Cooking Tips & Recipe

Choc,
The HK egg mold is Out of Stock.

Annelise,
Yes, PH sells big rectangular cake pan.You intend to make rectangular cake then cut into "1" shape?

You rice mold/stencil set is out of stock,but I managed to get the rice mold.

I bought these from the HK shop:

579040.jpg

Hey gals,
Just wanna let you know I tried out using baking soda for "choked" pipes, and it worked!
My sink was not totally choked, but just slow draining, maybe cos of all the exfoliant I use. So I tried using baking soda + hot water, and it's clear now! No need for those horrible stinky chemicals!
That "60 uses of Baking Soda" Van posted last time is for real

starry,
Woah, that place so impressive, sell to Fullerton? Stock must be quite wide!

Van,

You already went down to the HK shop? I tried finding the number from the net, but nothing is listed, not even chinatown point information counter's phone number.

Thanks for your email.

Hi annlee, thanks

Hi Van, what are the other Kitty stuff you bought - I can't quite make out from the pics? I was too distracted by my 2 girls running around in the shop that I couldn't take my time to look at all the merchandise! Have you received the HK cutter from the BP already? If you have, does the box have info on the manufacturer? Hee, we can try to track down the manufacturer and import the full range! Btw, my mum will be posted to Hong Kong for a month in March next year - can ask her to go to the baking supply shop to get the Kitty stuff

Hi starry and Sophie, thanks for giving me the contact. I'll check it out this weekend. My hb must be thinking I'm siao - suddenly keep wanting to go Chinatown! Baking soda really works for the sink? I have a whole bottle which has expired already - I shall experiment with it too!

Ambroisal,
I just PM you.

Annelise,
Ok,will post clearer pictures later.Too lazy to redcue the pictures 1 by 1 just now. I did a scrapbook page of the stuff I bought,list down the price in SGD/JPY, size and weight of packaging,so I thought I just use it.

Actually I could get all the stuff directly from Japan, but am still working out the cost.

Hooray! Is your mum willing to get those bakeware for you (and me???,please???
579159.gif
) and mail to us? I can track down the shops that sell those stuff.

I have got the cookie cutter from BP,but didn't checkout the packaging.Just noticed that the price in HK$ is HK49.00,and the BP price is S$14.90. Saw someone just started sellng at Yahoo for S$18.00!

Wow, I can see lotsa Hello Kitty's stuff here ;p Kids would be so excited to see their food in HK's shape!

Thanks for all your advice on breasts engorgement. I have stopped breast feeding liao. Now my breasts are back to normal and I won't be pumping to stimulate milk production. I know this is unfair for baby but my supply is really low and nipples are really sore from bb's suckling. So have the decision to stop it...at least now I can sleep better...

As for piles, gynae has prescribed some medication for me...am feeling slightly better now. Stitches should recover in a week's time.

Have engaged a malay lady to do post natal massage starting from today. The cloth that is wrapping around my tummy is really tight. Wonder if I can sleep well tonite..

Really hope confinement will be over soon...

Krisjoy,
Don't worry abt not breastfeeding.
U will have more time to play and care for baby, than spending time pumping.
If i remember correctly, fm is as good as bm. only main difference is the bm has got antibiotics but fm do not have any.
U enjoy yr massage. I usually take away the cloth after 3 hours, cos too tight very uncomfortable.
Enjoy yr confinement.

All the hello kitty stuff so cute and adorable!
felt like a small girl again, hoping to own all the cute little things.

Krisjoy,

i think too many ple obessed with the concept that BM is the best so we all must bf. (sorry if i offend anyone).

What i wan to say is as long as u did yr best and know what is best for u and yr baby, any decision to be made is just as great. it is your choice afterall , dun feel so bad ok?

like cookie mentioned more time to play and care for bb and u can rest more too. Happy mummy = happpy bb

Hi Van, you are very resourceful! I told my mum about the HK stuff when she was at my place earlier - I was so happy that she'll be going there, haha! I just hope she knows how to get around HK and tt her HK colleagues will be nice enough to help her. No prob getting stuff for you too - but I dun think I'll ask her to mail back, I'll prob try to save on cost and wait for her to carry it back with her luggage, okay? Depending on her accommodation arrangement, I may just bunk in with her during the March school hols and hunt down the HK stuff myself

How do you use the spatula-like metal HK thing? Do you put it in the oven to bake? Btw, if you use the mold for chocolate, try to buff the inside of the mold with a cotton ball first, it helps chocolate unmold more easily.

Hi cupcake, sorry I missed your earlier question about the pineapple cupcakes. The texture is supposed to be like cake - maybe you need to make sure that the pineapple cubes didn't have too much syrup, can try to drain out as much liquid as possible before mixing in. Mine didn't turn out very oily, maybe just a little too sweet.

Hey gals,
Can I ask a silly question again?

