Cooking Tips & Recipe

Joy,
Hee, the fact that I let Soph eat outside food means I'm more relaxed now!

She had one day of high fever last week, and then today started phlegmy coughing again!
Gave her the EYS Hou Ning San yesterday night and this morning and she's already done 2 sticky mucousy poop. Hope it doesn't escalate into any scary bronchiolitis/pneumonia episode again!
Think she inherited the sensitive respiratory system from my hubby *sigh*

Ivena,
I think your boy is the kind once tasted meat don't wanna turn back to veges type, as with most kids

Choc's idea is good.. potatoes, carrots? Cos root veges don't really taste so much like veges, but more sweet. Woah, he even spit out the meatballs with veges? I was abt to suggest meat patties with grated veges, but think cannot liao

annlee,
If you have no Muslim guests, I guess Neo garden is the same. But if you just wanna play safe, can go for Delihub. Afterall they have the same menu. Oh, their rendang chicken is good too... I picked that for my bro's wedding for his xiong di jie meis' brunch. But can only choose curry or rendang!

Yikes! Kuay Chap chili for kimchi?! Cannot make it lah. I think they're trying to save costs on the Korean red pepper powder.
As for Meridien Korean food, you probably heard from me! heee, I;ve been raving about it here last time!
They used to operate at the old midpoint Orchard foodcourt 20yrs ago, and now shifted to Meridien food court.
Must try: bulgolgi beef is good... marinate is sweet and good portions. Grilled mackerel is not bad. Bulgolgi chicken and pork is spicy and yummy. Soon dubu is super yummy - my must-order when I'm there... it's got clams that makes the soup real sweet, but yet spicy with soft tofu. Rice cakes - I don't really like it as I find it too chewy. Add 50 cents for their brown rice... it's very good and always sold out by 6pm.

As for MSG, yeah, I think Crystal Jade and most HK cafes are a bit heavy on that. Soph developed her cough only today, after yesterday's meal at Crystal Jade. Sigh, the MSG probably aggravated her throat. MY throat was so painful last night that it felt as if some little man was stabbing it inside... and my ear hurt too.

As for food in Thomson, if you like Indian tandoori chicken, there's this coffeeshop that is quite nice. It's at Upper Thomson, the stretch where the new Ivins is i.e. if coming from TMC, it'll be on right hand side. You have to turn into that estate... but not where Ivins is... but left.... then you will see a little provision shop at the corner amongst the terrace houses. At the street before the prov shop, turn left, you will see along thatt shophouse Awfully Choc then a Singapura Bakery where they sell old style bread. After the breadshop, turn right, then you will see a shop called Wendy's. It's a coffeeshop, but they've got Ikea lamps, so at night, it looks quite cosy. Their tandoori chicken is yummy and tender, north indian stuff like saag paneer is good, garlic naan a bit too garlicky tho. They serve a mix of north and southern stuff. Best of all, coffeeshop and not restaurant price! Hub and I had some tandoori chicken, 1 saag paneer, 1 garlic naan, 2 rice, 2 teh tarik... total $19.

As for Choc's recommendation, that stretch of shophouses are after this Ivins stretch. They're also on the right side if you're coming from TMC. I find the ampang yong tau foo good, but expensive, shanghainese food not bad but queue was long cos I went after it came out in papers. There's also a newer Malaysian wanton mee shop which is not bad, but cannot order the chili version... must order the non-chili one to taste the black sauce.

Bollywood vege is at Neo Tiew Rd, off Lim Chu Kang http://www.bollywoodveggies.com/

Choc,
I tried the tapioca kueh, but am not impressed... it's a bit hard. Fig and Lemongrass drinks... no didn't try them. Will try next time!
Da Chang Jin good leh, very cute!

And no, kimchi doesn't contain MSG... don't think it needs that. Think I read somewhere that MSG only really brings out the flavour in meat, so maybe not applicable to kimchi! :p
I also like Samusui chicken at soup restaurant, but yes, think it has lots of MSG!

This elephang brand organic rice is good? I'll hunt it down next time!

Pinkbunny,
u like yr cl style of cooking?
heard that if u think red date drink is too heaty, can try drinking brown rice water.
Wash, dry brown rice. then pan fry without oil, and add a table spoon to a mug of hot water to drink.
Heard fm a friend that its suppose to help increase milk supply also. But i have not tried it yet.
Also can prepare the brown rice in batches, then put in airtight container.

Joy,

There's a brand of teriyaki sauce which s not bad. Got it fm isetan, its got pan fried salmon on the package.
Otherwise maybe u can add some sugar to yr existing kikoman teriyaki sauce to entice yr kids and make it less salty?

Huskie,
Thanks for the feedback. Maybe i should ask my brother to get it fm states and send it back... hope it will be cheaper.
heee.... i went on durian bling last night. mil bought some mao shan wang and i ate 10seeds.
hope its helps baby to gain more weight.
Otherwise like what u advise, will tell myself not to be stressed, cos smaller baby is easier to deliver.

I heard fm the yoga retreat in sri lanka and india. was suppose to be very good.
yr husband is so wei da, willing to take care of sop all by himself.
good bonding session for them ;)

am not sure if the milk is causing the phelgm. but this morning i told my helper not to give boy milk. feed him with oatmeal instead.
he is drinking enfalac since 6months old when i went back to work. cos i don't pump in office and only latch at night.
he started drinking only fm when i realised was pregnant with no.2.

think i should give him hou ning tonight. was giving the eu ren sang cough powder for heaty cough last week and it did get better.

