Cooking Tips & Recipe

kekeke... think i confuse u liao.. actually just walk straight, was trying to tell u what u can see at your left and right. i have been working here for more than 10years, so i close my eyes can also imagine liao haha..
ok will find out the unit# and let u know again
better this way wait u eat at the wrong pplace haha... cos this store quite famous, so some other store also trying to sell similar thing..

but i read your message again where u say the jackfruit s raw, means not cook? or your raw means not ripe ?
i know malay like to eat this, when i order that time the boss look at me and confirm if i really want to eat. cos not many chinese can take it.

thanks sophie for the salt info, so far i check NTUC dun have leh, just now i went Cold storage also bor... will try open eye big big next time

Amelia, let me know if u like the Ramen

i will find one day to try the italian one.. the brinjal + cucmber bake on top of the pizza make me drool.. and the meat ball also.. wow...

eh van, next time put your photo there leh... why only see the kids?
i think the idea is good, but hor my son very kia-see one.. aiyoh dare not do this dare not do that.. put him to walk on the sand think he will 'stuck' there cos dare not walk... hmmm may be is a good idea!

I also confuse u all... the big whole jackfruit,break into half and you can see many jackfruits inside and remove the fruits,left the jackfruit shell and inside the shell you can see the skin or stem which we will throw the whole thing away but the malay uses the inside skin cook with curry together with vegetable, is not the jackfruit that we eat with seeds inside. The jackfruit skin is very nice and full of fibre. Hope you understand, im bad in explaining.

LittleCat,
Thanks for the detailed nasi padang directions! One more place to go to when in town now! Woah, sambal hum sounds good leh... never had that before... only had sambal mussels before.

Amelia,
Thanks for the Kevin Kern recommendations. I think I've seen lots of gals in this forum talking about it before, inclu lyn. I'm getting some CDs from Amazon, so I may just listen to some of his samples and get one, altho I personally prefer strings than piano.

Littlecat,
I am the "official"photographer for our gatherings,outings and parties,so you will hardly see me in any of those photographs,PLUS I like to to be in the photos,PLUS I don't post adult's picture on Net...

My dd used to be like your ds,dare not walk bare-footed on sand, after so many sessions of picnic,sand digging,beach outings, she is running around the whole of West Coast Park,including the Macdonalds bare-footed happily.

There are so many playgrounds at West Coast Park, your ds sure can find somthing he likes and suitable for him.

recipe from http://home.discovery.com/fansites/kyliekwong/recipes/episode4.html

White-Cooked Chicken with Soy and Ginger Dressing

Serve as part of a banquet for 4-6.

I could eat this dish four times a week - the texture is so silky and I love the savory flavors. The poaching and steeping technique used in this recipe is perfect for cooking chicken, as it is very gentle; the integrity of the chicken is preserved, and the result is moist, tender flesh. The heating of the peanut oil is vital to release its beautiful, nutty flavor and bring out the aroma of the soy and ginger. Always use the best-quality chicken - you might pay slightly more, but you'll appreciate the difference, and the accompanying ingredients cost little.

1 free range chicken
2 tablespoons peanut oil
2 tablespoons finely sliced spring onions (scallions)
small pinch Sichuan Salt and Pepper

<u>White Master Stock</u>
6 liters (6 quarts) cold water
3 cups shao hsing wine or dry sherry
8 spring onions (scallions), trimmed and cut in half crossways
12 garlic cloves, crushed
1 1/2 cups ginger slices
1/3 cup sea salt
Place all stock ingredients in a large stockpot and bring to the boil. Reduce heat and simmer gently for 40 minutes to allow the flavours to infuse.
Meanwhile, rinse chicken under cold water. Trim away excess fat from inside and outside cavity, but keep neck, parson's nose and winglets intact. Lower chicken, breast-side down, into simmering stock, ensuring it is fully submerged. Poach chicken gently for exactly 14 minutes. There should be no more than an occasional ripple breaking the surface; adjust the temperature, if necessary, to ensure stock does not reach simmering point again. Remove stockpot immediately from the stove and allow chicken to steep in the stock for 3 hours at room temperature to complete the cooking process. Using tongs, gently remove chicken from the stock, being careful not to tear the breast skin. Place chicken on a tray to drain and allow to cool.
To make the dressing, combine the ingredients in a bowl. With a large knife or cleaver, cut up the chicken Chinese, arrange on a platter and drizzle over the dressing.
In a small pot, heat peanut oil until it reaches smoking point, then slowly and carefully pour the oil over the chicken. Garnish with spring onions and Sichuan pepper and salt. Serve immediately.

