tau Geh/Beef Rendang/Bergadil/sambal mussels/sambal goreng</TD><TD>? </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Malay Rice</TD><TD>Lucky Plaza #01-108 Cipta Rasa Cafe</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nasi Lemak</TD><TD>Lucky Plaza Basement</TD><TD>Crispy Ikan Kuning</TD><TD>crowded during lunch hour </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peranakan</TD><TD>Peramakan 92 Joo Chiat Rd</TD><TD>Fish Maw Soup/beef rendang/Chap chye</TD><TD>Closed on Sundays </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zi Yean Seafood</TD><TD>Stirlng Road</TD><TD>Kam Heong Chicken/Crispy beancurd</TD><TD>?</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bu Ye Tian Yu Tou Lu</TD><TD>Cheong Chin Nam Road</TD><TD>? </TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ramen Ramen</TD><TD>Rail Mall</TD><TD>"Ramen Ramen"Ramen</TD><TD> ? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hand Made Soon Kueh</TD><TD>Alexandra Blk 123</TD><TD>? </TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hand Made Soon Kueh</TD><TD>Bt Merah Lane 1 in a coffee shop</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ayam Penyet</TD><TD> 67 Beach Rd NTUC Income Beach Junction #B1-01/02</TD><TD> Ayam Penyet Indonesian Style/Sambal Chilli recommended by Channel 8</TD><TD> Mon- Fri 11am-9pm &amp; Sat/Sun 12noon- 10pm </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kim Dae Mun Korean Food</TD><TD> Le Meridien Foodcourt</TD><TD> Grilled Mackerel (juicy)/Bulgogi Chicken/Soon Dubu/High fibre &amp; nutritious "Brown/Purple" Rice</TD><TD> Remark: Brown Rice runs out by lunchtime </TD></TR><TR><TD>Vegetarian "Zai" Beehoon</TD><TD> Telok Blangah Crescent Hawker Centre</TD><TD> Best Zai Beehoon around with yummy "luo han zai" on 1st &amp; 15th of lunar mth/not oily/lovely chili</TD><TD> Stall is in-between a lor mee and soy bean drink stall &amp; opens as early as 6:30am on 1st &amp; 15th lunar mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>AMK ave 4</TD><TD> Blk 160 - vegetarian beehoon only $1.50!</TD><TD>cheap n good</TD><TD> Avoid 1st &amp; 15th day</td></tr></table>

sophie..
baby dun just sleep the whole day as they grow older.. the most difficult period is when they are having growth spurt... keep feeding and carrying...

annlee,
blue black cos baby's head hard... lol... that place where baby head is got blue black...

van,
Ya.. coming 2 mths
nowhe's botak

littlecat,
Sometimes I one hand carry, one hand cooking... :p After tat, hands tired leh...
I did not buy bouncer... but I got a rocker in the storeroom...

wah.. you gals talking about HK... My hubby asked me last week when I wanna go HK... If I go, I wanna bring baby...
Now is good time to go har?

littlecat, you joker eh.... you so cute, now you carrying a ball still wanna know whether got budget flight to hk.

van,sophie, thanks for the infor of the pigeon.

sophie, both my IL's is working so cannot take care of my son. Or you take care for me lah..... kekeke.....joking!!

annlee, how old is your 2nd one?
bring both lah.
it is good opportunity to go together somemore u say he dun travel that much can tag along better do so.
haha no lah i cant go anyway now. i am asking if got budget airline u can go there instead of Bangkok.U ask about the Tiger Air to Bangkok yesterday right?
actually my hb going to US 3rd week of August, want to tag also can not :'(

sophie, i went to library borrow 4 books, 3 books on italian cusine :p
actually the 4th one also related lah it is something about coffee..
I suddenly thot of the coffee i had at US, they have vanila taste, i think some of the 7-11 got sell.
And i found 2 recipe got tiramisu.
But the method they use like diff leh.. one use sponge cake as base, one use cheese... later i see can scan and show u guys...