Choc,
hahaha... am so glad didi is also behaving like that and knocking on the door while u in toilet.
my boy is vomitting some phlegm out. but wondering why he have so much phelgm.
his poo is almost always nua type. cos whenever it gets a little hard, my mil will become paraniod saying boy is constipated and give more fruits.

yr no.2 complexion sure very nice... since she eats so much fruits. ;)
the postman pat is it purely cartoon or like the wheels on the bus with puppets/humans acting in the show?
realised my boy does not like cartoons only show. he prefers those like baby can read, wheels on the bus with real human and puppets.

Indonmie so expensive now?? faintz... my helper only likes to eat indomie. must watch out newspaper advertisements sales on indomie and stock up.
heee... i also like the packet seasoning leh.

the gynae also suspected that i did not have sufficient rest, that's why baby on the smaller side.
but once at home, the boy will be super glue. also i am feeling bad that very soon he will not have the undivided attention anymore, so am trying best to accompany him as much as i can now.

think if i drink milk, i will put on more weight than baby.
i seldom drink milk, only once in a while the meiji chocolate milk.

the ampang niang dou fu is good and also the roti prata. think the roti prata is related to the one at causarina road.
the roasted meat there is not bad, but not sure if its still around.

ann,
will try to take baby's weight positively.
but sometimes can't help but compare the different fm no.1.
but maybe small baby will be baby girl? heee.... dreaming again.

heee.... yes, since csec can choose date for baby.
am trying for natural again. praying hard will not be 18hrs labour this time round.

i got the 2 small elephant organic brown rice fm a grocery store near my place.
think some organic store carry it as well.

muffin,
how are u coping now?

Choc, I like the samsui chic too, esp the ginger. Hehehe... The steamboat rest near TMC is nice but exp.

Huskie, your description of those Korean food makes me hungry.

choc
dunno if it's related but i remember during delivery, my gynae said 'wah good, your cervix is very soft'. maybe it's really raspberry leaf tea

ivena
since your boy likes mashed potatoes maybe you can also add in a bit of carrot to sneak in veg?

crystal jade heavy on MSG? oh no! another one to strike off the list! v funny leh, i'm usually very sensitive to MSG (my knees get very sng) but during preg i didn't have that. gulp. how much MSG did i transfer to poppy!!!

cookie
thanks! that sounds interesting! but i do eat brown+white rice. wonder if that works too! hmm. yeah i quite like her food but i really wonder if it's true blue confinement food

giggler
wow you like the ginger of the samsui chic? then you must love confinement food?
i love the soups at soup kitchen!!! and the uncle lapan fish

i am soooooo hot now. sweating buckets!!!!!

poppy says hi to aunties!
1559483.jpg

Gig,
Try the Meridien Korean food... you'll love it!
Another place that is good is Hansang Korean Restaurant at Square2.
Hee, I also like the ginger sauce with samsui chicken! And I also love their soups.

cookie,
Yes, the fish oil from US is definitely cheaper... Nordic Naturals is only USD18+ online compared to S$43 at Vitakids.
Wow, mao shan wang! Yummy! Don't worry, baby will definitely get some of those sugars from 10 seeds of durians!
Soph is still 8.3kg at 17 mths now... super lightweight! PD says OK though.

My PD also says cow milk may cause phlegm in sensitive babies, so well, stopping the FM for a few days may be a good break for his system.

I also think India or Sri Lanka will be good for yoga retreat, but hubby is worried *sigh*

Hope your ds gets well soon!

pinkbunny,
Poppy looks so happy! The shape of her head is very nice!
How's your breastfeeding coming along?
Are you following confinement strictly by wearing long-sleeved tops and long pants too?

And yes, Crystal Jade is definitely heavy on MSG... my throat died immediately after dinner. Luckily the little man is gone now... what's left is an annoying itchy cough

Thanks for the direction for food in Thomson!
But I'm bad in direction. Ampang yong tau foo is it beside the stretch of road coming out from TMC? Not opp side of the tze char coffee chop right? I'm looking for food outside TMC but can't go far as the nurse will call me back if can't find me.

huskie,
what is Ivin? Me suaku, know nothing abt that area. only saw novena sq, went to square 2 and row of restaurants on the way to TMC, saw Peach Garden restaurant.

Athough soph is light but she v healthy. Sometimes read that what you have given her is so good. Given the right and healthy food is important. Think she got your genes, slim lady

cookie,
huskie is right, why not take more durian. My bb is on average weigh when I had lotsa sweet stuff but since I have reduced quite abit, his weigh gone down by 300g, that's alot. I'm thinking of eating more sweets stuff but also worry for bb and me so will take more fruits if I'm craving for sweets.

choc,
have tried the beef hor fun opp TMc, not bad huh...

Tonight cooking pork porriage, thinking of adding some century egg.

pinkbunny,
aiyo....poppy so sweet... got nice ang mo eyes

Its always nice to read all about food first thing in the morning...and of course mummy sharing ideas of food here...

Yesterday had dinner at lemon grass, upon my gal request cos she love the hotplate taufu there.For me, I love the thai red curri.

What are the rest of the mummy cooking today?

Am cooking pong teh, stir fried chilli lady finger and one more dish, yet to think....

Annlee
East coast area also has one ang pang taufu but I dont like the set up and I do not fancy it.

Music and music scores
Hey, anyone is into Kevin Kern music?My gal is very much into it and she is looking for the piano scores for THE ENCHANTED GARDEN,anyone has it>I try to browse the net and look into music stores, but attempt failed.

She has gotten thr the other song, The sundial dream, one kind soul in the net gave me the scores....

Yesterday made a quick dinner - just rice and steamed pork ribs with black beans, and steamed brocoli. Basically just dump everything into the steamer for 20mins, and dinner was ready.

