Cooking Tips & Recipe

Sophie,
If your hb restrict your durian intake,then I think Ang Hay is just right for you.Cos the fruits are so small, unlike D24-eat a few pieces bloated liao.

Hi sp, me too.... HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOUR BOY, muack muack ... do take care of yourself and get more sleep.

Hallo alll!!

Little Cat and Annelise,

Ahahahahaahah Little Cat you're so funny!!!Yah, Annelise can donate to needy people like us and still have ample amount.Annelise, share share leh..

Van,

Did you eventually throw everything out?So sayang!You should have organised a bbq with your neighbours the night before the power out.

sp and Sophie,

I actually kind of forgotten how heavy is the normal crockery.
Williams Sonoma and Crate and Barrel are chefs' favourite stores to shop particularly Williams Sonoma.I like the decor of Williams Sonoma stores.The place is luxurious.

sp,

Re Losing weight

I drink a lot of tea(normal lipton yellow label) to maintain my weight.Try ordering a cup of Teh-O with your lunch and dinner.
Also keep yourself very occupied..I think it does help.

posted to the yahoo group, file name is "durian.doc".

sophie, yes the brown rice water helps.
Fry without oil, keep stir and fry till abit 'pang' ok liao.
Can fry more and keep
When want to drink scope one spoon or 2, pur hot water and cover it for awhile.
yes only drink the water enough.
if she find this troublesome, can go chinese medical hall, find the brown rice cereal also can helps.

Van,
I shall "negotiate" with dh on durian-eating this weekend
Shall show him LittleCat's durian.doc to tempt him too!

Amelia,
Williams Sonoma is nice, but sooooooo expensive! Don't think I have bought a single piece of thing from there before.

LittleCat,
Thanks for the info on the brown rice water. I'll pass that info to my mum and get her to make it for my sis. Seeing my sis so big makes me scared. My mum just called and told me that she was worried about diabetes and high blood pressure from gaining too much weight for my sis, cos her bb just put on 500g in 1 week! And guess what she was eating? Probably the durian pancakes I bought last weekend for the chalet outing! So durian does work
But now her doc says mostly like C-section for her cos she had a previous C-section 10 yrs ago, and the doc is afraid that the tummy and baby being so big now, will cause complications if go by natural birth.

amelia, haha, no lah i didn't type it, it was sent by my fren. but it is good info to know there are so many types durian. And the poor "Lin Fong Jiau" dun know why kena 'drag into water'.

Sophie, the doc did say the durian will have such effect cos too much sugar. ask your sis dun take too much. for diabetes and high blood, the gynae can check and advice.

annelise, 9 month morning sickness? wow, then i dun want 34DDD already, i just want to be around A or B liao...kekeke... so both also u have 9 month morning sickness?

btw what is the Kids Kampung thing? cos my son got this excursion next week, they are going to Pasir Ris dun know what kampung. The auntie heard kampung, straight away say dun let him go, cos 7th month...OMG...
She thot Singapore still got real Kampung??

You girls own food jars?It's so convenient to own one.I am quite tempted by Zojirushi ones!
Pics!

Classic Stainless Steel Lunch Jar
474308.jpg

Mr Bento Stainless Steel
474309.jpg

Little Cat,

For durians, I love dark yellow flesh with bitter-sweet taste.

This Lin Fong Jiau lady has taken a lot of humiliation in her life come to think of it.

Sophie,

You can get most of their merchandise relatively cheap at Amazon.That's what I did.
I visit Crate and Williams stores for presentation and entertaining ideas.

Amelia,
I have such food jar. Used to bring lunch to work, now become white elephant liao.

LittleCat,
Pasir Ris Kids Kampong is very similar to Animal Resort at Seletar(near Jalan Kayu). The kids can catch fish,feed the parrots,rabbits,geese,chicken. My dd enjoyed her trip there. She even brought back a plastic bag of fishes,a net and a small pail.

She is so proud to tell me that she could catch 4 fishes without anyone's help.Unlike at Animal Resort,she couldn't catch any.So the kind uncle there used a big net to cash some fishes for her to "pick" up.When she still didn't manage to catch many, the uncle gave her a few fishes.