I'm in my 26th week now, and sometimes feel my tummy hardening - like something pushing outwards, then sometimes one side will be hard and the other side soft, and sometimes tummy look lopsided, but my bellybutton still soft.
Is this the baby or is it Braxton Hicks contractions?

Van,
Cold Storage sells Arm & Hammer? Good... I've been looking for this brand for a long time. Eh, they stock it at baking section or detergent section, do you remember?

Krisjoy,
Good to know you are feeling more relaxed and piles also getting better. I'm now trying to eat more liang stuff to prevent piles from getting worse, cos no matter how much fibre I eat, I still get it! Sometimes after sitting for too long, it comes out, so I guess mine is serious liao!

Don't worry about bf - I agree with cookiemonster and starry... most impt is you made the decision for yours and baby's best interest

cookie monster, twinklestar and sophie,
Thanks for your encouragement!

Sophie,
U always hv the piles problem? Can I ask u a question huh - how do u seat on the chair? Do u need a float?

Hi Ambrosial, I just sent you a mail

Hi Sophie, sounds like it's your baby stretching himself
For Braxton Hicks the whole tummy goes hard and round like a ball.

Hi Van, I saw this at Daiso Plaza Singapura:
579436.jpg

The ebay shop selling for USD 3.99!

Hi Krisjoy, I agree with the gals here happy mummy = happy baby

annelise,
I missed out one part of your posting,that your mum will be posted to HK for 1 month only, so don't have to mail back!
579441.gif
.Still a few more months to March, I should be able to list out the addresses of the baking supplies shops and the maps for you.
579442.gif

The metal pan is for cakes "bake" over stove.I saw the 'end products" of such cakes and came across the recipes before.Will try it out then let you know the result.

What do you mean by using cotton ball to buff the mold?

Actually I was at the HK shop for total of 30min only, still mananged to buy lots of stuff.The lady kept recommending lots of stuff, even showed me HK aluminium foil and ziplock bags, I got to tell her that I only want stuff that can be kept for long/re-used.

Krisjoy,
Glad to hear from you. Like what others said, don't feel discouraged about stopping the breastfeeding.You know what's the best decision for you and your baby. I only BF for 1month, as maternity leave at my time is only 2 months,got to wean my dd off before I got back to work.
579443.gif

Sophie,
The tummy's loopsided, one side hard,one side soft is probably just your baby moving and stretching.
579444.gif
579445.gif

I got the baking soda from baking section.

Hi Van

Hubby got back from HK yesterday and bought me two boxes of wing wah and one box of kee wah...Having tried both, agreed with you that kee wah is not so sweet but I find that wing wah is still more fragant and it would be perfect if its less sweet...

Packaging, kee wah has a nicer packaging...in terms of calories, think wing wah is less....

Krisjoy,
I don't always have this piles problem... it happened during the pregnancy, around the 4th-5th month onwards.
I think also too heaty, cos friends who have piles problem tell me that when they get too heaty, the piles start to "emerge". So now I am starting to drink green tea everyday... it's liang... and wondering if I should drink barley too. Dont' think my body will have a problem takign liang stuff, cos I can feel my throat getting really hot all the time, no matter how much water I drink, and if I drink any lesser water that day, I start to feel the onset of a sore throat.
Now I don't sit... I try to lie down on my left side all the time, even when watching TV. If I really have to sit at the computer, I try to sit like Jap kneeling position on my chair so butt is lifted, or I just place one foot under my butt.
Also doing "sphincter" exercise, basically the same as Kegels, but using anal muscles instead, cos this will help increase blood circulation to that area.
Cham lah... if I don't fix this problem now, I think it will be very jialat after I have given birth! I don't even dare to think about it!

Van,
Thanks for info on baking soda. I'll go check out baking section at Cold Storage.

Annelise, Van,
Thanks for info on the tummy... now I am more reassured!

krisjoy

You may want to check out pharmacy for the pile bullet, I think its call m something...very effective.I had pile for the two pregnancy after delivery...very bad but this medicine worked very well and no need prescription.

hi, krisjoy,
yes, agree with all, most important is you and bb is happy, bf or not is ok. how's the malay massage? I heard it's very nice but I never tried it.

can't wait for confinement to end hor, how many more days to go? keke...

sophie, you really got to solve the problem...I got serious constipation after birth and you remember to ask for the medi(those bullet joy747 mentioned) for poo poo when in hospital...i regret didn't had that when in hospital and back home really suffer...

about ur baby...maybe his doing somersault..kekeke...no lah...think his stretching or moving to a corner

joy747, kee wah egg roll is nice hor...my hb bought 2 tins and only me and my ds1 eating them...

van, need some advise from you.... how do you enrol for your dd primary school, eg do you really need to join the school as a volunteer? I've check the balloting categories at MOE website but how does it goes like doing volunteer or if we stay near the school abot 3 km so my ds will sure get into the school? Thanks!

annlee

I enjoyed wing wah more....

