Cooking Tips & Recipe

van, you double it or can use any pot and you cook for how long?

It's good that works for you

Any of you using air humidifier?
I used to have one from Novita and is spoiled not going for the same brand, any recs?

My son got eczema and asthma, i always got very dry skin and my hb always had sore throat so i think the humidifier helps!

morning ladies...

sophie,
for maternity wear,usually advise u to buy back the size u were before..e.g. usually u wear size S, so for maternity wear u also buy size S.
but for me, i grow too much.. for some clothes if i buy here,have to upgrade to size M or even L.. (bra size i already up by 3 sizes) but if u buying from US sites, it would be safe to buy back the same size cos the cutting is bigger...
what sites u buying from??? can I "tompang" somethings if you havent already placed orders??
kao_shy.gif
i bought clothes from the motherhood.com factory outlet in US.. n would like to get somemore, as i cannot bear to pay double the price for similar dresses here.. end up nowadays got no clothes to wear, very depressed n sianz of coming to work...

littlecat,
if u reli want to become SAHM, at least wait until u get ur bonus lor. why not continue let the older one stay with auntie, baby join infant care for the 2-3mths.. get ur bonus, then decide whether u want to continue working or quit..

paiseh ar, i sidetrack abit... anyone knows why baby inside ur tummy hiccups??? i read from the "what to expect" book, that its common for babies to be hiccuping from the 5th mth onwards.. but never explain why. my boy been hiccuping since 4+am, on and off until now... i'm abit concerned leh...

hey starz,
Thanks for the advice on the maternity wear. Woah, both you and Van's cup sizes increased quite impressively hor?
Last night I measured, still the same leh... hehe, maybe all my weight went to tummy and waist area. Then hubby keeps asking "When got milk?" *faint* I hope he doesn't go ask the gynae that!

I bought 4 pcs from www.motherhood.com but paiseh, already paid and sent for fulfilment cos last night needed some shopping therapy having not gone out for such a long time. But if you don't have a VPOST account and want to "tompang" my VPOST, it's no prob. Here are 2 options:

1. You shop at the website, buy and make payment yourself, but for "shipping address", you can use my VPOST account & address. But you will need to forward me a copy of your order in PDF cos motherhood.com website don't email invoice so soon, and I will need to forward this order to VPOST within 24hrs of ordering.

2. You can go to motherhood.com and send me the item number + short description of the items you want. Since I already have a motherhood.com account set up, I'll just use my credit card, order the items and pay for you first. Then you just pay me in SGD for the cost of items + local US shipping when the items come in.

As this is the first time I am ordering using VPOSTUSA, I am also not sure how much they will charge me for the US-to-SG shipping cost for my 4 pcs of clothing and 2 CDs. So am not sure how to split that portion of shipping cost. But whatever they charge, I'm sure it's cheaper than what motherhood.com charges for international shipping (they charge US$40 shipping for total of $35 & below!).

Let me know by ASAP if you want to doing any of the above, and we can move on from there.

Sorry about forgeting to ask you guys about "tombanging"... cos too kan cheong about shopping after such a long time!

starz,
How about scouting Yahoo Auctions for maternity clothes too? This seller's auctions is not bad, just that some sizes don't fit me. Cheap & reasonable too:
http://user.auctions.yahoo.com/sg/user/chanjudysg

This one more branded and hence more expensive, but sometimes got very nice Liz Lange pcs:
http://auctions.yahoo.com/sg/show/auctions?userID=branded_warehaus

The above sellers sell brand new clothes or at least clothes in good condition, so I don't mind.
As for the rest, I don't normally bookmark or bother to see them cos some of the clothes are really quite old and tatty.

starz,
I'm here, trying so hard to catch up on the posts until I never post

sophie,
wah, online shopping, so exciting ya, I've not tried, is it safe as in ppl won't tap our credit card no. and go shopping at our expense?

annlee,
hope yr soup will help yr hb too.

van,
wah, u can browse and don't buy? I cannot resist one leh, if don't buy will end up day and night dreaming abt buying it, hahaha...

amelia,
thanks for sharing the david rocco link, it's very interesting. I've saved it in my favourites, hee.

little cat,
must get the bonus, u hv worked so hard for it! can the auntie handle yr bb as well as yr boy? hmm, my malay colleague got 4 kids, all taken care by same babysitter.

choc,
eat more sleep more, so fast week 35, gonna pop soon, kekeke.

annelise,
glad to hear u r better! thanks for sharing the seaweed link, very interesting!