Anyway they are going there during the day,7th month shouldn't be a concern right?

annlee,
my son says thank you for yr kisses and birthday wishes, he blushing now, kekeke...

van,
the kampung sounds interesting!

Amelia,
the lunch jars look great! I'm tempted too, until I see the price, aiyo, not cheap leh! some more I'm so lazy to cook, hmm, sure become white elephant in no time.

little cat,
I also got a fwd email on durian from Penang. I fwd to my mum & my mum says she's tempted to go Penang to eat, hahaha.

Hello!!

Van and sp,

Van, you sleep pretty late for a mommy.Don't feel tired?

My husband works long hours on weekdays and I am thinking to get a food jar for soups..
474845.jpg

Please review Tiger food jars if you have it.

<table border=1><tr><td>YahooID</TD><TD>SPM nick </TD></TR><TR><TD>angelbell00</TD><TD>annlee </TD></TR><TR><TD>annelise1021</TD><TD>annelise </TD></TR><TR><TD>celwong_sg </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheobu_007 </TD></TR><TR><TD>chua_family2003</TD><TD>chuafamily </TD></TR><TR><TD>cockle06 </TD><TD>choc06 </TD></TR><TR><TD>der_berg </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>eve_w </TD><TD>littleCat </TD></TR><TR><TD>hazelle_yeo </TD></TR><TR><TD>hunnyhunny10</TD><TD>paranoidmummy </TD></TR><TR><TD>jackielpp </TD></TR><TR><TD>janfyp11 </TD></TR><TR><TD>katherine_ly </TD></TR><TR><TD>lilipit_blossom </TD></TR><TR><TD>marinehouse </TD></TR><TR><TD>minminrog </TD><TD>Amelia </TD></TR><TR><TD>phantomcatz </TD></TR><TR><TD>priscilla_neo</TD><TD>Priscilla </TD></TR><TR><TD>qi_09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>red_ridden </TD></TR><TR><TD>rena076</TD><TD>rena </TD></TR><TR><TD>shirley_chan78 </TD></TR><TR><TD>shuenpping</TD><TD>sp </TD></TR><TR><TD>sunflower_sg</TD><TD>lyn </TD></TR><TR><TD>vangohsk </TD><TD>van </TD></TR><TR><TD>ymlsophie</TD><TD>sophie</td></tr></table>

<font color="0000ff">I was trying to figure out who is who in our SPMCTR group...</font>

Amelia,
Thanks for checking out the address.

You are gong to let hb bring soup to office in the food jar? Or you want to keep soup warm in food jar,for him to drink when he comes back at night?

If you are not going to bring dishes and rice, those normal type of food jar,l layer for soup, 1 layer for rice,should be good enough...and CHEAPER.

Ya,I am OWL... very awake and energetic when everyone else is asleep.Sometimes weekends will need to take naps to "charge battery".

Littlecat,
How come don't see D24 in the durian document? The durian all look so yummilicious...drooling...
kao_drool.gif

Your photos tempted me so much that I bought durian puff at Lot 1's food fair last night.Not bad! Puff is not too thick,not too hard,durian filling also quite nice.

Annelise,
Woah... 9mths of morning sickness is siong! I thought they say it'll go away after the 1st trimester?

Van,
I think these farm/nature trips are really good for the kids. Helps build their confidence too. Was just telling dh that next time must lug baby go MacRitchie and walk!

Amelia,
Are you gonna wake up early to cook soup for your hubby to bring for lunch? So sweet... but siong leh, cos soup takes a few hours to cook, means have to wake up super early?

Hmm... all this durian talk is making me drool... may go buy tomorrow. Other than "ang hay", I'll like to try the Yah Kang (Centipede Durian). LittleCat's doc description says "its flesh is whitish, the taste is superb, milky, like very sweet, melting chocolate"... sounds heavenly!

LittleCat, Van,
Here's a picture of the sea salt with the "waves" that I was talking about. Don't think it's the same as the Jap brand LittleCat saw? Sneaked out to eat nasi padang at Great World City today, so got this pack at Cold Storage there. They do not have any organic ones in stock, so I thought this one is a good start... still sea salt although not organic... only $2.85 for a large pack of 737g... it's a US brand called Lifestream, a "sub" brand of an organic brand called Nature's Path. The sea salt is obtained through vacuum evaporation of sea water from San Francisco Bay. This same sea salt is also used in Nature's Path organic cereals.