van, don't know about the stir fry but think can be done so cos it taste a bit like bamboo shoot. My mum told me before says in kampung days the ppl will not throw away the jackfruit skin and can be cook in different ways.

van, can have the recipe of your fu rong egg, tomorrow i might cook porriage for dinner,TIA!!

Fu Yong Egg

4 eggs
2 tbsp chopped char siew
50g prawns/shrimps
1 tbsp carrot strips
1 Onion,cut into strips
spring onion,chopped(optional)

Seasoning:
1 tsp salt
2 tsp soya sauce
1 tsp chicken stock grandules
pepper

1.Mix all ingredients and pan fried till both sides golden brown

van,
thanks! i will go checkout the corning ware stuff...

littlecat,
my "pasta" is according to wat i like, i just add n cook one leh...

basically, i boil the pasta first, but DONT let it get too cooked estimate about 3/4 done can liaoz... remove it from the hot water, i use the sieve to hold it, run it under cold water (to prevent them from "sticking" together after awhile).
then i briefly cook broccoli, carrots, mushroom by boiling for awhile. cook for how long depend on how crunchy or how soft the veges u want. drain and set aside.
boil a can of campbell mushroom soup with 3/4 can of water (instead of 1 full can, so the mixture is slightly thicker. but again this is ur preference)
use a little bit of oil, fry some chopped garlic until abit golden brown.. add in ham (cut into smaller pieces).. add in the bell-pepper (the red n yellow n green type, chinese call it "lantern" pepper or something like that) and celery.. fry it very very briefly, add in pasta, broccoli, carrot and mushroom from earlier.
stir n add in the pre-prepared mushroom soup...
i also put in abit of the italian herbs (that i bought for marinating the chicken...)

hehehe... this is amateur recipe... portion wise is really "agar agar" one.. i got no measuring scale..

but i felt it was very "healthy" cos got all the good veges like broccoli, carrot, celery n bell-pepper... hehehehe...

Hi LittleCat,
Thanks for the website. I've heard about babycenter, but the Dumex one is new to me. It's a pretty good website, cos it's localized.

Eh, your baby turning more "angmoh", now that you like all these angmoh food
My friend gave me a tiramisu recipe before. It uses sponge fingers, so very easy to make. But my harddisk got erased when my PC broke down, so I lost that recipe. Will find out if she still has that recipe and post it up if I can get it.

Woah, the chicken recipe looks good. Makes me feel like eating chicken rice... but cannot... must resist... too oily! Arghhhhhhh

Got inspiration from Van's suggestion about shopping online, so have been looking at Cold Storage website. Here's a picture of the Waitrose Sea Salt they sell.
470969.jpg

Sometimes if I cannot find sea salt, I'll buy pan salt for my mum, also low sodium. Looks like this:
470970.jpg

You can go online to www.coldstorage.com.sg and do a search on the top right-hand corner, they'll show you the sea salt and pan salts.

I also like simple pasta just tossed with olive oil. Sometimes I add in sundried tomatoes and broccoli, and sometimes I just toss my pasta with cut cherry tomatoes, rocket leaves or basil leaves and salt and pepper. If I am free, I will char-grill some red peppers to give the pasta a smokey flavour, but if lazy, I just buy the bottled ones from Marks &amp; Spencer. The secret in these oil-based pasta is also to use a good quality extra virgin olive oil for the tossing.

wah, so many postings...

starz,
wah, yr first time using yr oven so drama! sure will remember for many years to come, keke.

sophie,
u r really healthy and take good care of yr body, thanks for sharing the tips and hope I can gradually change myself to eat and live healthier too.

is it possible to cook pork chops in oven toaster? yr pic is so motivating, kekeke...

re: pasta
sophie, my simple pasta is really super lazy, just cook the pasta, toss with olive oil and sprinkle dry herbs and black pepper.