Went out to buy birthday present for my hb,it's his birthday tomorrow,but we can only celebrate this Saturday.DD went for field trip,need only pick her up 1hr later than usual, so 1 hr more time to shop.

annlee,
When I used dried sea coconut, I double boiled in slow cooker for about 2 to 3hrs. If I am using fresh sea coconut, I use my Tiger Thermal pot.

You missed out the photo of dried sea coconut I posted up? Here it is:

472346.jpg

Sophie,
You are still in 1st Trimester, bust won't increase so much yet.Towards the end of 3rd trimester, you will see HUGE difference.Even after giving birth and stop breastfeeding, a lot of people experience 1 cup/bra size bigger.

Littlecat,
Where is the jackfruit curry stall in Lucky Plaza? I went just now, but don't know which one leh, so many malay/muslim stalls,there is also one Indonesian food outlet.BTW, it's the floor where OCBC is,is it?

annlee,
I also use Novita humidifier.DD has eczema since baby time.

sp,
Browsed and very "gian",but when think of the $$$,will stop dreaming liao.Unless it's cheaper items,will go all out to buy/bid,then wait anxiously for it to arrive....

sophie, cos i never buy things esp clothes form website before so cant advice haha. but glad u have starz around :D
Personally i prefer to touch, to feel and to try it on b4 buying. Also due to my typical asian size dun think US size can suit me.
Happy shopping

van that is the dried kelp i bought, got strong smell, after i soak there for awhile never have the courage to cook. cos i bet the two, my hb and son won't drink it.
btw for such dried kelp how to cook?

starz, the auntie very heart pain knowing the elder one going full day, keep saying he will 'suffer'.
also may be she scare we dun give her money, cos initial plan is to have him start the full day now, so by the time i give birth, timing just nice. But if we put him on full day, we won't be able to give that much to her.

Sophie, i check at cold storage again just now, saw another Japanese sea salt, it looks like our normal salt leh.. the packaging also same like our 30cts salt, just a plastic. but price is like the pan salt, i think $3.40. Pan salt $3.90.

is those reduce sodium salt better ? or the sea salt more natural and better?

van, i think i bought different dried seacoconut from yours cos mine is white in color. I used thermopot, nex time will use double boil.

My son has eczema ard 2 yrs old only recently got better but the toes area quite bad. How's your dd condition now?

Oh littlecat,you suppose to let us know the nasi padang store hor...

Littlecat,
I haven't opened up the dried kelp,got strong fishy smell? The instruction said cook stew with Chicken etc,so I thought of cooking chicken soup with it.Think I better start with a small pot first,if I can't take the smell,don't think dd and hb can take it.

Choc,
You mentioned silver fish in Sambal.Is it fried the silver fish till crispy then grind it and add to Sambal Chilli? All other ingredients the same?

annlee,
I bought two types of dried seacoconut.The China ones, cheaper $4/Liang3,sliced very nicely and very white.The Fei Zhou Hai Di Ye very expensive,$30/Liang3,some pieces a bit yellowish

I brought my dd to see a GP who has dermatolgist qualification in Bt Gombak,given two types of oinment,1 strong 1 mild,it's different from hydrocortisone.Her condition is not too bad, occassionally flare up, especially when weather is hot and she perspired.

Hi starz, is your baby still hiccupping? From what I understand, it is normal and shouldn't be any cause for concern. But if you feel a little uneasy, why not give your gynae a call just to set your mind at ease?

In the meantime, I've cut & paste a Q&A on this topic from ivillage - hope it helps answer your question

Why do babies hiccup in the womb?

There is not a great deal written in the medical resources about foetal hiccuping even though it is such a common feature during a pregnancy, and usually experienced at least once by most mums as distinct, episodic movements of their foetus. It is certainly a foetal reflex similar to our own. In this reflex (which is an involuntary movement in an area) there is a sudden spasmodic contraction of the diaphragm and closure of the sound-producing folds at the upper end of the windpipe. Usually, of course, there is a sudden drawing in of breath, and we make an accompanying noise. Thank goodness that doesnt happen in utero could be quite disturbing!