The NTUC pharmacy outside Cold Storage also stock it, but they only have the iodised version. I bought this non-iodised one. Read from an online review that iodised version sometimes leave a bitter aftertaste.
475032.jpg

Hehe, finally bought my undies too!
Didn't buy the Sorella 3 for $9.90 ones cos the elastic band is the strong thick kind, so was afraid I would have to expand them on my chair again. Instead, bought Pierre Cardin "L" ones at 3 for $15.90. Thinner elastic like the Marks &amp; Spencer kind, but with a V-back so undies will not sneak out of low-waist pants... very comfy too

Van and Sophie,

Van, the Zhi Char is at block 668A.So nice to have your kind of energy.I'm only energetic on weekends.

Think I will get the Tiger food jar just for soups.

No lah, wake up that early to make soups...where got the energy and I don't want to "spoil market" for everyone leh.

I will prepare the soups in the evenings then place in the food jar to keep warm, or perhaps I can brew it overnight in a slow cooker.

I saw IONA purple claypot slow cooker at Sheng Siong.Quite reasonable priced at $45.00.I will buy it when I get preggie.

Sophie, Sloggi's new range of lingerie is very pretty.

Amelia,
I think brewing soup overnight in a slow cooker is quite a good idea... then you get nice good soup early in the morning.

Didn't get to see Sloggi's new undies cos I bought my undies from a small little shop near my place which sells only Sorella and Pierre Cardin stuff, so just make do for the time being. Didn't really want to spend too much time in overly crowded malls too.

Here're pictures of my avocado experiment this weekend - Spanish omelette (courtesy of my hubby) served with Avocado Salad
2 versions here - with and without cheese topping
475445.jpg
475446.jpg

Ingredients for avocado salad:
1 avocado, diced roughly
1 tomato, diced
2 slices back bacon, cooked and diced
Extra Virgin Olive oil
Ground Black Pepper

Method: Just mix all ingredients together.
Optional: Top with cheese and bake in oven toaster till cheese melts. Both dh and I think this version is very "Amercian" but too rich, cos the creaminess of avocado + cheese is too much.

Extracted from a website
"Did you know?
Avocadoes contain significant quantities of the antioxidant lutein, which has been shown to be beneficial for eye health.
Enjoyed by many due to their smooth texture and mild flavor, avocadoes are an excellent source of potassium, folic acid, and vitamin C. Nutrient-dense avocados also contain healthy monounsaturated fats.
Intake of avocados should be moderate, as they are high in calories. A whole avocado weighs about 130g and has about 240 calories."

Amelia,
Thanks for the address! I think I have never been to Blk 668,will probably go there to take a look befoer asking hb to go there for dinner.

I didn't throw everything in the fridge.Mainly the frozen raw meat and diary products. I totally forgot about it even though advance notice was given.I would have brought those food to my aunt's place a day earlier if I could remember.

I used to cook soup in slow cooker overnight,then use the food jar to bring to office.Sometimes I put all the ingredients into slow cooker in the morning,set timnger and I have pot of soup ready when I am back from work.

Perhaps you could get a Thermal Pot, cook at night,and wake up with a pot of soup almost ready.Just heat it up on stove for 20min, add seasoning then store in Thermal food jar.Save elelctricity in the long run.

Sophie,
You must be feeling great being able to sneak out for food and some shopping after your "confinement"at home.

I went to Cold Storage at United Square,but couldn't find any sea salt at all. NTUC only carry the low sodium salt and normal salt. Probably can only get it at Cold Storage in town or supermarket like Liberty/Market Place.

Hey... You are not only Chemistry teacher in our group,also Browning Queen!

See?! your roast/bake/grill stuff always look so Yummiliciously Golden Brown!
kao_drool.gif

Van,
Yeah, feels good to be outside man... but very tiring; after walking 15mins in Cold Storage, I needed to find a seat while my hubby stood in queue to pay. And today slept through the whole day! Think I am super weak after all the home/bedrest.