starz, yr pasta sounds delicious! yum!

little cat,
wow, u r really good in describing location/ direction! u same like my hb and good friend, very talented in this aspect.

thanks for the chicken recipe! hmm, it does take quite some time to cook hor, need to plan the timing properly, hee.

van,
thanks for yr fu yong egg recipe!

annlee,
oh, didn't know that the jackfruit inner layer also can be cooked and eaten in different ways, how interesting! I wonder how curries cooked with it taste like, never tried before.

sophie, amelia,
I love carbo too, esp rice. Give me rice and I give u smile...
I'll never be able to go on those low-carb diet, I'll be so unhappy.

choc,
miss u! how nice if u can come in here everyday instead of only weekends. when u due? take care ya.

lyn,
hahaha, so cute everyone calling u moo-moo! how's baby... got some more pic?

re: chicken sandwich
this morning I tried cooking 2 small drumsticks with carrot slices at the bottom inside aluminium foil in the oven toaster for 15 mins. it tasted a bit plain as I only used very little soy sauce, a few drops of sesame oil and some pepper, didn't use salt. the chicken meat was removed from the bone and made into sandwich. rye bread with butterhead lettuce, tomato slices, Swedish mustard, pickled cucumber, cooked carrot slices and chicken. too bad rushing no time to take pic to show u all, hehehe.

kakis,
Read this thread about the silicon mittens? Anyone of you own this? Good?

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353640/440989.html?1153765866#POST1901331

sp,
Did you marinate the drumstick? If you are roasting/grilling in the morning, it's good to marinate and store in fridge overnight.Did you glaze it with a layer of honey? will taste better.

Sophie,

How's your online shopping? Bought anything?

I bought pan salt before,my hb didn't like the taste. I used it to season fish fillet for pan frying, my hb said it tasted weired.

I think if there is still other seasoning in addtion to the pan salt,the taste difference is not obvious.

Does the sea salt taste like normal salt?

Littlecat,
Thanks for the link! I click the ABC link on the homediscovery site,also quite interesting!

sp,
I also love rice. But must have sambal belachan + rice, then no need any dishes!

Your pasta is also the simple kind like mine, but try fresh herbs next time. A little more expensive, but I find dry herbs flavour stronger and nicer for sauces and fresh herbs better for tossing. My dream is to have a "herb garden" and just pluck off my fresh herbs from the pots. Tried planting basil, mint and sage, but my flat got neither direct morning nor afternoon sun... just heat... so my plants don't seem to grow properly.

I think the pork chops surely can be done using oven toaster, since honey is only put in at last 5 mins, so it will not burn so quickly.

Van,
To me, all salt taste the same... maybe cos I haven't touch "normal" salt for the last 8 yrs. I only know that if I go to my mum's place to eat, or if I eat outside, I need to drink more water cos their salt is stronger? or maybe they just put more salt. There is another one called Morton's low sodium salt, which can be found in Jason's or some Cold Storages. I tried that long ago... hehe, also no difference to me. Or maybe I put so little salt that I can't tell the difference. Sorry, can help much on this

The silicon mittens look cool, but a bit expensive? Mine are just the cheap cotton kind from Ikea

For shopping online, I have decided to buy a DVD and some CDs from Amazon. Tried looking for clothes too, but the ones I like don't have my sizes available. I may ask my hubby to stop doing grocery shopping at night, and I try Cold Storage online, cos now I try to cook my own lunch 2 to 3 times a week.

van, i saw the silicon mittens before, did not get it cos phobia might slip out when using it on a big pot of soup and quite pricey. I still prefer cotton one.

sophie, bought the pan salt twice and end up throw all away,bought those in a container with holes on top and after using it a few times the hole got stuck and the salt becomes hard and cannot comes out,so wasted.
Now im using organic sea salt.

annlee,
Where do you buy your organic sea salt?

I store my salt in a jar away from the heat and moisture, so eh, after 2 years, still ok leh... not that rock hard

sophie, coming to lunch time you know and talking about sambal belachan later i cannot tahan and go downstair buy malay rice with lotsa belachan,drool..

hehe, annlee, eat the belachan, but skip any curry gravy stuff... you shd be ok!

