Cooking Tips & Recipe

Huskie, yayaya... Still chasing my kids ard, esp Sherwin.
Add bai he to green bean soup? I found one recipe to add bai he to red bean soup over the weekends. Sigh, Sherwin got flu again... Does the tuina help for Soph?

Pbunny, your milk ss is building up
Dun worry too much abt ss and it'll just come.

Joy, so qiao, my Lshape leather sofa also from Furniture Club but didn’t know it's so ex leh.

Giggler
Which furniture club that you went?How much did you pay?I think its the different grade of leather that makes the different.

We bought a three seater with L shape and an automan.We just increase the length to 2.89 and it costs more now, 3.4k.

I also noticed that the shop in IMM and the furniture mall quote different price and discount for the same item.How much did you pay for yours?

hello gals,

Sayur manis is a kind of vege like kow kee(boxthorn vege), but the leaves are bigger. Just need to pluck out the leaves to cook them. I think little cat posted one pic on that long long time ago.. I couldn't find much in yis market, but in tamp, it is quite a frequent sight..

Think the chinese veg seller will call it Mani chye.

Hey pbunny, eat n drink more and rest well.. how's the bm going? Read that latching on can help increase supply better than pumping out.. when you have engorgement, you try to pump out, then you'll be surprised how much milk you can produce
A very skinny friend of mine can pump out 8 oz at one go, i tot wow!

I used to be so ks that i'll try to stimulate production when i have engorgement, pump out, then aft that, let bb latch on when it's almost about time for feeding.

Husk, yah.. using the CL that I used for didi.. She's rather good at cooking, for cleaning up, so so only.. but she's good at taking care of babies and children.

I told her that i'll require her to iron my hb's clothes, wash everybody's clothes, wash bb's clothes separately, send my girls to sch, cook for the family.. she was ok with that.. I didn't require her to wake up at night to feed bb too, and she could do whatever she wanted when she was free. Paid her 1900 for no.3 and since this is no.4, i m paying her 2k.

She didn't collect any deposit from me.. She told me she won't run away.. haha..

Heard about using white vinegar to clean table top to rid ants... quite effective, but got to keep cleaning.. just like cinnamon sticks, got to keep changing.. once i use cinnamon powder on some corner of table top, it worked as well too..

Re confinement,
I could feel the difference when I did confinement for no. 1 , 2 and 3..
Somehow, resting and eating well helped alot. My sis bought korean ginseng for me during conf, tho heaty, it was quite good.

Another alternative is to ask the chinese physician to prescribe herbs for confinement, to tiao according to our body needs..Some have bodies more heaty than others..

Ann and cookie,
Went to fuhua that day, to buy so hup pills, they didn't carry sheng hua tang. But those traditional chinese med hall should have. And the herbs for bathing is $2 now, wah.. very expensive leh..

Joy, agree with you.. My no.2 used to be on inhaler for 2 yrs, once she coughs, she'll have high fever, then asthma.. very stress.. but this yr, she's better.. i guess got to build their immunity each time they recover. Whatever natural remedy, chinese or ang mo, I also try.. desparate mother!

Nowadays, i'll make pumpkin soup with almond seeds to strengthen her lungs, liu wei tang for appetite

Gig, how are you feeling ? How many months or weeks are you now ?

Husk, yest I went suntec basement for korean food.. the korean pancake was yummy and very pang!the noodles and rice was very good too.. the set came with a glass of not-so-sweet lime juice

Joy, we got from IMM, think we paid abt $2k plus for the sofa.

Choc, can I have the recipe of pumpkin soup with almond seeds? Do you have other remedy to share on improving the kid's immune system? My no.2 quite weak, he'll def catch virus if he's near to someone sick. Thanks for asking, I'm 10-11weeks now ba, feeling normal, at times even forgot that I preg. Hehehe...

pinkbunny,
Think Yogi Tea is not sold at Vitakids. Never seen Yogi Tea in SG before, but I used to take their other flavours last time in US, so I quite like this brand.

Joy,
I take Soph to her PD - Kinderclinic at Mt. Alvernia. Her PD when she was born was Dr. Terence Tan, who is very good at respiratory problems. But his queue is crazy, even if you have appointment. So I switch Soph to another partner in the same clinic, Dr. Lee - she specialises in skin problems, but is generally very good, doesn't like to prescribe overly strong medication unnecessarily. The other doctor there, Dr. Lim, is also quite good. The last time he said Soph had the "onset of pneumonia" i.e. she had some mucus in her lungs, he wanted to prescribe nebuliser, but I didn't want to (hee, cos I think it's scary and don't know how to use it!). Dr. Lim was also OK with no nebuliser, but he taught me to monitor the fever and cough myself. When I came home, I dosed her with multivits + grapeseed extract + acidophilus + her prescribed antibiotics. Then when her antibiotics finished, I dosed her with hou zao san. And 1.5 weeks later, everything was cleared, cos I took her for her jab, and Dr. Lee said everything was cleared.
All the docs there are pro-bf too.

As for herbal based medicine, think it's written on the box of the medicine, cos the PD gives the orginal medicine in glass bottles and box type, not the generic pour-into-plastic bottle type.

Hmm... Tang yishi is more into acupuncture?! I don't really wanna do acup leh... prefer to take yummy tonic soup to tiao body. I may ask him if I go back to him again.

Gig,
Yep, bai he to green bean soup. My grandma used to make green bean soup regularly, and even makes savoury type for dinners, cos green bean is cooling, and helps to expel toxins. Guess she would know better, cos she used to run a medical hall with my grandpa, and she's still very strong at 85 yrs old now!

