Cooking Tips & Recipe

Joy,
Did you receive my sms?

<font size="+1">Update from Krisjoy:</font>

570359.gif
She has given birth to her princess at 1pm today,normal delivery with vacuum. Gynae inserted the pilll last night to induce, this morning then broke her water bag. Baby's weight is 3kg.

570360.gif
570361.gif

<font size="+1">Update from Starz:</font>

570362.gif
Ayden is discharged from hospital already.Will be visiting PD tomorrow to assess his jaundice level.

Van,

I was using Clarins Total Body Lift.Which one are you using?I understand Clarins also has cream in a jar version, which supposedly works better.When I was using it, my legs are quite skinny.After I stopped, they went back to normal.

Anyway, I find you very slim leh!

Amelia,
I have been using the Body Lift for a few years already.Tried Christian Dior,Loreal and Biotherm before, but didn't like it,so stay with Clarins. I have also bought the cream in a jar recently, only use it on the tummy and waist,but sometimes skip it, too lazy...!

Hey, did I ready wrongly? <font size="+1">skinny???</font>,bo leh! I just feel good psychologically using it, but didn't notice that it will make my leg skinny.
570366.gif

Did you use their recommended massaging method? I didn't.May be that's why the effect is not good on me??

Just saw your appended msg....tonight cannot sleep liaoz, or may be will be smiling in my dream! I just found out that a few pcs of my pants too tight liaoz...But still thank you for making me feel good, though I know I am not...heehee!

Choc,
yr dh easy to maintain and satisfy leh.
my dh is 'tam jia' and he likes all those brownie, muffin, ice cream etc.
Yr girls very 'tie xin' will say things like 'miss yr baking and enjoy yr cakes'. Very sweet.

Krisjoy,
Congratulations!
Rest as much as u can.

Van and amelia

Thanks for the info. I will try it out and let you gals know did I get it finally....

Krisjoy
Congrats....

Starz
Yeah...baby is coming home...right...take care....

Krisjoy, congrats!!

sophie, I'm super busy now and yesterday was so sick, lying on the bed most of the time,luckily my mum came and help me to take care of my boys....just send off my new maid and feel like I'm cheated from the agency that give me a totally no experience one and I've to redo what she has done doing double job cos she mess up my house...I mean she suppose to clean but dirty my house instead so got to send her off immediately to avoid more problems from her.

Will try and come in here when I'm free... take care everyone....and sophie I like your burger,I've lost weight from all the problems I'm facing now and that healthy burger is just good for me hee....

Van,

I followed their recommended massaging method and did quite a bit of walking throughout the day.Have to apply consistently to see the results.

Haha! You're slim mah!

Krisjoy,
CONGRATS!!!

Joy,
For Irfanview, you can download from CNET, should be pretty quick cos it's a really light application, as in, it doesn't use up much memory.
After you finish downloading, you can just "run" it to install the application.

For taking pictures, I normally use a "medium" setting with my Canon. Each pic is about 800KB to 1MB. Then I'll use Irfaqnview "Edit" mode to crop my image, then resize it e.g. at 50% of orginal size. Once pic is small, your resolution will also decrease. Then when you save it, there'll be a popup window asking you what resolution you'll like to save as i.e. Best or Low. You can choose low if it still doesn't go below 50kb. I have used low before, and it still turns out nice on the forum.

Van,
How come you need to use those creams?
You don't need that!

annlee,
Oh no, take care of yourself!

krisjoy,
congrats! rest well and enjoy holding yr bb...

annlee,
oh, dear, u so poor thing, get well soon and take care ya.

Sophie

Thanks and I will walk thr the site later....

Party Buffer Set
Hey, did anyone invest a good set as in come with the warmer?I used to see it in isetan during hari raya season that there was a good sale...not anymore...anyone knows where to get?thanks

Just wanna check with you mums anyone knows what is the name of the shop in chinatown that sells lots of cookware...thanks

Hey girls,

I've changed my nick so I can post more about myself without worrying.

Krisjoy,

sp,

Where are you?Will like to ask you about KL's shopping and food.
Heard the place changed quite a bit.

Annlee,

What a nightmare!You have any family members to help you out in the meantime?

Joy,

Sia Huat.

hi Ambrosial,
I feel a bit weird calling yr new nick, keke.