In the case of the foetus there has been shown to be a drawing in of some of the amniotic fluid in which it floats. It seems that it is only the more mature foetuses that show this (because of the development of the central nervous system at that time). Some think that the hiccup reflex is a response to foetal drinking or foetal breathing which causes this flow of amniotic fluid in and out of the lungs, thus stimulating the diaphragm to contract, just as it does in the normal hiccup situation.

Gotta go - need to get some housework done - just popped in for a while as my dd was playing pc games earlier. Catch up with y'all later - that is, if I don't fall asleep, hee!

LittleCat,
As far as I know, sea salt is the best as it is "unrefined", hence its coarser grains and sometimes non-white appearance cos it also contains other minerals. Low sodium or reduced sodium salt has been processed with a slightly lower sodium level, that's why they are fine in texture and white. Some websites may argue that sea salt may not be the best as it is not enriched with iodine, but seriously, Asian diets contain a lot of seafood, so we really do not need the extra iodine I think.

annlee,
What's your input? Cos you are also into all this health and salt thing.

Here's what I extracted from a cooking website. Seems like sea salt is still the best, together with kosher salt... but maybe let's not confuse ourselves with an extra type of salt!

<font color="0000ff">"Q: What is the difference between kosher salt, sea salt, and table salt?

A: For the cook's purposes, the main difference between salts is in their texture. Table salt's fine granules dissolve quickly, making it the preferred salt of bakers. Sea salt and kosher salt possess larger, irregular grains that add a delightful crunch and hit of briny flavor when sprinkled on food at the last minute. Generally, savvy cooks prefer kosher salt when cooking, since its coarse texture is easier to take a pinch of when seasoning savory dishes.

Chemically there is little difference between kitchen salts. All are at least 97 1/2 percent sodium chloride. But there are significant differences in the provenance and processing of these salts.

Table salt is mined from underground salt deposits, and includes a small portion of calcium silicate, an anti-caking agent added to prevent clumping. It possesses very fine crystals and a sharp taste. Because of its fine grain a single teaspoon of table salt contains more salt than a tablespoon of kosher or sea salt.

Sea salt is harvested from evaporated seawater and receives little or no processing, leaving in tact the minerals from the water it came from. These minerals flavor and color the salt slightly. However, because these salts often come at a dear price, it is worth keeping in mind that they lose their unique flavor when cooked or dissolved.

Kosher salt takes its name from its use in the koshering process. It contains no preservatives and can be derived from either seawater or underground sources. Aside from being a great salt to keep within arm's reach when you are cooking, it is particularly useful in preserving, because its large crystals draw moisture out of meats and other foods more effectively than other salts."</font>

I've also heard people say that sea salt dissolves and hence passes through your body while refined salt simply stay in there, that's why sea salt is better. Eh, maybe you can do us an experiment by mixing an equal amount of sea salt and normal salt in the same amount of water in 2 different containers, then leave them to stand for a few days, see if there is any sediments in the normal salt container?

Which Cold Storage did you go to where you found the Jap sea salt? When I can go out, I also wanna take a look.

van, then i have bought the china one, i told them i want feizhou seacoconut and the aunti says is from feizhou but she look very blur so i think she's guessing. Your feizhou seacoconut is so ex.

Same here...when weather is hot my son will itch and scratch all over till bleed.

hi annlee, Van,
Not sure if you guys believe in naturopathy, but my friend's baby also had eczema when he was young. I saw his baby pictures and was shocked to see big red patches even on his face. She brought her son to many doctors but they didn't help cos they only gave him steroids. Steroids help in reducing inflammation, but is no good in the long term. Long term use of oral steroids reduces immunity, and long term use of topical steroids makes the skin "thinner".

She finally took him to a naturopath doctor at Camden Medical (cannot remember name, but I think it's an angmoh lady). She said it took a while as natural therapies are not immediate, and also have to avoid some foods cos in most cases, it's allergy to certain foods. But now her son is in Pri. 2 and no more eczema in a long time already. I also remember her feeding him organic flaxseed oil according to the naturopath's instructions.

Van,
My friend's bust size was B when she got married, then increased to C during pregnancy, then after breastfeeding, decreased to an A! hehe... her hubby now complains jokingly that he got shortchanged!