Tonight thinking of cooking a huai shan pork rib brown rice porridge since both hubby and I are not feeling too well. Made a resolution yesterday that I'll try to cook more often rather than eat outside MSG-laden food and fall sick!
Thinking of investing in a small Thermos Shuttle Chef thermal pot in addition to my large Tiger one which I always use for my soups. Hope Isetan or Robinsons will have good deals on it.

annlee,
No, the 2 stretches of places that Choc and I suggested are very far from TMC area. They're at the Upper Thomson stretch going to Sembawang area liao.
If you're talking about TMC area, then it's just the Square2 area or the Peach Garden/Hong Kong Cafe stretch. Otherwise, you can go towards Balestier Road from TMC - there is a Da Ke Yi restaurant which is part of Boon Tong Kee... not bad, but as with all Chinese restaurants, got a bit of MSG. Else there are the bak kut teh - my fav is Frontier Bak Kut Teh opp Balestier Shaw.

How come you're asking about makan near TMC? Your gynae is at Gleneagles right?

Joy,
Wow, you cooking pongteh? Yummy...
Your kids know how to eat chilli lady's fingers? Not many kids like the taste of lady's fingers.

morning mummies

huskie

u like huai shan..jus had chicken with huai shan n chestnut soup last nite...saw e recipe from one of those taiwanese cooking show....taste yummy....my boys also like it....and even ask for more....

annlee

theres a vines restaurant along the Hong Kong cafe stretch...there have set meal costing less than $10...it comes with soup, maincourse, dessert and coffee/tea...quite worth the value n taste not bad...maybe u can give it a try

Joy

Wats pongteh???

Ann, can take century egg when preg?

Joy, I like Kevin Kern's songs too
Me having steam boat tonite, my fav.
What's pong teh?

Huskie, what's the benefit of huai san? Hehehe... I like that bak kut the opp Balestier Shaw too.

I think pongteh just means soy beans? Joy, issit? Are you making ayam or babi tonight?

Ivena,
Oh I tried Vines before... not bad. Reminds me of The Ship

Yep, I like huai shan... nice mild-tasting yam!

Gig,
Huai Shan is supposed to be good to build immunity and for lungs.
Hee, the bak kut opp Shaw is good, but owners a bit tao I find
but no choice, being a foodie, I must bear with their chao bin! :p

huskie
what is a nice shaped head? hehe. BF is ok. not latching on much but giving her EBM and supplementing with FM. she's not a big fan of latching on so at least i am able to give her milk la. looking through confinement recipe book and giving CL more ideas also on how to boost milk supply

err wearing t-shirt and bermudas/3 quarter stuff. long sleeve and long pants? cannot la

ann
haha you are so funny! her eyes are closed la! you can see ang moh eyes from closed eyes? hehe

joy
the ampang YTF at east coast is it opposite holy family church? i like but so ex ler. that time we went, 2 people, $25!!!!!

bak kut teh - can go to mohd sultan also. at the corner, along same main road as UE square. nice but quite ex if i remember

huskie,
I've changed my gynae lor... my previous one don't really want to do opt for me in the evening, long story...don't wanna talk abt it haiz...
Think can only go to that peach garden area to have lunch. That day went to square2 although is near, nurse already call me up and hurry me. Only I can wait for doc, doc cannot wait for me. The wait is terrible, every visit gotta wait for gynae at least 2 hrs, wait until my hb so angry.

hee...you're very cute leh...keep laughing when mention the word chao bin. To me you're si wen type then suddenly you mentioned chao bin kekeke... Will probably try Frontier bak ku tae and see the boss chao bin.

Joy,
have you try A Roy thai food at siglap area. I find their food better than Lemon grass but of course lemon grass service and place is much better. Never been there for quite sometimes, not sure whether still ard or not.

Ivena
ok will look out for vines restaurant when I'm there, thanks!

giggler,
oh no..can't take century egg? Didn't know it, haven eat them yet.

pinkbunny,
kekeke...I know you will say that...can la...look at her eyes, ang mo type, got double eye lid. Although both my boys have double eye lid but only came out when their 6 months old.

Didn't know the ampang YTF is so ex, everytime passs by but never try it.

oh yes...have you ladies read Strait times section mind your body? There's a recipe call Itek Tim ( duck soup) healthy version. Thinking of making it since the ingreds look quite easy to get. Any idea, where to get Tamarind slices? I only know theres tamarind paste which is assam right?

Hi gals!

Hey pbunny, yah.. poppy got a nice head.. You should see my no. 1 , 2 and 3, all different shapes, egg, square and bengkok , due to vacuum.
Up till now, no.2(8yrs) still has a slight protrude on right side of her head, all thanks to the vacuum.

They say c sect babies have very nice round heads..
Your poppy is really lovely.. you drinking papaya soup? It was very effective for my bm when i drank it

Hey ann, the cafe at tmc is miserable! But recently there's a new jollybean stall just at basement. The midwives in tmc are nice too.. My gy is Dr Joyce wong, sometimes queue long long also..

I love century egg too, guilty of eating alot during first tri, eat with pickled ginger is my fav!

Husk, where's meridien food court ? I MUST go there! Glad the little man in your throat died

My neighbour just told me ex cafe vienna( now called Carousel) at park royal? has very good buffet high tea and dinner.

Cookie,
How's ya boy ? Think postman pat is like toy figurine. Now didi is into bob the builder books, dunno if he appreciates bob cartoons..
Opp of no.1, no.2 is dark, complexion so so only.. heehee.. no. 1 and 3 have fair complexion, tot maybe due to soyabean drinking.
i also dare not drink fresh milk, scared it'll go to me.. ahh..

Joy, wow! realise you make lots of paranakan food! Steaming threadfin and fry broc, cauli and carrots for lunch .
What do you add to your chilli rempah for lady's fingers?