Shopping in KL is good! Locals like myself like to go to Mid Valley City or 1 Utama. Ikea and The Curve is near 1 Utama.

Starhill and Lot 10 in Bukit Bintang area is for higher end shoppers, myself hardly go there. BB Plaza &amp; Sungei Wang is lower end and got lots of fashionable trendy stuffs, quite shiok to look see if you don't mind the crowd.

Food ah, hmm, maybe u tell me what u wanna eat, see whether I got any idea where is good, hehe. Hawker food I like PJ SS2 and Petaling Street area, hehe.

sp,

Sorry for changing my nick.Would like to post more about myself before, but felt restricted by my previous nick.

Is the shopping cheaper than in SG?How much is the Levis there?Think I missed many areas when I was there about 5 years back.

I love all types of food.What do locals there love to eat?OK, will check out the hawker food areas you recommended.

Hello everybody!

aiyoh really can't catch up liao...

congrats krisjoy! hehe 8/nov was my original EDD but my boy pop on 23/Oct.
He is really inpatience when he is hungry, i think the whole neighbourhoood will know when he want MILK...

Lynn, guess i am taking over the 'moo' job plus i think i am like 'pig' also... eat, sleep and feed baby...
I didn't do TBF, so half formula half BF. After BF must top with formula. Then sometime after BF, formula, trying to get him to sleep he still 'left, right, left, right' finding nipples! aiyoh not sure becos when i gave birth was too hungry so when he come out he only think of FOOD.

Btw any good recommendation for buffet caterer ? preparing for first month celebration.

Hi Meow, time to give pacifier liao.. hehe.. I gave mine when bb was 2 wks old.. now aft he's full, he'll suck pacifier for a while and kun..

CONGRATS KRIS, TAKE CARE !

Ambrosial, very cute name leh !
I tried Elancyl tummy cream last time on my tummy, it did help.. when I asked the pharmacist, she says better not as the cream will go into the bloodstream..This cream contains caffeine ..

Hey annlee, take care.. Was thinking about getting a maid to try out too but scared..

sorry very busy recently. wu shi bu deng san bao dian. I need help. My overseas visitors want to eat chilli crab . Do u gals know where is nice and also convenient to get back to the hotel by cab. We hv abt 20 ple

LittleCat,
Yr boy's action so cute lah, kekeke...

Choc,
When can u start eating hum again? hehehe...

Ambrosial,
Shoes and fashion clothes are cheaper in KL, but Levi's Red tab last I checked was years ago at RM300+ sooooooo ex. Think u check out all the prices in S'pore first, then when u come here u'll know whether got cheaper or not, hehe. Sorry can't help much.

The Curve is new, 5 yrs ago not exist, keke.

Locals here like to eat unhealthy food, we very terrible one, we like roti canai (u call it prata), nasi lemak, mee goreng at those mamak shops. Beware of eating fried seafood at those shops, they'll chop yr head with their high prices, hehe.

As for chinese hawker food, pretty much anything goes, u may want to try our wan ton mee dry which is black in colour, also fried kueh teow, prawn mee, etc.

There are plenty of those HK "char chan ting" popping up all over the place esp in shopping centres, Kim Gary is popular. Remember to bring enough RM cash as they don't accept credit card &amp; their prices are not cheap.

When u coming? Let me know lah, maybe can meet u, hehhe.....

SP,
1 Utama got lots of nice food right? i used to go to the restaurants there last mth when i visit my office there.

sp,
Never heard of The Curve before... is it like Mid-Valley Mall so big?
The last time we wanted to get to Mid-Valley, was on the opposite side of the mall, then miss some turn, ended up on some flyover that was going to take us to Kuantan I think... haha, the roads there are a challenge!

I also like Sungei Wang, sometimes can find very cheap bargains! I remember getting a pair of sequinned slippers for only RM12, and so compfy too!
I love the makan there too...

LittleCat,
You're very funny! Give birth that time hungry so baby is now always hungry?

For catering, just don't do Mum's Kitchen. They have standard 1-mth celeb package, but the ang ku kuehs and glutinous rice not nice. And food also not nice. My sis just used them 2 mths ago, so that's my verdict.