I find tui na does help to expel the phlegm thru her poop (before it reaches the serious bronchiolitis/pneumonia stage), but eh, if you're thinking of going on weekends, you may not want to, cos it's super packed, and lots of sick kids around... may catch more germs there!

Choc,
Thanks for CL info
and for ants info.
I just placed some cinnamon sticks around... seems not bad. Ants avoid those area which is where the food is.
As for vinegar, I also use it to disinfect my chopping board (must be wooden kind) - at night before going to sleep, just dilute a bit of vinegar with water and spray on the board to kill the germs. The smell disappears by morning.

OK, I think if I ever have #2, confirm must have CL and do a good confinement liao

Suntec Korean Food: is it a restaurant or food court? My hub told me the one in food court is not bad, but I am sooooo suaku, haven't been there for a long time!
Did you try the seafood pancake or kimchi pancake? I prefer kimchi pancakes generally.

Gig,
I googled green bean lily bulb soup and found this info in this lady's blog:
http://thefeastcrusade.blogspot.com/2006/02/weekend-herb-blogging-20-lotus-leaf.html
Extracted here:
"....the lily bulb is also sweet in taste with an underlying bitterness. A cooling herb, it nourishes the yin, moistens the lungs and has a calming effect. It is highly beneficial for people with weak yin qi and latent heat. Lily bulbs are excellent for easing insomnia, restlessness and irritability.

One of the best cures for a persistent cough or sore throat is a soup made of lily bulbs and mung beans. I hated that soup as a child and would sneak it to the dogs instead. The lily bulb is brilliant for detoxifying. It promotes urination and halts bleeding by cooling the blood and strengthening the spleen and stomach. ...."

Gig,
wow, you din suffer from any ms or bloatedness ? That's good leh.. I had bloatedness during the 8 to 13 weeks of pg, bed ridden everyday

I'll normally buy half a pumpkin, depending on how big it is. Add pork soft bones, half handful of almond seeds( nan bei xing), and boil them early in the morning for about 2 hrs

Watercress soup : the bigger specie kind. Boil conch(hai3 luo2), don't have , can use soft pork bones, honey dates, destoned red dates, almond seeds.. then add watercress to stock and continue boiling for about 2 hrs or so.

Liu wei tang : Can buy pre packed ones from med hall.. Or buy one sample, then the rest individually. ( use the sample as a guide to see proportion of herbs), and boil in soft bone soup.

Potato/carrot soup : using potatoes, carrots, onions, pork ribs, destoned red dates n wolfberries. sometimes, will add tomatoes, if my fridge has.

Huashan good for appetite and bu chi, lotus root for lungs and women..

Saw a couple of soup recipe books in popular. But loan to my sis' helper liao.. Also, I see the weather and also what they have been eating for the past few days, whether heaty or cooling.. My kids love soup and i find it good to hydrate their bodies and lungs.. One child to 3/4 big soup bowl and not much rice..

And for no. 3's milk every morning, I 'll add qt teaspoon acidophilus in. I find that he has lesser phlegm production compared to no. 2 ..

I have also cut down fresh milk, milk powder for no.2 .. Found that it was the culprit for her asthma and phelgm production..
So her source of calcium is goats milk sweet, cheese, green veg, esp broccoli, almonds, walnuts and brown rice..

Husk, the korean food is at near the fountain side.. hee,, I m as sua koo.. not inside the foodcourt, Tried the one in the foodcourt before, not bad also.. I find this one good also
You know the row of restaurants near the fountain? Like crystal jade, muthu's curry, soup rest ? This korean is called ya zhou chan ting, beside soup rest. The pancake like not much liao, only carrots..

Huskie, thanks a lot for the link
didn’t know that bai he is so gd.

Choc, ya, no ms or bloatedness, only that I go to toilet more often now. So you drink the pumpkin soup with rice? Thanks for your soup recipe.
What's acidophilus? My gal likes soup too, in fact, she only has soup with rice for dinner.

Huskie

Thanks for info. Today I brought my son to western doctor. It is quite rare that she prescribed my son anitibiotics....he has a bit of whizzing.

Would you start the antibiotic?thanks

Gig, I sometimes very lazy to cook.. so soup with economical rice, with ta pow food, noodles.. etc..

Acidophilus is good bacteria in the gut. With good gut health, the body's immunity will be better and food absorption better.. hee hee.. layman's term.

Found it true for no. 3, cos he seldom has much phlegm production, compared to no.2 . Both my hb and I have sinisitis and bronchitis, so doc says my kids' have more upper respiratory tract problems.

Husk, thanks for the bai he info
My Mil fries bai he with broccoli too.. it's sweet and nice.. but my kids don't fancy

today's lunch was porridge boiled with pork ribs, dried scallops, shredded carrots and fresh white bait.. whatever I can find in the fridge..

huskie,
Is yogi tea better that the other you bought? Can I drink during confinement period? Is there any minimum amount to purchase if I want tot order from i-herb?

choc,
Dried scallops is liang and will make cough even worst, so I try not to put or not when my sons is having cough.

My dunno which neighbour is cooking sesame chicken, smells so good, was thinking to cook it tmr.

Annlee
You like sesame chicken?What are you cooking for dinner?

For me , simple, just chillie chicken, grilled salmon and a stir fried veg.

We avoid seafood when kid has got cough.

Hieee!
I found this thread while trying to find a place to pick up some tips on cooking. Have 2 lovely gals at home.

Just started to cook 3 mths ago when my maid left. Never cooked before unless u count frying eggs. Thus learning from scratch and found the mummies here so friendly and helpful

Anyway read that some mummies looking for Yogi Tea. I have seen a shop selling. It is at Tanglin Mall. Shop name is Brown Rice Paradise.