Ivena,
maybe you can psycho your ds about popeye eating spinach to be strong, see if he buys that

Just got news that National Library is clearing their old lib books starting from fri to sun. Starting from a dollar

Ann, who's your gynae at TMC? I also changed my gynae to TMC from GlenE for this preg. Think my gynae is worse, I waited more than 3hrs for my 1st visit leh. Even got time to go Carrefour to walk walk. I thot century egg considered preserved food so not advisable to take?

choc, heard that your gynae is gd but I didnt see her cos I prefer male gynae.

annlee,
Who is your gynae? Good or not?
I'm thinking of changing gynae for my next one, but dunno if I can bear ot step into TMC or not.

Hee, bak kut teh chao bin is not the boss, but the servers. Dunno why they so like that leh. But OK lah, they will give you what you want e.g. more soup. And I never ever offend the servers in case they spit into my food, so will ren.

pbunny,
Yep, that's what I mean... nice shape i.e. not pointed or non-symmetrical.
I wore shorts during my confinement, kenna scolding big time by my mum.
Then when I brought Soph for her 1 week checkup at PD wearing a sleevless top cos that's the only top I could fit in, all the aunties stared at me, altho I didn't know why at that time.

For milk ss, you can also try fenugreek or those nursing mom teas besides soups. I took everything just to boost ss last time too.

Choc,
Meridien Food Court... at the end of Orchard Road.. the Le Meridien Hotel just before that huge junction before Plaza Sing. Must must try their brown rice... it's got black rice and red beans in them, very interesting.

Oh yes, Park Royal has great buffets and high teas... think not too expensive too.

Gig,
Which gynae at TMC are you using now?
My neighbour told me TC Chang is good, but wait can be long too.

Here's a picture of my kimchi that I made the night before

Looks terribly hot yeah? But i think it's not cos I mixed in half of the mild spicy red pepper powder.
1562106.jpg

Actually I just finished baking a batch of banana muffins with Soph. What an experience! She was flinging the spatula with batter on it... so it was quite a bit of cleaning up to do.
But it was fun

cookie,
Just remembered you mentioned your boy doens't really like cartoons.
My friend said Noddy is pretty good. It teaches about science and experiments, and it's got a real guy talking.
Mommies, what's your feedback on Noddy?

choc,
yah man...the cafe in thomson cannot make it. Saw Jollybean there. And also went to Delifrance. So I think that's abt it, gotta hunt food outside when waiting for my ridiculous appt.

Have also tried carousel buffet, not bad.

giggler,
my new gynae is LC Cheng from WC Cheng and Associates. Aiyo.... I mean waited for 2 hrs is only at least. I waited 3 hrs mostly. crazy right!!

huskie,
Heard that TC Chang is good too. Mine is LC Cheng, both of them from WC Cheng and associates. My gynae not bad, very friendly but dunno his cutting and stitching skill yet.
I have check with the nurses, all the gynaes there must wait long long.
What do your mean you can bear to step in TMC? Anything happen before? When I first step into TMC, dun like the place at all, crowded, moody, small, old but now I'm ok, no choice also hee... I like MAH very much, very cozy hospital and also their room.

huskie, I'm with Dr AL Lim now. You had bad experience at TMC before? Your kimchi look very spicy leh. Wow, baked with Soph, what an adventure leh. Any pic to show???
My gal likes to watch Noddy leh but I never watch with her so no feedback. Sher likes Little Einsteins which I like it leh.

ann, I didnt have to wait so long for my prev gynae at GlenE leh. Think they have better queueing system. Really tiring and waste of time hor? I also dun like TMC leh, so messy esp now they under reno.

huskie

both my boys like Noddy...find its pretty interesting...it also teaches them abt manners...i myself quite like it as well....hehe

cookie

does ur boy like elmo's world....its my elder son fav when he was younger...think now they are showing it on kids central as well.

Wow Huskie, your kimchi sure looks spicy and very .. crispy..
Glad you had fun baking with soph.. She'll learn alot! Used to do simple baking with no.1 and then asked her to do a step by step recipe write up on another flavour cake( banana cake, strawberry cake). Then draw a cake and decorate. They had fun, but we had much cleaning up to do..

Oh! i think i roughly know where's Meredien.. Thanks!
My gyn very good and personal.. this is my 4th one , and sometimes i think I ask stupid questions, she still answers with patience

Gig, Noddy's good ? I'll see if I can get one.. Magic schbus is good for prim level students,I buy from malaysia, it's half price!

Ann,
you know the hdb parking opp tmc ? There is also a coffee shop up there. Got laksa, chicken rice.. but so so only. My ang always parks at that carpark, cos it's much cheaper, but got to wait for empty lots.

Sometimes, i ta pow some snacks and drinks up the gyn clinic. Then sit there, eat, then read mags. When my 3 kids with me, we'll go to the nursery at 3rd and 5th floor to look at the babies..

I finished cooking liao...very early cos piano teacher coming soon...how is your day?

I went out to look for leather sofa, hopefully to get a good L shaped...but yet to find...any good recomendation where I can get good leather sofa?thanks

PONG TEH
Its cook with soya bean paste(huskie you are right),and me using mix of babi and ayam....

ANG PANG YOUNG TAU FU
Ya, its expensive, not to my taste and also the way they served as if hmmmmm...for prisoner...sorry to say that...hope i did not offend anyone....

HUAN SHAN
If you are heaty, avoid this....my sinseh says so. Its good for immunity building tho.My son has also been taking fresh bei he.

Choc06
My ramah almost similar to kangkong. Has got dried shrimp.onions, candle nuts and a bit of balcan.

Lemon grass
I still prefer lemon grass than ah roy thai....but will trial and error the hot plate toufu to that taste.

Kevin kern scores
Giggler,do you know that he is partially blind...his songs are lovely....

giggler,
I also didn't have to wait that long at GlenE. Can't imagine when after discharge and a week later gotta go back to take out my stitch and wait for 2-3hrs, at my confinement period, faintz...

choc,
I went to the coffee shop too. My hb went there for breakfast and order the porriage and didn't come, they forgotten abt it. Think that's all I know over there.