Else can cook your own brown rice, then just go tabao some dishes? More healthy?

Hey gals,
I told myself I MUST eat healthily,at least for these few days, but the sambal balachan talk is challenging my will power

Sophie,
Did you use amazon's international shipping or VPOSTUSA?

I have packages at VPOSTUSA now, can't wait to get it!

annlee,
I wanted to add you in the MSN contacts,but realised I couldn't PM you to ask for your email .You didn't Enable your PM.

sophie, maybe my pansalt comes with the container,just adjust the hole and shake it on the food,might be the hot steam food go into the salt and harden it.

I bought organic sea salt at organic shop near my house and i think NTUC can get it just go to organic section and can find it. I'm using organic fine salt but i read somewhere says organic rough seasalt is healthier and i will change it.

Van,
I haven't tried VPOSTUSA yet. I always use Amazon directly cos last time used to ship to my hubby's friends in US, then when they back to SG, they bring back for me. But this time, all are stationed back in SG, so I am still wondering which is cheaper? Only 1 DVD + 1 or 2 CDs, so have not checked out my shopping yet. Kept surfing Amazon, even for underwear, but cannot find anything nice leh.

annlee,
Where do you stay? Near your house got organic shop? So lucky!

Van,
Sambal belachan is healthy! Chili is loaded with Vit C
Like I suggested to annlee, cook your own brown rice, then just tabao the sambal belachan plus some veges... very healthy!

Sophie,
I use VPOSTUSA more often than direct international shippping,especially if I have orders from different merchants at the same time, can consolidate and share out VPOST's base charge. Even more savings if those online stores ship free within US,or flat rate of $5 within US.

I have bookmarked some overseas shopping sites.When I organised it propery, will send it to you.

annlee,
Does organic sea salt/sea salt taste the same as normal salt?

i Stayed near bugis. Here got many many organic shops and when im pregnant i ate alot of organic veggie but now cannot afford cos very expensive.

Actually sambal belachan is not very healthy,the belachan itself is already very poisonous...full of prawn paste which make it delicious but once in awhile is ok lah

annlee,
Bugis which part got organic shop? Is it at the PARCO shopping mall itself or along the roads outside? When I'm better, I wanna go kaypoh abit too

Van,
You're really the ***SHOPPING QUEEN***

ok, i'll go check out VPOSTUSA, see if there are other stuff from Old Navy or Gap that I can buy... then consolidate with my Amazon shipment.

van,
marinated the chicken (skin removed) overnite, we skipped the honey because scared sweet, then no time to open the foil to "roast" the chicken, it's fully cooked inside the foil. I think our taste buds spoilt already, too used to very salty food, need to slowly adjust, kekeke.

sophie, annlee, van,
talking abt sambal belachan makes me drool! hmm, got time must go make some. any idea how long does sambal belachan or sambal heh bee keep in the fridge?

sp,
I read in a health issue article recently that when frying/roasting chicken, it's healthier to leave the skin on when cooking.Only after it's done then remove the skin.

Don't go to Bugis junction. You know Fu Lu Shou complex,there's one at the 2nd level and Fortune centre,i think there's a few at fortune centre. Don't expect those shops as big as brown rice paradise at tanglin,they're all small shops.

sohpie, thanks for the picture on salt
will go hunt for it.
i do agree the pan salt taste abit funny than the normal salt. cos i like to dip pineapple or starfuits with it so can taste the diff. cos my home no more other salt

but i heard the natural sea salt taste 'sweet' ?
eh i saw some herb paste at cold stroage too! i think can just pour on the spagethi and eat! and the sun dry tomato also.. wow, i really italian-mad liao!
i read from the book dried oregon is better than fresh cos more fragrant.
eh can we plan those herb in warm weather like singapore?
i want to plant leh..

i rem my sister ever make one paste, chop the mint (ok they are diff type, i think the one she use is the jui-chong-ta) then use oil to fry it. use as dip for chicken, wow yummy!

ok got to go for lunch, chat again!

afternoon ladies...

hehe, ya i sure had a dramatic start with my oven. tonite hubby going to accompany me go buy some microwave-cum-oven safe dishes.. i still got abit of phobia operating it again.. but yet, want to cook... so... maybe will dare to try again only when hb is home...

sophie,
GAP is opening in SG in september liaoz leh.. if i'm not wrong there will be a store in Vivocity..
when r u due? i saw this baby romper when i was in US in May, got boy n ger version.. says "if you think i'm pretty, you should see my mum" which is so cute... n "thick-skinned".. i can't wait n already got colleague to buy it for me during her next trip... hehehe... but i don't know if they r bringing in such a big range of kidswear or not...

jia lat, got one more hour to go before lunchtime.. n i'm hungry liaoz...