Regarding school. It depends on how popular the school that you are going for. Usually parent need to clock 40 hours and its better to join the volunteer group earlier. There is no guarantee that a kid when volunteer for the service. It depends on the demand and supply of the vacancy. First piority under phase 2b, that is grass roots, association and parent volunteer.will go to those stay within 1km radius, then, 2km, then, more than 2km radius. Regarding the radius, you can call the school and check with the school. If fall under 3km, it will be under the last one, which is more than 2km radius.

Hope this help.

Anyone got great tips to get rid of ants? recently i saw more ants around the house especially kitchen area. Every yr end i hv more such 'visitors'. sigh!

annlee,
Hee, for the baby moving to the corner, at first I thought only the right side of my uterus is contracting, that's why I got kan cheong! Then Annelise said contractions means the whole tummy bunch up, plus yours and Van's reassurance, so now feel more relieved - now just imagine this baby likes to squeeze into corners like my cats!

Yeah lor, I must nip this problem in the bud now!
Today even called my grandma to ask her how - she told me can try to drink and eat barley, but told me to buy the "yang yi mi" which is the smaller kind, not the large Chinese type.
Surprisingly, she also told me to take apple, pear and orange juice.
So I'll go Hock Hua later to buy the barley and try it tonight, cos my throat feels constantly hot.
I'll remember to ask doc for the suppository (bullet) after delivering

Sunsweet,
Thanks for the website - that's one of my fav websites for checking out the good food locally too

joy747, thanks for the information on the school...now my hb abit kan cheong looking for one for my ds1...

never try wing wah before...can get from the airport?

twinkle, recently I got some naughty visitors too...I bought those ants killer from sheng shiong, cheap and good. But ants will still come back...just put some of it when ants is back

annlee,
My dd registed under phase 2A1,because of my hb's old school connection with the school,we are fortunate that we didn't have to go through the stress of balloting.
580398.gif

Would suggest you go through MOE's website to "study" how hot your desired school is. I monitored the vacancies at difference phases during the past two years' registration period. From there can tell whether the school is hot,is likely to need balloting,how high is your chance, and also decide whether you need to do volunteer work.

http://www.moe.gov.sg/esp/schadm/p1/availablevacancies.htm

Some schools have over supply of volunteers, they turned over new,interested partens,some school need parents to committ more than 40hrs.For really hot schools,some children might still not be able to get in even though their parent did voluntary work.My friend's boss had such bad experience.

As for balloting usually those within 1km have better chances, followed by 2km. Some hot schools would even advise those staying more than 2km away to look for other schools.

Joy,
My hb flying Hk today.This time round never ask him to buy egg roll liaoz.Still haven't finsihed my tin of Wing Wah egg roll, even though I gave half tin to my neighbour.But the egg white roll was finishing fast,it's much lighter than then egg roll.

Annlee,

i bought the ant killer fm NTUC, sometime it works and at times it din. maybe the 'visitors' know the stuff liao. ha ha ha

Van
Maybe I am so used to wing wah taste....

Hubby going to beijing tomolo and already got him shopping list.

Today deanna last day of school....finally ...

Thanks for answering my questions. Din log in for awhile and there are so many beautiful cupcakes pics. Really makes me drool.
Sorry but I have another stupid question...wat the meaning of 'fold in the flour'? can use mixer at low speed?

I bought a bottle of Pomergranate juice+grape juice,taste quite good but super sweet...read some where that pomergranate contains very high vit C.

Van, thanks for the infor!! Will let my hb know about it.... your dd very heng...can get into the school easily...

twinkle, wah... the ants so smart huh...

Joy747, thought the school end tomorrow?

Annlee

Her school ends 1 day early for lower primary.Come to think of it, she has got so many unoffical holidays from the school this year...a very relaxing year.

Hey twinkle, having the same problem as you .. ANTS in my kitchen these few days ! Used the ant bait( biscuit crumb like kind), but didn't help.. Now I am using Baygon..

Hey Soph, yah.. agree with the rest.. it's your little one playing in your womb..

Yesterday I made your avocado prawn salad minus the beetroot(cos I forgot to buy), my sis helper helped to make the dressing, it was VERY GOOD.. so ladies out there, if you like alfafa.. this salad is refreshing..

Thanks soph, for the recipe.. any other salad you inventing ?

Hi Kris, don't fret over the BF.. must rest well and eat well and bu your own body so you have energy to play with bb..

Hey annlee, I actually walked into the sch to fill in the forms for parent volunteer.. or maybe you can call them before hand and they'll tell you when to come .. You are very wise to do the volunteer now, I was too late for my dd1, the sch had enough vol liao !sigh !

hey van, my ang also in HK now..