LittleCat,
I also prefer to touch and try clothes, but now confined to home and desperate for some retail therapy, so no choice
Now just crossing fingers that those US sizing can fit me!

Ok, going to take a nap after my medicine... talk to you guys tonight!

Sophie,
Thanks for the salt info.Going NTUC tonight, will probably look for the sea salt.If not may be tomorrow will go Cold storage.

Though my dd's eczama is considered Mild by dermatologist standard,t's good if I could find alternative treatment that has no side effects.

I thought of TCM but I know for sure my dd won't take those Chinese medicine.

The naturopathy sounds interesting and is something new to me.Will go and gather more Info. Thanks!

I have a friend also bust size shrunk after giving birth to 4 girls.She is the only one I know who "shrunk" after giving birth.But she slim down and tummy flattened very quickly,probably becos she took a lot of Zhu1 Jiao3 Chu4 during confinement?!

annlee,
It's very important to keep him cool and moisturised. Are you switching to all those body wash and moisturiser meant for sensitive skins already?

I bought the China sea coconut first, and suspected that I didn't get the right thing,as according to what I read from NET, it should be very expensive, and there are lots of "non-authentic" ones in the market.

sophie, your information is so detailed, all i know is the normal salt is chemical process and the organic shop lady told me definitely sea salt is better, natural and healthier.Same goes to the sugar, better to get organic or unprocess sugar. I also buy organic rice.When im pregnant i took alot of organic veggies,but normal veggie from the market more crunchy and taste better

thanks sophie for the detail info, u r our chemistry teacher leh!
i check the cold storage at takashimaya. but the jap sea salt can't be found at the website.
any funny also the sea salt on the web not at the taka cold storage too.. haha
Let me get hold of the sea salt first then experiment and let u know

annelise thanks for the info on baby hicup!
starz, my boy also like that leh..hiccup quite often, abit scare sometime. i ask his dad to feel, he also got a shock...

annlee, pai seh i didn't go that direction these few day...sorry sorry will see tomolo got chance to go there :D
eh my son also his hand when hot and perpire will itch and scratch till bleed. sometime is hand sometime is neck. scary, also he is quite fair so looks like kena abuse.
the doc said apply mosturiser. so sometime have to avoid hot and warm place. at the end aended up at shopping center cos got air cond...

van u mean take Zhu1 Jiao3 Chu4 will shrink meh? then i want to eat more liao :D

sophie, i know what u mean, ok just buy a few not too many. then later got chance to go shopping mah
the other day i went Bukit Timah Beuty world, yeah the old dead shopping center. Found a shop selling maternity clothes very reasonbale everage per pcs around $20. cos outside those shop one pcs at least $30-40 and above, some not very nice also. this one design from Hong Kong, some t-shirt type quite ok.
i m the more 'economic' type, bor bian must plan for future

for the panties also u can buy the regular type but EEL size is good enough 3 for $9.90 or something. Can buy more and change more frequently. no need to get those meant for maternity where one pcs like $10-$20 per pcs.

sophie, thanks for the infor on naturepathy,will check it out on that.

When im pregnant my cup size from cup A opps.. increase to cup B, when breastfeeding increase to cup C.I bought nursing bra in my 2nd trimister and cannot wear it after birth or breastfeeding and i got to get it again. I think is better not to get too many bra during pregnancy.

Van, yes my son is using body wash for his sensitive skin and has been changing quite a few already, from avene to Qv...can't remember the brand,then seba med to dermaveen. Now still using dermaveen and if his condition is bad, i switch to pinetasol from ego.
What moisturizer do you use for your dd?

littlecat, maybe because your son perspire and is salty so he scratch n scratch. Got any red patches and did doctor say is eczema? Better not.

annlee, luckily his is quite mild, no red patches.
just occasionaly he will do that. normally after applying something or pad with cold towel, ok liao.

Planning to cook chicken this weekend follow the kylie kwong's recepi

anyone try making dim sum b4?

Van, annlee,
I'll try and SMS my friend to see if she remembers the naturopath's name then let you guys know so it makes your research easier.

Van has a interesting point about keeping skin moisturised... that's what flaxseed oil does too, it helps to maintain moisture in skin.