Joy,
ya..I quite like sesame chicken but I like the smell more.

My dinner lagi simple today cos hb not coming back for dinner. Fried rice with carrot potatoes chicken soup, I cooked the soup yesterday and put inside thermo pot, notice that will make the soup even sweeter this way.

Elmo,
Welcome!! ya...the mummies here are very friendly and helpful.
How old is your gals? Are you SAHM?

wow choc
your CL sounds good! eh what engorgement. my NNPs always soft soft, no engorgement one. too small la. got susu can tao chio already!

welcome elmo!
oh oh i was just at brown rice paradise last week!!!

ann
i love love love the smell of sesame oil cooking on the stove!!!

elmo,
Welcome!
Hee, of course frying egg is counted as cooking! Till now, I still have not master the technique frying a perfect sunnyside egg!
Thx for info on Yogi Tea!

Choc,
Oh, it's a restaurant. Ok, I'll try and find it next time I'm there.
Hee, but Ya Zhou Chan Ting is not much of a name for a Korean restaurant!

Frying bai he with veges is a good idea. I like bai he... sweet and crunchy.

Hey, today I made a rojak stew cos hubby not coming back for dinner. So made the stew for both lunch and dinner. Fried a few slices of ginger, threw in marinated meat slices, fry a bit more, add water then add cranberry beans, hee peow, egg tofu, fish dumplings, bai he slices, and just before eating, threw in some spinach. More like a soup stew. But hey, the bai he melted into it! So maybe you can sneak bai he into your soups for dds!

But a bit regret using ginger (although it made the whole dish so fragrant), cos after eating the blister in my throat is back up again, so now have to make chrysanthmum tea to cool my body down. Fresh ginger is also heaty? Thought only old ginger for confinement is heaty?
Or maybe my body is in a state of imbalance now.

Joy,
I wouldn't know whether to give antibiotics in your case cos I think your doc should know better. My doc only prescribes antibiotics where there is an infection or a high chance of infection e.g. when her mucus was in her lungs. When there is infection, fever will suddenly hit very high and stay there/keep coming back. Whereas for viral, fever will peak at 3rd or 4th day and then come off i.e. it should not see any "higher highs". In viral cases, my doc normally doesn't give antibiotics, unless she/he thinks there is high chance of infection.

Did your doc give antibiotics? If so, then he probably has his reasons.

How often/consecutively do you bring your ds for tuina? Soph went last Thur Fri and Sat. I'm thinking of bringing her on Tue again, but wonder will OD or not?

annlee,
I switched to Yogi Tea cos it's cheaper! Effect is the same for me for both.
I'm not sure if can drink during cf period, cos I took Yogi Tea at 7th week. But during cf, I took the MIM nursing tea in loose tealeaf form.
Think iherb min. order is $60. Aiyah, my batch of cod liver just came, else you could have tombang my order and save shipping.
btw LV also sells these 2 brands of teabags. I joined LV spree for it before, but heard LV always messy nowadays, so I stopped joining LV sprees.

Woah, I also love the smell of sesame oil chicken. But I haven't tried it till now! Wonder how it tastes like?
How do you cook yours? need a lot of frying?

hey girls,
Look what I found here on chrysanthmum tea... this lady uses licorice root too. Maybe next time I can use that, although I will ask Tang yishi first
Not sure what licorice is in Chinese... hers is in Canto form.
http://happyhomemaker88.wordpress.com/2007/10/24/chrysanthemum-tea-for-heatiness-sore-throats-headaches/

This girl's blog has so many interesting stuff... one of which is how to clean washing machines... oops, it's time to clean mine!
http://happyhomemaker88.wordpress.com/2007/11/04/remember-to-clean-your-washing-machine-monthly/

annlee,
How long do you intend to bf your baby?
The yishi told me that if wanna bf, have to watch my own diet, cos "heatiness" in the milk can pass on to baby.
Which in my case seems true, cos come to think of it, every time Soph falls sick, either the little man or blister in my throat is there.
Think my milk more heaty than goat milk
Poor Soph!

Good morning ladies

Huskie
I bring my boy once a week to tuina unless he is sick, then will be more often.This afternoon, will bring him there again.Are you going, maybe will see you there.

Constipation
I heard bao siew lee and mei yan pang du can help in the above.Anyone has tried ?
Antibiotic
Noticed after son taking it, his whole face look so pale. Apparently, he has low grade fever, but now totally gone, think doc prescribe its more for the inflammation of throat.

huskie,
ya lor..LV spree like v messy now, order my stuffs for a month until now no news yet.

Thanks for sharing the link! I going for make some chrysanthemum+licorice for my sons and maid today.
Abt the washing machine, I used bleach too, samsung technical taught me how to clean it this way. Must soak overnight with 500ml or more of bleach with full drum of water then the day wash with full cycle. It get rids of the algae, kills germs also.

I intend to bf for a year. yah lor...what we eat will just pass to the baby. Did your yishi says what is the best food to eat for bf mums? Sometime I dun really know what to eat also.

hey, I noticed you are a v heaty person like my hb, must always think twice on what to eat, will get sick or bad sore throat easily.

Abt the sesame oil chicken is very easy to do it, stired fry some old ginger with sesame oil and cook it with chicken parts, add soya sauce and sugar to taste. If want more bu can add some chines wine. My mum use left over steam chicken to cook it. But I don't think this dish is suitable for you, you might get sore throat, quite heaty food.

Is soph taking karihome goat milk?

Joy,
you having constipation probs? My sister having this prob too and ask me abt mei yan bai du but I know nothing abt this hee... she bought some green stuff from GNC that I recommended instead.

huskie,
your rojak stew looks good lei... nowadays didn't see any cranberry beans in the market, I like the beans. Hee peow issit fish maw?

annlee
Not me, but my cousin. Which GNC product you recommend?

