Childless Not By Choice Group

Tigi, i have cooked herbal soups this and last weekend with the thermal pot. But for herbal soup, i will cook over fire for 1 hour before transferring to the thermal pot to let it continue the cooking process.
But for japanese curry, i cook over fire for just 10 mins and transfer to the outer pot. the potatoes and carrots all turn out very soft and good.
Will try non herbal soup next weekend to see how it taste.

rostrum, hope you cheer up ... n be well as you recovers ... crying is ok when it does make you better...

gan, just sharing i got pcos... n according to a book i read, i need to avoid cooked potatoes n carrots because they can cause blood sugar to spike...

Hey Tigi thanks for telling me, i didn't know this and i like to eat carrots.
Based on my last D2 BT, I may have PCOS. Will cut down these food from my diet in future.

Rostrum, i know... actually gtg forum to update when u r cycling can put additional stress to urself mentally...

Tigi, pcos usually very sensitive to ivf sitmulations which is good lor... i m opp not sensitive to sitmulation...

lyn, my soiui uses 125 iu puregon already, dr zou looks surprise n i thinks she comment high side .... pco prone to insulin resistance, diabetes, heart diseaes..... i scare for my health... maybe not now but couple years down the road...

hey ladies,
sorry. went missing for a while. A bit depress last week.. i met that fren of mine. 2 days in a row.. then i went to visit my gd fren's wife who just delivered. then his wife keep telling me next time when i preg must do this and that.. and i keep wondering in my mind... when will that ever happen.. haiz...

anyway, for PCOS ladies, there is this book at Kino call a low GI diet for PCOS. Basically, for PCOS, must take less starchy food and less sugary food. the low GI means that it releases the glucose into the blood stream slowly and will not cause spike in the insulin levels. BUT... i am hopeless at following that diet.. hahaha.. kinda of diff and expensive to eat those whole grain foods and what's not.. :p

Tigi
today is day 36 of my cycle... still no sight or sound of that O...
i thought my cycle was improving. Previously was 45 days.. then it became 36 days and 31 days.. now... MIA.. haiz...

liz, ya switching to whole grain diet can be more exp... but becos i save on refined foods like biscuits, choco, sweets, cakes which i used to eat a lot... here save some, then spend more... still can manage i think... but not all meals can be so... esp those eating out.... like lunch...

hey liz n gan, tonight i can share more what the book says about pco diet... cos it is at hm...

tigi
haha.. i can't stop myself from eating.. :p i don't feel like taking meds leh.. cause these few years of ttcing, i have been taking so much meds that i think i am screwing up my body..

tigi,
My dh told me yesterday we will not go his Ah Ma hse this year for CNY...yippie! Mabbe will come up wif some reasons and avoid it...

Rostrum
Hugggzzzz and huggzz again. Silly girl! Like Lyn said, do you know how courageous you are already for going thru that program. Now it’s the time to rest and be proud of yourself time (at least I am extremely proud of you) and not to think of the next one if you are not ready (no one will truly be soon after the program). Great that you have cried. Cry it out and get it out of your system. After you pamper yourself for one month, two months, then you slowly think of your next step. No one will know what will happen then. Trust me and I really want to be sincere and frank to you and the sisters here: while I know I am positive, I have my bad days too, such as when a kaypoh woman (described below) come and poke at old wounds. I cried too after my failed ivf and important dates. And I really allow the tears to flow because tears that don't flow won't go away, they will go somewhere else into the body and wreak havoc in future. And Rostrum dear, I am also a "chicken who cannot lay eggs". I know how it feels to feel like that. So give yourself room to indulge in some "negativity" (its normal at this juncture) like Gan said and I am sure its a matter of time before you can be happy again. For the visit to your ah-mah, you have no two options, its either you don't go (difficult as its Ah-ma right) or you go with the mentality "you all can think I cannot lay eggs but I know how much I have tried and I am proud of myself". Use some method that will boost your ego and don't feel beaten k.