Choc,

i dare not use Baygon leh cos i m preparing my bb food there too. so i use water and wipe cloth to wipe away lor

Hey twinkle, the baygon is the ant bait, not the spray kind, sorry din't explain properly.. The ants will supposedly go into the trap to eat the food..and mati.. Like what you mention, nowadays, the ants are very "crever"..

Joy, I feel like using fire too.. but some are at the edge of my cabinets.. So, I put some pandan leaves there, it helped a bit

Choc,
Glad you like the salad! Avocado is power food for bf mums

No new "inventions" at this moment

Haha, I'm too busy trying to "cure" my piles problem... today finally resorted to making barley + tau kee dessert, cos my grandma says barley will be cooling.
Hope it works in cooling down my body. My throat feels soooo hot that I feel like swallowing ice!

annlee,
I see pomegranate in supermarkets nowadays - it's probably the season. I also read in my juice book that it's very nutritious, but dunno how to eat cos so many seeds?

Joy,
Burn ants? Aiyoh, I scared of your MIL leh!

My old great aunt uses a chalk and draws on her wall, then the ants don't cross that line - dunno why? Cos I observe before... the ants just turn back!

Choc,
I tried another way to eat alfafa in a quick way - I put a bunch on my toast and top it up with a slice of cheese, stuff into oven toaster to melt the cheese.
Quick fix to get the nutrition out of alfafa + chesse got calcium

Plus once the cheese melts onto the alfafa, the raw taste is not too bad, so maybe can "trick" kids to eat it?

sophie, how come your throat so bad?

oh yes...alfafa very healthy...I'll take lotsa alfafa from salad bar when having lunch at sizzler.

My grandma used to grow pomergranate and when I'm a kid I use to eat them...lotsa seeds and got to put lotsa them in the mouth to suck the little juice out...quite tiring too hee..

choc, thanks...will let my hb to do hee..

Choc,

Sorry for missing out your post to me.
kao_shy.gif

Don't buy the vcds because i have the full set of the highly acclaimed windsor pilates videos.Will email or MSN you the videos maybe over the weekend? Do I have your email address?

My Hello Kitty Pancake.

Taste Ok,smell good. My dd loves it,she ate six pieces at one go. But...the look failed! The Kitty and friends all having "pigmentation" problem.
580989.gif
Need more practice to get the timing and "fire strength" right.

580990.jpg

Sophie,
I read about this method of usingchalk to deter ants before,and did try it out.I once drew a circle using chalk around my pot of green bean soup and really no ants crawl near it.

Have you gals tried the frozen CP brand Mexican Wings? It's actually chicken drummets,about 7-8pcs in a pack. It's nice!

If you are craving for deep fried chicken wings but didn't want to deep fry till the kitchen is so oily, can try this.Just need to put it in the oven/oven toaster to heat up.It's a little spicy, but my dd still loves it.

choc,
the bait ya i think i seen it b4.

Joy,
burn ants i dare not leh.

Sophie ,
chalk method i heard of it but hor generally in kitchen tough leh, the ants will go round and round

Van,
CP wings is nice and handy for 'rainy' days when i run out of food.

Ambrosial,
Eating papaya only helps constipation, but not piles itself if already having. Of course not having constipation will then not put pressure on the piles to pop out, but in my case, sometimes sitting for too long, they will also come out.
Piles are basically varicose veins but at rectum area, so now I am doing yoga exercises to see if it helps in blood circulation and strengthening the muscles there.

annlee,
Dunno why so heaty leh... I went to Hock Hua today to buy barley and bird's nest - even the guy was surprised that I was so heaty! He mentioned something about the liver being overactive or something, then will become so heaty. I came home checked my "Indian" Natural Remedy PDF, and it also says the same thing about liver under "Piles"!
I think if by tomorrow still no good, I'll go back to the Ma Kuang TCM on Sat, see if she can recommend me any "natural remedies" but I don't wanna eat Chinese medicine cos now preggie.

Van,
Your "pigmented" Hello Kitty still looks good! Haha, just need a bit of concealer or IPL treatment next time!

Pancake inside got "liao" like red bean or not?

Van, twinkle,
Heee... yep, chalk method only works like in Van's case dun want ants to go to some pot... eh, ants go round and round, then just wipe them up with a wet paper towel and throw them away? I always do that, but somehow still got a few stubborn ones around... maybe need to find their nest!

I like this dish.It's got my favourite quail eggs and prawn and very simple to prepare.But don't know what is Dou4 Fen3?! Proably just replace it with corn flour will do? I have seen a modified versioin of this dish, using Wanton Skin to wrap the whole thing up, become quail egg siew mai.

581180.jpg

Sophie,
my pan cake doesn't have any liao, it's too tiny to put in liao.I may try replacing the water pandan coconut milk,or adding some cocoa powder next time, think will taste good!