Huskie
You are like me and my children, cannot take heaty thing. At times, I find it so hard to explain to my hubby as he can take heat very well....

Joy,
I recommended green barley drink but GNC told her to get green barley combine with other green stuff which I think is even better. Think there's only one type for constipation, she can check it out there. Must drink alot of water. And also if pregnant cannot take it.

Joy,
Think I won't be bringing Soph today, cos she is super cranky with her molars coming out. She's got a piece of meat/gum dangling in her mouth where her molar sprouted, so I think it's painful for her.
I may bring her on Thur instead.

You are heaty too? But I see that you always have one chilli dish in your menu - do you find chilli heaty?
How do you handle your heatiness?

annlee,
Yeah, I read that one of the girls had her LV shipment split into many many boxes! **faintz** Imagine how much Vpost will charge for that!

As for bf, yishi didn't say what to eat for bf mums, but I can help ask when I bring Soph there next time.

Yep, I'm quite a heaty person, although the TCM said I am wai re nei han... inside cold type, cos I've got a weak stomach. ACtually my body balance wasn't so bad till afetr I gave birth... at Soph's 1-mth party, my aunties all said I look pale and deathly... think I really didn't do confinement properly cos fell sick during cf too.

Sesame oil chicken: Thanks! I'll try it after I tiao-ed my body properly

SOph is not taking Karihome... she doesn't like the smelly goaty taste. She's taking Healtheries, but it's not a FM i.e. it's just fresh goat milk sprayed dried into powder form with nothing added. So it's not suitable for babies below 12mths old. This one has no smell, but just creamy, like in all goat milk. But whenever she falls sick, she'd refuse to drink it and just want to latch.

Yep, hee peow is fish maw. I bought the baked one from Hock Hua... not so oily, but downside is it's not so gelatine-like compared to the fried eel ones.
Cranberry beans - think they're seasonal... now not in season, so the auntie charged me quite expensive! But I love them, so will splurge a bit on it

huskie,
no no...not taking licorice, that for my son and maid. My ds2 forever caught flu/cough virus from school and pass to my maid. Think their flu/cough like yours, dry itchy type. Oh yes...I also give my son Prospan, I like it also bcos is herbal formula. Doc says is good for dry cough.

Fish maw baked one sounds healthier, ha...didn't know there's bake one, will check ard my area to get some, thanks!

Check with you, I read that you and pbunny mentioned at fenugreek, is also to increase milk supply? Is this the one http://www.vitacost.com/Natures-Way-Fenugreek-Seed-610-mg-180-Capsules
But I read is for soothing the stomach or I got the wrong items opps...
I'm thinking to order some yogi tea but they only have 16 bags, so must I drink it everyday? Was thinking how many boxes shld I get.

hey, thanks for helping to ask yishi what to eat for bf mum.
You're wai re nei han must tiao your body, we woman must really take care our health right now and some more we had given birth. Also do take note not to take too many cooling stuff even though you're heaty or else when older got other probs like Rheumatism.

Ann, didn't know scallops can make cough worse, thanks for the info!

Yesterday went to see gyn, woah! The whole 3rd floor is having renovation.. super messy and full of paint smell.. Recep said they'll only complete half a yr later..

I love sesame chicken too.. in fact, all the confinement food..

HI ELMO, welcome !

husk, your rojak stew sounds good and most of all it's nutritious! Very balance leh..

Pbunny, got milk leakage is a good sign.. a friend of mine always has engorgement, but can't express out at all.. harden breast and no matter how much she massages, only a little will come out..

ann and cookie,
counting down to see bb liao hor ? Mine only at 28 weeks.. still got about 2 months plus!..

Hey joy,
How's your boy now ? My mil has constipation very often.. She says black bean soup is good

Today frying asparagus with carrots and prawns and fry one fish.. eat with brown rice..

choc,
ya...3rd floor is having renov, we're there when going for the hospital tour. My hb wanted to request not to stay at that level hee...got strong paint smell.
wah..v fast leh...you still got 2 more months to go. How is your scan? My naughty bb now sitting on me, breech position haiz...

Tonight gg to stir fry toufu with yellow pepper with mince chicken balls and chinese baby spinach.
I'm having Nasi padang for lunch, sedap... but got lotsa msg, very thirsty right now, not gg to eat it till giving birth liao

ann,
My cough is not really the dry itchy type. It's the thick white/slightly yellow phlegm, which they classify as heaty phlegm. Then the itchy throat part yishi says it's cos of wind (?)

Fenugreek: Yep, it's this one, although I took the GNC housebrand one. But think this one more worth it. GNC one is $26.99 for 100 capsules, same at 610mg.
But eh, actually the fenugreek seeds itself is real cheap - a handful for only 50cents at Indian stalls.
I think Gig swallowed these seeds before... Gig, yeah?
Or you can pour hot water into the Indian stall fenugreek seeds and drink it as a tea.
But I prefer the taste of the Yogi Tea cos it's got other stuff like nettle in in.
As for Yogi Tea, yep, I take one teabag each day... keep pouring hot water into it till teabag loses its strength.
I drank it for about 2 weeks, then when ss is stablised, I only dirnk it as and when.
I find it convenient when I meet my friends at cafes, but cannot take caffeine, so I just bring my own teabag and thick-skinnedly ask for hot water

Woah, your nasi padang is tempting me! **drool**

Joy,
thanks for the info on noddy in popular, will go find it.

many years ago i tried the pai du mei yan bao. think its mlm product then, got it through a friend. will always have the urge to go toilet afetr every meal.
so i stopped taking after a week or so.