Van,
Zhu Jiao Chu can make us lose tummy easier? Hard to believe hor, cos so much fats, but probably true cos the vinegar and sugar drives out wind right? I'll bear that in mind... hope everything goes flattened but not my breasts... haha, any flatter and I'll really be an airport runway

annlee,
How come normal veggie crunchier? hmm... maybe cos organic takes a long time to fly to SG then become softer huh? Woah, your talk about everything organic makes me feel like doing the same too, but like you said last time, very expensive.

I started buying Malaysian vege after you guys said Chinese vege more pesticides, and issit my imagination? I thought the Malaysian Xiao Bai Cai was sweeter.

Thanks for tips on the bra. I didn't buy any bras online cos like LittleCat says, really difficult to gauge, so now I still tahan with bra extensions, then in 2 weeks time, I'll go out and just prob buy 2 pcs, since you guys all say got potential to GROW

LittleCat,
I also "economic" type, that's why don't mind scouting auctions for lightly used items
I'm surprised Beauty World still can survive after all these years... will go take a look when I need maternity wear. Right now, I just dig out all my "fat" clothes to wear.

I didn't know maternity panties so exp? Last week, dh went to Triumph counter and gave them my hip measurement cos he insists that my current undies too tight for me. But the auntie gave him "M", and came home, still too tight. And undies cannot be changed so very wasted. Now I am trying to stretch those undies on my dining chairs... so comical if guests come to my place... they'll probably ask where I got my "interesting" chair covers from!
Now I just dig out all my oldest and most tatty undies to tahan the next 2 weeks first.

Have fun with your "chemistry experiment" and chicken this weekend... remember to take lots of pictures!

sophie, im taking organic veggie for quite sometime and one day they're out of stock so i bought some normal veggie and find it so crunchy and nice. Organic veggie a bit soft, stems like dehydrated hee....Maybe is the soil they're using, aiyo.....not sure, im not like you ok, you're our chemistry teacher you know.

ahahaha stretching undies with dining chairs!!
eh i thought "M" is the smallest size? or is it "S"?

annlee,

Increase bust size is great!But is the increase permanent?

sp,

Glad you enjoyed the site, it's one of the best sites I have seen.

Van,

What are the benefits of double boiling as compared to direct heat when making soups?

Our nearest Cold Storage is Causeway Point, right?

Amelia, no way man when stopped breastfeeding, all turn to my normal size...like overnight balloon. Remember to take care of the breast cos i breastfeed both of my sons and mine abit sagged and wearing lift up bra helps

Amelia,
Yeah, it's quite a sight! Smallest is "S" I think. I expected dh to tell the promoter that wife is preggie so therefore need larger size, so was looking forward to L or XL, then come home he happily showed me an "M"
hehe, you got any other ideas on how to stretch my undies?

annlee,
The organic produce I had when staying in the US was extremely fresh, crunchy and sweet leh, that's why I was surprised when you said normal veggies nicer. Eh, I'm not chemistry teacher... more like a student cos I like to put all kinds of funny stuff in containers and experiment with them
I think it's probably the flying and the fact that they prob don't add any preservatives to it during the flight to extend the shelf life? Maybe organic veggies are also non-GMO? Although I'm not sure if Chinese veggies are genetically modified. I only know I read somewhere that some farmers inject salmon genes into strawberries so strawberries would not freeze during long flights. It could also be that turnover for organic veggies is slower cos so expensive, so you will see more "old" veggies at the shop, hence the softness?

Sophie, my organic veggie is chinese type not ang mo one. I think the organic veggie is from singapore or malaysia.
You staying in US to work or study or you're ABC?

Sophie,

I just checked."M" is the smallest size locally.In states, they start from "XS".I am wearing "M" for Triumph and "XS" for GAP/Old Navy.My waist is 25" and hip 34".Suggest you leave the "M" pair till after birth.

Annlee,
My dd uses Esemtan body wash now.She used Cetaphil for many years before switching to Esemtan,after a bout of Impetigo infection in 2004.For Body moisturiser, I have switched from QV to Cetaphil cream.I tried A-Derma, smell awful and worsen her eczema.I bought Dermaveen for my hb(obviously,dd inherited bad skin from her dad),but didn't try it on dd.

Amelia,
Our nearest Cold storage is at Rail Mall. Previously Sunshine Place has one.As expected,it closed down shortly and took over by Shop n Save.