Abt Noddy, by Enid Blyton right..my childhood story book. My ds2 used to love watching it and follow how the policeman walk but now he sianz already as he has been watching for the past 2 yrs.

Joy,
I'm looking for sofa too but now pregnant so quite difficult to hunt for one. Harvey Norman got nice one but ex.

annlee

We went to harvey Norman, items that are on sales are quite okay there.

Someone was telling me Lorenzo has got nice leather sofa. Not sure how is the pricing like....

Choc,
Hee, my kimchi does look evil yeah?
It looks crunchy cos it's freshly made. After a few more days, more water will come out and then it becomes softer and more sour.

Hey, your idea of doing up the step by step recipe and drawing cake is good! I'll incorporate it next time when Soph is older

Gig,
Yep, my previous mc was at TMC, and at the clinic next to Choc's. Used to wait hours just to hear bad news, so very sad, don't feel like stepping into TMC at all.

Hee, no pics to show on the baking, cos I was too busy trying to keep Soph from splattering my batter all over.
Paiseh to say, my place is infested with ants now even though I really cleaned up after every meal.
But somehow, when she self-feeds, or walks around with her cookies, she tends to leave crumbs or sticky patches on areas I can't see, so I always have some trail of ants around... annoys me like crazy!

annlee,
I have a friend who is with LC Cheng. She had her second C-sect and she says no pain at all. That's cos she kept telling him she is terrified of pain, and he MUST give her good painkillers. She could get down and walk with no pain at all, unlike mine, who didn't give me painkillers thru the night leh.
Woah, but the wait sounds terrible! And there's really nothing to walk around in that area!

Joy,
Thanks... I didn't know huai shan is heaty.
I know fresh bai he is definitely cooling, cos all my recipe books says it helps to expel heatiness. I also like fresh bai he

hey Joy,

You are sure early! Can eat brunch, 2 meals into one!

My PILs bought an L shaped sofa set from Sea Horse in may, cost about 500plus, quite nice and comfy. Light brown in colour. Dunno if they still have that..Think you can go IMM and see the other furn shops if they have other designs. Yah, also heard Lorenzo has nice ones..

yah, Husk, when soph's bigger, you can do the write up with her. Can try making mee hoon kueh dough also.. or playdough

Hey, recently, my kitchen was also infested with ants, big black ones, small red ones.. Went to buy the baygon ant poison, and it helped. The ants were sluggish when I saw them the next day.. and week aft, no ants liao..
I also placed a few cinnamon sticks here and there on the kitchen top, just to ward off lizards and ants. Quite effective, but got to change the sticks often

For lunch today, will be just making kolo mee using la mien with minced pork and spinach. Then old cucumber soup.

I also didn't know huai shan is heaty.. Fil told me lotus root is heaty.. something new!

Joy,
I don't really like Lorenzo design, I find their design more on those traditional old style leather sofa, my hb likes it and maybe their quality is good. Their sofa is shld be much cheaper than Harvey.
Saw on the TV prog, they showing Massimmo sofa, is nice but their sofa is limited and price steep also. I know another place for sofa, recommended by my ID fren but I can't remember the name, will let you know the shop name again. Another place everytime I pass by when gg to my mum's place, they always show their furniture on their display along the road near kallang, think is called Mondi.Their L-shaped Leather sofa look quite good.

huskie,
ha...kids are like that, always left some food for the ants. My place is the same, gotta trace the ants to find the pieces of food. I placed ants killer too but it did not work long, those ants are smart too, they will siam that area that I place the things.

oh your fren with LC Cheng, my concern now is the pain I'm gg to get after c-sec, so worried abt it. Is such a relieved knowing that your fren c-sec from Dr Cheng no pain at all cos at my first visit with him I have told him that my 2nd c-sec I'm in deep pain, very bad and he assured me that he will work with the anaethetist to help me to get least pain as possible.

I'm having Nasi Lemak for lunch, craving that for months as dared not eat too often cos always having slight diahorrea after eating it.

choc,
Cinnomon stick works...ok will put some at the ants favourite area

Just shared Soph's porridge for lunch.
Made Run(4) Fei(4) Tang(1) for soup tonight. As for main, probably will do a fried rice.

Re. ants: Yeah, I didn't know I signed up for their residency when I wanted a baby

We're really going through major changes now, cos hubby couldn't even stand wet dishcloth in the past (we never wet out dishcloths cos he finds it stinky), and now no choice, just have to do it!

Choc,
Mee Hoon Kueh dough, as in, really can make into mee hoon kueh and eat? How do you make it?

Thanks for tip on cinnamon sticks - I'll try that!

Check out this website - it says lotus root is cooling! But surprisingly, watercress is warm! No mention of huai shan though.
http://www.angelfire.com/id/croon/chinesemedicine/yangyinfoods.html

annlee,
Yeah, don't have to worry about pain, cos I think LC Cheng quite pampers his patients, according to my friend.

sinful today! just had char kway tiao with extra hums for lunch. ;)

Giggler,
Can i know which steamboat restaurant near tmc is good?

pregnant cannot take century eggs? I have craving for the Tang xin century egg with pickled ginger and ate lots of it!

Pinkbunny,
Poppy is so cute! smiling in her sleep.
i love to look at my boy sleep. can see them frown, smile etc in their sleep.
now no.2, don't know if have the luxury of time to see baby sleep.

Did u give poppy chinese name? and heee.. what's her real name?

errr.... u reminding me the torture of confinement!
i sweat like a pig during confinement. especially after drinking soup!

bought a few confinement recipe book and its says that the first 7 days is not suppose to bu, rather suppose to get rid of the toxins.
maybe yr confinement lady also following that?