Ivena,
thanks for the children's programme recommendation and noddy.
dun have playhouse disney channel, think i better go subscribe.

Choc,
I like mani chai also. heard that traditionally mee hoon kueh is cooked with mani chai.
u are tempting me to try the cherry tomatoes with plum powder leh.... now have got cravings oredi.
how's yr hum feast? satisfied yr cravings?

on the ant's posion. the brand 'yi shao guang' is not bad. but after a while the ants will now to aviod it. so will mix the posion with sugar/biscuit etc and put on a piece of paper to attract the ants to eat and bring back to their nests.
but for kitchen top, think will try yr cinnamon stick method.

thanks for the info on sheng hua tang. ai yo.. even herbs for bath getting so expensive now.

Jia luk... now tmc renovating again. ai yo... on sunday i experience irregular contractions for more than an hour. and these few days on/off contractions also.... dunno when the little one is ready to be out.

heee.... 2 months will pass very fast. and u can enjoy all the yummy confinement food and of cos the sticky oily feel after massage again.

Ann,
think those sugar stuff really 'powerful'.
these few days, my office like party. everyday eating ice-cream, potatoes chips with my colleagues. very sinful also.

i started drinking coconut water after 28weeks. now drinking 2-3 times a week.
maybe u can start drinking now also.

hahaha.. the way u describe how yr heart desire the durians so funny....
i have given in to all temptations. last week sil bought us alot of nice durian, saying its one grade below the mao shan wang, called golden phoenix. very nice also.
kept on stuffing myself with durian. hope the gynae visit today will show baby gaining weight and not me.... but impossible lah... think i sure gain weight again.

Huskie,
Dun feel stress on soph's weight. u have been doing her wonders with all the best milk in the world!

Yr husband is right to say bali is safer than india/sri lanka to a certain extend. u take can time to slowly source for good yoga retreat now.
i tried pan cake with my boy. bought the nissin brand pancake pre-mix. cos my husband says the recipe for my pancake is not nice at all.
let the boy pour the flour into the bowl, pour milk, mix batter. but i pour the mixture into the pan. and ask him to add the blueberries into the pancake.
but he kept popping the blue berries into his mouth instead.
maybe can ask yr husband to help while making pancake and can help u take photos also. i forgotten to take photos the other time.

sigh... if the taiwanese shows are more educational, will love my boy to watch also.
but some of those variety shows are those 'wu zhong xian' shows with skimpy girls doing pole dancing, those dramas showing violence and sexsual contents.

i was quite surprise to know that actually dou si, brinjai, lemongrass, malt drink etc will reduce milk supply also.

licorice root = 'gan cao' in chinese?

Pinkbunny,
don't be stress over the milk supply. u have already done yr very best. gambate!

on the no engorgement, hmmm.. actually maybe its better to check with the lactation consultant. reckon they can offer more professional advise.
and sure its a good sign that yr bras will wet when u dun pump.

heee... for me i realise whenever i have think engorged feeling, tingling sensation in nnp... my baby is hungry and wants to fed. can feel it in the first few months even after maternity leave and i am in the office or away fm baby.

Si Ting is a nice name. very gentle sounding.
u come up with the name?
hahaha.. agree, when she is older, poppy might not want to be called poppy anymore.
heee.... we are still calling my youngest sis who is in her 20s 'baby though.
can't imagine if she's in her 50s.

Giggler,
hope yr pregnancy will be smooth smooth all the way.

Elmo,
Welcome to the thread.

ann,

Wow! nasi padang very nice leh.. my favourite too! Using hands to eat lagi best.. yum..

I think maybe you ll stay 5th or 6th floor by time you pop. Tmc very messy.. always renovating, 2 yrs ago was 6th floor.. hope i don't get to stay on 3rd floor too.. hehe..

My bb as usual, now entering 3rd trimester, has not grown much! History has repeated itself the 4th time! Gyn says bb on the skinny side.. I know where all the food went to... my buttocks..

Gyn asked me to eat durians, but I think better not.. it'll go to my arms..
My little gal's head is facing down now.. very typical of no.1 and 2.. but no.3 was sitting up like yours.. 36 weeks then head started going down.. maybe boys are like that..

Hey pbunny,
when did you stop drinking red rt leaves ? Have been drinking faithfully and told hb that this time round, will only be strapped on bed when 10 cm dilated.. dunno if it works..

Hey cookie,
The hum was good.. but too cooked! Haiz..I very terrible.. like to eat more raw kind..
Yah.. agree with you, some of the taiwanese shows not very healthy..
How about shi wan ge wei shen me? quite a nice science chinese cartoon..

Hey maybe little cookie wants to see the world soon.. for me, my girls are always early..
tried yi shao guang before.. my ants didn't like it, they march around them..
I am using baygon now.. didn't see them around recently. Hope the big ones don't go back to nest, multiply then die.. then next generation will come out.. stronger and more immuned..

Wow, your colleagues good huh.. I love these kind of chips party!

Huskie, you still rem that I took fenugreek seeds before??? LOL.... The taste really yucky leh and I didn’t finish that packet.

Cookie, my fridge is full of golden phoenic durians now...
Thanks... But I try to control my food intake now cos dun want to become big, fat woman after delivery. We still called my bro 'ah boy' now leh. Hehehe...

choc, durians help to put on bb's wt leh. You can try esp it's the durian season now.

cookie,
I'm also eating ice cream and potato chips you know, limit myself one soup bowl of chips and 2 tbsp of ice cream but not everyday.

I'm feeling cramp on and off over some parts of my tummy these few days, issit consider contraction? I also gain alot of weight now, think 2kg in a month.