Heh, the brown omelette was made by my hubby, not the Browning Queen this time. He wouldn't teach me how to make it cos it's one of his last few "best-kept" recipes
Anyway, I am really lousy at making omelette or sunny-side eggs... it always turns out out-of-shape or I'll break the yolk.

hmm, the soup looks very "bu". I always hear people saying he(2) shou(3) wu(1) is good for greying hair, but did not have any recipes for this soup. Take a picture of the soup and show us? Maybe I can make and surprise my mum with this soup one day

Hubby has just gone out in search of the Ang Hay and Yah Kang durians!
Looking forward to pigging out on durians and mangosteens tonight! *drool*

Cannot sleep... too much durian burps, so logged in to surf the net a little. Didn't get to eat Ang Hay or Yah Kang cos durian seller don't sell then, so settled for the standard D24 instead. Also don't have mangosteens so I guess tomorrow I'll have to down a glass of prune juice to move my bowels... oops, too much information!

Van,
Did you make your Zhu Jiao Chu or Kong Bak this weekend? Take some pictures and show us!

Good day mummies,

van, after reading the 7th month infor, im kind of worried. I did burn some paper money for the good brothers, all the paper money, joss stick is all pack in one and the store uncle told me burn that can already and didn't ask me to buy fruits or wine, hope he's right.

And yesterday my younger son point at the wind chime in the corner of the room and say, there.. there..., i look at the wine chime and tot he's saw a lizard (he likes to look for lizard and shout there there)but no lizard there and keep pointing at the direction. After that i just took him out of the room and later in the evening he's having a fever. I hope all these is coincidence or maybe because is raining and catch a cold, not other things, please leh...i got burn paper money, don't do any harm to my family..... oh yes i also got a very very bad stiff neck since last saturday, haiz..........

sophie, i passed by nasi padang store opp great world city on sunday, told my hb i want to eat that and no no to him, so disappointed and we went to havelock road to eat yu sheng.

van, your soup is good as i keep popping out grey hair, is it good for falling hair?

Good Morning!

Sophie,
This weekend too busy.DD just learned and able to ride her bike without the training wheels,she is so excited that we got to bring her out to ride in the morning,afternoon and at night,3 sessions in a day!

hb also flying off to Bangkok today,if I cook a big pot, there is no one sharing with me.

Was thinking of boiling the herbal soup today,but hb said he's going to airport directly from office today,won't come back today, so also didn't brew yet.

You won't get to see Ang Hay everywhere. Only a few places has it.Balestier,Geylang,Jurong West..

annlee,

The he shou wu,black beans are known to be good for greying hair,this recipe states that it's also good for falling hair, so I just put up the info.

I once read about a hairstylist Roland Chow(he 's very old now) drinking some kind of he shou wu soup everyday,his hair is still dark and shinny the last time I saw his photo on Newspaper,when he is in his late 50s.

I am a free thinker. I didn't pray during 7th month,also don't know about the How-Tos and the DON'Ts.But if you are uncomfortable, may be just burn somemore to give you a peace of mind?

BTW, when my dd wasn around 1 yr old or even younger, she would also point up to one corner of ceiling, or sometimes point at a corner and said "ge ge", we just ignored it.

Nasi Padang opposite Great World City is good? seems like my MUST-TRY food outlet list is getting longer and longer...

morning ladies...

Van,
hazelle_yeo is moi... hehe...

littlecat,
last i weigh myself, i put on 16kg liaoz, this week shd be 26weeks i think... somehow, lost count abit le..
i realise day time n night time my weight difference is abt 1kg leh.. abit drastic leh..

sophie,
ur food all look very westernise leh.. think u n hubby can open a restaurant anytime liaoz... all look so delish... hehehe..

i cooked again over the weekend... this time "chinese" food...
made:
steam pomfret (using my microwave oven!!! n this time i didn't melt anything.. hehe..)
fried mushrooms ("mei bai gu" n "hong xi gu") with spinach (good for preggies)
black fungus, tofu n "silver fish" soup (also good for preggies)...

my problem is still dont know how to estimate the qty of the food i buy.. suppose to be only cooking for me n hubby, end up hv to invite my parents over for dinner, cos i bought too much food again....
hehehe...

van, might burn the paper money again.