Ambrosial,
You're going KL? It'll be fun!
I used to like to take coach to KL with friends, then just shop and eat. And along the way, can eat Ramly burger too

Twinkle,
For chili crabs, if we're going for something more high class, I used to take my US colleagues to Jumbo at Riverside or Riverwalk... they like the view and ambience by the river.
For those other colleagues from Asia who are more adventurous and wanna eat super-local types, I take them to the AMK crab soup kopitiam... but I think some angmohs will be shocked at the hygiene standards there!
Both places not so easy to get cabs, esp now rainy season. How about chartering a mini bus? Think it'll cost about the same as 5 cabs esp. inclu peak charges.

Sophie,

My boss dun like Jumbo leh. take cab better bcos they can claim mah as part of their trips

initially was thinking No.3 crab but hor i never try b4

twinkle,
No. 3 crab? hmmm... never heard before.
How come your boss don't like Jumbo? Hehe, my boss prefers AMK to Jumbo only cos it's cheaper, so if local branch is paying and we are tight on budget that month, then AMK

But seriously, Jumbo standards dropped a lot too.

How about the other restaurants at East Coast Recreation Centre? Those Xiao Hong Lou or got a few others i think?

Sophie,

i like xiao hong lou but not sure the std still the same or not. We also frequent hwa you hui ( i think it is how it is called in Chinese)bcos she like it there. btw she is Ang Moh.

i heard No.3 crab is at Outram and cook crab in many diff ways.

Ambrosial,
Not used to your new nick leh! But if the change is for you to talk more about yourself, then ok ok,will remind myself not to type Amel...
571588.gif

So for a start, ... You mentioned you walk a lot throughout the day,you job requires you to walk a lot ?

Choc,
I have asked the music teacher, it's ok to choose Lavender Blue(with both treble clef) as long as the other one has treble and bass.

Sophie,
I do think I really really need those creams for the cellulite and layers of fats I have, even though I am not very convinced of the results, but psychologically still think it should work.
571589.gif

Actually,i suspect it's not so much of the cream, but more of the massaging with the cream.

annlee,
Very Siong huh, the new maid so bad?! New,inexperienced Indonesian ones are usually like that, some really will make us vomit blood.

My friend always have to take 1 whole week's leave just to train the new maid, even the experienced ones.

twinkle,
How about No Signboard? They have a branch at Geylang and another at National Stadium?!

twinkle,
My friends and I like both their white pepper crab and chilli crab.We used to go to their very first stall at Race Course hawker centre, then a coffee shop in race course area, then the West Coast branch and the Geylang branch.

Now only left two branches?

Van ,

now only 2 branches and i find the roadside branch is better than the stadium one.

Talking abt food now i very hungry liao. no lunch today cos i rush to take my son to the doctor.

twinkle,
Sorry, no more ideas on crab places liao

Van,
Yes, sometimes I also think the massaging works.... I think after all the massaging, your arms will also become firmer, cos I remember using the Clarins and Dior Svelte last time, then arms ache like mad!
But I understand what you mean by feeling good using it - sometimes even if the effect is only very slight, it's the psychological effect... like me with skincare

Choc,

Minute amounts will be absorbed into the bloodstream, like 0.00something percent.Question is whether this percentage is able to cause any harm.

sp,

Thanks for the info.

Levis so exp in Msia?!The particular range I am looking at is 139.50sgd.

Don't worry, I also love unhealthy food.Nasi Lemak and Mee Goreng feels pretty healthy to me hehe! I have fast food at least once a week.

I will be going KL around jan/feb.Will PM you when we've confirmed the dates.

Sophie,

Feel like buying those sequinned slippers too!

I'm going KL for food and shopping.You tried M'sia's Ramly Burger?How's it?

Van,

No car so have to walk

We have the same major, but am not persisting in this field.Have started applying to more "vibrant" and "creative" jobs.Will update or email you when I get shortlisted kekeke..

choc, i did give pacifier... but also scare like my elder one till now still ask for pacifier if is sleeping at auntie house, at home here i dun allow. Already 4 still take, so malu!

Sp, he really 'kiri-kanan-kiri'.. now even the maid or the CL carry he also turn and hoping to find...

Sophie, the auntie's fren also say the same aiyoh.. dun know true or not lor... cos giving birth time i only think of when can finish so i can go makan :p

Chilli crab, my hb said No sign board or Jumbo.