Lyn, eh dun cook while carrying him, dangerous leh! get one of those baby bouncer lah, quite cheap i think $14 or $15? somemore is a net at the back, so very cooling for them.
Eh is it your bonus after giving birth? go HK good leh. but with baby not sure if is good idea... but then u sure not 'ren-xin' to leave him alone...

lyn, now is the best time to go cos hk is having sales now. But bring bb quite difficult to shop you know esp places like fa yuen st,ladies st etc....quite stuffy right, somemore she's so young.Unless bring you mum along hee.....that's what my sister did last time.

littlecat, my son is 1yr old, i got plan bringing all of them even my maid along... and check budget airline so expensive to hk and also need extra room, cost so much.. like that no budget so cancelled the plan.

hello ladies,

me very very sleepy now...
kao_yawn.gif

see u all tok abt travelling / holiday so shiok.. me can think cannot go.... i was suppose to go LA in 2 weeks time, n HK in 2nd week of Sept.. but don't think airline will allow me to fly... heheh..

actually i think nowadays the night markets in HK not so good to shop liaoz... the last i went, they mostly sell imitation branded goods.. n whenever there is raid, alot of the stores will be empty... nothing much to see / buy liaoz.
better to be walking along the streets along Mongkok area, where there r number of smaller shops.. can get alot of cheap clothes if u don't mind no brand... easily 1/4 or 1/5 of the prices in SG..

starz, the other day i check with my gynae, he said we can still travel till early Sep, after 32 weeks not adviseble. he even give me a letter incase if i need to travel some authority need to check. hehe must be too big liao, wait nobody believe i am only 26 weeks now!!

but if u dun feel comfortable, better avoid travelling.

annlee, nevermind wait for the next promotion then

My hb not coming back for dinner tonight and i can cook my favourite chap chye, so happy to eat that.

littlecat,
hehe, i do know we can still travel... but cos flight to LA is 16hrs direct.. the last time i took 18hrs to NY in May (when i was abt 3+mth), already 'buay tahan'... i dont think i want to torture myself again... then by Sept, i think i'll be too BIG n heavy to be able to "enjoy" HongKong liaoz.. cos whenever I'm there, me n my colleague walk everywhere one...
but honestly, still wish can go... *haiz*.. dilemma.... hehehe...

Wah, so many posts - read until I'm lost! My dd1 had diarrhoea yesterday so didn't go to school yesterday and today. Feel exhausted, every other week someone in the family will come down with something!

Thanks for the table, Van! Do you know where to buy good putu piring? I used to loooove eating those when I was a kid, but these days they're not so common anymore

Hi Soph, your morning sickness should get better when you are weaned off the hormone jabs. My gynae told me that the jabs make the sickness worse. My dd1 was induced cos' my water bag burst but there were no contractions. Induced labour was more painful cos' the oxytocin that they put in your body is at max level. My dd2 was supposed to be induced on her due date but the night before I went into labour naturally! 2nd and subsequent births are faster - my 2nd took less than 4 hours to get from 2cm dilated to 10cm.

Hi lyn, did you buy the sarong sling? It was a life saver for me cos' dd2 was a high need baby and had to be carried all the time. It was very handy for bf in public too - maybe you'd wanna consider getting one?

Hi LittleCat, so what titles did you borrow from the library? I'm usually stuck at home, so always reserve books online and ask hb to go and collect them! Tiramisu base I remember my sis used sponge fingers - it's like a biscuit and comes in pack which she bought from Jason's. I'll ask her later in the evening, okay?

Hi choc, how far apart are your contractions? So you will be doing confinement at your old place or have you shifted house already?

annlee,
Heh, I know you're joking, but you trust me with your kid meh? You see the question I asked lyn sure scared liao... I actually thought all babies do are eat and sleep!
Actually, I don't even dare to carry a newborn baby, so hoping to rely on my MIL cos my mum will be busy looking after my sis' baby.