Lyn,
Wei sister, why do you think you are sensitive, I never thought you have made any insensitive remarks, on the contrary, you, liz and meow have been sensitive and supportive during my program and I really appreciate that you know or not

If in future got any irritating people come and ask you why are still no kids, tell them you are a very big baby at heart yourself and that is a prefect answer to their kapohness. For me, you are my sincere friend, so you chosen to see my positive hpt before as something positive and hopeful. But for some, they use it as a tool against me. I once told a very good friend about it one of mcs (luckily I did not tell her the 2nd one) and hinted to her not to spread but she went to broadcast it, the worst thing is she went to broadcast it to a kapoh woman who had four kids (two pairs of twins) herself and very proud of it and likes to put down in very demeaning ways people who either not married or married without kids. Since then, that woman has been using those mcs to belittle me everytime she sees me, telling me how tired I am supposed to be looking (although I feel fresh and I think I look energized that day)..blah blah blah. So she knew by default that I belong to those camp who wants to have baby but cannot have as she knows about that mc (I wish she didn't know). And she likes to meet me because it probably make her ego very big. I just don't know why she can be so mean. So I try to avoid meeting her but everytime got group meeting, she will come and make all effort to make me feel as beaten as possible. So now I just tell her I not trying. I won't tell her about the ivf. Since I am already a 2nd class citizen to her, if she knows I do ivf, I will become the topic of the year.

Lyn, I am sure there is great hope that one day, I will spot you with a beautiful pram pushing a beautiful baby inside. Lets all pray for that to happen, for you, for me and for our fellow sisters here.

Tigi,
Yes, I can imagine how your festive mood will vanished and transformed into super "sianness" and the feeling of wanting to disappear from FIL straight away. Same as you, sometimes, I feel like telling them, "use your common sense and stop making us feel like shit". Good idea, stick to your hb and hopefully he can be the powerful armour..

As I told Rostrum, I will also be frustrated and have down days, so lets both cut ourselves some slack and allow ourselves to be grumpy once in a while ;p

Gan,
You must be a great cook, your description of Japanese curry makes me want to drool during lunch hour like this.

Liz,
No problem about MIA as I expect my bad day to come very soon when I meet that 4 kid kayoh woman soon who is coming for a group meeting. She will make me feel beaten left right center again. When that happens, pandon me if I come here and bitch about her...heheeee..Meanwhile, if I encounter remarks like your friend's wife's again, I will sure form a bubble in my mind "please stop giving me unsolicited advice, I feel so sian, mama save me".

babygalore,
Thanks for yr encouragement really!!! U r a king gal whom always drop by to give us words of encouragment and +ve posts...

This morning when I receive the call from the nurse abt the -ve result, I tok I cld take it well since I m already well prepared...bt I still weep a lil...I really hope I can get on my feet really soon....Thanks!

Hi, sisters.
Please accept one whole big container of baby dust to all of you. I finally can see the flickering little heartbeat last Saturday and a great relief to me.

I wish all sisters here will keep on jia you and share the good news with me soon

Lyn and babygalore, as promised, two big buckets of baby dust for you two.

Babygalore,
Wah,I can't imagine if I were you facing the 4 kids mom. Think I won't be able to control my emotion and give her a good bashing. wakakakaka. Lucky all these while I dun have such colleagues as mostly are singles or newly wed.But it could be I look very fierce tat's y they din dare to ask me such personal question also. hahahaha.
The only unbearable remarks only come from my mil, who really hurts me very bad. Although she herself also has problem in conceiving. It takes her 6 yrs to conceive my hubby and another 5 yrs to conceive my sil. When years passed and I still have nothing, she will keep " suan" me saying, "6 years I already have ur hubby ler." Haiz, so this time I am not going to share with her any good news. The whole family is aware but her. hehehe. *evil grin*.

For sisters, my case as an example, low bbt doesn't mean no ovulation. Even till today my bbt only 34.5.U never know when u will strike

All the best

babygalore
my gd fren wife ok lah.. she quite a nice lady. she doesn't know abt my case. anyway, please feel welcome to bitch abt her here anytime.. that's wat this forum is for..

anyway, i am having an extremely bad day. haven't been able to sleep recently.. dunno why.. so i feel like sh*t today..

saw from another thread abt motherhood life - sucks. ironical. perhaps those ladies would be so glad to be in our shoes instead.

liz,
Mabbe they never went thru wat we hv went thru...so they tends to take things for granted...likewise, if we were in their shoes, perhaps we will feel the same way too...

Those things easily to get, naturally we will take it for granted and those difficult to get, we will tends to treasure it...