The nasi padang is good and surprisingly they're open on sunday. van, what must try outlet do you have, can share?

Out of the topic hee......... anyone plans to go Bangkok on budget airline, Tiger airline is having $2 promotion and after taxes will be $96 per pax, travel on sept and must book asap

Good morning ladies,
I'm still around, 2 more weeks to go, have been taking ess of chicken and rest in bed..

Looks like you all having a big makan session this 7th month ! hehe.. haven't read the previous posts yet.. my sis' comp down last few days .

Soph, how did your shopping for new clothes go ? Sorry, didn't see your latest update on your progress.. wah.. all your pics are very yummy and I can see the effort u put in for these healthy dishes.. thanks for the motivation ! My ang moh friend tried the hashbrown recipe before, but doesn't look as crispy as yours .. hmm.. what liao you gei huh ?

Hey van,
Can children drink the he shou wu ? My ang is balding .. hehe.. thought this soup is good for him.. my gals got very fine brown hair also.. heard that black sesame also helps to promote thick black hair..

For those who like salmon fish head, my sis' maid marinated the salmon fish head(from carrefour) with soy, lime juice and black pepper for a good few hrs, and bake it, it was very nice !

Hey sp, when I was working last time, I cooked the beef bolognaise in the slow cooker for a few hrs, layer by layer, onion first, then minced beef, tomato paste and sliced button mushroom. When I came home, I just cooked the pasta, and added the sauce.. not bad lah.. but not as nice as the one you goreng from scratch..

Hey starz, yah.. estimating the food to buy for hubby and you difficult hor, I had the same problem last time too !
maybe you can portion your meat and freeze them.. or share the veg with your parents or in laws.. I find that wrapping them in newspaper helps a bit..

Hey anne, what have you been baking ?

annlee, wah, where got good nasi padang? East side have boh ?

Yo cat, how's bb ? Mine is small, but active like tikus !

Happy cooking ladies !

choc, i used to stay at east side for 20 yrs but don't know any good ones. But along katong, peranakan food not bad and also can try Glory nasi padang. Littlecat rec'd lucky plaza and sophie rec'd quite a number of gd nasi padang stores.

Good morning everyone!

Van,
No problem about the food pictures. I know it's really hard to cook for so little people. Sometimes I find it hard to cook stews, soups etc for just me and hubby too, cos have to eat the leftovers for the next 2 days... not very appetizing!

Eh, the nasi padang is really good! Not the typical Malay style but a little javanese, I feel. The tau geh is good with a sourish gravy, very appetizing. DH likes the beef rendang. The bergadil is very tasty. I like one of their greenish chicken curry but some friends prefer the normal reddish kind. Sambal mussels are quite good too. I also like the sambal goreng which is slightly sweeter than the normal Malay style (the ones with green beans and tempeh). And guess what? Their recipes are all stored in a diskette in a safe! Must go and try some time!

starz,
heh, I cook western stuff cos I think western stuff easier than Chinese. I admire you guys and my mum who can make Chinese food, cos I think Chinese food got more dishes, more ingredients to wash and rinse, more frying/steaming (I don't have proper woks &amp; pans), so overall cooking Chinese food more siong! I like your silver fish soup, cos I don't drink milk at all, so MIL is always worried about my calcium supply. Can share with us the recipe for your soup?

Also, how's the "steam" mode in your microwave oven? Is it the same as steaming stuff in a wok/steamer with the juices still in the food?

btw, I saw from a MTB thread that some girls were saying this place has nice maternity clothes at reasonable price. Some even bought like 6 pcs at one go, so maybe the price is OK? You can check it out here http://www.modern-maternity.com and maybe just invest in a few more tops and bottoms to mix and match with your current clothes... should be able to last another 3 mths.

annlee,
Aiyah, wasted your hubby doesn't like nasi padang. My hubby was grinning to himself as he walked over to order, and the auntie asked him how come he see the nasi padang then smile until like that!
Never mind, next time you can go there for lunch or tabao if you are in the vicinity.

Woah, you booked the BGK air tix already? cos Tiger website is always down whenever they run such promos. I'm a bit kiasi, not going this time cos of my condition and heh, a confession on how kiasu I am too... I'm afraid bird flu

Hi Choc!
Nice to see you again!