Annelise,
Heh, I "accused" the gynae's jabs for making my nauseousness worse, but he denied it leh! He says it's HCG and not progesterone that causes the nauseousness, so I had no case then continue the jabs. Crossing my fingers these few days before I see him on Thur - hopefully if nothing goes wrong, he says maybe can stop jabs this week
Thanks for info on inducing and natural... hope mine next time will be easy too, like myself, popping out even before the doctor came so the midwife delivered me. But then like what you said, subsequent births are faster, and I'm the 3rd kid. Hehe, but I always think to myself - I never torture my mum, so please don't let my kid torture me!

All the talk about travelling is so tempting! but now can only travel through Discovery Travel &amp; Living Channel...

Woke up from a nap and so many posts.

<font color="0000ff">Annelise,</font>
No problem about the table.Saw u updating SPMCTR database, LittleCat updating member's table and Sauce Table,Sophie sort,organised and "beautify"the baking soda document,so I thought of sharing the load...

Do you have any recommendation to add on to the list?

Sorry I Don't know what is Putu Piring.Can you describe it?

<font color="119911">Lyn,</font>
ya, better don't carry baby when you are cooking.Start training him to stay in the playpen when he is still young,so you can do some housework,cooking or even go toilet without having to worry too much about his safety.

<font color="ff0000">LittleCat,</font>
I remembered you mention borrowing cook books on thermal pot from library, I couldn't find any.Is it in English or Chinese?

<font color="ff6000">Annlee,</font>
Am cooking today too.HB in Taipei(previously I wrote Bangkok, blur blur liao,it's Taipei now, just back from Bangkok),Eat outside very sian. I LOVE Chap Chye.May be cooking this Thursday!

I am using my small thermal pot to cook chicken soup with 2 types of mushroom,cabbage, and Luo Pian,also going to roast chicken drumstick,a plate of stir fry green vege and He Bao Dan for dd.At least all these dishes can be cooked in small portion and still tast right.

Also cook extra rice,so that I could cook Sambal Ikan Bilis Fried Rice for lunch tomorrow...yum yum!

<font color="aa00aa">Starz,</font>
Even if you can tahan the travelling time, will still be very siong to squeeze belly into the toilet. And Pregg usually need to run toilet more often.

Agreed with you about the HK night market.This trip I didn't get a single thing from the night market.Our Pasar Malam here has more things to see. Even the counterfeit goods, they just display the catalogue and big charts of the designs,so it's easier for them to run away there is raid?!

I prefer the small shops at the sides of streets.

<font color="0000ff">Carole,</font>

Sometimes when I chat with some mummies then I realised they have been Quietly reading this thread, including MU.

You went there for Playgroup? DD supposed to have swimming lesso today, I cancelled becos of rain, then the sky turn bright and sunny again.
kao_frustrated.gif

LittleCat aka Italian mama,
I just saw the tiramisu recipes! Eh, you cannot anyhow eat right? Cos got kahlua! I just remembered some even put rum in it. So when you eat tiramisu outside, do you ask them if got alcohol?

Eh, I also like vanilla flavoured coffee. In US, some places sell the little packs of liquid creamer (they call it half and half) with vanilla, hazelnut flavours, so sometimes I buy that so I can have more variety.

My hubby may be going to Taiwan for a biz trip. My last trip there was 8 yrs ago, so anyone knows what he can bring back for me? I can only think about "guo(3) dong(4)" and "tou(4) fu(4) gan(1)". Of course he jokingly says he's more excited about the betel nut girls

Finally got to post again. So many postings in this thread that by the time i finished reading, my gal either woke up or got restless. hehehe.
My gal is coming 11 months...kinda hoping that she will grow up faster so that she will tell me what she wants and understand what I am saying. Now she can only wail and cry, so I can only guess her needs. Also getting tired of waking up in the wee hours to breastfeed. Actually I plan to have 2nd one soon (as I am drawing near to 35), but am now having second thoughts. hiaz...she is now tugging at my sleeves....better go, ciao!