LittleCat,
Your tastebuds very sensitive, like Van's hubby's... can taste the difference with pansalt? Hehe, I think if you eat my food, sure say bland one

Dried orgeon is definitely more fragrant, in fact, all dried herbs are stronger-smelling, that why if you substitute a recipe calling for fresh herbs with dried ones, you halve the amount. I like dried ones for making salad dressings and sauces, but for tossing with just olive oil and pasta, I prefer the fresh ones cos they don't overpower the taste of the olive oil

I think it's possible to plant the herbs, except that my place is too hot and the heat don't come from the sun, but more of a greenhouse effect from the windows, that's why not successful.

I love those jars of sauces too
Marks &amp; Spencer sauces are not bad, and so are some Italian brands from Cold Storage. Aiyoh, I really miss shopping in Cold Storage... they even have those "fresh pasta" like ravioli and separate sauces in tubs in the fridge... cannot remember brand, but the tubs got a green border... very yummy and good for a quick and easy meal!

Sophie,
Not shopping queen lah, SAHM where to get money to be shoppping queen?

Most of time I just window-shop,admire the pictures and read product info and reviews.I will only get stuff that are not available in Singapore, or a lot cheaper compared to Singapore. Like I got a software at SS$19 cheaper online for the latest version,Singapore has got only the older version and Out of Stock.I also save S$71 by getting a pair of insole for my problematic high-arch feet online.

sophie, eh i used to take very bland food, esp if i am the cook, but now eating at the auntie's place, her cooking is very 'tasty'.
I can take steam/poach brocolli just like tat, and i find i like the taste.
I used to have a maid to look after my first one and i ask her to cook according to my recepi, at the end after i gave birth my weight go back rather quick. but now eating at the aunt's place, both put on weight. Not healthy at all.

starz, i like your spagathi leh, healthy with lots of vege, I like

but cooking for my hb got to add more meat or seafood lor...

van, may be u dun really shop and buy, but after browing viewing that add on to your knowledge that is good!
for me i today see tomolo forgot...

Sp, dun tell anyone about the 'good direction' thing, if my close fren heard it they will laugh till 'die'..

sophie, Marks &amp; Spencer thing very expensive leh...
eh r u saying those plant need direct sun light?
cos i thot oregon or mints are like cold weather vege, need to be cooling place?
if need direct sun i can plant leh..:D cos my house face east, morning very bright and sunny.

Wah.. so many posts since last sat ! What's this talk about nasi padang and sambal .. making me drool !

Eh cat, your bb turned italiano liao, izzit ? Mine is a a malayu , have been eating lots of sambal and chilli padi !

My friend's maid made nasi lemak chilli from a premixed chilli paste, and added blended shallots, garlic, asam juice and sugar, very sedap ! But she doesn't remember what brand chilli mix she used..

I bought the Taho brand sambal balachan and asked my sis maid to gei the same kind of liao.. and fry it, not bad.. but not smooth and not pedas enough ! Will try other brands of chilli mix and tell you folks .. the short cut to make sambal chilli for nasi..

Hey soph, to increase bb's weight, I think i must do more horizontal meditation .. then bb can absorb nutrients.. have been taking essence of chick too.. last week 34 wks, bb only 2 kg.. going to be due liao!

Good for you! Once you are off the jab, it's more or less stabilised.. so don't worry, ok ?

Hey van, I'm going to "poh" for the 64 vac left in east spring pri, not that the sch is popular, but it's so near my flat.. I can literally swing from my unit to the sch carpark like tarzan ! heehee

Eh Amelia, yah.. will def try the cake ! Got icing or cream topping on the cake boh ?