LittleCat,Choc,
I have never given pacifier to my dd, no comfort pillows and toys as well.

LittleCat,
I saw the website of the Melrose caterer that your mentioned.Very comprehensive,has got everything.You heard/read good reviews about them?

Sophie and Krisjoy, you may want to consider that if the reviews are good, cos they have glutinous rice, ang ku kueh and red eggs as well as cakes and buffet.

Ambrosial,
wow, I am very very very curious and kaypoh, what creative and vibrant jobs you are looking for leh?! Heard to get good news from you soon!Good Luck to You!

I also thought of switching line, still exploring the possibilities.

Sophie,
My friend whose sis is in Beauty business told me pinching the fats at the tummy area is more effective then massaging.I read an article about that method in Chinese newspaper as well.

Ambrosial,
Nothing can beat Malaysia's Ramly Burgers!
I just ate one the day before yesterday at the pasar malam at my place... not even close to the lousiest one I tried in Malaysia!
Must eat when you're there, OK?

You have to walk a lot for your job? Walking is good exercise... I love walking!

LittleCat,
I heard some pple say pacifier cannot take too much and till too old? That's it'll affect the jaw formation? A friend of mine took till Primary School last time, and she's got quite a big overbite. None of her family members have overbite, and she said it's due to pacifier.

Haha, I must try to think like you during labour, then probably will be easier to get it over with!

Van,
Pinching? OUCH!
I always pinch my hubby's love handles... haha, next time he complains, I'll tell him I'm actually doing him a favour!

Melrose is good? Will check out their website... LittleCat, must tell us which one you using and whether caterer is good!

Van,

I'm looking for jobs that are not too desk-bound or "dead"...quite open to anything...not restricting myself.What are you thinking of doing?

Sophie,

Just normal daily walking...nothing too special.

starry,
yep, 1 Utama got lots of nice food! Yum! how long were u at the office there?

sophie,
The Curve is smaller than Mid Valley, it feels pretty "spacious" as not many ppl go there. There are also many makan places there, hehe.

Wow, our roadside Ramly burger is so good ah? Keke!

LittleCat,
yr son sounds like my son, want to suckle to sleep, hehehe. At first we give him pacifier he don't like, then slowly he accept, then one day the pacifier lost but he also ok.

Ambrosial,
Wish you good luck with yr job search!

Finally managed to come in. Wow so many postings, difficult to keep up sometimes.

CONGRATS KRISJOY on the arrival of your beautiful baby!!!

Re: pacifier
I sometimes wonder if I made a mistake not giving it. I have talked to a mom whose boy is on pacifier and she said that its more hygienic than shoving dirty hands into their mouth. Sounds logical. But more importantly, I kinda regret not giving cos she now needs my breast to sleep!!! Difficult to wean off.
Chk with mommies here, do u hit ur child when they are naughty?? I tried not to (I m quite quick tempered esp after a sleepless nite of crying) but sometimes really cannot control. After that always regret cos she cry until so pitiful. But she dun seems to understand 'No'...its more like a game to her. I said 'No' to running on the bed cos she will fall off the edge (my mattress on the floor) or hit the wall but she will scream when I carry her off. hiaz, sama for touching electrical switches.

Oh another question. more for annelise cause she posted the pineapple cupcake recipe but perhaps other mommies can answer . Is the inside suppose to be a little gooey or fluffy like cakes? Mine came out slightly gooey but the top is already brown. The cupcake din rise either and is abit on the oily side. Did I do something wrong?

SP,
only a few days. I used to station there for 6mths sometime back but our office was in Petaling then.

Little Cat,
my son recently wake up in the night crying, then give pacifier he will go back to sleep. He only take pacifier when he want to sleep. Now i also worry and trying to wean him off it. So far no luck.

Ambrosial,
Good luck in your job search!

littlecat,
I wanted to reply yesterdya.. read halfway.. :p
I used Purple sage for full month buffet. It's good if you are looking for something different. Not the normal "char bee hoon" "char png" kind of food...
Their decoration is nice

cupcake,
u r not alone, my 15 mth old boy still wants to suckle to sleep! I'm already dried up but he still wants, really don't understand him. Lucky thing is, if I'm not around, other ppl can still put him to sleep.

I got the same kind of problem with my cup cakes as I'm using a toaster oven and the temp can't be controlled and always too hot. Mine the top brown/ burnt, inside gooey, bottom very oily.