I read an article about experiment done by some Poly Students.They use different method to cook wolfberries,tested and concluded that Double-boiling has the least nutrients lost.

Increased bust size after giving birth is quite common, but some not permanent.

Littlecat,
It's best to start exposing your ds to more outdoor activities,bring along wet face towel to wipe for him more often,then dry it.If not,when he starts Primary 1, he may not get used to the heat and perspiration from PE lessons.

Sophie,
That's really funny,stretching undies with dining chairs!

At least your hb is willing to buy undies for you, my hb won't even stand near lingerie department with me.

Littlecat,sophie,

My friend still very slim and tummy flat after 4th child,so we interviewed and probed into details of her diet during confinement, and found out that she consumed Zhu Jiao Chu every meal,every day.I suppose it will help,cos the ginger expel the wind, and vinegar is well known to have slimming,detoxing effect.

annlee,
Me not ABC, neither could I afford to study overseas last time
But my hubby was posted to the US for a project before, so I left my job and stayed there for awhile with him... not very long, just 9 months. Wish it was longer though

My mum also buys organic veggie from Malaysia. She says sometimes the Chong Pang market has, and the yim choi is super sweet and crunchy, not soft leh.

Amelia,
Oh, I didn't know Triumph undies start from "M". Yeah, have to leave those undies till after birth, cos even after 1 week of stretching, only expanded by 1 inch... not enough for my ballooning hips!

Van,
Heh, if I ever invite you guys to my place, will definitely make sure I don't have such funny things lying around!
Yeah, my hubby is OK with lingerie department. But look on the bright side, if your hubby won't go with you to lingerie dept, it means you've got more chances to "surprise" him with new buys!

Must remember to eat more zhu jiao chu next time, but I can already see my MIL's face liao... haha, she'll say "So oily and so much fats!"

Sophie,
Take the gravy,scoop onto rice.It's very yummy,even my hb likes it.I thought of trying to make Zu Jiao Chu soon.

Don't take the fatty meat and skin.A little of the lean meat should be fine.My friend said she gobbled down the whole bowl of "soup" every meal.

sophie,
kakaka, u so cute stretch undies on dining chairs... for one week some more!
ya, good idea to keep them for after birth.

when I preggie, I wore bikini cut panties, L size, didn't buy those EEL type that covers the stomach.

van,
every day every meal zhu jiao chu? aiyo, I cannot leh, same thing every meal very boring can't tahan.

sophie,
9 months in US, wow, shiok! which part of US and which seasons were u there?

amelia,
so good, waist 25"! my waist also 25"... when I was sweet 16, after that no more, become fatty already, hahaha.

annlee,
I like organic vege, can be eaten raw and no bitter taste, too bad it's super expensive so we seldom buy.

littlecat,
wow, what dim sum u thinking of making? remember to take pic of your chicken, yum.

starz,
did u ask gynae whether bb hiccup a lot is ok? last time I preggie with my son, he seldom move and hardly ever hiccup, make me so worried don't know he ok or not inside, stressed!

I'm tempted to cook your style of spagetti, keke. Maybe tonite go buy ingredients, tomorrow cook for breakfast...

sophie, although i bought organic veggie not as crunchy as market one but still edible and always tot healthy food don't taste that good.

van, your zhu jiao chu makes me hungry now.......

sp, agreed with you, organic veggie very expensive, only bought pumpkin and carrot for my bb porriage, can you imagine 1/4 of pumpkin from market cost ard $1.50 and organic about $3-4 so if i buy organic green veggie everyday, think i will bankrupt hee......

morning ladies,

so sorry, yesterday afternn full day meetings...so many postings after i "complained" nobody around... hehe, but i not around to see..

sophie,
thank u for offering to share ur vpost acct... i havent actually surf the website to see if there's anything worth buying yet. if there is, i just might take up ur offer n trouble you...
kao_shy.gif

regarding undies, can i recommend u?? i tried a few types, n the one that is MOST comfy, is from Spring Maternity.Lycra type, 2 for $9.90...(i dont know what type its called, but fits below the belly...) the sales lady was very good, recommended me size L, i thought look big.. but i'm glad i took her advise.. cos its reli reli comfy..

annelise,
thank you so much for digging that info out for me..

