Joy,
Hee, the fact that I let Soph eat outside food means I'm more relaxed now!
She had one day of high fever last week, and then today started phlegmy coughing again!
Gave her the EYS Hou Ning San yesterday night and this morning and she's already done 2 sticky mucousy poop. Hope it doesn't escalate into any scary bronchiolitis/pneumonia episode again!
Think she inherited the sensitive respiratory system from my hubby *sigh*
Ivena,
I think your boy is the kind once tasted meat don't wanna turn back to veges type, as with most kids
Choc's idea is good.. potatoes, carrots? Cos root veges don't really taste so much like veges, but more sweet. Woah, he even spit out the meatballs with veges? I was abt to suggest meat patties with grated veges, but think cannot liao
annlee,
If you have no Muslim guests, I guess Neo garden is the same. But if you just wanna play safe, can go for Delihub. Afterall they have the same menu. Oh, their rendang chicken is good too... I picked that for my bro's wedding for his xiong di jie meis' brunch. But can only choose curry or rendang!
Yikes! Kuay Chap chili for kimchi?! Cannot make it lah. I think they're trying to save costs on the Korean red pepper powder.
As for Meridien Korean food, you probably heard from me! heee, I;ve been raving about it here last time!
They used to operate at the old midpoint Orchard foodcourt 20yrs ago, and now shifted to Meridien food court.
Must try: bulgolgi beef is good... marinate is sweet and good portions. Grilled mackerel is not bad. Bulgolgi chicken and pork is spicy and yummy. Soon dubu is super yummy - my must-order when I'm there... it's got clams that makes the soup real sweet, but yet spicy with soft tofu. Rice cakes - I don't really like it as I find it too chewy. Add 50 cents for their brown rice... it's very good and always sold out by 6pm.
As for MSG, yeah, I think Crystal Jade and most HK cafes are a bit heavy on that. Soph developed her cough only today, after yesterday's meal at Crystal Jade. Sigh, the MSG probably aggravated her throat. MY throat was so painful last night that it felt as if some little man was stabbing it inside... and my ear hurt too.
As for food in Thomson, if you like Indian tandoori chicken, there's this coffeeshop that is quite nice. It's at Upper Thomson, the stretch where the new Ivins is i.e. if coming from TMC, it'll be on right hand side. You have to turn into that estate... but not where Ivins is... but left.... then you will see a little provision shop at the corner amongst the terrace houses. At the street before the prov shop, turn left, you will see along thatt shophouse Awfully Choc then a Singapura Bakery where they sell old style bread. After the breadshop, turn right, then you will see a shop called Wendy's. It's a coffeeshop, but they've got Ikea lamps, so at night, it looks quite cosy. Their tandoori chicken is yummy and tender, north indian stuff like saag paneer is good, garlic naan a bit too garlicky tho. They serve a mix of north and southern stuff. Best of all, coffeeshop and not restaurant price! Hub and I had some tandoori chicken, 1 saag paneer, 1 garlic naan, 2 rice, 2 teh tarik... total $19.
As for Choc's recommendation, that stretch of shophouses are after this Ivins stretch. They're also on the right side if you're coming from TMC. I find the ampang yong tau foo good, but expensive, shanghainese food not bad but queue was long cos I went after it came out in papers. There's also a newer Malaysian wanton mee shop which is not bad, but cannot order the chili version... must order the non-chili one to taste the black sauce.
Bollywood vege is at Neo Tiew Rd, off Lim Chu Kang http://www.bollywoodveggies.com/
Choc,
I tried the tapioca kueh, but am not impressed... it's a bit hard. Fig and Lemongrass drinks... no didn't try them. Will try next time!
Da Chang Jin good leh, very cute!
And no, kimchi doesn't contain MSG... don't think it needs that. Think I read somewhere that MSG only really brings out the flavour in meat, so maybe not applicable to kimchi!
I also like Samusui chicken at soup restaurant, but yes, think it has lots of MSG!
This elephang brand organic rice is good? I'll hunt it down next time!