Eh sp, my sambal balachan and hei bee is kept in the freezer for donkey yrs liao.. hehe.. think still can use..

Do you ladies like petai ? So yummy when goreng with sambal chilli too ! But, again, I think more cha bor like it ..

Hey annlee, what've you been cooking for your toddler ?

starz,
I think I am due sometime in Feb. The Gap romper sounds cute! But very paiseh... wait pple see the mother and get a big shock how

LittleCat, Choc, how about you get them since you guys are due earlier?

Van,
I also like to window-shop, whether online or at shops. The US sites are especially enjoyable, cos their descriptions are usually very specific. Sometimes, I feel like going out to work again cos can earn my own money, although dh doesn't restrict my spending. But feels good to be earning own money! Do you guys ever feel like that? Or maybe it's cos I don't have a kid to occupy myself yet, so less busy and got time to think about rubbish like that

LittleCat,
So you're quite adaptable with food! I'm sure if you ever become a SAHM, you'll be a very health-consicous mummy.

Yep, Marks stuff quite exp, but I normally buy during sales, sometimes up to 20% off, then with Robinsons card another 5% off. For the plants, I remember most say "cool place with light", but basil required a bit more sunlight. In fact, I always see large pots of "Holy" basil (a variation of basil) at Campbell Lane at Little India, and when I asked the Indian uncle if basil can be grown in Singapore, he says can, cos the Indians use it as a kind of herb. So nice, your house faces east.... I told dh that if we ever move house, I would like some morning sun so I can plant stuff.

Choc,
You're back! Now we're only waiting for Annelise... haven't seen her for a long time!

What is horizontal meditation? As in, makan or real zen meditation? The 2kg is only estimated weight yeah? Cos I heard from my friends the actual weight differs, although one experienced gynae estimated her first dd's weight at exactly that when the bb was born! That kind must buy 4D i think!

sophie,
i know wat u mean... luckily mine is a boyboy, so it would say "if you think i'm handsome, you should see my dad"... his daddy is pretty alright for someone closing in on 40s liaoz lah...

can buy maternity wear from USA sites leh.. or if you got friends/relatives there...
i bought a few dresses from the factory outlets in NYC during my last trip in may.. so regretted not buying more... cos each only cost approx S$50.. singapore one all near S$100.. i can't bear to buy.....

littlecat,
juz improvise n add in some meat/seafood lor.. me so far reli havent follow recipe to cook yet.. all the food i've cooked so far are by "agar agar" type one.. but not too bad lor.. i ever tried cooking chilli crab, sambal fish (like BBQ stingray that type), stew chicken with black fungus.. all turned out okay...
the only time i failed terribly is trying to cook "gong bao frog leg stew" (ala Geylang lor 9 that type)... hehehe... too ambitious liaoz..

Van,
is it difficult to use VPOSTUSA???
i would like to get some stuff from states websites, but so far no time &amp; energy to find out how to use vpost service...

Hey gals, I changed my nick to Van_G,cos realised that there are more and more Van in this Forum,but u can still call me Van.

Sophie,
I definitely feel good earning and spending my OWN money. Even the TIGER woks I bought it with my own money while I was still working, so don't need to get his "permission".
He can be naggy sometimes though he himself also bought things that he eventually didn't use and wasted the money.

annlee,
Thought you are going to explore with more varieties of food for your boy? still porridge and rice only?

Choc,
Glad to see you back on weekday! You store your sambal and hae bee in chiller or freezer?

Starz,
It's not hard to use VPOSTUSA.

1)Sign up at their website, get a VPOST account no.
2)read through their guides.Note down their address and contact number.
3)Put VPOST address as your shipping address when you check-out of online store, remember to put your VPOST account no. with your name.
4) Email a copy of order/invoice to VPOST.They will make copy and key into their system.
5) When Vpost received the parcel,they will match against their system and send you shipment alert.
6) If you have more parcels coming,don't pay yet.
7) If you have no other parcels,paid up and they will deliver the parcels to you.I paid by enets.

Sounds easy?

Part 2- to compare charges of shipping direct vs shipping through VPOST...

There are some negative reviews/comments about VPOSTUSA in this forum.But so far my parcels are alright( touchwood!)

<font color="0000ff">annelise,where are you?</font>