For the pancake, I'm using Betty Crocker pancake mix and I mix it with a tsp of oat powder, I want it more healthier. Will add maple syrup and butter like hotcake at mcdonald and is my sons favourite, not giving them everyday. My son dislike Jam like strawberry or blueberry although is healthier choice so sometime will spoil them abit by giving them something they like.

pinkbunny,
ask you hor...any feeling when your water bag burst? i mean do you feel any slight pain and then burst?

huskie,
so I must take fenugreek and yogi tea at the same time to boost the milk supply?

choc,
I cannot use my hand to eat leh...not use to it although my malay frens say more sedap when using hand

Huskie, thanks for that link to the washing machine blog... i never knew we had to wash the machines, i see some algae on mine and just wipe them away! i am going to do some major clean up this weekend.
also saw the cottage pie she made on the blog...makes me feel like making one this weekend!
anyone has a good cottage pie recipe to share? tks!

How is dinner today?

Huskie
I will usually go to the liang ca store, take 24 wei and add powder before the on set of heat.For chillie dish, its more for my hubby than myself....I seldom eat .

Constipation
Thanks all for info.

Choc06
Thanks, he is much better now...should be in time for his three year old birthday party this weekend....Now, I think my older gal may down with a flu.

ZZcookie monster
Disney chanel is very good for pre schoolers. My boy learnt a lot from them ....He supposed to in pre n this year but I did not send him to anyway...no more as kan cheong like what I used to with first kid.

Annlee
I remember how water bag burst like...its like you urine all over...when its water bag burts

hey gals,
Dinner today was vegetarian chap chye - one dish meal since hub not home again.
Hmm... I do feel less heaty not eating meat! Think I may be veg tomorrow too

cookie,
Thanks for licorice in Chinese. I shall go get them tomorrow and make the tea.

Your pancake arrangement sounds good! Will have to wait till weekend to try

As for malt, yes, I read in some confinement cookbook that if wanna wean off, take malt drink.
Horlicks is also a malt drink yeah? Does that mean cannot take Horlicks?

Yikes, actually I hardly watch any TV programs now, so didn't know Taiwanese variety shows are like that? Quite distasteful huh?

Gig,
The fenugreek seeds are better poured with hot water and drunk as a tea! Try that for your #3!

annlee,
I think it really depends on how fast your ss comes in? For me, I was really short in ss... imagine I squeeze my breasts and only droplets come out, no spray!
So I took both Fenugreek tabs and nursing mom tea and drank stinky fishbone soup everyday. Mrs. Wong says must use fishbone and must cook for at least 10hrs... but by then it really stank. Still, I diligently drank one big pot everyday... that's like 3 to 4 BIG soupbowls.

I also took Goats' Rue, a herb that is very effective, BUT this one actually alters the mammary glands a bit, but in a natural way of course since it's a herb. It's even proven to work even for adoptive mothers in the US who want to bf.
This one I took at the same time with Fenugreek.
Hee, I think this one is for women with underdeveloped mammary glands like me! :p

And then, of course, your last resort can be Western med, which I also took, but after Soph turned 1 yr old. Doc will prescribe Motilium or domperidone (generic name), which is actually a anti-nauseous med used in food poisoning case. A PD told my friend that some babies get gassy with this method, but I'm not sure how true that is, cos Soph was already old enough to handle the gas at 1 yr old when I took it.

Featherstar,
Welcome. It's quite a good blog with useful recipes yeah?
Eh, what is a cottage pie versus a normal pie?

Joy,
Good to know your ds will get well in time for his BD party

Choc,
high five! i also like the raw type of hum leh... best is just pour some boiling water over then eat with chili padi+lime+dark soysauce

my colleagues into chips these days and gorging ourselves silly whenever stressed.

my little cookie did not gain any weight, or to be more accurate 0.02kg in the last 10days. gynae says little cookie very small at 2.22kg now and i am suppose to be in 37weeks now. so arranging for a growth scan. if need to, then will induce and deliver little cookie after the scan. sigh... sleepless night.... wondering how the little fellow is. this gynae usually very optimistics and happy, but when he touch my tummy this evening.... his face changed and i knew sure no good news. was still thinking with all the durians + fried chicken + sinful food i toook in the last 10days will at least make cookie gain 300grams, but... mummy gain 300grams instead.

Giggler,
hahaha... yr brother still 'ah boy' now.
heee.... golden phoenix very tempting hor. today stuffed myself with 10 seeds of golden phoenix and mao shan wang. the little fellow better put on some weight.

Ann,
u really exercise good self control, keep up the good work.

its ok to give in to the boys' cravings once in a while. they are not eating unhealthy food everyday.

contractions is like hardening of the tummy, crampy like also. then last for a short while and will come back again later. if its not regular or get more instense, its ok. checked with the gynae and he advise its normal and usual for us at this stage to experience more and more contractions.

like joy mentioned, water bag burst like leaking urine. just like water.. not those discharge.

JOy,
heee.. think first born always everything kanchiong. after that will be more relax.

Happy Birthday to yr boy in advance.

and hope yr girl will recover fast fast.

Huskie,
reckon best that u check with the chinese medicial hall if its 'gan cao'. cos i have a bottle of those persevered lime drink that states it as gan cao in chinese and licorice in english. isit preggy cannot take licorice? i have taken quite a lot of the licorice with kime drink leh.... ai yo....

i was wondering abt horlicks also. in fact i bought a bottle cos this pregnancy i cannot stomach milo and thinking that i can drink during confinement (presumming it has the same effect like milo to increase supply). but the confinement book i got says malt will reduce supply. so guess better not drink.

some of the chinese tv programmes are good and educational. but my fil just let me boy watch whatever they are watching... sigh.. but during the afternoon when he back fm childare which i have no control. so now frantically searching for dvd for boy to watch. will request that they subscribe to playhouse channel soon.

reading yr ways to increase milk supply reminds me that my breastfeeding career going to start soon and will need pointers on ways to increase milk supply.