Joy,
yummy ladies finger. loved that before i got pregnant!

Huskie,
Gosh!The price different is so much when buying fm us.
Have already gave my brother a long long list to get, including the first teeth toothpaste. He was wondering why i need to get toothpaste fm states.
As long as sop is healthy and alert is good enough. Don't worry abt the weight. If i did not remember wrongly, PD says most children will triple their birth weight in within 1st year, then the weight increase will slow down. And will be 4 times their birth weight in their 2nd year.
Its quite accurate for my boy's case.
And he has been 11.5kg for the last 6months at least.

We stopped milk for a day, and the boy actually stopped coughing that night. BUt mil claims its becos she rubbed yu yee you on his chest and tummy to get rid of the wind in the tummy, hence less coughing.

what is yr hubby worrie abt india/sri lanka? the security issue?

Just to share... heard one Old wive's tale that the black bean 'dou si' will reduce milk supply. Am not how sure though.

On the thermal pot, can look out for Takashimaya sales as well. Sometimes they have good deals.

U can try making pancake with soph, then can let her eat also

Thanks on the tip on noddy. do u have any idea where can i get it?

Ann,
u meant yr baby weight went down by 300g? don't worry so much abt the baby weight reduction. the scan machine weight will be +/- 0.5kg i think.

We love to eat pork porridge with century egg, and add another egg into the porridge also. ;)

Choc,
will go popular to see if can get postman vcd. He has a few postman pad storybooks and he quites like it.
heee... maybe fruits don't really help in good complexion for yr dds case.

Ivena,
Where can get elmo's world? ai yo... i am like trying to get so many dvd for him. sigh... better than him watching taiwanese variety shows with fil

what other children shows do u recommend?

Choc06

Thanks for telling me lotus root is heaty, something new...Also, tell me about seahorse brand...I will go to the furniture mall to look around. Actually wanna get fabric but after much thought, decide on good leather sofa...

Nody CD
Popular has it.

Huan shan
When the chid is well, its okay to take.When heaty, avoid it as it will trigger the heat.

so surprise to know that huai shan n lotus roots are heaty....keep thinking they are cooling stuff to expel heatiness from the body

found the recipe for the Mee Hoon Kueh dough...havent got the chance to try out though....maybe will try out this wkend...

640 g Plain Flour
2 Eggs
150 ml Water
1 tsp Fine Salt
Instructions
1. Add water and salt to eggs and beat gently.
2. Pour egg mixture into well of sifted Plain Flour. Mix and knead until a smooth dough is formed.
3. Cover the dough with a wet cloth and leave at room temperature for 30mins.
4. Knead again and leave aside for another 2 hrs.
5. Prepare soup stock and ingredients.
6. Tear dough into small pieces; press and stretch them until thin. To cook, put pieces into boiling soup one at a time.

Cookie

I got it from Popular...think Toy r'us also have it....btw did u subscribe to playhouse disney channel...cos they are showing all those shows which the kids will enjoy...like Noddy, Pocoyo, Elmo's world, little einstein...so dun have to spend so much to get all these dvd....

ann,
your bb's wt went down by 300g ? For my 3 kids, during the last tri, they all seemed to shrink too.. and gyn will always say drink more milk or
put on more wt.. but the prob is tat the wt goes to me
rest alot still like that

Husk,
my malaysian friend taught me how to make the mee hoon kueh dough : 500gm plain flour, 2 tsp cornflour, 2 eggs, water(add til dough doesn't stick to hands) and keep on kneading in a mixing bowl. The more you knead, the more chewy it becomes. Use cling wrap to wrap top of bowl.

When dough is ready( doesn't stick to hands), roll out on a floury board, tear pieces to be cooked in boiling water. The thicker you pull out, the more chewy the kueh.

Normally i'll make the dough early aft, and have it for dinner.

Little cat suggested last time to use sayur manis, which is yummy! Boil ikan bilis stock and throw in minced pork and sayur manis . Add salt and fish sauce to soup. Add the cooked mee hoon kueh in. Add prefried ikan bilis, fried shallots lastly.
( I heard from my neighbour that sayur manis , if consume too much can cause high blood pressure.. again dunno how true)

baby ants coming to give you bb dust
Certain ant poison doesn't work on the ants in my house.. like the tiny ant biscuits. Like what ann said, they'll bypass the poison. Think got to change poison brand everytime!

eh cookie, it's been ages since I feast on hums too.. tonight, going to eat hum in steamboat at my sis

Yah, the sweating and oily massage during confinement! Very uncomfortable!
Think this time round, first 7 days, I better not have any guests

I did eat lots of cherry tomatoes during my pregnancies, now, they always bug me to buy for them and they can finish one basket each.

have you all tried dipping tomatoes in plum powder ? It's nice.. and also watermelon in plum powder..

huskie,
Thanks for the website! Now I can just check from there when I want to know my food is heaty or cooling.

But now I'm not sure lotus root is heaty or cooling leh...my MIL told me is cooling so I try not to eat that during 1-2 trimster. But then I think moderate consume shld be fine.

cookie,
yes...my bb is down by 300g last month after I stopped all my sugar stuff ha...
Have you start drinking coconut water? I haven yet, maybe soon.

Aiyo...think now is the durian season, my place downstair selling so many durian and I have to passby them everyday when sending my boys down for school bus. And everytime when passing the durian store, the durian wii start calling me hee...the durian uncle also tempt me by saying -xiaojie,yao bu yao mai liu lian, I shaked my head but down in my heart saying 'yao'

choc,
dipping tomatoes in plum powder sounds yummy, I will try it, thanks for suggestion! In the paper today the editor recommending Japanese tomatoberries. She describe until so yummy but ex, $80 per kg.
Btw, what is sayur manis?

Hi aLL

Good morning...