i did call my gynae to check, he wasnt around but the nurses told me as long as i'm not bleeding or in pain, its alright... my girlfren also responded to my SOS-SMS.. she said its perfectly normal.. just baby learning how to breath... so relief!
i have abit of "paranoia" streak in me... esp when it comes to bb..

question again... i thought we cannot eat too much zhu jiao chu if intending to breastfeed??? cos of the vinegar and ginger??? i also got a colleague here, 3rd time mummy, came back after 1mth of maternity leave and she looked like she havent had kids before... cos she's new here, so i dont dare to "scare" her off by asking her straightforward how she did it... trying to slowly probe... hehehe... find out already will share the info...

sophie,
actually i'm due in 3 more mths.. dont know if want to spend anymore $$ on maternity clothes or not... sometimes reli feel sianz due to lack of choices of clothes.. (i have ALOT of clothes previously, but all cannot fit since i preggie).. but sometimes think of saving $$ for baby, cannot bear to buy.. very confused state of mind... *haiz*...

sp,
wah u so hardworking, cooking pasta for breakfast?? u also SAHM???

Van,
All this zhu jiao chu talk is making me drool... but I'll probably get to eat it soon cos my sis may have an earlier birth in Aug, so during her confinement, I can "steal" some of her food

You gonna make it? Which recipe are you using?

Remember to brush your teeth after eating zhu jiao chu. I read in my recipe book that this dish is so nutritious because the vinegar dissolves the bones of the trotters and hence very high in calcium. But eh, if can dissolve trotter bone, can also dissolve my teeth, so play safe, better give your pearlies a good brush after the meal!

sp,
I think bikini cut panties sexier huh? Nicer than the kind that covers tummy.

I was in US for 2 springs and 1 summer. My hubby's trip was actually broken up into blocks of 3 mths. He was there longer, even over winter, but at that time I was still working in SG and have not quit my job yet. We were in San Diego, at the southern tip of California near the Mexican-Tijuana border. San Diego is a really nice place, temperature like aircon but with sun, but very dry though, like dessert climate. Over the weekends, we'll camp at the National Parks and sometimes over long weekends, we'll drive up to 10 hours to Grand Canyon for sightseeing or Mammoth to ski. San Diego is a rich place too, with lots of very old people retiring there cos of the nice weather. Told him I wouldn't mind migrating there!

annlee,
Heh, I agree healthy food don't taste so nice, but it's an acquired taste. Now I find my mum's cooking too oily and salty after eating all those healthy food, so I think taste buds do change. I think with your healthy cooking, your sons will grow up to have healthy tastebuds too!

starz,
No problem on the VPOST account. Just to clarify - for Option 1, I won't be passing you my userID and password for tracking as that is confidential, but I'll update now and then so you can look forward to the items arriving. What I will do is pass you my VPOST shipping name and address so you can enter that into the shipping portion ok? motherhood.com having a sale now, and they've still got sizes. The items I bought are mostly sales items, so quite good value. Do take a look!

Thanks for the info on undies. It's a shame Spring Maternity does not have online catalogue... was looking to "window-shopping" online! Will go check it out after next week.

starz,
yeah, 3 more months will pass very fast, and these last trimester clothes cannot even be worn in the first few months after pregnancy, cos you'll be so much smaller.

But I understand what it's like to go to work and not have nice clothes. Saving $$ for baby is a better idea of course, so maybe compromise and buy 2nd-hand stuff? Any of your friends who have just given birth, about the same size and want to sell their maternity wear? Have you checked the marketplace in this forum for clothes? I saw one thread and actually posted up questions as I don't mind nice 2nd hand stuff. Her clothes are quite nice, but all "S" size.

Roughly what local size (e.g. Spring/Cloud9) will you be wearing now?

sophie,
i did get some clothes from friends, but hers all very "executive" looking (cos she's a secretary..) but my office environment very casual, not suitable lor...
for tops for the local brands, i'm wearing M or L.. depending on cutting, bottom is definitely L or even XL liaoz...

Hello everyone!!

Zhu Jiao Chu can make us lose weight?I thought Zhu Jiao negates the effect of Chu?

Van,

Is that double-boiling report stored online?I'd love to take a look.

Sophie,

I believe all asian lingerie brands' undies start from "M" and not exactly preggie friendly.
Marks and Spencer has a better variety.

starz,
Maybe you can choose your friend's "bottoms" and match them with simple tops? Some places sell quite cheap tops at $30+.