Ya, like wat u say, we shd switch places...haha...

rostrum
ya. totally agree. haha.. but still feel like asking them to exercise more self-restraint if they didn't want to have kids. am just being naughty.. hahaha

Rostrum,

After my cycle failed, I cry liao then went for retail therapy, very effective leh…..see all the nice nice things in the shopping centre distracted me a lot. I am sure you will find your most effective form of therapy. Actually I gained a lot from the advice, spirit and much more you girls have shown me..lets help one another to be happy and strong

Elle,
Hip hip hurray for you !!...heeheeee…this is better than striking lottery during that CNY draw anytime right
That flickering is priceless and god sent. Please from now indulge in pampering yourself and buy all the nice maternity clothes to wear. Since I got no chance to wear them for now, please "take revenge" for me and help me wear them. Yes, both Rostrum and myself envy you and thanks a lot a lot for your baby dust. I will share some with Rostrum too since you gave us so much ;)

You are right, maybe I will try to be hostile to that lousy woman and see if she dare to strike at me again…

*wink wink* great idea, wait till you spot a baby bum then your mil will know. That will teach her a lesson that every puppy has its day. She so "mature" liao should know by right, but still don't know..

Liz,
Thanks lots lots for sharing the thread, I know got people don't like kids but I am shocked at the disgust they show over motherhood. Somemore so many of them wor. I always thought any mother would not mind their own babies' cries unless its post natal depression. In fact, it will be like music to my ears. Think I really mountain tortoise. Maybe economic no good so they want to save money on the rubber..heheeeheee..

Sure, after my meeting with that woman, I will come here and bitch bitch bitch..heeee..

Hope you can sleep better today Liz, don't work late today, go back early...

babygalore,
I guess my theraphy now is to go to work asap...I m working wif the nurse to shorten my HL..wonder whether they will help me..
With work, I can forget abt anything else...

Rostrum,
That is a very smart idea
its killing two birds with one stone, work therapy plus can go back earlier and provide work from piling up. I am sure the nurses can help. Even if they won't issue a new mc, you can just go back and tell your boss you feel better liao, so want to come back and contribute...even better.

Babyglaore, poor u have to face 4 idoits at one time...nevermind juz bear in mind that people doing here, God is watching and one day they will gana something...opps... Juz start cool but i know sometimes its quite difficult coz these ppl r really assholes...

Ellse, i really want to give u a hugz coz u have shown us miracle.. which i dun believe till i know abt ur case... U give me hope again. Have a smooth 9 mths..

Liz cheer up la... u still have us to talk.. Think positively and be happy and will maintain ur youth. Juz tell urself no matter wat, one day sure have and its juz a matter of time. Dun care abt others juz leave for urself...

Lyn,
Hey sister, you back from work liao..
miss you here the whole day. Its actually just one lousy woman who four big self-declared trophies (her two pairs of twins). But yes, she is as demanding as four big mouth monsters...k, I believe a lot in good deeds will pay and vice versa too..thanks for consoling me..heeeee...

k, I go back for today liao..speak again yah..

babygalore, if i have a friend like the lady with 2 pairs of twins, i would have given her my super black face and if she comes close to me to talk, i would grab the person next to me and pretend to be so engrossed in some conversation and totally ignore her. She must have a low self esteem, so she wants to belittle pple to make herself fee good. Terrible!

Rostrum how are you today? Going back to work does help. For me it was both retail and work therapy.

Elle Thanks for your baby dust! *catch*
I was actually alittle down today because my colleague sitting in the cubicle next to me, was talking to someone about her coming birth in Feb. She conceived through IVF under Dr Loh too. During my cycle, i have always chatted with her and was telling her things like "ohh when u go on maternity leave, i will be finishing my 1st trimester." "When u are back i will be in my 3rd trimester" etc. I had alot of hope in the ivf. So today when i hear her telling people about her maternity leave, what she has boughtfor the baby etc, can't help feeling a sense of sadness as i am still no different from before I go IVF (except fatter now due to Ensure milk i have been drinking). So your babydust come in at the right time! will catch your babydust and wishes for my FET! Have a smooth 9 months ahead!

Hi babyglaore, ya cant log in during office hrs coz busy busy. C u here 2molo afternoon if u free.. As for the kaypoh women treat them as cartoons face when u sees them then u will feel that like a fool.. dun need to get angry

Liz, those ppl gets their babies so easily thats y the bitch here and there.. actually i dun like ppl to say such things.. if they dun like kids so much then shld take percautions dun tell me they dun know wats condom...hehehehe but i pity the kids. But of course my sis also sort of regret having children coz alot of time commitments(fyi she wanted kids so much after 1 mc). So i guess in life everything is give and take. U gain something u will also loss something lor. As for us, i think we will cherish our child when we have them... at least must tell ourselves now coz ours is a precious gem...after so much hardwork and heart break...