Last night , went to the furniture mall but did not manage to find anything...

Hey, can I just check with you ladies, would you prefer a leather sofa or fabric sofa?

I'm sick again... coughing away... the itchy kind of cough, but yet the whole throat feel extremely hot.
My mum kept grumbling that it's cos I never did my confinement properly the last time (fell sick twice during confinement).
You think there's any basis to this? That a confinement not done properly will affect me even after that?

Choc, Ivena,
Thanks for mee hoon kueh recipe. Will try it next time

Cookie,
How old is your boy now? Must be coming to 2 yrs old?
The 3x birthweight at 1 yrs old is a nice guideline for me, hee, don't have to feel so stressed over Soph's weight then.

Noddy: You can get at Popular... can get 10% discount with your Popular card.

India/Sri Lanka: Yeah, my hubby is just plain worried... hee, said I've got a responsibilty (Soph) now, so cannot go to these places without him. ASked me to go Bali instead.

Pancake is a good idea! But I think need to wait till she's a bit older. Cos if I put her standing on a stool near the cooking hob, she'll want to touch everything. But if don't let her see, like not so participative ;)

Thanks for dou si info. Hmm... I also find that my milk ss these 2 days seems lesser, but dunno issit cos I am sick.

Taka: Think they don;t carry Thermos brand, only Tiger. I don't think I want to get anotehr Tiger pot. MY current Tiger one seems to rust on the outside, and if I just leave it to drip dry and not wipe dry it after washing, I get funny stains in the pot.

Hee, watching Taiwanese variety show with FIL also not bad leh, can pick up Chinese! And good Chinese too!

Choc,
Hee, I think bad karma to be be poisoning ants leh! haha, think I'll stick to the cinnamon stick method!

What is sayur manis?

annlee,
I also thought lotus root is cooling, cos all my recipe books say it's a good soup to drink in summer during the hot weather.
But yes, moderation is the key.

Choc
Super funny the way you described your kids’ heads!!! Actually I thought her head looked a bit longish so I kept asking hubby ‘you sure gynae didn’t use vacuum? Sure?’. Cos I was on epi ma so couldn’t feel anything and didn’t know whether I was pushing properly or not!

Re milk supply
Sigh ya lor I’m drinking papaya soup, eating fenugreek, drinking red date tea… but supply still same. Pump like siao and the most I got from 1 session was 65ml only. But instead of being demoralized I’m very happy that at least got supply
not like at hospital. Pumping air. That was really demoralizing! I was depressed in hosp leh. Cos I never knew that supply could come later one. I though basket, why I got no supply, what’s wrong with me. Cos all the nurses never told me it could come later!

Mummies, I don’t have engorged nnps (maybe cos so small…) but I do feel tingling/aching in the nipple/aerola area once every couple of hours. Like when it’s time to feed/pump. that’s normal?

Huskie
What is nursing mom tea and where to get! Pray, tell!!! Wow your kimchi looks very power! So nice to bake with soph. I also imagine me baking with poppy next time. But I’m not much of a baker so maybe just add pre-mix haha.

Re ants in kitchen
I’m not sure if it was in this thread that I read it but I think someone was saying white vinegar is good to get rid of ants. Just wipe it on your kitchen counters. Provided yours are not the laminate kind (if not will peel, right?). I also use ant chalk and ant traps. I hate ants!!!!

Joy
Haha how come you say the ampang ytf like serving food for prisoner? I don’t remember how they served but I think they were all quite bin chao chao. Where else got ampang ytf ah? I like it a lot

my hubby’s logic for not getting leather sofa – if we wear shorts at home and sweat, that’s quite gross. Then cannot wash the covers. But with babies/young kids, leather is actually easier to clean

Choc
I think I got the same sofa as your PILs! I feel cheated cos it was 528$ and the guy said hurry cos it’s half price now. But that was 1 year ago and it’s still the same price lor haha. We bought one more extra set of covers, I think for $70-$100. Good la, comfy.

I’ll try cinnamon sticks too, thanks!!

Cookie
Hehe no la, poppy is her nickname. We were seriously considering registering her as poppy (Jamie oliver’s daughter is poppy, I just remembered!). I think it’s cute as a child’s name, but I don’t think she will appreciate it when she’s 50 years old. Her Chinese name is 思廷

Giggler
Omg you have to wait 3 hours to see your gynae? I always wait at least half an hour and I thought that was bad liao!!!

Ivena
Wow mee hoon kuay dough! I don’t think I can be so kut lat hehe.

pinkbunny

I say like prisoner as the way they served is like NAH, YOUR FOOD and the presentation is not there....

Leather sofa
I used to dislike leather sofa but after having this fabric sofa, kept washing, wear and tear and also cannot wipe esp when there are many people have sat on it....got to wash....leather, just wipe....so still thinking....

What is dinner tonight?
Me cooking one chillie dish, one grilled salmon, and a veg.maybe tian ban toufu...see how

Ivena, I dun quite like Elmo's world cos of the silly professor. Hehehe... Ya ya, playhouse disney is not bad, got lots more edu prog.

Choc, hahaha... My hb also park at the carpark opp TMC, cheaper.
That day, I brought my 2 kids with me. So tired after the appt leh, cos had to chase after them for 3hrs!!!

Joy, how to cook fresh bai he? My son very weak leh, keep falling ill. Sianzzz... I didn’t know that Kevin Kern is partially blind.

Annlee, the nurse at TMC told me that I could call to get queue no. in the morning first. Hopefully I wont need to wait tat long for my next gynae appt. I also had bad pain when c-section for 2nd bb leh.
That time, my gynae said that it's cos I lack of exercise.

Huskie, pat pat... At least you have Soph now
If bring you bad memories then dun go back lah. I believe what your mom said it's true abt cf leh.

