Child Adoption

Hi jass, I m not sure abt the purpose, if I m not wrong,
It is to ensure the env is good for bb. Think it's abt 2mths after u bring bb back. It is requested by court.

little_girl - if baby can't clear medical either in MY or SIN, then they will source for another baby for ya.

pokoya - total cost incl legal about 30k

Hmm.. The baby fair was total chaos!!! Parents were buying diapers by the cartons!! N not just 1 carton.. Several cartons!!

Same for milk power! Tins n tins n tins!!

And then there is the queue to pay... Scary...

looks like most of you are done with your office and home interview
)) congrats !

undecided : by the cartons cause baby use very fast leh... milk is like one tin 900 per week. when they are younger some maybe more.. ;) pampers also very very fast hahaha... cause you dont want your poor baby to sleep in a soaked pampers. depending on how many months your baby is.

i think just get the basic items like baby cot , baby swing, i find baby swing was really helpful cause it pacifies my baby as i run into the kitchen to get his milk ready. Swing with music.. hahaha.. after two days baby recognize that his milk will come soon !!! also music kind of distract the baby a little. when i had my second interview, i already got ready my baby cot just that i didn't open it. plus u need to get ready steriliser for bottles and bottles which i got 10 at one short cause i find it handy especially in the night when you are just too lazy to wash. some say you need to get bigger bottles but i personally find that it's quite poor thing for a small baby to hold a big bottle. it's quite heavy with the milk inside. so get a few of the 125ml get one or two 260ml. plus pacifier is very important if you want a peaceful night hahaha ;) baby blanket i bought about 8 to rotate for a start cause you bring them out you need one , baby cot i use a seperate one. and wash it like alternate or three four days once. a comfortable baby pram. some likes to hide babies at home but i am on the contrary i like to bring baby out cause if he stays home means i stay home too.. urrrggghhh... baby clothes baby bibs.. actually we didn't get too much clothes till baby arrive. baby bibs lots of it high absorption cause everyday you need to change. others you can pick up when baby arrived.
undecided: so you got a prince or princess ?

hubby keep wanting to go down to the fair yesterday.. but i was too tired doing my things. was the offer good ?

sorry baby clothes also you need quite a few to start with cause baby can use like three sets a day. if they soil their baby clothes or wet their romper you need to change them quite immediately to prevent them from falling sick.

BellsBells --

the offer for diapers were not bad (according to my gf) but if u go in the afternoon, alot of sizes wud be sold out.

as for formula milk, i m not sure if the deal is good.. but there was buy 2 get 1 offer for s26.. not sure about the rest.

we looked at the q n decided not to buy anything! lol!

i dun think u need the other stuff.. swaddle, strollers n wat not coz u shd have them by now.

wat my fren suggested is to head there the moment they open (11am), grab what u need and leave.. although i think it wud be best to bring someone who can start q-ing for u once u notice a q forming! v KS i know but u dun wanna be stuck in a snaking q! the q was so long yesterday, (i was there after lunch) it snaked thru the hall!

my gf just sent me a list of things to prepare b4 bb's arrival.. list is so long! need to get a table to put the stuff!

cot : gf givin me hers! yay!

bb swing : u mean the kind that swings the bb to sleep? lol.. sorry, quite clueless! but if it is, wud the bb be too used to being swayed to sleep?

bottles : 10!!?? i was thinking like 4! lol! again, clueless! which brand r u using? are they all the same? i saw teats that say they prevent colic.. does it help? i am also thinking of small bottles first too.. and the bigger bottles as they grow older...

baby pram : i am still thinkin if i wan a forward or rear facing pram.. any recommendations? wat about those one hand operation prams? some of the prams r so costly.. like almost 1k!of coz i wan a pram that is sturdy and ez to handle coz i will be out on my own most of the time! i wanna take my bb out too! i think it is important for bb to go out! and equally important for me to go out! even if it is just to window shop!

clothes : i m goin to grab some hand me downs from frens and and then decide what else i need.

we r adopting a girl! we prefer girls! maybe it is all the dolling up..