Amelia,
I also like Marks undies, but hubby don't have Robinsons card, so for him to go buy, won't get the 5% discount. Plus it's also further from my place; I don't really want him to rush here and there just to get stuff for me.

have not been posting as my gal is increasing her need for attention. Cannot leave her out of my sight in case she climb the tables/bed etc. Stressed.

Sophie
I bought the sloggi panties (largest sz available) the wat my hubby called the parachute type. They lasted me throughout my pregnancy. I prefered to have my tummy covered. hahaha My sis on the other hand got ecezma from her pregnancy and pref low cut panties which she bought from mothercare. Guess its preference.

hey Amelia my "potato buddy"!
Here's a picture to cheer up your day further! My teabreak - Baked Hash Brown with Cucumber-Yoghurt Dip

473376.jpg

Hi everyone! My dad &amp; I brought the girls to Gallop Stables at Pasir Ris Park (Carpark C) this morning. They had a fantastic time riding the pony - a bit exp though - $10 for one round (about 300m or so) but it beats driving all the way to the zoo and having to jostle with k.s. parents for the tickets! After that we walked along the beach and watched people fishing &amp; catching crabs - the next time we go there we'll bring our own fishing gear!

Hi Soph, the last time I just bought those mega big granny-type of undies from Sorella - 3 for 9.90, haha! I bought some dresses from Mothercare for going out and most of the time I wore my hb's T-shirts &amp; shorts! For bras, I bought bra extensions from Spotlight and sewed them on myself - my cup size didn't increase, only my width, so I wore my usual bras until I gave birth. Then I had the difficult and embarrassing task of finding nursing bras - one promoter auntie exclaimed so loudly after measuring me "wah 34DD ah, we don't carry this size" everyone was glaring at my boobs and I felt so pai-seh! I ended up buying at Mothercare instead - expensive but comfy and definitely have big sizes! It's so nice that you spent time in US with your hb! The last few times my hb went there, I was pg and didn't go with him.

Hi LittleCat, I've never tried making dim sum before. Which dim sum would you like to try to make? I love eating har kau - those at Wan Hao (Mariott Hotel) are really good! But I'm having sinusitis now, so everything I eat got no taste cos' I lost my sense of smell. Feel miserable cos' I rely a lot on my nose!

hey cupcake,
Haven't seen you for a long time! How old is your dd now?

haha, I like your hubby's description "parachute"! My sis also prefers to have her tummy covered; she says more "secure" (?). I think Mothercare undies a bit expensive, but some of them very sexy. But wear so sexy also no use. If gynae says no sex, then wait get frisky how? haha... better to stick to the cheap Bridget Jones 5-finger panties!

Mmm...looks delicious! I'm feeling hungry now! The dip looks fantastic too! Just ate some cookies but I derived no pleasure from it cos' I can't taste anything! Hope my cooking won't be too bland or salty tonight!

Annelise,
The pony rides sounds fun! I think it's very good to let kids enjoy nature in concrete Singapore.

Eh, Annelise, your cup size didn't increase and it's 34DD? ** oogle ** haha, now still 34DD or not? My husband will think he's the most fortunate man on earth if I ever expand to 34DD
So now I have rounded down to Spring Maternity's 2 for $9.90 undies and Sorella's 3 for $9.90 undies
But eh, I always have an innate fear - what if I get involved in some accident and my undies showed? Then everyone will know I wear granny undies! But must think happy thoughts... nothing will happen to me, especially now confined to my home only

Annelise,
I saw a documentary from Discovery channel that the tastebuds and sense of smell are linked very closely. They did some experiment on some men who lost their sense of smell due to nose cancer, and these poor chaps no longer take any interest in food cos all food are bland. But don't worry, sinusitis is very common; once it goes away, you should be OK.

But it's also a good thing to know this yeah? Does that mean if we make our kids pinch their noses while taking medicine, they will not taste the bitterness so much? They'd probably feel the aftertaste in their mouths after they let go of their noses.

sophie,
wow, yr tea-break very healthy and yum-yum... *drooling*

starz,
I'm FTWM, every morning must leave house at 6.50am, I say say only wanna cook spagetti tomorrow morning, don't know will happen or not, heehee...