Good morning all

Huskie
You sure sound like a BF expert...if I have known what all you have mentioned, probably my kids will be bf longer....Ya, Just in time for birthday and now busy for the preparation.

Cookie
Thanks for birthday wish...lucky gal gave false alert, just being too tired after school and thought got the flu bug from brother....

Yes, we are always kan cheong for our number one, even till today when she is in primary 3.For the younger one, I find myself very relax and easy with him...Hope am not too lax and he ended up behind...

Holy Grace kindergarten
Anyone heard of it?

Good morning all.

Huskie, I think, at least to me, the cottage pie i am thinking of is the English meat pie (mostly beef) with cheese on top. One of my mum's friends made a really good one and I'm drooling as I think of it, but I cant reach her to ask for the recipe now though. : )

I'm a FTWM, so I only do simple cooking when I get home from work, eg steamed fish, steamed chicken etc. I will ask my helper to help prepare first though. I am now thinking about dishes which can be prepared earlier and stored in the freezer, like a stew, or maybe even premade wanton...
Does anyone know how long I can store wanton in the freezer for?

annlee,

Yes I am a SAHM. Have 2 gals, aged 3+ and the other 11mths. Really tough to manage both kids as I am still pumping breastmilk for the small one ( cant get her to latch on). Planning to stop when she turns one. Quite lucky to have my mum and MIL to help on alternate days.

Read u joined a LV spree. I am also into LV bags...hehe...so which bag r u getting?

pinkbunny,
Your little gal is so adorable
Miss my gal being a newborn. babies grow so fast. Now my gal is coming to 1 already. Dun worry abt your milk supply. I find that pumping more frequently helps. Even if little milk, but over a week or 2 my milk supply will increase if I pump more frequently.

huskie,
After some training now I can cook 1 fish dish, 1 veg dish n 1 meat dish...of course besides the egg. However must learn more dishes else hubby and kids will get sick eating same old thing.

zzzcookiemonster,
Thanks for the welcome

wow this thread is very active now!!!

cookie
ya ya! i also get tingling in nnp when it's feeding/pumping time!!

choc
i took raspberry leaf tea all the way till i popped! a few times a week. closer to the end i took almost 4-5 times a week

featherstar
welcome! i think maybe the marinated meat for wantan can be stored but not the actual wrapped wantans? hehe not sure.

ann
my water bag didn't burst. it leaked! so no gush. just a trickle. kinda like when you get white discharge that kind of feeling. but it's more liquid and it's warm. no smell, no colour. then faster put on a maternity pad. at the delivery room i couldn't even feel the leak but the nurses came to change and i kept apologising haha

joy
holy grace at east coast? my brother went there. what do you want to know? - i can ask my mum

i need some help. think when CL leaves, i will cook my lunch for 2nd and 3rd month (so ambitious). weekends go marketing then freeze loads of soup stock then every lunch just take out one portion. i'll make chicken and pork bones stock cos they need longer to get flavoured, but ikan bilis i can just make on the day itself.

any simple recipes to share? pref no need frying one, just one dish meal kind so that got less washing up to do!

CL made meesua for me this morning and it was delish! i share with you guys:
from ikan bilis stock
throw in marinated (cornflour, sesame oil, soy sauce, pepper) pork slices (she used FAKE yeo bak/yao rou - waist meat - tastes the same but much cheaper)
then throw in mee sua* and prawns
then add egg and lastly, veg
when fire is off, you can also add in some wine (optional)

* if you want dish to be less salty, you can first blanche meesua in hot water, followed by wash with cold water before throwing into pot

Featherstar
Welcome. I will wrap the wanton skin in a plastic and follow by a layer of newspaper and can keep in the fridge for at least a week.

Elmo
Welcome to you too...ya, its not easy to manage esp kids are so young...but this phase will pass....ask huskie, she will agree.....

Pinkbunny
Ya, holy grace in east coast. How is the school?I did get some feedback but kind of research into it....

Chicken wings

Hey ladies,need help.... am trying to season my chicken wings for this sunday BBQ, nothing fanciful, just soya sauce, pepper, sugar, hua tian qiu.....can someone advise me on the portion to put for two packet of chicken wings...or two kg....I always season it and ended up not saltish or not tasty enough...thanksDid I miss out any additonal sauce in it>thanks again

Thanks for letting me know on how was water burst like!

Joy,
Where is Holy Grace kindergarten? Is it at Holy family church? Katong area?

cookie,
why you need to induce after the scan, still early right?
Forget abt the weight gain, eat more durian. Don't worry, everything will be fine. Actually I'm worry too..ha... read alot abt water burst and getting cramps aliitle pain and start wondering what will happen. Maybe blame it on hormone change and give me those imagination.

Abt Playhouse Disney Channel I find it good too. My younger son learn the classical music from Little Einstein. There's other cartoon channel but be careful better not to let ur son watch it. I regetted letting my elder son watch those cartoon like American Dragon, he follow what's on the TV, dragon kick and kicking the wall. Of course I banned him from watching all the fighting cartoon. You might wanna get Leapfrog DVD, I find it very useful. My boys learn phonic from there.

huskie,
wah...your took alot of stuffs for bf! Really thanks for your infor on all the boosting milk stuff.

Licorice=甘草, got the herbal store auntie to write down on it when purchasing them.

hey...my hb always dun feel good when he had too much meat, meat is so acidic. So normally I will give him as much veggies for dinner.