You giving birth in 2 weeks? At how many weeks would that be? Induce or natural, as in you should expect contractions in 2 weeks' time?

Hashbrown never geh liao... hehe, but this Burn Queen aka Browning Queen somehow manages to make everything brown and crispy.

My Clothes shopping went OK
bought some stuff online and second-hand, and got my undies too

Choc,
No info regarding kids consuming He Shou Wu,but pregg not supposed to take. I did toast some black sesame seeds and sprinkled on rice for dd and myself.She didn't like it, "Don't want to eat the black-black things, like ants,so yucky..."-That's what she said.

476012.jpg

Soup for treating greying,thinning hair. I will bring this to Chinese Medical Hall to confirm again.If really helps,taking it for 20 days shouldn't be too difficult.

476022.jpg

Choc,
2 more weeks to go.. after you give birth guess we will be "seeing" even less of you huh? Confinement,taking care of new born plus the two elder ones...
476027.gif

Any helper after your CL left? Do you still bring your dd to Music Class? What about during your confinement?

Most people experience very fast and easier delivery for #2 and #3.Did your gynae say you are likely to deliver earlier than expected due date?

Sophie,
After you reading your description, really must add 'that Nasi Padang stall to my hanphones food outlet list.(Yes! I have that stored in my HP's contact list)

sophie, i haven't book the ticket. Never try budget airline before cos never travel anymore when got pregnant and now whole family if gg travel then must budget budget hee..........

van, your dd same as my son, see any black black thing on his food must must take it out or won't eat it, he says is dirty, very clean concious like his dad.I brought him to market and market is wet, so his shoes will be a little wet, reach home he wants his shoes to be wash, in the market he keep looking at the floor see whether got step on any dirty things or not

van, i hope my son won't bring back fishes..

sophie, thanks for the sea salt photo. eh the price quite reasonable leh.. the one that said is japan sea salt, no packing one, just a normal transparent plastic, just like u buy the original local type of salt and it cost 3+..

have not finished reading all the posting, will continue later...

476064.jpg

476065.jpg

i just posted my sunday breakfast, the 'pizza bread', i follow Sophie (think is u?) method to make it, taste good!
SP,just the toaster will do

the 2nd pic is the dried clam for cooking soup.
van, looks abit like yours, except this one the shell is not removed.

choc, durian durian eat more durian esp the good one :p
starz, u and me should refrain from taking, me too like put on another KG over the weekend!! aiyoyo!!

annlee,
I've travelled in Tiger Airways before. I like it, find it not that bad... good value for money. Seats are slightly smaller than normal airlines ones, but if you are of petite frame like Asian girls, you'll find it OK. A ex-colleague who is quite tall at 1.75m found it cramped, but bearable cos the flight is only 2.5hrs, so we just slept through the flight. Only downside is you have to squeeze with people as there are no seating arrangements, and so have to "rush" in to get your seats if you want to sit together. Also, no outside food allowed, but for short flights, it's OK.

LittleCat,
I think for the Sea Salt, go for the Lifestream one, since it is also used in Nature's Path organic cereals, should be better? Nicer packaging and cheaper too.

The pizza toast must be quite yummy, since you took a bite before taking a picture!
I like it cos it's a nice easy snack that can be made with leftover roast meats or spaghetti sauce.

Yeah, i was looking for clams like that at Fu Hua and ZTP, but they only have the flattened ones. Is this kind any sweeter than the flattened type?

Van,
I forgot to add - the sambal belachan at the River Valley Nasi Padang store is also very good; not the thick red nasi lemak type, but the more watery kind that the Malays make with a few different types of chillis (I saw on some Malay cookshow on Arts Central long time ago). If you ask for that, they give a generous saucer to you.

btw, the Nasi Padang stall is mostly opened on Sundays cos they get very good crowds/regulars from St Bernadette Church after the Sunday mass.

Sophie,
I bought the sea salt just now,from Cold Storage at Rail Mall.Just de-toured there before picking up my dd.

I have never tried those budget airlines, though very tempted to,especially to shoppers'paradise like Bangkok and Hong Kong.As my hb's travel plan always confirmed last minute,very hard to get air ticket in advance to tag along his business trip.I always get air ticket 1 or 2 days before departure.