Hee, the fact that I let Soph eat outside food means I'm more relaxed now!
She had one day of high fever last week, and then today started phlegmy coughing again!
Gave her the EYS Hou Ning San yesterday night and this morning and she's already done 2 sticky mucousy poop. Hope it doesn't escalate into any scary bronchiolitis/pneumonia episode again!
Think she inherited the sensitive respiratory system from my hubby *sigh*
Ivena,
I think your boy is the kind once tasted meat don't wanna turn back to veges type, as with most kids
Choc's idea is good.. potatoes, carrots? Cos root veges don't really taste so much like veges, but more sweet. Woah, he even spit out the meatballs with veges? I was abt to suggest meat patties with grated veges, but think cannot liao
annlee,
If you have no Muslim guests, I guess Neo garden is the same. But if you just wanna play safe, can go for Delihub. Afterall they have the same menu. Oh, their rendang chicken is good too... I picked that for my bro's wedding for his xiong di jie meis' brunch. But can only choose curry or rendang!
Yikes! Kuay Chap chili for kimchi?! Cannot make it lah. I think they're trying to save costs on the Korean red pepper powder.
As for Meridien Korean food, you probably heard from me! heee, I;ve been raving about it here last time!
They used to operate at the old midpoint Orchard foodcourt 20yrs ago, and now shifted to Meridien food court.
Must try: bulgolgi beef is good... marinate is sweet and good portions. Grilled mackerel is not bad. Bulgolgi chicken and pork is spicy and yummy. Soon dubu is super yummy - my must-order when I'm there... it's got clams that makes the soup real sweet, but yet spicy with soft tofu. Rice cakes - I don't really like it as I find it too chewy. Add 50 cents for their brown rice... it's very good and always sold out by 6pm.
As for MSG, yeah, I think Crystal Jade and most HK cafes are a bit heavy on that. Soph developed her cough only today, after yesterday's meal at Crystal Jade. Sigh, the MSG probably aggravated her throat. MY throat was so painful last night that it felt as if some little man was stabbing it inside... and my ear hurt too.
As for food in Thomson, if you like Indian tandoori chicken, there's this coffeeshop that is quite nice. It's at Upper Thomson, the stretch where the new Ivins is i.e. if coming from TMC, it'll be on right hand side. You have to turn into that estate... but not where Ivins is... but left.... then you will see a little provision shop at the corner amongst the terrace houses. At the street before the prov shop, turn left, you will see along thatt shophouse Awfully Choc then a Singapura Bakery where they sell old style bread. After the breadshop, turn right, then you will see a shop called Wendy's. It's a coffeeshop, but they've got Ikea lamps, so at night, it looks quite cosy. Their tandoori chicken is yummy and tender, north indian stuff like saag paneer is good, garlic naan a bit too garlicky tho. They serve a mix of north and southern stuff. Best of all, coffeeshop and not restaurant price! Hub and I had some tandoori chicken, 1 saag paneer, 1 garlic naan, 2 rice, 2 teh tarik... total $19.
As for Choc's recommendation, that stretch of shophouses are after this Ivins stretch. They're also on the right side if you're coming from TMC. I find the ampang yong tau foo good, but expensive, shanghainese food not bad but queue was long cos I went after it came out in papers. There's also a newer Malaysian wanton mee shop which is not bad, but cannot order the chili version... must order the non-chili one to taste the black sauce.
Bollywood vege is at Neo Tiew Rd, off Lim Chu Kang http://www.bollywoodveggies.com/
Choc,
I tried the tapioca kueh, but am not impressed... it's a bit hard. Fig and Lemongrass drinks... no didn't try them. Will try next time!
Da Chang Jin good leh, very cute!
And no, kimchi doesn't contain MSG... don't think it needs that. Think I read somewhere that MSG only really brings out the flavour in meat, so maybe not applicable to kimchi!
I also like Samusui chicken at soup restaurant, but yes, think it has lots of MSG!
This elephang brand organic rice is good? I'll hunt it down next time!