Hi I would like to know, for Indian parents will it be alright to adopt a non-Indian baby. We have completed the HSR but we want to be open in the selection of a baby. we believe that since there is no guarantee that there will be steady supply of babies. Our family members are open to this perception of having non-indian baby.

hi undecided, I didnt go.
hubby say too early to buy now. we still waiting for HSR report to be out.
I have already identified the model of stroller that I want, just waiting for great deals to buy.

yah i would like to have that too.. but my hubby and I have a concern. Wat if touch wood, bb is taken back? then very paiseh, cos legal process only confirmed abt 6mths later

any mummies using or have used quinny buzz??

little_girl : my take is to not worry so much. although the possibility is v real,but the lists of things to worry about is endless! u will be greying in no time! take it with stride and attack issues as they come! at least that's wat i plan to do!

u wanna enjoy the last bits of the alone time w hubs b4 bb comes and u wanna enjoy bb when bb comes (and at the same time not neglecting hubs) n not waste energy worrying about stuff that might never happen!

Undecided : I m using mostly Avent bottles 10 rotated use. 4 bottles i bring out usually and the rest stays in the warmer so once i am home i hv bottles ready. But I did get pigeon n nuk also. Baby keep choking on nuk teats maybe the flow too fast plus nuk have different sucking. Avent and pigeon are closer to breast shape I feel. I use 125 ml bottles and is trying to move bb to bigger bottles as and when demand for more milk otherwise the 125ml bottles has serve me well. Avent teats has reduce colic which has worked very well for my bb as he doesn't have colic problem so far even though sometimes I don't burp him if he is fighting to sleep in the night.
Pram wise I am using peg pergo pilko p3. Babies love to look at surroundings. Infant car seat maxi cosi has serve me well these few months. I think Quinny is quite good too. But somehow my friends changed them after using a few months not sure why.

Baby swing I mean baby rocker. I don't let my baby sleep in it. So I just use it to give him milk. Once I have the milk ready I switch of the swing and music function. I don't know but my baby automatically stops crying once I put him in the rocker in the middle of night when I rush to get his milk. I have a gf who lets her baby swing in the rocker till he falls asleep but she never had problem with her son getting "addicted" to it. But for me I prefer to let my baby sleep in his cot.
Adoptive parents : I think Indian and malay babies are not difficult to find in Malaysia. Are you a local Singaporean or Malaysian ? I met two Indian couples when I applied for my baby's pass at mcys and both told me they adopted quite fast.
Very nice features. But if you are pr and from India maybe you can check with touch cause I heard they have agencies who can adopt from India. I think there's one more agency but I just can't recall the name,,, you may want to call up Mcys or touch ministry and check with them.

Hi bells bells, thanks for the good advice.
Btw, how you choose a suitable milk bottle and milk powder for bb? There are really so many many brands of milk bottles and milk powder in the mkt.

My next thinking is wat are the most impt things to have first when I bring bb back. I so scare later bring back, dun have this, dun have that, then think I will freak out....
1) baby cot
2) milk bottles, milk powder,
3) clothes
4)diapers etc...

Need advice or best a list to help me... thanks thanks...

My turn tomorrow for home visit. Fingers and toes crossed. Finally got my cncc collecting tomorrow. Next I will be joining you all thinking of buying baby things. Thankfully my sis in law giving me some.

Bellsbells - r u using the avent sterilizer too? Is it true that their sterilizer wun other allow us to fit other Brand's bottles ? My gfs r saying they dun like avent teats ( they prefer pigeon)so I suppose I'll c which which has a better deal when I get to buying bottles. (Unless one is significantly better than the other)

Baby rocker sounds useful.. I've seen a few n I think I need one to entertain bb while I do my chores at home..

Car seat - I have the most difficulty w this.. Maxi cosi wun fit into my backseat! I need a slightly less bulky car seat!! I've tried 3 car seats n they all wun fit! Only piece that wud fit was from combi. So if I wan a maxi cosi or anything bigger then I might have to disable the airbag in front n put car seat there!

Latan.. I suppose the home interview is scheduled after collection of the CNCC and the office interview.. How can it be arranged on the same day as the collection?

Which VWO are u with?

How long is the following process?
1.child sourcing
2.legal process include family court, dependent pass and immigration process..

Little_girl: cncc is certificate of no criminal conviction.
Jass: yes, home interview supposed to be after you get the cncc but Lutheran community said it was ok if did not get before home interview. Luckily I could get mine on same day as home interview.