More eating places!
476133.gif

<font color="0000ff">Think we should start a table of Recommended Foot Outlets.The WHERE,WHAT TO EAT.. what do you gals think?</font>

LittleCat,
Your Luo Pian is from Clams,the Luo Pian I got is from those super mini abalone according to the people from the Chinese Medical Hall. I cooked it, and it really tasted and look like those canned Qing1 Tang1 Xiao3 Bao4,but the super mini version.

Van,
Let us know if you/your hubby taste anything difference in the normal and sea salt... me just kaypoh to know, cos my tastebuds not so sensitive and not used to salt so I cannot tell difference.

Yeah, if you do last minute travelling, budget airtickets is more difficult, cos it's cheaper to book a few months beforehand. Plus, if tagging along with hubby's biz trip, better to take same flight as him, else meeting at the airport and transfers to hotel can be quite leychey.

YES! I agree we should start a recommended food outlets table
I've been keeping the last few Sunday Times papers cos I wanted to keep the food reviews. Just read in yesterday's papers that there are 2 old uncles who sell some healthy Hainanese laksa... wanna go try it some day too!

<font color="119911">btw, does anyone know if it is safe to drink a glass of prune juice everyday? I feel horrible; not major constipation, but like got difficulty in moving my bowels. Have been drinking honey + prune juice on alternate days, and today desperate enough to drink both... should be safe?</font>

sophie, thanks for the advised on tiger airline, i also heard that must queue early to board the plane to get front seats and seat together.

That nasi padang is making me drool.... want to try their beef redang, i don't really like the sambal from nasi lemak unless eating nasi lemak, like the watery balechan you mentioned, drool again.
I think not advisable to drink prune juice everyday, have you try papaya?

van, yes yes, is a good idea to start recommended food outlets table.

sohpie, your hb did the 'right' thing, by keeping some of his last few "best-kept" recipes, if not hor u learnt all and he become 'no value' in the kitchen, except washing dirty dishes ! hehe..
i like avacado too, but only eating it raw or put it in the salad or sandwich, this is good idea, i can try out diff way of eating :D

did u try the method where u use one of the durian shell put some salt and tap water to drink? heard is good for reducing heatiness. Another saying also to wash your hand thru the running water from the shell...it will get rid of the smell.
u won't be able to do the above, if u buy those already de-shell and put in the disposable container type..kekeke..

annlee, if u really worry go temple to get the 'fu'.
we are also free thinker, but the auntie will once in awhile bring some 'fu' for us to bath lah or drink...
anyway dun think too much should be alright.

sophie u r right, after i toasted the bread, it smell so good, i can't reinsist and take one bite, then i remember must take a photo to show u guys..
About the dried clam vs xiang luo pian (xlp), in term of sweetness.. i find the xlp is better, but again i am not sure if they have ge-liao, like soak in msg... heard such story b4.
This type after u boil the soup can feel the smell is diff. some people dun like the smell.

annlee, just out of curiousity, u not 'pantang' travelling in chinese 7th month? sorry it this spoilt your plan :p cos the way i see u really follow some of this chinese 'traditional'rules, like to avoid certain thing...

sophie, i find it is safe take prune juice, but if u really worry can call the gynae to check.
for me i dare not take too much of prune juice during 1st trimester,cos it make so hungry i got to hunt for food. And during my 1st trimester, i hate to think of food.

annlee,
I didn't dare to eat papaya. My MIL (she's a nurse) attended some professor's talk at her hospital on prenatal care during my last pregnancy, and he mentioned if got m/c before, avoid pineapple and papaya in 1st tri. I was quite surprised cos I thought they are normally quite westernised and won't avoid any foods, but this prof (could be malay or indian) told her this, so I just avoid for the time being. Been eating at least 3 ang bak bananas everyday, but going to toilet is still difficult, not as easy as last time.

annlee, for nasi padang, if hubby don't go with you, you can tabao during weekday lunch too. They wrap the food in a paper which has a piece of banana leaf in it, so quite nice. And they'll separate the sambal belachan for you if you ask them to. I used to tabao and keep the leftover sambal belachan in my fridge for the next few meals