Tigi, today dunno my what day, should be more than 30 days, since my D1 was on 15 Dec but yet no O. Guess will ask Dr Zou tomorrow any herbs to help me have my mensues.

Gan, think tcm got such med, last time when i consult RH tcm, my menses can come without ovulation... but not sure if dr zou will continue to give before ovulation med.... you seeing her twice a week? I find it too time consuming & taxing for me, so i switch to seeing her once a week on weekend.... i need to take the pills le, so as not to delay D2 tests...

as promised, according to the book i read, for pcos, to avoid all high glycaemic foods like candies, cakes, cookies, honey, sweets, white flour (includeing white bread and pasta), white rice, white sugar, high GI vege like cooked carrots, parsnips, peas, potatoes (including crisps & French fries) and cooked sweetcorns, tropical fruits like bananas, mango, papaya and pineapples, dried fruits like dates, figs, raisins and apricots.... raw veg like raw carrots are ok because they have more fibre which slows down the absorption of sugars...

Eat your heart out on all other fruit and veg other than those high GI ones, nuts and seeds, together with wholegrains are the richest source of magnesium, include brown rice, oats, quinoa, wholegrains, wholewheat bread. Cinnamon is also recommended for pcos...

Hi Tigi, thanks for the infor but many of the no-no food are my favourite or food i consume almost daily!
I am still seeing Dr Zou twice a week
(once on weekday and once on Sat). yes, it's tiring but i am hopping i can improve my health and have better lining for the FET, so will press on. Dr Zou doesn't always give me med, will ask her if anything i can take to induce the menses tomorrow.

tigi
can share how u manage to stick to the low gi diet? I love food in general so find it very diff to stick to a diet.

Really need some motivation and discipline to start seeing dr zou and take med and stick to my diet

Babygalore,
ya, it's even better than strike lottery. hahaha, i haven't started to buy anything yet except vitamin. Maternity clothing is very ex and i prefer to buy baby's stuff instead. Now cannot anyhow splurge liao,have to start saving.
Dun envy me, will be ur turn soon, remember

Lyn, then i give u a big big hug first lor. wakakakaka. Honestly i never think of having it naturally as i always thot IVF is the last resort and it din work.And all these while only me going for all sorts of treatments altho DH also has his problems and it seems getting worse each year with the test.Starting only low motility, then at the end only the count is sufficient but others all failed. Yet he dun feel he needs to be treated as doc says ivf still can help and he always believes we can strike naturally. Each ivf is always a torture to me cos when he needs to do the blood test, he will try to delay and delay as he scared needles and only after some fight then he gives in. Sometimes i feel like i am the one who wants the child and he din.Able to have it naturally is really a great blessing to me.
Miracles can always happen. If it can happen to me, it can happen to u

Gan, jia you jia you. share with me the good news soon.

Today i join the mtb thread and i feel like an alien. Seems most those joined are either having their 2nd or 3rd and they are those can get as and when they want. When i say about scanning at 5 weeks, they find amused cos for them, they will only go for the scanning on 10 weeks to save the money. When i say some of my worriness, the comment will be, y so worry? oh, it takes u so long to conceive. no wonder u so worry. haiz.

sorry for the venting.i just feel so alienated.

As for those low GI diet, i tried tat too. It's difficult initially but after some time you will get use to it and exercise is also very good for pcos.after the failed cycle, i exercise alot by playing wii. hahaha.

Gan and Lyn,
Thanks for giving me ideas about how to deal with that woman who has forced her way into our group meeting again next week. This time, I am going to make sure she either cannot extend her claws to me or I will bite off her claws. Yes, Gan, you are right, her weak spot is her hubby who kept changing job and cannot bring bacon home which I try to avoid mentioning in her face. Maybe I must be cruel this time….yes!

Gan,
Jiayou for your FET, you definitely have a very good choice of been able to talk about baby stuff with your colleague in the very near future

Elle
You are spot on. Out of the pregnant ladies that I know, 90% or more will opt to do the scanning from two months on as they want to save money. When I first heard that, I also got a culture shock. And the culture shock is not the mild 40watts but 280watts type. Just like they got the culture shock about scanning at 5 weeks. I even heard of people who can time their ttc such that they can maximise their co's healthcare benefit for that year. Imagine that! I guess it’s a matter of prespective and experience. To them, we might be too kan cheong and kiasu but you have us here who totally support and understand that all the so-called "kan cheongness" is plain necessity to us

Come back as often as you like to tell us about your progress with precious baby and we also appreciate very much you giving us good advice on how to survive those years of being childless and ttcing.