Oooo....undecided. Thanks for telling us that car seat got different sizes. Always thought they are the same. Btw, wat car u driving, I now start to scare the car seat will be a prob for me too....

How u try the car seat if you are buying from stores? Cannot take to car wat.
Combi car seat tend to be more ex as compared to the rest.

little_girl : i went to babyhyperstore/market (cannot remember if it is store or market) and baby kingdom in kaki bukit.. the 2 shops r just steps from each other.. they allowed us to try the car seats coz u can park your car just outside their shop!

i am driving a audi TT. well.. being a 2 door car with v v space behind doesn't help..

if u r worried, then feel free to ask them to let u give it a try.. they may look reluctant but persist nicely!

when i hopped over from bbhypermart coz their seats wun fit, the stuff at bb kingdom kept insisting that the seat wud def fit any car.. dun 'trust' them completely coz u know your car best. we tried the first piece n indeed it didn't fit!

oh yeah... i heard about the 2 hyperstores next to each other. hmmmm, i think mine should be better cos i driving honda civics. quite spacious at the back. but neverthelsss, i think its better to try....

Should be better than my car for sure! But go try just for ease of mind.. I hate going back to store n exchange n worse if no refund.. Just store credits n nothing else I need from same store!

Undecided: my home interview went smooth pretty fast about 3 hours. They didn't say much about my home. Hope that it is a good sign.

Little girl : When I went over to see my bb in viet, we were advised to get a small tin of either nan pro or similac and they will feed bb according to what we are comfortable. at the same time also they will also let us know if bb is drinking well or any allergy. So by the time bb came over it was easier for us we just carry on the brand we want to give bb. I understand that local hospital are using nan and similac. Also nan is easier for the stomach.
As to bb cot, I just went kiddy palace and got a side foldable cot with wheels and bought a latex matteress. Latex matteress has holes in it so I was thinking if bb accidentally turn n we not looking at least there are holes in latex matteress that bb can still breath ;) also I heard its good so I just bought.
Diapers I just use pampers as their rarely leaks. .
Clothes rompers are good. Get those easy to change pampers rompers. Remember to get bb blanket bb bath tub shampoo and hand sanitizer, diaper rash cream.Don't worry if don't have anything just bring bb and go out and buy.. Don't worry Singapore shops open till late ;))) also get a musical toy that can distract bb when they cry. I have two at his cot those lullaby or cot mobile would be good. Than you need a small led light or night light so that bb know its night time n your hubby can sleep while u feed bb. Get a big enough diaper bag. Allerhand is good. I can dump everything in. 4bottles, one vacuum flask, five pampers, one hand santinizer , one changing mat, two pacifier, wet tissues and paper tower, another set of clothing , a thermometer, plastic bags diaper rash cream, Ru Yi oil . That's my outing bag must have.
Little girl u can pm me

latan n mary neo happy for u that your home visit is over
Undecided : so u end up getting which car seat. I need to prepare to get those bigger car seat for six months up type.
Time really flies
I m going to ICA tomorrow to submit for bb birth cert.

Undecided: understand your issue as my hubby used to drive A5 2 door... and our car seat cant fit... and i complaint that i need to climb in and out of the seat so recently we just change to a 1 series.... thank god the car seat can fit...

I just received a call from my lawyer side.. my final court date is 2/11.... 1 more month... i thought and expect end oct... finger cross

Bells: my hubby also bought the latex mattress cause his frd said good... but the price i nearly fainted lolx!!! cot + latex mattress almost $800 >.<"

BellsBells -- time flies when u r having fun!! Before u know it they'll be going to school n whole new set of issues for us.. Getting into school of choice etc..

-- I din buy any car seat coz we r looking at either disabling airbags in front n putting bb there or getting a new car..
If bb sits in front, I've to squeeze into d tiny seat behind. The 2 seats behind r practically useless coz u can't move n have to sit in a weird position coz of Low headroom!
If bb sits behind, well, like Wendy said, crawling in n out for bb can b back breaking after awhile..

But cars r so expensive now..

Wendy -- how's the 1 series? Is it spacious? N can I also ask how much u guys paid for it?

How many countries that we can put on the baby sourcing.? . I find the VOW and CNCC can specify only one..

Guess my progress is the slowest among the pack.. *sad*.