Ya...most Taiwanese prog is abit silly..sometimes I watch it when i want a good laugh.

Elmo,
You mean Louis Vuitton psree? No no...not that, actually we're talking abt Lucky Vitamin spree, where we can get vitamins or shampoo etc at a very good price, but the wait is long.

pinkbunny,
I always had that tingling sensation when milk is abt to come, if I just ignore it the milk will just spray out.

You eating prawns now?? Cannot leh... no seafood during confinement only fish and sea cucumber.

Joy,
Thanks for the info on wanton, I will try it this weekend.
For 2kg of BBQ chicken wings, I usually will put about 4 tbsp soy sauce (but i use low-salt one), a bit of mirin and some honey. My version is not salty also, more sweet. If I want strong taste, I skip the honey and put some five spice powder.

ann
you go to holy family church? i used to.

haha funny the way you say milk will just spray out. remind me of the robot girls in austin powers somehow

eh my CL cooked prawns for me leh! and the recipe book for confinement period also have leh. don't scare me!!!!!!!!!!

bbq chicken wings - when i put honey, it gets chao tar more easily! how to prevent that ah?

joy
ok i ask my mother. but the answer won't be quick hor!

What is your favourite style in dressing?Me ten years ago like this, now also no change....never change with age....I just bought a halter batik dress..just for casual shopping wear, cos no need to think, wear and go....

I also has got very bad habit in wanting to alter the dress to the exact fitting, never be able to wear the exact S size dress off the shelve, it hips is always too flare for me....

Huskie, I may not be able to bf my #3 as long as I want cos co's environment not very feasible for pumping. You're really amazing with bfg Soph!!!

Cookie, are you still working now? Maybe you shd take leave and rest at home, I feel that rest more will help bb to put on more wt.

Joy, hehehe... I'll be having bbq this Sat too but most prob we got caterer.

Ann, yes, I like Little Einstein too. Playhouse Disney is really gd.
My kids learn phonics from the Leapfrog DVD too.

Hello gals,

Joy, my kids are also down with fever.. think it's a very potent virus.. no cough , nothing.. so just kept drinking water, juices and probiotics..

My dressing style before pg and aft , will still be the same.. denim skirts with polo Ts or berms with Ts.. heehee.. easier to run around

For bbq chix wings, I'll normally aga aga the portion,.. a friend taught me to marinate with soy sauce, white and black pepper, sesame oil and oyster sauce. The longer you marinade , the more lu wei it is.. If you want to have it on the same day, got to add more salt to make it more tasty..

yah, agree with pbunny, sometimes with honey, the chix will be chao ta..

cookie, maybe you take pre natal leave to rest at home.. zzzz , eat eat eat , zzz.. then bb will absorb ?

Do you drink coffee? I was suspecting whether it was coffee that caused low birth wt.. read somewhere before.. but i still drink one cup in the morning..

wow, 37 weeks very fast liao.. then you'll see your little fellow.. so did your gyn hint you whether it's a lil' cookie monster or butter cookie ? heehee..

pbunny,
one of the soup i'll make is black chicken soup. Just chop half black chick, boil in ginger, red dates and wolfberries. Use it as a stock, cook mee sua in it or eat rice with it. Can add whatever wine you desire.. also add black fungus..

Also to compensate for not eating well in the day time, I'll double boil chicken essence once a week for myself.. til 2nd and 3rd monith

or else steam fish or chick , add some cut red dates and prefried ginger.. I find red dates good in boosting red blood cells..

or make claypot rice by dumping marinated chicken, mushrooms into brown rice..

multi grain porridge with pork ribs ,fish, chic drumstick, huai shan and peanuts. ( if not kiam enough, use bovril or marmite for flavouring)

Thanks for the mee sua recipe.. sounds easy leh..

Featherstar, how about marinating the meat and freeze them , batch by batch ? when want to eat, then wrap ? Have seen my sis freezing the wrapper.
I'm making batches of beef bolognaise to freeze them too

Gig, I just bought 2 boxes of durians from ntuc last night. Froze them and slowly eating them like ice cream.. My ang is anti durian, so can't eat when he's home

Have you gals tried the new Magnum ice cream ? It's very yummy but ex !

ccokie and ann,
Are your babies very active? Mine's always kicking.. non stop..

Elmo, I love kids when they are 3 or below, like yours.. hehe.. tho tiring, they are so adorable at that age!

Husk, how's your throat? Tried manuka honey or lime juice ?

Today inspired by ann, so ta pow nasi padang and the kids had wanton mee and chic rice.
Also boiled apple, carrot, figs, almond seeds, honey dates, pork rib soup.. These few days weather very erratic, rain and shine..

Giggler
What a coincident, but mine is on sunday.I have already catered for 30 pax but top it up with BBQ and some other food....BBq is for those people who wanna kill time.

Choc06

I hope your kid is just having a mild fever.
Thanks...I just got advice to buy mid joint instead of wings cos more meat and its better to buy in the market cos the mid joint is bigger than those sold in supermarket.

Mini skirt
I used to wear mini skirt or half long flare skirt, but lazy as got to match with top....so one piece go for me now....

Children
I think I like kids that are three years and above...easy to manage.They can understand better.
Huskie
I feel uneasy when sore throat set in.I will either go take powder with liang teh at the medical shop or take the western med, tolpa which is one step before antibiotic...heal almost one hour later.

For chicken wgs with honey, it's better to start bbqing when the fire is not too big yet, so that the skin wont burn so quickly and yet the meat inside still not cooked...
Yes agree, the longer you leave the marinate, the better the taste. My mum leaves her overnight in the fridge, and it is always very tasty!