Sooooo much good food cooking tonight? Remember to take some pictures!

Van, I have to see your Sambal Ikan Bilis Fried Rice! Never heard of it before but sure sounds yummy!

sophie, no i don't trust you.... i scare later you give my son eat belachan, that's why i say im joking hee.....

van, only you and your dd eating dinner right and you cook so many dishes. For me, one chap chye is enough with rice. Your soup looks good, i try and cook tomorrow hor....

van, aiyoh looking wht u r going to cook, make me drool... eh rem to take photo ok?

oh the thermal pot book is Chinese. u need to check at the chinese cooking recipe section. Quite a thin book.
wow your ang fly till u forgot where liao...

eh i have a question, no offense.. i just curuious lah since many of yours hb travel most of the time.. do u gals worry they have affair outside ? sorry if is too serious question just ignore me the curious cat...(that's they got 'killed', too much curiousity)

eh talk about the member table, anyone keen to have a latest update? i think we have some new members.. let me know.

annlee,
not too many dishes, cos it's all easily prepared dish.

-Soup for dd and me
-1 drumstick each for dd and me
-Stir fry veg for me
-Egg for dd

...just nice!

Sophie,
I just fried Ikan Billis till crispy, use Sambal Balachan,add some Hay Bee Hiam and frozen veg if I have it,and lots of pepper to my fried rice

Sophie, got new nick name for u liao --belachan mama.. haha!!
oh yeah i heard the tiramisu is the dessert tat the couples fall in love after eating ... something like kind of story.
eee.. never ask got alcohol or not leh.. but little bit should be ok right?
hmm.. no wonder i tot i tot i feel some drunken kick ...
477400.jpg

LittleCat,
yo,pai seh lah, simple and old dishes don't need to take photo lah.Wait till I cook my big project of Zhu Jiao Chu and Kong Bak then I'll take photo...hee..

If my hb is BASED in CHINA long term,I will get VERY WORRIED.But short trips of few days here and there I am not worried,cos he is a workaholics, he usually won't have time for after-work "Entertainment".

annlee,
Actually If i am eating alone,just chap chye is also enough for me. Or even just curry gravy on rice I feel very satisfying liao.

eh sophie, singapore got sell those creamer ? cos not all 7-11 store selling the coffee leh...

cupcake seriously if u want to have 2nd one dun think too much.. better hurry...

what's for dinner today???

black chix soup with prepacked herbs from NTUC
stir fry celery with chix
baked salmon head....

van, your sambal belachan sound so spicy and sure very yummy. Did you wash your ikan bilis before frying it? I washed baby white ikan bilis, dry it first then fry it and is not crispy. The lady who sell ikan bilis told me not to wash it but is kinda dirty cos i saw them anyhow throw it on the floor.

Carole,
Wah! Baked Salmon head?! Share your recipe leh? Your dinner so healthy tonight! Celery is very good for reducing blood pressure.

Where you bought the salmon head? wet market or NTUC?

annlee,
I wash the ikan bilis,drain and drip dry first before frying, ok lah, still crispy.

Littlecat,
What do they (the cookbook) call the Thermal Pot in Chinese? Mo2 Shu4 Guo1?

Van,

I actually added quite a bit to my porridge.
I did the same for my soup on sunday and it tasted a bit better but the difference is also not significant.Dried scallops won't be a repeat purchase for me.

Little Cat and Van,

My hub's overseas work assignment is a few years at a stretch (like the US stint) and I will normally go along.Seriously, if any husband wants to conduct ECA and risk the marriage, then it's his loss.Kids will typically go to the mother and the husband has to pay maintenance.I am glad our legal system protects us women.

Little Cat,

What's the HK promo about?VERY tempting!HK sounds a lot better than Bangkok heh!

Sophie,

DHC brand of skincare is selling everywhere in Taipei, you can get your hub to bring some back for you.