As for didn't rise, maybe due to over-beating the batter or put aside too long before put into oven to bake? I've made these 2 mistakes before and my cup cakes didn't rise.

Choc,
Thanks for info on the beet the last time. I julienned them and add them to my Avocado Prawn Salad for lunch today

572554.jpg

lyn,
Other than decor, is Purple Sage food good?

Thanks for the info, Ambro ! Today went to check it out at Watsons, they have no idea whether it's bf safe.. very tempted to buy cos of my flabby tummy

Eh sp, haven't got a chance to eat hum leh... Will PIGOUT when I have chance ! Thinking about the wanton noodles in KL.. very black and delicious !

Soph, you really made me drool over your salad lah !How did you dress your salad ? I must make your salad next week !

YO ANNELISE, where are you ? Busy baking izzit ?

Hey meow, now my bb doesn't really want pacifier.. he's into sucking his fist.. until his face is wet..
For my dds, they had their pacifier until 2 and I asked them to throw it into the dustbins themselves, and rewarded them with something..

Choc,
For the cream, better play safe till after bf is over lah...

For the dressing, I boiled the prawns with shells in just a little bit of water, so I used that same prawn water and added abit of grated ginger, lime juice, olive oil, sesame seeds, a little soy sauce to taste and ground black pepper. More like an Asian dressing which is quite a nice change from the usual creamy type.

Heh, your baby so cute, suck the whole fist until face is wet?

Soph, you really creative in the salad dressing !Have you been burying yourself in cookbooks ? Have you considered teaching Home econs or be a food nutritionist ?

Yah.. sometimes this little one will suck his fist so loudly that he produces a "zu4 zu4" sound..

Sophie,
I ABSOLUTLELY love your YUMMILICOUS salad! I used to order from Delifrance very often, their green salad with addtional prawns and avocado toppings.Now I think they no longer have that?!
572943.gif

Choc,
Haha, zu4 zu4 sounds are cute! Did you videocam them? Can use your digital camera short videoclip function to do it... I'll definitely make it and save the clips in a CD to be put in BaBy Journal

Eh, I got lots of cookbooks (my hobby in collecting them!), but no, this one I just made it up myself. Watched 1 episode of Martha Stewart challenge where they made salad dressing to sell, and I remember they added lime juice and grated ginger, so I just added it to the "prawn water", else prawn water so sweet, very sayang to throw away!

I thought about food nutritionist before, but the course is very expensive... I saw the advert for the course from Kansas Uni in Mind Your Body sometimes, but cannot afford it now

Van,
Yep, I think Delifrance no longer serve that! Their salads are more expensive now that they upgraded themselves to bistro-style. My bro had the Caesar salad that day for $7.90, and not much liao. Swensens is pretty good for their Caesar... they even take the trouble to put dressing aside, but my hubby still thinks homemade Caesar dressing is better than the ones sold outside cos thicker and creamier. PS Cafe at Paragon serves GREAT Caesar, but super-exp at $17+ for a small portion... not worth it!

hi ladies...

Congrats Krisjoy!!! hope to see ur princess' photos soon...

thanks for all e concern n advise on ayden's jaundice.. he's now in e cot beside me now...

sorry, now my brain is all baby ayden only...
just want to "clarify" abit.. some of u mention tat even though ur babies got breastmilk jaundice, u all still persisted in giving total breastmilk??? then how long did it take for baby's jaundice level to go down? i reli want to continue total breastfeeding, as i had plenty supply... but worry it will do more harm than good.... very vexed..

i'm alternating between formula and breastfeed now.. am abit afraid tat he'll get used to e "convenience" of e bottle n be lazy at my breast next time... but ayden's jaundice level went up again during yesterday's check-up.. its at 13.8...

thanks ladies... hopefully i'll settle down soon with ayden, n will have more time to drop by here...
saw all e yummy food pics, esp e healthy food by sophie... hehehe.. dont think i'll be doing any baking in e near future liaoz....

take care n nitez nitez...
kao_byebye.gif

I'm new to the thread. Could anyone advise me how to make steam egg for 3 person. I would like to use 3 eggs, but not sure how much water I should add. Also, should I use small or big fire? Should I cover with the lid completely when steaming? Thanks...