Elle,
Anyhow, honestly, it will be good too to learn more about motherhood from the fellow mtbs as I really strongly believe you should immerse yourself the joy of what you have worked for these years. Do continue to participate and learn there, but maybe don't highlight so much about the worries, those you can confide in us yah
Of course I sincerely hope you will have fewer and fewer worries from now.

babygalore,
i really wish all the sisters here can graduate soon and we can set our own mtb thread where we can share our joy. I really dunno how to immerse with them. now they are discussing on the cravings, morning sickness, maternity wear that they bought last time,how to manage their older kids, yet i have nothing to share. i really feel like alien.I am so sorry if i have to be here and vent as wat i say previously, i feel home here. hahahaha.

Your wish has brought a smile to my face. Yes, that will be a great scenario
Please don't be sorry, I can totally understand that feeling of being different yet th same But Elle dear, I am sure with time, you will have more and more to contribute as your baby bum grows bigger and bigger and got special cravings like KFC that I heard a lot of pregnant woman have...heheeehee..Remember k, to us, you are probably one of the bravest mum in the MTB thread and have every right to share and eventually contribute..

And don't say sorry again, our door is always open for you to share about your little one. And I also truly appreciate that you have not forgotten about us, not everyone will come back to encourage really

K, speak again k, come back here k..I go back liao..

elle, you are most welcome to drop by here ... cos you are a inspiration to all!

liz, my greatest motivation to eat right is to improve my fertility and be a mum soon! I find it a matter of psychology and yes, it is in the mind kind of thing! When i find myself wanting to pick up that favourite box of chocolate biscuit in the supermarket, immediately tell myself that box of thing is no good.... it is bad for my health... do it a couple of times, i realise that aversion becomes automatic! Also tell myself if avoiding eating that can help me make my wish come true (so easy!), i will be more than willing to do it 10 times no 100 times or 1000 times over! But this is not fool proof, hhaha.... there will be some social snacking too... like when someone offer me a pc of chocolate... feel not nice to reject... but i reckon once a while a bit is okay... :p

babygalore,
Ya, the doc shorten my HL..so I will be back to work soon..yeah! At the same time, can show boss hw "hardworking" I m...hehehehe...

Elle,
Then dun share wif them....share wif us...they can ger preggie easily...so they wun understand de..

Gan,
When yr AF report before yr pregnancy test, hw long does yr AF lasts? Mine today is the 4th day, though its lesser bt its like still flowing...my normal cycle is spotting oni leh...Funni..

Rostrum, i think it is normal, my full flow start on Tuesday, so complete clear was on Sunday. The first 3 days were very heavy flow.

Elle, Of course we like to hear you share about your little one here.
But if you need to talk about your sympotms or anything about your pregnancy with MTB, i would think you can pop by the IVF MTB thread? Since the MTBs there have been through what we have all gone through, they would understand us. And I think a few graduated from the IVF thread recently so they are also newly pregnant like you.

Tigi,
I agree with you about the aversion to junk food becoming automatic. I used to like to cold gasy softdrinks. Since cutting them out during ivf, now I see them, my mind immediately associate them with "useless, bad, syrup water that will only add inches to my tummy" and no more craving liao wor.

Liz, hope that pyscho method can work for you.

Rostrum,
Heheheeheee...thats very good, thats very good, like that your boss will see it as "under promise and yet can over deliver" and be positively surprised..

Gan will probably tell you how her flow was later...but for mine, the flow was heavier than before and the dr said the gonal F will actually lead to thicken lining than normal, hence, the heavier flow. Plus if you did acu during the program, that will also lead to heavy flow (thicker lining). So don't worry. While you are still having flow, rest well, no strenous exercises and eat lots of warming iron rich food like spinach and red beans.

Gan,
Hey, you are also online
I seldom log in at night because I sleep quite early. But just now went yoga, so feel energized. K, I go brush teeth and sleep liao. Good nite to you. Don't sleep too late yah..

Hi Babygalore! yes just came back from Dr Zou, went for my acu with her.

Where do you do your yoga?

Good night and have sweet dreams!

Hi ladies, wow u all sleep so early. Me now waiting for DH to buy fried oyster for supper...

Babyglaore, if she dun respect u neither do u have to respect her...no need to give her face..

Gan, u seems so 'on' gtg to dr zou. I told myself have to go to her this menses but now still no action coz very lazy.. her place inconvient for me. U taking her med?