Cookie, it's the 2nd mini steamboat that is nice but quite ex though. I like their chilli and tom yam soup, yummy yummy.
I quite like kids' prog like Little Einsteins, Your Baby Can Read.

Pbunny, you express your bm and no direct latch on? Dun be demoralised by your ss. It'll built up one.
Ya, waited more than 3hrs to see gynae, can die cos waited with 2 kids.

Me free now cos mum called up and date me out for salad buffer...eat green....have to keep all the uncook food...

Oh yes, someone here mention using milk to KILL the smell in salmon?Sorri, cannot remember who liao....care to advice?thanks

Giggler
I just put bei ha inside his porridge and cook ,My yishi did say can boil as a soup but cannot remember with what...I check and let you know...

Kids falling sick is inevitable, most imptly must not let the body to have heat so that they have a higher immunity. Just as adult, if we get heaty and natually falling sick quite easily.....

pinkbunny,
The nursing tea I use is the brand called Yogi Tea which I buy from sprees from US. There's also another beand called Traditional Medicinals which Vitakids carry. Otherwise, Moms in Mind sells also, but theirs is the loose tea form, whereas the first 2 brands are in teabags, more convenient. I find that it helped me in my milk supply.

Don't worry about ss coming in later. Mine only really came in at 3 mths!

Joy,
You are so right about body getting heaty and falling sick. Just realised I must be real heaty cos been falling sick a lot recently.
Just now brought Soph to Yu Guo and thought might as well see sinseh myself. He said it's a heaty but windy cough, so itchy cough doesn't mean liang cough. He even gasped when he saw my throat... said it's very red and heaty!

I may continue going to him to tiao my body before TTC #2.

Gig,
You're still chasing your kids around now? Have to take care leh.
My grandma used to put bai he inside green bean soup... not sure if your kids will like it.

giggler
i try to latch on but must catch her in good mood. sometimes when too hungry, she's too angry to want to latch. just cry at my nnp. when she cooperates, i also don't know if she gets anything until she releases and i see got some leftover drops on the corner of her mouth/cheek hehe

i try to express every 3 hours. today went to see gynae and he gave me some med to take to increase supply. keep your fingers crossed for me everybody! oh the way back home i realised my bra was wet inside! BUT i haven't take the med yet haha. i think it's cos i missed one session of pumping. BUT it's a good sign, right?

huskie
thanks for the recommendation. shucks i walked past forum earlier today! aiyah. oh i know that shop. i bought my raspberry leaf tea from them

Huskie

You went?Is it far from your house?

I may bring my boy down there later, cos he was sick after going out with my mum in her car. Suspect caught the serious virus from the car cos mum has just recovered from a three week cough. My boy was coughing badly whole of last night and I have to use inhaler for him cos his breathing was bad...running a slight fever as well...He used to be like that when he was younger....He ate lots of ice cream and waffer and with low immunity, thus cannot fight off the virus...

I always try not to take others car with my kids. I have few bad experience. My kids fall very sick there after and whenever I traced back, its always the driver was very sick prior to that...do you ladies have similar experience?thanks just my thoughts.

Leather sofa
I jst got a set from furniture club at IMM. Hubby loves the concept and clean cut. A L shape german leather, with an automan, asking for 3700 and we settle at 3150 and not sure we got cut throat or not....But, I do know that they are not very honest saying singapore sales has already ended.

Joy,
Yeah, I brought Soph for tui na on Thur, Fri and Sat consecutively. I saw Tang Yi Shi on Fri and hubby saw him on Sat. Have you seen him yourself before?
I was thinking of seeing him to tiao my body for TTC #2, but I would prefer to be given herbs to make nice yummy soups rather than eat black bitter medicine all the time. Do you know what his style is like?
Yu Guo is not so far from my place... from Bishan, just take PIE and exit Jln Eunos, so it's pretty quick.

I think flu virus going around again now! PD says flu virus can stay dormant in one's body for up to 7 days, so normally if Soph has just recovered, I don't let her mix with other kids for another week in case she passes to them.
So did you go today? Weekends normally very crowded yeah?

pinkbunny,
Yep, this is the tea. $9.90 is reasonable. I think Vitakids selling for more than $10.
This brand is slightly more expensive than Yogi Tea, so after trying out one box, I switched to Yogi Tea which is this one:
http://www.iherb.com/ProductDetails.aspx?c=1&pid=5478&at=0

Choc,
You're using the same CL as you used for didi?
She is Malaysian?
How much is she charging?
Does she require any deposit?
She is OK that there is no maid to help clean up the place?
Does she charge extra if no maid?

Sorry sorry... so many questions for you :p

Huskie

Yes, went this morning, after sending my gal off for enrichment class in the morning.

My boy was first in q so quite fast.

He was panting as cough too much. Just wanna check is there any effective med for cough or block nose?thanks

Joy,
Didn't the Chinese doc give any Chinese med for him?
If got phlegm, they normally give chuan xin lian which is horribly bitter but very effective.

The last time Soph had the flu, PD gave Prospan for cough and Sinupret for clearing blockage of nose. I like these 2 med cos they're herbal based.

Pinkbunny,
I just went to Vitakids United Sq in the evening... the Traditional Medicinals tea is selling for $9.90 too.

Huskie

Where did you bring soph to see the pd?Just curious, how do you know the two med are herbal base?Is it effective?For me, I am very careful when my boy has flu as he easily can get bronchantis if not careful.....

Oh yes, the yishih did give some med but I do not know what is it.

I thought tang yishi more like the accupunture type...not sure we are talking the same one. Is a him right?I know there is another lady yishi but only there on certain days.

huskie, thanks! the yogi tea is also sold at vitakids? ya now that i think of it, i remember buying my raspberry leaf tea at vitakids at $9.90 too!

oh it's hot hot hot today!